DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 05/11/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant argues that the previously presented prior art of Schlesinger in view of Kanazawa does not teach the limitations of amended claim 1, namely ‘each wire of the plurality of individual wires has a diameter smaller than 0.175 millimeters (mm), and each of the one or more cables has a diameter greater than or equal to 0.3 mm and less than or equal to 0.675 mm.’
Examiner respectfully disagrees and argues that the prior art does teach the limitations of the amended claim for the following reasons.
Schlesinger teaches wherein the outer diameter of the cable may range from 0.15mm to 0.25mm (Schlesinger [0043]). While this range does not encompass the claimed diameter between 0.3mm and 0.675mm, Schlesinger discloses that the provided dimensions are presented for exemplary purposes only and that other dimensions are contemplated. This disclosure by Schlesinger may be obviously and logically combined with the prior art of Kanazawa which teaches each of the wires of the plurality of wires having a diameter that is less than or equal to 100 um, or 0.1mm (Kanazawa [0026]). Examiner also notes that Kanazawa teaches a range of possible diameters for each wire of the plurality of wires that may range from 100 um to 5 um. Kanazawa also teaches cable 20 or rope 30 (see Figs. 7-8) made from a plurality of individual tungsten wires 10. Cable 20 as shown in Fig. 7 is comprised of 7 wires 10, having a diameter equal to the diameter of 3 wires 10, which may be 300 um, or 0.3mm, if each wire had a diameter of 100um. Rope 30 as shown in Fig. 8 is comprised of 7 cables 20, having a diameter equal to the diameter of 3 cables 20, which may be 540 um, or 0.54mm, if each cable 20 was comprised of wires 10 having a diameter of 60 um, resulting in cables having a diameter of 180 um, and a rope having a diameter of 540 um. Therefore, it can be appreciated that the prior art does teach the limitations of the amended claims and the rejection is therefore maintained.
Information Disclosure Statement
The Information Disclosure Statements (IDS) filed 06/23/2023 and 07/17/2025 have been considered by the Examiner.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Found in claim 1 and its dependents, such claim limitation(s) is/are:
“a moveable component,” described in the specification as an end effector associated with one or more surgical tasks; and
“a drive element,” described in the specification as a means to control the motion of the moveable component, including drive shafts and capstans.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-6 and 22-27 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Schlesinger (US 20180001058 A1) in view of Kanazawa et al (US 20220220591 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Schlesinger teaches a surgical instrument (200) comprising:
a shaft comprising a proximal end and a distal end (catheter body 216 having proximal end 217 and distal end 218 as shown in Fig. 2);
a moveable component (see [0037]; auxiliary medical instrument 226 not shown in the figures and; Fig. 2 illustrating movement of the distal end 218 of the flexible catheter body 216) coupled to the distal end of the shaft (see [0039-0042] having a medical instrument attached to the distal end 218 of the flexible catheter body 216);
a mechanical structure coupled to the proximal end of the shaft (instrument body housing 204),
the mechanical structure comprising a drive element (see [0038-0039]; housing 204 may include drive inputs and; U.S. patent application Ser. No. 12/286,644, filed Sep. 30, 2008, disclosing “Passive Preload and Capstan Drive for Surgical Instruments” incorporated by reference by Schlesinger); and
a drive connector (pull wire assembly 300) coupled between the drive element (located in housing 204) and the moveable component (see [0042] having a pull wire extending between the instrument body housing 204 and the distal end 218, wherein the instrument is connected at the attachment site on the distal end),
the drive connector comprising one or more cables (see [0042-0043], Fig. 3 having pull wire 302 as the drive connector),
at least one of the one or more cables comprising a plurality of individual wires (see [0047]; ‘the pull wire 302 can be a cable metal wire, solid wire, or braided wire,’ wherein it interpreted that a braided wire must inherently comprise a plurality of individual wires),
each wire of the plurality of individual wires comprising tungsten (see [0042]; tungsten cable wires are desirable).
Schlesinger is silent regarding wherein each wire of the plurality of individual wires having a polished outer surface,
each wire of the plurality of individual wires has a diameter smaller than 0.175 millimeters (mm), and
each of the one or more cables has a diameter greater than or equal to 0.3 mm and less than or equal to 0.675 mm.
Although Schlesinger does disclose wherein the outer diameter of the cable may range from 0.15mm to 0.25mm (Schlesinger [0043]). While this range does not encompass the claimed diameter between 0.3mm and 0.675mm, Schlesinger discloses that the provided dimensions are presented for exemplary purposes only and that other dimensions are contemplated.
However, Kanazawa teaches a wire made of tungsten, manufactured to increase the breakage strength against torsion in comparison to conventional manufacturing, wherein a cable is formed comprising a plurality of individual wires, and each wire of the plurality of individual wires having a polished outer surface (see Kanazawa [0055]; after the drawing processing, electrolytic polishing may be performed to smooth the surface of the tungsten wire, [0083-0089]; a plurality of strands of polished tungsten wire 10 can be twisted to form a cable 20 or rope 30),
each wire of the plurality of individual wires has a diameter smaller than 0.175 millimeters (see Kanazawa [0026]; tungsten wire 10 has a diameter D less than or equal to 100um), and
each of the one or more cables has a diameter greater than or equal to 0.3 mm and less than or equal to 0.675 mm (see Kanazawa Figs. 7-8; Cable 20 as shown in Fig. 7 is comprised of 7 wires 10, having a diameter equal to the diameter of 3 wires 10, which may be 300 um, or 0.3mm, if each wire had a diameter of 100um. Rope 30 as shown in Fig. 8 is comprised of 7 cables 20, having a diameter equal to the diameter of 3 cables 20, which may be 540 um, or 0.54mm, if each cable 20 was comprised of wires 10 having a diameter of 60 um, resulting in cables having a diameter of 180 um, and a rope having a diameter of 540 um).
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the surgical instrument having cables comprising a plurality of individual wires comprising tungsten of Schlesinger with the wires having a polished outer surface as taught by Kanazawa wherein each of the plurality of individual wires has a diameter less than 0.175mm and each of the one or more cables have a diameter between 0.3mm and 0.675mm. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification to smooth out the surface of the tungsten wires (Kanazawa [0055]) in order for the plurality of individual wires to be thin and high in both tensile strength and breakage strength against torsion (Kanazawa [0045]).
Regarding claim 2, Schlesinger and Kanazawa teach the surgical instrument of claim 1. Schlesinger is silent regarding wherein the cable comprises a plurality of strands; and one or more of the plurality of strands comprises the plurality of individual wires.
However, Kanazawa teaches wherein the cable comprises a plurality of strands (see Kanazawa Fig. 8, [0083-0089]; rope 30 comprising a plurality of strands); and one or more of the plurality of strands comprises the plurality of individual wires (see Kanazawa Fig. 7, [0083-0089]; twisted wire 20 made of multiple individual wires 10).
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Schlesinger’s surgical instrument having a drive connector comprising one or more cables with a cable comprising a plurality of strands, one or more of the strands comprising a plurality of individual wires as taught by Kanazawa. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification in order to create a strong cable that has a high breakage strength against force and torsion (Kanazawa [0088]).
Regarding claim 3, Schlesinger and Kanazawa teach the surgical instrument of claim 1. Schlesinger is silent regarding the cable comprises a core strand and a plurality of outer strands surrounding the core strand; and the core strand comprises the plurality of individual wires.
However, Kanazawa teaches wherein the cable comprises a core strand and a plurality of outer strands surrounding the core strand; and the core strand comprises the plurality of individual wires. See annotated Fig. 8 below.
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Schlesinger’s surgical instrument having a drive connector comprising one or more cables with a cable comprising a core strand and a plurality of strands, the core strand and/or the surrounding strands comprising a plurality of wires as taught by Kanazawa. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification in order to create a strong cable that has a high breakage strength against force and torsion (Kanazawa [0088]).
Regarding claim 4, Schlesinger and Kanazawa teach the surgical instrument of claim 1. Schlesinger is silent regarding the cable comprises a core strand and a plurality of outer strands surrounding the core strand; and one or more strands of the plurality of strands comprises the plurality of individual wires.
However, Kanazawa teaches wherein the cable comprises a core strand and a plurality of outer strands surrounding the core strand; and one or more strands of the plurality of strands comprises the plurality of individual wires. See annotated Fig. 8 below.
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Schlesinger’s surgical instrument having a drive connector comprising one or more cables with a cable comprising a core strand and a plurality of strands, the core strand and/or the surrounding strands comprising a plurality of wires as taught by Kanazawa. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification in order to create a strong cable that has a high breakage strength against force and torsion (Kanazawa [0088]).
Regarding claim 5, Schlesinger and Kanazawa teach the surgical instrument of claim 1. Schlesinger is silent regarding the cable comprises a core strand and a plurality of outer strands surrounding the core strand; and the core strand and the plurality of outer strands comprise the plurality of individual wires.
However, Kanazawa teaches wherein the cable comprises a core strand and a plurality of outer strands surrounding the core strand; and the core strand and the plurality of outer strands comprise the plurality of individual wires. See annotated Fig. 8 below.
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Schlesinger’s surgical instrument having a drive connector comprising one or more cables with a cable comprising a core strand and a plurality of strands, the core strand and/or the surrounding strands comprising a plurality of wires as taught by Kanazawa. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification in order to create a strong cable that has a high breakage strength against force and torsion (Kanazawa [0088]).
Regarding claim 6, Schlesinger and Kanazawa teach the surgical instrument of claim 1. Schlesinger further teaches each wire of the plurality of individual wires consists essentially of tungsten, doped tungsten, or a tungsten alloy (see Schlesinger [0042]; tungsten cable wires are desirable).
Examiner is interpreting ‘consisting essentially of’ as limiting the claim to the specified material, tungsten, and any material that does not materially affect the basic and novel characteristics of said material (see MPEP 2111.03.III). In the prior art of Schlesinger, tungsten is specified as a desirable material due to its high tensile strength and high modulus ([0042]), so a material comprising tungsten that does not include additional elements which would compromise the strength and modulus of the cable are interpreted by the Examiner to meet the limitation as it is presented in the claim.
Regarding claim 22, Schlesinger and Kanazawa teach the surgical instrument of claim 1. Schlesinger further teaches wherein during a first state of the drive connector (302), the drive connector is stationary; during a second state of the drive connector, the drive connector is urged by the drive element to translate in a first direction; and the one or more cables are in tension during the first and second states of the drive connector.
It can be appreciated that the pull wire 302 enables the articulation of a distal portion of the catheter 216 ([0021]), wherein an end effector may be attached. The pull wire 302 extends between the drive element housed in the instrument body housing 204 and the movable member ([0042]), therefore it can be appreciated that the pull wire can exist in a first state wherein the wire is stationary and the end effector is not being articulated, and a second state wherein the drive element is causing translation in a direction to actuate the end effector, the pull wire being under tension so that the translation results in an actuation of the effector.
Regarding claim 25, it can be appreciated that by virtue of the pull wire assembly, Schlesinger further teaches a third state of the drive connector wherein the drive connector translates in a direction opposite to the first direction to cause actuation of the end effector in an opposite direction.
Schlesinger teaches that the pull wire is coupled to the assembly so that it may translate axially to drive actuation of the distal end of the instrument ([0062]). It can also be appreciated that the pull wire(s) are in tension during the first, second, and third states of the drive connector by virtue of the securing elements 304 that is configured to maintain force on the pull wire ([0045-0046]).
Regarding claims 23-24 and 26-27, the claims limitations are identified as functional language and statements of intended use and have been carefully considered but are not considered to impart any further structural limitations over the prior art. The device of the prior art as taught by Schlesinger and Kanazawa is structurally identical to that of the device of the claims and therefore necessarily performs in the same manner as claimed. The functional limitations as recited in claims 22 and 23 are characteristics of the device of the prior art, and therefore a prima facie case for obviousness can be established with the understanding that the device of the prior art is configured for surgical use which would require routine surgical, cleaning, and autoclave sterilization cycles as understood by one of ordinary skill in the art. See MPEP 2114(I).
Claims 11-16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Schlesinger (US 20180001058 A1) in view of Kanazawa et al (US 20220220591 A1) and Manzo et al (US 20060079884 A1).
Regarding claim 11, Schlesinger and Kanazawa teach the surgical instrument of claim 1. They are silent regarding wherein the drive connector comprises a hypotube; the hypotube comprises a proximal end; and the cable is coupled between the proximal end of the hypotube and the drive element.
However, Manzo teaches a surgical instrument (5) comprising a shaft (23) having a movable component (28) coupled to the distal end of the shaft and a drive connector comprising one or more cables (68 and/or 74), wherein the drive connector comprises a hypotube (70);
the hypotube comprises a proximal end; and
the cable is coupled between the proximal end of the hypotube and the drive element (see Manzo [0036]; housing 24 which mounts to interface housing 21 that transfers actuator inputs to the surgical instrument 5). See annotated Fig. 6C below. Note that housing 24 and interface housing 21 are not pictured in Fig. 6C but can be seen in Fig. 4 that gives a wider view of the surgical instrument assembly.
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the surgical instrument as taught by Schlesinger and Kanazawa with the drive connector comprising a hypotube as taught by Manzo. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification in order to reduce capacitive current leakage near the electrically live wrist member (Manzo [0044]).
Regarding claim 12, Schlesinger and Kanazawa teach the surgical instrument of claim 1. They are silent regarding wherein the drive connector comprises a hypotube; the hypotube comprises a distal end; and the cable is coupled between the distal end of the hypotube and the moveable component.
However, Manzo teaches wherein the drive connector comprises a hypotube (70); the hypotube comprises a distal end; and the cable (68 and/or 74) is coupled between the distal end of the hypotube and the moveable component (28). See annotated Fig. 6C below.
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the surgical instrument as taught by Schlesinger and Kanazawa with the drive connector comprising a hypotube as taught by Manzo. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification in order to reduce capacitive current leakage near the electrically live wrist member (Manzo [0044]).
Regarding claim 13, Schlesinger and Kanazawa teach the surgical instrument of claim 1. They are silent regarding wherein:
the drive connector comprises a first hypotube and a second hypotube, the first hypotube comprising a proximal end and a distal end, and the second hypotube comprising a proximal end and a distal end;
the one or more cables comprise a first cable, a second cable, a third cable, and a fourth cable;
the first cable is coupled between the drive element and the proximal end of the first hypotube;
the second cable is coupled between the distal end of the first hypotube and the movable component;
the third cable is coupled between the drive element and the proximal end of the second hypotube; and
the fourth cable is coupled between the distal end of the second hypotube and the movable component.
However, Manzo teaches wherein:
the drive connector comprises a first hypotube (a first of a plurality of hypotube 70 as shown in Fig. 6C annotated below) and a second hypotube (a second of a plurality of hypotube 70 as shown in Fig. 6C annotated below), the first hypotube comprising a proximal end and a distal end, and the second hypotube comprising a proximal end and a distal end;
the one or more cables comprise a first cable, a second cable, a third cable, and a fourth cable (first, second, third, and fourth cables of a plurality of cables 68 as shown in Fig. 6C annotated below);
the first cable is coupled between the drive element and the proximal end of the first hypotube;
the second cable is coupled between the distal end of the first hypotube and the movable component;
the third cable is coupled between the drive element and the proximal end of the second hypotube; and
the fourth cable is coupled between the distal end of the second hypotube and the movable component. See annotated Fig. 6C below.
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the surgical instrument as taught by Schlesinger and Kanazawa with the drive connector comprising a hypotube and a first, second, third, and fourth cable coupled between the hypotubes, moveable component, and drive element as taught by Manzo. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification in order to reduce capacitive current leakage near the electrically live wrist member while using the cable assemblies to drive actuation of the wrist assembly and/or end effector (Manzo [0044]).
Regarding claim 14, Schlesinger and Kanazawa teach the surgical instrument of claim 1. They are silent regarding wherein:
the drive connector comprises a first hypotube and a second hypotube,
the first hypotube comprising a proximal end and a distal end, and
the second hypotube comprising a proximal end and a distal end;
the one or more cables comprise a first cable, a second cable, and a third cable;
the first cable is coupled between the drive element and the proximal end of the first hypotube;
the second cable is coupled between the distal end of the first hypotube and the distal end of the second hypotube;
the movable component is coupled to the second cable between the distal end of the first hypotube and the distal end of the second hypotube; and
the third cable is coupled between the drive element and the proximal end of the second hypotube.
However, Manzo teaches wherein:
the drive connector comprises a first hypotube (70) and a second hypotube (72),
the first hypotube comprising a proximal end and a distal end (as labeled in annotated Fig. 6C below), and
the second hypotube comprising a proximal end and a distal end (as labeled in annotated Fig. 6C below);
the one or more cables comprise a first cable, a second cable, and a third cable;
the first cable is coupled between the drive element and the proximal end of the first hypotube (cable 74 as shown in annotated Fig. 6C below);
the second cable is coupled between the distal end of the first hypotube and the distal end of the second hypotube (cable 68 as shown in annotated Fig. 6C below);
the movable component (28) is coupled to the second cable between the distal end of the first hypotube and the distal end of the second hypotube (cable 68 as shown in annotated Fig. 9A below); and
the third cable is coupled between the drive element and the proximal end of the second hypotube (see Manzo [0044]; cables 68 extend within shaft 23 from the interface 24, wherein the drive elements are housed, to the wrist/end effector assembly. It can be appreciated that the third cable not pictured in Fig. 6C is located between the interface 24 and the proximal end of the second hypotube 72).
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the surgical instrument as taught by Schlesinger and Kanazawa with the drive connector comprising a hypotube and a first, second, and third cable coupled between the hypotubes, moveable component, and drive element as taught by Manzo. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification in order to reduce capacitive current leakage near the electrically live wrist member while using the cable assemblies to drive actuation of the wrist assembly and/or end effector (Manzo [0044]).
Regarding claim 15, Schlesinger and Kanazawa teach the surgical instrument of claim 1. Schlesinger further teaches wherein the mechanical structure comprises a second drive element (see Schlesinger [0026]; teleoperational assembly 102 includes a teleoperational manipulator assembly comprising a plurality of motors that drive motion of the system 200; it can be appreciated that these plurality of motos includes a first and second drive element). They are silent regarding wherein:
the drive connector comprises a first hypotube and a second hypotube,
the first hypotube comprising a proximal end and a distal end, and
the second hypotube comprising a proximal end and a distal end;
the one or more cables comprise a first cable, a second cable, a third cable, and a fourth cable;
the first cable is coupled between the drive element and the proximal end of the first hypotube;
the second cable is coupled between the distal end of the first hypotube and the movable component;
the third cable is coupled between a second drive element and the proximal end of the second hypotube; and
the fourth cable is coupled between the distal end of the second hypotube and the movable component.
However, Manzo teaches wherein:
the drive connector comprises a first hypotube (a first of a plurality of hypotube 70 as shown in Fig. 6C annotated below) and a second hypotube (a second of a plurality of hypotube 70 as shown in Fig. 6C annotated below), the first hypotube comprising a proximal end and a distal end, and the second hypotube comprising a proximal end and a distal end;
the one or more cables comprise a first cable, a second cable, a third cable, and a fourth cable (first, second, third, and fourth cables of a plurality of cables 68 and/or 74 as shown in Fig. 6C annotated below);
the first cable is coupled between the drive element and the proximal end of the first hypotube;
the second cable is coupled between the distal end of the first hypotube and the movable component;
the third cable is coupled between a second drive element and the proximal end of the second hypotube; and
the fourth cable is coupled between the distal end of the second hypotube and the movable component. See annotated Fig. 6C below.
It can be appreciated that based on the interpretation of a drive element, in combination with the teaching of Schlesinger that the drive connector/hypotube assemblies of Manzo may be grouped together so that the upper set of cables and hypotubes correspond to one drive element and the lower set of cables and hypotubes correspond to another drive element. Groupings of drive connectors shown in annotated Fig. 6C below.
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the surgical instrument as taught by Schlesinger and Kanazawa with the drive connector comprising a hypotube and a first, second, third, and fourth cable coupled between the hypotubes, moveable component, and first and second drive elements as taught by Manzo. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification in order to reduce capacitive current leakage near the electrically live wrist member while using the cable assemblies to drive actuation of the wrist assembly and/or end effector (Manzo [0044]).
Regarding claim 16, Schlesinger and Kanazawa teach the surgical instrument of claim 1. Schlesinger further teaches wherein the mechanical structure comprises a second drive element (see Schlesinger [0026]; teleoperational assembly 102 includes a teleoperational manipulator assembly comprising a plurality of motors that drive motion of the system 200; it can be appreciated that these plurality of motos includes a first and second drive element). They are silent regarding wherein:
the drive connector comprises a first hypotube and a second hypotube,
the first hypotube comprising a proximal end and a distal end, and
the second hypotube comprising a proximal end and a distal end;
the one or more cables comprise a first cable, a second cable, and a third cable;
the mechanical structure comprises a second drive element;
the first cable is coupled between the drive element and the proximal end of the first hypotube;
the second cable is coupled between the distal end of the first hypotube and the distal end of the second hypotube;
the movable component is coupled to the second cable between the distal end of the first hypotube and the distal end of the second hypotube; and
the third cable is coupled between the second drive element and the proximal end of the second hypotube.
However, Manzo teaches wherein:
the drive connector comprises a first hypotube (one of a plurality of hypotube 70 as shown in annotated Fig. 6C below) and a second hypotube (one of a plurality of hypotube 70 as shown in annotated Fig. 6C below),
the first hypotube comprising a proximal end and a distal end, and
the second hypotube comprising a proximal end and a distal end;
the one or more cables comprise a first cable, a second cable, and a third cable (cable portions 68 and 74 as shown in annotated Fig. 6C below);
the first cable is coupled between the drive element and the proximal end of the first hypotube (cable 74 as shown in annotated Fig. 6C below);
the second cable is coupled between the distal end of the first hypotube and the distal end of the second hypotube (cable 68 as shown in Fig. 6C and more detail in Fig. 9A below);
the movable component (28) is coupled to the second cable between the distal end of the first hypotube and the distal end of the second hypotube (cable 68 as shown in more detail in annotated Fig. 9A below); and
the third cable is coupled between a second drive element and the proximal end of the second hypotube (cable 74 as shown in annotated Fig. 6C below).
It can be appreciated that based on the interpretation of a drive element, in combination with the teaching of Schlesinger that the drive connector/hypotube assemblies of Manzo may be grouped together so that the upper set of cables and hypotubes correspond to one drive element and the lower set of cables and hypotubes correspond to another drive element. Groupings of drive connectors shown in annotated Fig. 6C below.
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the surgical instrument as taught by Schlesinger and Kanazawa with the drive connector comprising a hypotube and a first, second, and third cable coupled between the hypotubes, moveable component, and first and second drive elements as taught by Manzo. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification in order to reduce capacitive current leakage near the electrically live wrist member while using the cable assemblies to drive actuation of the wrist assembly and/or end effector (Manzo [0044]).
Conclusion
/A.J.S./Examiner, Art Unit 3792
/Benjamin J Klein/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3792