Response to Amendment
• Examiner acknowledges receipt of Applicant's amendment filed 11/13/2025.
• In the amendment, Applicant amended claims 1-6, 8, 10, 12-19, and 25
• Claims 1-19 and 25 are currently pending.
Response to Argument(s)
Applicant's arguments filed on 11/13/2025 on page 12-13 have been fully considered.
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims 1 and 14 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-4, 9, 11-18, and 25 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Xu et al. (US 20230239748 A1, hereinafter, Xu) in view of Kung et al. (US 20220085862), hereinafter, Kung).
Regarding Claim 1, Xu discloses, a method of operating a communication device (Fig 15, Wireless Device, 1502) configured with a plurality of physical cell identifiers ("PCIs") (Fig. 17, see also, "...The wireless device may handover from the serving cell with PCI0 to the first neighbor cell with PCI1. In an example, the wireless device may handover from the first base station to the second base station..."[¶0221]), for a mobility procedure, a plurality of transmission configurations ("...After the wireless device finish the handover to the target base station, the wireless device may receive a downlink control information (DCI), from the target base station, indicating one or more transmission configuration indication (TCI) states for downlink reception(s) from the target base station and/or uplink transmission(s) to the target base station..."[¶ 0228]), and one or more cells, each cell operating in a same serving frequency and each cell associated with one or more PCIs ("...The first base station may receive, via the serving cell and with a reception beam, the first uplink signals from the wireless device. The serving cell may have a first neighbor cell with PCI1 and a second neighbor cell with PCI2. The first neighbor cell may correspond to a second base station..." [¶0221]), the method comprising:
receiving an indication of a transmission configuration to be activated, from the plurality of transmission configurations, that is associated with a non-serving cell or a non-serving PCI, from a network node ("...The MAC CE may activate one or more TCI states of a neighbor cell (or target cell, or non-serving cell). The MAC CE may activate one or more TCI states comprising (or associated with) a neighbor cell ID (or target cell ID, or non-serving cell ID). The wireless device may receive the MAC CE activating multiple TCI states comprising (or associated with) a neighbor cell ID (or target cell ID, or non-serving cell ID) ..."[¶0252]); and
Xu, doesn’t explicitly teach, determining to perform a medium access control, ("MAC") reset operation based on the transmission configuration to be activated.
Kung, in related art relates, determining to perform a medium access control, ("MAC") reset operation based on the transmission configuration to be activated ("a. Identify and specify features to facilitate more efficient (lower latency and overhead) DL/UL beam management to support higher intra- and L1/L2-centric inter-cell mobility and/or a larger number of configured TCI states." [¶0048], see also, "...the UE may set counters of multiple counters of a cell (e.g., all counters of the multiple counters of the cell) to zero in response to deactivation of the cell. The multiple counters may comprise counters that the UE maintains for at least one of TRPs, BFR-DSs, activated TCI states for PDCCH, CORESET pools, etc. of the cell (e.g., the multiple counters may comprise all counters that the UE maintains for at least one of TRPs, BFR-DSs, activated TCI states for PDCCH, CORESET pools, etc. of the cell). Alternatively and/or additionally, the UE may set counters of the multiple counters of the cell (e.g., all counters of the multiple counters of the cell) to zero in response to MAC reset of the MAC entity associated with the cell." [¶0386]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to combine the idea of Xu with the idea of resetting MAC based on TCI to be activated as disclosed by Kung. The rationale for a MAC reset is to reinitializes the MAC layer, typically when there are significant changes in the radio environment or when switching between cells during handoff.
Regarding Claim 2, combination of Xu and Kung disclose the method of Claim 1.
Xu also teaches, further comprising: receiving the plurality of transmission configurations, which include a plurality of transmission configuration indicator (“TCI”) state configurations for a respective plurality of TCI states from the network node ("...the base station may determine, based on the reported measurement results, one or more transmission configuration indication (TCI) states comprising a number of reference signals. In an example, the base station may indicate one or more TCI states to the UE (e.g., via RRC signaling, a MAC CE, and/or a DCI). The UE may receive a downlink transmission with a receive (Rx) beam determined based on the one or more TCI states..." [¶0164]), and
wherein receiving the indication of the transmission configuration to be activated that is associated with the non-serving cell or the non-serving PCI comprises receiving an indication of a TCI state associated with a TCI state configuration of the plurality of TCI state configurations (Fig. 26A, see also "...The MAC CE may activate one or more TCI states of a neighbor cell (or target cell, or non-serving cell). The MAC CE may activate one or more TCI states comprising (or associated with) a neighbor cell ID (or target cell ID, or non-serving cell ID). The wireless device may receive the MAC CE activating multiple TCI states comprising (or associated with) a neighbor cell ID (or target cell ID, or non-serving cell ID) ..." [¶0252]).
Regarding Claim 3, combination of Xu and Kung disclose the method of Claim 1.
Xu also teaches, wherein the transmission configuration to be activated that is associated with the non-serving cell ("...The MAC CE may activate one or more TCI states of a neighbor cell (or target cell, or non-serving cell). The MAC CE may activate one or more TCI states comprising (or associated with) a neighbor cell ID (or target cell ID, or non-serving cell ID…” [¶0252]) or the non-serving PCI comprises an indication of a quasi-co-location (“QCL”), configuration.
Regarding Claim 4, combination of Xu and Kung disclose the method of Claim 1.
Xu further teaches, wherein the QCL configuration comprises a reference signal configuration including at least one of a synchronization signal block (“SSB”) index and a channel state information reference signal (“CSI-RS”) index ("The UE may assume that one or more SS/PBCH blocks transmitted with a same SS/PBCH block index are quasi co-located (QCLed) (e.g., having the same/similar Doppler spread, Doppler shift, average gain, average delay, and/or spatial Rx parameters)." [¶0144, see also, “...The UE may be configured to employ the same OFDM symbols for downlink CSI-RS and SS/PBCH blocks when the downlink CSI-RS and SS/PBCH blocks are spatially QCLed and resource elements associated with the downlink CSI-RS are outside of PRBs configured for the SS/PBCH blocks." [¶0150]).
Regarding Claim 9, combination of Xu and Kung disclose the method of Claim 1.
Xu also discloses, wherein the transmission configuration to be activated comprises a field indicating that the communication device perform the MAC reset, and wherein determining to perform the MAC reset operation comprises determining to perform the MAC reset operation based on the field ("...The second MAC CE may comprise a bit field indicating a CORESET pool ID. The second MAC CE may comprise a bit field indicating a serving cell ID. The second MAC CE may comprise a bit field indicating a BWP ID. The second MAC CE may comprise a bit field T.sub.i. The T.sub.i may indicate the activation/deactivation status of TCI state with TCI-StateID i indicated by configuration parameters of the one or more RRC messages. In an example, the TCI state with TCI-StateID i may be activated and mapped to the codepoint of transmission configuration indication field of downlink control information in response to the T.sub.i being set to 1..." [¶0251]). Here bit field (=1) implies that TCI is activated and communication device need to perform MAC reset.
Regarding Claim 11, combination of Xu and Kung disclose the method of Claim 1.
Xu doesn’t explicitly disclose, the method further comprising: performing the MAC reset operation.
Kung, in related art discloses, the method further comprising: performing the MAC reset operation ("...Alternatively and/or additionally, the UE may set counters of the multiple counters of the cell (e.g., all counters of the multiple counters of the cell) to zero in response to MAC reset of the MAC entity associated with the cell."[0386]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to combine the idea of Xu with the idea of just resetting MAC as disclosed by Kung. The rationale for a MAC reset is to reinitializes the MAC layer, typically when there are significant changes in the radio environment or when switching between cells during handoff.
Regarding Claim 12, combination of Xu and Kung disclose the method of Claim 1.
Xu also discloses, wherein the mobility procedure is a Layer 1/Layer 2 (“L1/L2”) based inter-cell mobility ("In existing technologies, the wireless device may perform the handover from the source base station to the target base station via transmitting (or sending) a preamble of a random access procedure for the target base station, for example, for an inter-cell handover procedure..." [¶0225], see also, "...While in RRC connected 602, mobility of the UE may be managed by the RAN (e.g., the RAN 104 or the NG-RAN 154). The UE may measure the signal levels (e.g., reference signal levels) from a serving cell and neighboring cells and report these measurements to the base station currently serving the UE. The UE's serving base station may request a handover to a cell of one of the neighboring base stations based on the reported measurements...." [¶0103]).
Regarding Claim 13, combination of Xu and Kung disclose the method of Claim 12.
Xu also discloses, wherein the L1/L2 based inter-cell mobility comprises a MAC control element (“CE”) ("...The main signaling mechanism for the inter-cell handover in NR system is that the base station transmits the handover command (e.g., RRCReconfiguration message) triggering the handover procedure from the source base station to the target base station. Similarly, the wireless device may perform an intra-cell handover procedure from a first TRP (e.g., TRP0) to a second TRP (e.g., TRP1) based on an uplink timing adjustment indicated by the timing advance command MAC CE..." [¶0225]).
Regarding Claim 14, Xu teaches, a method of operating a network node (Fig 15, Base Station, 1504) in a communications network with a communication device that is configured with a plurality of physical cell identifiers (“PCIs”) (Fig. 17, see also, "...The wireless device may handover from the serving cell with PCI0 to the first neighbor cell with PCI1. In an example, the wireless device may handover from the first base station to the second base station..."[¶0221]), for a mobility procedure, a plurality of transmission configurations ("...After the wireless device finish the handover to the target base station, the wireless device may receive a downlink control information (DCI), from the target base station, indicating one or more transmission configuration indication (TCI) states for downlink reception(s) from the target base station and/or uplink transmission(s) to the target base station..."[¶0228]), and one or more cells, each cell operating in a same serving frequency and each cell associated with one or more PCIs ("...The first base station may receive, via the serving cell and with a reception beam, the first uplink signals from the wireless device. The serving cell may have a first neighbor cell with PCI1 and a second neighbor cell with PCI2. The first neighbor cell may correspond to a second base station..." [¶0221]), the method comprising:
transmitting an indication of a transmission configuration to be activated from the plurality of transmission configurations that is associated with a non-serving cell or a non-serving PCI to the communication device ("...The MAC CE may activate one or more TCI states of a neighbor cell (or target cell, or non-serving cell). The MAC CE may activate one or more TCI states comprising (or associated with) a neighbor cell ID (or target cell ID, or non-serving cell ID). The wireless device may receive the MAC CE activating multiple TCI states comprising (or associated with) a neighbor cell ID (or target cell ID, or non-serving cell ID) ..."[¶0252]); and
Xu, doesn’t explicitly disclose, transmitting an indication to the communication device to perform the MAC reset based on the transmission configuration to be activated.
Kung, in related art relates, transmitting an indication to the communication device to perform the MAC reset based on the transmission configuration to be activated ("...The one or more groups of activated TCI states for PDCCH (for which the UE maintains the one or more counters, for example) may be provided (to the UE, for example) and/or configured by a network (e.g., the UE may be configured with the one or more groups of activated TCI states for PDCCH by the network)...a first counter associated with a first group of activated TCI states for PDCCH of a cell (e.g., a first group of activated TCI states of the one or more activated TCI states for PDCCH) in response to (and/or when) receiving a beam failure instance indication associated with the first group of activated TCI states for PDCCH (e.g., the first counter may correspond to a counter, of the one or more counters, associated with the first group of activated TCI states for PDCCH)..." [0345], see also, "...the UE may set counters of multiple counters of a cell (e.g., all counters of the multiple counters of the cell) to zero in response to deactivation of the cell. The multiple counters may comprise counters that the UE maintains for at least one of TRPs, BFR-DSs, activated TCI states for PDCCH, CORESET pools, etc. of the cell (e.g., the multiple counters may comprise all counters that the UE maintains for at least one of TRPs, BFR-DSs, activated TCI states for PDCCH, CORESET pools, etc. of the cell). Alternatively and/or additionally, the UE may set counters of the multiple counters of the cell (e.g., all counters of the multiple counters of the cell) to zero in response to MAC reset of the MAC entity associated with the cell." [¶0386]).).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to combine the idea of Xu with the idea of resetting MAC based on TCI to be activated as disclosed by Kung. The rationale for a MAC reset is to reinitializes the MAC layer, typically when there are significant changes in the radio environment or when switching between cells during handoff.
Claim 14 is essentially same as Claim 1 except for Claim 14 is viewed from network device perspective, while Claim 1 is viewed from UE/ communication device perspective. Also, claim 1 has been rejected above. Applicant’s attention is directed to the rejection of claim 1. Claim 14 is rejected under the same rational as claim 1.
Regarding Claim 15, combination of Xu and Kung disclose the method of Claim 14.
Xu further teaches, further comprising: transmitting an indication of the plurality of transmission configurations to the communication device ("...The wireless device may receive one or more TCI state indication messages from the source base station (e.g., at time T8). The one or more TCI state indication messages may indicate one or more TCI states. The one or more TCI states may comprise a target cell ID (or a non-serving cell ID or a neighbor cell ID) ..." [¶0241]). Here the network node (base station) is transmitting and received by the UE (wireless device).
Regarding Claim 16, combination of Xu and Kung disclose the method of Claim 14.
Xu also discloses, wherein the plurality of transmission configurations comprise a plurality of transmission configuration indicator (“TCI”) state configurations for a respective plurality of TCI states ("...the base station may determine, based on the reported measurement results, one or more transmission configuration indication (TCI) states comprising a number of reference signals. In an example, the base station may indicate one or more TCI states to the UE (e.g., via RRC signaling, a MAC CE, and/or a DCI). The UE may receive a downlink transmission with a receive (Rx) beam determined based on the one or more TCI states..." [¶0164]), and
wherein transmitting the indication of the transmission configuration to be activated comprises transmitting an indication of a (“TCI”) state associated with a TCI state configuration of the plurality of TCI state configurations (Fig. 26A, see also "...The MAC CE may activate one or more TCI states of a neighbor cell (or target cell, or non-serving cell). The MAC CE may activate one or more TCI states comprising (or associated with) a neighbor cell ID (or target cell ID, or non-serving cell ID). The wireless device may receive the MAC CE activating multiple TCI states comprising (or associated with) a neighbor cell ID (or target cell ID, or non-serving cell ID) ..." [¶0252]).
Claim 16 is essentially same as Claim 2 except for Claim 16 is viewed from network device perspective, while Claim 2 is viewed from UE/ communication device perspective. Also, claim 2 has been rejected above. Applicant’s attention is directed to the rejection of claim 2. Claim 16 is rejected under the same rational as claim 2.
Regarding Claim 17, combination of Xu and Kung disclose the method of Claim 14.
Xu also discloses, wherein transmitting the indication of the transmission configuration to be activated that is associated with the non- serving cell or the non-serving PCI comprises transmitting an indication of a quasi-co-location (“QCL”) configuration ("FIG. 26A, …The one or more TCI state indication messages or the one or more second (2nd) TCI state indication messages may comprise a MAC CE and a first downlink control information (DCI). For example, the MAC CE may be the second MAC CE (e.g., in FIG. 25B). The MAC CE may activate one or more TCI states of a neighbor cell (or target cell, or non-serving cell). The MAC CE may activate one or more TCI states comprising (or associated with) a neighbor cell ID (or target cell ID, or non-serving cell ID)..." [¶0252], see also, "A wireless device may receive, via a serving cell, a first message indicating a plurality of transmission configuration indication (TCI) states of a non-serving cell..." [¶0255], see also, "Each of the plurality of TCI states may comprise a quasi co-located reference signal. The quasi co-located reference signal may comprise a channel state information reference signal (CSI-RS). The quasi co-located reference signal may comprise an SSB/PBCH block (SSB). The quasi co-located reference signal may comprise a sounding reference signal (SRS). The quasi co-located reference signal may comprise a demodulation reference signal (DMRS)… [¶0256]). Configuring an SSB from a non-serving cell as the source for QCL information for reference signals used in beam management (TRS, CSI-RS) and CSI acquisition.
Regarding Claim 18 is essentially same as Claim 4 except for Claim 18 is viewed from network device perspective, while Claim 4 is viewed from UE/ communication device perspective. Also, claim 4 has been rejected above. Applicant’s attention is directed to the rejection of claim 4. Claim 18 is rejected under the same rational as claim 4.
Regarding Claim 25 is essentially same as Claim 12 except for Claim 25 is viewed from network device perspective, while Claim 12 is viewed from UE/ communication device perspective. Also, claim 12 has been rejected above. Applicant’s attention is directed to the rejection of claim 12. Claim 25 is rejected under the same rational as claim 12.
Claims 5 and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Xu and Kung in view of Sharma et al. (US 20210329515 A1, hereinafter, Sharma).
Regarding Claim 5, combination of Xu and Kung disclose the method of Claim 1.
Combination of Xu and Kung don’t explicitly teach, wherein determining to perform the MAC reset operation based on the transmission configuration to be activated comprises determining to perform the MAC reset based on determining that layer 1 (“L1”) mobility occurred.
Sharma, in related art relates, wherein determining to perform the MAC reset operation based on the transmission configuration to be activated comprises determining to perform the MAC reset based on determining that layer 1, L1, mobility occurred ("Network controlled mobility applies to UEs in RRC CONNECTED and is categorized into two types of mobility: cell level mobility and beam level mobility. Cell level mobility requires explicit RRC signaling to be triggered, i.e., handover. A lot of signaling messages are exchanged during an intra gNB handover and/or an inter-gNB handover. The handover mechanism triggered by RRC requires the UE at least to reset the MAC entity and re-establish radio link control (RLC)..." [¶0018], see also, "...This decision can be taken based on beam level measurements at L1/L2 level where each cell reports the measurements for neighbour cell also and can perform inter cell beam mobility. When the NW wants to perform the inter cell beam mobility, the NW can indicate the L1/L2 signalling to perform the same and the UE based on existing configuration performs the handover procedure." [¶0181].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to combine the idea of Xu and Kung with the idea of performing MAC reset based on determining that layer 1 mobility occurred as disclosed by Sharma. The rationale for doing MAC resetting based on L1 mobility is "Using the present solution, a higher level of latency, efficiency, and throughput are achieved." [¶0186].
Regarding Claim 19, combination of Xu and Kung disclose the method of Claim 14.
Xu doesn’t explicitly teach, further comprising: determining that the communication device should perform the MAC reset operation based on the transmission configuration to be activated; and transmitting a configuration to the communication device indicating under which L1 mobility possibilities the communication device should perform a media access control (“MAC”) reset operation.
Sharma, in related art relate, further comprising: determining that the communication device should perform the MAC reset operation based on the transmission configuration to be activated; and
transmitting a configuration to the communication device indicating under which L1 mobility possibilities the communication device should perform a media access control (“MAC”) reset operation (occurred ("Network controlled mobility applies to UEs in RRC CONNECTED and is categorized into two types of mobility: cell level mobility and beam level mobility. Cell level mobility requires explicit RRC signaling to be triggered, i.e., handover. A lot of signaling messages are exchanged during an intra gNB handover and/or an inter-gNB handover. The handover mechanism triggered by RRC requires the UE at least to reset the MAC entity and re-establish radio link control (RLC)..." [¶0018], see also, "...This decision can be taken based on beam level measurements at L1/L2 level where each cell reports the measurements for neighbour cell also and can perform inter cell beam mobility. When the NW wants to perform the inter cell beam mobility, the NW can indicate the L1/L2 signalling to perform the same and the UE based on existing configuration performs the handover procedure." [¶0181].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to combine the idea of Xu and Kung with the idea of performing MAC reset based on determining that layer 1 mobility occurred as disclosed by Sharma. The rationale for doing MAC resetting based on L1 mobility is "Using the present solution, a higher level of latency, efficiency, and throughput are achieved." [¶0186].
Claims 6-8, and 10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Xu and Kung in view of Kwak et al. (US 20230144010 A1, hereinafter, Kwak).
Regarding Claim 6, combination of Xu and Kung disclose the method of Claim 1.
Combination of Xu and Kung don’t explicitly disclose, wherein determining to perform the MAC reset operation based on the transmission configuration to be activated comprises determining that the communication device has moved from a first beam associated with a first group identifier, ID, to a second beam associated with a second group (“ID”) that is different than the first group ID.
Kwak, in related art relates, wherein determining to perform the MAC reset operation based on the transmission configuration to be activated comprises determining that the communication device has moved from a first beam associated with a first group identifier, ID, to a second beam associated with a second group ID that is different than the first group ID ("...the first set of beam failure detection reference signals is associated with a first one or more transmission configuration indicator states associated with the first control resource set group; and the second set of beam failure detection reference signals is associated with a second one or more transmission configuration indicator states associated with the second control resource set group..." [Claim 7], see also, "The WTRU may support a BFR MAC CE to report the BFR and selected beams to a base station. The BFR MAC CE may indicate one or more of the SCells that are experiencing beam failure (e.g., one or more of the SCells on which a beam failure was detected by the WTRU). For the one or more SCells, the BFR MAC CE may report or indicate zero or more new candidate beams..." [¶0105]). Here, when the L1 MAC CE based mobility moves the communication device from the beam of one group to the beam of another group- MAC reset is performed.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to combine the idea of Xu and Kung with the idea of performing MAC reset based on UE moving from one group of beams to another group of beams as disclosed by Kwak. The rationale for detection of a change in the beam's group ID signals a transition that might require the MAC layer to be reset and potentially reconfigured to adapt to the new transmission environment and ensure continued connectivity.
Regarding Claim 7, combination of Xu, Kung and Kwak disclose the method of Claim 6.
Combination of Xu and Kung don’t explicitly disclose, wherein receiving the indication of the transmission configuration to be activated comprises receiving an indication of the second group ID.
Kwak, in related art relates, wherein receiving the indication of the transmission configuration to be activated comprises receiving an indication of the second group ID ("...In various embodiments, after reception of the SRS, a base station may determine the TRP corresponds to the failing beam-group and may indicate a new TCI state to the WTRU. For instance, when scheduling follows up downlink transmissions, the TCI state of the new downlink beam is indicated to the WTRU by a DCI, e.g., DCI Format 1-1 or 1-0. To monitor PDCCH, a WTRU may use a dedicated search space or CORSET, e.g., CORESET 0, for acquiring the new TCI state. If the measurements performed on the SRS indicates a new beam that its QCL information is not captured by any of the MAC CE activated states, a WTRU may receive and decode a new MAC prior to decoding the DCI." [¶0470]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to combine the idea of Xu and Kung with the idea of activating TCI when UE receive an indication of new beam-group ID as disclosed by Kwak. The rationale for using beam failure detection, TCI state management, and DCI signaling enables the 5G NR system to efficiently manage beam mobility and adapt to dynamic channel conditions, thus improving the overall user experience.
Regarding Claim 8, combination of Xu, Kung and Kwak disclose the method of Claim 6.
Xu also discloses, wherein radio resource control (“RRC”) configurations indicate a grouping of serving cell configurations and/or non-serving cell configurations among which layer 1 (“L1”) mobility may be performed ("...The wireless device may receive, from the source base station (or via the source cell or serving cell), an RRC message comprising configuration parameters indicating the association (e.g., RACH-ConfigDedicated). Each of the one or more second TCI states may be associated with the target cell identity (the target cell ID or the neighbor cell ID or non-serving cell ID). Each of the one or more second TCI states may comprise the target cell ID (or the neighbor cell ID or non-serving cell ID)..." [¶0236], see also, "...In response to the one or more second TCI state indication messages indicating the one or more second TCI states comprising the target cell ID (or the non-serving cell ID), the wireless device may transmit, via the target cell (the non-serving cell or to the target base station) and/or based on the uplink spatial domain transmission filter, an RRC reconfiguration complete message for the handover procedure from the source cell to the target cell." [¶0237], see also, "...the UE capabilities for different radio access technologies (RATs), and UE reported measurement information including beam-related information. The target base station may perform an admission control. The target base station may prepare the handover with layer 1 and/or layer 2 based on the necessary information..." [¶0240]).
Regarding Claim 10, combination of Xu and Kung disclose the method of Claim 1.
Combination of Xu and Kung don’t explicitly disclose, wherein determining to perform the MAC reset operation comprises: checking that a synchronization signal block (“SSB”) index or a channel state information reference signal (“CSI-RS”) index in the transmission configuration to be activated is associated with the non-serving cell or non-serving PCI; and
determining to perform the MAC reset operation based on the SSB index or the CSI-RS index.
Kwak, in related art relates, wherein determining to perform the MAC reset operation comprises: checking that a synchronization signal block, SSB, index or a channel state information reference signal, CSI-RS, index in the transmission configuration to be activated is associated with the non-serving cell or non-serving PCI ("...the first set of one or more cells may include one or more serving cells. In various embodiments, the second set of one or more cells may include one or more non-serving cells..." [¶0129], see also, "A WTRU may transmit and/or receive one or more signals (e.g., signals carrying physical channel information, SSBs, RSs, etc.) according to at least one spatial domain filter. A “beam” may be expressed as a spatial domain filter. The WTRU, for example, may receive RSs (e.g., CSI-RSs, SSBs, etc.) using a spatial domain filter and may transmit signals (physical channel information, RSs, etc.) using the same spatial domain filter. The WTRU transmission may be referred to as “target”, and the received RS(s) may be referred to as “reference” or “source” ..." [¶0130]); Here “target” is referred to as non-serving cell. and
determining to perform the MAC reset operation based on the SSB index or the CSI-RS index (“…In various embodiments, the second set of one or more cells may include one or more non-serving cells..." [¶0129]”. Here, the UE moves from serving cell to non-serving cell, SSB/CSI-RS get activated and MAC reset occurs.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to combine the idea of Xu and Kung with the idea of checking if SSB or CSI-RS being activated in the new configuration is tied to a non-serving cell as disclosed by Kwak. The rationale for MAC reset to occur when a new transmission configuration involves using synchronization and channel sounding signals from a cell different from the one the UE is currently connected to. This is a mechanism to ensure the UE properly re-establishes its connection with the non-serving cell.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/MUHAMMAD AINUL HUDA/Examiner, Art Unit 4126
/HASSAN A PHILLIPS/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2467