DETAILED ACTION
Amendment to the claims was submitted on 02/13/2026, the objection to claim 8 is withdrawn.
Claim Status
Claims 1-17 are under consideration
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-3 and 7-14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Hiroi (US20100266951A1, published 2010).
Regarding claims 1-3 and 7-14,
Hiroi teaches a resist underlayer film forming composition comprising of a solvent and a linear polymer which may have the following structure with formula (7), where Y may be H or a C2-C10 alkyl, m1 is 1-4, n1 may be 0, Q may be a structure with formula (13), and t1 may be 0 [abstract, 0019], aligning with the instant polymer (X), reading on instant claims 1-3 and 7.
The polymer of Hiroi would also be expected to include the rightmost aromatic group at at least one end (terminal) of the polymer chain, reading on instant claim 8.
Hiroi teaches further including a crosslinker (crosslinking agent, instant film material (Z)) [0024], reading on instant claims 9-10.
Hiroi teaches further including a compound exhibiting acidity and/or a thermoacid generator as an additive [0025], reading on instant claim 11.
Hiroi teaches further including a surfactant [0026], reading on instant claim 12.
Hiroi teaches their solvent may be γ-butyrolactone (boiling point of 204 °C) [0022], reading on instant claim 13.
Hiroi teaches heating their coated composition to form a resist underlayer film [0058], reading on instant claim 14.
Claims 1-14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1)/(a)(2) as being anticipated by Ogata (WO2020184642A1, published 9/17/2020, references made to related US publication US20220155686A1).
The applied reference has a common assignee and two common inventors with the instant application. Based upon the earlier effectively filed date of the reference, it constitutes prior art under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2). This rejection under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) might be overcome by: (1) a showing under 37 CFR 1.130(a) that the subject matter disclosed in the reference was obtained directly or indirectly from the inventor or a joint inventor of this application and is thus not prior art in accordance with 35 U.S.C. 102(b)(2)(A); (2) a showing under 37 CFR 1.130(b) of a prior public disclosure under 35 U.S.C. 102(b)(2)(B) if the same invention is not being claimed; or (3) a statement pursuant to 35 U.S.C. 102(b)(2)(C) establishing that, not later than the effective filing date of the claimed invention, the subject matter disclosed in the reference and the claimed invention were either owned by the same person or subject to an obligation of assignment to the same person or subject to a joint research agreement.
Regarding claims 1-14,
Ogata teaches a resist underlayer film-forming composition comprising of a crosslinking compound and a solvent [abstract], where the compound may be the following [0055], reading on instant claims 1-7.
The polymer of Ogata would also be expected to include the rightmost aromatic group at at least one end (terminal) of the polymer chain, reading on instant claim 8.
Ogata teaches further including additional crosslinking agents [0376], reading on instant claims 9-10.
Ogata teaches further including an acid generator and a surfactant [0061], reading on instant claims 11-12.
Ogata teaches the solvent may be γ-butyrolactone (boiling point of 204 °C) [0120], reading on instant claim 13.
Ogata teaches applying and curing the resist underlayer film-forming composition on a semiconductor substrate to form a resist underlayer film [0390], reading on instant claim 14.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 15-16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hiroi (US20100266951A1, published 2010) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Tokunaga (WO 2018186310 A1, published 2018, references made to provided translation).
Regarding claims 15-16,
Hiroi teaches further steps of coating an overlying photoresist film, which is then exposed and developed [0067].
However, Hiroi fails to teach forming a hard mask or further processing or etching the underlayer or substrate.
Tokunaga, analogous art, teaches forming a lower layer film (underlayer film) using their composition onto a substrate, forming a hard mask layer, forming a resist film, patterning their resist film using exposure to light and development, etching the hard mask layer, etching the underlayer, and processing the semiconductor substrate [page 5 paragraph 10], reading on instant claims 15-16.
As both Hiroi and Tokunaga teach underlayer film forming compositions, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to try using the additional processing steps of Tokunaga with the composition and method of Hiroi.
Claim 17 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hiroi (US20100266951A1, published 2010) and Tokunaga (WO 2018186310 A1, published 2018, references made to provided translation) as applied to claim 15 above, and further in view of Minegishi (US 20120252217 A1, published 1012).
Regarding claim 17,
Hiroi fails to teach using a nanoimprint method to form their underlayer film.
Minegishi, analogous art, teaches a resist underlayer film forming composition, where a nanoimprint method may be used in forming their underlayer film [0094].
As both teach resist underlayer film forming compositions, it would be obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art that using the nanoimprint method of Minegishi with the composition of Hiroi would form an expected and comparable underlayer film, reading on instant claim 17.
That is, the substitution of the nanoimprint method of Minegishi for the underlayer formation method of Hiroi absent unexpected results, would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the instant application with the predictable result of forming an underlayer film. The simple substitution of one known element for another is likely to be obvious when predictable results are achieved. See KSR International Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 550 U.S. 398, 415-421, 82 USPQ2d 1385, 1395 – 97 (2007) (See MPEP § 2143, B).
Claim 15-16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ogata (WO2020184642A1, published 9/17/2020, references made to related US publication US20220155686A1) as applied to claim 15 above, and further in view of Tokunaga (WO 2018186310 A1, published 2018, references made to provided translation).
Regarding claims 15-16,
Ogata teaches forming a resist film on the resist underlayer film; forming a resist pattern by irradiation with light or an electron beam and development; etching the underlayer film through the resist pattern; and processing the semiconductor substrate using the patterned underlayer film [0045-0048].
Ogata fails to teach forming a hard mask or further processing or etching substrate.
Tokunaga, analogous art, teaches forming a lower layer film (underlayer film) using their composition onto a substrate, forming a hard mask layer, forming a resist film, patterning their resist film using exposure to light and development, etching the hard mask layer, etching the underlayer, and processing the semiconductor substrate [page 5 paragraph 10], reading on instant claims 15-16.
As both Ogata and Tokunaga teach underlayer film forming compositions, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to try using the additional processing steps of Tokunaga with the composition and method of Ogata.
Claim 17 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ogata (WO2020184642A1, published 9/17/2020, references made to related US publication US20220155686A1) as applied to claim 15 above, and further in view of Minegishi (US 20120252217 A1, published 1012).
Regarding claim 17,
Ogata fails to teach using a nanoimprint method to form their underlayer film.
Minegishi, analogous art, teaches a resist underlayer film forming composition, where a nanoimprint method may be used in forming their underlayer film [0094].
As both teach resist underlayer film forming compositions, it would be obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art that using the nanoimprint method of Minegishi with the composition of Ogata would form an expected and comparable underlayer film, reading on instant claim 17.
That is, the substitution of the nanoimprint method of Minegishi for the underlayer formation method of Ogata absent unexpected results, would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the instant application with the predictable result of forming an underlayer film. The simple substitution of one known element for another is likely to be obvious when predictable results are achieved. See KSR International Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 550 U.S. 398, 415-421, 82 USPQ2d 1385, 1395 – 97 (2007) (See MPEP § 2143, B).
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments filed 02/13/2026 with respect to the 102 and 103 rejections of claims 1-17 have been fully considered and are persuasive. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection is made in view of Hiroi and Ogata.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/A.N.L./Examiner, Art Unit 1737
/MARK F. HUFF/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1737