The preliminary amendment filed on 5/15/2023 has been fully considered and made of record in this application.
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of claims 1-19 in the reply filed on 4/2/2026 is acknowledged.
Claims 20 and 21 withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected product claim, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 4/2/226.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 7/17/2023, 7/8/2024, 12/23/2024, and 4/17/2025 were filed after the mailing date of the Non-final rejection on4/18/2026. The submission is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Drawings
The formal drawings filed on 5/15/2023 have approved by the examiner.
Specification
Applicant is reminded of the proper content of an abstract of the disclosure.
A patent abstract is a concise statement of the technical disclosure of the patent and should include that which is new in the art to which the invention pertains. The abstract should not refer to purported merits or speculative applications of the invention and should not compare the invention with the prior art.
If the patent is of a basic nature, the entire technical disclosure may be new in the art, and the abstract should be directed to the entire disclosure. If the patent is in the nature of an improvement in an old apparatus, process, product, or composition, the abstract should include the technical disclosure of the improvement. The abstract should also mention by way of example any preferred modifications or alternatives.
Where applicable, the abstract should include the following: (1) if a machine or apparatus, its organization and operation; (2) if an article, its method of making; (3) if a chemical compound, its identity and use; (4) if a mixture, its ingredients; (5) if a process, the steps.
Extensive mechanical and design details of an apparatus should not be included in the abstract. The abstract should be in narrative form and generally limited to a single paragraph within the range of 50 to 150 words in length.
See MPEP § 608.01(b) for guidelines for the preparation of patent abstracts.
The title of the invention is not descriptive. A new title is required that is clearly indicative of the invention to which the claims are directed.
The following title is suggested: “METHOD OF MOUNTING A MOSFET TO LEADFRAME FOR HIGH POWER PACKAGE”.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 8 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
In claim 8, the phrase “printed circuit board is mounted onto a fixture” is vague and indefinite since it is not clear from the claim if the fixture is part of the lead frame or a different structural element.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 2, and 5-12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being clearly anticipated by Harnden et al. (US 2011/0291254).
With respect to Claims 1, 2, and 5, Harnden teaches forming a stamping out of a sheet of thick conductive material, the stamping including a lead frame (i.e. leads 301 made of CU) portion and at least first and second electronic component mounting contacts 204 coupled to the lead frame portion by fingers 301. Attaching an electronic component 300 (i.e. MOSFET) to the first and second electronic component mounting contacts 204 to form an assembly. The electronic component having a plurality of terminals 306, wherein one of the plurality of terminals of the electronic component (i.e. center ball 306 which is attached to tie bar) is not attached to the first and second electronic component mounting contacts 204 (see paragraphs 4, 55-61, and 79; Figs. 2 and 3).
With respect to Claim 6, Harnden teaches mounting the assembly to a printed circuit board and electrically coupling the contacts with the printed circuit board (see paragraph 69).
With respect to Claim 7, Harnden teaches the contacts are coupled with the
printed circuit board by one or more of solder 306, fasteners and wire or ribbon bond (see paragraph 69; Figs. 2 and 3).
With respect to Claim 9, Harnden teaches the printed circuit board is
proximate to the contacts 204 since the device is directly attached to the printed circuit board (see paragraph 4 and 69).
With respect to Claim 10, Harnden teaches the printed circuit board partially
lays on top of the contacts 204 (see paragraphs 4 and 69).
With respect to Claim 11, Harnden teaches coupling the one of the
plurality of terminals 304 of the electronic component 300 to the printed circuit board (see paragraphs 4 and 69).
With respect to Claim 12, Harnden teaches the one of the plurality of
terminals 306 of the electronic component 300 is coupled with the printed circuit board by one of solder and wire or ribbon bond (see paragraphs 4 and 69; Figs. 2 and 3).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 3 and 4 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Harnden et al. (US 2011/0291254) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Tsui et al. (US 2012/0181676).
With respect to Claims 3 and 4, Harnden discloses the claimed invention except for the sheet having a thickness of about 100 microns to about 3,000 microns or about
500 microns to about 800 microns.
However, Tsui discloses a sheet 202 made of copper used for a lead frame having a thickness of 20 mils = 508 microns (see paragraph 59). Thus, Harnden and Tsui have substantially the same environment of a lead frame that has been stamped and used for supporting a semiconductor device. Therefore, one skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to substitute the lead frame sheet with the claimed thickness for the sheet of Harnden, since the sheet for the lead frame would facilitate a reliable support for mounting and electrically connecting a chip to a lead frame as taught by Tsui.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 13-19 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected
base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the
limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowance subject
matter: none of the prior art of record teaches or suggest the combination of
removing the lead frame portion and fingers after the assembly is mounted to
the printed circuit board to form a second assembly. Overmolding the second assembly
in claim 13.
Prior to attaching the electronic component to the first and second electronic component mounting contacts. Molding a dielectric carrier to the stamping; and
thereafter removing the lead frame portion and fingers in claims 14.
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is cited primarily to show the
product of the instant invention.
Conclusion
Any inquiry concerning the communication or earlier communications from the
examiner should be directed to Alonzo Chambliss whose telephone number is (571)
272-1927.
supervisor, Jacob Y. Choi can be reached on (469) 295-9060. The fax phone number
for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is (571) 273-8300.
Patent Application Information Retrieval (PAIR) system Status information for published
applications may be obtained from either Private PMR or Public PMR.
Status information for unpublished applications is available through Private PMR
only. For more information about the PMR system see hittp://pair-dkect.uspto. gov.
Should you have questions on access to the Private PMR system contact the
Electronic Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free).
AC/April 18, 2026 /Alonzo Chambliss/
Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2897