Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of claims 1-17 in the reply filed on 3/16/2026 is acknowledged.
Claims 18-20 withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected method, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 03/16/2026.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Meiji Co(JP 2013202003A).
Regarding claim 1, Meiji teaches a frozen porridge comprising at least one frozen porridge rice block comprising rice as a first block and at least one frozen sauce block containing a sauce as a second block(abstract).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 2-10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Meiji Co(JP 2013202003A).
Regarding claim 2, Mejii does not specifically teach that the rice porridge block contains rice in a content of 22wt% to 26wt%. However, it would have been obvious to adjust the rice content depending on the texture desired in the final product.
Regarding claim 3, Mejii is silent on the viscosity of the rice block. However, it would have been obvious to adjust the viscosity of the rice depending on the texture desired in the final product.
Regarding claims 4 and 5, Mejii does not specifically teach that the porridge has a solid content of 75 to 85% and a moisture content of 15% to 25% in an unfrozen state. However, Mejii teaches that increased water content yields a softer rice product, with a smaller water content creating a harder rice and a larger water content creating a softer rice such as risotto(p.3). Therefore, it would have been obvious to adjust the water content and solid content depending on the texture and hardness desired in the rice block.
Regarding claim 6, Mejii is silent on the salinity content of the rice block. However, Mejii teaches adding “an appropriate amount of seasoning” to the rice block(example 1). Therefore, it would have been obvious to adjust the amount of salt depending on the taste desired in the composition.
Regarding claim 7, Mejii is silent on the hardness of the rice porridge block in the unfrozen state. However, Mejii teaches that increased water content yields a softer rice product, with a smaller water content creating a harder rice and a larger water content creating a softer rice such as risotto(p.3). Therefore, it would have been obvious to adjust the water content and solid content depending on the texture and hardness desired in the rice block.
Regarding claim 8, Mejii teaches that the sauce can comprise vegetables(example 1) but does not teach an amount of 40wt% to 70wt% for added flavor. It would have been obvious to adjust the amount of vegetables present depending on the flavor desired.
Regarding claims 9-10, Mejii teaches that the sauce block can contain seafood such as salmon for added flavor(example 1). It would have been obvious to adjust the amount of seafood present depending on the flavor desired. It would have been obvious to use raw or cooked depending on the nature of the intended product.
Regarding claims 15-16, Mejii is silent on the presence of holes or grooves in the blocks. However, it would have been obvious to adjust the shape of the block depending on the nature of the product.
Regarding claim 17, Mejii is silent on the number of rice porridge blocks and number of sauce blocks. However, it would have been obvious to adjust the number of rice sauce and blocks depending on the nature of the product.
Claim(s) 11-14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Meiji Co(JP 2013202003A) in view of Tetsuya(JP2005000171A).
Regarding claims 11-14 Tetsuya teaches a frozen food product comprising blocks of frozen sauce, rice, and meat and vegetables such that the frozen sauce comprises added starch and gums such as guar gum, xanthan gum, or locust bean gum in order to increase the viscosity of the sauce and ensure that the sauce does not settle during microwave heating. The starches and gum are present in an amount of 0.2 to 4%(p.1-2). It would have been obvious adjust the amount of gums and starches in order to control the viscosity and ensure that the sauce does not settle out upon microwave heating.
Conclusion
/KATHERINE D LEBLANC/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1791