DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicants’ arguments filed 8/10/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground and as such the office action has been updated to address Applicant’s newly amended portion.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-10, 18-26, and 34 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Chowdhury et al (Pub 2019/0044392, further referred to as Chowdhury).
As to claim 1, Chowdhury teaches a method for wireless energy transfer to a user equipment (fig 1, 2, 5-7 (104/mobile), paragraph 59), the method being performed by a network node (101-103), the method comprising:
Receiving, from the user equipment, channel state information (CSI), wherein the CSI is received as an index to quantized information, or as encoded or compressed CSI (paragraphs 51 and 67, the devices will send wirelessly (encoded) data of their RF wave shapes, scheduling, and energy demands);
Reconstructing an estimate of the CSI received from user equipment (paragraphs 51, 53, 66, and 67, based on received data, processes and updates maps, schedule and energy transmission);
configuring energy transfer to the user equipment as a function of a prospective prediction of future energy properties of the user equipment (paragraphs 54, “Furthermore, anticipating application-specific traffic demands (based on node-initiated “energy reports” and live energy maps), the controller can direct the local ETs to provide power and charging times that are adequate to support estimated future energy needs, paragraph 66, “The energy estimation module can use the energy maps to estimate future energy demands”) served by the network node (200) and the reconstructed estimate of the CSI (paragraph 54, “the controller can use the latest aggregated energy updates and status of target devices to schedule the duration and transfer power from ET beams”, paragraph 66, “The query management module can receive and process queries such as registration/authentication of target devices and energy updates from target devices and also relay the configuration commands and tracking queries. The power management module can allocate optimal resources within ETs, such as transmission power, duration, and targeted devices for charging.” “The energy maps and energy estimations can be given to the beam scheduling module, which optimizes the scheduling of energy beams to satisfy the new energy demands”); and wirelessly transferring energy to the user equipment in accordance with the configured energy transfer (paragraphs 57 and 58).
As to claim 2, Chowdhury teaches the method further comprises: obtaining the prediction (paragraph 66).
As to claim 3, Chowdhury teaches wherein the prediction is obtained by being determined by the network node itself (paragraph 66).
As to claim 4, Chowdhury teaches wherein the prediction is obtained from the user equipment (paragraphs 54 and 58, device specific predictions and feedback communication with devices to form the information with the target devices).
As to claim 5, Chowdhury teaches wherein the prediction is based on machine learning of at least one of: a traffic pattern of the user equipment or a mobility pattern of the user equipment (paragraphs 74 and 75)
As to claim 6, Chowdhury teaches least one of a predicted traffic pattern of the user equipment and/or is received from the user equipment (paragraphs 74 and 75)
As to claim 7, Chowdhury teaches the energy transfer further is configured as a function of at least one of: energy information status of the user equipment as received from the user equipment (paragraph 66) or, traffic information of the user equipment as received from the user equipment.
As to claim 8, Chowdhury teaches wherein the prediction is updated based on at least one of the energy information status (paragraph 66) of the user equipment, and/or the traffic information of the user equipment.
As to claim 9, Chowdhury teaches wherein the energy is transferred in a directional beam (paragraph 58), wherein the directional beam as a power pattern determined by precoding weights (paragraphs 58 and 59).
As to claim 10, Chowdhury teaches wherein the precoding weights have values that depend on channel state information as received from the user equipment (paragraphs 58 and 59).
As to claim 18, Chowdhury teaches a method for wireless energy reception, the method being performed by user equipment (fig 1, 2, 5 (104/mobile), paragraph 59), the method comprising:
obtaining a prospective prediction of future energy properties (paragraphs 54, “Furthermore, anticipating application-specific traffic demands (based on node-initiated “energy reports” and live energy maps), the controller can direct the local ETs to provide power and charging times that are adequate to support estimated future energy needs, paragraph 66, “The energy estimation module can use the energy maps to estimate future energy demands”) of the user equipment and of future properties for wireless communication (paragraph 54, “the controller can use the latest aggregated energy updates and status of target devices to schedule the duration and transfer power from ET beams”, paragraph 66, “The energy maps and energy estimations can be given to the beam scheduling module, which optimizes the scheduling of energy beams to satisfy the new energy demands”) with a network node serving the user equipment;
estimating channel state information based on reference signal received from the network node; (paragraphs 51 and 67, the devices will send wirelessly (encoded) data of their RF wave shapes, scheduling, and energy demands)
encoding or compressing the CSI; (data is encoded as it is wirelessly sent)
sending the encoded or compressed CSI to the network node (paragraphs 54 and 66); and
receiving an energy transfer from the network node, wherein the energy transfer is based on the prediction and the encoded for compressed CSI (paragraphs 57 and 58).
As to claim 19, Chowdhury teaches wherein the prediction is based on machine learning of at least one of: a traffic pattern of the user equipment or a mobility pattern of the user equipment (paragraphs 74 and 75)
As to claim 20, Chowdhury teaches least one of a predicted traffic pattern of the user equipment and/or is received from the user equipment (paragraphs 74 and 75)
As to claim 21, Chowdhury teaches wherein the prediction is updated based on at least one of the energy information status (paragraph 66) of the user equipment, and/or the traffic information of the user equipment.
As to claim 22, Chowdhury teaches wherein the energy is transferred in a directional beam (paragraph 58), wherein the directional beam as a power pattern determined by precoding weights (paragraphs 58 and 59).
As to claim 23, Chowdhury teaches wherein the precoding weights have values that depend on channel state information as received from the user equipment (paragraphs 58 and 59).
As to claim 24, Chowdhury teaches wherein the channel state information is sent from the user equipment as an index to quantized channel state information or as encoded, or compressed, channel state information (paragraphs 68 and 74).
As to claim 25, Chowdhury teaches wherein the channel state information is adaptively (paragraph 58 and 66) sent from the user equipment based on at least one of: predicted mobility of the user equipment or, rate at which channel measurements on which the channel state information is based changes (paragraph 66).
As to claim 26, Chowdhury teaches wherein the energy properties of the user equipment pertain to at least one of: remaining energy of the user equipment or , expected energy needed by the user equipment to communicate a packet (paragraph 58) with the network node.
As to claim 34, Chowdhury teaches a user equipment (fig 1, 2, 5 (104/mobile)) for wireless energy reception, the user equipment comprising processing circuitry (paragraph 8), the processing circuitry being configured to cause the user equipment (101-103) to:
determine a prospective prediction of future energy properties of the user equipment (paragraphs 54, “Furthermore, anticipating application-specific traffic demands (based on node-initiated “energy reports” and live energy maps), the controller can direct the local ETs to provide power and charging times that are adequate to support estimated future energy needs, paragraph 66, “The energy estimation module can use the energy maps to estimate future energy demands”) and of future properties for wireless communication with a network node (paragraph 54, “the controller can use the latest aggregated energy updates and status of target devices to schedule the duration and transfer power from ET beams”, paragraph 66, “The energy maps and energy estimations can be given to the beam scheduling module, which optimizes the scheduling of energy beams to satisfy the new energy demands”) serving the user equipment;
estimating channel state information based on reference signal received from the network node; (paragraphs 51 and 67, the devices will send wirelessly (encoded) data of their RF wave shapes, scheduling, and energy demands)
encoding or compressing the CSI; (data is encoded as it is wirelessly sent)
sending the encoded or compressed CSI to the network node (paragraphs 54 and 66); and
wirelessly receive an energy transfer from the network node, wherein the energy transfer is configured as a function of the prediction (paragraphs 57 and 58).
Conclusion
Applicants’ amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/JEFFREY M SHIN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2836