Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 32-33, 37-38, 40-44, 48, and 50-51 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Roy et al. US 20170223552 A1 (Domestic Priority August 28, 2012).
Regarding claim 32 (New), Roy discloses a method in a network node (see, millimeter wave base station (mB) to appropriately select a modified beam based on the prediction of positions of a Wireless Transmit/Receive Unit (WTRU), section 0071) of selecting one or more beams for communication with a wireless device and/or measurement by the wireless device (see, mB has two beams and may select a beam based on WTRU movement, section 0107), the method comprising: determining an indication of a location of a wireless device (see, triangulation of information such as doppler effect of a moving WTRU where measured power from a stationary mB can increase and decrease can be used to determine its location, section 0073; noted, by measuring the difference in power due to the movement of the WTRU with respect to all the possible mBs in range, the movement of the WTRU may be tracked, section 0074); determining an indication of motion of the wireless device (see, Doppler Effect occurs when an object, such as a WTRU, moves with respect to another stationary object (mB), section 0072); determining probabilities that the wireless device will move along each of a plurality of routes (see, information can be used to make a prediction to which direction WTRU may be moving and with what speed, narrowing the possibilities of beams that may be used to make a link, which may enable mB to determine the best beam for communicating with WTRU, section 0096) based on the indication of location of the wireless device (see, triangulation of information such as doppler effect of a moving WTRU where measured power from a stationary mB can increase and decrease can be used to determine its location, section 0073; noted, by measuring the difference in power due to the movement of the WTRU with respect to all the possible mBs in range, the movement of the WTRU may be tracked, section 0074) and the indication of motion of the wireless device (see, Doppler Effect occurs when an object, such as a WTRU, moves with respect to another stationary object (mB), section 0072); and selecting one or more beams served by a base station for communication with the wireless device (see, mB select a beam based on WTRU movement based in estimated position of WTRU where the uncertainty region is smaller than the beam coverage, section 0107) and/or measurement by the wireless device based on the probabilities (see, directional signal strength measurements and location and orientation information fed back by WTRU, section 0107).
Regarding claim 33 (New), Roy discloses the method of claim 32, wherein determining probabilities that the wireless device will move along each of a plurality of routes (see, information can be used to make a prediction to which direction WTRU may be moving and with what speed, narrowing the possibilities of beams that may be used to make a link, which may enable mB to determine the best beam for communicating with WTRU, section 0096) based on the indication of location (see, triangulation of information such as doppler effect of a moving WTRU where measured power from a stationary mB can increase and decrease can be used to determine its location, section 0073; noted, by measuring the difference in power due to the movement of the WTRU with respect to all the possible mBs in range, the movement of the WTRU may be tracked, section 0074) and the indication of motion of the wireless device (see, Doppler Effect occurs when an object, such as a WTRU, moves with respect to another stationary object (mB), section 0072) comprises determining a respective probability that the wireless device will move along each of the plurality of routes (see, mB can use the recent history of beams such as through beam ID that is used by a WTRU on a database to determine the optimal beam to use, section 0109) based on the indication of location and the indication of motion of the wireless device (see, the historical data of beams is based on the possible paths of movement by the WTRU, section 0109).
Regarding claim 37 (New), Roy discloses the method of claim 32, further comprising: determining a proximity of the wireless device to a junction of two or more of the routes (see, position decides the strongest beam and thus the optimal beam to use, section 0109) based on the indication of the location of the wireless device (see, directional signal strength measurements and location and orientation information fed back by a WTRU historical data may also be used for WTRU tracking and may allow logical predictions to be made as to the direction that a WTRU may move, section 0109); and sending an instruction to the wireless device to: obtain the indication of motion of the wireless device from one or more sensors of the wireless device at a first rate based on the proximity (see, signal strength is measured using the Doppler effect where WTRU is moving toward a stationary observer, each successive wave crest may be emitted from a position closer to the stationary observer than the previous wave and thus decrease arrival time, section 0072; noted, WTRU is moving away from the stationary observer, each wave may be emitted from a position farther from the stationary observer than the previous wave, and as a result, the arrival time between successive waves is increased, section 0072; noted, while the WTRU is moving, the distance between successive wave fronts may be reduced, so the waves appear to bunch together, section 0072); and/or report the indication of motion of the wireless device to the network node at a second rate based on the proximity (see, signal strength is measured using the Doppler effect where WTRU is moving toward a stationary observer, each successive wave crest may be emitted from a position closer to the stationary observer than the previous wave and thus decrease arrival time, section 0072; noted, WTRU is moving away from the stationary observer, each wave may be emitted from a position farther from the stationary observer than the previous wave, and as a result, the arrival time between successive waves is increased, section 0072; noted, while the WTRU is moving, the distance between successive wave fronts may be reduced, so the waves appear to bunch together, section 0072); and/or report the indication of the location of the wireless device to the network node at a third rate based on the proximity (see, signal strength is measured using the Doppler effect where WTRU is moving toward a stationary observer, each successive wave crest may be emitted from a position closer to the stationary observer than the previous wave and thus decrease arrival time, section 0072; noted, WTRU is moving away from the stationary observer, each wave may be emitted from a position farther from the stationary observer than the previous wave, and as a result, the arrival time between successive waves is increased, section 0072; noted, while the WTRU is moving, the distance between successive wave fronts may be reduced, so the waves appear to bunch together, section 0072).
Regarding claim 38 (New), Roy discloses the method of claim 37, wherein the first rate, the second rate, and/or the third rate is higher for a shorter proximity (see, signal strength is measured using the Doppler effect where WTRU is moving toward a stationary observer, each successive wave crest may be emitted from a position closer to the stationary observer than the previous wave and thus decrease arrival time, section 0072).
Regarding claim 40 (New), Roy discloses the method of claim 32, wherein selecting one or more beams served by a base station for communication with the wireless device (see, mB select a beam based on WTRU movement based in estimated position of WTRU where the uncertainty region is smaller than the beam coverage, section 0107) and/or measurement by the wireless device based on the probabilities (see, directional signal strength measurements and location and orientation information fed back by WTRU, section 0107) comprises selecting a wide beam (fig. 16, WTRU 1601 may maintain a mapping of narrow beams 1603 and wide beams 1602, section 0146) and at least one narrow beam within the wide beam (fig. 16, WTRU 1601 may maintain a mapping of narrow beams 1603 and wide beams 1602, section 0146; noted, narrow beams within the wide beam, fig. 16).
Regarding claim 41 (New), Roy discloses a method, implemented by a wireless device, the method comprising: determining a proximity of the wireless device to a junction of two or more of a plurality of routes (see, position decides the strongest beam and thus the optimal beam to use, section 0109) based on a location of the wireless device (see, directional signal strength measurements and location and orientation information fed back by a WTRU historical data may also be used for WTRU tracking and may allow logical predictions to be made as to the direction that a WTRU may move, section 0109); and determining motion of the wireless device from one or more sensors of the wireless device at a first rate based on the proximity (see, signal strength is measured using the Doppler effect where WTRU is moving toward a stationary observer, each successive wave crest may be emitted from a position closer to the stationary observer than the previous wave and thus decrease arrival time, section 0072; noted, WTRU is moving away from the stationary observer, each wave may be emitted from a position farther from the stationary observer than the previous wave, and as a result, the arrival time between successive waves is increased, section 0072; noted, while the WTRU is moving, the distance between successive wave fronts may be reduced, so the waves appear to bunch together, section 0072), determining a location of the wireless device at a second rate based on the proximity (see, signal strength is measured using the Doppler effect where WTRU is moving toward a stationary observer, each successive wave crest may be emitted from a position closer to the stationary observer than the previous wave and thus decrease arrival time, section 0072; noted, WTRU is moving away from the stationary observer, each wave may be emitted from a position farther from the stationary observer than the previous wave, and as a result, the arrival time between successive waves is increased, section 0072; noted, while the WTRU is moving, the distance between successive wave fronts may be reduced, so the waves appear to bunch together, section 0072), and/or reporting an indication of the motion and/or location of the wireless device to a network node at a third rate based on the proximity (see, signal strength is measured using the Doppler effect where WTRU is moving toward a stationary observer, each successive wave crest may be emitted from a position closer to the stationary observer than the previous wave and thus decrease arrival time, section 0072; noted, WTRU is moving away from the stationary observer, each wave may be emitted from a position farther from the stationary observer than the previous wave, and as a result, the arrival time between successive waves is increased, section 0072; noted, while the WTRU is moving, the distance between successive wave fronts may be reduced, so the waves appear to bunch together, section 0072).
Regarding claim 42 (New), Roy discloses the method of claim 41, wherein the first rate, the second rate and/or the third rate is higher for a shorter proximity (see, signal strength is measured using the Doppler effect where WTRU is moving toward a stationary observer, each successive wave crest may be emitted from a position closer to the stationary observer than the previous wave and thus decrease arrival time, section 0072).
Regarding claim 43 (New), Roy discloses a network node comprising: processing circuitry and a memory (fig. 1B, WTRU 102 may include a processor, section 0052; noted, processor of the WTRU may access information from the memory, section 0057), the memory containing instructions executable by the processing circuitry (fig. 1B, processor 118 may access information from, and store data in, any type of suitable memory, section 0057) such that the processing circuitry is configured to: determine an indication of a location of a wireless device (fig. 1B, WTRU 102 may include a global positioning system (GPS) chipset 136, section 0052); determine an indication of motion of the wireless device (see, Doppler Effect occurs when an object, such as a WTRU, moves with respect to another stationary object (mB), section 0072); determine probabilities that the wireless device will move along each of a plurality of routes (see, information can be used to make a prediction to which direction WTRU may be moving and with what speed, narrowing the possibilities of beams that may be used to make a link, which may enable mB to determine the best beam for communicating with WTRU, section 0096) based on the indication of location of the wireless device (see, triangulation of information such as doppler effect of a moving WTRU where measured power from a stationary mB can increase and decrease can be used to determine its location, section 0073; noted, by measuring the difference in power due to the movement of the WTRU with respect to all the possible mBs in range, the movement of the WTRU may be tracked, section 0074) and the indication of motion of the wireless device (see, Doppler Effect occurs when an object, such as a WTRU, moves with respect to another stationary object (mB), section 0072); and select one or more beams served by a base station for communication with the wireless device (see, mB select a beam based on WTRU movement based in estimated position of WTRU where the uncertainty region is smaller than the beam coverage, section 0107) and/or measurement by the wireless device based on the probabilities (see, directional signal strength measurements and location and orientation information fed back by WTRU, section 0107).
Regarding claim 44 (New), Roy discloses the network node of claim 43, wherein the processing circuitry is further configured to determine probabilities that the wireless device will move along each of a plurality of routes (see, information can be used to make a prediction to which direction WTRU may be moving and with what speed, narrowing the possibilities of beams that may be used to make a link, which may enable mB to determine the best beam for communicating with WTRU, section 0096) based on the indication of location (see, triangulation of information such as doppler effect of a moving WTRU where measured power from a stationary mB can increase and decrease can be used to determine its location, section 0073; noted, by measuring the difference in power due to the movement of the WTRU with respect to all the possible mBs in range, the movement of the WTRU may be tracked, section 0074) and the indication of motion of the wireless device (see, Doppler Effect occurs when an object, such as a WTRU, moves with respect to another stationary object (mB), section 0072) by determining a respective probability that the wireless device will move along each of the plurality of routes (see, mB can use the recent history of beams such as through beam ID that is used by a WTRU on a database to determine the optimal beam to use, section 0109) based on the indication of location and the indication of motion of the wireless device (see, the historical data of beams is based on the possible paths of movement by the WTRU, section 0109).
Regarding claim 48 (New), Roy discloses the network node of claim 43, wherein the processing circuitry is further configured to: determine a proximity of the wireless device to a junction of two or more of the routes (see, position decides the strongest beam and thus the optimal beam to use, section 0109) based on the indication of the location of the wireless device (see, directional signal strength measurements and location and orientation information fed back by a WTRU historical data may also be used for WTRU tracking and may allow logical predictions to be made as to the direction that a WTRU may move, section 0109); and send an instruction to the wireless device to obtain the indication of motion of the wireless device from one or more sensors of the wireless device at a first rate based on the proximity (see, signal strength is measured using the Doppler effect where WTRU is moving toward a stationary observer, each successive wave crest may be emitted from a position closer to the stationary observer than the previous wave and thus decrease arrival time, section 0072; noted, WTRU is moving away from the stationary observer, each wave may be emitted from a position farther from the stationary observer than the previous wave, and as a result, the arrival time between successive waves is increased, section 0072; noted, while the WTRU is moving, the distance between successive wave fronts may be reduced, so the waves appear to bunch together, section 0072), and/or report the indication of motion of the wireless device to the network node at a second rate based on the proximity (see, signal strength is measured using the Doppler effect where WTRU is moving toward a stationary observer, each successive wave crest may be emitted from a position closer to the stationary observer than the previous wave and thus decrease arrival time, section 0072; noted, WTRU is moving away from the stationary observer, each wave may be emitted from a position farther from the stationary observer than the previous wave, and as a result, the arrival time between successive waves is increased, section 0072; noted, while the WTRU is moving, the distance between successive wave fronts may be reduced, so the waves appear to bunch together, section 0072), and/or report the indication of the location of the wireless device to the network node at a third rate based on the proximity (see, signal strength is measured using the Doppler effect where WTRU is moving toward a stationary observer, each successive wave crest may be emitted from a position closer to the stationary observer than the previous wave and thus decrease arrival time, section 0072; noted, WTRU is moving away from the stationary observer, each wave may be emitted from a position farther from the stationary observer than the previous wave, and as a result, the arrival time between successive waves is increased, section 0072; noted, while the WTRU is moving, the distance between successive wave fronts may be reduced, so the waves appear to bunch together, section 0072).
Regarding claim 50 (New), Roy discloses the network node of claim 43, wherein the processing circuitry is further configured to select one or more beams served by a base station for communication with the wireless device (see, mB select a beam based on WTRU movement based in estimated position of WTRU where the uncertainty region is smaller than the beam coverage, section 0107) and/or measurement by the wireless device based on the probabilities (see, directional signal strength measurements and location and orientation information fed back by WTRU, section 0107) by selecting a wide beam (fig. 16, WTRU 1601 may maintain a mapping of narrow beams 1603 and wide beams 1602, section 0146) and at least one narrow beam within the wide beam (fig. 16, WTRU 1601 may maintain a mapping of narrow beams 1603 and wide beams 1602, section 0146; noted, narrow beams within the wide beam, fig. 16).
Regarding claim 51 (New), Roy discloses a wireless device comprising: processing circuitry and a memory (fig. 1B, WTRU 102 may include a processor, section 0052; noted, processor of the WTRU may access information from the memory, section 0057), the memory containing instructions executable by the processing circuitry (fig. 1B, processor 118 may access information from, and store data in, any type of suitable memory, section 0057) such that the processing circuitry is configured to: determine a proximity of the wireless device to a junction of two or more of a plurality of routes (see, position decides the strongest beam and thus the optimal beam to use, section 0109) based on a location of the wireless device (see, directional signal strength measurements and location and orientation information fed back by a WTRU historical data may also be used for WTRU tracking and may allow logical predictions to be made as to the direction that a WTRU may move, section 0109); and determine motion of the wireless device from one or more sensors of the wireless device at a first rate based on the proximity (see, signal strength is measured using the Doppler effect where WTRU is moving toward a stationary observer, each successive wave crest may be emitted from a position closer to the stationary observer than the previous wave and thus decrease arrival time, section 0072; noted, WTRU is moving away from the stationary observer, each wave may be emitted from a position farther from the stationary observer than the previous wave, and as a result, the arrival time between successive waves is increased, section 0072; noted, while the WTRU is moving, the distance between successive wave fronts may be reduced, so the waves appear to bunch together, section 0072), determining a location of the wireless device at a second rate based on the proximity (see, signal strength is measured using the Doppler effect where WTRU is moving toward a stationary observer, each successive wave crest may be emitted from a position closer to the stationary observer than the previous wave and thus decrease arrival time, section 0072; noted, WTRU is moving away from the stationary observer, each wave may be emitted from a position farther from the stationary observer than the previous wave, and as a result, the arrival time between successive waves is increased, section 0072; noted, while the WTRU is moving, the distance between successive wave fronts may be reduced, so the waves appear to bunch together, section 0072), and/or reporting an indication of the motion and/or location of the wireless device to a network node at a third rate based on the proximity (see, signal strength is measured using the Doppler effect where WTRU is moving toward a stationary observer, each successive wave crest may be emitted from a position closer to the stationary observer than the previous wave and thus decrease arrival time, section 0072; noted, WTRU is moving away from the stationary observer, each wave may be emitted from a position farther from the stationary observer than the previous wave, and as a result, the arrival time between successive waves is increased, section 0072; noted, while the WTRU is moving, the distance between successive wave fronts may be reduced, so the waves appear to bunch together, section 0072).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 34 and 45 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Roy et al. US 20170223552 A1 (Domestic Priority August 28, 2012) in view of Sahin et al. US 20160330643 A1 (Domestic Priority January 13, 2014).
Roy discloses all claim limitations but fail to explicitly disclose: Regarding claim 34 (New), the method of claim 32, wherein the indication of motion of the wireless device comprises one or more of a velocity of the wireless device, a direction of the wireless device, a change in location of the wireless device, a change in speed of the wireless device, a speed of the wireless device and data from an inertial motion unit (IMU) of the wireless device.
However Sahin from a similar field of endeavor discloses: the method of claim 32, wherein the indication of motion of the wireless device comprises one or more of a velocity of the wireless device (see, WTRU localization information may be updated depending on WTRU velocity, section 0127 Sahin), a direction of the wireless device (see, mBs may be scheduled to listen in the WTRU direction to transmit directional transmissions, section 0100 Sahin), a change in location of the wireless device (see, dynamic tracking of location from the WTRU, section 0083 Sahin), a change in speed of the wireless device (see, the identification of average speed which indicates device at different speeds, section 0138 Sahin), a speed of the wireless device (see, mobility patterns such as direction, section 0082 Sahin) and data from an inertial motion unit (IMU) of the wireless device (see, gyro sensor on WTRU, section 0128 Sahin).
In view of the above, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claim invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains to modify the location and motion of Roy with the WTRU of Sahin. The motivation would have been to make improvements in strategies of data delivering.
Roy discloses all claim limitations but fail to explicitly disclose: Regarding claim 45 (New), the network node of claim 43, wherein the indication of motion of the wireless device comprises one or more of a velocity of the wireless device, a direction of the wireless device, a change in location of the wireless device, a change in speed of the wireless device, a speed of the wireless device and data from an inertial motion unit (IMU) of the wireless device.
However Sahin from a similar field of endeavor discloses: the network node of claim 43, wherein the indication of motion of the wireless device comprises one or more of a velocity of the wireless device (see, WTRU localization information may be updated depending on WTRU velocity, section 0127 Sahin), a direction of the wireless device (see, mBs may be scheduled to listen in the WTRU direction to transmit directional transmissions, section 0100 Sahin), a change in location of the wireless device (see, dynamic tracking of location from the WTRU, section 0083 Sahin), a change in speed of the wireless device (see, the identification of average speed which indicates device at different speeds, section 0138 Sahin), a speed of the wireless device (see, mobility patterns such as direction, section 0082 Sahin) and data from an inertial motion unit (IMU) of the wireless device (see, gyro sensor on WTRU, section 0128 Sahin).
In view of the above, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claim invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains to modify the location and motion of Roy with the WTRU of Sahin. The motivation would have been to make improvements in strategies of data delivering.
Claims 35-36 and 46-47 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Roy et al. US 20170223552 A1 (Domestic Priority August 28, 2012) in view of Akkarakaran et al. US 20170374637 A1 (Domestic Priority June 23, 2016).
Roy discloses all claim limitations but fail to explicitly disclose: Regarding claim 35 (New), the method of claim 32, wherein selecting one or more beams served by a base station for communication with the wireless device and/or measurement by the wireless device based on the probabilities comprises selecting a subset of beams served by the base station based on the probabilities.
However Akkarakaran from a similar field of endeavor discloses: the method of claim 32, wherein selecting one or more beams served by a base station for communication with the wireless device and/or measurement by the wireless device based on the probabilities (see, beam selection component may select the subset of beams based on a historical beam management report received from the UE and select the subset of beams based on a prediction that the UE is located in a location that is different from one or more locations suggested by a historical beam management report received from the UE, section 0118 Akkarakaran) comprises selecting a subset of beams served by the base station based on the probabilities (see, subset of beams may be selected based on historical beam management reports received from UE, section 0078 Akkarakaran).
In view of the above, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claim invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains to modify the WTRU of Roy with the subset of beams of Akkarakaran. The motivation would have been to make improvements in beamformed communication.
Roy discloses all claim limitations but fail to explicitly disclose: Regarding claim 36 (New), the method of claim 32, wherein selecting one or more beams served by a base station for communication with the wireless device and/or measurement by the wireless device based on the probabilities comprises selecting one or more beams served by a base station for measurement by the wireless device based on the probabilities, and the method further comprises sending an indication of the selected one or more beams to the wireless device.
However Akkarakaran from a similar field of endeavor discloses: the method of claim 32, wherein selecting one or more beams served by a base station for communication with the wireless device and/or measurement by the wireless device based on the probabilities (see, beam selection component may select the subset of beams based on a historical beam management report received from the UE and select the subset of beams based on a prediction that the UE is located in a location that is different from one or more locations suggested by a historical beam management report received from the UE, section 0118 Akkarakaran) comprises selecting one or more beams served by a base station for measurement by the wireless device based on the probabilities (see, reference signal component may transmit the first beamformed reference signal as a non-positioning beam management signal or a measurement reference signal, transmit the first beamformed reference signal as a PRS piggybacked to an MRS, broadcast the PRS via beam sweeping, transmit the PRS over a subset of beams directed towards the UE, and transmit the first beamformed reference signal according to a periodic schedule, an aperiodic schedule, on an as-needed basis, or combinations thereof, section 0116 Akkarakaran; noted, positioning manager that supports positioning in beamformed communications includes a measurement report component and beam selection component, section 0113 Akkarakaran), and the method further comprises sending an indication of the selected one or more beams to the wireless device (see, base station may transmit to UE an indication of which additional base stations to be used by UE based on historical selected beam management reports, section 0097 Akkarakaran).
In view of the above, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claim invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains to modify the WTRU of Roy with the measurement of Akkarakaran. The motivation would have been to make improvements in beamformed communication.
Roy discloses all claim limitations but fail to explicitly disclose: Regarding claim 46 (New), the network node of claim 43, wherein the processing circuitry is further configured to select one or more beams served by a base station for communication with the wireless device and/or measurement by the wireless device based on the probabilities by selecting a subset of beams served by the base station based on the probabilities.
However Akkarakaran from a similar field of endeavor discloses: the network node of claim 43, wherein the processing circuitry is further configured to select one or more beams served by a base station for communication with the wireless device and/or measurement by the wireless device based on the probabilities (see, beam selection component may select the subset of beams based on a historical beam management report received from the UE and select the subset of beams based on a prediction that the UE is located in a location that is different from one or more locations suggested by a historical beam management report received from the UE, section 0118 Akkarakaran) by selecting a subset of beams served by the base station based on the probabilities (see, subset of beams may be selected based on historical beam management reports received from UE, section 0078 Akkarakaran).
In view of the above, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claim invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains to modify the WTRU of Roy with the subset of beams of Akkarakaran. The motivation would have been to make improvements in beamformed communication.
Roy discloses all claim limitations but fail to explicitly disclose: Regarding claim 47 (New), the network node of claim 43, wherein the processing circuitry is further configured to select one or more beams served by a base station for communication with the wireless device and/or measurement by the wireless device based on the probabilities by selecting one or more beams served by a base station for measurement by the wireless device based on the probabilities, and send an indication of the selected one or more beams to the wireless device.
However Akkarakaran from a similar field of endeavor discloses: the network node of claim 43, wherein the processing circuitry is further configured to select one or more beams served by a base station for communication with the wireless device and/or measurement by the wireless device based on the probabilities (see, beam selection component may select the subset of beams based on a historical beam management report received from the UE and select the subset of beams based on a prediction that the UE is located in a location that is different from one or more locations suggested by a historical beam management report received from the UE, section 0118 Akkarakaran) by selecting one or more beams served by a base station for measurement by the wireless device based on the probabilities (see, reference signal component may transmit the first beamformed reference signal as a non-positioning beam management signal or a measurement reference signal, transmit the first beamformed reference signal as a PRS piggybacked to an MRS, broadcast the PRS via beam sweeping, transmit the PRS over a subset of beams directed towards the UE, and transmit the first beamformed reference signal according to a periodic schedule, an aperiodic schedule, on an as-needed basis, or combinations thereof, section 0116 Akkarakaran; noted, positioning manager that supports positioning in beamformed communications includes a measurement report component and beam selection component, section 0113 Akkarakaran), and send an indication of the selected one or more beams to the wireless device (see, base station may transmit to UE an indication of which additional base stations to be used by UE based on historical selected beam management reports, section 0097 Akkarakaran).
In view of the above, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claim invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains to modify the WTRU of Roy with the measurement of Akkarakaran. The motivation would have been to make improvements in beamformed communication.
Claims 39 and 49 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Roy et al. US 20170223552 A1 (Domestic Priority August 28, 2012) in view of Murray et al. US 20160269964 A1 (Foreign Priority October 24, 2013).
Roy discloses all claim limitations but fail to explicitly disclose: Regarding claim 39 (New), the method of claim 32, wherein: determining the indication of the location of the wireless device comprises receiving the indication of the location of the wireless device from the wireless device; and/or determining the indication of motion of the wireless device comprises receiving the indication of motion of the wireless device from the wireless device.
However Murray from a similar field of endeavor discloses: the method of claim 32, wherein: determining the indication of the location of the wireless device comprises receiving the indication of the location of the wireless device from the wireless device (see, predicted location may be based on an indication of location and/or movement data for mobile terminal, section 0044 Murray); and/or determining the indication of motion of the wireless device comprises receiving the indication of motion of the wireless device from the wireless device (see, predicted location may be based on an indication of location and/or movement data for mobile terminal, section 0044 Murray).
In view of the above, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claim invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains to modify the WTRU of Roy with the measurement of Murray. The motivation would have been to make improvements in a cellular communications network.
Roy discloses all claim limitations but fail to explicitly disclose: Regarding claim 49 (New), the network node of claim 43, wherein the processing circuitry is further configured to: determine the indication of the location of the wireless device by receiving the indication of the location of the wireless device from the wireless device; and/or determine the indication of motion of the wireless device by receiving the indication of motion of the wireless device from the wireless device.
However Murray from a similar field of endeavor discloses: the network node of claim 43, wherein the processing circuitry is further configured to: determine the indication of the location of the wireless device by receiving the indication of the location of the wireless device from the wireless device (see, predicted location may be based on an indication of location and/or movement data for mobile terminal, section 0044 Murray); and/or determine the indication of motion of the wireless device by receiving the indication of motion of the wireless device from the wireless device (see, predicted location may be based on an indication of location and/or movement data for mobile terminal, section 0044 Murray).
In view of the above, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claim invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains to modify the WTRU of Roy with the measurement of Murray. The motivation would have been to make improvements in a cellular communications network.
Conclusion
/PATRICK YIPAO PEI/Examiner, Art Unit 2473
/KWANG B YAO/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2473