DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Claims 1-7 are pending. Prior objections and rejections not included below are withdrawn in view of Applicant’s arguments and amendments.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-5 and 7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kitagawa (JP 2011142901, reference is made to the provided machine translation) in view of Vandecan (“Optimisation of specialty malt volatile analysis by headspace solid-phase microextraction in combination with gas chromatography and mass spectrometry”, DOI: 10.1016/j.aca.2010.05.009, June 2010).
Regarding Claim 1, Kitagawa teaches a beer-like, alcohol-free beverage (Abstract). The beverage comprises hops (Page 2, Claim 4).
Kitagawa does not address the amount of 2,3-diethyl-5-methylpyrazine in the beverage.
Vandecan teaches that the concentration of 2,3-diethyl-5-methylpyrazine in a dry roasted malt utilized for beer is 0.95 micrograms / 6 grams, which is 158.3 ppb (Page 59, Table 4, “Roasted malt”). Vandecan teaches that pyrazine compounds are found in beer above the flavour threshold (Page 1, Column 2, Line 1).
Where Kitagawa teaches the same steps as the instant Specification at [0046-0047], i.e. preparing water and malt [Page 2, Claim 8], and adding hops during a boiling step [Page 2, Claim 9], and where the instant Specification teaches that such steps result in a beverage comprising 2,3-diethyl-5-methylpyrazine [0051 of the instant Specification], one having ordinary skill would expect the beverage of Kitagawa to comprise the compound as claimed in the amounts as claimed. Note that where the claimed and prior art products are identical or substantially identical in structure or composition, or are produced by identical or substantially identical processes, a prima facie case of either anticipation or obviousness has been established. In re Best, 562 F.2d 1252, 1255, 195 USPQ 430, 433 (CCPA 1977). "When the PTO shows a sound basis for believing that the products of the applicant and the prior art are the same, the applicant has the burden of showing that they are not." See MPEP 2112.01 I.
Additionally, note that it would have been obvious to utilize the roasted malt of Vandecan in the beverage of Kitagawa. One would have been motivated to make such a modification since Vandecan teaches that dry roasted malts are utilized to provide flavour for beer, and Kitagawa provides for a beer-like beverage.
Regarding Claim 2, Kitagawa teaches the addition of tartaric acid (Page 2, second to last paragraph).
Regarding Claim 3, Kitagawa does not address the amount of tartaric acid. However, where Kitagawa teaches that tartaric acid imparts a desired flavor to beer (Page 2, second to last paragraph), one of ordinary skill would have been able to have adjusted the amount of tartaric acid to arrive at the amounts as claimed through no more than routine experimentation.
Regarding Claim 4, Kitagawa does not address the ratio of tartaric acid to 2,3-diethyl-5-methylpyrazine. However, where Kitagawa teaches that tartaric acid imparts a desired flavor to beer (Page 2, second to last paragraph), and Vandecan teaches that 2,3-diethyl-5-methylpyrazine is a known flavor compound in beer, one of ordinary skill would have been able to have adjusted the amounts of tartaric acid and 2,3-diethyl-5-methylpyrazine to arrive at the claimed ratios through no more than routine experimentation.
Regarding Claim 5, Kitagawa teaches that the amount of ethanol is less than 1 wt% (Page 2, Paragraph 6). Note that v/v and w/w are approximately equivalent in an aqueous beverage.
Regarding Claim 7, Kitagawa teaches that the beverage is not fermented (Abstract).
Claim(s) 6 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kitagawa view of Vandecan as applied to Claim 1, above, and further in view of Elert (https://hypertextbook.com/facts/2000/SeemaMeraj.shtml, reference is made to the provided archival version, January 2001)
Regarding Claim 6, Kitagawa teaches that the beverage is carbonated via an “ordinary soft drink manufacturing process” (Page 2, last line). Kitagawa does not specifically address the carbon dioxide gas pressure. However, typical soft drink pressures range from 117-620 kPa (Elert, Table 1), which is 1.2-6/3 kg/cm2. It would therefore have been obvious to have carbonated the beverage of Kitagawa to the pressures claimed.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments filed 1/5/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1-7 in Sections (1) and (2), Pages 3-6 of the Remarks have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
/D.L./
Examiner, Art Unit 1791
/Nikki H. Dees/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1791