DETAILED ACTION
Claims 3-8 remain withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b), as being drawn to nonelected inventions, there being no allowable generic or linking claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-2 and 9-11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1)/(a)(2) as being anticipated by Liu et al. (US 2016/0122368).
In ¶ 14, Liu et al. teach a ligand with their general formula I
, applicants
is the end Silyl group, applicant’s R3 is the Hydrophobic linker, applicant’s
is the Ionic group, applicant’s X is the second Hydrophobic linker, and applicant’s Y is the end Ionic group.
In ¶ 16, Liu et al. teach formula II, also representing the ligand which is consistent with the present formula (1), wherein “n” is zero, the first hydrophobic linker group L2 is defined as a hydrophobic group containing 2 to 30 carbon atoms, and wherein there are at least 10 carbon atoms in the combined chain lengths of L1, L2 and L3.
In ¶ 39, Liu et al. teach that when the first hydrophobic linker group (L2) is an aromatic group, the number of carbon atoms in the shortest chain are counted, such that in a benzene ring the chain length counts as 4 for a para-linkage and 3 for a meta-linkage, exemplified with a 10 carbon aromatic group (i.e., a phenylene group).
In ¶’s 56 and 57. Liu et al. teach that the end silyl group preferably has the formula where at least one of R1, R2, R3 must be an alkoxy group.
Thus, the ligand taught by Liu et al. is consistent with the present claims and the requirements for rejection under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1)/(a)(2) are met.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 06/09/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
As demonstrated above, formula I in Lui et al. is consistent with the present formula (1).
Regarding the argument that Lui et al. teach preferable embodiments wherein the first linking group (L2) is a straight chain alkyl group, it is well settled that anticipatory teachings are not limited to any particular embodiment/example. In re Boe, 148 USPQ 507 (CCPA 1966). Disclosed examples and preferred embodiments (even if the embodiments tested by appellant were preferred) do not constitute a teaching away from a broader disclosure. In re Susi, 440 F.2d 442, 169 USPQ 423 (CCPA 1971).
It is clear that the present compound is still taught in the ligand of Lui et al.
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/KELECHI C EGWIM/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1762
KCE