DETAILED ACTION
This Office Action is in response to the correspondence filed by the applicant on 04/10/2026.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s argument with respect to the rejection of claims under 103 have been fully considered and are moot upon a further consideration and a new ground(s) of rejection made under AIA 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over OCHER (US 2019/0372794 A1), and in further view of HUANG (US 2020/0118559 A1) and AGRAWAL (US 2016/0225371 A1). Please see the rejections below for more details.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-5, 8-12, and 14-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over OCHER (US 2019/0372794 A1), and in further view of HUANG (US 2020/0118559 A1) and AGRAWAL (US 2016/0225371 A1).
REGARDING CLAIM 1, OCHER discloses a communications adapter apparatus for network-independent appliance control using natural language processing and user feedback, the apparatus comprising: a natural language understanding (“NLU”) module (Par 32 – “Once in the text form, it may be classified in one of three types: user feedback, appliance control, and request for assistance. Example steps in Natural Language Processing (NLP) are language detection, tokenization, Part of Speech tagging, constituent parsing, Named Entity Resolution, etc. Accordingly, text may be classified into categories along with a confidence score, such as: category: “/Internet & Telecom/Mobile & Wireless/Mobile Apps & Add-Ons” with confidence: 0.6499999761581421″, for example. When the text is determined to be user feedback, its sentiment can be analyzed to produce a model that can classify a sentence based on its sentiment (e.g., with 1 being a purely positive sentiment, 0 being a purely negative sentiment and 0.5 being neutral).”); a memory device with computer-readable program code stored thereon (Fig. 7—Memory; Storage Device), wherein the computer-readable program code comprises logic for the NLU module (Fig. 1 – “PA Controller 110; Classifier 112; Mapping tables 113”; Par 32 – “NLP”); a connector structured to operatively connect the apparatus to an appliance controller of an appliance (Fig. 7 – “Network”; Fig. 5 – “PA Controller - Local Network 101 – Network appliance”), wherein the appliance comprises a home appliance (Par 20 – “More specifically, for the GE oven example, a user may say “Heat oven to 350 degrees”. The audio is classified as an appliance control request, with object=“oven”, command=“heat” and parameters=“to 350 degrees”.), and wherein the connector is structured to [physically directly] connect the apparatus to the appliance (Fig. 1 – “PA Controller – Local Network – Network Appliance”; Par 60 – “The network interface 704 may be a wireless or wired connection, for example. Computer system 710 can send and receive information through the network interface 704 across a wired or wireless local area network, an Intranet, or a cellular network to the Internet 730, for example.”; Par 14 – “PA controller, 110, SPAs 120-122, and network appliances 130, 132, and 134 may be coupled to a local network 101 in a particular location 150, such as a home, office, or warehouse, and may further be coupled to backend systems 102-104 over the Internet 100, for example.”); a communication device (Fig. 7 – “Network Interface”); and a processing device operatively coupled to the memory device and the communication device (Fig. 7 – “Processor(s)”), wherein the processing device is configured to execute the computer-readable program code (Par 58 – “instructions … non-transitory computer readable storage mediums.”) to:
receive a voice command to control the appliance from a user (Par 20 – “The same or similar approach may be applies to other examples, for example, the command “increase temperature by 5 degrees” using the rule “OK Google, % cmd temperature % operands” results in “OK Google, increase temperature by 5 degrees”. Similar examples can be made for dishwasher, drier, etc.”);
parse the voice command using a natural language understanding ("NLU") module (Par 31 – “At 303, the text is classified to produce a command and a category. In this example, the category specifies a type of network enabled appliance (e.g., an oven, microwave, or thermostat). In another embodiment, the category may correspond to a topic to be searched for (e.g., geography) or a task to be performed (e.g., shopping), for example …”; Par 32 – “Example embodiments of a classifier work with the voice input that was converted into text, for example. Once in the text form, it may be classified in one of three types: user feedback, appliance control, and request for assistance. Example steps in Natural Language Processing (NLP) are language detection, tokenization, Part of Speech tagging, constituent parsing, Named Entity Resolution, etc.”);
translate the voice command into a set of tokens, wherein each token of the set of tokens corresponds to an interface element of a set of interface elements on an appliance interface of the appliance (Fig. 3 Steps 304-307; Par 20 – “More specifically, for the GE oven example, a user may say “Heat oven to 350 degrees”. The audio is classified as an appliance control request, with object=“oven”, command=“heat” and parameters=“to 350 degrees”. The rule from the database is: “Alexa, tell GE to % cmd oven % operands”. The substitution yields the resulting command: “Alexa, tell GE to heat oven to 350 degrees”, which is sent to Alexa for execution. The same or similar approach may be applies to other examples, for example, the command “increase temperature by 5 degrees” using the rule “OK Google, % cmd temperature % operands” results in “OK Google, increase temperature by 5 degrees”. Similar examples can be made for dishwasher, drier, etc.”; Par 21 – “In this example, the Alexa backend system may receive the target command in the target protocol for Alexa (“Ok Alexa, tell GE to heat oven”) and backend 102 may parse the target command and issues an instruction from the backend to network appliance 130 over Internet 100, local network 101, and an input/output interface (IO1) 131 on oven 130, for example. Similarly, if the target command were determined to be associated with GA, the target command would be sent to the GA backend (e.g, backend 102), which would translate the command into an instruction for another network enabled appliance, for example (e.g., to change a temperature of a thermostat). Converting the target commands into instructions may be carried out by different command translators 105-107 on backends 102-104, respectively, each requiring target commands in different protocols to convert the commands to instructions to carry out various operations, for example.”; In other words, one of ordinary skill in the art would recognize an oven includes interface elements for powering on/off, adjusting the oven temperature, etc. Thus, when the voice command “turn on the oven” is received, the tokens ,”turn on”, corresponding to the “power” button of the oven, would turn on the oven.);
transmit the tokens to the appliance controller of the appliance (Par 35 – “At 308, the instructions are sent from the backend system to the particular network enabled appliance. At 309, the instructions are executed by the network enabled appliance. Steps 308 and 309 are illustrated in FIG. 4 at 407.”) to mimic <a sequence of> individual key presses to <each interface element of> the set of interface elements on the appliance interface of the appliance (Fig. 3 Steps 304-307; Par 20 – “More specifically, for the GE oven example, a user may say “Heat oven to 350 degrees”. The audio is classified as an appliance control request, with object=“oven”, command=“heat” and parameters=“to 350 degrees”. The rule from the database is: “Alexa, tell GE to % cmd oven % operands”. The substitution yields the resulting command: “Alexa, tell GE to heat oven to 350 degrees”, which is sent to Alexa for execution. The same or similar approach may be applies to other examples, for example, the command “increase temperature by 5 degrees” using the rule “OK Google, % cmd temperature % operands” results in “OK Google, increase temperature by 5 degrees”. Similar examples can be made for dishwasher, drier, etc.”; In other words, the voice command “Heat oven to 350 degree” would result in operating the oven to heat to 350 degree as it is done by manual operations (e.g., turning on the oven and setting the temperature to 350).); and
based on the tokens, control the appliance through the appliance controller of the appliance (Par 35 – “At 308, the instructions are sent from the backend system to the particular network enabled appliance. At 309, the instructions are executed by the network enabled appliance. Steps 308 and 309 are illustrated in FIG. 4 at 407.”).
OCHER does not explicitly teach the [square-bracketed] and <angle-bracketed> limitations.
Regarding the [square-bracketed] limitations, OCHER teaches a system where the communication adapter apparatus (Fig. 5 Unit 110) are connected with network appliances via local network. OCHER further teaches the “wired” local area network (Par 60). Thus, OCHER implicitly the connector is structured to [physically directly] connect the apparatus to the appliance. Although, OCHER implicitly suggests the [square-bracketed] limitations, Examiner provides HUANG for the clarity of the rejections
HUANG discloses a method/system for controlling devices using voice commands comprising
the apparatus comprising: a natural language understanding (“NLU”) module (HUANG Par 28 – “In some embodiments, the voice control apparatus 102 includes a natural language processing (NLP) module 130 including a plurality of NLP models 132 corresponding to a plurality of types of appliances respectively.”); a memory device with computer-readable program code stored thereon (HUANG par 44 – “the method 400 is performed at (402) a voice control apparatus (e.g., the voice control apparatus 102, FIG. 1) having one or more processors and memory.”), wherein the computer-readable program code comprises logic for the NLU module (HUANG Par 46 – “In some embodiments, the voice control apparatus 102 also includes a built-in natural-language processing (NLP) module (e.g., the NLP module 130) stored in the memory of the voice control apparatus 102.”); a connector structured to operatively connect the apparatus to an appliance controller of an appliance, wherein the appliance comprises a home appliance (HUANG Par 54 – “In some embodiments, the built-in voice communication interface 104 is activated in response to activating the data communication interface 108. For example, as shown in FIG. 5C, the voice control apparatus 102 is plugged into a communication interface (e.g., USB connection 530, FIG. 5C) of an appliance (e.g., the stove oven 124(d), FIG. 5C) to enable data communication between the voice control apparatus 102 and the stove 124(d).”), wherein the connector is structured to [physically directly] connect the apparatus to the appliance (HUANG Par 54 – “In some embodiments, the built-in voice communication interface 104 is activated in response to activating the data communication interface 108. For example, as shown in FIG. 5C, the voice control apparatus 102 is plugged into a communication interface (e.g., USB connection 530, FIG. 5C) of an appliance (e.g., the stove oven 124(d), FIG. 5C) to enable data communication between the voice control apparatus 102 and the stove 124(d).”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method/system of OCHER to include a physical connection between an adapter and an appliance, as taught by HUANG.
One of ordinary skill would have been motivated to include a physical connection between an adapter and an appliance, in order to reduce the cost of NLU processor implementation by preventing excessive memory usage or support from a server (Par 28).
AGRAWAL discloses the <angle-bracketed> limitations. AGRAWAL discloses a method/system for dynamic inference of voice command for software operation comprising:
translate the voice command into a set of tokens, wherein each token of the set of tokens corresponds to an interface element of a set of interface elements on an appliance interface of the appliance (AGRAWAL Par 102 – “To illustrate, the textual description of one of the described steps in the help information 1002 may state “click the ‘compose email’ icon to initiate composition an email message”. From this, the help information analysis module 342 may identify the pertinent keywords as “click” and “compose email”, and thus conduct a textual/attribute comparison 1109 by searching the view screen information 1004 for a viewable element of manipulation type “clickable” and with attribute metadata of one or more of “email,” “compose,” “prepare,” or “create.” … In the event there is both a screenshot and text description for the selected action, the help information analysis module 342 can, for example, perform the graphical comparison 1111 to match the viewable element from the screenshot to a viewable element in one of the view screens of the software application, and then use the textual comparison 1109 to confirm that the match is accurate by confirming that the descriptive attributes of the matching viewable element match the pertinent keywords from the text description in the help information 1002.”);
transmit the tokens to the appliance controller of the appliance to mimic <a sequence of> individual key presses to <each interface element of> the set of interface elements on the appliance interface of the appliance (AGRAWAL Fig. 18; Par 21 – “As such, the voice command functionality of the electronic device can readily scale as the user interacts with the electronic device or as the availability of user help information grows. Moreover, the inference of a voice command set from monitored user manipulation results in a voice command set and emulated viewable element manipulation that mimics the user's particular approach to interacting with the software application to actuate the operation, and thus provides the user with a more natural and comfortable approach to touchless control of the electronic device.”; Par 119 – “FIG. 18 illustrates an example of the processes of generating a voice command set 1802 and a viewable element manipulation sequence 1804 from the example illustrated by FIGS. 13-17. The voice command set 1802 and the viewable element manipulation sequence 1804 represent an example of the voice command set 366 and the viewable element manipulation sequence 352, respectively, of FIG. 3. From the keywords described above, the voice command generator module 346 generates a base command syntax of “create email to <$RECIPIENT> with subject <$SUBJECT> and body <$BODY>”.”); and
based on the tokens, control the appliance through the appliance controller of the appliance (AGRAWAL 91 – “Otherwise, if a sufficient match is detected, at block 912 the command mapper module 350 signals a command match 368 to the manipulation emulator module 348. In response the manipulation emulator module 348 accesses the viewable element emulation sequence associated with the matching voice command and then emulates the viewable element emulation sequence at the electronic device 100. As noted above, this emulation can include injecting emulated tactile manipulations of various user input components 242 so that the emulation is transparent to the OS 214 and the software application(s) 216 involved in the software operation. Alternatively, the manipulation emulator module 348 may signal the intended viewable element manipulation directly to the OS 214, and the OS 214 then formats the corresponding inputs to the software application 216 as though a user had provided the tactile manipulation of the viewable element.”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method/system of OCHER in view of HUANG to include mimicking a sequence of key presses, as taught by AGRAWAL.
One of ordinary skill would have been motivated to include mimicking a sequence of key presses, in order to provide a user with a more natural and comfortable approach to touchless control of an electronic device (Par 21).
REGARDING CLAIM 2, OCHER in view of HUANG and AGRAWAL discloses the communications adapter apparatus of claim 1, wherein the voice command comprises a request to change a configuration of the appliance, wherein parsing the voice command comprises identifying one or more parameters associated with the request to change a configuration of the appliance (OCHER Par 20 – “An SPA-specific command may be formed using the format specification, command, and operands, for example. Then, the resulting command may be sent to the SPA for execution. More specifically, for the GE oven example, a user may say “Heat oven to 350 degrees”. The audio is classified as an appliance control request, with object=“oven”, command=“heat” and parameters=“to 350 degrees”.”), and wherein translating the voice command into a set of tokens comprises selecting one or more tokens based on the one or more parameters (OCHER Par 20 – “The rule from the database is: “Alexa, tell GE to % cmd oven % operands”. The substitution yields the resulting command: “Alexa, tell GE to heat oven to 350 degrees”, which is sent to Alexa for execution. The same or similar approach may be applies to other examples, for example, the command “increase temperature by 5 degrees” using the rule “OK Google, % cmd temperature % operands” results in “OK Google, increase temperature by 5 degrees”. Similar examples can be made for dishwasher, drier, etc.”; Par 21 – “Similarly, if the target command were determined to be associated with GA, the target command would be sent to the GA backend (e.g, backend 102), which would translate the command into an instruction for another network enabled appliance, for example (e.g., to change a temperature of a thermostat). Converting the target commands into instructions may be carried out by different command translators 105-107 on backends 102-104, respectively, each requiring target commands in different protocols to convert the commands to instructions to carry out various operations, for example.”).
REGARDING CLAIM 3, OCHER in view of HUANG and AGRAWAL discloses the communications adapter apparatus of claim 1, wherein translating the voice command further comprises:
accessing a token database (OCHER Par 19 – “In one embodiment, a plurality of categories may be associated with a plurality of personal assistant types, and a plurality of first commands may be associated with a plurality of target commands. The categories and associated personal assistant types and the plurality of first commands and associated target commands may be stored in at least one table of a database 113 (e.g., as mapping tables).”), the token database comprising one or more entries associated with one or more appliances (OCHER Par 20 – “More specifically, for the GE oven example, a user may say “Heat oven to 350 degrees”. The audio is classified as an appliance control request, with object=“oven”, command=“heat” and parameters=“to 350 degrees”. The rule from the database is: “Alexa, tell GE to % cmd oven % operands”.”) , wherein the one or more entries comprise one or more tokens associated with one or more appliance functions (OCHER Par 27 – “As mentioned above, in some embodiments rules can be uploaded from files. For example, as an initial setup, rules can be uploaded to direct shopping to Alexa and other searches to Google. Manufacturers can also provide rule files with specific grammar rules to translate user input to the format understood by their appliances.”);
identifying a set of entries within the one or more entries, wherein the set of entries are associated with the appliance (OCHER Par 28 – “The system can also store the values for each type of request, with the median value becoming the default value. For example, repeated requests, say, to preheat the oven to 350 F, will make 350 the default value; so a request with missing information, e.g. “Preheat the oven”, will use the default value to request Alexa to preheat the oven to 350 F, for example”; Par 33 – “As mentioned above, a target command may be a text command including variables for inserting the category and first command (e.g., “Ok Alexa, tell GE to <command=heat>the <category=oven>”). In this example, the mappings are performed in the PA controller as illustrated at 404.”);
identifying a sequence of tokens associated with the appliance that mimic the sequence of individual key presses on the appliance interface and correspond to the voice command (OCHER Par 52 – “In this example, the voice audio signal is received in a microphone 111 of PA controller 110 and sent to PC controller backend 600 (e.g., a remote server computer) for processing, including text-to speech 610, classification 611, and mapping 612 using mapping tables 613, for example, to produce the target command. The target command is then sent to the appropriate backend 102-104 for translation into instructions for carrying out the operation.”; Note that AGRAWAL teaches mimicking a sequence of key presses using voice commands as explained in the rejection of claim 1.); and
generating the sequence of tokens based on the one or more entries within the token database (OCHER Par 35 – “At 306, the target command in the target protocol is sent to the backend system for the SPA type associated with the category. This is also illustrated in FIG. 4 at 405. At 307, the target command is translated into one or more instructions to carry out the command. As illustrated in FIG. 4 at 406, the backend system for Alexa translates the target command “Ok Alexa, tell GE to heat the oven” into instructions understandable by an Alexa controlled General Electric (GE) oven to carry out the “heat oven” operation, for example.”).
REGARDING CLAIM 4, OCHER in view of HUANG and AGRAWAL discloses the communications adapter apparatus of claim 3, wherein the voice command comprises a custom user-defined command (OCHER Par 28 – “… so a request with missing information, e.g. “Preheat the oven”, will use the default value to request Alexa to preheat the oven to 350 F, for example.”), wherein parsing the voice command comprises detecting the custom user-defined command from the voice command, and wherein the sequence of tokens is associated with the custom user-defined command (OCHER Par 28 – “The system can also store the values for each type of request, with the median value becoming the default value. For example, repeated requests, say, to preheat the oven to 350 F, will make 350 the default value; so a request with missing information, e.g. “Preheat the oven”, will use the default value to request Alexa to preheat the oven to 350 F, for example.”).
REGARDING CLAIM 5, OCHER in view of HUANG and AGRAWAL discloses the communications adapter apparatus of claim 1, wherein receiving the voice command further comprises detecting that the user has spoken a wake word associated with the appliance (OCHER Par 19 – “For instance, a category field of the table may store the category value “oven” and an associated personal assistant field may store “Alexa” to specify the system used to process the “oven” category. … For example, a first command field of a table may store the command value of “heat” and an associated target command field may store the text “Ok Alexa, tell GE to <command=heat><category=oven>” (i.e., the required text protocol to cause the Alexa backend to issue instructions to a GE oven).”; Par 33 – “For example, as mentioned above, categories may be associated with personal assistant types and stored in a database (e.g., as rows of a table). “Oven” may be associated with “Alexa,” “Thermostat” may be associated with “GA,” “Shopping” may be associated with “Alexa,” and so on. Accordingly, once the category is known, the type of system used to carry out the operation can be determined from the mappings.”).
REGARDING CLAIM 8, OCHER in view of HUANG and AGRAWAL discloses a computer-implemented method for network-independent appliance control using natural language processing and user feedback, the computer-implemented method comprising:
receiving, using a communications adapter apparatus communicatively coupled to an appliance controller of an appliance (OCHER Fig. 7 – “Network”; Fig. 5 – “PA Controller - Local Network 101 – Network appliance”), a voice command to control the appliance from a user (OCHER Par 20 – “The same or similar approach may be applied to other examples, for example, the command “increase temperature by 5 degrees” using the rule “OK Google, % cmd temperature % operands” results in “OK Google, increase temperature by 5 degrees”. Similar examples can be made for dishwasher, drier, etc.”), wherein the communication adapter apparatus comprises (i) a natural language understanding (“NLU”) module (Par 32 – “Once in the text form, it may be classified in one of three types: user feedback, appliance control, and request for assistance. Example steps in Natural Language Processing (NLP) are language detection, tokenization, Part of Speech tagging, constituent parsing, Named Entity Resolution, etc. Accordingly, text may be classified into categories along with a confidence score, such as: category: “/Internet & Telecom/Mobile & Wireless/Mobile Apps & Add-Ons” with confidence: 0.6499999761581421″, for example. When the text is determined to be user feedback, its sentiment can be analyzed to produce a model that can classify a sentence based on its sentiment (e.g., with 1 being a purely positive sentiment, 0 being a purely negative sentiment and 0.5 being neutral).”) and (ii) a memory device (Fig. 7—Memory; Storage Device) comprising computer-readable program code stored thereon, wherein the computer-readable program code comprises logic for the NLU module (Fig. 1 – “PA Controller 110; Classifier 112; Mapping tables 113”; Par 32 – “NLP”), wherein the communications adapter apparatus is [physically directly] connected to the appliance (Fig. 1 – “PA Controller – Local Network – Network Appliance”; Par 60 – “The network interface 704 may be a wireless or wired connection, for example. Computer system 710 can send and receive information through the network interface 704 across a wired or wireless local area network, an Intranet, or a cellular network to the Internet 730, for example.”; Par 14 – “PA controller, 110, SPAs 120-122, and network appliances 130, 132, and 134 may be coupled to a local network 101 in a particular location 150, such as a home, office, or warehouse, and may further be coupled to backend systems 102-104 over the Internet 100, for example.”), and wherein the appliance comprises a home appliance (Par 20 – “More specifically, for the GE oven example, a user may say “Heat oven to 350 degrees”. The audio is classified as an appliance control request, with object=“oven”, command=“heat” and parameters=“to 350 degrees”.);
parsing the voice command using a natural language understanding ("NLU") module (OCHER Par 20 – “As yet another example, the mapping of user input to SPA target command may go through the following process. First, the audio input is converted to text and parsed to an object, command, and operands.”; Par 31 – “At 303, the text is classified to produce a command and a category. In this example, the category specifies a type of network enabled appliance (e.g., an oven, microwave, or thermostat). In another embodiment, the category may correspond to a topic to be searched for (e.g., geography) or a task to be performed (e.g., shopping), for example …”; Par 32 – “Example embodiments of a classifier work with the voice input that was converted into text, for example. Once in the text form, it may be classified in one of three types: user feedback, appliance control, and request for assistance. Example steps in Natural Language Processing (NLP) are language detection, tokenization, Part of Speech tagging, constituent parsing, Named Entity Resolution, etc.”);
translating, using the NLU module, the voice command into a set of tokens, wherein the set of tokens corresponds to a set of interface elements on an appliance interface of the appliance (OCHER Fig. 3 Steps 304-307; Par 20 – “More specifically, for the GE oven example, a user may say “Heat oven to 350 degrees”. The audio is classified as an appliance control request, with object=“oven”, command=“heat” and parameters=“to 350 degrees”. The rule from the database is: “Alexa, tell GE to % cmd oven % operands”. The substitution yields the resulting command: “Alexa, tell GE to heat oven to 350 degrees”, which is sent to Alexa for execution. The same or similar approach may be applies to other examples, for example, the command “increase temperature by 5 degrees” using the rule “OK Google, % cmd temperature % operands” results in “OK Google, increase temperature by 5 degrees”. Similar examples can be made for dishwasher, drier, etc.”; Par 21 – “In this example, the Alexa backend system may receive the target command in the target protocol for Alexa (“Ok Alexa, tell GE to heat oven”) and backend 102 may parse the target command and issues an instruction from the backend to network appliance 130 over Internet 100, local network 101, and an input/output interface (IO1) 131 on oven 130, for example. Similarly, if the target command were determined to be associated with GA, the target command would be sent to the GA backend (e.g, backend 102), which would translate the command into an instruction for another network enabled appliance, for example (e.g., to change a temperature of a thermostat). Converting the target commands into instructions may be carried out by different command translators 105-107 on backends 102-104, respectively, each requiring target commands in different protocols to convert the commands to instructions to carry out various operations, for example.”);
transmitting, with the communication adapter apparatus, the tokens to the appliance controller of the appliance (OCHER Par 35 – “At 308, the instructions are sent from the backend system to the particular network enabled appliance. At 309, the instructions are executed by the network enabled appliance. Steps 308 and 309 are illustrated in FIG. 4 at 407.”) to mimic <a sequence of> individual key presses to <each interface element of> the set of interface elements on the appliance interface of the appliance (Fig. 3 Steps 304-307; Par 20 – “More specifically, for the GE oven example, a user may say “Heat oven to 350 degrees”. The audio is classified as an appliance control request, with object=“oven”, command=“heat” and parameters=“to 350 degrees”. The rule from the database is: “Alexa, tell GE to % cmd oven % operands”. The substitution yields the resulting command: “Alexa, tell GE to heat oven to 350 degrees”, which is sent to Alexa for execution. The same or similar approach may be applies to other examples, for example, the command “increase temperature by 5 degrees” using the rule “OK Google, % cmd temperature % operands” results in “OK Google, increase temperature by 5 degrees”. Similar examples can be made for dishwasher, drier, etc.”; In other words, the voice command “Heat oven to 350 degree” would result in operating the oven to heat to 350 degree as it is done by manual operations (e.g., turning on the oven and setting the temperature to 350).); and
based on the tokens and with the communication adapter appratus, controlling the appliance through the appliance controller of the appliance (OCHER Par 35 – “At 308, the instructions are sent from the backend system to the particular network enabled appliance. At 309, the instructions are executed by the network enabled appliance. Steps 308 and 309 are illustrated in FIG. 4 at 407.”).
OCHER does not explicitly teach the [square-bracketed] and <angle-bracketed> limitations.
Regarding the [square-bracketed] limitations, OCHER teaches a system where the communication adapter apparatus (Fig. 5 Unit 110) are connected with network appliances via local network. OCHER further teaches the “wired” local area network (Par 60). Thus, OCHER implicitly the connector is structured to [physically directly] connect the apparatus to the appliance. Although, OCHER implicitly suggests the [square-bracketed] limitations, Examiner provides HUANG for the clarity of the rejections
HUANG discloses a method/system for controlling devices using voice commands comprising
the apparatus comprising:
receiving, using a communications adapter apparatus communicatively coupled to an appliance controller of an appliance (HUANG Par 54 – “In some embodiments, the built-in voice communication interface 104 is activated in response to activating the data communication interface 108. For example, as shown in FIG. 5C, the voice control apparatus 102 is plugged into a communication interface (e.g., USB connection 530, FIG. 5C) of an appliance (e.g., the stove oven 124(d), FIG. 5C) to enable data communication between the voice control apparatus 102 and the stove 124(d).”), a voice command to control the appliance from a user (HUANG Par 42 – “For example, as shown in FIG. 3, a limited number of voice commands, including voice command 302-1 “Power on,” voice command 302-2 “Turn on the fan,” voice command 302-3 “Heat to 450 F,” and voice command 302-4 “Heat for 5 minutes.””), wherein the communications adapter apparatus comprises (i) a natural language understanding ("NLU") module (HUANG Par 28 – “In some embodiments, the voice control apparatus 102 includes a natural language processing (NLP) module 130 including a plurality of NLP models 132 corresponding to a plurality of types of appliances respectively.”; Par 46 – “In some embodiments, the voice control apparatus 102 also includes a built-in natural-language processing (NLP) module (e.g., the NLP module 130) stored in the memory of the voice control apparatus 102.”) and (ii) a memory device comprising computer-readable program code stored thereon, wherein the computer-readable program code comprises logic for the NLU module (HUANG par 44 – “the method 400 is performed at (402) a voice control apparatus (e.g., the voice control apparatus 102, FIG. 1) having one or more processors and memory.”), wherein the communications adapter apparatus is [physically directly] connected to the appliance (HUANG Par 54 – “In some embodiments, the built-in voice communication interface 104 is activated in response to activating the data communication interface 108. For example, as shown in FIG. 5C, the voice control apparatus 102 is plugged into a communication interface (e.g., USB connection 530, FIG. 5C) of an appliance (e.g., the stove oven 124(d), FIG. 5C) to enable data communication between the voice control apparatus 102 and the stove 124(d).”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method/system of OCHER to include a physical connection between an adapter and an appliance, as taught by HUANG.
One of ordinary skill would have been motivated to include a physical connection between an adapter and an appliance, in order to reduce the cost of NLU processor implementation by preventing excessive memory usage or support from a server (Par 28).
AGRAWAL discloses the <angle-bracketed> limitations. AGRAWAL discloses a method/system for dynamic inference of voice command for software operation comprising:
translate the voice command into a set of tokens, wherein each token of the set of tokens corresponds to an interface element of a set of interface elements on an appliance interface of the appliance (AGRAWAL Par 102 – “To illustrate, the textual description of one of the described steps in the help information 1002 may state “click the ‘compose email’ icon to initiate composition an email message”. From this, the help information analysis module 342 may identify the pertinent keywords as “click” and “compose email”, and thus conduct a textual/attribute comparison 1109 by searching the view screen information 1004 for a viewable element of manipulation type “clickable” and with attribute metadata of one or more of “email,” “compose,” “prepare,” or “create.” … In the event there is both a screenshot and text description for the selected action, the help information analysis module 342 can, for example, perform the graphical comparison 1111 to match the viewable element from the screenshot to a viewable element in one of the view screens of the software application, and then use the textual comparison 1109 to confirm that the match is accurate by confirming that the descriptive attributes of the matching viewable element match the pertinent keywords from the text description in the help information 1002.”);
transmit the tokens to the appliance controller of the appliance to mimic <a sequence of> individual key presses to <each interface element of> the set of interface elements on the appliance interface of the appliance (AGRAWAL Par 21 – “As such, the voice command functionality of the electronic device can readily scale as the user interacts with the electronic device or as the availability of user help information grows. Moreover, the inference of a voice command set from monitored user manipulation results in a voice command set and emulated viewable element manipulation that mimics the user's particular approach to interacting with the software application to actuate the operation, and thus provides the user with a more natural and comfortable approach to touchless control of the electronic device.”; Par 119 – “FIG. 18 illustrates an example of the processes of generating a voice command set 1802 and a viewable element manipulation sequence 1804 from the example illustrated by FIGS. 13-17. The voice command set 1802 and the viewable element manipulation sequence 1804 represent an example of the voice command set 366 and the viewable element manipulation sequence 352, respectively, of FIG. 3. From the keywords described above, the voice command generator module 346 generates a base command syntax of “create email to <$RECIPIENT> with subject <$SUBJECT> and body <$BODY>”.”); and
based on the tokens, control the appliance through the appliance controller of the appliance (AGRAWAL 91 – “Otherwise, if a sufficient match is detected, at block 912 the command mapper module 350 signals a command match 368 to the manipulation emulator module 348. In response the manipulation emulator module 348 accesses the viewable element emulation sequence associated with the matching voice command and then emulates the viewable element emulation sequence at the electronic device 100. As noted above, this emulation can include injecting emulated tactile manipulations of various user input components 242 so that the emulation is transparent to the OS 214 and the software application(s) 216 involved in the software operation. Alternatively, the manipulation emulator module 348 may signal the intended viewable element manipulation directly to the OS 214, and the OS 214 then formats the corresponding inputs to the software application 216 as though a user had provided the tactile manipulation of the viewable element.”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method/system of OCHER in view of HUANG to include mimicking a sequence of key presses, as taught by AGRAWAL.
One of ordinary skill would have been motivated to include mimicking a sequence of key presses, in order to provide a user with a more natural and comfortable approach to touchless control of an electronic device (Par 21).
Claim 9 is similar to Claim 2; thus, it is rejected under the same rationale.
Claim 10 is similar to Claim 3; thus, it is rejected under the same rationale.
Claim 11 is similar to Claim 4; thus, it is rejected under the same rationale.
Claim 12 is similar to Claim 5; thus, it is rejected under the same rationale.
REGARDING CLAIM 14, OCHER in view of HUANG and AGRAWAL discloses an appliance with integrated network-independent appliance control functionality using natural language processing and user feedback, comprising:
an appliance interface (OCHER Par 21 – “n this example, the Alexa backend system may receive the target command in the target protocol for Alexa (“Ok Alexa, tell GE to heat oven”) and backend 102 may parse the target command and issues an instruction from the backend to network appliance 130 over Internet 100, local network 101, and an input/output interface (IO1) 131 on oven 130, for example.”); an appliance controller operatively coupled to the appliance interface (OCHER Fig. 7 – “Network”; Fig. 5 – “PA Controller - Local Network 101 – Network appliance”); and a communications adapter apparatus communicatively coupled to the appliance controller (OCHER Fig. 7 – “Network”; Fig. 5 – “PA Controller - Local Network 101 – Network appliance”) and [physically directly] coupled to the appliance (OCHER Fig. 1 – “PA Controller – Local Network – Network Appliance”; Par 60 – “The network interface 704 may be a wireless or wired connection, for example. Computer system 710 can send and receive information through the network interface 704 across a wired or wireless local area network, an Intranet, or a cellular network to the Internet 730, for example.”; Par 14 – “PA controller, 110, SPAs 120-122, and network appliances 130, 132, and 134 may be coupled to a local network 101 in a particular location 150, such as a home, office, or warehouse, and may further be coupled to backend systems 102-104 over the Internet 100, for example.”; As explained in the rejection of claim 1, HUANG teaches the [square-bracketed] limitations at least in Par 54 – “In some embodiments, the built-in voice communication interface 104 is activated in response to activating the data communication interface 108. For example, as shown in FIG. 5C, the voice control apparatus 102 is plugged into a communication interface (e.g., USB connection 530, FIG. 5C) of an appliance (e.g., the stove oven 124(d), FIG. 5C) to enable data communication between the voice control apparatus 102 and the stove 124(d).”), wherein the appliance comprises a home appliance (Par 20 – “More specifically, for the GE oven example, a user may say “Heat oven to 350 degrees”. The audio is classified as an appliance control request, with object=“oven”, command=“heat” and parameters=“to 350 degrees”.), wherein the apparatus comprises: a natural language understanding (“NLU”) module (OCHER Par 32 – “Once in the text form, it may be classified in one of three types: user feedback, appliance control, and request for assistance. Example steps in Natural Language Processing (NLP) are language detection, tokenization, Part of Speech tagging, constituent parsing, Named Entity Resolution, etc. Accordingly, text may be classified into categories along with a confidence score, such as: category: “/Internet & Telecom/Mobile & Wireless/Mobile Apps & Add-Ons” with confidence: 0.6499999761581421″, for example. When the text is determined to be user feedback, its sentiment can be analyzed to produce a model that can classify a sentence based on its sentiment (e.g., with 1 being a purely positive sentiment, 0 being a purely negative sentiment and 0.5 being neutral).”); a processor (OCHER Fig. 7 – “Processor(s)”); a communication interface (OCHER Fig. 7 – “Network Interface”); and a memory having executable code stored thereon (OCHER Fig. 7—Memory; Storage Device), wherein the executable code comprises logic for the NLU module, and wherein the executable code, when executed by the processor (OCHER Par 58 – “instructions … non-transitory computer readable storage mediums.”), causes the processor to:
performing the steps of claim 1; thus, it is rejected under the same rationale.
Claim 15 is similar to Claim 2; thus, it is rejected under the same rationale.
Claim 16 is similar to Claim 3; thus, it is rejected under the same rationale.
Claim 17 is similar to Claim 4; thus, it is rejected under the same rationale.
Claim 18 is similar to Claim 5; thus, it is rejected under the same rationale.
Claims 6-7, 13, and 19-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over OCHER in view of HUANG and AGRAWAL, and in further view of NELL (US 2022/0043986 A1).
REGARDING CLAIM 6, OCHER in view of HUANG and AGRAWAL discloses the communications adapter apparatus of claim 1, wherein the computer-readable program code further causes the processing device to:
[output an auditory confirmation request to the user, wherein the auditory confirmation request prompts the user to confirm the voice command]; and
receive an auditory confirmation from the user, wherein the auditory confirmation confirms the voice command (Par 23 – “PA Controller then communicates the answer to the user. In response, the user may says “OK”. The user's response is converted to text, and analyzed to determine that the answer can be categorized as a user feedback, for example. The classifier may further determine that the feedback is positive.”).
OCHER does not explicitly teach the [square-bracketed] limitations.
NELL discloses the [square-bracketed] limitations. NELL discloses a method/system for controlling devices using voice commands comprising:
[output an auditory confirmation request to the user, wherein the auditory confirmation request prompts the user to confirm the voice command] (NELL Par 283 – “For example, the dialogue asks the user “Would you like to set the humidity of the living room thermostat to sixty percent?” or “Open the garage door?” A user input that is responsive to the output dialogue is received. The user input confirms or rejects the output dialogue. In one example, the user input is the speech input “yes.” In response to receiving user input confirming the output dialogue, the instructions are provided. Conversely, in response to receiving user input rejecting the output dialogue, process 800 forgoes providing the instructions.”); and
receive an auditory confirmation from the user, wherein the auditory confirmation confirms the voice command (NELL Par 283 – “A user input that is responsive to the output dialogue is received. The user input confirms or rejects the output dialogue. In one example, the user input is the speech input “yes.” In response to receiving user input confirming the output dialogue, the instructions are provided. Conversely, in response to receiving user input rejecting the output dialogue, process 800 forgoes providing the instructions.”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method/system of OCHER in view of HUANG and AGRAWAL to include outputting a confirmation request, as taught by NELL.
One of ordinary skill would have been motivated to include outputting a confirmation request, in order to accurately execute a user request without a mistake.
REGARDING CLAIM 7, OCHER in view of HUANG and AGRAWAL discloses the communications adapter apparatus of claim 1, wherein the computer-readable program code further causes the processing device to initiate a supervised learning process (Par 24 – “Embodiments of the disclosure may include a system that learns by adding rules to the database(s). Unlike traditional SPAs, PA Controller does not learn directly how to better answer questions; rather, it learns how to better direct user input for processing. The rules can be generated automatically (for example from information searches), generated from user input or supervised learning and training mode, or imported from file.”), the supervised learning process comprising:
[prompting the user for feedback regarding a result of controlling the appliance];
receiving, from the user, auditory feedback regarding the result of controlling the appliance (Par 22 – “Features and advantages of the present disclosure include updating the mappings between categories and system types (e.g., stored in database 113) as the system receives feedback from the user as to whether a voice audio signal resulted in a successful response.”); and
based on the auditory feedback, adjust one or more predefined settings associated with the appliance using an artificial intelligence ("Al") module (Par 22 – “Features and advantages of the present disclosure include updating the mappings between categories and system types (e.g., stored in database 113) as the system receives feedback from the user as to whether a voice audio signal resulted in a successful response.”; Par 26 –“As mentioned above, other embodiments may generate rules from user input or supervised learning. As one example, the feedback to a SPA's response may be stored as a rule. For example, if an SPA responds with an inappropriate response (e.g., for children), then the user's response to the SPA's response may indicate that a rule should be generated (e.g., “STOP, ALEXA, STOP!”). Such feedback generate a rule not to ask Alexa to play certain content, for example.”; Par 37 – “User feedback is used to determine whether the previous request was successful or not; it is used to update the rules for other two types. Appliance control and request for assistance use a table where generated rules are stored, for example:”).
OCHER does not explicitly teach the [square-bracketed] limitations.
NELL discloses the [square-bracketed] limitations. NELL discloses a method/system for controlling devices using voice commands comprising:
[prompting the user for feedback regarding a result of controlling the appliance] (NELL Par 283 – “For example, the dialogue asks the user “Would you like to set the humidity of the living room thermostat to sixty percent?” or “Open the garage door?” A user input that is responsive to the output dialogue is received. The user input confirms or rejects the output dialogue. In one example, the user input is the speech input “yes.” In response to receiving user input confirming the output dialogue, the instructions are provided. Conversely, in response to receiving user input rejecting the output dialogue, process 800 forgoes providing the instructions.”; Par 285 – “Would you like to create an “arrive home” scene with these device settings?” User input responsive to the prompt is received.”);
receiving, from the user, auditory feedback regarding the result of controlling the appliance (NELL Par 283 – “A user input that is responsive to the output dialogue is received. The user input confirms or rejects the output dialogue. In one example, the user input is the speech input “yes.” In response to receiving user input confirming the output dialogue, the instructions are provided. Conversely, in response to receiving user input rejecting the output dialogue, process 800 forgoes providing the instructions.”; Par 285 – “Would you like to create an “arrive home” scene with these device settings?” User input responsive to the prompt is received. For example, the user confirms or rejects the prompt to create a custom scene command associated with a set of operating states of a plurality of devices. In response to receiving a user input that confirms the prompt, the respective operating states of the plurality of devices are stored in association with the custom scene command such that in response to receiving the custom scene command, the user device causes the plurality of devices to be set to the respective operating states. Conversely, in response to receiving a user input that rejects the prompt, process 800 forgoes storing the respective operating states of the plurality of devices in association with the custom scene command.”); and
based on the auditory feedback, adjust one or more predefined settings associated with the appliance using an artificial intelligence ("Al") module (Par 285 – “In response to receiving a user input that confirms the prompt, the respective operating states of the plurality of devices are stored in association with the custom scene command such that in response to receiving the custom scene command, the user device causes the plurality of devices to be set to the respective operating states. Conversely, in response to receiving a user input that rejects the prompt, process 800 forgoes storing the respective operating states of the plurality of devices in association with the custom scene command.”)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method/system of OCHER in view of HUANG and AGRAWAL Y to include prompting a user for feedback request, as taught by NELL.
One of ordinary skill would have been motivated to include prompting a user for feedback, in order to accurately execute a user request without a mistake.
Claim 13 is similar to Claim 6; thus, it is rejected under the same rationale.
Claim 19 is similar to Claim 6; thus, it is rejected under the same rationale.
Claim 20 is similar to Claim 7; thus, it is rejected under the same rationale.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/JONATHAN C KIM/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2655