DETAILED ACTION
Summary
This is a non-final office action for application 18/036,139 filed on 05/09/2023. Claims 1-12 are pending.
Priority
Acknowledgment is made of applicant’s claim for foreign priority under 35 U.S.C. 119 (a)-(d). The certified copy has been filed in parent Application No. PCT/IB2020/060624 filed on 11/11/2020.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 05/09/2023 is being considered by the examiner.
Specification
The abstract of the disclosure is objected to because it is over 150 words. A corrected abstract of the disclosure is required and must be presented on a separate sheet, apart from any other text. See MPEP § 608.01(b).
Applicant is reminded of the proper content of an abstract of the disclosure.
A patent abstract is a concise statement of the technical disclosure of the patent and should include that which is new in the art to which the invention pertains. The abstract should not refer to purported merits or speculative applications of the invention and should not compare the invention with the prior art.
If the patent is of a basic nature, the entire technical disclosure may be new in the art, and the abstract should be directed to the entire disclosure. If the patent is in the nature of an improvement in an old apparatus, process, product, or composition, the abstract should include the technical disclosure of the improvement. The abstract should also mention by way of example any preferred modifications or alternatives.
Where applicable, the abstract should include the following: (1) if a machine or apparatus, its organization and operation; (2) if an article, its method of making; (3) if a chemical compound, its identity and use; (4) if a mixture, its ingredients; (5) if a process, the steps.
Extensive mechanical and design details of an apparatus should not be included in the abstract. The abstract should be in narrative form and generally limited to a single paragraph within the range of 50 to 150 words in length.
See MPEP § 608.01(b) for guidelines for the preparation of patent abstracts.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Weilong (CN 209896182 U).
Regarding Claim 1, Weilong discloses a steam generator of a solid oxide fuel cell system (see e.g. "a steam generator of a solid oxide fuel cell system" in paragraph [2] on page 2 and FIG. 1), comprising:
a water inlet pipe (see e.g. "water inlet pipe 1" in paragraph [9] on page 3 and part number 1 in FIG. 1);
a casing (see e.g. "a housing 2" in paragraph [9] on page 3 and part number 2 in FIG. 1); and
a heat exchange device arranged in the casing (see e.g. "a heat exchanging device 3 disposed in the housing 2" in paragraph [9] on page 3 and part number 3 in FIG. 1);
wherein:
a heat exchange cavity is formed between the outer wall of the heat exchange device and the inner wall of the casing (see e.g. "a heat exchanging cavity 4 is formed between an outer wall of the heat exchanging device 3 and an inner
wall of the housing 2" in paragraph [9] on page 3 and part number 4 in FIG. 1);
the water inlet pipe communicates with the heat exchange cavity and is used for inputting liquid water into the heat exchange cavity (see e.g. "the water inlet pipe 1 is communicated with the heat exchanging cavity 4, liquid water can enter the heat exchanging cavity 4 from the water inlet pipe 1" in paragraph [9] on page 3); and
the liquid water can exchange heat with the heat exchange device in the heat exchange cavity and form steam (see e.g. "forms water vapor after exchanging heat with the heat exchanging device 3" in paragraph [9] on page 3); and
wherein:
the casing is further provided with a steam exhaust port for exhausting steam in the heat exchange cavity to a reforming device (see e.g. "the shell 2 is further provided with a steam outlet 21 for discharging steam in the heat exchange chamber 4 to the reformer" in paragraph [9] on page 3); and
a steam-water separation grid is arranged on the top wall of a side of the water inlet pipe facing the casing (see e.g. "A steam-water separation grid 11 is arranged on the top wall of one side of the water inlet pipe 1 facing the heat exchange cavity 4" in paragraph [11] on page 3 and part number 11 in FIG. 1).
Regarding Claim 2, Weilong discloses the steam generator according to claim 1 (see e.g. claim 1 rejection above).
Weilong further discloses a water tank (see e.g. "the water vapor generating device further includes a water tank 5" in paragraph [13] on page 3 and part number 5 in FIG. 1); and
a circulating steam pipe (see e.g. "a circulation steam pipe 6" in paragraph [13] on page 3 and part number 6 in FIG. 1),
wherein the water tank is configured to supply water to the water inlet pipe (see e.g. "the water tank 5 is used for supplying water to the water inlet pipe 1" in paragraph [13] on page 3), and the circulating steam pipe is connected between the water tank and the steam-water separation grid (see e.g. "the circulation steam pipe 6 is connected between the water tank 5 and the steam-water separation grille 11" in paragraph [13] on page 3 and part number 6 in FIG. 1). Regarding Claim 3, Weilong discloses the steam generator according to claim 2 (see e.g. claim 2 rejection above).
Weilong further discloses a first temperature sensor and an on-off valve (see e.g. "the steam generating device further includes a first temperature sensor 14 and an on-off valve 6" in paragraph [14] on page 3), wherein:
the first temperature sensor is arranged on a side of the water inlet pipe facing the casing (see e.g. "the first
temperature sensor 14 is disposed on one side of the water inlet pipe 1 facing the casing 2" in paragraph [14] on page 3); and
the on-off valve is arranged on the circulating steam pipe (see e.g. "the on-off valve 61 is disposed on the circulation steam pipe 6" in paragraph [14] on page 3) and is configured to open when the temperature detected by the first temperature sensor reaches a preset temperature value (see e.g. "when the temperature detected by the first temperature sensor 14 reaches a preset temperature value, steam can be formed in the water inlet pipe 1, and at this time, the on-off valve 61 is opened, so that the steam formed in the water inlet pipe 1 is discharged into the water tank 5 through the steam-water separation grid 11 and the circulation steam pipe 6; " in paragraph [14] on page 3), and close when the temperature detected by the first temperature sensor is lower than the preset temperature value (see e.g. "when the temperature detected by the first temperature sensor 14 is lower than the preset temperature value, the liquid water in the water inlet pipe 1 does not generate steam, and at the moment, the on-off valve 61 is closed, so that the liquid water can be prevented from flowing out along the steam-water separation grid" in paragraph [14] on page 3). Regarding Claim 4, Weilong discloses the steam generator according to claim 1 (see e.g. claim 1 rejection above).
Weilong further discloses that the side wall of the water inlet pipe is further provided with a thermal insulating layer (see e.g. "the heat insulating layer is a heat insulating cavity arranged on the outer wall of the water inlet pipe" in paragraph [7] on page 2 and part number 12 in FIG. 1).
Regarding Claim 5, Weilong discloses the steam generator according to claim 4 (see e.g. claim 4 rejection above).
Weilong further discloses the thickness of the thermal insulating layer is 0.2 mm (see e.g. “the thickness of the thermal insulation layer 12 is not required, and is set to be 0.2mm as in the present embodiment” in paragraph [56] on page 7).
Weilong discloses a specific point within the range claimed by the instant application, thereby anticipating the claimed ranges. In the case where the prior art teaches a point within the claimed range, the claim is anticipated. See MPEP 2131.03 (I).
Regarding Claim 6, Weilong discloses the steam generator according to claim 5 (see e.g. claim 5 rejection above).
Weilong further discloses the thickness of the thermal insulating layer is 0.2 mm (see e.g. “the thickness of the thermal insulation layer 12 is not required, and is set to be 0.2mm as in the present embodiment” in paragraph [56] on page 7).
Weilong discloses a specific point within the range claimed by the instant application, thereby anticipating the claimed ranges. In the case where the prior art teaches a point within the claimed range, the claim is anticipated. See MPEP 2131.03 (I).
Regarding Claim 7, Weilong discloses the steam generator according to claim 4 (see e.g. claim 4 rejection above).
Weilong further discloses that the thermal insulating layer is a thermal insulating cavity arranged on the outer wall of the water inlet pipe and filled with air, argon or carbon dioxide (see e.g. "the heat insulating layer is a heat insulating cavity arranged on the outer wall of the water inlet pipe, and the heat insulating cavity is filled with air, argon or carbon dioxide" in paragraph [7] on page 2).
Regarding Claim 8, Weilong discloses the steam generator according to claim 1 (see e.g. claim 1 rejection above).
Weilong further discloses that the water inlet pipe is further provided with a regulating valve, and the steam exhaust port is further provided with a pressure sensor and a second temperature sensor (see e.g. " the water inlet pipe is further provided with a regulating valve, and the water vapor outlet is further provided with a pressure sensor and a second temperature sensor" in paragraph [32] on page 5).
Regarding Claim 9, Weilong discloses the steam generator according to claim 1 (see e.g. claim 1 rejection above).
Weilong further discloses that the steam generator further comprises a water drop device arranged inside the heat exchange cavity, and wherein the water drop device comprises a plurality of water droppers and communicates with the water inlet pipe (see e.g. "still including locating the water droplet device of heat transfer intracavity, the water droplet device with the inlet tube intercommunication, just the water droplet device includes a plurality of drippers" in paragraph [33] on page 5).
Regarding Claim 10, Weilong discloses the steam generator according to claim 9 (see e.g. claim 9 rejection above).
Weilong further discloses that the water droppers are located at the same height and are evenly spaced (see e.g. "the drippers are the same in height and are evenly spaced" in paragraph [34] on page 5).
Regarding Claim 11, Weilong discloses the steam generator according to claim 9 (see e.g. claim 9 rejection above).
Weilong further discloses one end of the water inlet pipe in communication with the water drop device is provided with a conical structure, wherein the smaller end of the conical structure is connected to the water drop device (see e.g. "one end of the water inlet pipe communicated with the water drop device is provided with a conical structure, and the small diameter end of the conical structure is connected with the water drop device." in paragraph [35] on page 5).
Regarding Claim 12, Weilong discloses a solid oxide fuel cell system (see e.g. "a solid oxide fuel cell system" in paragraph [36] on page 5), comprising a reforming device and the steam generator (see e.g. "it includes reforming unit and the steam generator of last" in paragraph [36] on page 5) according to claim 1 (see e.g. claim 1 rejection above).
Claims 1, 4 and 9-12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Ballard et al. (GB-201912346-D0), US-20220316698-A1 is being used as equivalent translation and referenced below.
Regarding Claim 1, Ballard discloses a steam generator of a solid oxide fuel cell system (see e.g. "a steam generator for a fuel cell system" in paragraph [0006] and FIGs. 2 and 5a), comprising:
a water inlet pipe (see e.g. "water inflow pipe 46" in paragraph [0134] and part number 46 in FIGs. 2 and 5a);
a casing (see e.g. "the outside wall of the heat exchanger portion 34" in paragraph [0151] and outer casing portion of part number 34 in FIG. 2); and
a heat exchange device arranged in the casing (see e.g. "heat exchanger 34" in paragraph [0135] and part number 34 in FIGs. 2 and 5a);
wherein:
a heat exchange cavity is formed between the outer wall of the heat exchange device and the inner wall of the casing (see e.g. annotated figure below);
the water inlet pipe communicates with the heat exchange cavity and is used for inputting liquid water into the heat exchange cavity (see e.g. "inflowing water 28 can feed from a water supply through the internal channel 58 of the water inflow pipe 46 through to the outlet holes in the dripper head 52 and out onto the plates 50" in paragraph [0143]; the plates 50 are of the outer wall of the heat exchange device and form the heat exchange cavity); and
the liquid water can exchange heat with the heat exchange device in the heat exchange cavity and form steam (see e.g. "As the plates 50 are hot, upon landing on the plates 50 the water will start to heat up and evaporate to form steam" in paragraph[0143]); and
wherein:
the casing is further provided with a steam exhaust port for exhausting steam in the heat exchange cavity to a reforming device (see e.g. " the steam (and any liquid water) will entrain down through the heat exchanger portion 34 towards the heated steam and fuel gas outflow port 42" in paragraph [0143] and part number 42 in FIG. 2); and
a steam-water separation grid is arranged on the top wall of a side of the water inlet pipe facing the casing (see e.g. " T-manifold 64" in paragraph [0152] and part number 64 in FIG. 5a).
(Ballard, figure 5a, annotated for illustration)
Regarding Claim 4, Ballard discloses the steam generator according to claim 1 (see e.g. claim 1 rejection above).
Ballard further discloses that the side wall of the water inlet pipe is further provided with a thermal insulating layer (see e.g. part number 26 in FIG. 5a and "the fuel inflow pipe's section, and the fuel therein during use, acts to insulate the surrounded part of the water inflow pipe from the heat of the heat exchanger." in paragraph [0073]).
Regarding Claim 9, Ballard discloses the steam generator according to claim 1 (see e.g. claim 1 rejection above).
Ballard further discloses that the steam generator further comprises a water drop device arranged inside the heat exchange cavity, and wherein the water drop device comprises a plurality of water droppers and communicates with the water inlet pipe (see e.g. "a dripper head comprising a flow passageway fluidly connected to the water inflow pipe, which dripper head extends inside the heat exchanger above the heat exchange surface for feeding water down onto the heat exchange surface for conversion into steam;" in paragraph [0006] and FIGs 8a-8c).
Regarding Claim 10, Ballard discloses the steam generator according to claim 9 (see e.g. claim 9 rejection above).
Ballard further discloses that the water droppers are located at the same height and are evenly spaced (see e.g. FIGs. 8a-8c; the water droppers are at the same height and spaced evenly in each version of the water drop device).
Regarding Claim 11, Ballard discloses the steam generator according to claim 9 (see e.g. claim 9 rejection above).
Ballard further discloses that one end of the water inlet pipe in communication with the water drop device is provided with a conical structure, wherein the smaller end of the conical structure is connected to the water drop device (see e.g. annotated figure below).
(Ballard, figure 8b, annotated for illustration)
Regarding Claim 12, Ballard discloses a solid oxide fuel cell system (see e.g. "fuel cell system 10" in paragraph [0123] and FIG. 1) comprising a reforming device (see e.g. "reformer 24" in paragraph [0126] and part number 24 in FIG. 1) and the steam generator (see e.g. part number 22 in FIG. 1) according to claim 1 (see e.g. claim 1 rejection above).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 2-3 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ballard et al. (GB-201912346-D0), US-20220316698-A1 is being used as equivalent translation and referenced below as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Tamura et al. (US-20090291337-A1).
Regarding Claim 2, Ballard discloses the steam generator according to claim 1 (see e.g. claim 1 rejection above).
Ballard does not disclose that that the steam generator further comprises a water tank; and a circulating steam pipe, wherein the water tank is configured to supply water to the water inlet pipe, and the circulating steam pipe is connected between the water tank and the steam-water separation grid.
Tamura, however, in the same field of endeavor, steam generators for solid oxide fuel cell systems, discloses a steam generator (see e.g. FIG. 1(a) of Tamura) comprising:
a water tank (see e.g. "the second water tank 4" in paragraph [0080] and part number 4 in FIG. 1(a) of Tamura); and
a circulating steam pipe (see e.g. "the second water pathway 7" in paragraph [0080] and part number 7 in FIGs. 1(a) and 5 of Tamura),
wherein the water tank is configured to supply water to the water inlet pipe (see e.g. " a first water pathway 5" in paragraph [0080] and part number 5 in FIGs. 1(a) and 6), and the circulating steam pipe is connected between the water tank and the steam-water separation grid (see e.g. part number 7 in FIGs. 1(a) and 5 of Tamura; part number 7 is the circulating steam pipe, part number 4 is the water tank and part numbers 1c, 22, 66, 3 and 2a are the steam-water separation grid where water and steam are separated, condensed and recycled into the water tank which feeds water into the water inlet pipe of the steam generator).
Tamura also teaches that this configuration is desirable as it reliably supplies water to the reformed while not trapping is within the pump allowing for stable generation of hydrogen gas in the reformed and a safer process (see e.g. paragraph [0021] of Tamura). Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the steam generator of Ballard et al. such that it includes a water tank and a circulating steam pipe wherein the water tank is configured to supply water to the water inlet pipe, and the circulating steam pipe is connected between the water tank and the steam-water separation grid as taught by Tamura et al. such that water can reliably be supplied to the reformer and process safety can be improved as suggested by Tamura.
Regarding Claim 3, Ballard in view of Tamura discloses the steam generator according to claim 2 (see e.g. claim 2 rejection above).
Ballard does not disclose that the steam generator further comprises a first temperature sensor and an on-off valve, wherein: the first temperature sensor is arranged on a side of the water inlet pipe facing the casing; and the on-off valve is arranged on the circulating steam pipe and is configured to open when the temperature detected by the first temperature sensor reaches a preset temperature value, and close when the temperature detected by the first temperature sensor is lower than the preset temperature value.
Tamura, however, discloses a first temperature sensor (see e.g. " temperature sensor 13" in paragraph [0136] and part number 13 in FIG. 5 of Tamura) and an on-off valve (see e.g. "second flow rate controller 10" in paragraph [0136] and part number 10 in FIG. 5), wherein:
the first temperature sensor is arranged on a side of the water inlet pipe facing the casing (see e.g. "a temperature sensor 13 which detects external temperature is provided at a location which is outside the housing 85 of the fuel cell system" in paragraph [0132] and part number 13 in FIG. 5; the specific placement of the temperature sensor relative to the water inlet pipe would have been an obvious matter of design choice, since Tamura teaches detecting ambient/external temperature for freeze prevention, and Ballard’s water inlet pipe and casing are exposed to ambient conditions, placing the temperature sensor on a side of the water inlet pipe facing the casing would have predictably achieved the same result); and
the on-off valve is arranged on the circulating steam pipe (see e.g. "second flow rate controller" in paragraph [0136] and part number 10 in FIG. 5; part number 10 if a part of the circulating steam pipe part number 7 in FIG. 5) and is configured to close when the temperature detected by the first temperature sensor is lower than the preset temperature value (see e.g. "The temperature sensor 13 detects temperature and outputs a signal to the controller 9 as necessary. The controller 9 compares the temperature value indicated by the signal obtained from the temperature sensor 13 with a predetermined value having been set beforehand; in the case that the temperature value becomes equal to or less than the predetermined value... closes the second flow rate controller 10 to allow water to flow to only the first water tank 2" in paragraph [0136] of Tamura).
Tamura does not explicitly disclose that the on-off valve is configured to open when the temperature detected by the first temperature sensor reaches a preset temperature value, however, a person of ordinary skill in the art would have understood that an on-off valve controlled based on comparison with a preset temperature necessarily operates in a binary manner, i.e., closed below the preset temperature and open at or above the preset temperature.
Tamura also teaches that this allows for heated hot water to circulate through the system so that the water within the water tank, water inlet pipe and circulating steam pipe will not freeze if the external temperature lowers (see e.g. paragraph [0138] of Tamura). Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the steam generator of Ballard et al. such that it comprises a first temperature sensor and an on-off valve, wherein the temperature of the temperature sensor controls whether the on-off valve is open or closed as taught by Tamura et al. in order to prevent freezing within the system if the external temperature lowers as suggested by Tamura.
Claims 5-7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ballard et al. (GB-201912346-D0), US-20220316698-A1 is being used as equivalent translation and referenced below as applied to claims 4 above, and further in view of Villatte (US-6145547-A).
Regarding Claim 5, Ballard discloses the steam generator according to claim 4 (see e.g. claim 4 rejection above).
Ballard is silent as to the thickness of the thermal insulating layer and thus does not disclose that the thickness of the thermal insulating layer is 0.1 to 0.5 mm.
Villatte, however, in the same field of endeavor, piping for industrial applications, discloses a pipe with a thermal insulating layer (see e.g. "a pipe is characterized in that, in a sealed annular space, located between an inner tube and an outer tube both coaxially arranged inside each other" in Abstract of Villatte) the thickness of the thermal insulating layer is 0.2 mm (see e.g. " it would be wiser to use a polyethylene foil of 0.2 mm in thickness adhesively sealed along a generating line of the pipe" in Column 7 lines 43-44 of Villatte).
Villatte discloses a point that lies within the range claimed by the instant application. In the case where the prior art discloses a point within the claimed range, a prima facie case of obviousness exists. See MPEP 2144.05 (I).
Villatte also teaches that the use of a foil of this thickness as an insulating layer has the benefit of efficiently coupling an insulating outer tube to an inner tube in terms of mechanical vibration (see e.g. Column 7 lines 45-47 of Villatte). Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the thermal insulating layer of Ballard et al. such that it is 0.2 mm thick as taught by Villatte in order to better couple the pipe to an outer pipe as suggested by Villatte.
Regarding Claim 6, Ballard discloses the steam generator according to claim 5 (see e.g. claim 5 rejection above).
Ballard is silent as to the thickness of the thermal insulating layer and thus does not disclose that the thickness of the thermal insulating layer is 0.15 to 0.45 mm.
Villatte, however, discloses a pipe with a thermal insulating layer (see e.g. "a pipe is characterized in that, in a sealed annular space, located between an inner tube and an outer tube both coaxially arranged inside each other" in Abstract of Villatte) the thickness of the thermal insulating layer is 0.2 mm (see e.g. " it would be wiser to use a polyethylene foil of 0.2 mm in thickness adhesively sealed along a generating line of the pipe" in Column 7 lines 43-44 of Villatte).
Villatte discloses a point that lies within the range claimed by the instant application. In the case where the prior art discloses a point within the claimed range, a prima facie case of obviousness exists. See MPEP 2144.05 (I).
Villatte also teaches that the use of a foil of this thickness as an insulating layer has the benefit of efficiently coupling an insulating outer tube to an inner tube in terms of mechanical vibration (see e.g. Column 7 lines 45-47 of Villatte). Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the thermal insulating layer of Ballard et al. such that it is 0.2 mm thick as taught by Villatte in order to better couple the pipe to an outer pipe as suggested by Villatte.
Regarding Claim 7, Ballard in view of Villatte discloses the steam generator according to claim 4 (see e.g. claim 4 rejection above).
Ballard does not disclose that the thermal insulating layer is a thermal insulating cavity arranged on the outer wall of the water inlet pipe and filled with air, argon or carbon dioxide.
Villatte, however, discloses that the thermal insulating layer is a thermal insulating cavity arranged on the outer wall of the water inlet pipe and filled with air and/or argon (see e.g. "In both cases, air which is to fill the annular space, including the pores of microporous material, can be substituted by some other gas, such as an inert gas like argon" in Column 8 lines 64-66 of Villatte).
Villatte also teaches that this further improves the desired qualitative characteristics when using the same structural components and measures (see e.g. Column 8 lines 64-68 and Column 9 lines 1-2 of Villatte). Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the thermal insulating layer of Ballard et al. such that the thermal insulating layer has a thermal insulating cavity arranged on the outer wall of the water inlet pipe and is filled with air and/or argon as taught by Villatte in order to improve desired qualitative characteristics as suggested by Villatte.
Claim 8 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ballard et al. (GB-201912346-D0), US-20220316698-A1 is being used as equivalent translation and referenced below as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Takashi et al. (JP H09-56588 A).
Regarding Claim 8, Ballard discloses the steam generator according to claim 1 (see e.g. claim 1 rejection above).
Ballard does not disclose that the water inlet pipe is further provided with a regulating valve, and the steam exhaust port is further provided with a pressure sensor and a second temperature sensor.
Takashi, however, in the same field of endeavor, steam generators, discloses a steam generator (see e.g. FIG. 1 of Takashi) that comprises a water inlet pipe (see e.g. "clean water pipe 27" in paragraph [90] on page 7 of Takashi and part number 27 in FIG. 1) that is further provided with a regulating valve (see e.g. "An electromagnetic water supply valve 28" in paragraph [90] on page 7 of Takashi), and a steam exhaust port (see e.g. "generate steam 2" in paragraph [15] on page 3 and part number 2 in FIG. 1) is further provided with a pressure sensor (see e.g. "A pressure sensor 25 is provided to detect the vapor pressure inside. When the pressure sensor 25 is provided in the middle of the steam communication pipe 23 as described above." in paragraph [81] on page 7 and part number 25 in FIG. 1 of Takashi) and a second temperature sensor (see e.g. "A temperature sensor 36 for detecting that the overpressure steam has been blown is provided at the steam outlet of the overpressure relief valve 35." in paragraph [83] on page 7 and part number 36 in FIG. 1 of Takashi).
Takashi also teaches that this configuration of sensors and valves is used to prevent an unexpected accident and improve the safety of the steam generating device (see e.g. paragraph [162] on page 11 of Takashi). Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the steam generator of Ballard et al. such that the water inlet pipe is provided with a regulating valve, and the steam exhaust port is provided with a pressure sensor and a second temperature sensor as taught by Takashi et al. in order to improve the safety of the steam generator and prevent an unexpected accident as suggested by Takashi.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's
disclosure:
Motokata et al. (JP 2004-307292 A)
/J.J.E./Examiner, Art Unit 1723
/TONG GUO/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1723