DETAILED ACTION
1. This Action is in response to Applicant's Patent Application filed on May 11, 2023. Claims 1-47 have been canceled and claims 48-68 have been added by preliminary amendment, therefore, claims 48-68 are currently pending in the present application. This Action is made Non-Final.
America Invents Act (AIA ) Information
Information Disclosure Statement
3. The information disclosure statement(s) submitted within this application (has/have) been considered by the Examiner and made of record in the application file.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
6. Claims 48-51 and 54-68 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being
anticipated by KIM; Donggun et al. (US 20210136829 A1), hereafter “KIM.”
Consider claim 48, KIM discloses a method of handover performed by a wireless device configured with first and second logical connections for communicating with a source base station, the method comprising (see fig. 1, par. 0168: “The UE may configure multiple first bearers with the source eNB and may transmit/receive data (transmit and receive uplink or downlink data) through respective protocol layer devices (PHY layer device, MAC layer device, RLC layer device, or PDPC layer device) of each of the bearers. However, it will be assumed in the following description and in the drawings, for convenience of description, that the UE has one bearer. Obviously, in spite of such assumption in the illustration and description, the following description is equally applicable to a situation in which the UE configures multiple bearers and operates accordingly” Examiner’s Analysis: bearer is being construed as logical connections): receiving a handover command while the wireless device is configured to perform packet duplication wherein the wireless device exchanges duplicate packets with one or more source base stations in a source base station group using first and second logical connections (see fig. 8, par. 0055: “The ENBs 1-05 to 1-20 in FIG. 1 correspond to existing nodes B in a universal mobile telecommunication system (UMTS) system. The ENBs are connected to the UE 1-35 through a radio channel, and perform more complicated roles than existing nodes B. In the LTE system, user traffic is provided through a shared channel in connection with all services, including a real-time service such as voice over IP (VoIP) through the Internet protocol.” and par. 0170: “… As another method, the UE 7-20 may continuously transmit/receive data with the source eNB 7-05 in order to minimize the data interruption time occurring during a handover according to the handover method indicated by the source eNB …,” par. 0292: “”…if the UE applies the structure and function 9-11 of the first PDCP layer device to a PDCP layer device (for example, E-UTRA PDCP layer device or LTE PDCP layer device) configured as a split bearer, packet duplication bearer…(Examiner’s Analysis: paragraph 55 discloses multiple base stations (e.g., group of base stations); paragraph 168 clearly states “The UE may configure multiple first bearers…” and “However, it will be assumed in the following description and in the drawings, for convenience of description, that the UE has one bearer…” So, paragraphs 170 and 292 discloses continuously transmit/receive during handover message implementing a PDCP layer device or LTE PDCP layer device configured as a split bearer, packet duplication bearer, which when taking into account paragraph 168, we can apply the multiple first bearers configuration); responsive to the handover command, configuring dual active protocol stacks (DAPS) with the source base station group and a target base station group respectively for both the first and second logical connections (see par. 0176: “it will be assumed that the UE 8-20 has received a handover command message, and that the handover command message has indicated the DAPS handover method proposed by the disclosure, or the DAPS handover method has been indicated with regard to specific bearers, or a PDCP reordering timer value has been newly configured. Then, when switching from the first PDCP layer device structure or function 9-11 or 9-12 to the second PDCP layer device structure or function 9-20 proposed by the disclosure with regard to each bearer or with regard to the bearer for which the DAPS handover method has been indicated, the UE 8-20 may update the parameter for reordering to “PDCP sequence number expected to be received next time or count value”, may stop the reordering timer, and may restart the same. In addition, when the UE 8-20 has received a handover command message (for example, RRCReconfiguration message), the RRC layer device of the UE may start the first timer (for example, T304). The first timer may be stopped if the UE 8-20 performs a procedure of random access to the target eNB 8-10 in order to perform a hand over, and if the random access procedure is successfully completed (for example, the first condition proposed by the disclosure is satisfied)” Examiner’s Analysis: bearer is being construed as logical connections); maintaining, during the handover, the first logical connection and second logical connections with dual protocol stacks for the source base station group and the target base station group (see par. 0044: “If a UE is configured to transmit or receive data (transmit and receive uplink or downlink data) with a source base station through respective protocol layer devices (physical (PHY) layer device, medium access control (MAC) layer device, radio link control (RLC) layer device, or PDCP layer device) of multiple first bearers, and if the UE receives a handover command message (or RRC reconfiguration message) from the source base station, the UE may configure protocol layer devices of multiple new second bearers corresponding to the protocol layers of the multiple first bearers (for example, having the same bearer identifier), and may transmit/receive data (transmit and receive uplink or downlink data) while seamlessly maintaining continuous transmission or reception of data (transmission or reception of uplink or downlink data) with the source base station through the multiple first bearers” Examiner’s Analysis: the UE creates new multiple second bearers (e.g. to connect with the target base station) while maintaining the connection to the source base station); releasing the first and second logical connections with the source base station group to complete the handover and reconfiguring the wireless device for packet duplication with the target base station group wherein the wireless device exchanges duplicate packets with one or more target base stations in the target base station group using the first and second logical connections (see par. 0243: “The UE 8-20 may determine that the random access procedure has been successfully completed, and that the second condition is satisfied, if the UE 8-20 transmits message 3 (for example, handover completion message or RRCReconfigurationComplete message) by using the uplink transmission resource of the target eNB 8-10, and if the UE 8-20 receives a UE identify confirmation MAC CE from the target eNB 8-10 through message 4, or if the UE 8-20 receives an uplink transmission resource through a PDCCH corresponding to the C-RNTI of the UE 8-20” and par. 0247: “The UE 8-20 may release the first bearer for the source eNB 8-05 and may disconnect from the source eNB 8-05”).
Consider claim 49 in view of claim 48 above, KIM further discloses wherein the handover command includes an indication to perform a DAPS handover with packet duplication (see par. 0012: “performing, with a terminal, a random access procedure for a dual active protocol stack (DAPS) handover based on a first message configuring a data radio bearer (DRB) as a DAPS bearer; and receiving, from the terminal, a second message including a packet data convergence protocol (PDCP) status report, in case that the PDCP status report is triggered for the DRB” and par. 0292).
Consider claim 50 in view of claim 48 above, KIM further discloses configuring dual active protocol stacks with the source base station group and target base station group for both the first logical connection and the second logical connection comprises configuring a two-layer Packet Data Convergence Protocol (PDCP) layer including a duplication layer and a DAPS layer (see par. 0012: “performing, with a terminal, a random access procedure for a dual active protocol stack (DAPS) handover based on a first message configuring a data radio bearer (DRB) as a DAPS bearer; and receiving, from the terminal, a second message including a packet data convergence protocol (PDCP) status report, in case that the PDCP status report is triggered for the DRB” and par. 0292).
Consider claim 51 in view of claim 50 above, KIM further discloses configuring dual active protocol stacks with the source base station group and target base station group for both the first logical connection and the second logical connection comprises configuring a two-layer Packet Data Convergence Protocol (PDCP) layer including a duplication layer and a DAPS layer (see par. 0343: Specifically, the single PDCP layer device may be implemented such that function of the PDCP layer device are divided into functions of the upper PDCP layer device (for example, sequence number assigning function, reordering function, in-sequence delivery function, or duplication detecting function) and functions of two lower PDCP layer devices for each source eNB and each target eNB (for example, ciphering or deciphering function, header (or data) compression or header (or data) decompression function, integrity protection or verification function, or duplication detecting function)).
Consider claim 54 in view of claim 48 above, KIM further discloses wherein the first and second logical connections are associated with first and second cells respectively of a source base station group and are moved to first and second cells respectively of the target base station group (see par. 0139: “When the gNG configures the DPAS handover method for the UE, the same may be indicated together with other handover methods (for example, conditional handover method (multiple target cells are configured; multiple conditions are configured for the UE; and if the conditions are satisfied during a cell selection or reselection procedure by the UE, the UE performs a procedure of handover to one target cell),”).
Consider claim 55 in view of claim 48 above, KIM further discloses wherein the first and second logical connections are associated with first and second source transmission points respectively of the source base station group and are moved to first and second transmission points respectively of the target base station group (see pars. 0047 and 0048).
Consider claim 56 in view of claim 55 above, KIM further discloses wherein the first and second logical connections are associated with first and second source base stations respectively and are moved to first and second target base stations respectively of the target base station group (see pars. 0047 and 0048).
Consider claim 57, KIM discloses a method implemented by a source base station group to handover a wireless device configured for packet duplication to a target base station group, the method comprising: determining a need to handover a wireless device (see fig. 1, par. 0145: “The source eNB determines, based on the measurement information, whether or not the UE is to conduct a handover to an adjacent cell”; par. 0168: “The UE may configure multiple first bearers with the source eNB and may transmit/receive data (transmit and receive uplink or downlink data) through respective protocol layer devices (PHY layer device, MAC layer device, RLC layer device, or PDPC layer device) of each of the bearers. However, it will be assumed in the following description and in the drawings, for convenience of description, that the UE has one bearer. Obviously, in spite of such assumption in the illustration and description, the following description is equally applicable to a situation in which the UE configures multiple bearers and operates accordingly” Examiner’s Analysis: bearer is being construed as logical connections): sending a handover command to the wireless device to initiate handover to the target base station group while the wireless device is configured for packet duplication wherein the wireless device exchanges duplicate packets with the source base station group using first and second logical connections; (see fig. 8, par. 0055: “The ENBs 1-05 to 1-20 in FIG. 1 correspond to existing nodes B in a universal mobile telecommunication system (UMTS) system. The ENBs are connected to the UE 1-35 through a radio channel, and perform more complicated roles than existing nodes B. In the LTE system, user traffic is provided through a shared channel in connection with all services, including a real-time service such as voice over IP (VoIP) through the Internet protocol.” and par. 0170: “… As another method, the UE 7-20 may continuously transmit/receive data with the source eNB 7-05 in order to minimize the data interruption time occurring during a handover according to the handover method indicated by the source eNB …,” par. 0292: “”…if the UE applies the structure and function 9-11 of the first PDCP layer device to a PDCP layer device (for example, E-UTRA PDCP layer device or LTE PDCP layer device) configured as a split bearer, packet duplication bearer…(Examiner’s Analysis: paragraph 55 discloses multiple base stations (e.g., group of base stations); paragraph 168 clearly states “The UE may configure multiple first bearers…” and “However, it will be assumed in the following description and in the drawings, for convenience of description, that the UE has one bearer…” So, paragraphs 170 and 292 discloses continuously transmit/receive during handover message implementing a PDCP layer device or LTE PDCP layer device configured as a split bearer, packet duplication bearer, which when taking into account paragraph 168, we can apply the multiple first bearers configuration); and maintaining the first logical connection and the second logical connection with the wireless device while the wireless device establishes DAPSs for both the first and second logical connections with the target base station group (see par. 0044: “If a UE is configured to transmit or receive data (transmit and receive uplink or downlink data) with a source base station through respective protocol layer devices (physical (PHY) layer device, medium access control (MAC) layer device, radio link control (RLC) layer device, or PDCP layer device) of multiple first bearers, and if the UE receives a handover command message (or RRC reconfiguration message) from the source base station, the UE may configure protocol layer devices of multiple new second bearers corresponding to the protocol layers of the multiple first bearers (for example, having the same bearer identifier), and may transmit/receive data (transmit and receive uplink or downlink data) while seamlessly maintaining continuous transmission or reception of data (transmission or reception of uplink or downlink data) with the source base station through the multiple first bearers” Examiner’s Analysis: the UE creates new multiple second bearers (e.g. to connect with the target base station) while maintaining the connection to the source base station); receiving a handover message from the target base station group indicating successful handover and responsive to the handover message, releasing the first logical connection and second logical connection with the wireless device (see par. 0243: “The UE 8-20 may determine that the random access procedure has been successfully completed, and that the second condition is satisfied, if the UE 8-20 transmits message 3 (for example, handover completion message or RRCReconfigurationComplete message) by using the uplink transmission resource of the target eNB 8-10, and if the UE 8-20 receives a UE identify confirmation MAC CE from the target eNB 8-10 through message 4, or if the UE 8-20 receives an uplink transmission resource through a PDCCH corresponding to the C-RNTI of the UE 8-20” and par. 0247: “The UE 8-20 may release the first bearer for the source eNB 8-05 and may disconnect from the source eNB 8-05”).
Consider claim 58, the subject matter recited in this claim has already been addressed in rejection to claim 49. Therefore, it has been analyzed and rejected based upon the rejection to claim 49.
Consider claim 59, the subject matter recited in this claim has already been addressed in rejection to claim 54. Therefore, it has been analyzed and rejected based upon the rejection to claim 54.
Consider claim 60, the subject matter recited in this claim has already been addressed in rejection to claim 55. Therefore, it has been analyzed and rejected based upon the rejection to claim 55.
Consider claim 61, the subject matter recited in this claim has already been addressed in rejection to claim 56. Therefore, it has been analyzed and rejected based upon the rejection to claim 56.
Consider claim 62, KIM discloses a method implemented by a target base station group to handover a wireless device configured for packet duplication from a source base station group, the method comprising (see fig. 1, par. 0168: “The UE may configure multiple first bearers with the source eNB and may transmit/receive data (transmit and receive uplink or downlink data) through respective protocol layer devices (PHY layer device, MAC layer device, RLC layer device, or PDPC layer device) of each of the bearers. However, it will be assumed in the following description and in the drawings, for convenience of description, that the UE has one bearer. Obviously, in spite of such assumption in the illustration and description, the following description is equally applicable to a situation in which the UE configures multiple bearers and operates accordingly” Examiner’s Analysis: bearer is being construed as logical connections): receiving a handover request message for a wireless device configured to perform packet duplication wherein the wireless device exchanges duplicate packets with the source base station group using first and second logical connections (see fig. 8, par. 0055: “The ENBs 1-05 to 1-20 in FIG. 1 correspond to existing nodes B in a universal mobile telecommunication system (UMTS) system. The ENBs are connected to the UE 1-35 through a radio channel, and perform more complicated roles than existing nodes B. In the LTE system, user traffic is provided through a shared channel in connection with all services, including a real-time service such as voice over IP (VoIP) through the Internet protocol.” and par. 0170: “… As another method, the UE 7-20 may continuously transmit/receive data with the source eNB 7-05 in order to minimize the data interruption time occurring during a handover according to the handover method indicated by the source eNB …,” par. 0292: “”…if the UE applies the structure and function 9-11 of the first PDCP layer device to a PDCP layer device (for example, E-UTRA PDCP layer device or LTE PDCP layer device) configured as a split bearer, packet duplication bearer…(Examiner’s Analysis: paragraph 55 discloses multiple base stations (e.g., group of base stations); paragraph 168 clearly states “The UE may configure multiple first bearers…” and “However, it will be assumed in the following description and in the drawings, for convenience of description, that the UE has one bearer…” So, paragraphs 170 and 292 discloses continuously transmit/receive during handover message implementing a PDCP layer device or LTE PDCP layer device configured as a split bearer, packet duplication bearer, which when taking into account paragraph 168, we can apply the multiple first bearers configuration); responsive to the handover request message, establishing dual active protocol stacks (DAPS) at a target base station group for both the first and second logical connections while the wireless device continues to exchange data with the source base station group (see par. 0176: “it will be assumed that the UE 8-20 has received a handover command message, and that the handover command message has indicated the DAPS handover method proposed by the disclosure, or the DAPS handover method has been indicated with regard to specific bearers, or a PDCP reordering timer value has been newly configured. Then, when switching from the first PDCP layer device structure or function 9-11 or 9-12 to the second PDCP layer device structure or function 9-20 proposed by the disclosure with regard to each bearer or with regard to the bearer for which the DAPS handover method has been indicated, the UE 8-20 may update the parameter for reordering to “PDCP sequence number expected to be received next time or count value”, may stop the reordering timer, and may restart the same. In addition, when the UE 8-20 has received a handover command message (for example, RRCReconfiguration message), the RRC layer device of the UE may start the first timer (for example, T304). The first timer may be stopped if the UE 8-20 performs a procedure of random access to the target eNB 8-10 in order to perform a hand over, and if the random access procedure is successfully completed (for example, the first condition proposed by the disclosure is satisfied)” Examiner’s Analysis: bearer is being construed as logical connections); sending a release command to the wireless device to release the first and second logical connections with the source base station group to complete the handover (see par. 0243: “The UE 8-20 may determine that the random access procedure has been successfully completed, and that the second condition is satisfied, if the UE 8-20 transmits message 3 (for example, handover completion message or RRCReconfigurationComplete message) by using the uplink transmission resource of the target eNB 8-10, and if the UE 8-20 receives a UE identify confirmation MAC CE from the target eNB 8-10 through message 4, or if the UE 8-20 receives an uplink transmission resource through a PDCCH corresponding to the C-RNTI of the UE 8-20” and par. 0247: “The UE 8-20 may release the first bearer for the source eNB 8-05 and may disconnect from the source eNB 8-05”).
Consider claim 63, the subject matter recited in this claim has already been addressed in rejection to claim 54. Therefore, it has been analyzed and rejected based upon the rejection to claim 54.
Consider claim 64, the subject matter recited in this claim has already been addressed in rejection to claim 55. Therefore, it has been analyzed and rejected based upon the rejection to claim 55.
Consider claim 65, the subject matter recited in this claim has already been addressed in rejection to claim 56. Therefore, it has been analyzed and rejected based upon the rejection to claim 56.
Consider claim 66, KIM discloses a wireless device configured with first and second logical connections for communicating with a source base station group, the wireless device comprising: communication circuitry (fig. 11: #11-10) for communicating with base stations in a wireless communication network; and processing circuitry (fig. 11: #11-20) operatively coupled to the communication circuitry and configured to (see figs. 1 and 11, par. 0168: “The UE may configure multiple first bearers with the source eNB and may transmit/receive data (transmit and receive uplink or downlink data) through respective protocol layer devices (PHY layer device, MAC layer device, RLC layer device, or PDPC layer device) of each of the bearers. However, it will be assumed in the following description and in the drawings, for convenience of description, that the UE has one bearer. Obviously, in spite of such assumption in the illustration and description, the following description is equally applicable to a situation in which the UE configures multiple bearers and operates accordingly” Examiner’s Analysis: bearer is being construed as logical connections): receive a handover command while the wireless device is configured to perform packet duplication wherein the wireless device exchanges duplicate packets with one or more source base stations in a source base station group using first and second logical connections (see fig. 8, par. 0055: “The ENBs 1-05 to 1-20 in FIG. 1 correspond to existing nodes B in a universal mobile telecommunication system (UMTS) system. The ENBs are connected to the UE 1-35 through a radio channel, and perform more complicated roles than existing nodes B. In the LTE system, user traffic is provided through a shared channel in connection with all services, including a real-time service such as voice over IP (VoIP) through the Internet protocol.” and par. 0170: “… As another method, the UE 7-20 may continuously transmit/receive data with the source eNB 7-05 in order to minimize the data interruption time occurring during a handover according to the handover method indicated by the source eNB …,” par. 0292: “”…if the UE applies the structure and function 9-11 of the first PDCP layer device to a PDCP layer device (for example, E-UTRA PDCP layer device or LTE PDCP layer device) configured as a split bearer, packet duplication bearer…(Examiner’s Analysis: paragraph 55 discloses multiple base stations (e.g., group of base stations); paragraph 168 clearly states “The UE may configure multiple first bearers…” and “However, it will be assumed in the following description and in the drawings, for convenience of description, that the UE has one bearer…” So, paragraphs 170 and 292 discloses continuously transmit/receive during handover message implementing a PDCP layer device or LTE PDCP layer device configured as a split bearer, packet duplication bearer, which when taking into account paragraph 168, we can apply the multiple first bearers configuration); responsive to the handover command, configure dual active protocol stacks (DAPS) with the source base station group and a target base station group respectively for both the first and second logical connections (see par. 0176: “it will be assumed that the UE 8-20 has received a handover command message, and that the handover command message has indicated the DAPS handover method proposed by the disclosure, or the DAPS handover method has been indicated with regard to specific bearers, or a PDCP reordering timer value has been newly configured. Then, when switching from the first PDCP layer device structure or function 9-11 or 9-12 to the second PDCP layer device structure or function 9-20 proposed by the disclosure with regard to each bearer or with regard to the bearer for which the DAPS handover method has been indicated, the UE 8-20 may update the parameter for reordering to “PDCP sequence number expected to be received next time or count value”, may stop the reordering timer, and may restart the same. In addition, when the UE 8-20 has received a handover command message (for example, RRCReconfiguration message), the RRC layer device of the UE may start the first timer (for example, T304). The first timer may be stopped if the UE 8-20 performs a procedure of random access to the target eNB 8-10 in order to perform a hand over, and if the random access procedure is successfully completed (for example, the first condition proposed by the disclosure is satisfied)” Examiner’s Analysis: bearer is being construed as logical connections); maintain, during the handover, the first logical connection and second logical connections with dual protocol stacks for the source base station group and the target base station group (see par. 0044: “If a UE is configured to transmit or receive data (transmit and receive uplink or downlink data) with a source base station through respective protocol layer devices (physical (PHY) layer device, medium access control (MAC) layer device, radio link control (RLC) layer device, or PDCP layer device) of multiple first bearers, and if the UE receives a handover command message (or RRC reconfiguration message) from the source base station, the UE may configure protocol layer devices of multiple new second bearers corresponding to the protocol layers of the multiple first bearers (for example, having the same bearer identifier), and may transmit/receive data (transmit and receive uplink or downlink data) while seamlessly maintaining continuous transmission or reception of data (transmission or reception of uplink or downlink data) with the source base station through the multiple first bearers” Examiner’s Analysis: the UE creates new multiple second bearers (e.g. to connect with the target base station) while maintaining the connection to the source base station); release the first and second logical connections with the source base station group to complete the handover and reconfiguring the wireless device for packet duplication with the target base station group wherein the wireless device exchanges duplicate packets with one or more target base stations in the target base station group using the first and second logical connections (see par. 0243: “The UE 8-20 may determine that the random access procedure has been successfully completed, and that the second condition is satisfied, if the UE 8-20 transmits message 3 (for example, handover completion message or RRCReconfigurationComplete message) by using the uplink transmission resource of the target eNB 8-10, and if the UE 8-20 receives a UE identify confirmation MAC CE from the target eNB 8-10 through message 4, or if the UE 8-20 receives an uplink transmission resource through a PDCCH corresponding to the C-RNTI of the UE 8-20” and par. 0247: “The UE 8-20 may release the first bearer for the source eNB 8-05 and may disconnect from the source eNB 8-05”).
Consider claim 67, KIM discloses a source base station group configured to handover a wireless device for packet duplication to a target base station group, the source base station group comprising: communication circuitry (fig. 12: #12-10) for communicating with a wireless device in a wireless communication network; and processing circuitry (fig. 12: #12-20) operatively coupled to the communication circuitry and configured to (see figs. 1 and 12, par. 0168: “The UE may configure multiple first bearers with the source eNB and may transmit/receive data (transmit and receive uplink or downlink data) through respective protocol layer devices (PHY layer device, MAC layer device, RLC layer device, or PDPC layer device) of each of the bearers. However, it will be assumed in the following description and in the drawings, for convenience of description, that the UE has one bearer. Obviously, in spite of such assumption in the illustration and description, the following description is equally applicable to a situation in which the UE configures multiple bearers and operates accordingly” Examiner’s Analysis: bearer is being construed as logical connections): determine a need to handover a wireless device (see par. 0145: “The source eNB determines, based on the measurement information, whether or not the UE is to conduct a handover to an adjacent cell”); send a handover command to the wireless device to initiate handover to the target base station group while the wireless device is configured for packet duplication wherein the wireless device exchanges duplicate packets with the source base station group using first and second logical connections (see fig. 8, par. 0055: “The ENBs 1-05 to 1-20 in FIG. 1 correspond to existing nodes B in a universal mobile telecommunication system (UMTS) system. The ENBs are connected to the UE 1-35 through a radio channel, and perform more complicated roles than existing nodes B. In the LTE system, user traffic is provided through a shared channel in connection with all services, including a real-time service such as voice over IP (VoIP) through the Internet protocol.” and par. 0170: “… As another method, the UE 7-20 may continuously transmit/receive data with the source eNB 7-05 in order to minimize the data interruption time occurring during a handover according to the handover method indicated by the source eNB …,” par. 0292: “”…if the UE applies the structure and function 9-11 of the first PDCP layer device to a PDCP layer device (for example, E-UTRA PDCP layer device or LTE PDCP layer device) configured as a split bearer, packet duplication bearer…(Examiner’s Analysis: paragraph 55 discloses multiple base stations (e.g., group of base stations); paragraph 168 clearly states “The UE may configure multiple first bearers…” and “However, it will be assumed in the following description and in the drawings, for convenience of description, that the UE has one bearer…” So, paragraphs 170 and 292 discloses continuously transmit/receive during handover message implementing a PDCP layer device or LTE PDCP layer device configured as a split bearer, packet duplication bearer, which when taking into account paragraph 168, we can apply the multiple first bearers configuration); maintain the first logical connection and the second logical connection with the wireless device while the wireless device duplicates the first and second logical connections with a target base station group (see par. 0044: “If a UE is configured to transmit or receive data (transmit and receive uplink or downlink data) with a source base station through respective protocol layer devices (physical (PHY) layer device, medium access control (MAC) layer device, radio link control (RLC) layer device, or PDCP layer device) of multiple first bearers, and if the UE receives a handover command message (or RRC reconfiguration message) from the source base station, the UE may configure protocol layer devices of multiple new second bearers corresponding to the protocol layers of the multiple first bearers (for example, having the same bearer identifier), and may transmit/receive data (transmit and receive uplink or downlink data) while seamlessly maintaining continuous transmission or reception of data (transmission or reception of uplink or downlink data) with the source base station through the multiple first bearers” Examiner’s Analysis: the UE creates new multiple second bearers (e.g. to connect with the target base station) while maintaining the connection to the source base station); receive a handover message from the target base station group indicating successful handover; and responsive to the handover message, release the first logical connection and second logical connections with the wireless device (see par. 0243: “The UE 8-20 may determine that the random access procedure has been successfully completed, and that the second condition is satisfied, if the UE 8-20 transmits message 3 (for example, handover completion message or RRCReconfigurationComplete message) by using the uplink transmission resource of the target eNB 8-10, and if the UE 8-20 receives a UE identify confirmation MAC CE from the target eNB 8-10 through message 4, or if the UE 8-20 receives an uplink transmission resource through a PDCCH corresponding to the C-RNTI of the UE 8-20” and par. 0247: “The UE 8-20 may release the first bearer for the source eNB 8-05 and may disconnect from the source eNB 8-05”).
Consider claim 68, KIM discloses a target base station group configured to handover wireless device configured for packet duplication from a source base station group, the target base station group comprising: communication circuitry (fig. 12: #12-10) for communicating with a wireless device in a wireless communication network; and processing circuitry (fig. 12: #12-20) operatively coupled to the communication circuitry and configured to (see figs. 1 and 12, par. 0168: “The UE may configure multiple first bearers with the source eNB and may transmit/receive data (transmit and receive uplink or downlink data) through respective protocol layer devices (PHY layer device, MAC layer device, RLC layer device, or PDPC layer device) of each of the bearers. However, it will be assumed in the following description and in the drawings, for convenience of description, that the UE has one bearer. Obviously, in spite of such assumption in the illustration and description, the following description is equally applicable to a situation in which the UE configures multiple bearers and operates accordingly” Examiner’s Analysis: bearer is being construed as logical connections): receive a handover request message for a wireless device configured to perform packet duplication wherein the wireless device exchanges duplicate packets with the source base station group using first and second logical connections (see fig. 8, par. 0055: “The ENBs 1-05 to 1-20 in FIG. 1 correspond to existing nodes B in a universal mobile telecommunication system (UMTS) system. The ENBs are connected to the UE 1-35 through a radio channel, and perform more complicated roles than existing nodes B. In the LTE system, user traffic is provided through a shared channel in connection with all services, including a real-time service such as voice over IP (VoIP) through the Internet protocol.” and par. 0170: “… As another method, the UE 7-20 may continuously transmit/receive data with the source eNB 7-05 in order to minimize the data interruption time occurring during a handover according to the handover method indicated by the source eNB …,” par. 0292: “”…if the UE applies the structure and function 9-11 of the first PDCP layer device to a PDCP layer device (for example, E-UTRA PDCP layer device or LTE PDCP layer device) configured as a split bearer, packet duplication bearer…(Examiner’s Analysis: paragraph 55 discloses multiple base stations (e.g., group of base stations); paragraph 168 clearly states “The UE may configure multiple first bearers…” and “However, it will be assumed in the following description and in the drawings, for convenience of description, that the UE has one bearer…” So, paragraphs 170 and 292 discloses continuously transmit/receive during handover message implementing a PDCP layer device or LTE PDCP layer device configured as a split bearer, packet duplication bearer, which when taking into account paragraph 168, we can apply the multiple first bearers configuration); responsive to the handover request message, establish dual active protocol stacks (DAPS) at a target base station group for both the first and second logical connections while the wireless device continues to exchange data with the source base station group (see par. 0176: “it will be assumed that the UE 8-20 has received a handover command message, and that the handover command message has indicated the DAPS handover method proposed by the disclosure, or the DAPS handover method has been indicated with regard to specific bearers, or a PDCP reordering timer value has been newly configured. Then, when switching from the first PDCP layer device structure or function 9-11 or 9-12 to the second PDCP layer device structure or function 9-20 proposed by the disclosure with regard to each bearer or with regard to the bearer for which the DAPS handover method has been indicated, the UE 8-20 may update the parameter for reordering to “PDCP sequence number expected to be received next time or count value”, may stop the reordering timer, and may restart the same. In addition, when the UE 8-20 has received a handover command message (for example, RRCReconfiguration message), the RRC layer device of the UE may start the first timer (for example, T304). The first timer may be stopped if the UE 8-20 performs a procedure of random access to the target eNB 8-10 in order to perform a hand over, and if the random access procedure is successfully completed (for example, the first condition proposed by the disclosure is satisfied)” Examiner’s Analysis: bearer is being construed as logical connections); and send a release command to the wireless device to release the first and second logical connections with the source base station group (20S, 500) to complete the handover (see par. 0243: “The UE 8-20 may determine that the random access procedure has been successfully completed, and that the second condition is satisfied, if the UE 8-20 transmits message 3 (for example, handover completion message or RRCReconfigurationComplete message) by using the uplink transmission resource of the target eNB 8-10, and if the UE 8-20 receives a UE identify confirmation MAC CE from the target eNB 8-10 through message 4, or if the UE 8-20 receives an uplink transmission resource through a PDCCH corresponding to the C-RNTI of the UE 8-20” and par. 0247: “The UE 8-20 may release the first bearer for the source eNB 8-05 and may disconnect from the source eNB 8-05”).
Allowable Subject Matter
7. Claim(s) 52 and 53 (is/are) objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
8. The following prior arts are made of record and not relied upon, but is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure:
US 20230284113 A1: discloses receiving a RRC reconfiguration message, wherein the RRC reconfiguration message includes DAPS configuration information and a reconfiguration with synchronization information element; synchronizing to a target master node (MN); synchronizing to a target secondary node (SN) in response to a bearer associated with a secondary cell group (SCG) being configured.
US 20200205050 A1: discloses providing an improved packet duplication procedure during handover, in which different entities (UE, gNBs) are participating.
If attempts to reach the Examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the Examiner’s supervisor, Rafael Pérez-Gutiérrez can be reached at (571) 272-7915. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is (571) 273-8300.
/MARCOS BATISTA/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2642
January 20, 2026