DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement filed on 05/15/2023 has been acknowledged and a signed copy of the PTO-1449 is attached herein.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-5, 7-10, and 22 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by OOI et al. (WO 2020/170166 A1, hereinafter “OOI”).
In regards to claim 1, OOI discloses (See, for example, Figs. 1 and 2) an optical converting receiver for changing a visible light beam into a near-infrared, NIR, light beam, the optical converting receiver comprising:
a substrate (102);
a non-silicon-based optical element (110) located on the substrate (102) and configured to receive the visible light beam (141) and convert the visible light beam into the NIR light beam (See, for example, Abstract);
a silicon-based optical element (122) located on the substrate (102) and optically coupled to the non-silicon-based optical element (110), the silicon-based optical element (122) being configured to propagate the NIR light beam (See, or example, Par [0034]); and
a photodetector (130) located on the substrate (102) and optically coupled to the silicon-based optical element (122), the photodetector (130) being configured to convert the NIR light beam into an electrical signal (See, for example, Par [0037]).
In regards to claim 22, OOI discloses (See, for example, Figs. 1 and 2) a visible light-based communication method, the method comprising:
generating a visible light beam (‘generated with the light source 141’, See Par [0054]); encoding the visible light beam with data (“encoded in the incoming optical light 140’, see Par [0037]);
emitting encoded visible light beam (‘the incoming light 140 is then received…’, See for example, Par [0054]);
receiving the encoded visible light beam (140) at a polymer-based optical element (110);
converting (See, for example, Par [0038]) the encoded visible light beam (140) into an encoded near-infrared, NIR, light beam with quantum dots (212)located within the polymer-based optical element (110);
transmitting the encoded NIR light beam to a photodetector (130) to generate an electrical signal (‘…then to supply the output light 142, having the second wavelength, to the photodiode 130 for detection and decoding…’, See, for example, Par [0038]); and
decoding the electrical signal with a processor to extract the encoded data (‘…electrical signal 144, which is provided to the electronics 150 for decoding…’, See, for example, Par [0037]).
In regards to claim 2, OOI discloses (See, for example, Fig. 2) the non-silicon-based optical (110) element includes (1) a transparent polymer (210/220) and (2) quantum dots (212) distributed within the transparent polymer and configured to change a first wavelength of the visible light beam to a second wavelength of the NIR light beam.
In regards to claim 3, OOI discloses (See, for example, Figs. 1 and 2) the first wavelength is between 400 and 680 nm and the second wavelength is between 750 nm and 2.0 μm (See, for example, Abstract).
In regards to claim 4, OOI discloses (See, for example, Figs 1 and 2) the non-silicon-based optical element (110) has one or more sidewalls and two end sides, and the visible light beam (140) enters through the one or more sidewalls of the non-silicon-based optical element.
In regards to claim 5, OOI discloses (See, for example, Figs. 1 and 2) the non-silicon-based optical element (110) is a polymer-based optical fiber (See, for example, Par [0034], and Par [0042]) and the silicon-based optical element (122) is a silica optical fiber.
In regards to claim 7, OOI discloses (See, for example, Figs. 1 and 2) the quantum dots (212) have at least one of a photoluminescence quantum yield of more than 50% and a radiative recombination lifetime of 10 ps to 1 ms (See, for example, Par [0035]).
In regards to claim 8, OOI discloses (See, for example, Figs. 1 and 2) the non-silicon-based optical element (110) is a polymer-based waveguide, and the silicon-based optical element (122) is a silica-based waveguide.
In regards to claim 9, OOI discloses (See, for example, Figs. 1 and 2) the polymer-based waveguide (110) has a cross-section area larger than a cross-section area (See, for example, Par [0034]) of the silica-based waveguide (122).
In regards to claim 10, OOI discloses (See, for example, Figs. 1 and 2) an optical coupler (120) optically coupling a first end of the polymer-based waveguide (110) to a first end of the silica-based waveguide (122).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 6 and 11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over OOI.
In regards to claim 6, OOI discloses (See, for example, Figs. 1 and 2) the quantum dots (212) include perovskite particles. But is silent about the quantum dots that include lead sulphide
However, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to employ a sulphide-based quantum dot (e.g., CdS, PbS, ZnS, CuInS₂, or Ag₂S) in place of the perovskite quantum dot of OOI because sulphide quantum dots are well-known functional equivalents that exhibit the same size-tunable bandgaps, quantum confinement effects, and photoluminescent properties suitable for optoelectronic applications. One of ordinary skill would have been motivated to select sulphide-based quantum dots for their superior ambient stability compared to moisture-sensitive perovskites, mature and well-optimized synthesis routes, broad spectral tunability from visible to near-infrared wavelengths. The selection of a sulphide quantum dot from among the finite number of recognized quantum dot material classes. MPEP § 2144.06.
In regards to claim 11, OOI discloses (See, for example, Figs. 1 and 2) the polymer-based waveguide (110).
However, OOI silent about a diffraction-grating-based surface coupler attached to a second end of the polymer-based waveguide to direct the visible light beam to the first end of the polymer-based waveguide.
Diffraction-grating based surface couplers are well-known and conventional optical coupling elements used to couple light into and out of planar waveguides.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to attach a diffraction-grating based surface coupler to the non-silicon based waveguide of OOI because grating couplers are recognized in the art as efficient means for coupling light between free-space optical sources and planar waveguide structures, offering advantages including relaxed alignment tolerances compared to edge coupling, and the ability to couple light at nearly vertical incidence angles which simplifies optical system integration. The use of diffraction-grating couplers with various waveguide material platforms, including non-silicon materials, is well-established in integrated photonics, and one of ordinary skill would have had a reasonable expectation of success in applying this known coupling technique to the waveguide structure of OOI to achieve predictable optical coupling functionality. See MPEP § 2144.03.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 12 is allowed over prior art of record.
In regards to claim 12, Elwell (USPN 9755741 B1) teaches an optical-based communication system comprising: a light source (112) configured to generate visible light;
a transmitter (108); an optical converting receiver (104) configured to receive another visible light beam; and a processor (102).
The following is an examiner' s statement of reasons for allowance: the prior art of record neither anticipates nor renders obvious the claimed subject matter of the instant application as a whole either taken alone or in combination, in particular, prior art of record does not teach a transmitter configured to receive the visible light and emit a mixture of a first visible light beam and a second visible light beam, wherein the first visible light beam is free of data and the second visible light beam is encoded to include data; an optical converting receiver configured to receive another visible light beam containing encoded data and convert the another visible light beam into a near-infrared, NIR, light beam; and a processor configured to encode the visible light and decode the NIR light beam.
Claims 13-21 are also allowed as being dependent of the allowed independent base claim.
Correspondence
/ERMIAS T WOLDEGEORGIS/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2893