DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 20-27 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Inoue et al. (US 4,695,617).
Regarding claims 20-21: Inoue et al. (US ‘617) discloses alkenyloxy silane of general formula (I) [2:5-16; 3:46-4:6] with R1 as phenyl or vinyl [2:43-57; 3:46-59]. Inoue et al. (US ‘617) discloses vinyltri(cyclopentenyloxy)silane [3:67-68]. Additionally, Inoue et al. (US ‘617) discloses phenyltri(cyclopentenyloxy)silane. If one of ordinary skill in the art is able to “at once envisage” the specific compound within the generic chemical formula, the compound is anticipated. One of ordinary skill in the art must be able to draw the structural formula or write the name of each of the compounds included in the generic formula before any of the compounds can be “at once envisaged.” One may look to the preferred embodiments to determine which compounds can be anticipated. In re Petering, 301 F.2d 676, 133 USPQ 275 (CCPA 1962) [see MPEP 2131.02].
The claimed effects and physical properties, i.e. desorbs cyclopentanone by hydrolysis [instant claim 21], would inherently be achieved, as “Products of identical chemical composition can not have mutually exclusive properties.” A chemical composition and its properties are inseparable. Therefore, if the prior art teaches the identical chemical structure, the properties applicant discloses and/or claims are necessarily present. In re Spada, 911 F.2d 705, 709, 15 USPQ2d 1655, 1658 (Fed. Cir. 1990) [see MPEP 2112.01].
Note phenyltri(cyclopentenyloxy)silane:
[2:5-16; 3:46-4:6].
Regarding claims 22-27: Inoue et al. (US ‘617) discloses the alkenyloxy silane compounds of general formula (I) [2:5-16] (ex. phenyltri(cyclopentenyloxy)silane) are prepared by a dehydrohalogenation reaction of a ketone and a halosilane in the presence of an amine (ex. triethyl amine) [4:1-6; 6:19-49]. Inoue et al. (US ‘617) discloses reacting 6.47 mol ketone (376.0 g; via acetone = 58.08 g/mol) and 1.00 mol halosilane (211.6 g; via phenyl trichlorosilane = 211.55 g/mol) in the presence of 4 mol triethyl amine (404.0 g; 101.19 g/mol) and 13.13 mmol copper(I) chloride (1.3 g; 99.00 g/mol) to afford the alkenyloxy silane product (ex. phenyltri(cyclopentenyloxy)silane; with ketone = cyclopentanone and halosilane = phenyl trichlorosilane) {corresponding 2.16 mol cyclopentanone per mol Cl atoms in trichlorosilane; 0.13 mol Cu(I)Cl per mol trichlorosilane; 1.33 mol triethyl amine per mol Cl atoms in trichlorosilane} [6:19-49].
Double Patenting
Claims 1-3, 5, 7 and 11-19 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1 and 3-18 of copending Application No. 18/274175 (reference application) (now allowed). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the room temperature curable organopolysiloxane composition containing an organopolysiloxane of general formula (1) and hydrolysable silane of general formula (4) substantially overlap in scope with the instant claimed room temperature curable organopolysiloxane composition. While Application No. 18/274175 does not specifically claim general formula (1) having n as 50 or more, in the case where the claimed ranges “overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art” a prima facie case of obviousness exists. In re Wertheim, 541 F.2d 257, 191 USPQ 90 (CCPA 1976); In re Woodruff, 919 F.2d 1575, 16 USPQ2d 1934 (Fed. Cir. 1990); In re Geisler, 116 F.3d 1465, 1469-71, 43 USPQ2d 1362, 1365-66 (Fed. Cir. 1997) [See MPEP 2144.05].
While Application No. 18/274175 does not specifically claim 110-500 parts by weight filler in claim 1, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have included 110-500 parts by weight inorganic fillers selected from calcium carbonate, fumed silica, precipitated silica, and carbon black based on the invention of Application No. 18/274175, and would have been motivated to do so since Application No. 18/274175 claims 0.1-1000 parts by weight of inorganic fillers [claim 5], selected from calcium carbonate, fumed silica, precipitated silica, and carbon black [claim 6]. Additionally, “It is prima facie obvious to combine two compositions each of which is taught by the prior art to be useful for the same purpose, in order to form a third composition to be used for the very same purpose.... [T]he idea of combining them flows logically from their having been individually taught in the prior art.” In re Kerkhoven, 626 F.2d 846, 850, 205 USPQ 1069, 1072 (CCPA 1980) (citations omitted) [see MPEP 2144.06]. In the case where the claimed ranges “overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art” a prima facie case of obviousness exists. In re Wertheim, 541 F.2d 257, 191 USPQ 90 (CCPA 1976); In re Woodruff, 919 F.2d 1575, 16 USPQ2d 1934 (Fed. Cir. 1990); In re Geisler, 116 F.3d 1465, 1469-71, 43 USPQ2d 1362, 1365-66 (Fed. Cir. 1997) [See MPEP 2144.05].
Applicant's attention is drawn to MPEP § 804 where it is disclosed that "the specification can always be used as a dictionary to learn the meaning of a term in a patent claim." In re Boylan, 392 F.2d 1017, 157 USPQ 370 (CCPA 1968). Further, those portions of the specification which provide support for the patent claims may also be examined and considered when addressing the issue of whether a claim in an application defines an obvious variation of an invention claimed in the patent. In re Vogel, 422 F.2d 438,164 USPQ 619,622 (CCPA 1970). 25. Application No. 18/274175 claims an organopolysiloxane of general formula (1). The organopolysiloxane of general formula (1) is defined in the specification as having a viscosity of 20 to 1,000,000 mPa·s at 23 oC [0015-0016].
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 4, 6 and 8 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: Application No. 18/274175 does not claim the composition of claim 4 with sufficient specificity; does not claim the catalyst of claim 6; does not claim the composition of claim 8. Kimura et al. (US 5,939,487) does not disclose 110-500 parts filler selected from calcium carbonate, fumed silica, precipitated silica, and carbon black.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 6/12/26 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Inoue et al. (US 4,695,617) was relied on for disclosing alkenyloxy silane of general formula (I) [2:5-16; 3:46-4:6] with R1 as phenyl or vinyl [2:43-57; 3:46-59]. Inoue et al. (US ‘617) discloses vinyltri(cyclopentenyloxy)silane [3:67-68]. Additionally, Inoue et al. (US ‘617) discloses phenyltri(cyclopentenyloxy)silane. If one of ordinary skill in the art is able to “at once envisage” the specific compound within the generic chemical formula, the compound is anticipated. One of ordinary skill in the art must be able to draw the structural formula or write the name of each of the compounds included in the generic formula before any of the compounds can be “at once envisaged.” One may look to the preferred embodiments to determine which compounds can be anticipated. In re Petering, 301 F.2d 676, 133 USPQ 275 (CCPA 1962) [see MPEP 2131.02].
The provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection over Application No. 18/274175 (now allowed) is maintained (see above)
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
Correspondence
/MICHAEL F PEPITONE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1767