Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Response to Arguments
Examiner has fully considered Applicant's arguments, filed on 4/21/2026.
Applicant’s arguments (page 2) with respect to 35 USC 103 rejection of amended claim 1 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Applicant’s arguments (page 3) with respect to 35 USC 103 rejection of amended claim 14 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112 (b)
Claim 1, and 14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Last limitation of claim 1 and 14 (performing a MAC reset operation, when the mobility procedure takes place, indicated by the MAC CE) is indefinite because the wording is confusing on whether 1) the MAC reset is being indicated by the MAC CE, or
2) the mobility procedure is being indicated by the MAC CE, or
3) both?
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
In event the determination of the status of the application as subject to AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103 (or as subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103) is incorrect, any correction of the statutory basis for the rejection will not be considered a new ground of rejection if the prior art relied upon, and the rationale supporting the rejection, would be the same under either status.
Claims 1-4, 9, 11-18, and 25 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Xu et al. (US 20230239748 A1, hereinafter, Xu) in view of Kim; Soenghun (US 20240237125 A1), hereinafter, Kim).
Regarding Claim 1, Xu discloses, a method of operating a communication device (Fig 15, Wireless Device, 1502) configured with a plurality of physical cells for a mobility procedure, each cell associated with a respective physical cell identifier (PCI) ([¶0221 recites, "FIG. 17 illustrates a handover procedure with beam management as per an aspect of an example embodiment of the present disclosure. A wireless device may receive, via a serving cell with physical cell identity 0 (PCI0), first downlink signals (e.g., PDCCH, PDSCH, CSI-RS and/or SS/PBCH block (SSB)) from a first base station. The serving cell with PCI0 may correspond to the first base station…The first base station may receive, via the serving cell and with a reception beam, the first uplink signals from the wireless device. The serving cell may have a first neighbor cell with PCI1 and a second neighbor cell with PCI2..."), the method comprising:
receiving a plurality of transmission configurations associated with the plurality of physical cells (¶0237 recites, “The wireless device may receive, from the target base station (or via the target cell or the non-serving cell) and/or based on the downlink spatial domain transmission filter (or the downlink beam), a random access response (RAR). The RAR may comprise an uplink grant and/or a timing advance value. In response to the one or more second TCI state indication messages indicating the one or more second TCI states for the target cell (or the non-serving cell), the wireless device may transmit, via the target cell (or to the target base station) and/or based on the uplink spatial domain transmission filter, the preamble for a handover procedure from the source cell to the target cell…”, see also, ¶0243 recites, “In response to receiving the one or more TCI state indication messages indicating the one or more TCI states comprising the target cell ID (or the non-serving cell ID or the neighbor cell ID), the wireless device may determine the uplink spatial domain transmission filter based on the one or more TCI states (e.g., similarly, as based on the one or more second TCI states shown in FIG. 20)...";
receiving, from a network node, a medium access control (MAC) control element (CE) comprising an indication of a transmission configuration to be activated, from among the plurality of transmission configurations (¶0252 recites, “FIG. 26A illustrates indications of transmission configuration indication (TCI) states as per an aspect of an example embodiment of the present disclosure. The one or more TCI state indication messages or the one or more second (2nd) TCI state indication messages may comprise a MAC CE and a first downlink control information (DCI). For example, the MAC CE may be the second MAC CE (e.g., in FIG. 25B). The MAC CE may activate one or more TCI states of a neighbor cell (or target cell, or non-serving cell). The MAC CE may activate one or more TCI states comprising (or associated with) a neighbor cell ID (or target cell ID, or non-serving cell ID)..."); and
Xu doesn’t explicitly disclose, performing a MAC reset operation, when the mobility procedure takes place, indicated by the MAC CE.
Kim in analogous art discloses, performing a MAC reset operation, when the mobility procedure takes place, indicated by the MAC CE (¶0207-¶0208 recites, “In L2 mobility, an RRC Reconfiguration message with ReconfigurationWithSync IE and with L2MobilityInd IE may be used to configure the target configuration during L2 mobility and to command the initial L2 mobility. In L2 mobility, a MAC CE may be used to command L2 mobility between mobility groups. During the L3 mobility, L1 (e.g., a physical layer, a transceiver) switches from a group of cells to another group of cells, a MAC entity may be reset, RLC entities may be reestablished, PDCP entities may be reestablished, and security keys may be updated.”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to combine the idea of Xu with the idea of resetting MAC during mobility indicated by MAC-CE as disclosed by Kim. The rationale for a MAC reset is to reinitializes the MAC layer, typically when there are significant changes in the radio environment or when switching between cells during handoff.
Due to the 112 (b) rejection made above for this claim, the explanation provided is based on the best understood by the examiner.
Regarding Claim 2, combination of Xu and Kim disclose the method of Claim 1.
Xu also teaches, further comprising: receiving the plurality of transmission configurations, which include a plurality of transmission configuration indicator ("TCI") state configurations for a respective plurality of TCI states from the network node (¶0164 recites,"...the base station may determine, based on the reported measurement results, one or more transmission configuration indication (TCI) states comprising a number of reference signals. In an example, the base station may indicate one or more TCI states to the UE (e.g., via RRC signaling, a MAC CE, and/or a DCI). The UE may receive a downlink transmission with a receive (Rx) beam determined based on the one or more TCI states..."), and
wherein receiving the indication of the transmission configuration to be activated that is associated with a non-serving cell or a non-serving PCI comprises receiving an indication of a TCI state associated with a TCI state configuration of the plurality of TCI state configurations (¶0252 recites, Fig. 26A, see also "...The MAC CE may activate one or more TCI states of a neighbor cell (or target cell, or non-serving cell). The MAC CE may activate one or more TCI states comprising (or associated with) a neighbor cell ID (or target cell ID, or non-serving cell ID). The wireless device may receive the MAC CE activating multiple TCI states comprising (or associated with) a neighbor cell ID (or target cell ID, or non-serving cell ID) ...").
Regarding Claim 3, combination of Xu and Kim disclose the method of Claim 1.
Xu also teaches, wherein the transmission configuration to be activated that is associated with a non-serving cell (¶0252 recites, "...The MAC CE may activate one or more TCI states of a neighbor cell (or target cell, or non-serving cell). The MAC CE may activate one or more TCI states comprising (or associated with) a neighbor cell ID (or target cell ID, or non-serving cell ID…”) or a non-serving PCI comprises an indication of a quasi-co-location ("QCL") configuration. Examiner interprets that one of the claimed features to be mapped, because of the presence of “or” in the limitation.
Regarding Claim 4, combination of Xu and Kim disclose the method of Claim 3.
Xu further teaches, wherein the QCL configuration comprises a reference signal configuration including at least one of a synchronization signal block ("SSB") index and a channel state information reference signal ("CSI-RS") index (¶0150 recites, "The UE may assume that one or more SS/PBCH blocks transmitted with a same SS/PBCH block index are quasi co-located (QCLed) (e.g., having the same/similar Doppler spread, Doppler shift, average gain, average delay, and/or spatial Rx parameters)." ¶0144 also recites, “...The UE may be configured to employ the same OFDM symbols for downlink CSI-RS and SS/PBCH blocks when the downlink CSI-RS and SS/PBCH blocks are spatially QCLed and resource elements associated with the downlink CSI-RS are outside of PRBs configured for the SS/PBCH blocks.").
Regarding Claim 9, combination of Xu and Kim disclose the method of Claim 1.
Xu also discloses, wherein the transmission configuration to be activated comprises a field indicating that the communication device perform the MAC reset, and wherein determining to perform the MAC reset operation comprises determining to perform the MAC reset operation based on the field (¶0251 recites, "...The second MAC CE may comprise a bit field indicating a CORESET pool ID. The second MAC CE may comprise a bit field indicating a serving cell ID. The second MAC CE may comprise a bit field indicating a BWP ID. The second MAC CE may comprise a bit field T.sub.i. The T.sub.i may indicate the activation/deactivation status of TCI state with TCI-StateID i indicated by configuration parameters of the one or more RRC messages. In an example, the TCI state with TCI-StateID i may be activated and mapped to the codepoint of transmission configuration indication field of downlink control information in response to the T.sub.i being set to 1..."). Here bit field (=1) implies that TCI is activated and communication device need to perform MAC reset.
Regarding Claim 11, combination of Xu and Kim disclose the method of Claim 1.
Xu doesn’t explicitly disclose, the method further comprising: performing the MAC reset operation.
Kim, in related art discloses, the method further comprising: performing the MAC reset operation (¶0208 recites, "During the L3 mobility, L1 (e.g., a physical layer, a transceiver) switches from a group of cells to another group of cells, a MAC entity may be reset, RLC entities may be reestablished, PDCP entities may be reestablished, and security keys may be updated.").
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to combine the idea of Xu with the idea of just resetting MAC as disclosed by Kim. The rationale for a MAC reset is to reinitializes the MAC layer, typically when there are significant changes in the radio environment or when switching between cells during handoff.
Regarding Claim 12, combination of Xu and Kim disclose the method of Claim 1.
Xu also discloses, wherein the mobility procedure is a Layer 1/Layer 2 ("L1/L2") based inter-cell mobility (¶0232 recites, Example embodiments of the present disclosure comprise reliability and latency enhancement for handover procedures of inter-cell handover and/or intra-cell handover with enhanced control signaling mechanisms based on different wireless device behaviors in response to receiving media access control control element indicating transmission configuration indication state(s)...", ¶0103 also recites, "...While in RRC connected 602, mobility of the UE may be managed by the RAN (e.g., the RAN 104 or the NG-RAN 154). The UE may measure the signal levels (e.g., reference signal levels) from a serving cell and neighboring cells and report these measurements to the base station currently serving the UE. The UE's serving base station may request a handover to a cell of one of the neighboring base stations based on the reported measurements...").
Regarding Claim 13, combination of Xu and Kim disclose the method of Claim 12.
Xu also discloses, wherein the L1/L2 based inter-cell mobility comprises a MAC control element ("CE") (¶0225 recites, "...The main signaling mechanism for the inter-cell handover in NR system is that the base station transmits the handover command (e.g., RRCReconfiguration message) triggering the handover procedure from the source base station to the target base station. Similarly, the wireless device may perform an intra-cell handover procedure from a first TRP (e.g., TRP0) to a second TRP (e.g., TRP1) based on an uplink timing adjustment indicated by the timing advance command MAC CE...").
Regarding Claim 14, Xu teaches, a method of operating a network node (Fig 15, Base Station, 1504) in a communications network with a communication device that is configured with a plurality of physical cells for a mobility procedure, each cell associated with a respective physical cell identifier (PCI) ([¶0221 recites, "FIG. 17 illustrates a handover procedure with beam management as per an aspect of an example embodiment of the present disclosure. A wireless device may receive, via a serving cell with physical cell identity 0 (PCI0), first downlink signals (e.g., PDCCH, PDSCH, CSI-RS and/or SS/PBCH block (SSB)) from a first base station. The serving cell with PCI0 may correspond to the first base station…The first base station may receive, via the serving cell and with a reception beam, the first uplink signals from the wireless device. The serving cell may have a first neighbor cell with PCI1 and a second neighbor cell with PCI2..."), the method comprising:
transmitting a plurality of transmission configurations associated with the plurality of physical cells (¶0237 recites, “The wireless device may receive, from the target base station (or via the target cell or the non-serving cell) and/or based on the downlink spatial domain transmission filter (or the downlink beam), a random access response (RAR). The RAR may comprise an uplink grant and/or a timing advance value. In response to the one or more second TCI state indication messages indicating the one or more second TCI states for the target cell (or the non-serving cell), the wireless device may transmit, via the target cell (or to the target base station) and/or based on the uplink spatial domain transmission filter, the preamble for a handover procedure from the source cell to the target cell…”, see also, ¶0243 recites, “In response to receiving the one or more TCI state indication messages indicating the one or more TCI states comprising the target cell ID (or the non-serving cell ID or the neighbor cell ID), the wireless device may determine the uplink spatial domain transmission filter based on the one or more TCI states (e.g., similarly, as based on the one or more second TCI states shown in FIG. 20)...";
transmitting a medium access control (MAC) control element (CE) comprising an indication of a transmission configuration to be activated from among the plurality of transmission configurations (¶0252 recites, “FIG. 26A illustrates indications of transmission configuration indication (TCI) states as per an aspect of an example embodiment of the present disclosure. The one or more TCI state indication messages or the one or more second (2nd) TCI state indication messages may comprise a MAC CE and a first downlink control information (DCI). For example, the MAC CE may be the second MAC CE (e.g., in FIG. 25B). The MAC CE may activate one or more TCI states of a neighbor cell (or target cell, or non-serving cell). The MAC CE may activate one or more TCI states comprising (or associated with) a neighbor cell ID (or target cell ID, or non-serving cell ID)..."); and
Xu doesn’t explicitly disclose, indicating, to the communication device, to perform a MAC reset.
Kim in analogous art discloses, indicating, to the communication device, to perform a MAC reset (¶0207-¶0208 recites, “In L2 mobility, an RRC Reconfiguration message with ReconfigurationWithSync IE and with L2MobilityInd IE may be used to configure the target configuration during L2 mobility and to command the initial L2 mobility. In L2 mobility, a MAC CE may be used to command L2 mobility between mobility groups. During the L3 mobility, L1 (e.g., a physical layer, a transceiver) switches from a group of cells to another group of cells, a MAC entity may be reset, RLC entities may be reestablished, PDCP entities may be reestablished, and security keys may be updated.”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to combine the idea of Xu with the idea of resetting MAC during mobility indicated by MAC-CE as disclosed by Kim. The rationale for a MAC reset is to reinitializes the MAC layer, typically when there are significant changes in the radio environment or when switching between cells during handoff.
Claim 14 is essentially same as Claim 1 except for Claim 14 is viewed from network device perspective, while Claim 1 is viewed from UE/ communication device perspective. Also, claim 1 has been rejected above. Applicant’s attention is directed to the rejection of claim 1. Claim 14 is rejected under the same rational as claim 1.
Due to the 112 (b) rejection made above for this claim, the explanation provided is based on the best understood by the examiner.
Regarding Claim 15, combination of Xu and Kim disclose the method of Claim 14.
Xu further teaches, further comprising: transmitting an indication of the plurality of transmission configurations to the communication device (¶0241 recites, "...The wireless device may receive one or more TCI state indication messages from the source base station (e.g., at time T8). The one or more TCI state indication messages may indicate one or more TCI states. The one or more TCI states may comprise a target cell ID (or a non-serving cell ID or a neighbor cell ID) ...") Here the network node (base station) is transmitting and received by the UE (wireless device).
Regarding Claim 16, combination of Xu and Kim disclose the method of Claim 14.
Xu further teaches, wherein the plurality of transmission configurations comprise a plurality of transmission configuration indicator ("TCI") state configurations for a respective plurality of TCI states (¶0164, recites, "...the base station may determine, based on the reported measurement results, one or more transmission configuration indication (TCI) states comprising a number of reference signals. In an example, the base station may indicate one or more TCI states to the UE (e.g., via RRC signaling, a MAC CE, and/or a DCI). The UE may receive a downlink transmission with a receive (Rx) beam determined based on the one or more TCI states..."), and
wherein transmitting the indication of the transmission configuration to be activated comprises transmitting an indication of a TCI state associated with a TCI state configuration of the plurality of TCI state configurations (¶0252 recites, Fig. 26A, see also "...The MAC CE may activate one or more TCI states of a neighbor cell (or target cell, or non-serving cell). The MAC CE may activate one or more TCI states comprising (or associated with) a neighbor cell ID (or target cell ID, or non-serving cell ID). The wireless device may receive the MAC CE activating multiple TCI states comprising (or associated with) a neighbor cell ID (or target cell ID, or non-serving cell ID) ...").
Claim 16 is essentially same as Claim 2 except for Claim 16 is viewed from network device perspective, while Claim 2 is viewed from UE/ communication device perspective. Also, claim 2 has been rejected above. Applicant’s attention is directed to the rejection of claim 2. Claim 16 is rejected under the same rational as claim 2.
Regarding Claim 17, combination of Xu and Kim disclose the method of Claim 14.
Xu also discloses, wherein transmitting the indication of the transmission configuration to be activated that is associated with a non-serving cell or a non-serving PCI comprises transmitting an indication of a quasi-co-location ("QCL") configuration (¶0252 recites, "FIG. 26A, …The one or more TCI state indication messages or the one or more second (2nd) TCI state indication messages may comprise a MAC CE and a first downlink control information (DCI). For example, the MAC CE may be the second MAC CE (e.g., in FIG. 25B). The MAC CE may activate one or more TCI states of a neighbor cell (or target cell, or non-serving cell). The MAC CE may activate one or more TCI states comprising (or associated with) a neighbor cell ID (or target cell ID, or non-serving cell ID)...", also, ¶0255 recites, "A wireless device may receive, via a serving cell, a first message indicating a plurality of transmission configuration indication (TCI) states of a non-serving cell...", also, ¶0256 recites, "Each of the plurality of TCI states may comprise a quasi co-located reference signal. The quasi co-located reference signal may comprise a channel state information reference signal (CSI-RS). The quasi co-located reference signal may comprise an SSB/PBCH block (SSB). The quasi co-located reference signal may comprise a sounding reference signal (SRS). The quasi co-located reference signal may comprise a demodulation reference signal (DMRS)…”). Configuring an SSB from a non-serving cell as the source for QCL information for reference signals used in beam management (TRS, CSI-RS) and CSI acquisition.
Regarding Claim 18 is essentially same as Claim 4 except for Claim 18 is viewed from network device perspective, while Claim 4 is viewed from UE/ communication device perspective. Also, claim 4 has been rejected above. Applicant’s attention is directed to the rejection of claim 4. Claim 18 is rejected under the same rational as claim 4.
Regarding Claim 25 is essentially same as Claim 12 except for Claim 25 is viewed from network device perspective, while Claim 12 is viewed from UE/ communication device perspective. Also, claim 12 has been rejected above. Applicant’s attention is directed to the rejection of claim 12. Claim 25 is rejected under the same rational as claim 12.
Claims 5 and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Xu and Kim in view of Sharma et al. (US 20210329515 A1, hereinafter, Sharma).
Regarding Claim 5, combination of Xu and Kim disclose the method of Claim 1.
Xu doesn’t explicitly disclose, wherein determining to perform the MAC reset operation based on the transmission configuration to be activated comprises determining to perform the MAC reset based on determining that layer 1 ("L1") mobility occurred.
Sharma, in related art relates, wherein determining to perform the MAC reset operation based on the transmission configuration to be activated comprises determining to perform the MAC reset based on determining that layer 1 ("L1") mobility occurred (¶0018 recites, "Network controlled mobility applies to UEs in RRC CONNECTED and is categorized into two types of mobility: cell level mobility and beam level mobility. Cell level mobility requires explicit RRC signaling to be triggered, i.e., handover. A lot of signaling messages are exchanged during an intra gNB handover and/or an inter-gNB handover. The handover mechanism triggered by RRC requires the UE at least to reset the MAC entity and re-establish radio link control (RLC)...", and ¶0181 recites, "...This decision can be taken based on beam level measurements at L1/L2 level where each cell reports the measurements for neighbour cell also and can perform inter cell beam mobility. When the NW wants to perform the inter cell beam mobility, the NW can indicate the L1/L2 signalling to perform the same and the UE based on existing configuration performs the handover procedure.".
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to combine the idea of Xu and Kim with the idea of performing MAC reset based on determining that layer 1 mobility occurred as disclosed by Sharma. The rationale for doing MAC resetting based on L1 mobility is "Using the present solution, a higher level of latency, efficiency, and throughput are achieved." as recited by ¶0186.
Regarding Claim 19, combination of Xu and Kim disclose the method of Claim 14.
Xu doesn’t explicitly teach, further comprising: determining that the communication device should perform the MAC reset operation based on the transmission configuration to be activated; and
transmitting a configuration to the communication device indicating under which L1 mobility possibilities the communication device should perform the MAC reset operation.
Sharma, in related art relate, further comprising: determining that the communication device should perform the MAC reset operation based on the transmission configuration to be activated; and
transmitting a configuration to the communication device indicating under which L1 mobility possibilities the communication device should perform the MAC reset operation (¶0018 recites, "Network controlled mobility applies to UEs in RRC CONNECTED and is categorized into two types of mobility: cell level mobility and beam level mobility. Cell level mobility requires explicit RRC signaling to be triggered, i.e., handover. A lot of signaling messages are exchanged during an intra gNB handover and/or an inter-gNB handover. The handover mechanism triggered by RRC requires the UE at least to reset the MAC entity and re-establish radio link control (RLC)..." ¶0018 also recites, "...This decision can be taken based on beam level measurements at L1/L2 level where each cell reports the measurements for neighbour cell also and can perform inter cell beam mobility. When the NW wants to perform the inter cell beam mobility, the NW can indicate the L1/L2 signalling to perform the same and the UE based on existing configuration performs the handover procedure.".
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to combine the idea of Xu and Kim with the idea of performing MAC reset based on determining that layer 1 mobility occurred as disclosed by Sharma. The rationale for doing MAC resetting based on L1 mobility is "Using the present solution, a higher level of latency, efficiency, and throughput are achieved." as recited by ¶0186.
Claims 6-8, and 10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Xu and Kim in view of Kwak et al. (US 20230144010 A1, hereinafter, Kwak).
Regarding Claim 6, combination of Xu and Kim disclose the method of Claim 1.
Combination of Xu and Kim don’t explicitly disclose, wherein determining to perform the MAC reset operation based on the transmission configuration to be activated comprises determining that the communication device has moved from a first beam associated with a first group identifier ("ID") to a second beam associated with a second group ID that is different than the first group ID.
Kwak, in related art relates, wherein determining to perform the MAC reset operation based on the transmission configuration to be activated comprises determining that the communication device has moved from a first beam associated with a first group identifier ("ID") to a second beam associated with a second group ID that is different than the first group ID (Claim 7 recites, "...the first set of beam failure detection reference signals is associated with a first one or more transmission configuration indicator states associated with the first control resource set group; and the second set of beam failure detection reference signals is associated with a second one or more transmission configuration indicator states associated with the second control resource set group...", ¶0105 also recites, "The WTRU may support a BFR MAC CE to report the BFR and selected beams to a base station. The BFR MAC CE may indicate one or more of the SCells that are experiencing beam failure (e.g., one or more of the SCells on which a beam failure was detected by the WTRU). For the one or more SCells, the BFR MAC CE may report or indicate zero or more new candidate beams...". Here, when the L1 MAC CE based mobility moves the communication device from the beam of one group to the beam of another group- MAC reset is performed.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to combine the idea of Xu and Kim with the idea of performing MAC reset based on UE moving from one group of beams to another group of beams as disclosed by Kwak. The rationale for detection of a change in the beam's group ID signals a transition that might require the MAC layer to be reset and potentially reconfigured to adapt to the new transmission environment and ensure continued connectivity.
Regarding Claim 7, combination of Xu, Kim and Kwak disclose the method of Claim 6.
Combination of Xu and Kim don’t explicitly disclose, wherein receiving the indication of the transmission configuration to be activated comprises receiving an indication of the second group ID.
Kwak, in related art relates, wherein receiving the indication of the transmission configuration to be activated comprises receiving an indication of the second group ID (¶0470 recites, "...In various embodiments, after reception of the SRS, a base station may determine the TRP corresponds to the failing beam-group and may indicate a new TCI state to the WTRU. For instance, when scheduling follows up downlink transmissions, the TCI state of the new downlink beam is indicated to the WTRU by a DCI, e.g., DCI Format 1-1 or 1-0. To monitor PDCCH, a WTRU may use a dedicated search space or CORSET, e.g., CORESET 0, for acquiring the new TCI state. If the measurements performed on the SRS indicates a new beam that its QCL information is not captured by any of the MAC CE activated states, a WTRU may receive and decode a new MAC prior to decoding the DCI.".
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to combine the idea of Xu and Kim with the idea of activating TCI when UE receive an indication of new beam-group ID as disclosed by Kwak. The rationale for using beam failure detection, TCI state management, and DCI signaling enables the 5G NR system to efficiently manage beam mobility and adapt to dynamic channel conditions, thus improving the overall user experience.
Regarding Claim 8, combination of Xu, Kim and Kwak disclose the method of Claim 6.
Xu also discloses, wherein radio resource control ("RRC") configurations indicate a grouping of serving cell configurations and/or non-serving cell configurations among which layer 1 ("L1") mobility may be performed (¶0237 recites, "...The wireless device may receive, from the source base station (or via the source cell or serving cell), an RRC message comprising configuration parameters indicating the association (e.g., RACH-ConfigDedicated). Each of the one or more second TCI states may be associated with the target cell identity (the target cell ID or the neighbor cell ID or non-serving cell ID). Each of the one or more second TCI states may comprise the target cell ID (or the neighbor cell ID or non-serving cell ID)..." [¶0236], see also, "...In response to the one or more second TCI state indication messages indicating the one or more second TCI states comprising the target cell ID (or the non-serving cell ID), the wireless device may transmit, via the target cell (the non-serving cell or to the target base station) and/or based on the uplink spatial domain transmission filter, an RRC reconfiguration complete message for the handover procedure from the source cell to the target cell." ¶0240 also recites, "...the UE capabilities for different radio access technologies (RATs), and UE reported measurement information including beam-related information. The target base station may perform an admission control. The target base station may prepare the handover with layer 1 and/or layer 2 based on the necessary information...".
Regarding Claim 10, combination of Xu and Kim disclose the method of Claim 1.
Combination of Xu and Kim don’t explicitly disclose, wherein determining to perform the MAC reset operation comprises: checking that a synchronization signal block ("SSB") index or a channel state information reference signal ("CSI-RS") index in the transmission configuration to be activated is associated with a non-serving cell or a non-serving PCI; and
determining to perform the MAC reset operation based on the SSB index or the CSI-RS index.
Kwak, in related art relates, wherein determining to perform the MAC reset operation comprises: checking that a synchronization signal block ("SSB") index or a channel state information reference signal ("CSI-RS") index in the transmission configuration to be activated is associated with a non-serving cell or a non-serving PCI (¶0129 recites, "...the first set of one or more cells may include one or more serving cells. In various embodiments, the second set of one or more cells may include one or more non-serving cells...", ¶0130 also recites, "A WTRU may transmit and/or receive one or more signals (e.g., signals carrying physical channel information, SSBs, RSs, etc.) according to at least one spatial domain filter. A “beam” may be expressed as a spatial domain filter. The WTRU, for example, may receive RSs (e.g., CSI-RSs, SSBs, etc.) using a spatial domain filter and may transmit signals (physical channel information, RSs, etc.) using the same spatial domain filter. The WTRU transmission may be referred to as “target”, and the received RS(s) may be referred to as “reference” or “source”..."; Here “target” is referred to as non-serving cell; and
determining to perform the MAC reset operation based on the SSB index or the CSI-RS index (¶0129 recites, “…In various embodiments, the second set of one or more cells may include one or more non-serving cells..."). Here, the UE moves from serving cell to non-serving cell, SSB/CSI-RS get activated and MAC reset occurs.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to combine the idea of Xu and Kim with the idea of checking if SSB or CSI-RS being activated in the new configuration is tied to a non-serving cell as disclosed by Kwak. The rationale for MAC reset to occur when a new transmission configuration involves using synchronization and channel sounding signals from a cell different from the one the UE is currently connected to. This is a mechanism to ensure the UE properly re-establishes its connection with the non-serving cell.
Conclusion
References cited but not used: R2-1808418; 3GPP TSG-RAN WG2 Meeting 102; Busan, Korea, May 21-May 25, 2018; Agenda item: 10.3.1.4.2 Source: Huawei, HiSilicon; Title: BFR with SCell deactivation and MAC reset; Document for: Discussion and Decision.
/MUHAMMAD AINUL HUDA/Examiner, Art Unit 4126
/HASSAN A PHILLIPS/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2467