Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-4,6,7,10,11,13,15-18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Azumai(English translation JP2004-242545) in view of Food Network.com(Fried Rice Arancini) and Zukerman(US 3711295).
Regarding claims 1-3,13, Azumai teaches a molded rice comprising an inner and an outer, wherein the outer includes rice, a binder and ingredients. Specifically, Azumai teaches that the molded rice product comprises an outer comprising glutinous rice(rice and a binder)([0005]) and a colorant([0020]) and an inner comprising embedded ingredients([0009]).
Azumai teaches a binder in the form of glutinous rice and does not specifically teach that the binder is not rice. However, Zukerman teaches a shaped rice product comprising cooked rice and a binder such as gums, gelatins, and starch(col 3, line 3-9). It would have been obvious to use other binder compositions such as gums, gelatins, and starch as taught in Zukerman since they are conventional rice binder compositions that form an effective molded rice composition.
Azumai teaches that the surface moisture is 59.5 to 63.0% and the core moisture is 58 to 62%([0018]). The core as described in Azumai is the rice(outer) and embedded material in the rice(inner). Therefore, the rice as the “inside of the outer” has a moisture content of 58 to 62% and the “outside of the outer” has a moisture content of 59.5 to 63.0%. Therefore, moisture content of the inside of the outer is 2.5% or more higher than a moisture content of the outside of the outer.
It is apparent, however, that the instantly claimed 3% or more and that taught by Azumai are so close to each other that the fact pattern is similar to the one in In re Woodruff, 919 F.2d 1575, USPQ2d 1934 (Fed. Cir. 1990) or Titanium Metals Corp. of America v. Banner, 778 F.2d 775, 227 USPQ 773 (Fed.Cir. 1985) where despite a "slight" difference in the ranges the court held that such a difference did not "render the claims patentable" or, alternatively, that "a prima facie case of obviousness exists where the claimed ranges and prior art ranges do not overlap but are close enough so that one skilled in the art would have expected them to have the same properties".
Furthermore, Azumai teaches that the outside surface is to be “scorched”. Therefore, it would have been obvious to have the “outside of the outer” have less moisture difference than the inside of the outer, i.e. moisture content of the inside of the outer is 3% or more higher than a moisture content of the outside of the outer, in order to achieve the “scorched outer surface.
Azumai does not specifically teach that the ingredients have sizes of 5 mm or more and are included in an amount of 5 to 40 wt% based on the total weight of the molded rice. Azumai is also silent on the hardness of the outer surface of the molded rice is 200 g or more. However, it would have been obvious to adjust the size and amount of the embedded ingredient depending on the taste and texture desired in the composition. It would have been obvious to adjust the hardness of the outer surface by adjusting the time and temperature of grilling/baking depending on the texture desired.
Azumai teaches that the rice in the outer is baked or grilled([0009]) to have a scorched surface(abstract) but does not specifically teach that the rice is fried rice. However, Food Network teaches a “Fried Rice Arancini” which is formed by mixing fried rice with other ingredients, forming the rice mixture into a ball, coating the ball with panko, and frying the ball(p.1). It would have been obvious to use fried rice as the rice in Azumai since Food Network teaches that it is a way to use leftover fried rice that is appealing to consumers(see review comments).
Azumai does not specifically teach that the ingredients contain greens, vegetables, fruits, fish, meat, and processed meat. However, Food Network renders obvious using fried rice as the rice in the Arancini balls. Fried rice contains rice that is fried and other ingredients such as egg, meat and vegetable that is also fried. It would have been obvious to include additional ingredients such as vegetables, meat, and egg in with the fried rice as is conventional in a fried rice dish.
Regarding claim 4, Azumai is silent on the ratio of outer: inner. However, it would have been obvious to adjust the ratio of the outer: inner depending on the taste and texture desired in the composition.
Regarding claim 6, Azumai teaches that the inner comprises non-rice material such as shrimp, beef, and curry([0003]).
Regarding claims 7,17,18, Azumai teaches a method for preparing molded rice including an inner and an outer comprising([0011]):
(a) preparing ingredients by mixing ingredients and a binder([0005],[0011],mixing glutinous rice and ingredients);
(b) preparing an outer by mixing rice with the ingredients([0011]);
(c) inserting and molding an inner inside the prepared outer([0003]);
(d) drying the molded rice([0014]); and
(e) heat-treating the molded rice for 225 to 235C for 180 to 240 seconds([0014]).
Azumai does not specifically teach two separate drying steps(d and e) that are done with hot air and radiant heat. However, it would have been obvious to adjust the time, temperature, the form of heating in order to arrive at the desired final moisture content.
Azumai does not specifically teach that the rice is fried rice. However, Food Network teaches a “Fried Rice Arancini” which is formed by mixing fried rice with other ingredients, forming the rice mixture into a ball, coating the ball with panko, and frying the ball(p.1). It would have been obvious to use fried rice as the rice in Azumai since Food Network teaches that it is a way to use leftover fried rice that is appealing to consumers(see review comments).
Azumai does not specifically teach mixing fried ingredients with a binder, then mixing fried rice with the fried ingredients. However, Food Network renders obvious using fried rice as the rice in the Arancini balls. Fried rice contains rice that is fried and other ingredients such as egg and vegetable that is also fried. It would have been obvious to mix the fried ingredients such as vegetables or egg first with the binder before addition to rice.
As such, to switch the order of performing process steps, i.e. the order of the addition of the ingredients into the final mixture, would be obvious absent any clear and convincing evidence and/or arguments to the contrary (MPEP 2144.04 [R-1]). “Selection of any order of performing process steps is prima facie obvious in the absence of new or unexpected results”
Azumai does not specifically teach that the ingredients have sizes of 5 mm or more. However, it would have been obvious to adjust the size and amount of the embedded ingredient depending on the taste and texture desired in the composition.
Azumai teaches that the surface moisture is 59.5 to 63.0% and the core moisture is 58 to 62%([0018]). The core as described in Azumai is the rice(outer) and embedded material in the rice(inner). Therefore, the rice as the “inside of the outer” has a moisture content of 58 to 62% and the “outside of the outer” has a moisture content of 59.5 to 63.0%. Therefore, moisture content of the inside of the outer is 2.5% or more higher than a moisture content of the outside of the outer.
It is apparent, however, that the instantly claimed 3% or more and that taught by Azumai are so close to each other that the fact pattern is similar to the one in In re Woodruff, 919 F.2d 1575, USPQ2d 1934 (Fed. Cir. 1990) or Titanium Metals Corp. of America v. Banner, 778 F.2d 775, 227 USPQ 773 (Fed.Cir. 1985) where despite a "slight" difference in the ranges the court held that such a difference did not "render the claims patentable" or, alternatively, that "a prima facie case of obviousness exists where the claimed ranges and prior art ranges do not overlap but are close enough so that one skilled in the art would have expected them to have the same properties".
Furthermore, Azumai teaches that the outside surface is to be “scorched”. Therefore, it would have been obvious to have the “outside of the outer” have less moisture difference than the inside of the outer, i.e. moisture content of the inside of the outer is 3% or more higher than a moisture content of the outside of the outer, in order to achieve the “scorched outer surface.
Regarding claim 10, Azumai teaches coating the surface of the molded rice with an edible colorant. It would have been obvious to use a liquid food colorant(edible colorant) on the surface which meets the limitation of a “sauce”([0011]). It would further have been obvious to include a sauce for flavoring as is conventional in sushi and coated rice products.
Regarding claim 11, Azumai teaches that the molded rice can be reheated([0019]) which meets the limitation of a second heat-treating step.
Regarding claim 15, Azumai teaches that the outer has a moisture content of 59.5 to 63.0% on the surface(outside of the outer)([0018]). The only deficiency of Azumai is that the reference discloses 59.5 to 63.0% while the present claims require 55.7% or less.
It is apparent, however, that the instantly claimed 55.7% and that taught by Azumai are so close to each other that the fact pattern is similar to the one in In re Woodruff, 919 F.2d 1575, USPQ2d 1934 (Fed. Cir. 1990) or Titanium Metals Corp. of America v. Banner, 778 F.2d 775, 227 USPQ 773 (Fed.Cir. 1985) where despite a "slight" difference in the ranges the court held that such a difference did not "render the claims patentable" or, alternatively, that "a prima facie case of obviousness exists where the claimed ranges and prior art ranges do not overlap but are close enough so that one skilled in the art would have expected them to have the same properties".
As such, Azumai teaches that the outside surface is to be “scorched”. Therefore, it would have been obvious to have the “outside of the outer” have a moisture content of 55.7% or less.
Regarding claim 16, Azumai teaches a molded rice comprising an inner and an outer, wherein the outer includes rice, a binder and ingredients. Specifically, Azumai teaches that the molded rice product comprises an outer comprising glutinous rice(rice and a binder)([0005]) and a colorant([0020]) and an inner comprising embedded ingredients([0009]).
Azumai teaches a binder in the form of glutinous rice and does not specifically teach that the binder is not rice. However, Zukerman teaches a shaped rice product comprising cooked rice and a binder such as gums, gelatins, and starch(col 3, line 3-9). It would have been obvious to use other binder compositions such as gums, gelatins, and starch as taught in Zukerman since they are conventional rice binder compositions that form an effective molded rice composition.
Azumai teaches that the surface moisture is 59.5 to 63.0% and the core moisture is 58 to 62%([0018]). The core as described in Azumai is the rice(outer) and embedded material in the rice(inner). Therefore, the rice as the “inside of the outer” has a moisture content of 58 to 62% and the “outside of the outer” has a moisture content of 59.5 to 63.0%. Therefore, moisture content of the inside of the outer is 2.5% or more higher than a moisture content of the outside of the outer.
It is apparent, however, that the instantly claimed 3% or more and that taught by Azumai are so close to each other that the fact pattern is similar to the one in In re Woodruff, 919 F.2d 1575, USPQ2d 1934 (Fed. Cir. 1990) or Titanium Metals Corp. of America v. Banner, 778 F.2d 775, 227 USPQ 773 (Fed.Cir. 1985) where despite a "slight" difference in the ranges the court held that such a difference did not "render the claims patentable" or, alternatively, that "a prima facie case of obviousness exists where the claimed ranges and prior art ranges do not overlap but are close enough so that one skilled in the art would have expected them to have the same properties".
As such, Azumai teaches that the outside surface is to be “scorched”. Therefore, it would have been obvious to have the “outside of the outer” have a moisture difference of 3% or more in order to provide the scorched outer surface.
Azumai does not specifically teach that the ingredients have sizes of 5 mm or more and are included in an amount of 5 to 40 wt% based on the total weight of the molded rice, the hardness of the outer surface of the molded rice is 200 g or more. However, it would have been obvious to adjust the size and amount of the embedded ingredient depending on the taste and texture desired in the composition. It would have been obvious to adjust the hardness of the outer surface by adjusting the time and temperature of grilling/baking depending on the texture desired.
Azumai teaches that the rice in the outer is baked or grilled([0009]) to have a scorched surface(abstract) but does not specifically teach that the rice is fried rice. However, Food Network teaches a “Fried Rice Arancini” which is formed by mixing fried rice with other ingredients, forming the rice mixture into a ball, coating the ball with panko, and frying the ball(p.1). It would have been obvious to use fried rice as the rice in Azumai since Food Network teaches that it is a way to use leftover fried rice that is appealing to consumers(see review comments).
Azumai does not specifically teach that the ingredients contain greens, vegetables, fruits, fish, meat, and processed meat. However, Food Network renders obvious using fried rice as the rice in the Arancini balls. Fried rice contains rice that is fried and other ingredients such as egg, meat and vegetable that is also fried. It would have been obvious to include additional ingredients such as vegetables, meat, and egg in with the fried rice as is conventional in a fried rice dish.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 19 and 20 objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims. Azumai teaches that the inside of the outer is 58 to 62%([0018]) and not 54% to 56% as claimed.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 7/27/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Please see the new ground of rejection for claims 1 and 16 as necessitated by amendment. The office maintains that it would have been obvious to use both hot air and radiant heat as recited in new claims 17 and 18 as is conventional in the art. Please also see claims 19 and 20 indicated as allowable.
Conclusion
/KATHERINE D LEBLANC/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1791