Response to Amendment
The amendment to the claims filed 07/10/2026 has been entered. Claims 1-4, 6-8, 12, 14-17, 19-21, 23-25, 27, 28, 30, 32, 34 and 35 are pending. Claims 5, 9-11, 13, 18, 22, 26, 29, 31, and 33 are cancelled.
Regarding the rejection of claims 1-4, 6-8, 12, 14-17, and 19-21 under 35 USC 112(b), the amendments made to claims 1 and 12 are sufficient to overcome the rejection made in the previous Office action. The rejection of these claims under 35 USC 112(b) is hereby withdrawn.
Response to Arguments
Regarding the applicant's argument that Halliburton (US20190301278A1) teaches a system that combines electro-acoustic transducer (EAT) assemblies with a distributed acoustic sensing fiber optic cable (page 7, paragraph 7 of Remarks filed 07/10/2026), the examiner disagrees. Halliburton does teach a sensing fiber optic cable with perturbations (220, Fig. 2; abstract; paragraph [0014]), but the perturbations are not electro-acoustic transducer assemblies and it appears no disclosures of EAT assemblies is made within Halliburton. Rather, the perturbations are imprinted on the fiber in regions of interest (paragraphs [0014], [0016]), the perturbations being fiber Bragg gratings (paragraph [0026]). These perturbations do not require their own electrical power supply, and they are structural features of the fiber itself. However, the perturbations are not non-invasive and external to a light path of the fiber. Rather, Halliburton teaches the functional concept of selectively imparting perturbations at certain spacings to amplify scattering.
Regarding the applicant's argument that the perturbations of Kalish (US6304705B1) serve a fundamentally different purpose (page 9, paragraph 2 of Remarks filed 07/10/2026), the fact that the inventor has recognized another advantage which would flow naturally from following the suggestion of the prior art cannot be the basis for patentability when the differences would otherwise be obvious. See Ex parte Obiaya, 227 USPQ 58, 60 (Bd. Pat. App. & Inter. 1985). Kalish teaches perturbations in the coating, regardless of whether the intention of the perturbations is to enhance interferometric Rayleigh backscattering for acoustic detection. The rejection using Kalish was not directed towards “selecting the spacing between perturbations to achieve any defined level of Rayleigh backscatter” as alleged by the applicant, but rather to teach the concept of perturbations in the coating of a fiber.
Regarding the applicant's argument that Westbrook (Westbrook et al., iScience, Vol. 23, Issue 6, 2020, Article 10137) teaches invasive perturbations (page 10, paragraph 1 of Remarks filed 07/10/2026), the examiner points out that Westbrook was used to teach the limitation regarding minute interferometric Rayleigh scattering, not the limitation regarding the non-invasive perturbations. Further, turning to the specification of the instant application to provide a definition for "minute interferometric Rayleigh backscattering" was in response to the applications allegation that the interpretation of "minute" was incorrect and instead "minute interferometric Rayleigh backscattering" was a particular physical phenomenon that a person of ordinary skill in the art would be familiar with (page 10, paragraph 1 of Remarks filed 07/30/2025). However, "minute interferometric Rayleigh backscattering" is not a term of the art and therefore the applicant's own definition needed to be referenced.
Regarding the applicant's argument that Westbrook teaches signals 14 dB above native Rayleigh scattering and the signal levels of Westbrook are therefore not commensurate with the interferometric regime described in the claims (page 10, paragraph 1 of remarks filed 07/10/2026), the examiner disagrees. Westbrook does not teach signals 14 dB above Rayleigh scattering, but rather enhancing the Rayleigh scattering signals by 14 dB (page 7, paragraph 1).
Regarding the applicant's arguments that Westbrook operates at a different signal level (page 16-18 of Remarks filed 07/10/2026), the examiner disagrees. Westbrook teaches enhancing Rayleigh scattering in an optical fiber (abstract; page 7, paragraph 1). This Rayleigh scattering would encompass the minute scattering claimed. The claim language does not require only the minute Rayleigh scattering to be amplified. Thus, by amplifying the Rayleigh scattering overall, the small portion of Rayleigh scattering on the order of 1x10-4 dB is also amplified.
Regarding the applicant's arguments against the motivation for combining Chen (US9290406B2) as Chen is directed to a multimode fiber not a single-mode fiber (page 19, paragraphs 3-4 of Remarks filed 07/10/2026), the examiner disagrees. The examiner agrees that Chen is directed to a multimode fiber, however the contrast to a single-mode fiber appears to be irrelevant as Halliburton (the base reference) does not disclose or require a single-mode fiber and thus the advantages disclosed by Chen may apply to the fiber of Halliburton.
Regarding the applicant's arguments against the detection device of Halliburton (page 20, paragraph 1 of Remarks filed 07/10/2026), the examiner disagrees. The limitation " configured to detect interferometric patterns from Rayleigh scattering from said perturbations, wherein said patterns are of said Rayleigh scattering of said order of magnitude of 1x10-4 dB" is an intended result. Claim 35 is directed to a detection device as part of an apparatus for detecting vibrations, not an optical fiber having perturbations. The detection device of prior art only needs to be capable of detecting signals of a magnitude of 1x10-4 dB, which any detection device may be capable of doing.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 35 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(d) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, 4th paragraph, as being of improper dependent form for failing to further limit the subject matter of the claim upon which it depends, or for failing to include all the limitations of the claim upon which it depends. Claim 35 claims a detection device configured to detect interferometric patterns from Rayleigh scattering on the order of 1x10-4 dB. However, claim 35 depends on claim 12. Claim 12 claims a detection device configured to detect Rayleigh scattering signals from perturbations. These perturbations enhance minute interferometric Rayleigh scattering on the order of 1x10-4 dB. Therefore, the detection device is already configured to detect minute interferometric Rayleigh scattering and claim 35 does not further limit the device. Applicant may cancel the claim(s), amend the claim(s) to place the claim(s) in proper dependent form, rewrite the claim(s) in independent form, or present a sufficient showing that the dependent claim(s) complies with the statutory requirements.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
In the event the determination of the status of the application as subject to AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103 (or as subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103) is incorrect, any correction of the statutory basis (i.e., changing from AIA to pre-AIA ) for the rejection will not be considered a new ground of rejection if the prior art relied upon, and the rationale supporting the rejection, would be the same under either status. The text of those sections of Title 35, U.S. Code not included in this action can be found in a prior Office action.
Claims 1-4, 6, 12, 14-17, 19,and 35 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Halliburton (US20190301278A1) in view of Juškaitis ("Interferometry with Rayleigh backscattering in a single-mode optical fiber," Opt. Lett. 19, 225-227 (1994)) and Westbrook ("Enhanced Optical Fiber for Distributed Acoustic Sensing beyond the Limits of Rayleigh Backscattering", iScience, Vol. 23, Issue 6, 2020, Article 10137).
Regarding claim 1, Halliburton teaches an optical device comprising an optical fiber for use in distributed vibration sensing (paragraph [0002]), the optical fiber comprising perturbations (paragraph [0014]), the perturbations being spaced apart using spacings (see Fig. 2, which depicts perturbations 222A, 222B, 222D spaced apart by spacings).
Halliburton fails to teach the perturbations being imparted either externally to a mode field diameter of the optical fiber or through the use of fusion splicing of fiber lengths to form said optical fiber, the perturbations thus being non-invasive to the fiber and external to a light path of the fiber, and the spacings are of a size selected to amplify minute interferometric Raleigh scattering, said minute interferometric Rayleigh scattering being of an order of magnitude of 1x 10-4dB.
However, in the same field of endeavor of Rayleigh backscattering in single-mode fibers, Juškaitis teaches an optical fiber sensor with external perturbations (page 2, column 1, last paragraph describes an external perturbation simulated on the fiber by winding the fiber). Further, this external perturbation was placed at 10 m from the measuring point (page 2, column 1, last paragraph), which is described in the instant application as a spacing which amplifies minute interferometric Rayleigh scattering (page 7, paragraph 1 of the instant application's specification).
The external perturbations taught in Juškaitis enhance the detected signal (eq. 1 describes the signal as being a combination of the scattering signal before and after; Fig. 3 depicts a spike in the signal at 10 m and 18 m, where the perturbations were placed). Therefore, the perturbations would further increase the scattering and therefore the signal detected by the detector. Thus, a person of ordinary skill in the art would find it obvious to combine the device taught by Halliburton which aims to increase scattering signals with the external perturbations taught in Juškaitis to further enhance the backscattering signals.
Halliburton as modified by Juškaitis fails to teach specifically selecting the spacings to amplify minute interferometric Rayleigh scattering, said minute interferometric Rayleigh scattering being of an order of magnitude of 1x 10-4dB.
However, in the same field of endeavor of enhancing backscattering in optical fibers, Westbrook teaches perturbations to enhance Rayleigh scattering (title; abstract; page 7, paragraph 1). The typical Rayleigh scattering would encompass the minute scattering, thus by amplifying the Rayleigh scattering overall, the small portion of Rayleigh scattering on the order of 1x10-4 dB is also amplified.
Westbrook discloses that Rayleigh scattering is a universal trait of optical fibers, and enhancing the weak signal is useful to increase detection sensitivity (page 2, 1st paragraph). Thus, a person having ordinary skill in the art prior to the effect filing date of the claimed invention would find it obvious to combine the optical fiber taught in Halliburton as modified by Juškaitis with the enhancement of Rayleigh backscattering taught in Westbrook to increase detection sensitivity.
Regarding claim 2, Halliburton in view of Juškaitis and Westbrook teaches the device as explained above in claim 1, and further teaches said perturbations are imparted in groups of at least one perturbation, each group equidistantly spaced along said fiber at a first, inter-group, spacing (Halliburton: Fig. 2 depicts different groups of perturbations (222a, 222B, 222D) at different distances (L1, L2, etc.); paragraph [0026] teaches one embodiment may have uniform spacing).
Regarding claim 3, Halliburton in view of Juškaitis and Westbrook teaches the device as explained above in claim 2, and further teaches each group comprises a plurality of equidistant perturbations spaced apart at a second, intragroup, spacing (Halliburton: Fig. 3A shows perturbations spanning between two distances; paragraph [0030]).
Regarding claim 4, Halliburton in view of Juškaitis and Westbrook teaches the device as explained above in claim 3, and further teaches at least one of said inter-group and intragroup spacings comprises said spacings selected to amplify said minute interferometric Rayleigh scattering, or wherein at least one of said inter-group spacing and said intragroup spacing (Halliburton: paragraph [0016]) is selected using empirical testing to maximize a reflected signal from minute interferometric Rayleigh scattering (Westbrook: page 8, “Application in DAS” section discloses empirical testing) to maximize a reflected signal from minute interferometric Rayleigh scattering (Halliburton: paragraph [0016]) in the presence of a given vibration (Halliburton: paragraph [0002]).
A person having ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention would find it obvious to combine the device taught in Halliburton as modified by Juškaitis and Westbrook with the empirical methods taught in Westbrook as it is important and routine to actually test the applicability of the method (Westbrook: page 8, 1st paragraph under “Application in DAS” section).
Regarding claim 6, Halliburton in view of Juškaitis and Westbrook teaches the device as explained above in claim 3, and further teaches at least one of said inter-group spacing and said intragroup spacing is selected using empirical testing (Westbrook: page 8, “Application in DAS” section discloses empirical testing) to maximize a reflected signal from said minute interferometric Rayleigh scattering to maximize a reflected signal from minute interferometric Rayleigh scattering (Halliburton: paragraph [0016]) in the presence of a given vibration (Halliburton: paragraph [0002]), and said vibration is one member of the group consisting of: humans, animals, light vehicles, heavy vehicles, (Halliburton: paragraph [0011]) light mechanical-engineering activity, heavy mechanical engineering activity, drilling, (Halliburton: paragraphs [0005], [0006]) and geological activity (Halliburton: paragraph [0014]).
As discussed above in claim 4, a person having ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention would find it obvious to combine the device taught in Halliburton as modified by Juškaitis and Westbrook with the empirical methods taught in Westbrook as it is important and routine to actually test the applicability of the method.
Regarding claim 12, Halliburton teaches an apparatus (Fig. 2, 200) for detecting vibrations comprising (paragraph [0002]): at least one optical fiber having perturbations (paragraph [0014]) external to a mode field diameter of said optical fiber (paragraphs [0025], [0026]); and a detection device configured to detect Rayleigh scattering from said perturbations (paragraph [0015]), said perturbations (Fig. 3A, 320A, 320B, 320C, 320D) being separated by spacings (L1 to L2, L3 to L4, etc.).
Halliburton fails to teach the perturbations thus being non-invasive to the fiber and external to a light path of the fiber; and said spacings being selected to amplify minute interferometric Raleigh scattering, said minute interferometric Rayleigh scattering being of an order of magnitude of 1x 10-4dB.
However, in the same field of endeavor of Rayleigh backscattering in single-mode fibers, Juškaitis teaches an optical fiber sensor with an external perturbation (page 2, column 1, last paragraph describes an external perturbation simulated on the fiber by winding the fiber). Further, this external perturbation was placed at 10 m from the measuring point (page 2, column 1, last paragraph), which is described in the instant application as a spacing which amplifies minute interferometric Rayleigh scattering (page 7, paragraph 1 of the instant application's specification).
The external perturbations taught in Juškaitis enhance the detected signal (eq. 1 describes the signal as being a combination of the scattering signal before and after; Fig. 3 depicts a spike in the signal at 10 m and 18 m, where the perturbations were placed). Therefore, the external perturbations would further increase the scattering and therefore the signal detected by the detector. Thus, a person of ordinary skill in the art would find it obvious to combine the device taught by Halliburton which aims to increase signals with the external perturbations taught in Juškaitis to further enhance the backscattering signals.
Halliburton as modified by Juškaitis fails to teach the spacings being selected to amplify minute interferometric Rayleigh scattering, said minute interferometric Rayleigh scattering being of an order of magnitude of 1x 10-4 dB.
However, in the same field of endeavor of enhancing backscattering in optical fibers, Westbrook teaches perturbations to enhance Rayleigh scattering (title; abstract; page 7, paragraph 1). The typical Rayleigh scattering would encompass the minute scattering, thus by amplifying the Rayleigh scattering overall, the small portion of Rayleigh scattering on the order of 1x10-4 dB is also amplified.
Westbrook discloses that Rayleigh scattering is a universal trait of optical fibers, and enhancing the weak signal is useful to increase detection sensitivity (page 2, 1st paragraph). Thus, a person having ordinary skill in the art prior to the effect filing date of the claimed invention would find it obvious to combine the optical fiber taught in Halliburton as modified by Juškaitis with the enhancement of Rayleigh backscattering taught in Westbrook to increase detection sensitivity.
Regarding claim 14, Halliburton in view of Juškaitis and Westbrook teaches the apparatus and explained above in claim 12, and further teaches said perturbations are imparted in groups equidistantly spaced along said fiber at a first, inter-group, spacing (Halliburton: Fig. 2 depicts different groups of perturbations (222a, 222B, 222D) at different distances (L1, L2, etc.); paragraph [0026] teaches one embodiment may have uniform spacing).
Regarding claim 15, Halliburton in view of Juškaitis and Westbrook teaches the apparatus as explain above in claim 14, and further teaches each group comprises a plurality of equidistant perturbations spaced apart at a second, intragroup, spacing (Halliburton: Fig. 3A shows perturbations spanning between two distances; paragraphs [0026], [0030]).
Regarding claim 16, Halliburton in view of Juškaitis and Westbrook teaches the apparatus as explained above in claim 15, and further teaches at least one of said first and said second spacings comprises said spacings selected to said amplify minute interferometric Rayleigh (Westbrook: abstract).
A person having ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention would find it obvious to combine the optical fiber taught in Halliburton as modified by Juškaitis and Westbrook with the minute interferometric Rayleigh backscattering taught in Westbrook as Rayleigh scattering is universal in all optical fiber, and enhancing the weak signal (minute signal) is very useful to increase detection sensitivity (Westbrook: page 2, top of 1st paragraph).
Regarding claim 17, Halliburton in view of Juškaitis and Westbrook teaches the apparatus as explained above in claim 12, and further teaches at least one of said inter-group spacing and said intragroup spacing is selected using empirical testing (Westbrook: page 8, “Application in DAS” section discloses empirical testing) to maximize the SNR of a reflected signal from Rayleigh scattering in the presence of a given vibration (Halliburton: paragraphs [0016], [0026]), or wherein at least one of said inter-group spacing and said intragroup spacing is selected in the presence of a vibration (Halliburton: paragraph [0002]) obtained from one member of the group consisting of: humans, animals, light vehicles, heavy vehicles light mechanical-engineering activity, heavy mechanical engineering activity, drilling, (Halliburton: paragraphs [0005], [0006]) and geological activity (Halliburton: paragraph [0014]).
As discussed above in claim 4, a person having ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention would find it obvious to combine the device taught in Halliburton as modified by Juškaitis and Westbrook with the empirical methods taught in Westbrook as it is important and routine to actually test the applicability of the method.
Regarding claim 35, Halliburton in view of Juškaitis and Westbrook teaches the apparatus as explained above in claim 12, but does not explicitly teach the detection device is configured to detect interferometric patterns from Rayleigh scattering from said perturbations, wherein said patterns are of an order of magnitude of 1x10-4 dB.
However, Halliburton teaches a detection device (paragraph [0020] discloses one end of the optical fiber is configured to receive optical signals). The claim is directed at the detection device, and the patterns being on an order of magnitude of 1x10-4 dB is an intended result. A detector can easily be configured to detect that order of magnitude.
Claims 7, 8, 20 and 21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Halliburton (US20190301278A1) in view of Juškaitis ("Interferometry with Rayleigh backscattering in a single-mode optical fiber," Opt. Lett. 19, 225-227 (1994)) and Westbrook (Westbrook, P. S., Feder, K. S., Kremp, T., Monberg, E. M., Wu, H., Zhu, B., Huang, L., Simoff, D. A., Shenk, S., Handerek, V. A., Karimi, M., Nkansah, A., & Yau, A. (2020). Enhanced Optical Fiber for Distributed Acoustic Sensing beyond the Limits of Rayleigh Backscattering. iScience, 23(6), 101137. https://doi.org/10.1016/j.isci.2020.101137) as applied above to claim 1, in further view of Chen (US9290406B2).
Regarding claim 7, Halliburton in view of Juškaitis and Westbrook teaches the device as explained above in claim 1, but fails to teach imparting of said perturbations comprises printing.
However, in the same field of endeavor of optical fibers with controlled perturbations, Chen teaches perturbations being introduced via laser printing (Column 6, lines 21-26).
Chen discloses printing the perturbations improves bandwidth without introducing attenuation (column 1, lines 40-34). Thus, a person having ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention would find it obvious to combine the optical fiber taught in Halliburton in view of Juškaitis and Westbrook with the printing method of imparting perturbations taught in Chen, as this method improves bandwidth without introducing attenuation.
Regarding claim 8, Halliburton in view of Juškaitis, Westbrook and Chen teaches the device as explained above in claim 7, and further teaches said perturbations are laser printed, or wherein said perturbations are imparted into a coating layer of said fiber (Chen: column 6, lines 21-26).
As discussed above in claim 7, a person having ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention would find it obvious to combine the optical fiber taught in Halliburton in view of Juškaitis, Westbrook and Chen with the printing method of imparting perturbations taught in Chen, as this method improves bandwidth without introducing attenuation.
Regarding claim 20, Halliburton in view of Juškaitis and Westbrook teaches the apparatus as explained above in claim 12, but fails to teach said perturbations are imparted by printing into a coating of said fiber.
However, Chen teaches an embodiment where laser beams introduce perturbations (Column 6, lines 21-26).
A person having ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention would find it obvious to combine the optical fiber taught in Halliburton as modified by Juškaitis and Westbrook with the printing method of imparting perturbations taught in Chen, as this method improves bandwidth without introducing attenuation (Chen: column 1, lines 30- 34).
Regarding claim 21, Halliburton in view of Juškaitis, Westbrook and Chen teaches the device as explained above in claim 20, and further teaches said printing comprises laser printing (column 6, lines 21-26).
A person having ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention would find it obvious to combine the optical fiber taught in Halliburton as modified by Juškaitis, Westbrook and Chen with the laser printing method of imparting perturbations taught in Chen, as this method improves bandwidth without introducing attenuation (Chen: column 1, lines 30- 34).
Claim 19 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Halliburton (US20190301278A1) in view of Juškaitis ("Interferometry with Rayleigh backscattering in a single-mode optical fiber," Opt. Lett. 19, 225-227 (1994)) and Westbrook (Westbrook, P. S., Feder, K. S., Kremp, T., Monberg, E. M., Wu, H., Zhu, B., Huang, L., Simoff, D. A., Shenk, S., Handerek, V. A., Karimi, M., Nkansah, A., & Yau, A. (2020). Enhanced Optical Fiber for Distributed Acoustic Sensing beyond the Limits of Rayleigh Backscattering. iScience, 23(6), 101137. https://doi.org/10.1016/j.isci.2020.101137) as applied above to claim 1, in further view of Yano (US20230043442A1).
Regarding claim 19, Halliburton in view of Juškaitis and Westbrook teaches the device as explained above in claim 17, further teaches a spacing selected for one member of said group and another comprises a spacing selected for one other member of said group (Halliburton: paragraph [0025] discloses a first and second set of perturbations with different numbers selected to reflect different signals).
Halliburton as modified by Juškaitis and Westbrook fails to teach a plurality of optical fibers, wherein at least one fiber comprises the first of said spacings and another of said fibers comprising the second of said spacings.
However, in the same field of endeavor of detecting vibrations using optical fibers, Yano teaches a device with a plurality of optical fibers (9a and 9b, Fig. 13; paragraph [0090] discloses a plurality of optical fibers) where each fiber senses vibrations at different group spacings (see L1, L2, and L3 vs L4, L5, and L6 in Fig. 13).
Yano discloses the use of multiple fibers prepare for one capable breaking by including a spare cable in the event of a failure, therefore increasing reliability without stopping the operation (paragraph [0093]). Thus, it would be obvious for a person of ordinary skill in the art to combine the device of Halliburton as modified by Juškaitis and Westbrook with the multiple fibers taught in Yano in order to increase reliability of the detection device.
Claim 23 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Halliburton (US20190301278A1) in view of Juškaitis ("Interferometry with Rayleigh backscattering in a single-mode optical fiber," Opt. Lett. 19, 225-227 (1994)) and Westbrook (Westbrook, P. S., Feder, K. S., Kremp, T., Monberg, E. M., Wu, H., Zhu, B., Huang, L., Simoff, D. A., Shenk, S., Handerek, V. A., Karimi, M., Nkansah, A., & Yau, A. (2020). Enhanced Optical Fiber for Distributed Acoustic Sensing beyond the Limits of Rayleigh Backscattering. iScience, 23(6), 101137. https://doi.org/10.1016/j.isci.2020.101137) as applied above to claim 12, in further view of Zhu (Zhu, M., Leandro, D., López-Amo, M., and Murayama, H. (2019). "Quasi-distributed vibration sensing using OFDR and weak reflectors," Opt. Lett. 44, 1884-1887).
Regarding claim 23, Halliburton in view of Juškaitis and Westbrook teaches the apparatus as explained above in claim 12, but fails to teach at least one optical fiber is constructed by splicing together of smaller fibers of predetermined lengths, the perturbations imparted by said fusion splicing.
However, Zhu teaches splicing fibers together to create perturbations (reflectors) that increase backscattering (page 1885, 2nd column, last paragraph).
A person having ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention would find it obvious to combine the optical fiber taught in Halliburton as modified by Juškaitis and Westbrook with the perturbations from fusion splicing taught in Zhu as it increases signal to noise ratio so signals can be identified easier (Zhu: page 1885, 2nd column, last paragraph).
Claims 24, 25, and 28 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chen (US9290406B2) in view of Kalish (US6304705B1) and Westbrook (Westbrook, P. S., Feder, K. S., Kremp, T., Monberg, E. M., Wu, H., Zhu, B., Huang, L., Simoff, D. A., Shenk, S., Handerek, V. A., Karimi, M., Nkansah, A., & Yau, A. (2020). Enhanced Optical Fiber for Distributed Acoustic Sensing beyond the Limits of Rayleigh Backscattering. iScience, 23(6), 101137. https://doi.org/10.1016/j.isci.2020.101137).
Regarding claim 24, Chen teaches a method of producing an optical fiber for detection of vibrations from Rayleigh scattering, the method comprising: coating of a fiber with a primary coating, and printing perturbations (column 6, lines 21-26), said perturbations being printed at spacings (column 3, lines 36-42).
Chen fails to teach the perturbations being in the primary coating, the perturbations thus being non-invasive to the fiber and external to a light path of the fiber, or said spacings being of a size selected to amplify minute interferometric Rayleigh scattering of an order of magnitude of 1x10-4 dB.
However, in the same field of endeavor of optical fibers, Kalish teaches an optical fiber with perturbations that in the coating of the optical fiber (column 4, lines 55-60; perturbations 26 shown in the outer coating 18 in Fig. 1).
Kalish discloses an advantage of the perturbations being external to the core and cladding of the optical fiber is the improvement of the bandwidth of the optical fiber (column 5, lines 13-15). Thus, a person having ordinary skill in the art would find it obvious to combine the optical fiber taught in Chen with the perturbations in the coating taught in Kalish in order to improve the bandwidth of the fiber.
Chen as modified by Kalish fails to teach said spacings being of a size selected to amplify minute interferometric Raleigh scattering of an order of magnitude of 1x10-4 dB.
However, Westbrook uses perturbations (Bragg gratings, page 2, first paragraph) to enhance Rayleigh scattering (abstract). The typical Rayleigh scattering would encompass the minute scattering, thus by amplifying the Rayleigh scattering overall, the small portion of Rayleigh scattering on the order of 1x10-4 dB is also amplified.
Westbrook discloses that Rayleigh scattering is a universal trait of optical fibers, and enhancing the weak signal is useful to increase detection sensitivity (page 2, top of 1st paragraph). Thus, a person having ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention would find it obvious to combine the optical fiber taught in Halliburton as modified by Kalish with the minute interferometric Rayleigh backscattering taught in Westbrook to increase detection sensitivity.
Regarding claim 25, Chen as modified by Kalish and Westbrook teaches the method as explained above in claim 24, and Chen further teaches said printing is carried out while said primary coating is still hot from the coating process (Kalish: column 6, lines 12-16 discloses the particles (perturbations) are added to the coating material. The examiner is interpreting this to mean the coating is still hot).
As discussed above in claim 24, a person having ordinary skill in the art would find it obvious to combine the optical fiber production method taught in Chen as modified by Kalish and Westbrook with the perturbations in the coating method in Kalish in order to improve the bandwidth of the fiber.
Regarding claim 28, Chen as modified by Kalish and Westbrook teaches the method as explained above in claim 24, and further teaches said printing into said primary coating comprises laser printing (Chen: column 6, lines 21-26).
Claims 27 and 34 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chen (US9290406B2) in view of Kalish (US6304705B1) and Westbrook (Westbrook, P. S., Feder, K. S., Kremp, T., Monberg, E. M., Wu, H., Zhu, B., Huang, L., Simoff, D. A., Shenk, S., Handerek, V. A., Karimi, M., Nkansah, A., & Yau, A. (2020). Enhanced Optical Fiber for Distributed Acoustic Sensing beyond the Limits of Rayleigh Backscattering. iScience, 23(6), 101137. https://doi.org/10.1016/j.isci.2020.101137) as applied above to claim 24 in further view of Halliburton (US20190301278A1).
Regarding claim 27, Chen in view of Kalish and Westbrook teaches the method as explained above in claim 24, but fails to teach printing said perturbations in groups equidistantly spaced along said fiber at a first, inter-group, spacing, and wherein each group comprises a plurality of equidistant perturbations spaced apart at a second, intragroup, spacing.
However, Halliburton teaches an embodiment where the perturbations are printed equidistantly (paragraph [0026]).
A person having ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention would find it obvious to combine the method of printing perturbations taught in Chen as modified by Kalish and Westbrook with the spacing of the perturbation taught in Halliburton in order to provide the desired guided backscattering (paragraph [0026]).
Regarding claim 34, Chen in view of Kalish and Westbrook teaches the method as explained above in claim 24, but fails to teach the method further comprising detecting vibrations over an area by:
burying said optical fiber in said area; and
connecting to said optical fiber a Coherent Optical Time Domain Reflectometer (C-OTDR) to detect Rayleigh scattering of light travelling through said optical fiber.
However, Halliburton teaches a buried device (paragraphs [0015], [0018]) which detects vibrations in a desired area (paragraph [0002]) and uses a coherent optical time domain reflectometry (C-OTDR) method to measure backscattering (paragraph [0032]).
C-OTDR is a well-known method in the art having the advantage of high receiver sensitivity. Therefore, a person having ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the invention would be able to apply the known technique and achieve the predictable result of detecting backscattering in order to gain the advantage of high receiver sensitivity. Thus, it would be obvious for a person of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date to combine the device of Chen in view of Kalish and Westbrook with the C-OTDR method taught in Halliburton in order to increase the sensitivity of the device.
Claim 30 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chen (US9290406B2) in view of Kalish (US6304705B1) and Westbrook (Westbrook, P. S., Feder, K. S., Kremp, T., Monberg, E. M., Wu, H., Zhu, B., Huang, L., Simoff, D. A., Shenk, S., Handerek, V. A., Karimi, M., Nkansah, A., & Yau, A. (2020). Enhanced Optical Fiber for Distributed Acoustic Sensing beyond the Limits of Rayleigh Backscattering. iScience, 23(6), 101137. https://doi.org/10.1016/j.isci.2020.101137) as applied above to claim 24 in further view of Zhu (Zhu, M., Leandro, D., López-Amo, M., and Murayama, H. (2019). "Quasi-distributed vibration sensing using OFDR and weak reflectors," Opt. Lett. 44, 1884-1887).
Regarding claim 30, Chen as modified by Kalish and Westbrook teaches the method as explained above in claim 24, but fails to teach introducing perturbations into said optical fiber at predetermined spacings by fusion splicing.
However, Zhu teaches splicing fibers together to create perturbations (reflectors) that increase backscattering (page 1885, 2nd column, last paragraph).
A person having ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention would find it obvious to combine the optical fiber taught in Chen as modified by Kalish and Westbrook with the perturbations from fusion splicing taught in Zhu as it increases signal to noise ratio so signals can be identified easier (Zhu: page 1885, 2nd column, last paragraph).
Claim 32 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chen (US9290406B2) in view of Kalish (US6304705B1), Westbrook (Westbrook, P. S., Feder, K. S., Kremp, T., Monberg, E. M., Wu, H., Zhu, B., Huang, L., Simoff, D. A., Shenk, S., Handerek, V. A., Karimi, M., Nkansah, A., & Yau, A. (2020). Enhanced Optical Fiber for Distributed Acoustic Sensing beyond the Limits of Rayleigh Backscattering. iScience, 23(6), 101137. https://doi.org/10.1016/j.isci.2020.101137), and Zhu (Zhu, M., Leandro, D., López-Amo, M., and Murayama, H. (2019). "Quasi-distributed vibration sensing using OFDR and weak reflectors," Opt. Lett. 44, 1884-1887) as applied to claim 30 above, in further view of Halliburton (US20190301278A1).
Regarding claim 32, Chen in view of Kalish, Westbrook and Zhu teaches the method as explained above in claim 30, and further teaches using empirical testing (Westbrook: page 8, “Application in DAS” section discloses empirical testing).
As discussed above in claim 4, a person having ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention would find it obvious to combine the method of Chen as modified by Kalish, Westbrook and Zhu with the empirical methods taught in Westbrook as it is important and routine to actually test the applicability of the method.
Chen as modified by Kalish, Westbrook and Zhu does not teach at least one of said inter-group spacing and said intragroup spacing is selected to maximize the SNR of a reflected signal from Rayleigh scattering in the presence of a given vibration.
However, Halliburton teaches the perturbation spacing is selectively chosen to provide the desired backscatter (paragraphs [0016], [0026]).
A person having ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention would find it obvious to combine the method taught in Chen as modified by Kalish, Westbrook and Zhu with the spacing taught in Halliburton in order to increase backscattering to a level suitable for high performance sensing (paragraph [0003]).
Conclusion
/ALEXANDRIA MENDOZA/Examiner, Art Unit 2877
/MICHELLE M IACOLETTI/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2877