DETAILED ACTION
Claims 11-15, 17, and 19-22 are pending. Claims 11, 21, and 22 are independent.
This Application was published as US 20240021193.
Apparent priority is 4 December 2020.
The instant Application is directed to a method of training a neural network to produce conversational responses with different emotions, which can be selected by a user.
Applicant’s amendments and arguments are considered but are either unpersuasive or moot in view of the new grounds of rejection that, if presented, were necessitated by the amendments to the Claims.
This action is Final.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 11 have been considered but not persuasive. Applicant argues that none of the references disclose ranking the responses based on an emotional category. Arguments regarding Wu are persuasive, but Applicant does not provide specific arguments regarding the other references. Specifically, Rastrow discloses (Col 21, first para) that potential responses can be output as an N-best list, which is then used for the list of potential responses. An N-best would show responses from highest probability to lowest probability. As mapped below, this would have been obvious to combine. Therefore, the rejection is maintained. Additionally, although not relied upon, Fuxman and Weston are cited in the conclusion and provide additional examples that displaying suggested responses in a ranked order would have been obvious.
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 21 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 11-15, 17, 19, and 21-22 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wu (US 20180174020 A1) in view of Fong et al. ("An Event Driven Neural Network System for Evaluating Public Moods from Online Users’ Comments"), Rastrow et al. (US 10339925 B1), and Fujita et al. (“End-to-End Neural Speaker Diarization with Self-attention”).
Regarding claim 11, Wu discloses: 11. A method of training a neural network ("[0059] FIG. 9 is a schematic diagram illustrating an example of a neural network structure…" )
to generate conversational replies, (Fig. 3B shows example conversational replies. )
the method comprising: providing a first dataset of stored phrases linked to form a plurality of conversational sequences; ("[0132] A recurrent neural network (RNN) with gated recurrent units (GRUs) to learn the similarity among a query and good/bad responses as illustrated in FIG. 11A. In FIG. 11A, one training sample includes three elements: query; good response; and bad response. For example, a query of, “I love you”, a good response of “that makes me feel so happy”, and a bad response of, “deep learning is interesting,” is listed in FIG. 11A. ..." )
training the neural network to generate responses to input phrases using the first dataset; ("[0133] With large-margin training, the embedding matrices from words to vectors, and the transform matrices from embedding vectors to hidden layer lower-dimension vectors can be obtained. When these matrices are obtained, the testing process can be then performed. Given a query and a corresponding chat bot response, the training can go through the network to compute the similarity of the query and the response to obtain a similarity score. ..." )
using the trained neural network to generate a list of conversational replies in response to conversational inputs, ("[0128]... In some aspects, the response prediction system 116 select a predetermined number of responses from the response database 120 based on the highest relevancy scores and then randomly selects one or more result responses from the predetermined number of responses. In other aspects, the response prediction system 116 select one or more result responses 132 from the response database 120 based on the highest relevancy scores." )
training a first Al to classify the first dataset of stored phrases into emotional categories, ("[0118] The sentiment system 114 analyzes the one or more context sentences 128 from the context summary system 112 to determine an emotion for each context sentence 128. … [0126] … A multiple class support vector machine (SVM) model is trained utilizing these features to determine the sentiment of each context sentence …" – SVM is a first AI.)
classifying the first dataset of stored phrases into emotionally categorised datasets using the first Al, ("[0118] ...The sentiment system 114 receives the text input of the context summary system 112 and outputs an emotion label 129 for each context sentence 128 that is representative of the emotion of the user 102 for that sentence…." )
training a plurality of neural networks to generate a plurality of responses to input phrases using the emotionally categorised datasets, (“[0132] A recurrent neural network (RNN) with gated recurrent units (GRUs) to learn the similarity among a query and good/bad responses as illustrated in FIG. 11A. In FIG. 11A, one training sample includes three elements: query; good response; and bad response. For example, a query of, “I love you”, a good response of “that makes me feel so happy”, and a bad response of, “deep learning is interesting,” is listed in FIG. 11A. ...” ; Wu discloses generating a plurality of responses. Plurality of neural networks is not explicitly disclosed.)
selecting a recipient of a conversation; configuring the generation of the plurality of emotionally categorized conversational replies to be personalized to the recipient; (not explicitly disclosed)
using the plurality of trained neural networks to generate a plurality of emotionally categorised conversational replies; (Fig. 2 shows a plurality of responses are predicted)
ranking the list of conversational replies from highest to lowest according to a probability score of the response matching the conversational input and the emotional category, generated by each neural network; (“[0153] …FIG. 4D illustrates an example of a method for performing operation 410. Operation 410 may include operations 444 and 446 as illustrated in FIG. 4D. At operation 444, a relevancy score is assigned to each response in the response database based on the current query and the labeled sentences. Responses in the response database with high semantic similarity to the current user query and/or to the labeled context sentences are assigned higher scores than responses in the response database that have low semantic similarity to the current user query and/or to the labeled context sentences. As such, the emotion labels of the labeled sentences are compared to the stored emotion labels for the stored responses on the response database at operation 410 to determine the stored responses with the most similarity to the current user query and labeled sentences.” – assigning a score to each response reads on ranking from highest to lowest.)
selecting the replies where the probability score exceeds a threshold as a selection list, and ("[0154] Next, at operation 446 one or more result responses are selected based on the relevancy scores. In some aspects, the one or more result responses are the responses in the response database with the highest relevancy scores at operation 446. … In other aspects, the predetermined number of responses or number of selected result responses may be any response that meets a predetermine relevancy score threshold that configured by the creator and/or selected by the user." )
displaying the selection list to a user such that the list of conversational replies is in an order from highest to lowest according to the probability score, (not explicitly disclosed)
wherein training the neural network further comprises: segmenting the conversational sequences in the first dataset based on a timing pattern between speakers; and identifying speaker transitions by using a speech diarization algorithm without training the neural network on an individual voice profile of each speaker. (not explicitly disclosed)
Wu does not disclose training a plurality of networks to generate a plurality of emotionally categorized responses, a response that is customized to the recipient, or segmenting conversational sequences based on timing between speakers without training on voice profiles. Wu also does not disclose displaying the list to a user in an order from highest to lowest probability.
Fong discloses: training a plurality of neural networks ("Our model features a Mood engine made up of a number of artificial neutral networks, one for each type of mood, and different sets of ANNs for different cultures." Pg. 242, last para)
Wu and Fong are considered analogous art to the claimed invention because they disclose detecting emotions in conversations. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the system of Wu to use a different neural network for each emotion as taught by Fong. Doing so would have been beneficial so that additional emotions could be used. (Wu [0118] teaches only positive, negative, or neutral emotion. Fong (e.g. Pg. 241, para 5) teaches additional emotions such as happiness and surprised. The structure taught by Fong could be expanded to any number of emotions.)
Fong also does not disclose a response that is customized to the recipient, or segmenting conversational sequences based on timing between speakers without training on voice profiles. Fong also does not disclose displaying the list to a user in an order from highest to lowest probability.
Rastrow discloses: selecting a recipient of a conversation; (“The server 120 may determine (709) a recipient of the text message, for example by analyzing a recipient field of the text message.” Col 18; 36-38)
configuring the generation of the plurality of emotionally categorized conversational replies to be personalized to the recipient; (“The system may employ a first machine learning model to determine (154) the text of an automated response. The first model may consider a variety of input data. The first model may be specific to the recipient of the message or may be used for multiple users. The first model may be trained using a multitude of training examples where each example includes values for the different data of the example as well as a ground truth as to what automated response message text is appropriate for that particular example. The first model may be trained using a large text corpus taken from responses to communications (whether automated or not) that may be converted into training examples (and encoded) to train the model how to respond to incoming messages under different circumstances.” Col 18; 45-58)
Wu, Fong, and Rastrow are considered analogous art to the claimed invention because they are in the field of speech processing. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the system of Wu in view of Fong to use a model specific to the recipient as taught by Rastrow. Doing so would have been beneficial so that the response is personalized to the recipient.
Rastrow also discloses: ranking the list of conversational replies from highest to lowest according to a probability score of the response matching the conversational input and the emotional category, generated by each neural network; and selecting the replies where the probability score exceeds a threshold as a selection list, (“The server 120 determines (709) a recipient of the communication and generates (1006) text of various possible responses to the communication. The system may generate 1006 the multiple possible response text using the same trained second model as above with determining (154) what text to use for a response. The second model may output a top N-best list of potential responses, which may be used for the list of potential responses.” Col 20; 66 – 21;7 – a top N-best list contains the top responses ranked highest to lowest.)
and displaying the selection list to a user such that the list of conversational replies is in an order from highest to lowest according to the probability score, (“The system may then send (1007) a message indicating the possible responses to a device 110 c of the recipient. The device 110 c outputs (1008) content corresponding to the various responses. An illustrative example of the output of the various responses by the device 110 c is illustrated in FIG. 11.” Col 21; 7-12; see also Fig. 11.)
Wu, Fong, and Rastrow are considered analogous art to the claimed invention because they are in the field of speech processing. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have further modified the combination to output a ranked list for a user to select a reply. Doing so would have been beneficial so a user could easily respond when unavailable or busy. (Rastrow Col 3, para 2)
Rastrow does not disclose segmenting conversational sequences based on timing between speakers without training on voice profiles.
Fujita discloses: wherein training the neural network further comprises: segmenting the conversational sequences in the first dataset based on a timing pattern between speakers; (“To solve these problems, we propose Self-Attentitive End-to-End Neural Diarization (SA-EEND). Different from most of the other methods, our proposed method does not rely on clustering. Instead, a self-attention-based neural network directly outputs the joint speech activities of all speakers for each time frame, given an input of a multi-speaker audio recording.” Pg. 1, 2nd col, 3rd para)
and identifying speaker transitions by using a speech diarization algorithm without training the neural network on an individual voice profile of each speaker. (“The proposed system, SA-EEND, trained with the simulated training set showed remarkable improvements on real datasets of
the CALLHOME and CSJ, which indicates the strong generalization capability of the self-attention blocks. For the CSJ, even without domain adaptation, the proposed system performed better than
the x-vector clustering-based method.” Pg. 6, section 5.2., 2nd para – evaluating on different datasets than the training set shows that it is not trained on the individual voice profile of each speaker; see also pg. 4, section 4.1.1, 2nd para, and section 4.1.2.)
Wu, Fong, Rastrow, and Fujita are considered analogous art to the claimed invention because they are in the field of speech processing. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the system of Wu in view of Fong and Rastrow to use the diarization method taught by Fujita to segment training data. Doing so would have been beneficial so that labeled training data is not required, and because the method of Fujita surpasses state of the art methods (Fujita, abstract).
Regarding claim 12, Wu discloses: 12. The method of claim 11, wherein the conversational inputs are received from a speech to text device. ("[0081] Sounds need to be recognized and decoded as texts. A speech recognition API may be necessary for the speech-to-text conversion task and is part of the LU system 110. …" )
Regarding claim 13, Wu discloses: 13. The method of claim 11, further comprising providing a second dataset of stored phrases containing phrases previously created by a user, and further training the neural network based on the second dataset. ("[0137] In other aspects, the feedback system 119 collects user answers from the user in reply to a previously provided result responses. The feedback system 119 analyzes the answer to determine user feedback for the result response. The feedback system 119 utilizes the determined user feedback as positive or negative training data for the context summary system 112, the sentiment system 114, and/or the response prediction system 116. ..." )
Regarding claim 14, Wu discloses: 14. The method of claim 11, wherein the neural network forms one or more encoder-decoder networks. ("[0059] FIG. 9 is a schematic diagram illustrating an example of a neural network structure for the neural network language model decoder (NNLM) with additional encoder (enc) elements for section (a) and a network diagram for the attention-based encoder enc3 for section (b), in accordance with aspects of the disclosure." )
Regarding claim 15, Wu discloses: 15. The method of claim 11, wherein providing a first dataset of stored phrases includes: using a speech to text engine configured to receive speech from recordings of conversations, ("[0081] Sounds need to be recognized and decoded as texts. A speech recognition API may be necessary for the speech-to-text conversion task and is part of the LU system 110. …" )
segmenting the conversations based on timing into phrases; (Not explicitly disclosed)
and generating a dataset of stored phrases comprising linking metadata associating phrases with adjacent phrases as conversational sequences. ("[0132] A recurrent neural network (RNN) with gated recurrent units (GRUs) to learn the similarity among a query and good/bad responses as illustrated in FIG. 11A. In FIG. 11A, one training sample includes three elements: query; good response; and bad response. For example, a query of, “I love you”, a good response of “that makes me feel so happy”, and a bad response of, “deep learning is interesting,” is listed in FIG. 11A. ..." )
Wu does not disclose segmenting conversations based on timing into phrases. Neither does Fong or Rastrow.
Fujita discloses: segmenting the conversational sequences in the first dataset based on a timing pattern between speakers; (“To solve these problems, we propose Self-Attentitive End-to-End Neural Diarization (SA-EEND). Different from most of the other methods, our proposed method does not rely on clustering. Instead, a self-attention-based neural network directly outputs the joint speech activities of all speakers for each time frame, given an input of a multi-speaker audio recording.” Pg. 1, 2nd col, 3rd para)
See claim 1 for motivation statement.
Regarding claim 17, Wu in view of Fong, Rastrow, and Fujita further discloses: 17. The method of claim 11, further comprising training a first neural network to generate a plurality of responses to input phrases using the complete dataset of stored phrases, wherein using the neural network to generate a list of conversational replies comprises using the first trained neural network to generate a plurality of conversational replies, and combining the plurality of conversational replies with the plurality of emotionally categorised conversational replies to generate a combined list of conversational replies. (Wu teaches that the complete dataset is used to determine positive, negative, or neutral emotion [0118]. This would be the first neural network. Fong teaches a plurality of emotionally categorized neural networks. See claim 1 for mapping. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to train the original network trained on all data and train separate networks for each emotion. It would have been beneficial to combine results from all networks to provide more variety of responses.)
See claim 1 for motivation statement.
Regarding claim 19, Wu discloses: 19. The method of claim 18, further comprising presenting the selection list to a user to select a conversational reply and outputting the selected reply. ("[0155] In response to the one or more result responses being selected at operation 410, operation 411 is performed. At operation 411 the one or more result response are provided to the user in reply to the query. … For example, the client computing device may provide the one or more result responses with an artificial voice speaking through speakers on the client computing device." )
Wu does not disclose the user selecting the reply to be output. Neither does Fong.
Rastrow discloses: presenting the selection list to a user to select a conversational reply and outputting the selected reply. (See Fig. 11 below. Rastrow discloses that the user can select which of the possible responses should be used. See also col 21, para 1, which discloses N-best list and TTS response.)
Wu, Fong, Rastrow, and Fujita are considered analogous art to the claimed invention because they are in the field of speech processing. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have further modified the combination to allow the user to select a response to another user as taught by Rastrow. Doing so would have been beneficial so that a user could quickly reply with the most correct response. (Rastrow col 6;24-26.)
Regarding claim 21, Wu discloses: 21. A method of training a neural network to generate conversational replies, (Fig. 3B shows example conversational replies. )
the method comprising: providing a first dataset of stored phrases linked to form a plurality of conversational sequences ; ("[0132] A recurrent neural network (RNN) with gated recurrent units (GRUs) to learn the similarity among a query and good/bad responses as illustrated in FIG. 11A. In FIG. 11A, one training sample includes three elements: query; good response; and bad response. For example, a query of, “I love you”, a good response of “that makes me feel so happy”, and a bad response of, “deep learning is interesting,” is listed in FIG. 11A. ..." )
training the neural network to generate responses to input phrases using the first dataset; ("[0133] With large-margin training, the embedding matrices from words to vectors, and the transform matrices from embedding vectors to hidden layer lower-dimension vectors can be obtained. When these matrices are obtained, the testing process can be then performed. Given a query and a corresponding chat bot response, the training can go through the network to compute the similarity of the query and the response to obtain a similarity score. ..." )
using the trained neural network to generate a list of conversational replies in response to conversational inputs, ("[0128]... In some aspects, the response prediction system 116 select a predetermined number of responses from the response database 120 based on the highest relevancy scores and then randomly selects one or more result responses from the predetermined number of responses. In other aspects, the response prediction system 116 select one or more result responses 132 from the response database 120 based on the highest relevancy scores." )
training a first AI to classify the first dataset of stored phrases into emotional categories, ("[0118] The sentiment system 114 analyzes the one or more context sentences 128 from the context summary system 112 to determine an emotion for each context sentence 128. … [0126] … A multiple class support vector machine (SVM) model is trained utilizing these features to determine the sentiment of each context sentence …" – SVM is a first AI.)
classifying the first dataset of stored phrases into a plurality of emotionally categorised datasets using the first AI, ("[0118] ...The sentiment system 114 receives the text input of the context summary system 112 and outputs an emotion label 129 for each context sentence 128 that is representative of the emotion of the user 102 for that sentence…." )
training a plurality of neural networks to generate a plurality of responses to input phrases using the emotionally categorised datasets, (“[0132] A recurrent neural network (RNN) with gated recurrent units (GRUs) to learn the similarity among a query and good/bad responses as illustrated in FIG. 11A. In FIG. 11A, one training sample includes three elements: query; good response; and bad response. For example, a query of, “I love you”, a good response of “that makes me feel so happy”, and a bad response of, “deep learning is interesting,” is listed in FIG. 11A. ...” ; Wu discloses generating a plurality of responses. Plurality of neural networks is not explicitly disclosed.)
selecting a recipient of a conversation; configuring the generation of the plurality of emotionally categorized conversational replies to be personalized to the recipient; (not explicitly disclosed)
using the plurality of trained neural networks to generate a plurality of emotionally categorised conversational replies; (Fig. 2 shows a plurality of responses are predicted)
ranking the list of conversational replies according to a probability score of the response matching the conversational input and the emotional category, generated by each neural network; (“[0153] …FIG. 4D illustrates an example of a method for performing operation 410. Operation 410 may include operations 444 and 446 as illustrated in FIG. 4D. At operation 444, a relevancy score is assigned to each response in the response database based on the current query and the labeled sentences. Responses in the response database with high semantic similarity to the current user query and/or to the labeled context sentences are assigned higher scores than responses in the response database that have low semantic similarity to the current user query and/or to the labeled context sentences. As such, the emotion labels of the labeled sentences are compared to the stored emotion labels for the stored responses on the response database at operation 410 to determine the stored responses with the most similarity to the current user query and labeled sentences.”)
and selecting the replies where the probability score exceeds a threshold as a selection list, ("[0154] Next, at operation 446 one or more result responses are selected based on the relevancy scores. In some aspects, the one or more result responses are the responses in the response database with the highest relevancy scores at operation 446. … In other aspects, the predetermined number of responses or number of selected result responses may be any response that meets a predetermine relevancy score threshold that configured by the creator and/or selected by the user." )
wherein training the neural network further comprises: assuming only two people are speaking at any given time on the conversational sequences; segmenting the conversational sequences in the first dataset based on a timing pattern between speakers; and identifying speaker transitions by using a speech diarization algorithm without training the neural network on an individual voice profile of each speaker. (not explicitly disclosed)
Wu does not disclose training a plurality of networks to generate a plurality of emotionally categorized responses, a response that is customized to the recipient, or segmenting conversational sequences based on timing between speakers without training on voice profiles. Wu also does not disclose that the training comprises assuming only two people are speaking at any given time on the conversational sequences.
Fong discloses: training a plurality of neural networks ("Our model features a Mood engine made up of a number of artificial neutral networks, one for each type of mood, and different sets of ANNs for different cultures." Pg. 242, last para)
Wu and Fong are considered analogous art to the claimed invention because they disclose detecting emotions in conversations. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the system of Wu to use a different neural network for each emotion as taught by Fong. Doing so would have been beneficial so that additional emotions could be used. (Wu [0118] teaches only positive, negative, or neutral emotion. Fong (e.g. Pg. 241, para 5) teaches additional emotions such as happiness and surprised. The structure taught by Fong could be expanded to any number of emotions.)
Fong also does not disclose a response that is customized to the recipient, or segmenting conversational sequences based on timing between speakers without training on voice profiles. Fong also does not disclose that the training comprises assuming only two people are speaking at any given time on the conversational sequences.
Rastrow discloses: selecting a recipient of a conversation; (“The server 120 may determine (709) a recipient of the text message, for example by analyzing a recipient field of the text message.” Col 18; 36-38)
configuring the generation of the plurality of emotionally categorized conversational replies to be personalized to the recipient; (“The system may employ a first machine learning model to determine (154) the text of an automated response. The first model may consider a variety of input data. The first model may be specific to the recipient of the message or may be used for multiple users. The first model may be trained using a multitude of training examples where each example includes values for the different data of the example as well as a ground truth as to what automated response message text is appropriate for that particular example. The first model may be trained using a large text corpus taken from responses to communications (whether automated or not) that may be converted into training examples (and encoded) to train the model how to respond to incoming messages under different circumstances.” Col 18; 45-58)
Wu, Fong, and Rastrow are considered analogous art to the claimed invention because they are in the field of speech processing. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the system of Wu in view of Fong to use a model specific to the recipient as taught by Rastrow. Doing so would have been beneficial so that the response is personalized to the recipient.
Rastrow does not disclose segmenting conversational sequences based on timing between speakers without training on voice profiles. Rastrow also does not disclose that the training comprises assuming only two people are speaking at any given time on the conversational sequences.
Fujita discloses: wherein training the neural network further comprises: assuming only two people are speaking at any given time on the conversational sequences; (pg. 3, Fig. 2 shows the model architecture assumes only two speakers. See also Fig. 3 which labels only two speakers.)
segmenting the conversational sequences in the first dataset based on a timing pattern between speakers; (“To solve these problems, we propose Self-Attentitive End-to-End Neural Diarization (SA-EEND). Different from most of the other methods, our proposed method does not rely on clustering. Instead, a self-attention-based neural network directly outputs the joint speech activities of all speakers for each time frame, given an input of a multi-speaker audio recording.” Pg. 1, 2nd col, 3rd para)
and identifying speaker transitions by using a speech diarization algorithm without training the neural network on an individual voice profile of each speaker. (“The proposed system, SA-EEND, trained with the simulated training set showed remarkable improvements on real datasets of
the CALLHOME and CSJ, which indicates the strong generalization capability of the self-attention blocks. For the CSJ, even without domain adaptation, the proposed system performed better than
the x-vector clustering-based method.” Pg. 6, section 5.2., 2nd para – evaluating on different datasets than the training set shows that it is not trained on the individual voice profile of each speaker; see also pg. 4, section 4.1.1, 2nd para, and section 4.1.2.)
Wu, Fong, Rastrow, and Fujita are considered analogous art to the claimed invention because they are in the field of speech processing. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the system of Wu in view of Fong and Rastrow to use the diarization method taught by Fujita to segment training data. Doing so would have been beneficial so that labeled training data is not required, and because the method of Fujita surpasses state of the art methods (Fujita, abstract).
Regarding claim 22, Wu discloses: 22. A system for training a neural network to generate conversational replies, (Fig. 3B shows example conversational replies. )
the system comprising: one or more processors; and a memory storing instructions that, when executed by the one or more processors, cause the system to: (“PROCESSING UNIT 502,” “SYSTEM MEMORY 504” Fig. 5)
provide a first dataset of stored phrases linked to form a plurality of conversational sequences by: ("[0132] A recurrent neural network (RNN) with gated recurrent units (GRUs) to learn the similarity among a query and good/bad responses as illustrated in FIG. 11A. In FIG. 11A, one training sample includes three elements: query; good response; and bad response. For example, a query of, “I love you”, a good response of “that makes me feel so happy”, and a bad response of, “deep learning is interesting,” is listed in FIG. 11A. ..." )
segmenting conversations based on a timing pattern between speakers; and identifying speaker transitions by using a speech diarization algorithm without training a model on an individual voice profile of each speaker; (not explicitly disclosed)
train the neural network to generate responses to input phrases using the first dataset; ("[0133] With large-margin training, the embedding matrices from words to vectors, and the transform matrices from embedding vectors to hidden layer lower-dimension vectors can be obtained. When these matrices are obtained, the testing process can be then performed. Given a query and a corresponding chat bot response, the training can go through the network to compute the similarity of the query and the response to obtain a similarity score. ..." )
use the trained neural network to generate a list of conversational replies in response to conversational inputs, ("[0128]... In some aspects, the response prediction system 116 select a predetermined number of responses from the response database 120 based on the highest relevancy scores and then randomly selects one or more result responses from the predetermined number of responses. In other aspects, the response prediction system 116 select one or more result responses 132 from the response database 120 based on the highest relevancy scores." )
train a first AI to classify the first dataset of stored phrases into emotional categories, ("[0118] The sentiment system 114 analyzes the one or more context sentences 128 from the context summary system 112 to determine an emotion for each context sentence 128. … [0126] … A multiple class support vector machine (SVM) model is trained utilizing these features to determine the sentiment of each context sentence …" – SVM is a first AI.)
classify the first dataset of stored phrases into a plurality of emotionally categorised datasets using the first AI, ("[0118] ...The sentiment system 114 receives the text input of the context summary system 112 and outputs an emotion label 129 for each context sentence 128 that is representative of the emotion of the user 102 for that sentence…." )
train a plurality of neural networks to generate a plurality of responses to input phrases using the emotionally categorised datasets, (“[0132] A recurrent neural network (RNN) with gated recurrent units (GRUs) to learn the similarity among a query and good/bad responses as illustrated in FIG. 11A. In FIG. 11A, one training sample includes three elements: query; good response; and bad response. For example, a query of, “I love you”, a good response of “that makes me feel so happy”, and a bad response of, “deep learning is interesting,” is listed in FIG. 11A. ...” ; Wu discloses generating a plurality of responses. Plurality of neural networks is not explicitly disclosed.)
select a recipient of a conversation; configure the generation of the plurality of emotionally categorized conversational replies to be personalized to the recipient; (not explicitly disclosed)
use the plurality of trained neural networks to generate a plurality of emotionally categorised conversational replies; (Fig. 2 shows a plurality of responses are predicted)
rank the list of conversational replies from highest to lowest according to a probability score of the response matching the conversational input and the emotional category, generated by each neural network; (“[0153] …FIG. 4D illustrates an example of a method for performing operation 410. Operation 410 may include operations 444 and 446 as illustrated in FIG. 4D. At operation 444, a relevancy score is assigned to each response in the response database based on the current query and the labeled sentences. Responses in the response database with high semantic similarity to the current user query and/or to the labeled context sentences are assigned higher scores than responses in the response database that have low semantic similarity to the current user query and/or to the labeled context sentences. As such, the emotion labels of the labeled sentences are compared to the stored emotion labels for the stored responses on the response database at operation 410 to determine the stored responses with the most similarity to the current user query and labeled sentences.” – assigning a score to each response reads on ranking from highest to lowest.)
select the replies where the probability score exceeds a threshold as a selection list, and ("[0154] Next, at operation 446 one or more result responses are selected based on the relevancy scores. In some aspects, the one or more result responses are the responses in the response database with the highest relevancy scores at operation 446. … In other aspects, the predetermined number of responses or number of selected result responses may be any response that meets a predetermine relevancy score threshold that configured by the creator and/or selected by the user." )
display the selection list to a user such that the list of conversational replies is in an order from highest to lowest according to the probability score. (not explicitly disclosed)
Wu does not disclose training a plurality of networks to generate a plurality of emotionally categorized responses, a response that is customized to the recipient, or segmenting conversational sequences based on timing between speakers without training on voice profiles. Wu also does not disclose displaying the list to a user in an order from highest to lowest probability.
Fong discloses: training a plurality of neural networks ("Our model features a Mood engine made up of a number of artificial neutral networks, one for each type of mood, and different sets of ANNs for different cultures." Pg. 242, last para)
Wu and Fong are considered analogous art to the claimed invention because they disclose detecting emotions in conversations. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the system of Wu to use a different neural network for each emotion as taught by Fong. Doing so would have been beneficial so that additional emotions could be used. (Wu [0118] teaches only positive, negative, or neutral emotion. Fong (e.g. Pg. 241, para 5) teaches additional emotions such as happiness and surprised. The structure taught by Fong could be expanded to any number of emotions.)
Fong also does not disclose a response that is customized to the recipient, or segmenting conversational sequences based on timing between speakers without training on voice profiles. Fong also does not disclose displaying the list to a user in an order from highest to lowest probability.
Rastrow discloses: selecting a recipient of a conversation; (“The server 120 may determine (709) a recipient of the text message, for example by analyzing a recipient field of the text message.” Col 18; 36-38)
configuring the generation of the plurality of emotionally categorized conversational replies to be personalized to the recipient; (“The system may employ a first machine learning model to determine (154) the text of an automated response. The first model may consider a variety of input data. The first model may be specific to the recipient of the message or may be used for multiple users. The first model may be trained using a multitude of training examples where each example includes values for the different data of the example as well as a ground truth as to what automated response message text is appropriate for that particular example. The first model may be trained using a large text corpus taken from responses to communications (whether automated or not) that may be converted into training examples (and encoded) to train the model how to respond to incoming messages under different circumstances.” Col 18; 45-58)
Wu, Fong, and Rastrow are considered analogous art to the claimed invention because they are in the field of speech processing. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the system of Wu in view of Fong to use a model specific to the recipient as taught by Rastrow. Doing so would have been beneficial so that the response is personalized to the recipient.
Rastrow also discloses: ranking the list of conversational replies from highest to lowest according to a probability score of the response matching the conversational input and the emotional category, generated by each neural network; and selecting the replies where the probability score exceeds a threshold as a selection list, (“The server 120 determines (709) a recipient of the communication and generates (1006) text of various possible responses to the communication. The system may generate 1006 the multiple possible response text using the same trained second model as above with determining (154) what text to use for a response. The second model may output a top N-best list of potential responses, which may be used for the list of potential responses.” Col 20; 66 – 21;7 – a top N-best list contains the top responses ranked highest to lowest.)
and displaying the selection list to a user such that the list of conversational replies is in an order from highest to lowest according to the probability score, (“The system may then send (1007) a message indicating the possible responses to a device 110 c of the recipient. The device 110 c outputs (1008) content corresponding to the various responses. An illustrative example of the output of the various responses by the device 110 c is illustrated in FIG. 11.” Col 21; 7-12; see also Fig. 11.)
Wu, Fong, and Rastrow are considered analogous art to the claimed invention because they are in the field of speech processing. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have further modified the combination to output a ranked list for a user to select a reply. Doing so would have been beneficial so a user could easily respond when unavailable or busy. (Rastrow Col 3, para 2)
Rastrow does not disclose segmenting conversational sequences based on timing between speakers without training on voice profiles.
Fujita discloses: wherein training the neural network further comprises: segmenting the conversational sequences in the first dataset based on a timing pattern between speakers; (“To solve these problems, we propose Self-Attentitive End-to-End Neural Diarization (SA-EEND). Different from most of the other methods, our proposed method does not rely on clustering. Instead, a self-attention-based neural network directly outputs the joint speech activities of all speakers for each time frame, given an input of a multi-speaker audio recording.” Pg. 1, 2nd col, 3rd para)
and identifying speaker transitions by using a speech diarization algorithm without training the neural network on an individual voice profile of each speaker. (“The proposed system, SA-EEND, trained with the simulated training set showed remarkable improvements on real datasets of
the CALLHOME and CSJ, which indicates the strong generalization capability of the self-attention blocks. For the CSJ, even without domain adaptation, the proposed system performed better than
the x-vector clustering-based method.” Pg. 6, section 5.2., 2nd para – evaluating on different datasets than the training set shows that it is not trained on the individual voice profile of each speaker; see also pg. 4, section 4.1.1, 2nd para, and section 4.1.2.)
Wu, Fong, Rastrow, and Fujita are considered analogous art to the claimed invention because they are in the field of speech processing. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the system of Wu in view of Fong and Rastrow to use the diarization method taught by Fujita to segment training data. Doing so would have been beneficial so that labeled training data is not required, and because the method of Fujita surpasses state of the art methods (Fujita, abstract).
Claim(s) 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wu in view of Fong, Rastrow, and Fujita as applied in claim 19 above, in further view of Deng et al. (US 20210287657 A1).
Regarding claim 20, Wu and Fong discloses: 20. The method of claim 19, further comprising training a first AI to classify the first dataset of stored phrases into emotional categories, classifying the first dataset of stored phrases into emotionally categorised datasets using the first AI, training a plurality of neural networks to generate a plurality of responses to input phrases using the emotionally categorised datasets, and using the plurality of trained neural networks to generate a plurality of emotionally categorised conversational replies, (See claim 16 rejection )
wherein outputting the reply includes using a text to speech engine to convert the reply into speech, and modifying the voice profile of the text to speech engine based on the emotional category of the selected conversational reply. ("[0081] Sounds need to be recognized and decoded as texts. A speech recognition API may be necessary for the speech-to-text conversion task and is part of the LU system 110. Furthermore, the LU system 110 may need to convert a generated response 132 from text to voice to provide a voice response to the user 102." )
See claim 16 for motivation statement for Fong.
Wu and Fong do not disclose modifying the voice profile of the TTS engine.
Rastrow discloses: wherein outputting the reply includes using a text to speech engine to convert the reply into speech, and modifying the voice profile of the text to speech engine based on the emotional category of the selected conversational reply. ("For example a user may prefer a speech output voice to be a specific gender, have a specific accent, speak at a specific speed, have a distinct emotive quality (e.g., a happy voice), or other customizable characteristic(s) (such as speaking an interjection in an enthusiastic manner) as explained in other sections herein." Col 17 para 1)
Wu and Rastrow are considered analogous art to the claimed invention because they disclose methods of generating conversational responses. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have further modified the combination to modify the output voice as taught by Rastrow. Doing so would have been beneficial to allow for user preferences. (Rastrow col 17;13-15.)
Rastrow does not disclose that the emotional category is based on the selected reply. Neither does Fujita.
Deng discloses: wherein outputting the reply includes using a text to speech engine to convert the reply into speech, and modifying the voice profile of the text to speech engine based on the emotional category of the selected conversational reply. ("[0005] Embodiments of this application provide a speech synthesis method and a speech synthesis apparatus, to synthesize emotional speeches corresponding to emotional types of different emotional intensities, making the emotional speeches more realistic and rich in emotional expressions." )
Wu and Deng are considered analogous art to the claimed invention because they disclose methods for replying with emotion. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the combination with different voice emotion depending on the response. Doing so would have been beneficial to make the speech more realistic and richer. (Deng [0005])
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Fuxman et al. (US 20180210874 A1). Fuxman discloses automatic suggested responses to images in messaging. Fuxman discloses outputting a particular number of top ranked suggested responses in ranked order based on confidence scores based on similar factors ([0105]-[0106]). See also Figs. 7-11.
Weston et al. (US 20170277667 A1). Weston discloses a method to predict responses to user requests. Weston discloses ordering suggested responses with higher-ranked suggested responses displayed at the beginning of a list ([0049]).
/JON CHRISTOPHER MEIS/Examiner, Art Unit 2654
/HAI PHAN/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2654