DETAILED ACTION
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are: attachment elements in claim 1.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-6, 8-10, and 26-28 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 1 recites “one or more displacement bars including a primary displacement bar and a secondary displacement bar” in line 12. The provision of both a primary displacement bar and a secondary displacement bar, i.e. two displacement bars, is at odds with the limitation “one or more”. For examination purposes, the displacement bars will be understood to be at least two in number.
Claim 26 recites a similar limitation as above.
Claim 26 recites the limitation "the contour of the leading edge of the wind turbine blade" in line 9. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
The remaining claims are rejected by virtue of their dependency on claims 1 and 26.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-6, 8 ,10, 27-28 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Le Vacon et al. (FR2933323, with reference to translation).
Claim 1: Le Vacon discloses a guiding device (1) for inspection and/or processing (e.g. page 3 – drilling, ND testing, etc.) of a surface area of a structure (3 – intended use) extending along a longitudinal direction (e.g. X), the guiding device comprising: a plurality of elongated base elements (rails 101a and 101b) including a primary elongated base element (e.g. 101a) adapted to be arranged on an outer surface of a first side of the structure (evident in figures), and a secondary elongated base element (e.g. 101b) adapted to be arranged on an outer surface of a second side of the structure; wherein each of the elongated base elements is provided with one or more attachment elements (suction cups 130 – page 7) for detachably attaching the plurality of elongated base elements to the structure; one or more displacement bars (111a and 111b) including a primary displacement bar (e.g. 111a) and a secondary displacement bar (e.g. 111b), the primary displacement bar being movably attached to the primary elongated base element and the secondary elongated base element (via 102a/b – page 4), wherein the one or more displacement bars are curvilinear bars adapted to follow a curvature of a curved workpiece (each of the X and Y rails, which includes 111a and 111b, can optionally have a curvature to adapt to curvatures of the structure 3 – bottom of page 4); and a support element (120) movably attached to the one or more displacement bars (via 112a/b - page 4) and displaceable along the longitudinal direction (X) and perpendicular to the longitudinal direction (Y) relative to the primary elongated base element, the support element being adapted to be fitted with a tool (2) for inspecting and/or processing the surface area of the structure (as cited above).
Regarding the above, it is noted that a recitation of the intended use of the claimed invention must result in a structural difference between the claimed invention and the prior art in order to patentably distinguish the claimed invention from the prior art. If the prior art structure is capable of performing the intended use, then it meets the claim. In this case, the use of the guiding device for inspection and/or processing of a surface area of leading edge of a wind turbine blade, the elongated base elements adapted to being arranged on an outer surface on a first and second side along the leading edge of the wind turbine blade, and the curvilinear bars adapted to follow a curvature of the leading edge of the wind turbine blade, are considered reciting the intended use of the device, as the particular use of the device does not necessarily limit the structure of the device per se. Furthermore, a claim is only limited by positively recited elements. Thus, "[i]nclusion of the material or article worked upon by a structure being claimed does not impart patentability to the claims." In re Otto, 312 F.2d 937, 136 USPQ 458, 459 (CCPA 1963); see also In re Young, 75 F.2d 996, 25 USPQ 69 (CCPA 1935). See MPEP 2115. The examiner submits that because the specific geometry of the non-positively recited turbine blade (and the leading edge thereof) is not recited beyond an implicit curvature, then the Le Vacon device is presumed capable of serving the intended use, especially in view of the optionally curved bars for conforming to curved workpieces as cited above.
Claim 2: The support element (120) is movable along the one or more displacement bars (along the Y direction via 112a/b) as cited above).
Claim 3: The primary displacement bar (e.g. 111a) extends between the primary elongated base element and the secondary elongated base element (e.g. Fig. 1), and the support element is arranged between the primary elongated base element and the secondary elongated base element (Id.).
Claim 4: The primary elongated base element and/or the secondary elongated base element (101a and/or 101b) are adapted to be arranged parallel to the longitudinal direction (X - Fig. 1) of the leading edge of the wind turbine blade (intended use as discussed above) or the primary elongated base element and/or the secondary elongated base element are adapted to be arranged perpendicular to the longitudinal direction of the composite structure (the device could be simply rotated 90 degrees relative to the workpiece from what is shown in Fig. 1).
Claim 5: The one or more elongated base elements includes a tertiary elongated base element (101c) and optionally a quaternary elongated base element (101d), the tertiary elongated base element and optionally the quaternary elongated base element being arranged substantially perpendicular to the primary elongated base element (Fig. 1) and/or wherein the tertiary elongated base element and optionally the quaternary elongated base element extend between the primary elongated base element and the secondary elongated base element (Id.).
Claim 6: The primary displacement bar (e.g. 111a) is arranged substantially perpendicular to the primary elongated base element (Fig. 1) and/or wherein the primary displacement bar is movable along the primary elongated base element (as cited above).
Claim 8: The support element is arranged between the primary displacement bar and the secondary displacement bar (e.g. Fig. 1).
Claim 10: A primary attachment element (any of 130) of the one or more attachment elements are arranged on the primary elongated base element (e.g. Fig. 4a), and/or a tertiary attachment element (another of 130) of the one or more attachment elements are arranged on the tertiary elongated base element (Fig. 4a).
Claim 27: The primary attachment element (one of 130 as noted above) is positioned between (e.g. vertically between) the primary elongated base element and the outer surface of the structure (as generally evident in the figures), where the structure being the leading edge of the wind turbine blade is intended use as discussed above.
Claim 28: The tertiary attachment element (another of 130 as noted above) is positioned between (e.g. vertically between) the tertiary elongated base element and the outer surface of the structure (as generally evident in the figures), where the structure being the leading edge of the wind turbine blade is intended use as discussed above.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 9 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Le Vacon in view of Warren (EP2674244, cited in IDS).
Le Vacon further discloses a device substantially as claimed except for wherein the primary displacement bar comprises a first end movably attached to the primary elongated base element and an opposite second end adapted to contact and being slidable over the outer surface of the structure and wherein the primary displacement bar optionally comprises a wheel arranged at the second end adapted to contact the outer surface of the structure. However, Warren teaches a similar device wherein a primary displacement bar (24) comprises a first end movably attached to a primary elongated base element (via 18) and an opposite second end adapted to contact and being slidable over the outer surface of a structure (via 38) and wherein the primary displacement bar optionally comprises a wheel (38) arranged at the second end adapted to contact the outer surface of the composite structure (paragraph 27). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Le Vacon as taught by Warren since the use of one elongate base element avoids the complex setup required to align two X-axis tracks (Warren, paragraph 13).
Claim 10 is alternatively rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Le Vacon in view of Yuan et al. (CN102847979, cited in IDS, with reference to translation).
Le Vacon further discloses that each of the one or more attachment elements (130) comprises a vacuum element, the vacuum element being adapted to adhere to the outer surface of the structure by application of a negative pressure by the vacuum source (in the form of a rigid suction cup “kept continuously under pressure” - page 7). Le Vacon does not explicitly disclose a fluid outlet adapted to be connected to a vacuum source. However, Yuan et al. discloses similar vacuum elements having a fluid outlet (14) adapted to be connected to a vacuum source (paragraphs 13 and 29). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have provided the vacuum elements with a fluid outlet adapted to be connected to a vacuum source in order to have provided the requisite suction to attach the device to the workpiece.
Claim 26 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Le Vacon
Claim 26: Le Vacon discloses a guiding device (1) for inspection and/or processing (e.g. page 3 – drilling, ND testing, etc.) of a surface area of a structure (3 – intended use) extending along a longitudinal direction (e.g. X), the guiding device comprising: a plurality of elongated base elements (rails 101a and 101b) including a primary elongated base element (e.g. 101a) adapted to be arranged on an outer surface of a first side of the structure (evident in figures), and a secondary elongated base element (e.g. 101b) adapted to be arranged on an outer surface of a second side of the structure, a tertiary elongated base element (101c) adapted to extend from the first side of the structure to the second side of the structure, and a quaternary elongated base element (101d) adapted to extend from the first side of the structure to the second side of the structure; one or more attachment elements (suction cups 130 – page 7) for detachably attaching the plurality of elongated base elements to the structure; one or more displacement bars (111a and 111b) including a primary displacement bar (e.g. 111a) and a secondary displacement bar (e.g. 111b), the primary displacement bar being movably attached to the primary elongated base element and the secondary elongated base element (via 102a/b – page 4), wherein the one or more displacement bars are curvilinear bars adapted to follow a curvature of a curved workpiece (each of the X and Y rails, which includes 111a and 111b, can optionally have a curvature to adapt to curvatures of the structure 3 – bottom of page 4); and a support element (120) movably attached to the one or more displacement bars (via 112a/b - page 4) and displaceable along the longitudinal direction (X) and perpendicular to the longitudinal direction (Y) relative to the primary elongated base element, the support element being adapted to be fitted with a tool (2) for inspecting and/or processing the surface area of the structure (as cited above).
Le Vacon discloses that each of the X and Y rails can optionally have a curvature to adapt to curvatures of the structure 3 (bottom of page 4), though not necessarily the tertiary and quaternary elongated base elements. However, given that the other similar elements, including the Y-direction displacement bars, may be curved to accommodate a curved structure, the examiner submits that it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have similarly curved the tertiary and quaternary elongated base elements for similar reasons as they would likely need to similarly accommodate the same curvature.
Regarding the above, it is noted that a recitation of the intended use of the claimed invention must result in a structural difference between the claimed invention and the prior art in order to patentably distinguish the claimed invention from the prior art. If the prior art structure is capable of performing the intended use, then it meets the claim. In this case, the use of the guiding device for inspection and/or processing of a surface area of leading edge of a wind turbine blade, the elongated base elements adapted to being arranged on an outer surface on a first and second side along the leading edge of the wind turbine blade, and the elements adapted to follow a curvature of the leading edge of the wind turbine blade, are considered reciting the intended use of the device, as the particular use of the device does not necessarily limit the structure of the device per se. Furthermore, a claim is only limited by positively recited elements. Thus, "[i]nclusion of the material or article worked upon by a structure being claimed does not impart patentability to the claims." In re Otto, 312 F.2d 937, 136 USPQ 458, 459 (CCPA 1963); see also In re Young, 75 F.2d 996, 25 USPQ 69 (CCPA 1935). See MPEP 2115. The examiner submits that because the specific geometry of the non-positively recited turbine blade (and the leading edge thereof) is not recited beyond an implicit curvature, then the Le Vacon device is presumed capable of serving the intended use, especially in view of the optionally curved bars for conforming to curved workpieces as cited above.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 11/7/2025 have been fully considered.
The rejection over Warren in view of Albert et al. has been withdrawn in view of Applicant’s amendments incorporating subject matter of claim 3 into claim 1, where Warren in view of Albert et al. was not relied upon the reject claim 3. Any arguments with regard to these ejections are moot.
With regard to Le Vacon, Applicant essentially relies on replacing the surface area of the outer surface of a composite structure with the surface area of a leading edge of a wind turbine blade. For example, Applicant argues:
As can be seen in Le Vacon' s Fig. 1 above, the rails 11 la and 111 bare linear in accordance with surface 3 of Le Vacon et al. being the surface of a workpiece. Although Le Vacon et al. does allow for a certain curvature of the rails 11 la and 111 b, this curvature is not adapted to follow a curvature of the leading edge of a wind turbine blade, particularly since Le Vacon et al. is entirely silent with regard to wind turbine blades.
However, this merely narrows what was already interpreted as an intended use limitation as discussed in the previous rejection and further discussed herein. The non-positively recited leading edge of a wind turbine blade does not necessarily impart any structure to the claimed device as the specific geometry thereof (e.g. radius of curvature, relative scale, circumference of coverage, etc.) is not known. The claims merely require the displacement bars be "curvilinear", which Le Vacon discloses as an option. The examiner submits that Le Vacon would be capable of performing the claimed function depending on the precise geometry of the surface and the relative positioning of the device thereon.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
Contact Information
/Matthew P Travers/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3726