DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 05/08/2023, 12/18/2024 has been considered by the examiner.
Election/Restrictions
Claim 6 withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected invention, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 12/23/2025.
Applicant’s election without traverse of claims 1-5 in the reply filed on 12/23/2025 is acknowledged.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-5 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 1 recites the limitation "the acetate" in line 8. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claims 2-5 are indefinite because they recite incompatible ranges. For example, claim 2 requires a mass of supported metallic copper per kg of catalyst be 0.1g or more and simultaneously be 1.6g or less, which is unclear since this phrasing allows there to be 0.1g and 1.6g at the same time. Claims 3-5 are indefinite for the same reason.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim 1 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by White et al (US 5347046).
Regarding claim 1, White discloses novel catalysts useful in the preparation of unsaturated organic esters (Col. 1 lines 8-9) where the preferred ethylenically unsaturated ester is vinyl acetate (Col. 7 lines 1-2) and methods for producing the catalyst (Examples 1-33, meeting limitation “a method for producing a vinyl acetate production catalyst”). The catalysts of this invention contain palladium group metals and/or compounds thereof (col. 3 lines 19-20 meeting limitation “comprising palladium”). Catalysts of this invention also contain gold (Col. 3 line 36 meeting limitation “comprising gold”). The catalysts of this invention also contain one or more promoters selected from the group consisting of copper (Col. 3 lines 42-44 meeting limitation “comprising copper”). The carrier may be of any configuration, shape or size which exposes the catalyst supported thereon to the reactants being catalyzed (Col. 4 lines 6-8 meeting limitation “comprising a carrier”). The catalysts of this invention may also contain one or more alkali or alkaline earth salts of an organic acid such as lithium, sodium, calcium or potassium acetate as a promoter and activator (Col. 6 lines 4-7 meeting limitation “comprising an acetate”).
White further discloses pretreated silica beads, i.e. carrier, are prepared by impregnating … with 2400 cc of an aqueous pretreatment solution containing 123.1 grams of potassium hydroxide and 954 grams of potassium silicate solution, i.e. alkaline solution (Col. 7 lines 49-54 meeting limitation “the method comprising the following steps in this order: step 1: impregnating a carrier with an alkaline solution”). The Pd-Au-Cu catalyst is prepared by impregnating the pretreated beads of Example 1 with… sodium palladium tetrachloride solution…sodium gold tetrachloride solution… and cupric chloride dihydrate (Col. 8 lines 3-8 meeting limitation “step 2: contacting and impregnating the carrier with a solution containing a copper- containing compound, a palladium-containing compound, and a gold-containing compound”). The Pd-Au-Cu impregnated beads are aged … and then reduced in 250 cc of deionized water containing 6 grams of hydrazine, held in contact with the hydrazine solution for two hours, washed… and then dried, i.e. reduction treatment (Col. 8 lines 12-18 meeting limitation “step 3: performing a reduction treatment”). The catalyst of Example 2 is further impregnated with 132.6 cc of an aqueous solution containing 8.8 grams of potassium acetate (Col 8 lines 24-26). The catalyst obtained has a nominal loading of potassium acetate of 22 grams per liter of catalyst (Col. 8 lines 31-33 meeting limitation “step 4: supporting the acetate on the carrier”).
Regarding claim 2 and 5, White discloses all the limitations in the claims as set forth above and further discloses a Pd-Au-Cu catalyst is prepared by impregnating one liter, 575 grams, of KA-160 silica beads with 339 cc of an aqueous solution containing 4.2 grams of palladium, 1.84 grams of gold and 0.307 grams of copper (Col. 9 lines 20-26). The resulting catalyst is dried in a forced air oven at 110° C., then spray impregnated with 30 grams of potassium acetate dissolved in 324 cc of deionized water and dried again to a moisture level of less than 2% in a forced air oven (Col.9 lines 38-42).
The instant specification discloses the mass of catalyst is the sum of the carrier mass, catalyst metal mass, acetate mass and the mass of the other components ([0049]).
The mass of the catalyst can be calculated as the sum of the disclosed carrier mass (575 g), catalyst metal mass (4.2g, 1.84g, 0.307g), and acetate mass (30 g). This would result in a catalyst mass of 611.3g in Example 7. Since the mass of supported metallic copper is disclosed as 0.307g, the mass of supported metallic copper would be 0.5g per kg of catalyst, which is within the claimed range of 0.1g or more and 1.6 g or less.
Likewise, since the mass of supported acetate is 30 grams, the mass of supported acetate would be 49g per kg of catalyst, which is within the claimed range of 40g or more and 100 g or less.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 3 and 4 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over White et al (US 5347046) in view of Saihata (JP 2008080326 A, cited in IDS 05/08/2023, machine translation used for citations).
Regarding claim 3, White discloses all the limitations in the claims as set forth above but does not disclose “wherein a mass of supported metallic palladium per kg of catalyst is 8.0 g or more and 16.0 g or less”.
Saihata discloses the present invention relates to a method for producing a catalyst for use in synthesizing alkenyl acetate ([0001]) including 1. A step of impregnating the carrier with an alkaline solution; 2. A step of contact-impregnating a support with a solution A of at least a compound containing palladium or platinum and a compound containing a Group 11 element; 3. A step of performing a reduction treatment; a step of supporting an acetate on a carrier ([0011]).
Saihata further discloses the mass ratio of (b) palladium or platinum to (a) the carrier is preferably (b):(a)=1:10-1000 ([0040]). In the catalyst for producing alkenyl acetate of the present invention, the mass ratio of (b) palladium or platinum, (c) Group 11 element, (d) acetate, and (e) alkaline earth metal element is preferably (b):(c):(d):(e)=1:0.001-10:0.1-100:0-100 ([0063]).
If the mass of the carrier is 100 g, with 1 g of palladium, 1 g of gold (Group 11 element), 1 g acetate, 0 g alkaline earth metal element, the total catalyst mass would be 103 g. Scaling up to 1 kg of catalyst, the mass of supported metallic palladium per kg of catalyst would be 9.7 g which is within the claimed range of 8.0 g or more and 16.0 g or less.
Saihata further discloses palladium or platinum is the main catalyst component, and palladium is particularly preferred because of its high vinyl acetate selectivity ([0036]).
Thus, prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art for the mass of supported metallic palladium per kg of catalyst is 8.0 g or more and 16.0 g or less in the method of White since palladium has high vinyl acetate selectivity as taught by Saihata.
Regarding claim 4, White discloses all the limitations in the claims as set forth above but does not disclose “wherein a mass of supported metallic gold per kg of catalyst is 4.0 g or more and 12.0 g or less”.
Saihata discloses the present invention relates to a method for producing a catalyst for use in synthesizing alkenyl acetate ([0001]) including 1. A step of impregnating the carrier with an alkaline solution; 2. A step of contact-impregnating a support with a solution A of at least a compound containing palladium or platinum and a compound containing a Group 11 element; 3. A step of performing a reduction treatment; a step of supporting an acetate on a carrier ([0011]). In the present invention, (c) Group 11 elements refer to Group 11 elements in the periodic table…specifically, it refers to gold, silver, or copper, and preferably gold or copper ([0041]).
Saihata further discloses the mass ratio of (b) palladium or platinum to (a) the carrier is preferably (b):(a)=1:10-1000 ([0040]). In the catalyst for producing alkenyl acetate of the present invention, the mass ratio of (b) palladium or platinum, (c) Group 11 element, (d) acetate, and (e) alkaline earth metal element is preferably (b):(c):(d):(e)=1:0.001-10:0.1-100:0-100 ([0063]).
If the mass of the carrier is 100 g, with 1 g of palladium, 1 g of gold (Group 11 element), 1 g acetate, 0 g alkaline earth metal element, the total catalyst mass would be 103 g. Scaling up to 1 kg of catalyst, the mass of supported metallic gold per kg of catalyst would be 9.7 g which is within the claimed range of 4.0 g or more and 12.0 g or less.
Saihata further discloses the gold promoter is thought to suppress palladium sintering ([0003]).
Thus, prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art for the mass of supported metallic gold per kg of catalyst is 4.0 g or more and 12.0 g or less in the method of White since gold is thought to suppress palladium sintering as taught by Saihata.
Double Patenting
Claims 1-5 provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1, 9-12 of copending Application No. 18/861,269 (reference application).
Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because ‘269 claims a method for producing a catalyst for vinyl acetate production containing a carrier, copper, palladium, gold and an acetate (claim 1 meeting limitation “a method for producing a vinyl acetate production catalyst comprising a carrier, copper, palladium, gold, and an acetate”), the method comprising: Step 1: impregnating the carrier with an alkali solution (claim 1 meeting limitation “the method comprising step 1: impregnating a carrier with an alkaline solution”); Step 2: subjecting the carrier to contact impregnation with a solution containing a copper-containing compound, a palladium-containing compound, and a gold-containing compound (claim 1 meeting limitation “step 2: contacting and impregnating the carrier with a solution containing a copper- containing compound, a palladium-containing compound, and a gold-containing compound”); Step 5: performing a reduction treatment (claim 1 meeting limitation “step 3: performing a reduction treatment”); and Step 6: supporting an acetate on the carrier in this order (claim 1 meeting limitation “step 4: supporting the acetate on the carrier” and “the following steps in this order”).
Regarding claim 2, ‘269 claims the production method according to claim 1, wherein a mass of supported metallic copper per 1 kg of the carrier is from 0.25 g to 5.00 g (claim 9).
As set forth in MPEP 2144.05, in the case where the claimed range “overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art”, a prima facie case of obviousness exists, In re Wertheim, 541 F.2d 257, 191 USPQ 90 (CCPA 1976); In re Woodruff, 919 F.2d 1575, 16 USPQ2d 1934 (Fed. Cir. 1990). In the instant case, the range claimed by ‘269 (from 0.25 g to 5.00 g) overlaps with the claimed range (0.1 g or more and 1.6 g or less). Therefore, the range in ‘269 renders obvious the claimed range.
Regarding claim 3, ‘269 claims the production method according to claim 1, wherein a mass of supported metallic palladium per 1 kg of the carrier is from 5.00 g to 20.0 g (claim 10).
As set forth in MPEP 2144.05, in the case where the claimed range “overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art”, a prima facie case of obviousness exists, In re Wertheim, 541 F.2d 257, 191 USPQ 90 (CCPA 1976); In re Woodruff, 919 F.2d 1575, 16 USPQ2d 1934 (Fed. Cir. 1990). In the instant case, the range claimed by ‘269 (from 5.00 g to 20.0 g) overlaps with the claimed range (8 g or more and 16.0 g or less). Therefore, the range in ‘269 renders obvious the claimed range.
Regarding claim 4, ‘269 claims the production method according to claim 1, wherein a mass of supported metallic gold per 1 kg of the carrier is from 4.00 g to 20.0 g (claim 11).
As set forth in MPEP 2144.05, in the case where the claimed range “overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art”, a prima facie case of obviousness exists, In re Wertheim, 541 F.2d 257, 191 USPQ 90 (CCPA 1976); In re Woodruff, 919 F.2d 1575, 16 USPQ2d 1934 (Fed. Cir. 1990). In the instant case, the range claimed by ‘269 (from 4.00 g to 20.0 g) overlaps with the claimed range (4.0 g or more and 12.0 g or less). Therefore, the range in ‘269 renders obvious the claimed range.
Regarding claim 5, ‘269 claims the production method according to claim 1, wherein a mass of supported acetate per 1 kg of the carrier is from 40 g to 125 g (claim 12).
As set forth in MPEP 2144.05, in the case where the claimed range “overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art”, a prima facie case of obviousness exists, In re Wertheim, 541 F.2d 257, 191 USPQ 90 (CCPA 1976); In re Woodruff, 919 F.2d 1575, 16 USPQ2d 1934 (Fed. Cir. 1990). In the instant case, the range claimed by ‘269 (from 40 g to 125 g) overlaps with the claimed range (40 g or more and 100 g or less). Therefore, the range in ‘269 renders obvious the claimed range.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Claims 1-5 provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1, 5-8 of copending Application No. 18/856,082 (reference application).
Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because ‘082 claims a method for producing a catalyst for vinyl acetate production containing a carrier, copper, palladium, gold and an acetate, the method comprising (claim 1 meeting limitation “a method for producing a vinyl acetate production catalyst comprising a carrier, copper, palladium, gold, and an acetate”): Step 1: impregnating the carrier with an alkali solution (claim 1 meeting limitation “the method comprising step 1: impregnating a carrier with an alkaline solution”); Step 2: subjecting the carrier to contact impregnation with a solution containing a copper-containing compound, a palladium-containing compound, and a gold-containing compound (claim 1 meeting limitation “step 2: contacting and impregnating the carrier with a solution containing a copper- containing compound, a palladium-containing compound, and a gold-containing compound”); Step 4: performing a reduction treatment (claim 1 meeting limitation “step 3: performing a reduction treatment”); and Step 5: supporting an acetate on the carrier, in this order (claim 1 meeting limitation “step 4: supporting the acetate on the carrier” and “the following steps in this order”).
Regarding claim 2, ‘082 claims the production method according to claim 1, wherein a mass of supported metallic copper per 1 kg of the carrier is from 0.25 g to 5.00 g (claim 5).
As set forth in MPEP 2144.05, in the case where the claimed range “overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art”, a prima facie case of obviousness exists, In re Wertheim, 541 F.2d 257, 191 USPQ 90 (CCPA 1976); In re Woodruff, 919 F.2d 1575, 16 USPQ2d 1934 (Fed. Cir. 1990). In the instant case, the range claimed by ‘082 (from 0.25 g to 5.00 g) overlaps with the claimed range (0.1 g or more and 1.6 g or less). Therefore, the range in ‘082 renders obvious the claimed range.
Regarding claim 3, ‘082 claims the production method according to claim 1, wherein a mass of supported metallic palladium per 1 kg of the carrier is from 5.00 g to 20.0 g (claim 6).
As set forth in MPEP 2144.05, in the case where the claimed range “overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art”, a prima facie case of obviousness exists, In re Wertheim, 541 F.2d 257, 191 USPQ 90 (CCPA 1976); In re Woodruff, 919 F.2d 1575, 16 USPQ2d 1934 (Fed. Cir. 1990). In the instant case, the range claimed by ‘082 (from 5.00 g to 20.0 g) overlaps with the claimed range (8 g or more and 16.0 g or less). Therefore, the range in ‘082 renders obvious the claimed range.
Regarding claim 4, ‘082 claims the production method according to claim 1, wherein a mass of supported metallic gold per 1 kg of the carrier is from 4.00 g to 20.0 g (claim 7).
As set forth in MPEP 2144.05, in the case where the claimed range “overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art”, a prima facie case of obviousness exists, In re Wertheim, 541 F.2d 257, 191 USPQ 90 (CCPA 1976); In re Woodruff, 919 F.2d 1575, 16 USPQ2d 1934 (Fed. Cir. 1990). In the instant case, the range claimed by ‘082 (from 4.00 g to 20.0 g) overlaps with the claimed range (4.0 g or more and 12.0 g or less). Therefore, the range in ‘082 renders obvious the claimed range.
Regarding claim 5, ‘269 claims the production method according to claim 1, wherein a mass of supported acetate per 1 kg of the carrier is from 40 g to 125 g (claim 8).
As set forth in MPEP 2144.05, in the case where the claimed range “overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art”, a prima facie case of obviousness exists, In re Wertheim, 541 F.2d 257, 191 USPQ 90 (CCPA 1976); In re Woodruff, 919 F.2d 1575, 16 USPQ2d 1934 (Fed. Cir. 1990). In the instant case, the range claimed by ‘082 (from 40 g to 125 g) overlaps with the claimed range (40 g or more and 100 g or less). Therefore, the range in ‘082 renders obvious the claimed range.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Conclusion
/N.L.Q./Examiner, Art Unit 1738
/SALLY A MERKLING/SPE, Art Unit 1738