DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) was submitted on 05/02/2023. The submission is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statements are being considered by the examiner.
Election/Restrictions
Applicant's election (without traverse) of a group linked to claims 1-15 in the reply filed on 12/06/2025 is acknowledged. Claims 20-24 have been withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b), as being drawn to a nonelected invention group II, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Applicant timely traversed the restriction (election) requirement in the reply filed on 12/06/2025.
Specification
The abstract of the disclosure is objected to because of following informalities:
The abstract of the disclosure is objected to because it contains the phrase, “according to some embodiments” in line 1, which can be implied. See MPEP § 608.01(b):
It should avoid using phrases which can be implied, such as, "The disclosure concerns," "The disclosure defined by this invention," "The disclosure describes," etc.
Claim Objections
Claims 1-15 are objected to because of the following informality:
Claim 1 recites, “physical cell identities, PCI,” (line 2), “secondary Cell group, SCG,”, multi-radio access technology dual connectivity, MR-DC,” (lines 2-4). It is suggested to replace them with “physical cell identities (PCI)” (line 2), “secondary Cell group (SCG)”, multi-radio access technology dual connectivity (MR-DC)”, respectively for more clarity.
Claim 1 recites, “operating in MR-DC” (last line). It is suggested to replace it with “operating in the MR-DC” for more clarity.
Claim 2 recites, “a special cell, Spcell,” (line 1). It is suggested to replace it with “a special cell (Spcell)” for more clarity.
Claim 3 recites, “a primary SCG cell, PSCell, of the SCG” (line 1). It is suggested to replace it with “a primary SCG cell (PSCell) of the SCG” for more clarity.
Claim 5 recites, “layer one, L1, measurements” (line 3). It is suggested to replace it with “layer one (L1) measurements” for more clarity.
Claim 6 recites, “wherein the L1 measurements comprise synchronization signal reference signal received power, RSRP, and/or channel state information RSRP measurements” (lines 1-3). It is suggested to replace it with “wherein the L1 measurements comprise: at least one of synchronization signal reference signal received power (RSRP); or channel state information RSRP measurements” for more clarity.
Claim 7 recites, “a medium access control, MAC,” (lines 1-2). It is suggested to replace it with “a medium access control (MAC)” for more clarity.
Claim 12 recites, “a contention free random access, CFRA,” (line 3). It is suggested to replace it with “a contention free random access (CFRA)” for more clarity.
Claim 14 recites, “a contention based random access, CBRA,” (line 3). It is suggested to replace it with “a contention based random access (CBRA)” for more clarity.
Claims 2-15 are also objected to since they are directly or indirectly dependent upon the objected claims, as set forth above.
Appropriate correction is required.
Double Patenting
Claims 1-3, 7, 12 and 14 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory obviousness-type double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-20 of US Patent 12484091 B2 (hereinafter “Rama’091) in view of Hwang et al (US Publication No. 2022/0369172 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Rama’091 discloses, a method of operating user equipment, UE, comprising:
receiving a first mobility configuration for lower layer mobility associated to multiple physical cell identities, PCIs for a cell, of a Secondary Cell Group, SCG, for operating in multi-radio access technology dual connectivity, MR-DC [see claim 1, lines 49-55], wherein the lower layer mobility is used to trigger a change of PCI upon reception of a lower layer signaling by the UE [see claim 1, lines 56-57]; and
operating according to the mobility configuration for the cell of the SCG while operating in MR-DC [see claim 1, lines 59-60].
Rama’091 does not explicitly disclose (see, italicized and bold limitations), receiving a first mobility configuration for lower layer mobility associated to multiple physical cell identities, PCIs for a cell, of a Secondary Cell Group, SCG, for operating in multi-radio access technology dual connectivity, MR-DC, and operating according to the mobility configuration for the cell of the SCG while operating in MR-DC.
However, Hwang discloses, receiving a first mobility configuration for . . . mobility . . . for a cell, of a Secondary Cell Group, SCG [FIG. 15; its related descriptions; ¶0224, the terminal receives measurement configuration information from secondary node (operation 15-05); further see ¶0225, the terminal transmits measurement report to the secondary node (operation 15-10) and the secondary node determines to a conditional PSCell change (operation 15-15); note that the measurement configuration information in the operation 1505 is considered as the claimed first mobility configuration], for operating in multi-radio access technology dual connectivity, MR-DC [¶0224, for operating in dual connection with a MN and a SN and ¶0152, multi-RAT dual connectivity (MRDC)]; and operating according to the mobility configuration for the cell of the SCG while operating in MR-DC [FIG. 15; its related descriptions; ¶0224-0225, perform measurement reporting for the secondary node (SN) (operation 15-10) according to the measurement configuration information while operating in the MR-DC (further see, ¶0224 and 0152)].
It is noted that the above-mentioned feature is a known technique in the field Applicant's endeavor, e.g., telecommunication art.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to combine the system of Rama’091 with "the above-mentioned known feature(s)" taught by Hwang to reach the claimed invention as set forth above. Since one having ordinary skill in the art could have recognized that applying the known technique taught by Hwang into the system of Rama’091 would have yield predictable results and/or resulted in the improved system, such as e.g., ensuring to reduce handover latency and signaling overhead while maintaining robust connectivity in a wireless network, such a modification (or application) would have involved the mere application of a known technique to a piece of prior art ready for improvement," the claim is unpatentable under 35 U.S.C. 103(a). Ex Parte Smith, 83 USPQ.2d 1509, 1518-19 (BPAI, 2007) (citing KSR v. Teleflex, 127 S.Ct. 1727, 1740, 82 USPQ2d 1385, 1396 (2007)).
Regarding claim 2, Rama’091 in view of Hwang discloses, the method of Claim 1 as set forth above.
Rama’091 does not explicitly disclose (see, italicized limitations), but Hwang discloses, wherein the cell comprises a special cell, Spcell, of the SCG [¶0225, the SN determines to a conditional PSCell change, and selects, as a target, another cell in an SN secondary gNB (SgNB) previously received from the terminal (operation 15-15)].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the above-mentioned feature(s) as taught by Hwang in the system of Rama’091 for similar rationales set forth above in clam 1.
Regarding claim 3, Rama’091 in view of Hwang discloses, the method of Claim 2 as set forth above.
Rama’091 does not explicitly disclose (see, italicized limitations), but Hwang discloses, wherein the special cell comprises a primary SCG cell, PSCell, of the SCG [¶0225, the SN determines to a conditional PSCell change, and selects, as a target, another cell in an SN secondary gNB (SgNB) previously received from the terminal (operation 15-15)].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the above-mentioned feature(s) as taught by Hwang in the system of Rama’091 for similar rationales set forth above in clam 1.
Regarding claim 7, Rama’091 in view of Hwang discloses, the method of Claim 1 as set forth above.
Rama’091 discloses, wherein the lower layer signaling comprises a medium access control, MAC, control element [see claim 4] that indicates a change of a primary SCG cell, PSCell, of the SCG and/or that indicates a PCI change for the PSCell [see claim 2].
Regarding claim 12, Rama’091 in view of Hwang discloses, the method of Claim 1 as set forth above.
Rama’091 discloses, receiving a contention free random access, CFRA, configuration associated to a plurality of beams [see claim 7], wherein each beam is associated to a different PCI [see claim 8], wherein the CFRA configuration is received with the first mobility configuration [see claim 7]; and performing a random access procedure based on the CFRA configuration [see claim 9].
Regarding claim 14, Rama’091 in view of Hwang discloses, the method of Claim 1 as set forth above.
Rama’091 discloses, receiving a contention based random access, CBRA, configuration associated to a plurality of beams [see claim 15], wherein the CBRA configuration is received with the first mobility configuration [see claim 15]; and performing a random access procedure based on the CBRA configuration [see claim 17].
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-3 and 7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hwang et al (US Publication No. 2022/0369172 A1) in view of Zhou’232 et al (US Publication No. 2021/0345232 A1)1.
Regarding claim 1, Hwang discloses, a method of operating user equipment, UE [FIG. 15; its related descriptions; ¶0224, terminal/UE], comprising:
receiving a first mobility configuration for . . . mobility . . . for a cell, of a Secondary Cell Group, SCG [FIG. 15; its related descriptions; ¶0224, the terminal receives measurement configuration information from secondary node (operation 15-05); further see ¶0225, the terminal transmits measurement report to the secondary node (operation 15-10) and the secondary node determines to a conditional PSCell change (operation 15-15); note that the measurement configuration information in the operation 1505 is considered as the claimed first mobility configuration], for operating in multi-radio access technology dual connectivity, MR-DC [¶0224, for operating in dual connection with a MN and a SN and ¶0152, multi-RAT dual connectivity (MRDC)]; and
operating according to the mobility configuration for the cell of the SCG while operating in MR-DC [FIG. 15; its related descriptions; ¶0224-0225, perform measurement reporting for the secondary node (SN) (operation 15-10) according to the measurement configuration information while operating in the MR-DC (further see, ¶0224 and 0152)].
Although Hwang discloses, “receiving a first mobility configuration for . . . mobility . . . for a cell, of a Secondary Cell Group, SCG, for operating in multi-radio access technology dual connectivity, MR-DC” as set forth above, Hwang does not explicitly disclose (see, italicized and bold limitations), “lower layer mobility associated to multiple physical cell identities, PCIs for a cell” and “wherein the lower layer mobility is used to trigger a change of PCI upon reception of a lower layer signaling by the UE”.
However, Zhou’232 discloses, lower layer mobility associated to multiple physical cell identities, PCIs for a cell [¶0055, L1 and L2-based inter-cell mobility associated with multiple PCI (see “a serving cell (e.g., each serving cell) may have multiple TRPs 210. In some cases, the TRPs 210 may be at different locations, or be at the same location. In the first mode, each TRP 210 may have a different PCI”)] see also, e.g., ¶0092 of US Provisional App. No. 63/018,408) and wherein the lower layer mobility is used to trigger a change of PCI upon reception of a lower layer signaling by the UE [¶0055, the L1 and L2-based inter-cell mobility is used to change the subset of serving PCIs via DCI or MAC-CE; note that the DCI which is received by user equipment and is a physical layer signaling/lower layer signaling since the DCI is transferred in a PDCCH, and the MAC-CE is also considered as a lower layer signaling] see also, e.g., ¶0092 of US Provisional App. No. 63/018,408).
It is noted that the above-mentioned feature is a known technique in the field Applicant's endeavor, e.g., telecommunication art.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to combine the system of Hwang with "the above-mentioned known feature(s)" taught by Zhou’232 to reach the claimed invention as set forth above. Since one having ordinary skill in the art could have recognized that applying the known technique taught by Zhou’232 into the system of Hwang would have yield predictable results and/or resulted in the improved system, such as e.g., ensuring to reduce handover latency and signaling overhead while maintaining robust connectivity in a wireless network, such a modification (or application) would have involved the mere application of a known technique to a piece of prior art ready for improvement," the claim is unpatentable under 35 U.S.C. 103(a). Ex Parte Smith, 83 USPQ.2d 1509, 1518-19 (BPAI, 2007) (citing KSR v. Teleflex, 127 S.Ct. 1727, 1740, 82 USPQ2d 1385, 1396 (2007)).
Regarding claim 2, Hwang in view of Zhou’232 discloses, the method of Claim 1 as set forth above.
Hwang discloses, wherein the cell comprises a special cell, Spcell, of the SCG [¶0225, the SN determines to a conditional PSCell change, and selects, as a target, another cell in an SN secondary gNB (SgNB) previously received from the terminal (operation 15-15)].
Regarding claim 3, Hwang in view of Zhou’232 discloses, the method of Claim 2 as set forth above.
Hwang discloses, wherein the special cell comprises a primary SCG cell, PSCell, of the SCG [¶0225, the SN determines to a conditional PSCell change, and selects, as a target, another cell in an SN secondary gNB (SgNB) previously received from the terminal (operation 15-15)].
Regarding claim 5, Hwang in view of Zhou’232 discloses, the method of Claim 1 as set forth above.
Although Hwang discloses, “operating according to the mobility configuration” as set forth above, Hwang does not explicitly disclose (see, italicized limitations), but Zhou’232 discloses, wherein operating according to the mobility configuration comprises at least one of:
performing layer one, L1, measurements or reporting for cells operating in a same frequency as the cell [¶0057, L1 metric, L1 reports (e.g., L1 RSRP, SINR, RSRQ) from a UE] on a same carrier frequency for all TRPs (cells)]; and receiving the lower layer signaling [¶0055, the L1 and L2-based inter-cell mobility is used to change the subset of serving PCIs via DCI or MAC-CE; note that since DCI or MAC-CE is a downlink control signal from network to UE, the UE receives the DCI or MAC-CE as the lower layer signaling; further note that the DCI which is received by user equipment and is a physical layer signaling/lower layer signaling since the DCI is transferred in a PDCCH].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the above-mentioned feature(s) as taught by Zhou’232 in the system of Hwang for similar rationales set forth above in claim 1.
Regarding claim 7, Hwang in view of Zhou’232 discloses, the method of Claim 1 as set forth above.
Although Hwang discloses, a change of a primary SCG cell, PSCell, of the SCG and/or that indicates a PCI change for the PSCell [FIG. 15; its related descriptions; ¶0224, the terminal receives measurement configuration information from secondary node (operation 15-05); further see ¶0225, the terminal transmits measurement report to the secondary node (operation 15-10) and the secondary node determines to a conditional PSCell change (operation 15-15)], Hwang does not explicitly disclose (see, italicized limitations), but Zhou’232 discloses, wherein the lower layer signaling comprises a medium access control, MAC, control element that indicates a PCI change of a cell [¶0055, the L1 and L2-based inter-cell mobility is used to change the subset of serving PCIs via DCI or MAC-CE].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the above-mentioned feature(s) as taught by Zhou’232 in the system of Hwang for similar rationales set forth above in claim 1.
Claim 4 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hwang et al (US Publication No. 2022/0369172 A1) in view of Zhou’232 et al (US Publication No. 2021/0345232 A1) and further in view of Wu et al (US Publication No. 2014/0220978 A1).
Regarding claim 4, Hwang in view of Zhou’232 discloses, the method of Claim 1 as set forth above.
Hwang in view of Zhou’232 does not explicitly disclose (see, italicized limitations), but Wu discloses, wherein the multiple PCIs correspond to cells operating in a same serving frequency [¶0044, a set of physical cell identities of second cells with a same frequency].
It is noted that the above-mentioned feature is a known technique in the field Applicant's endeavor, e.g., telecommunication art.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to combine the system of Hwang in view of Zhou’232 with "the above-mentioned known feature(s)" taught by Wu to reach the claimed invention as set forth above. Since one having ordinary skill in the art could have recognized that applying the known technique taught by Wu into the system of Hwang in view of Zhou’232 would have yield predictable results and/or resulted in the improved system, such as e.g., ensuring for fast and reliable cell identification and mobility without increasing higher layer signaling overhead, such a modification (or application) would have involved the mere application of a known technique to a piece of prior art ready for improvement," the claim is unpatentable under 35 U.S.C. 103(a). Ex Parte Smith, 83 USPQ.2d 1509, 1518-19 (BPAI, 2007) (citing KSR v. Teleflex, 127 S.Ct. 1727, 1740, 82 USPQ2d 1385, 1396 (2007)).
Claim 6 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hwang et al (US Publication No. 2022/0369172 A1) in view of Zhou’232 et al (US Publication No. 2021/0345232 A1) and further in view of Zhou’455 et al (US Publication No. 2021/0337455 A1)2.
Regarding claim 6, Hwang in view of Zhou’232 discloses, the method of Claim 5 as set forth above.
Hwang in view of Zhou’232 does not explicitly disclose (see, italicized limitations), but Zhou’455 discloses, wherein the L1 measurements comprise synchronization signal reference signal received power, RSRP [¶0057, L1 RSRP measurements for reference signals; further see ¶0073, primary synchronization signal or a secondary synchronization signal], and/or channel state information RSRP measurements [¶0100 and 0106, L1 RSRP measurements for reference signals; further see ¶0073, channel state information reference signal (CSI-RS)] see also, e.g., ¶0063 and 0086 of US Provisional App. No. 63/015,365).
It is noted that the above-mentioned feature is a known technique in the field Applicant's endeavor, e.g., telecommunication art.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to combine the system of Hwang in view of Zhou’232 "the above-mentioned known feature(s)" taught by Zhou’455 to reach the claimed invention as set forth above. Since one having ordinary skill in the art could have recognized that applying the known technique taught by Zhou’455 into the system of Hwang in view of Zhou’232 would have yield predictable results and/or resulted in the improved system, such as e.g., ensuring to reduce handover latency and signaling overhead while maintaining robust connectivity in a wireless network, such a modification (or application) would have involved the mere application of a known technique to a piece of prior art ready for improvement," the claim is unpatentable under 35 U.S.C. 103(a). Ex Parte Smith, 83 USPQ.2d 1509, 1518-19 (BPAI, 2007) (citing KSR v. Teleflex, 127 S.Ct. 1727, 1740, 82 USPQ2d 1385, 1396 (2007)).
Claims 8-9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hwang et al (US Publication No. 2022/0369172 A1) in view of Zhou’232 et al (US Publication No. 2021/0345232 A1) and further in view of Jung et al (US Publication No. 2020/0367310 A1).
Regarding claim 8, Hwang in view of Zhou’232 discloses, the method of Claim 1 as set forth above.
Hwang in view of Zhou’232 does not explicitly disclose (see, italicized limitations), but Jung discloses, receiving the mobility configuration for the cell of the SCG with a configuration for modifying or adding MR-DC for the UE [FIG. 11; its related descriptions; ¶0252, the MN 1i-02 or the SN 1i-03 may perform an RRC reconfiguration procedure (1i-70) to modify MR-DC configuration with the UE 1i-01]; and applying the configuration for modifying or adding MR-DC for the UE [FIG. 11; its related descriptions; ¶0252, the UE 1i-01 may perform the RRC reconfiguration procedure with the SN 1i-03].
It is noted that the above-mentioned feature is a known technique in the field Applicant's endeavor, e.g., telecommunication art.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to combine the system of Hwang in view of Zhou’232 with "the above-mentioned known feature(s)" taught by Jung to reach the claimed invention as set forth above. Since one having ordinary skill in the art could have recognized that applying the known technique taught by Jung into the system of Hwang in view of Zhou’232 would have yield predictable results and/or resulted in the improved system, such as e.g., ensuring for fast adapting to changes of radio conditions and traffic demand, such a modification (or application) would have involved the mere application of a known technique to a piece of prior art ready for improvement," the claim is unpatentable under 35 U.S.C. 103(a). Ex Parte Smith, 83 USPQ.2d 1509, 1518-19 (BPAI, 2007) (citing KSR v. Teleflex, 127 S.Ct. 1727, 1740, 82 USPQ2d 1385, 1396 (2007)).
Regarding claim 9, Hwang in view of Zhou’232 and Jung discloses, the method of Claim 8 as set forth above.
Hwang in view of Zhou’232 does not explicitly disclose (see, italicized limitations), but Jung discloses, wherein the configuration for modifying or adding MR-DC is provided in a reconfiguration message for the SCG [FIG. 11; its related descriptions; ¶0252, the MN 1i-02 or the SN 1i-03 may perform an RRC reconfiguration procedure (1i-70) to modify MR-DC configuration with the UE 1i-01].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the above-mentioned feature(s) as taught by Jung in the system of Hwang in view of Zhou’232 for similar rationales set forth above in claim 8.
Claim 10 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hwang et al (US Publication No. 2022/0369172 A1) in view of Zhou’232 et al (US Publication No. 2021/0345232 A1) and further in view of Tsuboi et al (WO 2019/244609 A1)3.
Regarding claim 10, Hwang in view of Zhou’232 and Jung discloses, the method of Claim 9 as set forth above.
Hwang in view of Zhou’232 and Jung does not explicitly disclose (see, italicized limitations), but Tsuboi discloses, wherein the reconfiguration message comprises synchronization information [¶0117-0118, the ssb-PositionsInBurst is included in the system information notified by the logical channel BCCH. The ssb-PositionsInBurst may also be included in a reconfiguration message (RRC reconfiguration message) notified by the logical channel DCCH individually to each terminal device 2. Currently, ssb-PositionsInBurst is included in a reconfiguration message involving synchronization processing].
It is noted that the above-mentioned feature is a known technique in the field Applicant's endeavor, e.g., telecommunication art.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to combine the system of Hwang in view of Zhou’232 and Jung with "the above-mentioned known feature(s)" taught by Tsuboi to reach the claimed invention as set forth above. Since one having ordinary skill in the art could have recognized that applying the known technique taught by Tsuboi into the system of Hwang in view of Zhou’232 and Jung would have yield predictable results and/or resulted in the improved system, such as e.g., ensuring for fast and reliable timing alignment during cell change or reconfiguration, such a modification (or application) would have involved the mere application of a known technique to a piece of prior art ready for improvement," the claim is unpatentable under 35 U.S.C. 103(a). Ex Parte Smith, 83 USPQ.2d 1509, 1518-19 (BPAI, 2007) (citing KSR v. Teleflex, 127 S.Ct. 1727, 1740, 82 USPQ2d 1385, 1396 (2007)).
Claim 12 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hwang et al (US Publication No. 2022/0369172 A1) in view of Zhou’232 et al (US Publication No. 2021/0345232 A1) and further in view of Nagaraja et al (US Publication No. 2018/0324653 A1) and further in view of Zhou’429 et al (US Publication No. 2021/0345429 A1) 4.
Regarding claim 12, Hwang in view of Zhou’232 discloses, the method of Claim 1 as set forth above.
Hwang in view of Zhou’232 does not explicitly disclose (see, italicized limitations), but Nagaraja discloses, receiving a contention free random access, CFRA, configuration associated to a plurality of beams [FIG. 4; its related descriptions; ¶0011 and 0088, UE receives a handover command including configuration for CFRA and one or more beams for CFRA], wherein the CFRA configuration is received with the first mobility configuration [FIG. 4; its related descriptions; ¶0011 and 0088, the CFRA configuration is received with the handover command]; and performing a random access procedure based on the CFRA configuration [FIG. 4; its related descriptions; ¶0074, initiates random access request using the CFRA procedure].
It is noted that the above-mentioned feature is a known technique in the field Applicant's endeavor, e.g., telecommunication art.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to combine the system of Hwang in view of Zhou’232 with "the above-mentioned known feature(s)" taught by Nagaraja to reach the claimed invention as set forth above. Since one having ordinary skill in the art could have recognized that applying the known technique taught by Nagaraja into the system of Hwang in view of Zhou’232 would have yield predictable results and/or resulted in the improved system, such as e.g., e.g., ensuring to reduce handover latency and signaling overhead while maintaining robust connectivity in a wireless network, such a modification (or application) would have involved the mere application of a known technique to a piece of prior art ready for improvement," the claim is unpatentable under 35 U.S.C. 103(a). Ex Parte Smith, 83 USPQ.2d 1509, 1518-19 (BPAI, 2007) (citing KSR v. Teleflex, 127 S.Ct. 1727, 1740, 82 USPQ2d 1385, 1396 (2007)).
Further, Hwang in view of Zhou’232 and Nagaraja does not explicitly disclose (see, italicized limitations), but Zhou’429 discloses, wherein each beam is associated to a different PCI [¶0082, UE 115-a may apply the beam configurations corresponding to the indicated selected subset of PCI states] see also, e.g., ¶0110 of US Provisional App. No. 63/018,273).
It is noted that the above-mentioned feature is a known technique in the field Applicant's endeavor, e.g., telecommunication art.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to combine the system of Hwang in view of Zhou’232 and Nagaraja with "the above-mentioned known feature(s)" taught by Zhou’429 to reach the claimed invention as set forth above. Since one having ordinary skill in the art could have recognized that applying the known technique taught by Zhou’429 into the system of Hwang in view of Zhou’232 and Nagaraja would have yield predictable results and/or resulted in the improved system, such as e.g., e.g., ensuring for fast and reliable cell identification and mobility without increasing higher layer signaling overhead, such a modification (or application) would have involved the mere application of a known technique to a piece of prior art ready for improvement," the claim is unpatentable under 35 U.S.C. 103(a). Ex Parte Smith, 83 USPQ.2d 1509, 1518-19 (BPAI, 2007) (citing KSR v. Teleflex, 127 S.Ct. 1727, 1740, 82 USPQ2d 1385, 1396 (2007)).
Claim 13 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hwang et al (US Publication No. 2022/0369172 A1) in view of Zhou’232 et al (US Publication No. 2021/0345232 A1) and further in view of Nagaraja et al (US Publication No. 2018/0324653 A1) and further in view of Zhou’429 et al (US Publication No. 2021/0345429 A1) and further in view of Jung et al (US Publication No. 2020/0367310 A1) .
Regarding claim 13, Hwang in view of Zhou’232, Nagaraja and Zhou’429 discloses, the method of Claim 12 as set forth above.
Hwang in view of Zhou’232, Nagaraja and Zhou’429 discloses, but Jung discloses, the CFRA configuration comprises at least one of: a configuration for changing or modifying MR-DC [FIG. 11; its related descriptions; ¶0252, the MN 1i-02 or the SN 1i-03 may perform an RRC reconfiguration procedure (1i-70) to modify MR-DC configuration with the UE 1i-01].
It is noted that the above-mentioned feature is a known technique in the field Applicant's endeavor, e.g., telecommunication art.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to combine the system of Hwang in view of Zhou’232, Nagaraja and Zhou’429 with "the above-mentioned known feature(s)" taught by Jung to reach the claimed invention as set forth above. Since one having ordinary skill in the art could have recognized that applying the known technique taught by Jung into the system of Hwang in view of Zhou’232, Nagaraja and Zhou’429 would have yield predictable results and/or resulted in the improved system, such as e.g., ensuring for fast adapting to changes of radio conditions and traffic demand, such a modification (or application) would have involved the mere application of a known technique to a piece of prior art ready for improvement," the claim is unpatentable under 35 U.S.C. 103(a). Ex Parte Smith, 83 USPQ.2d 1509, 1518-19 (BPAI, 2007) (citing KSR v. Teleflex, 127 S.Ct. 1727, 1740, 82 USPQ2d 1385, 1396 (2007)).
Claim 14 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hwang et al (US Publication No. 2022/0369172 A1) in view of Zhou’232 et al (US Publication No. 2021/0345232 A1) and further in view of Nagaraja et al (US Publication No. 2018/0324653 A1).
Regarding claim 14, Hwang in view of Zhou’232 discloses, the method of Claim 1 as set forth above.
Hwang in view of Zhou’232 does not explicitly disclose (see, italicized limitations), but Nagaraja discloses, receiving a contention free random access, CFRA, configuration associated to a plurality of beams [FIG. 4; its related descriptions; ¶0011 and 0088, UE receives a handover command including configuration for CFBA and one or more beams for CFBA], wherein the CFRA configuration is received with the first mobility configuration [FIG. 4; its related descriptions; ¶0011 and 0088, the CFBA configuration is received with the handover command]; and performing a random access procedure based on the CFRA configuration [FIG. 4; its related descriptions; ¶0074, initiates random access request using the CFBA procedure].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the above-mentioned feature(s) as taught by Nagaraja in the system of Hwang in view of Zhou’232 for similar rationales set forth above in claim 12.
Claim 15 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hwang et al (US Publication No. 2022/0369172 A1) in view of Zhou’232 et al (US Publication No. 2021/0345232 A1) and further in view of Nagaraja et al (US Publication No. 2018/0324653 A1) and further in view of Jung et al (US Publication No. 2020/0367310 A1) .
Regarding claim 15, Hwang in view of Zhou’232 and Nagaraja discloses, the method of Claim 14 as set forth above.
Hwang in view of Zhou’232 and Nagaraja does not explicitly disclose (see, italicized limitations), but Jung discloses wherein the CBRA configuration comprises at least one of:
a configuration for changing or modifying MR-DC [FIG. 11; its related descriptions; ¶0252, the MN 1i-02 or the SN 1i-03 may perform an RRC reconfiguration procedure (1i-70) to modify MR-DC configuration with the UE 1i-01].
It is noted that the above-mentioned feature is a known technique in the field Applicant's endeavor, e.g., telecommunication art.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to combine the system of Hwang in view of Zhou’232 and Nagaraja with "the above-mentioned known feature(s)" taught by Jung to reach the claimed invention as set forth above. Since one having ordinary skill in the art could have recognized that applying the known technique taught by Jung into the system of Hwang in view of Zhou’232 and Nagaraja would have yield predictable results and/or resulted in the improved system, such as e.g., ensuring for fast adapting to changes of radio conditions and traffic demand, such a modification (or application) would have involved the mere application of a known technique to a piece of prior art ready for improvement," the claim is unpatentable under 35 U.S.C. 103(a). Ex Parte Smith, 83 USPQ.2d 1509, 1518-19 (BPAI, 2007) (citing KSR v. Teleflex, 127 S.Ct. 1727, 1740, 82 USPQ2d 1385, 1396 (2007)).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 11 would be allowable if rewritten to overcome the claim objections set forth above and to include all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon are considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Lim et al (US Publication No. 2021/0368572 A1) [¶0062-0063]
/SUN JONG KIM/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2469
1 Zhou’232 claims priority of US Provisional Application No. 63/018,408 filed on 04/30/2020, thus Zhou’455 is qualified as a prior art under 102(a)(2) for the instant application with the effective filing date 11/03/2020.
2 Zhou’455 claims priority of US Provisional Application No. 63/015,365 filed on 04/24/2020, thus Zhou’455 is qualified as a prior art under 102(a)(2) for the instant application with the effective filing date 11/03/2020.
3 Copy of English translation (see attached) to Tsuboi is used for the sake of claim mapping purpose.
4 Zhou’429 claims priority of US Provisional Application No. 63/018,273 filed on 04/30/2020, thus Zhou’429 is qualified as a prior art under 102(a)(2) for the instant application with the effective filing date 11/03/2020.