DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 12/05/2025 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
As to claims 1, 18, and 34, Applicant argues that Chowdhury does not teach “as a function of a prediction of energy properties of the user equipment served by the network node and of properties of wireless communication with the user equipment.” Examiner respectfully disagrees. As recited in paragraph 54 of Chowdhury energy properties of the user equipment (“target devices can have spatially and temporally varying energy needs based on their application specific device) and properties of wireless communication (“there different energy needs may benefit from different energy wave allocations tailored to a specific device”, the type and setup for the energy wave is a property of wireless communication). As such Chowdhury teaches prediction is based on energy properties of the user equipment and properties of wireless communication.
The Drawing objection has been withdrawn.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-10, 18-26, 34 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Chowdhury et al (Pub 2019/0044392, further referred to as Chowdhury).
As to claim 1, Chowdhury teaches a method for wireless energy transfer to a user equipment (fig 1, 2, 5 (104/mobile), paragraph 59), the method being performed by a network node (101-103), the method comprising: configuring energy transfer to the user equipment as a function of a prediction of energy properties of the user equipment (paragraphs 54 and 66) served by the network node (200) and of properties for wireless communication with the user equipment (paragraph 54); and wirelessly transferring energy to the user equipment in accordance with the configured energy transfer (paragraphs 57 and 58).
As to claim 2, Chowdhury teaches the method further comprises: obtaining the prediction (paragraph 66).
As to claim 3, Chowdhury teaches wherein the prediction is obtained by being determined by the network node itself (paragraph 66).
As to claim 4, Chowdhury teaches wherein the prediction is obtained from the user equipment (paragraphs 54 and 58, device specific predictions and feedback communication with devices to form the information with the target devices).
As to claim 5, Chowdhury teaches wherein the prediction is based on machine learning of at least one of: a traffic pattern of the user equipment or a mobility pattern of the user equipment (paragraphs 74 and 75)
As to claim 6, Chowdhury teaches least one of a predicted traffic pattern of the user equipment and/or is received from the user equipment (paragraphs 74 and 75)
As to claim 7, Chowdhury teaches the energy transfer further is configured as a function of at least one of: energy information status of the user equipment as received from the user equipment (paragraph 66) or, traffic information of the user equipment as received from the user equipment.
As to claim 8, Chowdhury teaches wherein the prediction is updated based on at least one of the energy information status (paragraph 66) of the user equipment, and/or the traffic information of the user equipment.
As to claim 9, Chowdhury teaches wherein the energy is transferred in a directional beam (paragraph 58), wherein the directional beam as a power pattern determined by precoding weights (paragraphs 58 and 59).
As to claim 10, Chowdhury teaches wherein the precoding weights have values that depend on channel state information as received from the user equipment (paragraphs 58 and 59).
As to claim 18, Chowdhury teaches a method for wireless energy reception, the method being performed by user equipment (fig 1, 2, 5 (104/mobile), paragraph 59), the method comprising:
obtaining a prediction of energy properties (paragraphs 54 and 66) of the user equipment and of properties for wireless communication (paragraph 54) with a network node serving the user equipment;
sending the prediction to the network node (paragraphs 54 and 66); and
receiving an energy transfer from the network node, wherein the energy transfer is configured as a function of the prediction (paragraphs 57 and 58).
As to claim 19, Chowdhury teaches wherein the prediction is based on machine learning of at least one of: a traffic pattern of the user equipment or a mobility pattern of the user equipment (paragraphs 74 and 75)
As to claim 20, Chowdhury teaches least one of a predicted traffic pattern of the user equipment and/or is received from the user equipment (paragraphs 74 and 75)
As to claim 21, Chowdhury teaches wherein the prediction is updated based on at least one of the energy information status (paragraph 66) of the user equipment, and/or the traffic information of the user equipment.
As to claim 22, Chowdhury teaches wherein the energy is transferred in a directional beam (paragraph 58), wherein the directional beam as a power pattern determined by precoding weights (paragraphs 58 and 59).
As to claim 23, Chowdhury teaches wherein the precoding weights have values that depend on channel state information as received from the user equipment (paragraphs 58 and 59).
As to claim 24, Chowdhury teaches wherein the channel state information is sent from the user equipment as an index to quantized channel state information or as encoded, or compressed, channel state information (paragraphs 68 and 74).
As to claim 25, Chowdhury teaches wherein the channel state information is adaptively (paragraph 58 and 66) sent from the user equipment based on at least one of: predicted mobility of the user equipment or, rate at which channel measurements on which the channel state information is based changes (paragraph 66).
As to claim 26, Chowdhury teaches wherein the energy properties of the user equipment pertain to at least one of: remaining energy of the user equipment or , expected energy needed by the user equipment to communicate a packet (paragraph 58) with the network node.
As to claim 34, Chowdhury teaches a user equipment (fig 1, 2, 5 (104/mobile)) for wireless energy reception, the user equipment comprising processing circuitry (paragraph 8), the processing circuitry being configured to cause the user equipment (101-103) to:
determine a prediction of energy properties of the user equipment (paragraphs 54 and 66) and of properties for wireless communication with a network node (paragraph 54) serving the user equipment;
send the prediction to the network node (paragraphs 54 and 66); and
wirelessly receive an energy transfer from the network node, wherein the energy transfer is configured as a function of the prediction (paragraphs 57 and 58).
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/JEFFREY M SHIN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2849