DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Claims 11-12 and 20 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected Device Modification (II), there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 30 January 2026.
Applicant’s election without traverse of Device Modification I in the reply filed on 30 January 2026 is acknowledged.
Examiner notices claim 2 appears to be directed to Device Modification II. Therefore, Examiner has withdrawn claim 2 from consideration from examination. Applicant states in the remarks submitted on 20 January 2026 that Device Modification I is elected without traverse and has withdrawn claims 11-12 and 20. Currently, the Examiner believes claim 2 is also drawn towards an unelected Device Modification (II) as it requires removing the etching-blocking barrier layer to make the epitaxial functional layer exposed, as shown in at least Fig. 8 from which non-elected Device Modification II is drawn.
Claims 13, 15 and 18 are withdrawn from consideration due to their dependence on claim 2, which has been withdrawn from consideration for the reasons indicated above.
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 12 May 2023 has been considered by the examiner and made of record in the application file.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 9-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(d) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, 4th paragraph, as being of improper dependent form for failing to further limit the subject matter of the claim upon which it depends, or for failing to include all the limitations of the claim upon which it depends.
Claim 9 states “A semiconductor structure, manufactured using the fabrication method an N-polar GaN transistor structure according to claim 1”, wherein claim 1 from which claim 9 is dependent upon, is a method of making a specified product and claim 9 is a claim which recited the product set forth in claim 1. The product as described in claim 9 can be made by a method other than that recited in the base method claim, and thus, does not include the limitations of the base claim, therefore rendering it an improper dependent claim (see MPEP 608.01(n)(iii)). The product as described in claim 9 can be made by a method which does not require depositing a buffer layer on one side of a structural substrate, as recited by claim 1, and can instead be made by a process which directly deposits an epitaxial functional layer directly on a side of a support substrate. Therefore, the product as described in claim 9 can be made by another and materially different method than the method as described in claim 1 from which claim 9 is dependent upon.
Claim 10 is rejected due to its dependence on claim 9 which has been deemed as an improper dependent claim for the reasons indicated above.
Applicant may cancel the claims, amend the claims to place the claims in proper dependent form, rewrite the claims in independent form, or present a sufficient showing that the dependent claims complies with the statutory requirements.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1 and 6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Takuya Hoshi et al. (US 2021/0020760 A1; hereinafter “Hoshi”).
Regarding Claim 1, Hoshi teaches a fabrication method of an N-polar GaN transistor structure, comprising steps of:
depositing a buffer layer (102, Fig. 1A, para [0037] describes a buffer layer 102) on one side of a structural substrate (101, Fig. 1A, para [0037] describes a first substrate 101 wherein buffer layer 102 is deposited on one side of the structural substrate 101);
depositing an etching-blocking barrier layer on a side of the buffer layer away from the structural substrate (103, Fig. 1A, para [0037] describes depositing a barrier layer 103 on a side of the buffer layer 102 away from the structural substrate 101);
depositing an epitaxial functional layer of an upside-down N-polar transistor on a side of the etching-blocking barrier layer away from the structural substrate (104, 105, 108 and 106, Fig. 1A, para [0037] describes growing epitaxial functional layers 104, 105, 108 and 106 of an upside down N-polar transistor on a side of the etching-blocking barrier layer 103 away from the structural substrate 101), such that a side of the epitaxial functional layer away from the structural substrate is a Ga-polar surface (106, Fig. 1A, para [0037] describes a first bonding layer 106 on a side of the epitaxial functional layer away from the structural substrate 101 wherein para [0043] describes the first bonding layer 106 is comprised of a p-type doped layer such as the Ga-polar surface of the instant application);
forming by bonding a support substrate on the side of the epitaxial functional layer away from the structural substrate (121, Fig. 1B and Fig. 1C, para [0046] describes a second substrate 121 that is bonded to the side of the epitaxial functional layer away from the structural substrate 101through a pasting wafer bonding method as described in para [0050]);
removing the structural substrate to make the buffer layer exposed (101, Fig. 1D, para [0052] describes removing the structural substrate 101);
removing the buffer layer to make the etching-blocking barrier layer exposed (102, Fig. 1D, para [0052] describes removing the buffer layer 102, exposing the etching-blocking barrier layer 103); and
manufacturing a source electrode (125, Fig. 1E, para [0055] describes a source electrode 125), a drain electrode (126, Fig. 1E, para [0055] describes a drain electrode 126) and a gate electrode on a side of the epitaxial functional layer away from the support substrate, so as to form an N-polar GaN transistor (124, Fig. 1E, para [0055] describes a gate electrode 124 wherein the electrodes 124, 125 and 126 are formed on a side of the epitaxial functional layer away from the support substrate 121 forming an N-polar GaN transistor).
Regarding Claim 6, Hoshi teaches the fabrication method of an N-polar GaN transistor structure according to claim 1, wherein a bonding medium is deposited on the side of the epitaxial functional layer away from the structural substrate (106, Fig. 1A, para [0037] describes forming a first bonding layer 106), and the epitaxial functional layer and the support substrate are bonded by using a method of direct bonding or gluing bonding (para [0050] describes wherein the structural substrate 101 and support substrate 121 are bonded using direct bonding such that the bonding occurs between the epitaxial functional layer and the support substrate 121).
Claims 1, 3, 7-8 and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Li Zhang et al. (CN 112420827 A; hereinafter “Zhang”).
Regarding Claim 1, Zhang teaches a fabrication method of an N-polar GaN transistor structure, comprising steps of:
depositing a buffer layer on one side of a structural substrate (10 and 11, Fig. 4, para [0071] describes forming a buffer layer 10 on one side of a substrate 11);
depositing an etching-blocking barrier layer on a side of the buffer layer away from the structural substrate (1, Fig. 4, para [0071] describes forming a high-resistivity layer 1 on a side of the buffer layer 10 away from the structural substrate 11 as shown in Fig. 4);
depositing an epitaxial functional layer of an upside-down N-polar transistor on a side of the etching-blocking barrier layer away from the structural substrate (2, 3 and 4, Fig. 4, para [0070] and para [0071] describe forming an n-plane GaN HEMT by epitaxially growing a channel layer 2, a barrier layer 3, and a capping layer on a side of the etch-blocking barrier layer 1 away from the structural substrate 11 and further depositing an insulating layer 4 on the capping layer), such that a side of the epitaxial functional layer away from the structural substrate is a Ga-polar surface (2, 3 and 4, Fig. 4, para [0070] and para [0071] describe forming an n-plane GaN HEMT wherein the resulting structure such as described in the instant application would result in a side of the epitaxial functional layer away from the structural substrate being a Ga-polar surface);
forming by bonding a support substrate on the side of the epitaxial functional layer away from the structural substrate (5, Fig. 4, para [0061] describes bonding the insulating layer 4 of the epitaxial functional layer to a support substrate 5);
removing the structural substrate to make the buffer layer exposed (11, Fig. 4, para [0073] describes removing the structural substrate 11);
removing the buffer layer to make the etching-blocking barrier layer exposed (10, Fig. 4, para [0073] describes removing the buffer layer 10 exposing the etching-blocking barrier layer 1); and
manufacturing a source electrode (6, Fig. 4, para [0074] describes fabricating a source electrode 6), a drain electrode (7, Fig. 4, para [0074] describes fabricating a drain electrode 7) and a gate electrode on a side of the epitaxial functional layer away from the support substrate, so as to form an N-polar GaN transistor (8, Fig. 4, para [0074] describes fabricating a gate electrode 8 wherein the electrodes are formed on the etching blocking barrier layer 1 on a side of the epitaxial functional layer away from the support substrate 5 so as to form an N-polar GaN transistor).
Regarding Claim 3, Zhang teaches the fabrication method of an N-polar GaN transistor structure according to claim 1, wherein the step of depositing an epitaxial functional layer of an upside-down N-polar transistor on a side of the etching-blocking barrier layer away from the structural substrate comprises steps of:
depositing a Ga-polar channel layer on the etching-blocking barrier layer (2, Fig. 4, para [0057] describes growing a channel layer 2 on the etching-blocking barrier layer 1);
depositing a Ga-polar barrier layer on the channel layer (3, Fig. 4, para [0057] describes growing a barrier layer 3 on the channel layer 2);
depositing a Ga-polar isolation layer on the barrier layer (para [0057] describes growing a capping layer on the barrier layer 3 wherein said capping layer provides isolation from the underlying epitaxial functional layers and the layers deposited thereafter); and
depositing a Ga-polar insulating layer on the isolation layer (4, Fig. 4, para [0060] describes depositing an insulating dielectric layer 4 on the capping layer).
Regarding Claim 7, Zhang teaches the fabrication method of an N-polar GaN transistor structure according to claim 1, wherein the etching-blocking barrier layer is made of AlxGa1-xN, wherein x is a fraction of Al, and 0<x<1 (1, Fig. 4, para [0043] describes wherein the etch-blocking barrier layer 1 includes high-resistivity AlxGa1-xN wherein 0≤x≤1 such than an x value of 0.5 would satisfy the inequality 0<x<1 and 0≤x≤1); and a fraction of Al in the etching-blocking barrier layer is higher than a fraction of Al in the channel layer (1 and 2, Fig. 4, para [0077] describes wherein the channel layer 2 may be comprised of GaN wherein an etching-blocking barrier layer 1 comprising an x value for Al being greater than zero such as taught in para [0043] would result in a fraction of Al in the etching-blocking barrier layer being higher than a fraction of Al in the channel layer).
Regarding Claim 8, Zhang teaches the fabrication method of an N-polar GaN transistor structure according to claim 7, wherein the etching-blocking barrier layer has a thickness of at least 1 nm (1, Fig. 4, para [0081] describes wherein the etching-blocking barrier layer may have a thickness of 20nm to 500nm resulting in a thickness of at least 1 nm).
Regarding Claim 19, Zhang teaches the fabrication method of an N-polar GaN transistor structure according to claim 3, wherein the etching-blocking barrier layer is made of AlxGa1-xN, wherein x is a fraction of Al, and 0<x<1 (1, Fig. 4, para [0043] describes wherein the etch-blocking barrier layer 1 includes high-resistivity AlxGa1-xN wherein 0≤x≤1 such than an x value of 0.5 would satisfy the inequality 0<x<1 and 0≤x≤1); and a fraction of Al in the etching-blocking barrier layer is higher than a fraction of Al in the channel layer (1 and 2, Fig. 4, para [0077] describes wherein the channel layer 2 may be comprised of GaN wherein an etching-blocking barrier layer 1 comprising an x value for Al being greater than zero such as taught in para [0043] would result in a fraction of Al in the etching-blocking barrier layer being higher than a fraction of Al in the channel layer).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 4, 5, 14, 16 and 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Li Zhang et al. (CN 112420827 A; hereinafter “Zhang”) in view of Takuya Hoshi et al. (US 2021/0020760 A1; hereinafter “Hoshi”).
Regarding Claim 4, Zhang discloses the fabrication method of an N-polar GaN transistor structure according to claim 3, wherein the channel layer is made of at least one of GaN, AlN, InAlN, AlGaN and InAlGaN (2, Fig. 4, para [0077] describes wherein the channel layer 2 may be comprised of GaN); and the barrier layer is made of at least one of AlN, InAlN, AlGaN, InAlGaN and AlScN (3, Fig. 4, para [0104] describes wherein the barrier layer 3 is comprised of AlGaN), a two-dimensional electron gas with a high concentration and a high electron mobility is formed on an interface (9, Fig. 4, para [0069] describes a two-dimensional electron gas 9 being formed in a heterojunction between the channel layer 2 and barrier layer 3 wherein para [0114] describes the two-dimensional election gas 9 can maintain a high electron gas mobility and carrier concentration throughout the forming process), at a side close to the channel layer, between the barrier layer and the channel layer (9, Fig. 4, [0069] describes wherein the two-dimensional electron gas 9 formed in the heterojunction between the channel layer 2 and barrier layer 3 is at a side close to the channel layer 2).
Zhang fails to explicitly disclose wherein the bandgap of the barrier layer is greater than the bandgap of the channel layer.
However, Hoshi teaches a similar fabrication method of an N-polar GaN transistor structure wherein the bandgap of the barrier layer is greater than the bandgap of the channel layer (104 and 105, Fig. 1A, para [0040] describes wherein a barrier layer 105 may have a bandgap larger than a bandgap of a channel layer 104).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filling date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Zhang with Hoshi to further disclose a fabrication method of an N-polar GaN transistor structure wherein a bandgap of a barrier layer is greater than a bandgap of a channel layer in order to provide the well-known advantage of enabling a two-dimensional electron gas to be formed between a channel layer and a barrier layer enabling a GaN transistor structure to have a high carrier density improving device performance and increasing dielectric breakdown electric field strength (Hiyoshi, para [0003]).
Regarding Claim 5, Zhang discloses all the limitations of claim 3.
Zhang fails to explicitly disclose the fabrication method of an N-polar GaN transistor structure according to claim 3, wherein after the step of depositing an insulating layer on the isolation layer, the fabrication method further comprises: depositing a p-type doped layer on the insulating layer, wherein the p-type doped layer is made of a p-GaN material.
However, Hoshi teaches a similar fabrication method of an N-polar GaN transistor structure wherein after the step of depositing an insulating layer on the isolation layer, the fabrication method further comprises:
depositing a p-type doped layer on the insulating layer, wherein the p-type doped layer is made of a p-GaN material (106, Fig. 1A, para [0043] describes depositing a bonding layer 106 on an uppermost surface of an epitaxial functional layer prior to bonding a first substrate 101 to a second substrate 120 wherein the bonding layer 106 may be GaN doped with Fe, Zn or C, or a p-type nitride semiconductor doped with Mg wherein the nitride semiconductor may be GaN such as described in para [0047] wherein upon combining Zhang with Hoshi the bonding layer 106 of Hoshi would be deposited on the insulating layer 4 of Zhang).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filling date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Zhang with Hoshi to further disclose a fabrication method of an N-polar GaN transistor structure wherein a p-type doped layer is deposited an uppermost surface of an epitaxial functional layer, wherein the p-type doped layer is made of a p-GaN material in order to provide the advantage of cancelling current leakage in the device which would result in undesirable effects in the GaN transistor structure (Hoshi, para [0043]).
Regarding Claim 14, the combination of Zhang and Hoshi discloses all the limitations of claim 4.
Zhang fails to explicitly disclose the fabrication method of an N-polar GaN transistor structure according to claim 4, wherein after the step of depositing an insulating layer on the isolation layer, the fabrication method further comprises: depositing a p-type doped layer on the insulating layer, wherein the p-type doped layer is made of a p-GaN material.
However, Hoshi teaches a similar fabrication method of an N-polar GaN transistor structure wherein after the step of depositing an insulating layer on the isolation layer, the fabrication method further comprises:
depositing a p-type doped layer on the insulating layer, wherein the p-type doped layer is made of a p-GaN material (106, Fig. 1A, para [0043] describes depositing a bonding layer 106 on an uppermost surface of an epitaxial functional layer prior to bonding a first substrate 101 to a second substrate 120 wherein the bonding layer 106 may be GaN doped with Fe, Zn or C, or a p-type nitride semiconductor doped with Mg wherein the nitride semiconductor may be GaN such as described in para [0047] wherein upon combining Zhang with Hoshi the bonding layer 106 of Hoshi would be deposited on the insulating layer 4 of Zhang).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filling date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Zhang with Hoshi to further disclose a fabrication method of an N-polar GaN transistor structure wherein a p-type doped layer is deposited an uppermost surface of an epitaxial functional layer, wherein the p-type doped layer is made of a p-GaN material in order to provide the advantage of cancelling current leakage in the device which would result in undesirable effects in the GaN transistor structure (Hoshi, para [0043]).
Regarding Claim 16, Zhang discloses all the limitations of claim 3.
Zhang discloses the fabrication method of an N-polar GaN transistor structure according to claim 3, wherein the epitaxial functional layer and the support substrate are bonded by using a method of direct bonding or gluing bonding (4 and 5, Fig. 4, para [0061] describes bonding the insulating layer 4 of the epitaxial functional layer and the support substrate 5 wherein para [0088] describes wherein the bonding process may be an HSQ adhesive bonding which is a gluing bonding process).
Zhang fails to explicitly disclose the fabrication method of an N-polar GaN transistor structure according to claim 3, wherein a bonding medium is deposited on the side of the epitaxial functional layer away from the structural substrate.
However, Hiyoshi discloses a similar fabrication method of an N-polar GaN transistor structure wherein a bonding medium is deposited on the side of the epitaxial functional layer away from the structural substrate (106, Fig. 1A, para [0037] describes forming a first bonding layer 106 on a side of an epitaxial functional layer away from a structural substrate 101)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filling date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Zhang with Hoshi to further disclose a fabrication method of an N-polar GaN transistor structure wherein a bonding medium is deposited on a side of an epitaxial functional layer away from a structural substrate in order to provide the advantage of providing a bonding layer that can be used for leak current suppression while maintaining high crystal quality in the underlying layers (Hoshi, para [0045]).
Regarding Claim 17, the combination of Zhang and Hoshi discloses all the limitations of claim 4.
Zhang discloses the fabrication method of an N-polar GaN transistor structure according to claim 4, wherein the epitaxial functional layer and the support substrate are bonded by using a method of direct bonding or gluing bonding (4 and 5, Fig. 4, para [0061] describes bonding the insulating layer 4 of the epitaxial functional layer and the support substrate 5 wherein para [0088] describes wherein the bonding process may be an HSQ adhesive bonding which is a gluing bonding process).
Zhang fails to explicitly disclose the fabrication method of an N-polar GaN transistor structure according to claim 4, wherein a bonding medium is deposited on the side of the epitaxial functional layer away from the structural substrate.
However, Hiyoshi discloses a similar fabrication method of an N-polar GaN transistor structure wherein a bonding medium is deposited on the side of the epitaxial functional layer away from the structural substrate (106, Fig. 1A, para [0037] describes forming a first bonding layer 106 on a side of an epitaxial functional layer away from a structural substrate 101)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filling date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Zhang with Hoshi to further disclose a fabrication method of an N-polar GaN transistor structure wherein a bonding medium is deposited on a side of an epitaxial functional layer away from a structural substrate in order to provide the advantage of providing a bonding layer that can be used for leak current suppression while maintaining high crystal quality in the underlying layers (Hoshi, para [0045]).
Conclusion
/ALEXANDER MICHAEL MILLER/Examiner, Art Unit 2898
/JULIO J MALDONADO/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2898