DETAILED ACTION
This office action is in response to remarks filed 03/04/2026.
Claims 19-25, 27-35, and 37-40 are pending and presented for examination. Claims 19, 24, 29, 34, 39, and 40 have been amended. No claims have been added or cancelled.
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Response to Amendment
Examiner notes that Applicant’s remarks to the matter of Effective Filing Date state “Applicant submits that no response is necessary.” Applicant also states that “Applicant acknowledges that the examination of the current claims is proceeding with an Effective Filing Date of not before March 11, 2021.” per Applicant’s response, filed 03/04/2026, to Office Final Rejection, filed 02/05/2026.
Rejections of claims 19 and 29 under 35 U.S.C. § 112(a) are withdrawn.
Claims 39 and 40 are objected to for a possible typo in the amendment.
Priority
Applicant’s claim for the benefit of a prior-filed application under 35 U.S.C. 119(e) or under 35 U.S.C. 120, 121, 365(c), or 386(c) is acknowledged. Applicant has not complied with one or more conditions for receiving the benefit of an earlier filing date under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) as follows:
The later-filed application must be an application for a patent for an invention which is also disclosed in the prior application (the parent or original nonprovisional application or provisional application). The disclosure of the invention in the parent application and in the later-filed application must be sufficient to comply with the requirements of 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or the first paragraph of pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, except for the best mode requirement. See Transco Products, Inc. v. Performance Contracting, Inc., 38 F.3d 551, 32 USPQ2d 1077 (Fed. Cir. 1994).
The disclosure of the prior-filed application, Application No. 63/117833, 63/141765, and 63/153691, fails to provide adequate support or enablement in the manner provided by 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, first paragraph for one or more claims of this application.
Claims 19, 21, 22, 23, 29, 31, 32, 33, 39 and 40 specifically refer to “parameterized spatial reuse” and/or “spatial reuse transmission power” which is subject matter that is not supported in the three provisional applications listed. Application 63/159864, filed 03/11/2021, has support for the claimed subject matter.
Claims 19, 21, 22, 23, 29, 31, 32, 33, 39, and 40 specifically refer to “total transmit power”, “transmit upper bound”, and “spatial reuse transmission power level” which is subject matter that is not supported in the three provisional applications listed. Application 63/159864, filed 03/11/2021, has support for the claimed subject matter.
The effective filing date for the claims 19, 21, 22, 23, 29, 31, 32, 33, 39, and 40 is not before 03/11/2021.
Claim Objections
Claims 39 and 40 are objected to because of the following informalities: Appears to be a possible typo in the following text ‘a number of all subchannels int eh second set of subchannels’, emphasis added. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 20 and 30 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention.
The amended limitation of a PSR STA receiving ‘a first frame from a STA or an access point (AP)’, emphasis of amended text, of Claims 19 and 29 are followed by the unamended dependent claims 20, 30 which recite the limitation ‘wherein the received first frame is a trigger frame’. Claims 20 and 30 do not further limit the first frame, a trigger frame, as received from an access point while claims 19 and 20 recite receiving the first frame by a STA or an AP. The specification includes no description of STA receiving a trigger frame from another STA.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 19-23, 25, 27-33, 35, 37-40 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Noh et al. (US 20200045637 A1, hereinafter “Noh”), in view of Park et al. (WO-2022059974-A1, hereinafter “Park”.
RE Claim 19, 29, Noh discloses an STA or method:
A station (STA) configured for parameterized spatial reuse (PSR) (Abstract, ¶0047, ‘STA3’ label, ¶0149, Fig. 19A, 19b), the STA comprising:
a processor (¶0050, Fig. 2); and
a transceiver (¶0050, Fig. 2);
the processor and a transceiver configured to receive, a first frame from a STA of an overlapping basic service set (OBSS) (STA2 transmits a trigger frame to solicit a response from STA1 in the BSS. STA3 also receives trigger frame and the UL trigger-based frame respectively from STA1 and STA2 as OBSS frames. ¶0149, Fig. 19A, 19B), the first frame including at least one value indicative of at least one spatial reuse transmission power level associated with a respective one of the first set of subchannels (STA3 determines if a spatial reuse, SR, transmission may be initiated based on assessing interference to STA2. STA3 use two values 1) RSSI.sub.STA2@STA3 and 2) spatial reuse parameter, SRP. These values facilitate STA3 for satisfying SR conditions that may avoid interference. ¶0149; STA3 receives the SRP in the HE-SIG-A field of the UL trigger-based frame. STA1 copies and pastes the SRP from the trigger frame into the SRP of the UL trigger-based frame, SRP present in first frame. SRP for STA3 is a function of a transmit power at STA2 plus an acceptable receiver interface at STA2. ¶0151); and
the processor and the transceiver configured to transmit a second frame (STA3 may initiate an SR transmission based on SRPs and power levels. ¶0151), to another STA of a BSS with which the STA is associated (STA3 may initiate SR transmission to STA2 within its BSS. ¶0151), at a total transmit power determined using a transmit power upper bound (Calculations representing OBSS PD, OBSS Packet Detection levels, based on OBSS_PD_min, TX_PWR, TX_PWR_Ref, and M. M is to adjust OBSS_PD level also used by the STA to compare measured received power, e.g. boosted by M dB. ¶0134), wherein the transmit power upper bound is calculated based on:
a minimum spatial reuse transmission power level of the at least one spatial reuse transmission power level (OBSS_PD.sub.min, the OBSS packet detection minimum level, is the minimum received sensitivity level. ¶0135), and
Noh does not explicitly disclose:
the processor and a transceiver configured to receive, using a first channel comprising a first set of subchannels including at least one first punctured subchannel and at least one first non-punctured subchannel
the processor and the transceiver configured to transmit a second frame, over a second channel comprising a second set of subchannels including at least one second punctured subchannel and at least one second non-punctured subchannel
a receive power level (RPL) measured for at least one first non-punctured subchannel of the first set of subchannels that overlap with at least one non-punctured subchannel of the second set of subchannels.
However, Park discloses:
the processor and a transceiver configured to receive (Processor and transceiver of a device. ¶¶0180-0181, Fig. 11; When a PPDU is received, the MAC layer of a particular device is notified by the PHY. At this time, the node examines the frame and, among other actions, determines whether the PPDU is an Intra-BSS frame or an Inter-BSS frame. By quickly identifying the source of an ongoing transmission, a HE STA can improve its chances of accessing the channel using appropriate OBSS/PD values. ¶0195, Fig. 3), using a first channel comprising a first set of subchannels including at least one first punctured subchannel and at least one first non-punctured subchannel (Preamble puncturing may be applied to the PPDU of Fig. 10. Preamble puncturing means applying puncturing to a portion of the entire bandwidth of a PPDU (e.g., the Secondary 20 MHz band). For example, when an 80 MHz PPDU is transmitted, the STA can apply puncturing to the secondary 20 MHz band among the 80 MHz band and transmit the PPDU only through the primary 20 MHz band and the secondary 40 MHz band. ¶0155, Fig. 10. For example, when the first puncturing pattern is applied, puncturing can be applied only to the secondary 20 MHz band within the 80 MHz band. ¶0156;),
the processor and the transceiver configured to transmit a second frame (Processor and transceiver of a device. ¶¶0180-0181, Fig. 11; SR operation along with sensitivity adjustment includes transmit power limiting for all transmissions resulting from a detected SR TXOP (i.e. after ignoring a given inter-BSS frame via OBSS/PD based SR operation). The maximum allowable transmit power (TX PWR<sub>max</sub>) is defined as follows: The previous equation holds for OBSS/PD<sub>max</sub>>= OBSS/PD > OBSS/PD<sub>min</sub>. Otherwise the maximum transmitted power is not limited. By enforcing power limits, OBSS/PD values aim to reduce the impact of simultaneous transmissions caused by SR. ¶¶0200-0202, Fig. 14), over a second channel comprising a second set of subchannels including at least one second punctured subchannel and at least one second non-punctured subchannel (Preamble puncturing may be applied to the PPDU of Fig. 10. Preamble puncturing means applying puncturing to a portion of the entire bandwidth of a PPDU (e.g., the Secondary 20 MHz band). For example, when an 80 MHz PPDU is transmitted, the STA can apply puncturing to the secondary 20 MHz band among the 80 MHz band and transmit the PPDU only through the primary 20 MHz band and the secondary 40 MHz band. ¶0155, Fig. 10. For example, when the first puncturing pattern is applied, puncturing can be applied only to the secondary 20 MHz band within the 80 MHz band. ¶0156.),
a receive power level (RPL) measured for at least one first non-punctured subchannel of the first set of subchannels that overlap with at least one non-punctured subchannel of the second set of subchannels (The opportunist examines the PSR value of the detected TF, trigger frame, and, if it determines that the intended transmit power is allowable, transmits during the interval of TB PPDU(s) (indicated in the Common Info field). In particular, the intended transmit power must be less than the PSR value measured in the legacy part of the TF (i.e., the PHY header) minus the Received Power Level (RPL). The PSR value is calculated as follows: Here, TX PWR<sub>AP</sub> is the normalized transmit power in dBm at the output of the antenna connector and I^max_AP is the normalized value in dB that captures the maximum interference allowed at the transmit holder. In particular, I^max_AP is computed as the target RSSI indicated in the TF minus the minimum SNR that grants 10% PER (based on the highest MCS used for UL HE TB PPDU transmission). A safety margin (set by AP) of 5 dB is also included. ¶¶0208-0210).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Noh, configuration of devices in BSS and OBSS networks for spatial reuse operations, with the teachings of Park, measure received power levels by a detected spatial reuse TXOP via OBSS/PD operation for channel assessment and determination of maximum or reduced transmit power levels at next TXOP.
The motivation in doing so would be to support spatial reuse improvements by determining OBSSs and associated devices with associated levels of punctured and non-punctured subchannels for adjustment of TX power level for spatial reuse to reduce inter-BSS, OBSS, interference and improve BSS wireless communications such as higher throughput. (Noh: Abstract, ¶¶0002-0003, 0032-0033, 0044, 0220-0221; Park: Abstract, ¶¶0001, 0004, 0009, 0014-0015, 0017, 0249-0250, 0256-0257, 0565)
RE Claim 20, 30, Noh discloses an STA or method:
wherein the received first frame is a trigger frame that triggers the transmission of the second frame by another STA of the OBSS (STA2 transmits a trigger frame to solicit a response from STA1 in the BSS. STA3 also receives trigger frame and the UL trigger-based frame respectively from STA1 and STA2 as OBSS frames. ¶0149, Fig. 19A, 19B; STA3 determines if a spatial reuse, SR, transmission may be initiated based on assessing interference to STA2. STA3 use two values 1) RSSI.sub.STA2@STA3 and 2) spatial reuse parameter, SRP. These values facilitate STA3 for satisfying SR conditions that may avoid interference. ¶0149; STA3 receives the SRP in the HE-SIG-A field of the UL trigger-based frame. SRP for STA3 is a function of a transmit power at STA2 plus an acceptable receiver interface at STA2. ¶0151).
RE Claim 21, 31, Noh discloses an STA or method:
wherein the received first frame is a trigger based (TB) physical layer protocol data unit (PPDU) transmitted by another STA of the OBSS in response to a trigger frame, and wherein the at least one value indicative of at least one spatial reuse transmission power level is indicated by a signal (SIG) field included in the received TB PPDU (STA3 receives the SRP in the HE-SIG-A field of the UL trigger-based frame transmitted by STA1 in response to STA2 trigger frame. SRP is a function of a transmit power at STA2 plus an acceptable receiver interference level at STA2. For example, STA3 may initiate an SR transmission when the estimated transmit power at STA3 is less than a difference between the SRP and the measured received power at STA3 (e.g., TX Power.sub.STA3<SRP−RSSI.sub.STA2@STA3, where RSSI.sub.STA2@STA3 represents the measured received power in this equation. ¶0151).
RE Claim 25, 35, Noh discloses an STA or method:
wherein the STA of the BSS with which the STA is associated is a non-access point (non-AP) STA (¶¶0046-0047, Fig. 1; “STA1” ¶¶0148-0149, Fig. 19A, 19B).
RE Claim 27, 37, Noh discloses an STA or method:
wherein the STA of the OBSS is an AP-STA (¶¶0046-0047, Fig. 1; “STA2” ¶¶0148-0149, Fig. 19A, 19B).
RE Claim 28, 38, Noh discloses an STA or method:
wherein the STA of the OBSS is a non-AP STA (¶¶0046-0047, Fig. 1; “STA3” ¶¶0148-0149, Fig. 19A, 19B).
RE Claim 39, 40, Noh does not explicitly disclose an STA or method:
wherein the transmit power upper bound is calculated based on a ratio of a number of the at least one second non-punctured subchannel and a number of all subchannels in the second set of subchannels.
However, Park discloses:
wherein the transmit power upper bound is calculated based on a ratio of a number of the at least one second non-punctured subchannel and a number of all subchannels in the second set of subchannels (Preamble puncturing may be applied to the PPDU of Fig. 10. Preamble puncturing means applying puncturing to a portion of the entire bandwidth of a PPDU (e.g., the Secondary 20 MHz band). For example, when an 80 MHz PPDU is transmitted, the STA can apply puncturing to the secondary 20 MHz band among the 80 MHz band and transmit the PPDU only through the primary 20 MHz band and the secondary 40 MHz band. ¶0155, Fig. 10; The maximum allowable transmit power (TX PWR<sub>max</sub>) is defined as follows: The previous equation holds for OBSS/PD<sub>max</sub>>= OBSS/PD > OBSS/PD<sub>min</sub>. Otherwise the maximum transmitted power is not limited. By enforcing power limits, OBSS/PD values aim to reduce the impact of simultaneous transmissions caused by SR. ¶¶0200-0202, Fig. 14; The opportunist examines the PSR value of the detected TF, trigger frame, and, if it determines that the intended transmit power is allowable, transmits during the interval of TB PPDU(s) (indicated in the Common Info field). In particular, the intended transmit power must be less than the PSR value measured in the legacy part of the TF (i.e., the PHY header) minus the Received Power Level (RPL). The PSR value is calculated as follows: Here, TX WR<sub>AP</sub> is the normalized transmit power in dBm at the output of the antenna connector and I^max_AP is the normalized value in dB that captures the maximum interference allowed at the transmit holder. In particular, I^max_AP is computed as the target RSSI indicated in the TF minus the minimum SNR that grants 10% PER (based on the highest MCS used for UL HE TB PPDU transmission). A safety margin (set by AP) of 5 dB is also included. ¶¶0208-0210).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Noh, configuration of devices in BSS and OBSS networks for spatial reuse operations, with the teachings of Park, measure received power levels by a detected spatial reuse TXOP via OBSS/PD operation for channel assessment and determination of maximum or reduced transmit power levels at next TXOP.
The motivation in doing so would be to support spatial reuse improvements by determining OBSSs and associated devices with associated levels of punctured and non-punctured subchannels for adjustment of TX power level for spatial reuse to reduce inter-BSS, OBSS, interference and improve BSS wireless communications such as higher throughput. (Noh: Abstract, ¶¶0002-0003, 0032-0033, 0044, 0220-0221; Park: Abstract, ¶¶0001, 0004, 0009, 0014-0015, 0017, 0249-0250, 0256-0257, 0565)
RE Claim 22, 32, Noh does not explicitly disclose an STA or method:
wherein the at least one value indicative of at least one spatial reuse transmission power level is indicated by a common info field of the received trigger frame.
However, Park discloses:
wherein the at least one value indicative of at least one spatial reuse transmission power level is indicated by a common info field of the received trigger frame ( Trigger frame includes UL Spatial Reuse subfield of the common information field conveys a value. ¶0220, Fig. 16, 17, 18; The parameterized spatial reuse, PSR, value of the detected trigger frame is examined to determine if intended transmit power is allowable. The intended transmit power must be less than the PSR value measured in the trigger frame minus the Received Power Level, RPL. ¶0208. PSR value calculation method, ¶0210).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Noh, detection of frame formats indicating spatial reuse and determine an appropriate transmission power level, with the teachings of Park, define spatial reuse parameters for the common and special user info fields of the trigger frame .
The motivation in doing so would be to define and obtain spatial reuse parameters in both trigger and trigger-base frame formats to support 802.11 HE and legacy PHYs. (Noh: Abstract, ¶0035, ¶0018, ¶0032, Fig. 18; Park: Abstract, ¶0001, ¶0004, ¶0009)
RE Claim 23, 33, Noh does not explicitly disclose an STA or method:
wherein the at least one value indicative of at least one spatial reuse transmission power level is indicated by a special user field of the received trigger frame.
However, Park discloses:
wherein the at least one value indicative of at least one spatial reuse transmission power level is indicated by a special user field of the received trigger frame (Special User Info Field is included in the trigger frame. ¶0238, Fig. 18, 19; Each Spatial Reuse subfield of the Common Info field is determined based on a Spatial Reuse subfield of the Special User Info field. ¶0236; Each Spatial Reuse field of the Special User Info field is set to the same values as the corresponding Special Reuse field of the EHT TB PPDU. Each Spatial Reuse field indicates, among other things, a value used to determine a limitation on the transmission power of the PSRT PPDU, Parameterized Spatial Reuse Transmission.).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Noh, detection of frame formats indicating spatial reuse and determine an appropriate transmission power level, with the teachings of Park, define spatial reuse parameters for the common and special user info fields of the trigger frame .
The motivation in doing so would be to define and obtain spatial reuse parameters in both trigger and trigger-base frame formats to support 802.11 HE and legacy PHYs. (Noh: Abstract, ¶0035, ¶0018, ¶0032, Fig. 18; Park: Abstract, ¶0001, ¶0004, ¶0009)
Claim(s) 24 and 34 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Noh, in view of Park, in view of Yang et al. (US 20210288768 A1, hereinafter “Yang”).
RE Claim 24, 34, Noh does not explicitly disclose an STA or method:
wherein the total transmit power is normalized by a number of the at least one second non-punctured subchannel in the second set of subchannels.
However, Yang discloses:
wherein the total transmit power is normalized by a number of the at least one second non-punctured subchannel in the second set of subchannels (Spatial Reuse subfield indicates whether SR is allowed. ¶0084. APs and STAs may be configured to implement Spatial Reuse techniques. ¶0091. Plurality of contiguous tones associated with the number of non-punctured tones in each unique frequency segment, subchannels of a second frequency bandwidth, total channel bandwidth. ¶¶0014-0015; In some implementations, the described techniques can be used to increase the allowable transmit power of APs and STAs. Specifically, because PSD limits imposed on wireless communications are expressed as a function of bandwidth, the maximum transmit power allowed by such PSD limits may be increased by using larger bandwidths for wireless communications without increasing the data rate used for such communications. In some implementations, a STA may use duplicated RUs that span a wider frequency band than a base RU to transmit UL or DL data, for example, such that the applicable PSD limit is based on or associated with the wider frequency band of the duplicated RUs. ¶0061; A STA generates four PPDUs where each PPDU is formatted for 20 MHz, a subchannel. ¶0110, Fig. 8; The four 20 MHz subchannels occupy a total channel bandwidth of 80 MHz. ¶0111, Fig. 8; The power spectral density limit of 20 MHz, a subchannel, is lower than the power spectral density of the 80 MHz bandwidth. Thus, each 20 MHz subchannel power is increase by a factor of 4, normalizing the total transmit power based on number of subchannels. ¶0112, Fig. 8;).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Noh, detection of frame formats indicating spatial reuse and determine an appropriate transmission power level, with the teachings of Yang, adjustment of subchannels power level based on relationship of power spectral density of the subchannel to the total channel bandwidth.
The motivation in doing so would be to define and obtain spatial reuse parameters in both trigger and trigger-base frame formats with setting of total transport power based on power spectral density and total channel bandwidth limitations. (Noh: Abstract, ¶0035, ¶0018, ¶0032, Fig. 18; Yang: Abstract, ¶0004, ¶0012, ¶0013, ¶0014, ¶0015, ¶0061, ¶0084, ¶0091)
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, filed 03/04/2026, with respect to claim(s) 19, 24, 29, 34, 39, and 40 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant’s disclosure.
US 20210028897 A1 Park et al.
“METHOD AND DEVICE FOR TRANSMITTING PPDU ON BASIS OF FDR IN WIRELESS LAN SYSTEM”
A method and a device for transmitting and receiving PPDU on the basis of FDR in a wireless LAN system are presented. More particularly, an AP transmits a trigger frame to an STA. The AP transmits downlink (DL) PPDU to the STA on the basis of the AP trigger frame. The AP receives uplink (UL) PPDU from the STA on the basis of the trigger frame. The trigger frame includes a first common information field. The first common information field includes a trigger type field, a length field, and a bandwidth field. The length field comprises information on the length of the longest PPDU of the DL PPDU and the UL PPDU. The bandwidth field comprises information on the total bandwidth over which the DL PPDU and the UL PPDU are transmitted. The DL PPDU and the UL PPDU are transmitted and received on the basis of FDR.
/PAUL A. LANGER/Examiner, Art Unit 2419
/Nishant Divecha/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2419