DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1 and 13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wang (US 2022/0210827, hereinafter Wang) and in view of Ye et al (US 2022/0303781, hereinafter Ye).
Regarding claim 1, Wang discloses a method, comprising: receiving, by a processor of an apparatus implemented in a user equipment (UE), an indication from a network node of a wireless network (COT information is received by the UE in DCI signaling, Para [0028], COT information includes multiple indications, Para [0136]); and determining, by the processor based on the indication, whether the network node is using a network-initiated channel occupancy time (COT) or sharing a UE-initiated COT (COT information indicates COT category, which indicates if the COT is gNB initiated COT or a UE initiated COT, Para [0136], UE reads the COT information, Para [0138] with processor, Para [0147]); but does not explicitly disclose wherein the indication comprises a downlink control information (DCI) bit-field (COT information is received in DCI, Para [0028], it is known in the art, DCI is made up of bit fields indicating different information, obvious to one of ordinary skill the COT information would include bits in a field); nor explicitly discloses wherein, responsive to the DCI bit-field having a first value, the network node is using the network-initiated COT, and wherein, responsive to the DCI bit-field having a second value different from the first value, the network node is sharing the UE-initiated COT (COT information indicates COT category, which indicates if the COT is gNB initiated COT or a UE initiated COT, Para [0136], it is known in the art that a single bit can indicate two alternative options, obvious to one of ordinary skill that the two indications, gNB or UE initiated COT, could be indicated by a single bit having a value of 0 or 1); but does not explicitly disclose wherein the indication indicates that the network node is sharing the UE-initiated COT during a fixed frame period (FFP) associated with the apparatus, in an event that the apparatus has signaled an indication of sharing, in an event that the network node uses the UE-initiated COT, or in an event that the network node explicitly signals that the network node is using the UE-initiated COT. Ye discloses the wireless device can determine if the base station is sharing the COT portion of another wireless device’s FFP, that was initiated by the wireless device, Para [0084], BS can transmit unicast signals to wireless device that shared its COT, initiated by wireless device during its FFP, Para [0085], base station can provide explicit signaling on whether the base station initiated the COT or not, Para [0086]. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to utilize the techniques taught by Ye in the system of Wang in order to ensure the accuracy of transmitted and received signals through user equipment (UE) devices.
Regarding claim 13, Wang discloses an apparatus implementable in a user equipment (UE, Fig. 9), comprising: a transceiver (transceiver, Fig. 9) configured to communicate wirelessly with a network node of a wireless network (communications network with UE and gNBs, Para [0058]); and a processor (processor, Fig. 9) coupled to the transceiver and configured to perform operations comprising: receiving, via the transceiver, an indication from the network node (COT information is received by the UE in DCI signaling, Para [0028], COT information includes multiple indications, Para [0136]); and determining, based on the indication, whether the network node is using a network-initiated channel occupancy time (COT) or sharing a UE-initiated COT (COT information indicates COT category, which indicates if the COT is gNB initiated COT or a UE initiated COT, Para [0136], UE reads the COT information, Para [0138] with processor, Para [0147]); but does not explicitly disclose wherein the indication comprises a downlink control information (DCI) bit-field (COT information is received in DCI, Para [0028], it is known in the art, DCI is made up of bit fields indicating different information, obvious to one of ordinary skill the COT information would include bits in a field); nor explicitly discloses wherein, responsive to the DCI bit-field having a first value, the network node is using the network-initiated COT, and wherein, responsive to the DCI bit-field having a second value different from the first value, the network node is sharing the UE-initiated COT (COT information indicates COT category, which indicates if the COT is gNB initiated COT or a UE initiated COT, Para [0136], it is known in the art that a single bit can indicate two alternative options, obvious to one of ordinary skill that the two indications, gNB or UE initiated COT, could be indicated by a single bit having a value of 0 or 1); but does not explicitly disclose wherein the indication indicates that the network node is sharing the UE-initiated COT during a fixed frame period (FFP) associated with the apparatus, in an event that the apparatus has signaled an indication of sharing, in an event that the network node uses the UE-initiated COT, or in an event that the network node explicitly signals that the network node is using the UE-initiated COT. Ye discloses the wireless device can determine if the base station is sharing the COT portion of another wireless device’s FFP, that was initiated by the wireless device, Para [0084], BS can transmit unicast signals to wireless device that shared its COT, initiated by wireless device during its FFP, Para [0085], base station can provide explicit signaling on whether the base station initiated the COT or not, Para [0086]. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to utilize the techniques taught by Ye in the system of Wang in order to ensure the accuracy of transmitted and received signals through user equipment (UE) devices.
Claims 6, 7 and 16-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wang, in view of Ye and in view of Calcev et al (US 2023/0180293, hereinafter Calcev, claiming the priority date of both provisional applications).
Regarding claim 6, Wang discloses the method of claim 1, but not explicitly wherein the UE-initiated COT is obtained by another UE. Calcev discloses the gNB indicates the UE can share a COT initiated by a different UE, Para [0179]. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to utilize the techniques taught by Calcev in the system of Wang and Ye in order to reduce scheduling delays when using COTs in the unlicensed band.
Regarding claims 7 and 16, Wang discloses the method/apparatus of claim 1/13, further comprising: obtaining, by the processor, the UE-initiated COT; and performing, by the processor, an uplink (UL) transmission during the UE-initiated COT (COT information indicates COT category, which indicates if the COT is gNB initiated COT or a UE initiated COT, Para [0136], UE receives UL grant for an uplink transmission during shared COT, Para [0027], in this case the COT is initiated by another UE as in Calcev).
Regarding claim 17, Wang discloses the apparatus of claim 13, but not wherein the processor is further configured to perform operations comprising: receiving, via the transceiver, downlink control information (DCI) from the network node scheduling an uplink (UL) transmission in a future network fixed frame period (FFP); and performing, via the transceiver, the UL transmission in the future network FFP. Calcev discloses a gNB providing configuration of a FFP to the UE initiating a COT and the UE can perform UL transmissions in the current FFP or another FFP in the future, Para [0155], UL transmission scheduled for a future FFP, Para [0211]. Also see pages 17-18 and 30 of provisional application 63/104,318. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to utilize the techniques taught by Calcev in the system of Wang in order to reduce scheduling delays when using COTs in the unlicensed band.
Regarding claim 18, Wang discloses the apparatus of claim 17, wherein, in receiving the DCI, the processor is configured to receive the DCI during the network-initiated COT (COT information indicates COT category, which indicates if the COT is gNB initiated COT or a UE initiated COT, Para [0136]).
Regarding claim 19, Wang discloses the apparatus of claim 17, wherein, in performing the UL transmission, the processor is configured to perform the UL transmission during the network-initiated COT (COT information indicates COT category, which indicates if the COT is gNB initiated COT or a UE initiated COT, Para [0136], UE receives UL grant for an uplink transmission during shared COT, Para [0027], UE can perform UL transmission in either scenario).
Regarding claim 20, Wang discloses the apparatus of claim 17, wherein, in performing the UL transmission, the processor is configured to perform the UL transmission during the UE-initiated COT (COT information indicates COT category, which indicates if the COT is gNB initiated COT or a UE initiated COT, Para [0136], UE receives UL grant for an uplink transmission during shared COT, Para [0027], UE can perform UL transmission in either scenario).
Claims 8-12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wang, in view of Calcev and in view of Wu et al (US 2021/0400705, hereinafter Wu) and in view of Ying et al (US 2022/0377767, hereinafter Ying, claiming priority date of the provisional application).
Regarding claim 8, Wang discloses a method, comprising: receiving, by a processor of an apparatus implemented in a user equipment (UE), downlink control information (DCI) from a network node of a wireless network scheduling an uplink (UL) transmission (UE receives UL grant for an uplink transmission during shared COT, Para [0027] with processor, Fig. 9)) and performing, by the processor, the UL transmission (UE transmits PUSCH and/or PUCCH, etc., Para [0074]); but does not disclose UL transmission in a future network fixed frame period (FFP); and performing, by the processor, the UL transmission in the future network FFP. Calcev discloses a gNB providing configuration of a FFP to the UE initiating a COT and the UE can perform UL transmissions in the current FFP or another FFP in the future, Para [0155], UL transmission scheduled for a future FFP, Para [0211]. Also see pages 17-18 and 30 of provisional application 63/104,318. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to utilize the techniques taught by Calcev in the system of Wang in order to reduce scheduling delays when using COTs in the unlicensed band; and does not disclose wherein the DCI indicates to rely on a network-initiated channel occupancy time (COT) or initiate a UE-intiaited COT. Wang discloses COT information indicates COT category, which indicates if the COT is gNB initiated COT or a UE initiated COT, Para [0136] and COT information is received in DCI, Para [0028]. Wu discloses first indication information for determining whether target uplink resource is in a COT initiated by a BS or not, using 1 bit, where if not initiated by the BS, the UE determines channel access scheme according to table 2, Para [0133], UE initiates a COT using channel access scheme in table 2, Para [0075]. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to utilize the techniques taught by Wu in the system of Wang in view of Calcev in order for the UE to correctly determine the channel access scheme to be used; and does not explicitly disclose wherein the DCI has a cell random network temporary identifier (C-RNTI) for a dynamic grant, or has a configured scheduling random network temporary identifier (CS-RNTI) for retransmission of a configured-grant (CG). Ying discloses for dynamic grants, PUSCH transmission scheduled by DCI format with CRC scrambled by C-RNTI and retransmission of CG, PUSCH transmission scheduled by DCI format with CRC scrambled with CS-RNTI, Para [0165] or see Para [0160] from the provisional application. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to utilize the techniques taught by Ying in the system of Wang in view of Calcev and Wu in order improve communication flexibility and efficiency with DCI resource allocations.
Regarding claim 9, Wang discloses the method of claim 8, wherein the receiving of the DCI comprises receiving the DCI during a network-initiated channel occupancy time (COT) (COT information indicates COT category, which indicates if the COT is gNB initiated COT or a UE initiated COT, Para [0136], in this case DCI received in gNB initiated COT).
Regarding claim 10, Wang discloses the method of claim 8, wherein the performing of the UL transmission comprises performing the UL transmission during a network-initiated channel occupancy time (COT) (COT information indicates COT category, which indicates if the COT is gNB initiated COT or a UE initiated COT, Para [0136], in this case UE transmits in gNB initiated COT).
Regarding clam 11, Wang discloses the method of claim 8, wherein the performing of the UL transmission comprises performing the UL transmission during a UE-initiated channel occupancy time (COT) (COT information indicates COT category, which indicates if the COT is gNB initiated COT or a UE initiated COT, Para [0136], in this case UE transmits in UE initiated COT).
Regarding claim 12, Wang discloses the method of claim 11, but not further comprising: obtaining, by the processor, the UE-initiated COT during the network future FFP. Calcev discloses a UE can initiate a COT in another FFP in the future, Para [0155]. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to utilize the techniques taught by Calcev in the system of Wang in order to reduce scheduling delays when using COTs in the unlicensed band.
Claims 4, 5 and 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wang, in view of Ye and in view of Harada et al (US 2022/0330239, hereinafter Harada).
Regarding claims 4 and 15, Wang discloses the method/apparatus of claim 1/13, but not wherein the indication comprises a demodulation reference signal (DMRS) encoding. Harada discloses a BS transmitting a specific PDCCH with a specific DMRS notifying the start of a COT that is initiated by the BS, Para [0047]. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to utilize the techniques taught by Harada in the system of Wang and Ye in order to perform efficient transmission while keeping LBT opportunities with appropriate granularities.
Regarding claim 5, Wang discloses the method of claim 4, but not wherein, responsive to the DMRS encoding being a first DMRS encoding, the network node is using the network-initiated COT, and wherein, responsive to the DMRS encoding being a second DMRS encoding different from the first DMRS encoding, the network node is sharing the UE-initiated COT. Harada discloses a BS transmitting a specific PDCCH with a specific DMRS notifying the start of a COT that is initiated by the BS, Para [0047], where a COT not initiated by the BS would not use the specific DMRS value. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to utilize the techniques taught by Harada in the system of Wang in order to perform efficient transmission while keeping LBT opportunities with appropriate granularities.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 4/13/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. The Applicant amends the limitations in the claims and argues the Wang reference does not disclose the amended limitations. Applicant amends the claims to include a limitation of indicating that the network node is sharing the UE-initiated COT during a fixed frame period (FFP) associated with the apparatus, in an event that the apparatus has signaled an indication of a sharing, that the network node uses the UE-initiated COT or the network node explicitly signals the network node is using the UE-initiated COT. In response, arguments are moot in view of a new reference being used in the current office action. Applicant also argues over other independent claim 8. Applicant argues the Wang, Calcev and WU references do not disclose the limitations in claim 8, particularly the DCI has a C-RNTI for dynamic grant or CS-RNTI for CG retransmissions. In response, a new reference explicitly discloses this feature, making the arguments moot.
Conclusion
/KEVIN M CUNNINGHAM/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2461