DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Response to Amendment
The Amendment filed 19 December 2025 has been entered. Claims 1 – 20 remain pending in the application.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1 – 8 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Ishibashi (JP 2017-161107 A, referencing a machine translation thereof provided with this Office Action).
Regarding claim 1, Ishibashi discloses an adiabatic body (“refrigerator main body” 2: e.g. Fig. 1 – 3; ¶¶ [0005] – [0053]) comprising:
a first plate (as provided by a “vacuum insulating panel” 7: e.g. Fig. 1; ¶¶ [0010] – [0012]);
a second plate spaced from the first plate in a first direction to provide a vacuum space between the first plate and the second plate (as provided by the “vacuum insulating panel” 7: e.g. Fig. 1; ¶¶ [0010] – [0012]);
an insulating body contacting at least one of the first plate or the second plate and filled with a foamed material (“foamed heat insulating material” 6: e.g. Fig. 1; ¶¶ [0010], [0012]);
a hole provided in the insulating body (through which “pivot shaft” 52 passes: e.g. Fig. 1; ¶¶ [0025] – [0027], [0029], [0043] – [0045]); and
a side plate provided between the first plate to the second plate (as provided by the “vacuum insulating panel” 7: e.g. Fig. 1; ¶¶ [0010] – [0012]),
wherein a hinge shaft is provided on the hole (“pivot shaft” 52 of a “hinge” 50: e.g. Fig. 1; ¶¶ [0025] – [0027], [0029], [0043] – [0045]),
wherein the hole is separated from the vacuum space and the foamed material is provided between the hole and the vacuum space (e.g. Fig. 1; ¶ [0012]), and
wherein:
the side plate includes a wall extending in the first direction (e.g. Fig. 1), and
an extending line of the wall of the side plate does not overlap the hole (e.g. Fig. 1).
The examiner considers Ishibashi’s “vacuum insulating panel” 7 to provide for the first plate, the second plate, and the side plate in light of Fig. 1 illustrating a rectangular cross section, where the first and second plates run parallel to an “inner box” 5, whereby the side plate connects the first and second plates (e.g. Fig. 1).
Additionally, the examiner considers Ishibashi’s “pivot shaft” 52 to pass through the insulating body since the “foamed heat insulating material” 6 is formed by filling a “main body heat insulating portion” 9 with foaming material after the “vacuum insulating panel” 7 is inserted between an “outer box” 3 and “inner box” 5 (e.g. ¶ [0012]). For the “pivot shaft” 52 to be in the “refrigerator main body” 2, this thus necessitates a hole as claimed. Furthermore, a hole provided in this manner separates the hole from the vacuum space because of foamed material therebetween.
Regarding claim 2, in addition to the limitations of claim 1, Ishibashi discloses a portion of the wall of the side plate is received inside the insulating body (per the previously discussed filling of foam: e.g. ¶ [0012]).
Regarding claim 3, in addition to the limitations of claim 1, Ishibashi discloses the wall of the side plate is spaced a predetermined distance from the hole in a second direction that differs from the first direction (e.g. Fig. 1).
Regarding claim 4, in addition to the limitations of claim 3, Ishibashi discloses the predetermined distance is greater than a height of the vacuum space in the first direction (e.g. Fig. 1; ¶ [0011]).
Regarding claim 5, in addition to the limitations of claim 1, Ishibashi discloses the wall of the side plate does not overlap the hole in a second direction that differs from the first direction (e.g. Fig. 1).
Regarding claim 6, in addition to the limitations of claim 1, Ishibashi discloses the adiabatic body further comprises an additional component (“gasket” 10, : e.g. Fig. 1; ¶¶ [0013], [0014], [0019], [0026], [0043], [0046], [0053]).
Regarding claim 7, in addition to the limitations of claim 6, Ishibashi discloses the additional component includes a gasket (“gasket” 10: e.g. Fig. 1; ¶¶ [0013], [0014], [0019], [0026], [0043], [0046], [0053]).
Regarding claim 8, in addition to the limitations of claim 6, Ishibashi discloses the additional component is provided at at least a portion of a peripheral region of the insulating body (“gasket” 10 at “peripheral edge portion”: e.g. Fig. 1; ¶¶ [0013], [0014], [0019], [0026], [0043], [0046], [0053]).
Regarding claim 20, Ishibashi discloses an adiabatic body comprising:
a first plate (as provided by a “vacuum insulating panel” 7: e.g. Fig. 1; ¶¶ [0010] – [0012]);
a second plate spaced from the first plate in a first direction to provide a vacuum space between the first plate and the second plate (as provided by the “vacuum insulating panel” 7: e.g. Fig. 1; ¶¶ [0010] – [0012]);
an insulating body contacting at least one of the first plate or the second plate and filled with a foamed material (“foamed heat insulating material” 6: e.g. Fig. 1; ¶¶ [0010], [0012]);
a hole provided in the insulating body and configured to receive a shaft of a hinge (through which “pivot shaft” 52 passes: e.g. Fig. 1; ¶¶ [0025] – [0027], [0029], [0043] – [0045]); and
a side plate provided between the first plate to the second plate (as provided by the “vacuum insulating panel” 7: e.g. Fig. 1; ¶¶ [0010] – [0012]),
wherein the hole is separated from the vacuum space and the foamed material is provided between the hole and the vacuum space (e.g. Fig. 1; ¶ [0012]), and
wherein the side plate includes a wall extending in the first direction, and the wall of the side plate does not overlap the hole in the first direction (e.g. Fig. 1).
The examiner considers Ishibashi’s “vacuum insulating panel” 7 to provide for the first plate, the second plate, and the side plate in light of Fig. 1 illustrating a rectangular cross section, where the first and second plates run parallel to an “inner box” 5, whereby the side plate connects the first and second plates (e.g. Fig. 1).
Additionally, the examiner considers Ishibashi’s “pivot shaft” 52 to pass through the insulating body since the “foamed heat insulating material” 6 is formed by filling a “main body heat insulating portion” 9 with foaming material after the “vacuum insulating panel” 7 is inserted between an “outer box” 3 and “inner box” 5 (e.g. ¶ [0012]). For the “pivot shaft” 52 to be in the “refrigerator main body” 2, this thus necessitates a hole as claimed. Furthermore, a hole provided in this manner separates the hole from the vacuum space because of foamed material therebetween.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Determining the scope and contents of the prior art.
Ascertaining the differences between the prior art and the claims at issue.
Resolving the level of ordinary skill in the pertinent art.
Considering objective evidence present in the application indicating obviousness or nonobviousness.
Claims 9 – 11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ishibashi as applied to claim 6 above, and further in view of Kang (WO 2019/194604 A1, referencing US 2021/0102741 A1 as an English-language equivalent).
Regarding claim 9, in addition to the limitations of claim 6, Ishibashi discloses the additional component is provided so as not to overlap either the side plate or the support in the first direction (e.g. Fig. 1).
Although Ishibashi is not explicit as to the adiabatic body further comprising a support provided between the first and second plate, this feature would have been obvious in view of Kang.
Kang discloses vacuum spaces formed between first and second plates, wherein a support is provided between the first and second plates in order to reduce deformation of the vacuum space, thereby maintaining heat insulation properties (“supporting unit” 30, “bar” 31: e.g. Fig. 4A – 4C; ¶¶ [0039], [0086] – [0091], [0100], [0101], [0107], [0110], [0113] – [0116], [0119], [0120], [0123], [0128], [0129]).
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to modify Ishibashi’s adiabatic body to comprise a support between the first and second plates, the motivation being to maintain the heat insulation properties of the adiabatic body.
Regarding claim 10, in addition to the limitations of claim 9, Ishibashi discloses a region of the side plate extends in the first direction (e.g. Fig. 1).
Regarding claim 11, in addition to the limitations of claim 9, the support Kang discloses for modifying Ishibashi’s adiabatic body includes a bar (“bar” 31: e.g. ¶¶ [0039], [0086] – [0091], [0100], [0101], [0107], [0110], [0113] – [0116], [0119], [0120], [0123], [0128], [0129]).
Claims 13, 14, 17, and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ishibashi in view of Kang.
Regarding claim 13, Ishibashi discloses an adiabatic body (“refrigerator main body” 2: e.g. Fig. 1 – 3; ¶¶ [0005] – [0053]) comprising:
a first plate (as provided by a “vacuum insulating panel” 7: e.g. Fig. 1; ¶¶ [0010] – [0012]);
a second plate spaced from the first plate in a first direction to provide a vacuum space between the first plate and the second plate (as provided by the “vacuum insulating panel” 7: e.g. Fig. 1; ¶¶ [0010] – [0012]);
an insulating body contacting at least one of the first plate or the second plate and filled with a foamed material (“foamed heat insulating material” 6: e.g. Fig. 1; ¶¶ [0010], [0012]);
a hinge including a shaft received in a hole of the insulating body and surrounded by the foamed material (“pivot shaft” 52 passes through “foamed heat insulating material” 6: e.g. Fig. 1; ¶¶ [0025] – [0027], [0029], [0043] – [0045]); and
wherein the hole is separated from the vacuum space and the foamed material is provided between the hole and the vacuum space (e.g. Fig. 1; ¶ [0012]).
The examiner considers Ishibashi’s “vacuum insulating panel” 7 to provide for the first plate, the second plate, and the side plate in light of Fig. 1 illustrating a rectangular cross section, where the first and second plates run parallel to an “inner box” 5, whereby the side plate connects the first and second plates (e.g. Fig. 1).
Additionally, the examiner considers Ishibashi’s “pivot shaft” 52 to pass through the insulating body since the “foamed heat insulating material” 6 is formed by filling a “main body heat insulating portion” 9 with foaming material after the “vacuum insulating panel” 7 is inserted between an “outer box” 3 and “inner box” 5 (e.g. ¶ [0012]). For the “pivot shaft” 52 to be in the “refrigerator main body” 2, this thus necessitates a hole as claimed. Furthermore, a hole provided in this manner separates the hole from the vacuum space because of foamed material therebetween.
Although Ishibashi is not explicit as to the adiabatic body further comprising a support between the first plate and the second plate, wherein the support does not include a portion that overlaps the hole, these features would have been obvious in view of Kang.
Kang discloses vacuum spaces formed between first and second plates, wherein a support is provided between the first and second plates in order to reduce deformation of the vacuum space, thereby maintaining heat insulation properties (“supporting unit” 30, “bar” 31: e.g. Fig. 4A – 4C; ¶¶ [0039], [0086] – [0091], [0100], [0101], [0107], [0110], [0113] – [0116], [0119], [0120], [0123], [0128], [0129]).
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to modify Ishibashi’s adiabatic body to comprise a support between the first and second plates, the motivation being to maintain the heat insulation properties of the adiabatic body.
Regarding claim 14, in addition to the limitations of claim 13, Kang discloses the support includes a first bar and a second bar spaced a predetermined distance from the first bar (“supporting unit” 30, “bar” 31: e.g. Fig. 4A – 4C; ¶¶ [0039], [0086] – [0091], [0100], [0101], [0107], [0110], [0113] – [0116], [0119], [0120], [0123], [0128], [0129]).
Regarding claim 17, in addition to the limitations of claim 13, the support Kang discloses for modifying Ishibashi is spaced a predetermined distance from the hole in a second direction that differs from the first direction (implied per placement of “vacuum insulating panel” 7 and “pivot shaft” 52 in Ishibashi’s Fig. 1).
Regarding claim 18, in addition to the limitations of claim 17, the predetermined distance is greater than a height of the vacuum space in the first direction (implied from comparing Ishibashi’s thickness of the “vacuum insulation panel” 7 to the size of a bottle stored using the “refrigerator main body” 2: e.g. Fig. 1; ¶ [0011]).
Claims 1 – 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Kang in view of Ishibashi.
Regarding claim 1, Kang discloses an adiabatic body (“vacuum adiabatic body”: e.g. Fig. 1 – 54; ¶¶ [0010] – [0332]) comprising:
a first plate (a first one of “first and second plate members” 10, 20: e.g. Fig. 4A – 4C, 8, 11 – 14, 15A – 15F, 18A, 19 – 27, 31, 32; ¶¶ [0013], [0022], [0026] – [0029], [0080] – [0083], [0085], [0086], [0088], [0089], [0093] – [0095], [0100], [0101], [0110], [0111], [0113] – [0117], [0126], [0130], [0132], [0135], [0138], [0139], [0152] – [0156], [0159], [0160], [0163], [0164], [0167], [0170], [0177], [0178], [0187] – [0189], [0193], [0195], [0203], [0207] – [0209], [0213], [0239], [0245], [0261], [0269], [02175], [0277] – [0280], [0283], [0294], [0311]);
a second plate spaced from the first plate in a first direction to provide a vacuum space between the first plate and the second plate (the other of the “first and second plate members” 10, 20 separated from the first one by a “vacuum space part” 50: e.g. e.g. Fig. 4A – 4C, 8, 11 – 14, 15A – 15F, 18A, 19 – 27, 31, 32; ¶¶ [0013], [0022], [0026] – [0029], [0036], [0080] – [0083], [0085], [0086], [0088] – [0090], [0093] – [0095], [0098] – [0101], [0108] – [0111], [0113] – [0117], [0119], [0124] – [0132], [0134], [0135], [0138], [0139], [0152] – [0156], [0159], [0160], [0163], [0164], [0167], [0170], [0177], [0178], [0187] – [0189], [0193] – [0195], [0203], [0207] – [0209], [0213], [0239], [0245], [0261], [0269], [0275], [0277] – [0280], [0283], [0294], [0302], [0304], [0311], [0321]);
an insulating body contacting at least one of the first plate or the second plate and filled with a foamed material (“other adiabatic means” provided at at least one side of the “vacuum adiabatic body”, e.g. “foaming”: e.g. ¶ [0084]); and
a hole provided in the insulating body (to provide an “exhaust port” 40 for emptying the “vacuum space part” 50, to allow passage of a “pipeline” 64 therethrough, to allow passage of a “heat exchange curved pipe” 901, 902 therethrough, and/or to allow passage of a “drain pipe” DP2 therethrough: e.g. ¶¶ [0081], [0097], [0099], [0123] – [0125] [0293], [0294], [0300] – [0302], [0304], [0306], [0307], [0311], [0313], [0316], [0328], [0330]); and
a side plate provided between the first plate to the second plate (an unenumerated structure turning upward from “second plate member” 20 and/or downward from “first plate member” 10 is depicted: e.g. Fig. 2, 4B; or “resistance sheets” 60, 63: e.g. Fig. 2, 4A, 4C, 8, 11 – 14, 15A – 15F, 26, 27; ¶¶ [0037], [0079], [0080], [0093] – [0101], [0106], [0110], [0111], [0113] – [0117], [0130], [0131], [0133], [0135], [0148], [0157], [0166] – [0168], [0193], [0294], [0306], [0311], [0328]),
wherein a hinge shaft is provided on the hole (“hinge” 263 connects via a “door fastener” 260 which is fixed to a “reinforcing member” 100 which is located in the “vacuum space part” 50 and thus requires a hole in at least one of the “first and second plate members” 10, 20: e.g. Fig. 16, 17, 19 – 24; ¶¶ [0047], [0132] – [0134], [0168], [0185] – [0188], [0190]); and
wherein:
the side plate includes a wall extending in the first direction (e.g. Fig. 2, 4B, 8, 11, 13 – 15, 19 – 24, 26, 27), and
an extending line of the wall of the side plate does not overlap the hole (e.g. Fig. 2, 4B, 8, 11, 13 – 15, 19 – 24, 26, and 27 show the side plate extending perpendicular to the “first plate member” 10 and “second plate member” 20 as well as the “reinforcing member” 100 and thus the hole does not overlap the side plate).
Although Kang is not explicit as to the hole being separated from the vacuum space and the foamed material is provided between the hole and the vacuum space, this feature would have been obvious in view of Ishibashi.
Ishibashi discloses an adiabatic body (“refrigerator main body” 2: e.g. Fig. 1 – 3; ¶¶ [0005] – [0053]) comprising:
a first plate (as provided by a “vacuum insulating panel” 7: e.g. Fig. 1; ¶¶ [0010] – [0012]);
a second plate spaced from the first plate in a first direction to provide a vacuum space between the first plate and the second plate (as provided by the “vacuum insulating panel” 7: e.g. Fig. 1; ¶¶ [0010] – [0012]);
an insulating body contacting at least one of the first plate or the second plate and filled with a foamed material (“foamed heat insulating material” 6: e.g. Fig. 1; ¶¶ [0010], [0012]);
a hole provided in the insulating body (through which “pivot shaft” 52 passes: e.g. Fig. 1; ¶¶ [0025] – [0027], [0029], [0043] – [0045]); and
a side plate provided between the first plate to the second plate (as provided by the “vacuum insulating panel” 7: e.g. Fig. 1; ¶¶ [0010] – [0012]),
wherein a hinge shaft is provided on the hole (“pivot shaft” 52 of a “hinge” 50: e.g. Fig. 1; ¶¶ [0025] – [0027], [0029], [0043] – [0045]),
wherein the hole is separated from the vacuum space and the foamed material is provided between the hole and the vacuum space (e.g. Fig. 1; ¶ [0012]), and
wherein:
the side plate includes a wall extending in the first direction (e.g. Fig. 1), and
an extending line of the wall of the side plate does not overlap the hole (e.g. Fig. 1).
The examiner considers Ishibashi’s “vacuum insulating panel” 7 to provide for the first plate, the second plate, and the side plate in light of Fig. 1 illustrating a rectangular cross section, where the first and second plates run parallel to an “inner box” 5, whereby the side plate connects the first and second plates (e.g. Fig. 1).
Additionally, the examiner considers Ishibashi’s “pivot shaft” 52 to pass through the insulating body since the “foamed heat insulating material” 6 is formed by filling a “main body heat insulating portion” 9 with foaming material after the “vacuum insulating panel” 7 is inserted between an “outer box” 3 and “inner box” 5 (e.g. ¶ [0012]). For the “pivot shaft” 52 to be in the “refrigerator main body” 2, this thus necessitates a hole as claimed. Furthermore, a hole provided in this manner separates the hole from the vacuum space because of foamed material therebetween.
It is clear from Ishibashi’s Fig. 1 that the empty volume contained between the “outer box” 3 and the “inner box” 5 is to be completely filled with a foamed material once components such as the “vacuum insulating panel” 7 are in place. Given Kang’s foamed material is intended as a secondary adiabatic means (e.g. ¶ [0084]), one of ordinary skill in the art would have understood a foamed material as Ishibashi discloses has the effect of increasing thermal insulation. Ishibashi’s filling method for providing the foam therefore would limit conduction from the hinge shaft through the adiabatic body.
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to modify Kang’s adiabatic body by separating the hole from the vacuum space and the foamed material is provided between the hole and the vacuum space as Ishibashi suggests, the motivation being to improve the insulation of the vacuum adiabatic body by minimizing heat conduction from the hinge shaft at the hole.
Regarding claim 2, in addition to the limitations of claim 1, Kang discloses at least a portion of the wall of the side plate is received inside the insulating body (e.g. Fig. 4A, 4C will provide this via the “resistance sheets” 60, 63 with respect to the “porous substance” 33 which is inserted as a foaming liquid which expands into the porous structure disclosed).
Regarding claim 3, in addition to the limitations of claim 1, Kang discloses the wall of the side plate is spaced a predetermined distance from the hole in a second direction that differs from the first direction (by “side frame” 70: e.g. Fig. 4B; ¶¶ [0097], [0113], [0114], [0116], [0117]).
Regarding claim 4, in addition to the limitations of claim 3, Kang discloses the predetermined distance is greater than a height of the vacuum space in the first direction (e.g. Fig. 2 shows placements of various holes which would meet this).
Regarding claim 5, in addition to the limitations of claim 1, Kang discloses the wall of the side plate does not overlap the hole in second direction that differs from the first direction (e.g. Fig. 4B).
Regarding claim 6, in addition to the limitations of claim 1, Kang discloses the adiabatic body further comprises an additional component (such as a “gasket” 80: e.g. Fig. 11; ¶¶ [0096], [0145] – [0147], [0149] – [0151], [0157], [0194]).
Regarding claim 7, in addition to the limitations of claim 6, Kang discloses the additional component comprises includes a gasket (“gasket” 80: e.g. Fig. 11; ¶¶ [0096], [0145] – [0147], [0149] – [0151], [0157], [0194]).
Regarding claim 8, in addition to the limitations of claim 6, Kang discloses the additional component is provided at at least a portion of a peripheral region of the insulating body (e.g. Fig. 4B).
Regarding claim 9, in addition to the limitations of claim 6, Kang discloses the adiabatic body further comprises a support provided between the first and second plate (“supporting unit” 30, “bar” 31: e.g. ¶¶ [0039], [0086] – [0091], [0100], [0101], [0107], [0110], [0113] – [0116], [0119], [0120], [0123], [0128], [0129]), and
wherein the additional component is provided so as not to overlap either the side plate or the support in the first direction (e.g. Fig. 4B, 4C).
Regarding claim 10, in addition to the limitations of claim 9, Kang discloses a region of the side plate extends in the first direction (e.g. Fig. 4B).
Regarding claim 11, in addition to the limitations of claim 9, Kang discloses the support includes a bar (“bar” 31: e.g. Fig. 4B, 4C; ¶¶ [0086], [0110], [0113], [0116]).
Regarding claim 12, in addition to the limitations of claim 9, Kang discloses a portion of the side plate and a portion of the support are provided between the hole and the additional component (since the “gasket” 81 joins the “vacuum adiabatic body” on a portion of the side plate outside the “vacuum space part” 50: e.g. Fig. 4A – 4C, 11, 12; ¶¶ [0096], [0149]).
Regarding claim 13, Kang discloses an adiabatic body (“vacuum adiabatic body”: e.g. Fig. 1 – 54; ¶¶ [0010] – [0332]) comprising:
a first plate (a first one of “first and second plate members” 10, 20: e.g. Fig. 4A – 4C, 8, 11 – 14, 15A – 15F, 18A, 19 – 27, 31, 32; ¶¶ [0013], [0022], [0026] – [0029], [0080] – [0083], [0085], [0086], [0088], [0089], [0093] – [0095], [0100], [0101], [0110], [0111], [0113] – [0117], [0126], [0130], [0132], [0135], [0138], [0139], [0152] – [0156], [0159], [0160], [0163], [0164], [0167], [0170], [0177], [0178], [0187] – [0189], [0193], [0195], [0203], [0207] – [0209], [0213], [0239], [0245], [0261], [0269], [0275], [0277] – [0280], [0283], [0294], [0311]);
a second plate spaced from the first plate in a first direction to provide a vacuum space between the first plate and the second plate (the other of the “first and second plate members” 10, 20 separated from the first one by a “vacuum space part” 50: e.g. e.g. Fig. 4A – 4C, 8, 11 – 14, 15A – 15F, 18A, 19 – 27, 31, 32; ¶¶ [0013], [0022], [0026] – [0029], [0036], [0080] – [0083], [0085], [0086], [0088] – [0090], [0093] – [0095], [0098] – [0101], [0108] – [0111], [0113] – [0117], [0119], [0124] – [0132], [0134], [0135], [0138], [0139], [0152] – [0156], [0159], [0160], [0163], [0164], [0167], [0170], [0177], [0178], [0187] – [0189], [0193] – [0195], [0203], [0207] – [0209], [0213], [0239], [0245], [0261], [0269], [02175], [0277] – [0280], [0283], [0294], [0302], [0304], [0311], [0321]);
an insulating body contacting at least one of the first plate or the second plate and filled with a foamed material (“other adiabatic means” provided at at least one side of the “vacuum adiabatic body”, e.g. “foaming”: e.g. ¶ [0084]); and
a hinge including a shaft received in a hole of the insulating body (“hinge” 263 connects via a “door fastener” 260 which is fixed to a “reinforcing member” 100 which is located in the “vacuum space part” 50 and thus requires a hole in at least one of the “first and second plate members” 10, 20: e.g. Fig. 16, 17, 19 – 24; ¶¶ [0047], [0132] – [0134], [0168], [0185] – [0188], [0190]); and
a support provided between the first and second plate (“supporting unit” 30, “bar” 31, “reinforcing member” 100, 110: e.g. Fig. 4B, 4C, 16, 17, 19 – 24; ¶¶ [0039], [0086] – [0091], [0100], [0101], [0107], [0110], [0113] – [0116], [0119], [0120], [0123], [0128], [0129], [0132] – [0134], [0138], [0139], [0153], [0159], [0160], [0168], [0169], [0177], [0187], [0196] – [0200], [0202], [0203], [0210], [0213] – [0215], [0217], [0220], [0226], [0235], [0294]),
wherein the support does not include a portion that overlaps the hole (provided by “bars” 31 extending in the first direction and therefore perpendicular to the “reinforcing member” 100: e.g. Fig. 2, 4B, 8, 11, 13 – 15, 19 – 24, 26, 27).
Although Kang is not explicit as to the shaft being surrounded by the foamed material, whereby the hole is separated from the vacuum space and the foamed material is provided between the hole and the vacuum space, these features would have been obvious in view of Ishibashi.
Ishibashi discloses an adiabatic body (“refrigerator main body” 2: e.g. Fig. 1 – 3; ¶¶ [0005] – [0053]) comprising:
a first plate (as provided by a “vacuum insulating panel” 7: e.g. Fig. 1; ¶¶ [0010] – [0012]);
a second plate spaced from the first plate in a first direction to provide a vacuum space between the first plate and the second plate (as provided by the “vacuum insulating panel” 7: e.g. Fig. 1; ¶¶ [0010] – [0012]);
an insulating body contacting at least one of the first plate or the second plate and filled with a foamed material (“foamed heat insulating material” 6: e.g. Fig. 1; ¶¶ [0010], [0012]);
a hole provided in the insulating body (through which “pivot shaft” 52 passes: e.g. Fig. 1; ¶¶ [0025] – [0027], [0029], [0043] – [0045]); and
a side plate provided between the first plate to the second plate (as provided by the “vacuum insulating panel” 7: e.g. Fig. 1; ¶¶ [0010] – [0012]),
wherein a hinge shaft is provided on the hole (“pivot shaft” 52 of a “hinge” 50: e.g. Fig. 1; ¶¶ [0025] – [0027], [0029], [0043] – [0045]),
wherein the hole is separated from the vacuum space and the foamed material is provided between the hole and the vacuum space (e.g. Fig. 1; ¶ [0012]), and
wherein:
the side plate includes a wall extending in the first direction (e.g. Fig. 1), and
an extending line of the wall of the side plate does not overlap the hole (e.g. Fig. 1).
The examiner considers Ishibashi’s “vacuum insulating panel” 7 to provide for the first plate, the second plate, and the side plate in light of Fig. 1 illustrating a rectangular cross section, where the first and second plates run parallel to an “inner box” 5, whereby the side plate connects the first and second plates (e.g. Fig. 1).
Additionally, the examiner considers Ishibashi’s “pivot shaft” 52 to pass through the insulating body since the “foamed heat insulating material” 6 is formed by filling a “main body heat insulating portion” 9 with foaming material after the “vacuum insulating panel” 7 is inserted between an “outer box” 3 and “inner box” 5 (e.g. ¶ [0012]). For the “pivot shaft” 52 to be in the “refrigerator main body” 2, this thus necessitates a hole as claimed. Furthermore, a hole provided in this manner separates the hole from the vacuum space because of foamed material therebetween.
It is clear from Ishibashi’s Fig. 1 that the empty volume contained between the “outer box” 3 and the “inner box” 5 is to be completely filled with a foamed material once components such as the “vacuum insulating panel” 7 are in place. Given Kang’s foamed material is intended as a secondary adiabatic means (e.g. ¶ [0084]), one of ordinary skill in the art would have understood a foamed material as Ishibashi discloses has the effect of increasing thermal insulation. Ishibashi’s filling method for providing the foam therefore would limit conduction from the hinge shaft through the adiabatic body.
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to modify Kang’s adiabatic body by separating the hole from the vacuum space and the foamed material is provided between the hole and the vacuum space as Ishibashi suggests, the motivation being to improve the insulation of the vacuum adiabatic body by minimizing heat conduction from the hinge shaft at the hole.
Regarding claim 14, in addition to the limitations of claim 13, Kang discloses the support includes a first bar and a second bar spaced a predetermined distance from the first bar (“bars” 31: e.g. Fig. 4B, 4C; ¶¶ [0086], [0110], [0113], [0116]).
Regarding claim 15, in addition to the limitations of claim 14, Kang discloses an inclination angle of the first bar is greater than that of the second bar, and the first bar is provided closer to a side of the vacuum space than the second bar (because a “door” 3 made from the “vacuum adiabatic body” has an outward facing surface which is curved and the “bars” 31 extend substantially perpendicular to the “plate members” 10, 20, the “bars” 31 will have an inclination angle which changes across the width of the “door” 3: e.g. Fig. 1; ¶ [0086]).
Regarding claim 16, in addition to the limitations of claim 13, Kang discloses the support overlaps the insulating body in the first direction (provided by “reinforcing member” 100: e.g. Fig. 16, 17, 19 – 24; ¶¶ [0047], [0132] – [0134], [0168], [0185] – [0188], [0190]).
Regarding claim 17, in addition to the limitations of claim 13, Kang discloses the support is spaced a predetermined distance from the hole in a second direction that differs from the first direction (e.g. Fig. 4B, 4C).
Regarding claim 18, in addition to the limitations of claim 17, Kang discloses the predetermined distance is greater than a height of the vacuum space in the first direction (since “bars” 31 are distributed across the width of a door made from the “vacuum adiabatic body” and the hole is located at a portion of the door where the hinge is attached: e.g. Fig. 1, 3A, 3B, 4A – 4C; ¶ [0086]).
Regarding claim 19, in addition to the limitations of claim 13, Kang discloses the support is provided to overlap the hole in a second direction that differs from the first direction (provided by “reinforcing member” 100: e.g. Fig. 16, 17, 19 – 24; ¶¶ [0047], [0132] – [0134], [0168], [0185] – [0188], [0190]).
Regarding claim 20, Kang discloses an adiabatic body (“vacuum adiabatic body”: e.g. Fig. 1 – 54; ¶¶ [0010] – [0332]) comprising:
a first plate (a first one of “first and second plate members” 10, 20: e.g. Fig. 4A – 4C, 8, 11 – 14, 15A – 15F, 18A, 19 – 27, 31, 32; ¶¶ [0013], [0022], [0026] – [0029], [0080] – [0083], [0085], [0086], [0088], [0089], [0093] – [0095], [0100], [0101], [0110], [0111], [0113] – [0117], [0126], [0130], [0132], [0135], [0138], [0139], [0152] – [0156], [0159], [0160], [0163], [0164], [0167], [0170], [0177], [0178], [0187] – [0189], [0193], [0195], [0203], [0207] – [0209], [0213], [0239], [0245], [0261], [0269], [02175], [0277] – [0280], [0283], [0294], [0311]);
a second plate spaced from the first plate in a first direction to provide a vacuum space between the first plate and the second plate (the other of the “first and second plate members” 10, 20 separated from the first one by a “vacuum space part” 50: e.g. e.g. Fig. 4A – 4C, 8, 11 – 14, 15A – 15F, 18A, 19 – 27, 31, 32; ¶¶ [0013], [0022], [0026] – [0029], [0036], [0080] – [0083], [0085], [0086], [0088] – [0090], [0093] – [0095], [0098] – [0101], [0108] – [0111], [0113] – [0117], [0119], [0124] – [0132], [0134], [0135], [0138], [0139], [0152] – [0156], [0159], [0160], [0163], [0164], [0167], [0170], [0177], [0178], [0187] – [0189], [0193] – [0195], [0203], [0207] – [0209], [0213], [0239], [0245], [0261], [0269], [02175], [0277] – [0280], [0283], [0294], [0302], [0304], [0311], [0321]);
an insulating body contacting at least one of the first plate or the second plate and filled with a foamed material (“other adiabatic means” provided at at least one side of the “vacuum adiabatic body”, e.g. “foaming”: e.g. ¶ [0084]);
a hole provided in the insulating body and configured to receive a shaft of a hinge (“hinge” 263 connects via a “door fastener” 260 which is fixed to a “reinforcing member” 100 which is located in the “vacuum space part” 50 and thus requires a hole in at least one of the “first and second plate members” 10, 20: e.g. Fig. 16, 17, 19 – 24; ¶¶ [0047], [0132] – [0134], [0168], [0185] – [0188], [0190]); and
a side plate provided between the first plate to the second plate (an unenumerated structure turning upward from “second plate member” 20 and/or downward from “first plate member” 10 is depicted: e.g. Fig. 2, 4B; or “resistance sheets” 60, 63: e.g. Fig. 2, 4A, 4C, 8, 11 – 14, 15A – 15F, 26, 27; ¶¶ [0037], [0079], [0080], [0093] – [0101], [0106], [0110], [0111], [0113] – [0117], [0130], [0131], [0133], [0135], [0148], [0157], [0166] – [0168], [0193], [0294], [0306], [0311], [0328]),
wherein the side plate includes a wall extending in the first direction, and the wall of the side plate does not overlap the hole in the first direction (e.g. Fig. 4B).
Although Kang is not explicit as the hole being separated from the vacuum space and the foamed material is provided between the hole and the vacuum space, this feature would have been obvious in view of Ishibashi.
Ishibashi discloses an adiabatic body (“refrigerator main body” 2: e.g. Fig. 1 – 3; ¶¶ [0005] – [0053]) comprising:
a first plate (as provided by a “vacuum insulating panel” 7: e.g. Fig. 1; ¶¶ [0010] – [0012]);
a second plate spaced from the first plate in a first direction to provide a vacuum space between the first plate and the second plate (as provided by the “vacuum insulating panel” 7: e.g. Fig. 1; ¶¶ [0010] – [0012]);
an insulating body contacting at least one of the first plate or the second plate and filled with a foamed material (“foamed heat insulating material” 6: e.g. Fig. 1; ¶¶ [0010], [0012]);
a hole provided in the insulating body (through which “pivot shaft” 52 passes: e.g. Fig. 1; ¶¶ [0025] – [0027], [0029], [0043] – [0045]); and
a side plate provided between the first plate to the second plate (as provided by the “vacuum insulating panel” 7: e.g. Fig. 1; ¶¶ [0010] – [0012]),
wherein a hinge shaft is provided on the hole (“pivot shaft” 52 of a “hinge” 50: e.g. Fig. 1; ¶¶ [0025] – [0027], [0029], [0043] – [0045]),
wherein the hole is separated from the vacuum space and the foamed material is provided between the hole and the vacuum space (e.g. Fig. 1; ¶ [0012]), and
wherein:
the side plate includes a wall extending in the first direction (e.g. Fig. 1), and
an extending line of the wall of the side plate does not overlap the hole (e.g. Fig. 1).
The examiner considers Ishibashi’s “vacuum insulating panel” 7 to provide for the first plate, the second plate, and the side plate in light of Fig. 1 illustrating a rectangular cross section, where the first and second plates run parallel to an “inner box” 5, whereby the side plate connects the first and second plates (e.g. Fig. 1).
Additionally, the examiner considers Ishibashi’s “pivot shaft” 52 to pass through the insulating body since the “foamed heat insulating material” 6 is formed by filling a “main body heat insulating portion” 9 with foaming material after the “vacuum insulating panel” 7 is inserted between an “outer box” 3 and “inner box” 5 (e.g. ¶ [0012]). For the “pivot shaft” 52 to be in the “refrigerator main body” 2, this thus necessitates a hole as claimed. Furthermore, a hole provided in this manner separates the hole from the vacuum space because of foamed material therebetween.
It is clear from Ishibashi’s Fig. 1 that the empty volume contained between the “outer box” 3 and the “inner box” 5 is to be completely filled with a foamed material once components such as the “vacuum insulating panel” 7 are in place. Given Kang’s foamed material is intended as a secondary adiabatic means (e.g. ¶ [0084]), one of ordinary skill in the art would have understood a foamed material as Ishibashi discloses has the effect of increasing thermal insulation. Ishibashi’s filling method for providing the foam therefore would limit conduction from the hinge shaft through the adiabatic body.
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to modify Kang’s adiabatic body by separating the hole from the vacuum space and the foamed material is provided between the hole and the vacuum space as Ishibashi suggests, the motivation being to improve the insulation of the vacuum adiabatic body by minimizing heat conduction from the hinge shaft at the hole.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, see pp. 8 – 12, filed 19 December 2025, with respect to the rejections of claims 1 – 20 under 35 U.S.C. 102 in view of Kang have been fully considered and are persuasive. Therefore, these rejections have been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection is made in view of Ishibashi alone or combined with Kang.
Applicant asserts patentability in light of the claims requiring, as amended, a hole separated from a vacuum space and foamed material provided between the hole and the vacuum space. Ishibashi provides a structure where a vacuum space is isolated from a hinge shaft forming a hole by foam.
Accordingly, new grounds of rejection are presented in light of Ishibashi.
Conclusion
/ETHAN A. UTT/Examiner, Art Unit 1783
/MARIA V EWALD/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1783