DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of claims 154-160 in the reply filed on January 8, 2026 is acknowledged.
Claims 161-173 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected invention, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on January 8, 2026.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim 154, 157 and 158 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Geistlinger et al. (WO 2018/039632).
Regarding claim 154, Geistlinger et al. disclose micelles comprising kappa casein without requiring alpha or beta casein (p. 36/L32-P. 37/L11).
Regarding claim 157, Geistlinger et al. disclose all of the claim limitations as set forth above. Geistlinger et al. disclose the kappa casein protein can be derived from any mammalian species including but not limited to cow, human sheep, goat, buffalo, or camel (i.e., having the amino acid sequence of the cited mammals -p. 11/L16-20).
Regarding claim 158, Geistlinger et al. disclose all of the claim limitations as set forth above. Geistlinger et al. disclose the kappa casein is a recombinant protein (p. 19/L15-17). Geistlinger et al. does not disclose the recombinant protein is required to have native post-translational modifications (see at page 2/L6-12 – in some embodiments the recombinant milk proteins have non-native glycosylation and/or phosphorylation patterns).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 156 and 159 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Geistlinger et al. (WO 2018/039632).
Regarding claim 156, Geistlinger et al. disclose all of the claim limitations as set forth above. Geistlinger et al. does not disclose the kappa casein has an amino acid sequence as claimed. However, given Geistlinger et al. disclose kappa casein having the amino acid sequence of cow, human sheep, goat, buffalo, or camel and the ability to form micelles without the presence of alpha or beta casein, inherently the kappa casein must exhibit an amino sequence with at least 80% sequence identity to any one of SEQ ID Nos: 40-60.
Regarding claim 159, Geistlinger et al. disclose all of the claim limitations as set forth above. Geistlinger et al. disclose the micelles comprising kappa casein have an average diameters (i.e., size) ranging from 140 nm to 350 nm (p. 37/L12-28). In the case where the claimed ranges "overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art" a prima facie case of obviousness exists (MPEP §2144.05 I).
Claims 155 and 160 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Geistlinger et al. (WO 2018/039632) in view of Aoki et al. (“Role of Individual Milk Salt Constituents in Cross-linking by Colloidal Calcium Phosphate in Artificial Casein Micelles”, Agric. Biol. Chem., 51(3), (1987), pp. 817-821).
Regarding claims 155 and 160, Geistlinger et al. disclose all of the claim limitations as set forth above. Geistlinger et al. is silent with respect to intra-micellar crosslinking. Moreover, while Geistlinger et al. disclose the micelle formation can be affected by the presence of salt, the reference does not specifically mention a citrate salt, a calcium salt or a phosphate salt.
Aoki et al. teach the formation of artificial casein micelles by combining casein and calcium chloride, dipotassium phosphate and/or tripotassium citrate (p. 817-818/Materials and Methods). Aoki et al. teach that when casein is in the presences of both calcium chloride and dipotassium phosphate casein micelles are formed (p. 820/Discussion). Aoki et al. also teach casein aggregates crosslinked by colloidal calcium phosphate (Abstract, p. 820/Discussion).
Geistlinger et al. and Aoki et al. are combinable because they are concerned with the same field of endeavor, namely formation of artificial casein containing micelles. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have added calcium chloride and dipotassium phosphate to the kappa casein containing micelles of Geistlinger et al. to promote crosslinking between micelles.
Conclusion
ELIZABETH A. GWARTNEY
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 1759
/ELIZABETH GWARTNEY/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1759