Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
The amendment filed with the RCE submission of May 11, 2026 has been received and entered. With the entry of the amendment, claims 4-8 and 21-25 are canceled, claims 1, 3, 9-16 and 18 are withdrawn, and claims 2, 17, 19-20, 26 and new claim 27 are pending for examination.
Election/Restrictions
Claims 1, 3, 9-16 and 18 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected invention, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on January 2, 2025. It is noted that claim 2 has been amended to make a method claim grouped with elected Group II, with claim 17.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 2, 17, 19-20 and 26-27 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ishioka (US 2015/0210144) in view of Japan 2000-290536 (hereinafter ‘536), Koito et al (US 2019/0264065) and Kodaira et al (US 2017/0015860).
Claim 17, 26: Ishioka provides an antifogging method for treating a substrate (note 0006-0007, 0126 with applying an antifogging film to the substrate). The method includes a step of cleaning the substrate to be coated with antifogging agent where the process can include using a cleaning liquid such as water (note cerium oxide polish/wash of a glass substrate, followed by cerium oxide washed off with pure water, so a washing with water provided, where this is then dried, indicating that the water is liquid or at least predictably and acceptably provided as liquid, followed by coating/application of the antifogging film) (note 0146). There is provided an antifogging agent composition (water absorbing antifogging film composition) (note 0126) that can be comprising silica particles (note 0104-0109), a binder compound comprising an epoxy resin (water absorbing resin) (note 0064, 0074, 0078 understood to meet applicant’s requirements of an epoxy binder compound), a silane coupling agent (note 0104, 0114, 0117-0118) and a liquid medium (note solvent 0128-0129). The method includes applying the antifogging agent compound to the cleaned substrate to form a coating film, and drying the coating film (note 0126, 0057-0059, 0062 where it is described that a single coating can be applied to the substrate to form the water absorbing antifogging film, where the water absorbing antifogging film may be comprised of a single layer and note figure 2 showing the water absorbing antifogging film 4 directly on the substrate/glass 2, where the film can be preferably only one layer from a viewpoint of water absorbing property). The substrate can be glass and/or plastic for example (note 0017-0019, substrate as a vehicle windshield of window glass, which can be glass or plastic, where the plastic can be polycarbonate), and can be used for an automobile (vehicle) (note 0013, 0017). Ishioka does not list any required amount of surfactant for the antifogging agent compound, and therefore it is understood that no surfactant is required to be present (meeting the requirements of claim 17 and 26).
As to the application directly to the substrate/inner surface after cleaning, since Ishioka indicates the substrate can be cleaned before coating as described above, and that a single layer of water absorbing antifogging film can be coated to form a single layer water absorbing antifogging film, the application of the single water absorbing antifogging film directly on the cleaned substrate would be understood to be predictably acceptable.
(A) As to the silane coupling agent having a polyether group, Ishioka generally provides for a silane coupling agent (note 0017-0018), and notes the coupling agent acts to improve adhesiveness between the coating layer (water absorbing antifogging film) and the substrate window glass (note 0114). ‘536 teaches providing a dispersion of organic polymer, colloidal silica and a silane coupling agent for forming a coating (note the abstract). It is described to use the silane coupling agent as a polyether modified silane coupling agent (note the abstract), where it is indicated that the coupling agent acts to improve flexibility and adhesion to the substrate, etc. (note page 3, translation). Also noted is the benefit of stabilizing the coating dispersion with the polyether modified silane coupling agent (page 3, translation).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Ishioka to use a polyether modified silane coupling agent (silane coupling agent with a polyether group) included in the antifogging agent composition as suggested by ‘536 with an expectation of providing a desirable adhesion, since Ishioka provides an antifogging composition with silica particles, epoxy, silane coupling agent and solvent, and ‘536 indicates that a silane coupling agent used in a similar composition can be a polyether modified silane coupling agent to help adhere the composition to the substrate, and as well the modified silane coupling agent helps stabilize the coating composition.
(B) Ishioka does not specifically say to provide the application of the agent onto an inner surface of a lens included in a vehicular lamp structure to form the coating film, however,
Koito describes providing an anti-fogging coating layer including silica particles (note 0059-0060) by applying a coating composition/agent of the material and drying to form a coating layer on a base material/substrate (note 0194-0197), where the base material can be glass or resins/polymer, such as polycarbonate (0184-0186), where the anti-fogging protection can be provided to materials such as lens, of window glass, mirrors or light of automobiles (note 0190), where, specifically the light can have a lens for protecting the automobile/vehicle light (lamp), noting that glass or plastic can be desired to be treated for the light (note 0191-0192), where it is described, for example, to coat the inner surface of a headlight lens or taillight lens with the antifogging coating composition and drying leaving a coating film (note 0766-0773).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Ishioka in view of ‘536 to specifically apply and dry the antifogging agent/composition to an inner surface of a lens included in a vehicular lamp structure as suggested by Koito with an expectation of providing a further desirable antifogging protection on lens material as well, since Ishioka provides an antifogging composition with silica particles that can be provided on glass or polymer of window glass for vehicles, and Koito teaches that similar such compositions for antifogging can be provided on glass or resin such as polycarbonate in the form of lens, window glass for automobiles/vehicles and also on the inner surface of the lens in a vehicle lamp (light) structure such as headlights or taillights. Furthermore, when providing the antifogging agent to the inner surface of the lens included in a vehicular lamp structure, the cleaning step including using water would also be provided this inner surface before application, since Ishioka indicates to clean the surface on which the material to be applied before application, which here would be the inner surface.
(C) As to the antifogging agent also comprising a metal chelate of an aluminum chelate compound, for example, and the amount of metal chelate, Ishioka does not specially teach providing use of an aluminum chelate compound. However, Ishioka teaches using an epoxy compound (epoxy based resin as water absorbing resin, where curing agent is included to form cured epoxy resin, note 0064, 0073, 0074-0076), where the epoxy can be provided as a polyepoxide (note 0078-0079) where various curing agents can be used, including curing catalysts including imidazoles, phosphines, and the like (note 0093), where when making the antifogging composition, the resin can be provided in the composition as main agent and curing agent, and then applying, drying and curing (note 0126).
Kodaira further describes an antifogging agent composition with materials including highly water soluble resin and lowly water soluble resin and curing agent (note 0011), where the resins can be made with epoxy resin (note 0018, 0029), where a curing agent of a polymerization catalyst can be provided to cure the resin, where the catalyst can include phosphines, imidazoles, and aluminum compounds (note 0036, 0049), where the aluminum compounds can be aluminum chelates, such as tris(2,4-pentanedionato)aluminum (III), aluminum hexafluoroacetylacetonate, aluminum trifluoroacetylacetonate, etc. (note 0050). The amount of curing agent can be 0.1-30 parts by mass of the of the first highly water soluble resin and lowly water soluble resin (note 0052). The antifogging agent composition can also have silane compounds (note 0011, 0066), solvent (note 0072) and filler in the form of silica particles (note 0079-0080).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Ishioka in view of ‘536 and Koito to specifically use aluminum chelates such as tris(2,4-pentanedionato)aluminum (III), aluminum hexafluoroacetylacetonate, or aluminum trifluoroacetylacetonate as curing catalysts used in the antifogging composition as suggested by Kodaira with an expectation of predictably acceptable curing results, since Ishioka indicates providing epoxy resins with curing catalyst in the antifogging composition, where the catalyst can be material such as imidazoles, phosphines and the like, and Kodaira indicates that in a similar antifogging composition with silica particles, epoxy compound, silanes and solvent, curing catalyst for the resin/epoxy can be curing catalyst such as imidazoles, phosphines, or aluminum chelates in the form of tris(2,4-petanedionato)aluminum (III), aluminum hexafluoroacetylacetonate, and aluminum trifluoroacetylaceotonate, for example, and thus, it would be considered predictably acceptable to use known aluminum chelate curing catalyst to replace those of Ishioka with an expectation of predictably acceptable results. Further as to the content of the aluminum chelate, Kodaira indicates that usable amounts can be 0.1-30 or 0.1-5 parts by mass relative to 100 parts by mass of the epoxy/resins used (note 0052). Further in Ishoika. the amount of the silica particles used can be 1-20 parts by mass of the main agent and the curing agent (note 0108, where the main agent understood to be the epoxy resin to be cured, note 0066, 0073), and Kodaira similarly indicates using silica particles at 1-20 parts by mass of the total resins (from highly water soluble and lowly water soluble) and curing agent (note 0080). From these amounts the usable content of the aluminum chelate can be overlapping the range of 0.01 to 5 parts by mass with regard to 100 parts by mass of silica particles, where for example, if 1 part by mass of aluminum chelate used and 20 parts by mass of silica particles used, then the relative content of chelate to silica would be 5 parts chelate to 100 parts silica particles, and it would have been obvious to optimize the amount of chelate and silica particles used, which would result in values in the claimed range. Note "[W]here the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation." In re Aller, 220 F.2d 454, 456, 105 USPQ 233, 235 (CCPA 1955).
Claim 2: when providing the binder compound of epoxy as discussed for claim 17, this can be considered the “binder compound” and thus this would be just the epoxy compound as claimed.
Claims 19-20, as to the relative amounts of the silane coupling agent, the binder compound and silica particles, Ishioka provides that the silica particles (organic filler) can be provided in a relative amount of filler of 1-20 parts by mass to 100 parts of total of main agent (which can be the epoxy compound, note 0077, 0079) and curing agent (note 0108). Further in Ishioka, the amount of curing agent is preferably 2-20 mass relative to 100 mass of the epoxy compound (note 0074-0076, 0078, 0080, 0098), and using curing agent in the form of aluminum chelate, Kodaira would indicate the amount can be 0.1-30 parts by mass relative to 100 parts by mass of the epoxy/resin compounds (note 0053) and the amount of silica parts to epoxy compound would overlap with that claimed, and it would have been obvious to optimize this amount, giving a value in the claimed range. Furthermore, the silane coupling agent in Ishioka would be 0.5-20 parts by mass relative to 100 parts of total mass of main agent and curing agent (note 0119, noting the amount of epoxy compound that would be included as discussed above). This would give the amount of silane coupling agent to epoxy compound that would overlap with that claimed, and it would have been obvious to optimize this amount, giving a value in the claimed range. Note "[W]here the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation." In re Aller, 220 F.2d 454, 456, 105 USPQ 233, 235 (CCPA 1955).
Claim 27: as to the base material of the inner surface of the lens as polycarbonate, Ishioka indicates that the substrate (window glass 2) can be plastic, and describes as the plastic a polycarbonate based resin such as polyphenylene carbonate can be used (note 0019-0020). Koito, which indicates the coating of the inner surface of a lens as the substrate/base material as discussed for claim 17 above, provides that the substrate/base material can be plastics such as polycarbonate (note 0184, 0186), and therefore it would be suggested that a polycarbonate would be predictably and acceptably used as the base material of the inner surface of the lens, and since Ishioka shows cleaning the base material before application of the coating, it would have been suggested to provide such cleaning for polycarbonate as well, with an expectation of predictably acceptable results.
Note that Sugihara et al (US 2017/0015861) describes tris(2,4-pentanedionato)aluminum (III), aluminum hexafluoroacetylacetonate, and aluminum trifluoroacetylacetonate as aluminum chelates (0037).
Note that Katsuno et al (US 2019/0161603) notes nickel dibutyl dithiocarbamate as a nickel chelate (note 0145). Note that Kubota et al (US 2003/0130310) notes dioctyl sodium sulforsuccinate as a sulfosuccinate ester salt (note 0036). PubChem “trioctyl phosphate” notes that tris(2-ethylhexyl) phosphate is a synonym of this material (note page 1).
Aikawa et al (US 6435702) also notes providing antifogging coating on the inner surface of a lens of a vehicle lamp structure (note abstract, column 1, lines 40-55).
Double Patenting
Claims 2, 17, 19-20 and 26-27 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 1-12 of copending Application No. 18/843,025 (reference application, hereinafter ‘025) in view of Ishioka (US 2015/0210144). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the claims of ‘025 provides, as desired by present claims 17, 2, 26, an antifogging method for a vehicular lamp structure comprising a step of applying an antifogging agent to an inner surface of a lens provided in a vehicular lamp structure to form a coating film and drying the coating film (note claim 11), where the agent can comprise silica particles, a binder compound that can be an epoxy compound (note claims 1, 2) and also a silane coupling agent having a polyether group (note claim 8), and no surfactant is required (note claim 1) and while the claims do not specifically teach that a liquid medium is also present, when looking to the specification to see what would be understood by applying the agent (as is acceptable, note MPEP 804), it is indicted that liquid medium would also be present for application (note 0140 of the specification of ‘025), and thus it would be expected that the agent would also predictably and acceptably contain liquid medium. As to the use of the metal chelate, this is suggested by claims 9, 10 of ‘025, where when looking to the specification to see what would be understood by metal catalyst (as is acceptable), it is indicted that materials the same as that indicated by applicant as metal chelates would be used, in amounts in the claimed range (note 0094-0103 of ‘025). Further as to applying the antifogging agent directly onto the inner surface of the lens to form a single layer coating film and drying to form a single layer antifogging film, this would be suggested by claim 11 of ‘025 since the film is applied to the inner surface of the lens to form a coating film, and no intervening coating is required or other layers required, and the dried to form a coating film (so the single layer applied can be dried). As to the cleaning of an inner surface of the lens with water, for example, before applying the coating to this surface, Ishioka provides an antifogging method for treating a substrate (note 0006-0007, 0126 with applying an antifogging film to the substrate). The method includes a step of cleaning the substrate to be coated with antifogging agent where the process can include using a cleaning liquid such as water (note cerium oxide polish/wash of a glass substrate, followed by cerium oxide washed off with pure water, so a washing with water provided, where this is then dried, indicating that the water is liquid or at least predictably and acceptably provided as liquid, followed by coating/application of the antifogging film) (note 0146). There is provided an antifogging agent composition (water absorbing antifogging film composition) (note 0126) that can be comprising silica particles (note 0104-0109), a binder compound comprising an epoxy resin (water absorbing resin) (note 0064, 0074, 0078 understood to meet applicant’s requirements of an epoxy binder compound), a silane coupling agent (note 0104, 0114, 0117-0118) and a liquid medium (note solvent 0128-0129). The method includes applying the antifogging agent compound to the cleaned substrate to form a coating film, and drying the coating film (note 0126, 0057-0059, 0062 where it is described that a single coating can be applied to the substrate to form the water absorbing antifogging film, where the water absorbing antifogging film may be comprised of a single layer and note figure 2 showing the water absorbing antifogging film 4 directly on the substrate/glass 2, where the film can be preferably only one layer from a viewpoint of water absorbing property). The substrate can be glass and/or plastic for example (note 0017-0019, substrate as a vehicle windshield of window glass, which can be glass or plastic, where the plastic can be polycarbonate), and can be used for an automobile (vehicle) (note 0013, 0017). Ishioka does not list any required amount of surfactant for the antifogging agent compound, and therefore it is understood that no surfactant is required to be present (meeting the requirements of claim 17 and 26). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify ‘025 to provide cleaning the substrate with liquid water before applying the antifogging agent on the cleaned surface of the substrate with an expectation of predictably acceptable results, since ‘025 is applying an antifogging composition, and Ishioka indicates that it would be conventional when applying such compositions to provide cleaning the substrate with liquid water before applying the antifogging agent on the cleaned surface of the substrate. As to present claims 19, 20: this is concerned with the concentration of the various materials listed, and these would have been obvious to determine, where as indicated in MPEP 2144.05(II)(A), “Generally, differences in concentration or temperature will not support the patentability of subject matter encompassed by the prior art unless there is evidence indicating such concentration or temperature is critical. "[W]here the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation." In re Aller, 220 F.2d 454, 456, 105 USPQ 233, 235 (CCPA 1955).” As to claim 27, this is suggested by Ishioka, which indicates how substrate/base material can be glass or plastic, where the plastic can be polycarbonate material (note 0018-0019), where since the glass/windshield would be see through it would be understood to be also acceptable for the lens.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed May 11, 2026 have been fully considered.
(A) Note the adjustment to the 35 USC 103 rejections due to the amendments to the claims, with the new reference to Kodaira.
(B) As to the rejection using Ishioka as the primary reference, it is argued that Ishioka does not provide the claimed silane coupling agent with a polyether group, or the metal chelates as now claimed. It is argued that Ishioka and the secondary references ‘536/Imoto, Koito do not indicate the benefits/problems of providing the specific composition to deal with the problems caused by volatile components generated in the closed system of the vehicle lamp structure and of maintaining antfogging even after having a fogging test (noting the Examples, Comparative Examples), It is argued that Koito describes aluminum chelates, but not in the amount claimed, and it is argued that the present Examples show the benefits of using the silane coupling agent with the polyether group.
The Examiner has reviewed these arguments, however, the rejections are maintained. Ishioka would suggest claimed features as discussed above, including the single layer directly on the surface of the substrate and drying to form a single layer antifogging film, and suggests use of a silane coupling agent, where ‘536 has been provided as to the suggestion to use a silane coupling agent with a polyether group, indicated as giving benefits of improved adhesion and flexibility, and as to the substrate of an inner surface of an vehicular lamp structure, Koito has been cited as to the suggestion to use such a substrate as discussed in the rejection above. The new reference to Kodaira has been cited as to the suggestion to use a curing catalyst (where use of a curing catalyst is taught by Ishioka) in the form of aluminum chelates as claimed, and where the amount of curing catalyst used would overlap with that claimed. As to the problem addressed by applicant of preventing deterioration of anti-fog performance caused by volatile components generated in a vehicle lamp structure, the is also the general desire to apply antifogging agent to an inner surface of a lens of vehicle lamp structures, as described by Koito. Reason to modify a reference do not have to be for the same purpose as desired by applicant. Here, for example, Ishioka is providing an antifogging coating film that can be applied to a glass/plastic substate (even on an inner side of a system (vehicle interior side) note 0013) and provides use of a silane coupling agent (note 0117), and to provide antifogging protection on such substrate (and even when the substrate is an inner surface of a lens of a vehicle lamp structure as suggested by Koito) it would be desired to have the film actually adhere to the substrate to give the desired antifogging (note 0114 of Ishioka), and ‘536 provides a specific silane coupling agent that acts to improve flexibility and adhesion (where glass and organic substrates can be used), thus gives a suggested silane coupling agent to use for those benefits. ‘536 also notes benefits of stabilizing the coating dispersion with the polyether modified silane coupling agent (note page 3, translation). The fact that the inventor has recognized another advantage which would flow naturally from following the suggestion of the prior art cannot be the basis for patentability when the differences would otherwise be obvious. See Ex parte Obiaya, 227 USPQ 58, 60 (Bd. Pat. App. & Inter. 1985). As to the use of Koito, Ishioka describes a substrate of window glass (note 0013), where Koito describes that along with window glass, it is also desired to apply antifogging coatings to substrates that include inner surfaces of vehicle lamps, and thus gives a suggested further substrate to use for the antifogging coating of Ishioka to give a desirable antifogging protection with an expectation of predictable such antifogging protection. Again, the fact that the inventor has recognized another advantage which would flow naturally from following the suggestion of the prior art cannot be the basis for patentability when the differences would otherwise be obvious. See Ex parte Obiaya, 227 USPQ 58, 60 (Bd. Pat. App. & Inter. 1985). Thus, the motivation to provide the features of the claimed invention would be suggested from the prior art, and all features claimed would be suggested including the use of a substrate of an inner surface of a lens of a vehicular lamp structure.
Further as to the argument that the use of the silane coupling agent with a polyether group gives advantageous results, as discussed above, the use of the silane coupling agent with a polyether group of ‘536 would also suggest advantageous results because it is indicated as giving improved adhesion and flexibility and stability and thus already gives the suggestion of benefits. Note Ex parte Obiaya as discussed above. Additionally, it is noted, for example, that Comparative examples 2-7 use silane coupling agent of KBM coupling agents in an amount of 5 parts by mass with ST-OUP silica particles, while the Inventive examples use 10 parts by mass of the coupling agent (and only a single coupling agent material) with ST-OUP particles, where the only use of 5 parts by mass is with another type of silica particles, where it is not clarified if there is an effect by the different amount of coupling agent. Comparative example 1 had no silane coupling agent, where use of the silane coupling agent was already suggested by Ishioka. Also, all substates were polycarbonate washed with isopropyl alcohol, and it is not clarified if the substrate/washing liquid affects the test results. The present claim 17, for example, allows any silane coupling agent with a polyether group in any amount, more substrates that that tested, different cleaning than that tested, etc. for example. Therefore, a showing commensurate in scope to what is claimed has not been made. Note MPEP 716.02(d).
(C) As to the obviousness type provisional double patenting rejection using ‘025, it is argued that it is improper to rely on the teaching in claims 2-10 directed to a composition, rather than the method, where there was a restriction requirement in the present case, and only claims 1 and 11 should be relied on. It was also argued that after a unity of invention requirement in ‘025, claim 11 was withdrawn. It was also argued that claim 17 has various features such as the cleaning and then applying and the lack of surfactant, and specific chelate features would not have been obvious from claim 11, claim 1.
The Examiner has reviewed these arguments, however, it is the Examiner’s position that looking to the composition claims of ‘025 as well as the method claims 11-12 of ‘025 is proper to see what is covered. At the very least, claim 11 of ‘025 specifically indicates that the composition of claim 1 is part of the method claim 11. Furthermore, claims 2-10 are dependent on claim 1, and further clarify, therefore, what is included by claim 1 (since claim 1 has to allow all options of the dependent claims, or the dependent claims would be not further limiting). Note again that claim 1 has to be inclusive of all features in the dependent claims. Furthermore MPEP 804.01 does not apply to the double patenting rejection with ‘025. Note “The following are situations where the prohibition against nonstatutory double patenting rejections under 35 U.S.C. 121 does not apply:
(A) The applicant voluntarily files two or more applications without a restriction requirement by the examiner. In order to obtain the benefit of 35 U.S.C. 121, claims must be formally entered, restricted in, and removed from an earlier application before they are filed in a divisional application . Geneva Pharms. Inc. v. GlaxoSmithKline PLC, 349 F.3d 1373, 1379, 68 USPQ2d 1865, 1870 (Fed. Cir. 2003) “ in MPEP 804.01. 18/843.025 was not filed as a divisional, for example, due to a restriction in the present case. Further, while in ‘025, claim 11 was withdrawn from examination, it is still present in the application, and not canceled, and therefore can be used in a double patenting rejection. As to the features of claim 17 being suggested, it is the Examiner’s position that all features of claim 17 would have been suggested from ‘025 and Ishioka, as discussed in the rejection above, where Ishioka provides the suggestion of the cleaning features, and as claims 1, 11 do not require surfactant, it is understood that the amount present can be zero. Further, as noted by the Examiner it is possible to look to the disclosure of ‘025 to understand what is claimed as discussed in MPEP 804. Therefore, the provisional rejections are proper.
Conclusion
/KATHERINE A BAREFORD/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1718