DETAILED CORRESPONDENCE
This Office action is in response to the arguments received March 27, 2026.
The rejection under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention is withdrawn in view of the amendment to claim 6.
Any bolded text is new language to the previous office action.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over YUBA et al (2005/0153230) in view of TADOKORO et al (2018/0107114).
The claimed invention continues to recite the following:
YUBA et al report a photosensitive resin composition comprising a polyimide resin ([0053]), a photopolymerizable monomer (para. [0105]) and a photoinitiator. (para [0107]), wherein the developers are reported in para. [0136], shown here:
The combination of a polyimide resin composition in YUBA et al with any of the highlighted organic solvents would result in the claimed RED between the developer and the film before exposure where same or similar components are disclosed in the specification.
Applicants are directed to para. [0080] teaching a polymerizable functional group at its ends meeting claim 6, see below:
TADOKORO et al report photosensitive composition for electronic parts comprising a polyimide-type resin having ethylenically unsaturated side groups and end groups, see para. [009] and para. [0012] below:
The unsaturated groups added to the polyimide-type resin would bond at the side groups and on the terminal group, meeting the scope of claim 6.
The molecular weight of the resin falls within the claimed range of claim 8, see para. [0121] below:
The method steps are found in claim 9 of YUBA et al for the coating, drying, exposing and developing steps.
Claims 1-5 are reported above for the polyimide resin.
Claim 7 is met in YUBA et al at para. [0240] which uses PMDA, disclosed in para. [0230].
Claim 8 is met above for the Mw in para. [0121] of TADOKORO et al.
Claim 9 is met at para. [0272] for ultraviolet and excimer laser exposure of TADOKORO et al and para. [0027] of YUBA et al.
Claim 10 is met by the disclosure above for the photopolymerizable components in the composition of YUBA et al, see above top of page 4 of OA.
Claims 11-12 are met by the disclosure in para. [0213] for the polyfunctional monomers, shown here from TADOKORO et al:
Claim 13 is met by para. [0114] in YUBA et al for teaching the use of adhesion promoters.
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art of photosensitive composition having polyimide resin with unsaturated ends to develop the composition of YUBA et al with organic developers as reported above with the
reasonable expectation of same or similar results for small linear thermal expansion and high absorption of i-line light.
The rejection is repeated wherein the RED interpreted results below are pulled from a search in Google for the definition of RED:
“RED < 1.0: The two materials will dissolve or are highly compatible (a "good" solvent).
RED = 1.0: Partial solubility; the material is sitting right on the boundary of the solubility sphere.
RED > 1.0: The materials are incompatible and will not dissolve well (a "poor" solvent). “
The claimed range as recited in claim 1 is 0.50 or greater to less than 1.4 meaning that the two materials are in a range of highly compatible to incompatible and will not dissolve well (a “poor” solvent).
The polyimide end-capped resin of YUBA et al disclose a specific resin made from cyclohexane tetracarboxylic dianhydride and a diamine which is end-capped with aminophenol, see any of Synthesis Examples 7-9 in Table 1 and other such as Synthesis Examples 11-18, 20, 22, 23, 33-35, 37-44, 46, 48,49, 59-61, 62-70, 72, 74, 75.
YUBA et al further disclose that the developers can be mixtures of good solvents and poor solvents for the resin such as N-methyl pyrrolidone (NMP), cyclopentanone, cyclohexanone and others. This disclosure inherently teach that the developers are good solvents for the resin composition meaning the RED would be in a range of RED <1.0 to RED =1 as the developer necessarily must dissolve the resin composition in the either treated or untreated areas (exposed/unexposed areas), see page 24, para. [0136]
The rejection is repeated wherein the resin compositions of YUBA et al would possess the claimed RED (relative energy difference) recited in claim 1 based on the disclosure in para. [0136].
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
YORISUE et al (2018/0373147) disclose photosensitive composition comprising polyimide resins with end groups that can be capped with an isocyanato ethyl acrylate, see page 31 para. [0300] - [0301], below:
LEE et al (4,421,905) disclose polyimides end-capped with either anhydride or isocyanate groups and teach the use of cyclopentane tetracarboxylic dianhydride as a precursor, see col. 5, lines 12-13:
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/John S. Chu/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1737
J. Chu
June 3, 2026