DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 4-15, & 17-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wu et al. (US 20180277591) in view of Hsieh (US 20190348588).
Regarding claim 1, Wu discloses that a display device, comprising:
a wiring substrate 210 (Fig. 1B);
wiring electrodes (para. 0030, note: “is electrically connected to the backpanel 210”, therefore wiring electrode are expected), at least a part of which is disposed on the wiring substrate;
light emitting devices 100BGR connected electrically to related wiring electrodes (Fig. 1B), respectively, among the wiring electrodes; and
adhesive patterns 230 & 240 having adhesive property for bonding the wiring electrodes and the light emitting devices and transfer property required to transfer the light emitting devices to the wiring electrodes, wherein the adhesive patterns are formed respectively for a plurality of bonding pairs including a wiring electrode and a light emitting device connected electrically among the wiring electrodes and the light emitting devices and are spaced apart (Fig. 1A, note: element 240 is separated from other element 240 in Fig. 1A), and wherein a number of the plurality of bonding pairs included in one of the adhesive patterns 240 & 230 is configured to vary in correspondence to a color implementation structure of the light emitting devices BGR.
Wu fail to teach that the adhesive patterns are patterned such that a first light emitting device to be transferred to the wiring electrodes and a second light emitting device not to be transferred at a specific time are included in different adhesive patterns.
However, Hsieh suggests that a first light emitting device to be transferred to the wiring electrodes and a second light emitting device not to be transferred at a specific time are (Fig. 3A-2C).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before effective filing date of applicant(s) claimed invention was made to provide Wu with a first light emitting device to be transferred to the wiring electrodes and a second light emitting device not to be transferred at a specific time are as taught by Lee in order to enhance arrangement of pixel with LEDs and also, the claim would have been obvious because a particular know technique was recognized as part of the ordinary capabilities of one skilled in the art.
The combination of Wu in view of Lee disclose that the adhesive patterns 240 are patterned (Wu’s Fig. 1A) such that a first light emitting device to be transferred to the wiring electrodes SP1 or SP3 and a second light emitting device not to be transferred at a specific time are included in different adhesive patterns (Wu’s Fig. 1A, note: another different adhesive pattern 240).
Reclaim 4, Wu & Hsieh disclose that each of the adhesive patterns is formed to integrally surround the plurality of bonding pairs included in each of the adhesive patterns (Wu in view of Hsieh).
Reclaim 5, Wu & Hsieh disclose that each of the adhesive patterns 230 (Wu, para. 0030) is formed of a non-conductive paste (NCP) phase-changeable to a semi-solid state.
Reclaim 6, Wu & Hsieh disclose that the NCP includes an ultraviolet (UV) B-stage composition and a thermosetting composition (Hsieh, para. 0036).
Reclaim 7, Wu & Hsieh fails to specify that content of the UV B-stage composition in the NCP is 20% to 50%.
However, notwithstanding, one of ordinary skill in the art would have been led to the recited dimensions through routine experimentation and optimization.
Before effective filing date of the invention it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to use a certain UV b-stage composition in NCP, because it would have been to obtain a certain UV b-stage composition in NCP to achieve controlling reaction along with UV.
Reclaim 8, Wu & Hsieh fail to specify that the NCP has a viscosity of 10,000 to 100,000 centipoise (cps).
However, notwithstanding, one of ordinary skill in the art would have been led to the recited dimensions through routine experimentation and optimization.
Before effective filing date of the invention it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to use a certain viscosity of the NCP, because it would have been to obtain a certain viscosity of the in NCP to achieve controlling extentability of the NCP.
Reclaim 9, Wu & Hsieh disclose that the NCP includes at least one of acrylate or epoxy acrylate (Wu in view of Hsieh).
Reclaim 10, Wu & Hsieh disclose that an adhesive pattern among the adhesive patterns related to bonding pairs constituting one pixel among the plurality of bonding pairs has a constant curvature (Wu in view of Hsieh).
Reclaim 11, Wu & Hsieh disclose that the wiring electrodes include first wiring electrodes and second wiring electrodes electrically connected to related device electrodes, respectively, among first device electrodes and second device electrodes of the light emitting devices; and wherein all of the first wiring electrodes and the second wiring electrodes are formed on one surface of the wiring substrate (Wu in view of Hsieh).
Reclaim 12, Wu & Hsieh disclose that the wiring electrodes include first wiring electrodes and second wiring electrodes electrically connected to related device electrodes, respectively, among first device electrodes and second device electrodes of the light emitting devices, and wherein the first wiring electrodes are formed on one surface of the wiring substrate and the second wiring electrodes are formed facing the first wiring electrodes with the light emitting devices interposed between the first wiring electrodes and the second wiring electrodes (Wu in view of Hsieh).
Reclaim 13, Wu & Hsieh disclose that each of the light emitting devices includes a micro-light emitting device (LED) (Wu in view of Hsieh).
Regarding claim 14, Wu & Hsieh disclose that a method of manufacturing a display device, the method comprising:
growing light emitting devices SP1-Sp3 on a growth substrate (Wu, Fig. 1A-B);
forming at least a part of wiring electrodes on a wiring substrate (Wu, para. 0030, note: “is electrically connected to the backpanel 210”, therefore wiring electrode are expected);
patterning adhesive patterns 230 & 240 spaced apart from each other and having adhesive property for bonding the wiring electrodes and the light emitting devices and transfer property required to transfer the light emitting devices to the wiring electrode (Wu, Fig. 1A-1B); and
transferring the light emitting devices to the wiring electrodes so that a plurality of bonding pairs each including a related wiring electrode and a related light emitting device among the wiring electrodes and the light emitting devices are bonded through the adhesive patterns (Wu, Fig. 1A-1B), wherein the patterning of the adhesive patterns includes: patterning the adhesive patterns such that a first light emitting device to be transferred to the wiring electrodes (Wu, Fig 1A-B) and a second light emitting device not to be transferred at a specific time are allocated to different adhesive patterns (Hsieh, Fig. 5A-5G), and wherein a number of the plurality of bonding pairs included in one of the adhesive patterns is configured to vary in correspondence to a color implementation structure of the light emitting devices (Wu, Fig. 1A-B, RGB).
Reclaim 15, Wu & Hsieh disclose that the patterning the adhesive patterns 230 & 240 includes performing patterning by dispensing, pattern-printing, or inkjet-printing an adhesive material on the wiring substrate (Wu, Fig. 1A-1B).
Reclaim 17, Wu & Hsieh disclose that phase-changing the adhesive patterns to a semi-solid state at the same time as the transferring the light emitting devices to the wiring electrodes or immediately after the transferring the light emitting devices to the wiring electrodes (Wu, Fig. 1A-1B).
Reclaim 18, Wu & Hsieh disclose that the phase-changing the adhesive patterns to the semi-solid state includes an ultraviolet (UV) B-stage (Wu, Fig. 1A-1B).
Reclaim 19, Wu & Hsieh disclose that performing laser lift-off (LLO) on the growth substrate after the phase-changing the adhesive patterns to the semi-solid state (Wu, Fig. 1A-1B).
Reclaim 20, Wu & Hsieh disclose that repeating the transferring the light emitting devices to the wiring electrodes to complete transfer for each pixel; and simultaneously thermally compressing and bonding the light emitting devices of the each pixel after completing the transferring the each pixel (Wu, Fig. 1A-1B).
Conclusion
/SU C KIM/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2899