Rejections 35 U.S.C. § 102(a)(1)
Claims 1, 2, 6 and 7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by U.S. Patent Publication (2020/0260859) to Deane et al.
Regarding independent claim 1, Deane et al. discloses means (104) for performing an oral cleaning; a sensor unit (106) adapted to generate a sensor signal related to a cleanliness level when the means (104) for performing an oral cleaning are inside an oral cavity of a user (See paragraphs [0032]-[0035]);
and characterized by a processor (110) arranged to perform a wear-out assessment comprising monitoring the sensor signal (106) generated when the means for performing oral cleaning (104) are outside the oral cavity (note that when the user is notified it is time to replace the device (100) the oral care means is outside the mouth), to generate a wear-out feedback signal (308) dependent upon an outcome of the wear-out assessment (See paragraph [0051]).
Regarding claim 2, Deane et al. discloses retrieving from a memory one or more baseline measures (burn measure) of the one or more pre-defined characteristics of the sensor signal (106) when the oral cleaning means (104) are outside the oral cavity (note that when the user is notified it is time to replace the device (100) the oral care means is outside the mouth) (See paragraph [0022] and [0035]);
detecting deviation of the determined characteristics of the sensor signal (106) from the baseline measures of the characteristics of the sensor signal (106) (See paragraph [0051]).
Regarding independent claim 6, Deane et al. discloses receiving a sensor signal (106) from a sensor unit (108), the sensor signal (106) relating to a cleanliness level when the sensor signal (106) is generated when oral cleaning means (104) of the oral care system (100) are inside an oral cavity of a user (See paragraphs [0032]-[0035]);
the method being characterized by performing a wear-out assessment comprising monitoring the sensor signal (106) generated when the oral cleaning means (104) are outside the oral cavity (note that when the user is notified it is time to replace the device (100) the oral care means is outside the mouth), and generating a wear-out feedback (310) dependent upon an outcome of the wear-out assessment (See paragraph [0051]).
Regarding claim 7, Deane et al. discloses a computer program product comprising computer program code (See paragraph [0022]), the computer program code (See paragraph [0022]) being executable on a processor (12), and the code configured to cause the processor (12) to perform a method in accordance with claim 6.
Rejections 35 U.S.C. § 103
Claims 4-5 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over U.S. Patent Publication (2020/0260859) to Deane et al. in view of U.S. Patent (9,668,842) to Spruit et al.
Regarding claim 4, Deane et al. is silent regarding that the sensor unit includes a plaque-detection sensor. However, Spruit et al. teaches a plaque-detection sensor (See Col. 8 lines 35-50 of Spruit et al. and FIG. 10) (See Col. 1 lines 15-25 of Spruit et al.). Spruit et al. teaches that removal of plaque is essential to healthy teeth and gum. It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art at the time before the effective filing date to modify Deane et al. with Spruit et al. in order to have a plaque-detection sensor in order to improve cleaning.
Regarding claim 5, Deane et al. as modified with Spruit et al. teaches claim 5. In particular, Spruit et al. teaches that the plaque detection sensor (parameter sensor) is adapted to generate a fluid flow (130) for being driven onto or over a tooth surface, and wherein the sensor signal (parameter sensor) is based on measurement of a pressure or flow of the generated fluid flow (See Col. 10 lines 5-18 of Spruit et al.). As mentioned above, It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art at the time before the effective filing date to modify Deane et al. with Spruit et al. in order to have a plaque-detection sensor in order to improve cleaning.
Allowable Subject Matter
3. Claim 3 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Claims 8-13 are allowed.
Response to Arguments
4. Applicant's arguments filed January 21, 2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. U.S. Patent Publication (2020/0260859) to Deane et al. does not discloses a cleanliness-related sensor signal. The Applicant argues that Deane et al. has sensors that measure a load or drive train effect to derive a “burn metric” and model lifetime, which are not adapted to generate a signal related to cleanliness level (e.g., plaque level or surface cleanliness. Deane et al. discloses that “burn refers to measurable wear of dental device, such as the splay displacement of a brush head in a toothbrush (See Remarks at page 1). However, the independent claim 1 and 6 require a sensor unit (106) adapted to generate a sensor signal related to a cleanliness level but does not mention plaque level or surface cleanliness. Importantly, Deane et al. employs the sensor unit (106) to determine burn rate based on the stiffness of bristles in combination with internal dynamics of the dental cleaning device (102) (stiffness, damping and mass) define the mode shapes and natural frequencies of dental cleaning device (102). Moreover, a change in the original configuration can be as a detection mechanism for brush head displacement. This change in mode can be used to ascertain a level of cleanliness since in order to clean the teeth adequately the stiffness and dampening of the bristles would change from prior to cleaning the teeth to after the teeth were cleaned (See paragraph [0036] of Deane et al.).
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
Conclusion
/MICHAEL D JENNINGS/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3723