DETAILED ACTION
Claims 1-20 of J. T. Hupp, et al., US 18/035,876 (05/08/2023) are pending. Claim 9, 11 and 12-20 are withdrawn as drawn to the non-elected Groups or not read the elected species; claims 1-8 and 10 are under examination on merits and are rejected.
Election/Restrictions
Pursuant to the restriction requirement, Applicant elected Group I (claims 1-11), with traverse, in the reply filed on 12/17/2025. Claims 12-20 drawn to non-elected Groups II-III are withdrawn from consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b).
Pursuant to the election of species requirement, Applicant elected, without traverse, nu-1000 as the species chemical structure of a metal organic framework molecule, in the reply filed on 12/17/2025, for prosecution on the merits to which the claims shall be restricted if no generic claim is finally held to be allowable. The elected species was searched and determined to be unpatentable as discussed in the 102 rejection below. The provisional species election requirement is in effect and claims 9 and 11 are withdrawn as not reading on the elected species.
Applicant’s Traversal
Applicant amended claim 12 and traversed the Restriction between Groups I-II on the ground that there is a common technical feature between the instant Groups I-II. This argument has been fully considered, while there is a common technical feature that is the MOF in claim 1 between Groups I-II, as detail discussed in the 102 rejection below that the MOF in claim 1 is anticipated by the prior art, therefore, the common technical feature (the MOF in claim 1) is not a special technical features, thus Group I-II still lacks unity of invention and the Restriction Requirement is proper and is made as Final.
Claim Interpretation
Examination requires claim terms first be construed in terms in the broadest reasonable manner during prosecution as is reasonably allowed in an effort to establish a clear record of what applicant intends to claim. See, MPEP § 2111. Under a broadest reasonable interpretation, words of the claim must be given their plain meaning, unless such meaning is inconsistent with the specification. See MPEP § 2111.01. It is also appropriate to look to how the claim term is used in the prior art, which includes prior art patents, published applications, trade publications, and dictionaries. MPEP § 2111.01 (III).
Interpretation of Claim Term “linker unsaturated nodes”
The claim terms of “linker unsaturated nodes” is recited in the follows context:
A hydrated metal organic framework comprising:
a metal organic framework molecule having positively charged, linker unsaturated nodes and a net positive charge;
. . . .
The specification teaches that:
[0021] . . . . The coordination sites on the nodes may be saturated with organic linker connections. However, MOFs may also have nodes with coordination sites that are not coordinated to organic linkers. Such nodes, which are referred to herein as linker unsaturated nodes, may be coordinated to ligands at the unsaturated sites. These ligands may bind to a single node atom (e.g., metal atom) or may bridge metal atoms within a node.
Specification at page 4, [0021], emphasis added. Thus, The claim term of “linker unsaturated nodes” is interpreted according to the definition in the specification.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-8 and 10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102 (a)(1) as being anticipated by P. Deria, et al. 6(9), Chemical science, 5172-5176 (2015)(“Deria”) evidenced with J. E. Mondloch, et al. 135.28, Journal of the American Chemical Society, 10294-10297 (2013)(“Mondloch”).
Deria studied the stability of MOF NU-1000 under water vapor conditions at various vapor partial pressures (or relative humidities, RH) using N2 as carrier gas at a constant total
pressure of 1 bar. Deria at page 5173, left col. Results and discussion, line 3-6.
Deria teaches that:
As can be seen in Fig. 2a, at RH z 70%, the mesoporous NU-1000 channels undergo capillary condensation and reach saturation with 1.14 mg mg-1 total uptake (corresponding to a water accessible pore volume of 1.14 cc g-1, where the N2 accessible pore volume ¼ 1.4 cc g-1).
Deria at page 5173, left col. Results and discussion, line 6-10 and Fig. 2 at right col.
Thus, Deria teaches a hydrated metal organic framework comprising a metal organic framework molecule that is NU-1000 and water contained within pores of the NU-1000.
Per Fig. 1a, Deria teaches that NU-1000 has a [Zr6(µ3-O)4(µ3-OH)4(-OH)4(-OH2)4]8+ nodes linked by tetra-carboxylate ligands TBAPy as indicated below.
Deria at page 5172, right col. paragraph 2, line 6-10 and Fig. 1 at page 5173, left col.
Therefore, NU-1000 has positively charged, linker unsaturated nodes.
Per supporting information, Deria teaches that his NU-1000 was synthesized according to the method taught by Mondloch. Deria at supporting information page S1, S1. Materials, line 5-6. The evidence from Mondloch indicates that NU-1000 was synthesized as follows:
Synthesis of NU-1000 in DEF. 70 mg of ZrCl4 (0.30 mmol) and 2700 mg (22 mmol) of benzoic acid were mixed in 8 mL of DEF (in a 6-dram vial) and ultrasonically dissolved. The clear solution was incubated in an oven at 80⁰C for 1h. After cooling down to room temperature 40 mg (0.06 mmol) of H4TBAPy was added to this solution and the mixture was sonicated for 20 min. The yellow suspension was heated in an oven at 120⁰C for 48 h. After cooling down to room temperature, yellow single crystals were present on the vial walls. The sample was washed with DMF and subsequently activated with HCl (see Section S5 below).
Synthesis of NU-1000 in DMF. 70 mg of ZrCl4 (0.30 mmol) and 2700 mg (22 mmol) of benzoic acid were mixed in 8 mL of DMF (in a 6-dram vial) and ultrasonically dissolved. The clear solution was incubated in an oven at 80⁰C for 1h. After cooling down to room temperature 40 mg (0.06 mmol) of H4TBAPy was added to this solution and the mixture was sonicated for 20 min. The yellow suspension was heated in an oven at 120⁰C for 48 h. After cooling down to room temperature, yellow polycrystalline material was isolated by filtration (35 mg of activated material, 54% yield) and washed with DMF and subsequently activated with HCl (see Section S5 below).
S5. Activation procedure for NU-1000.
As synthesized NU-1000 was activated using a slightly modified method previously reported by Feng et al..S1 Approximately 40 mg of solvated (“wet”) material was soaked in 12 ml of DMF and 0.5 ml of 8 M aqueous HCl was added. This mixture was heated in an oven at 100⁰C for 24 h. After cooling to room temperature, the solution was removed and the material was washed twice with DMF to remove HCl impurities. Subsequently the solid residue was washed twice with acetone and soaked in acetone for additional 12h. NU-1000 was filtered, briefly dried on a filter paper and activated at 120⁰C under vacuum for 12h on the preparation station of ASAP 2020 instrument. Shown below, the as synthesized NU-1000 sample was characterized by 1H NMR, N2 adsorption measurements, and DRIFTS. The data are consistent with the removal of benzoic acid from the Zr6 node and the incorporation of –OH groups.
See Mondloch supporting information S4-S5, emphasis added.
It should be noted that the Mondloch activation procedure for NU-1000 is substantially same as the method used for the preparation of Formate-free NU-1000 containing chloride (NU-1000-FF-Cl) in the working example of the specification. See specification at page 11, [0040]. Both of the methods are treating of 40 mg as synthesized NU-1000 with 0.5 ml 8 M aqueous HCl.
The specification teaches that when MOF is treated with strong acid such as HCl, “a net positive electrical charge may be imparted to a metal organic framework molecule that lacks a net positive electrical charge by reacting pre-existing ligands on the nodes with a salt such as HCl in an aqueous or non-aqueous solution, whereby the salt dissociates to form a cation that binds to the node and a charge compensating anion that remains unligated”. See specification at page 5-6, [0025]. Therefore, the Deria NU-1000 also comprises1:
(i). a net positive charge that is H+ and is imparted to the NU-1000 nodes; and
(ii). charge compensating anions that is Cl- and is unligated, which can be evidenced by the Mondloch MOF-1000 comprise 0.4% Cl.
See Mondloch supporting information S5, paragraph 2, Elemental analysis data.
To summarized, the Deria hydrated NU-1000 comprises:
(i).a metal organic framework molecule that is NU-1000 having positively charged, linker unsaturated nodes and a net positive charge (H+) that is imparted to the NU-1000;
(ii). water contained within pores of the metal organic framework molecule; and
(iii). charge compensating anions (Cl-) that are not bonded to the linker unsaturated nodes via coordination bonds and that have freedom of motion through the pores of the metal organic framework.
Which meets each and every limitation of claims 1-8 and 10, therefore, claims 1-8 and 10 are anticipated.
Conclusion
/FRANK S. HOU/Examiner, Art Unit 1692
/ALEXANDER R PAGANO/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1692
1 Once a reference teaching product appearing to be substantially identical is made the basis of a rejection, and the examiner presents evidence or reasoning to show inherency, the burden of production shifts to the applicant. MPEP § 2112(V) (citing In re Best, 562 F.2d 1252, 1255, 195 USPQ 430, 433-34 (CCPA 1977). This is a procedural burden shifting. The requirement that the prior art necessarily teaches the alleged inherent (functional) element still remains. MPEP § 2112(IV). However, the burden is shifted to Applicant to demonstrate the alleged inherent element is not necessarily present in the cited prior art.