DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant election of group I, with traverse is acknowledged. Applicant argument is persuasive and the election requirement is withdrawn. Claims 1-20 are examined on the merit.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 8 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
In the instant case, Claim 8 discloses “after the oxidation, performing a further deposition to form a further thin film of metal on the metal oxide layer,”. It is not clear if the further deposited metal layer is the same metal layer of Claim 1 or a different metal. Applicant clarification is required.
Claims 13-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claims 13 recites the limitation “the thin films and the layers are arranged in an alternating stack” in lines 2 and 3. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-4, 6, 7, 10-12, 18 and 19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Ziino et al. (“Epitaxial aluminum contacts to InAs nanowires,” arXiv:1309.4569v1, 2013), (hereinafter, Ziino).
RE Claims 1-4, 12, 18 and 19, Ziino discloses a method of making aluminum superconducting contacts to InAs semiconducting nanowires. method of forming a thin film of material on a surface of a substrate, the substrate comprising a semiconductor, which method comprises:
depositing a thin film of metal on the surface of the substrate “InAs nano wires” on an InAs {111} substrate, hence meeting the limitation od Claim 12, referring to FIGS. 1-3 [page 4, last paragraph];
wherein the deposition is performed in an ultra-high vacuum “ultrahigh vacuum MBE” 10-11 Torr, which is equivalent to 1.33×10-9 Pa [page 2, last paragraph and page 4, paragraph 2]; and
wherein the substrate is at a temperature equal to -15oC, which is equivalent to 258.15K, which is less than 260 K, during the deposition. Examiner notes that the chamber temperature was cooled to a temperature equal to -15oC, which implies that the substrate temperature, upon which the aluminum film was deposited, i.e. the “InAs nano wires”, was at the same temperature, hence meeting the claimed limitation. Furthermore, examiner notes that InAs nanowires, i.e. deposition substrate, was grown in a ultrahigh vacuum chamber at 10-11 Torr, which is equivalent to 1.33×10-9 Pa [page 2, last paragraph and page 4, paragraph 2], subsequently without breaking vacuum, the MBE chamber was cooled to a temperature equal to -15oC [page 4, last two paragraphs], under those conditions the aluminum contact layer was deposited, hence the claimed limitations of Claim 1 are met.
RE Claims 6 and 7, Ziino discloses a method, further comprising, after the deposition, oxidising at least a partial thickness of the thin film of metal to form a metal oxide layer “native oxide”, referring to [page 6, last paragraph]. Examiner notes that a native aluminum oxide was formed due to exposure to the test environment, i.e. exposure of aluminum metal to oxygen gas, hence meeting the claimed limitation of Claim 7 as well. It is noted that the full oxidization of the metal layer is optional as well as the pressure requirements.
RE Claim 10, Ziino discloses a method, wherein the substrate comprises a wafer of semiconductor material InAs; and
wherein the method further comprises, before the deposition, fabricating a semiconductor component on the wafer “InAs nano wires”, optionally wherein fabricating the semiconductor component comprises growing the semiconductor component using molecular beam epitaxy “MBE”, referring to FIGS. 1-3 [pages 2-4].
RE Claim 11, Ziino discloses a method, wherein the substrate comprises a material of Formula 1:
InAsxSb1-x (Formula 1)
where x is in the range 0 to 1.
Since the nano wires are made of InAs, hence X=1, hence meeting the claimed limitation of Claim 11.
Claim(s) 13-15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Deckers et al. (“Aluminum oxide-aluminum stacks for contact passivation in silicon solar cells,” Energy Procedia, 55, pp 656 – 664, 2014), (hereinafter, Deckers).
RE Claim 13, Deckers discloses solar cell and a method of making aluminum oxide multilayered contact to the solar cell, wherein Al2O3-Al stack was investigated to be used as a contact itself, or as part of a contact stack comprising multiple metals. Deckers discloses a device, comprising:
a plurality of thin films of metal Al “aluminum” stack [abstract]; and
a plurality of layers of an oxide Al2O3 of the metal Al “aluminum”; wherein the thin films and the layers are arranged in an alternating stack Al2O3-Al [abstract].
RE Claim 14, Deckers discloses a device, wherein:
the metal is aluminum [abstract]
Examiner notes that the limitation “the thin films and the layers have a root-mean-square surface roughness in the range 0.1 nm to 0.4 nm” is being claimed in the alternative form “OR” hence the claim is being anticipated by the fact of the metal layer is aluminum is disclosed by Deckers.
RE Claim 15, Deckers discloses a device, further comprising a semiconductor component “solar cell” [abstract], wherein the alternating stack is arranged on the semiconductor component “solar cell” [abstract].
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 5 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ziino et al. (“Epitaxial aluminum contacts to InAs nanowires,” arXiv:1309.4569v1, 2013), (hereinafter, Ziino) in view of Ruckman et al. (US 5,264,394), (hereinafter, Ruckman).
RE Claim 5, Ziino does not disclose a method, wherein the substrate is in contact with a cold finger during the deposition, the cold finger being at a temperature in the range 110 to 130 K, optionally wherein the cold finger is at a temperature in the range 120 to 130 K.
However, in a related art, Ruckman discloses a method of forming a high quality oxide on a semiconductor substrate, wherein GaAs (100) wafer was attached to the cold finger using non-magnetic stainless steel clips on each corner in an ultrahigh vacuum chamber.
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art, at the effective filing date of the instant application, to attach the InAs substrate of Ziino to cold finger as well-known cost-effective mean to cool the substrate for a high-quality deposited film.
Furthermore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the effective filing date the invention was filed to provide the claimed temperature ranges, absent unexpected results, since it has been held that discovering the optimum or workable ranges involves only routine skill in the art. In re Aller, 105 USPQ 233; In re Boesch, 617 F.2d 272, 205 USPQ 215 (CCPA 1980); In re Huang, 100 F.3d 135, 40 USPQ2d 1685, 1688 (Fed. Cir. 1996).
Claim(s) 16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ziino et al. (“Epitaxial aluminum contacts to InAs nanowires,” arXiv:1309.4569v1, 2013), (hereinafter, Ziino) in view of HOSAKA et al. (US 2018/0182870), (hereinafter, HOSAKA).
RE Claim 16, Ziino does not disclose a method, wherein the oxygen gas is at a pressure of 0.5 to 1.5 Pa.
However, in a related art, HOSAKA discloses an aluminum oxide film was formed by a reactive sputtering method using an aluminum target and using an oxygen gas as a deposition gas at a room temperature with a pressure of 0.8 Pa, which lies within the claimed range of the pressure of 0.5 to 1.5 Pa.
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one ordinary skill in the art, at effective filing date to form aluminum oxide at oxygen gas pressure of 0.8 Pa in order to achieve a high-quality aluminum oxide.
Claim(s) 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Deckers et al. (“Aluminum oxide-aluminum stacks for contact passivation in silicon solar cells,” Energy Procedia, 55, pp 656 – 664, 2014), (hereinafter, Deckers).
RE Claim 20, Deckers does not disclose a device, wherein at least one of the plurality of thin films of metal “aluminum” is deposited on a substrate comprising InAsxSb1-x.
However, examiner takes an Official Notice that use substrate comprising InAsxSb1-x. is used in solar cell “photo voltaic” devices as a well-known material in this field of photovoltaic devices in order to achieve high sensitivity detection.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 9, 17 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Claim 8 would be allowable if rewritten to overcome the rejection(s) under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), 2nd paragraph, set forth in this Office action and to include all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
/YASSER A ABDELAZIEZ, PhD/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2898