DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant's election with traverse of restriction requirement in the reply filed on 3/3/2026 is acknowledged and considered again. The traversal is found persuasive and restriction requirement have been withdrawn.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-5, 10-15, 18-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Zhang et al (US 2021/0223624; hereinafter Zhang).
Fig 2_edited
Regarding claim 1, Fig 2 and above Fig 2_edited of Zhang discloses a backlight module, comprising a central light emitting area (Central light-emitting area; above Fig 2_edited/D3; Fig 2) and an edge light-emitting area (Edge light emitting area; above Fig 2_edited/D2, D1; Fig 2) disposed at a side of the central light emitting area along a first direction (Horizontal Direction; Fig 2), wherein the backlight module comprises:
a plurality of first light-emitting units (150 in central area; Fig 2; ¶ [0038]) disposed in the central light-emitting area; and
a plurality of second light-emitting units (150 in edge area; Fig 2; ¶ [0038]) disposed in the edge light-emitting area;
wherein a direction from a center of the backlight module to an edge of the backlight module is defined as the first direction (Horizontal Direction; Fig 2) and a distance (L12; Fig 2) between adjacent two of the first light-emitting units (150 in central area; Fig 2; ¶ [0038]) along the first direction is greater than a distance (L11; Fig 2) between adjacent two of the second light-emitting units (150 in edge area; Fig 2; ¶ [0038]) along the first direction.
Regarding claim 2, Fig 2 and above Fig 2_edited of Zhang discloses the distance between the adjacent two of the second light-emitting units (150 in edge area; Fig 2; ¶ [0038]) gradually decreases (Fig 2/Fig 2_edited).
Regarding claim 3, Fig 2 and above Fig 2_edited of Zhang discloses the distance between adjacent two of the first light emitting units along the first direction are equal (Fig 2).
Regarding claim 4, Fig 2 and above Fig 2_edited of Zhang discloses the central light-emitting area comprises at least one rectangular light area (Fig 2), four of the first light emitting units (150 in central area; Fig 2; ¶ [0038]) are respectively located at four corners (Fig 2) of the first rectangular light emitting area and none of the first light-emitting units is disposed in the first rectangular light area (Fig 2) and
wherein the first rectangular light area is in a square shape.
Regarding claim 5, Fig 2 and above Fig 2_edited of Zhang discloses the edge light-emitting area (Edge light emitting area; above Fig 2_edited/D2, D1; Fig 2) comprises at least one second rectangular light area (Fig 2) adjacent to the central light- emitting area, four of the second light-emitting units (150 in edge area; Fig 2; ¶ [0038]) are respectively located at four corners of the second rectangular light area, and none of the second light-emitting units is disposed in the second rectangular light area (Fig 2);
a length of a side (L11; Fig 2) of the second rectangular light area along the first direction (Horizontal Direction; Fig 2) is less (Fig 2) than a length (L23; Fig 2) of a side of the second rectangular light area (Fig 2) along a direction perpendicular (Vertical Direction; Fig 2) to the first direction , and the length of the side of the second rectangular light area along the direction perpendicular to the first direction is equal to a length of each side of the first rectangular light area.(Fig 2)
Regarding claim 10, Figs 3A-3B of Zhang discloses a light shape of the second light-emitting units is in an ellipsoid shape wherein the backlight module comprises at least a first edge, and an included angle between the first edge and a long axis of the light shape corresponding to one of the second light-emitting units is less than or equal to 5 degrees in a top view direction of the backlight module. (Figs 3A-3B)
Regarding claim 11, Fig 2 and above Fig 2_edited of Zhang discloses a display module comprising a backlight module, wherein the backlight module comprises a central light emitting area (Central light-emitting area; above Fig 2_edited/D3; Fig 2) and an edge light-emitting area (Edge light emitting area; above Fig 2_edited/D2, D1; Fig 2) disposed at a side of the central light emitting area along a first direction (Horizontal Direction; Fig 2), wherein the backlight module comprises:
a plurality of first light-emitting units (150 in central area; Fig 2; ¶ [0038]) disposed in the central light-emitting area; and
a plurality of second light-emitting units (150 in edge area; Fig 2; ¶ [0038]) disposed in the edge light-emitting area;
wherein a direction from a center of the backlight module to an edge of the backlight module is defined as the first direction (Horizontal Direction; Fig 2) and a distance (L12; Fig 2) between adjacent two of the first light-emitting units (150 in central area; Fig 2; ¶ [0038]) along the first direction is greater than a distance (L11; Fig 2) between adjacent two of the second light-emitting units (150 in edge area; Fig 2; ¶ [0038]) along the first direction.
Regarding claim 12, Fig 2 and above Fig 2_edited of Zhang discloses the distance between the adjacent two of the second light-emitting units (150 in edge area; Fig 2; ¶ [0038]) gradually decreases (Fig 2/Fig 2_edited).
Regarding claim 13, Fig 2 and above Fig 2_edited of Zhang discloses the distance between adjacent two of the first light emitting units along the first direction are equal (Fig 2).
Regarding claim 14, Fig 2 and above Fig 2_edited of Zhang discloses the central light-emitting area comprises at least one rectangular light area (Fig 2), four of the first light emitting units (150 in central area; Fig 2; ¶ [0038]) are respectively located at four corners (Fig 2) of the first rectangular light emitting area and none of the first light-emitting units is disposed in the first rectangular light area (Fig 2) and
wherein the first rectangular light area is in a square shape.
Regarding claim 15, Fig 2 and above Fig 2_edited of Zhang discloses the edge light-emitting area (Edge light emitting area; above Fig 2_edited/D2, D1; Fig 2) comprises at least one second rectangular light area (Fig 2) adjacent to the central light- emitting area, four of the second light-emitting units (150 in edge area; Fig 2; ¶ [0038]) are respectively located at four corners of the second rectangular light area, and none of the second light-emitting units is disposed in the second rectangular light area (Fig 2);
a length of a side (L11; Fig 2) of the second rectangular light area along the first direction (Horizontal Direction; Fig 2) is less (Fig 2) than a length (L23; Fig 2) of a side of the second rectangular light area (Fig 2) along a direction perpendicular (Vertical Direction; Fig 2) to the first direction , and the length of the side of the second rectangular light area along the direction perpendicular to the first direction is equal to a length of each side of the first rectangular light area.(Fig 2)
Regarding claim 18, Figs 3A-3B of Zhang discloses a light shape of the second light-emitting units is in an ellipsoid shape wherein the backlight module comprises at least a first edge, and an included angle between the first edge and a long axis of the light shape corresponding to one of the second light-emitting units is less than or equal to 5 degrees in a top view direction of the backlight module. (Figs 3A-3B)
Regarding claim 19, Fig 2 and above Fig 2_edited of Zhang discloses a splicing display device comprising at least two spliced display modules, wherein each of the display modules comprises a backlight module, wherein the backlight module comprises a central light emitting area (Central light-emitting area; above Fig 2_edited/D3; Fig 2) and an edge light-emitting area (Edge light emitting area; above Fig 2_edited/D2, D1; Fig 2) disposed at a side of the central light emitting area along a first direction (Horizontal Direction; Fig 2), wherein the backlight module comprises:
a plurality of first light-emitting units (150 in central area; Fig 2; ¶ [0038]) disposed in the central light-emitting area; and
a plurality of second light-emitting units (150 in edge area; Fig 2; ¶ [0038]) disposed in the edge light-emitting area;
wherein a direction from a center of the backlight module to an edge of the backlight module is defined as the first direction (Horizontal Direction; Fig 2) and a distance (L12; Fig 2) between adjacent two of the first light-emitting units (150 in central area; Fig 2; ¶ [0038]) along the first direction is greater than a distance (L11; Fig 2) between adjacent two of the second light-emitting units (150 in edge area; Fig 2; ¶ [0038]) along the first direction.
Regarding claim 20, Fig 2 and above Fig 2_edited of Zhang discloses the distance between the adjacent two of the second light-emitting units (150 in edge area; Fig 2; ¶ [0038]) gradually decreases (Fig 2/Fig 2_edited).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 6-7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhang et al (US 2021/0223624; hereinafter Zhang).
Regarding claim 6, Fig 2 and above Fig 2_edited of Zhang discloses the length of each side of the first rectangular light area is defined as A, and the length of the side of the second rectangular light area along the first direction is defined as b (Fig 2);
wherein A and b satisfy a following equation: (Equation as claimed).
Since Zhang discloses the central light-emitting area comprises at least one first rectangular light area, four of the first light-emitting units are respectively located at four corners of the first rectangular light area, and the edge light-emitting area comprises at least one second rectangular light area adjacent to the central light- emitting area, four of the second light-emitting units are respectively located at four corners of the second rectangular light area and rectangular areas have different sides i.e. A and B. Therefore, any person in the ordinary skill in the art can use the different values of A and B to satisfy the equation for the purpose of choosing from a finite number of identified, predictable solutions, with a reasonable expectation of success (KSR International Co. v. Teleflex Inc. 82 USPQ2d 1385 (2007)).
Regarding claim 7, Fig 2 and above Fig 2_edited of Zhang discloses the edge light-emitting area (Edge light emitting area; above Fig 2_edited/D2, D1; Fig 2) further comprises at least one third rectangular light area (Fig 2) adjacent to the second rectangular light area and located at a side of the second rectangular light area away from the central light-emitting area; four of the second light-emitting units (150 in the edge area; Fig 2_modified) are respectively located at four corners of the third rectangular light area, and none of the second light-emitting units is disposed in the third rectangular light area (Fig 2) ; wherein a length of a side of the third rectangular light area along the first direction is defined as c, and A, b, and c satisfy a following equation as claimed.
Since Zhang discloses the central light-emitting area comprises at least one first rectangular light area, four of the first light-emitting units are respectively located at four corners of the first rectangular light area, and the edge light-emitting area comprises at least one second rectangular light area adjacent to the central light- emitting area, four of the second light-emitting units are respectively located at four corners of the second rectangular light area and third rectangular light emitting area and rectangular areas have different sides i.e. A and B and C. Therefore, any person in the ordinary skill in the art can use the different values of A and B and C to satisfy the equation for the purpose of choosing from a finite number of identified, predictable solutions, with a reasonable expectation of success (KSR International Co. v. Teleflex Inc. 82 USPQ2d 1385 (2007)).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 8-9, 16-17 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Regarding claim 8, the prior art of record, either singularly or in combination, does not disclose or suggest the combination of limitations including “wherein length of any side of the first regular hexagonal light area is greater than a length of any side of the second regular hexagonal light area”.
Regarding claim 9, the prior art of record, either singularly or in combination, does not disclose or suggest the combination of limitations including “wherein length of any side of the first regular triangular light area is greater than a length of any side of the second regular triangular light area”.
Regarding claim 16, the prior art of record, either singularly or in combination, does not disclose or suggest the combination of limitations including “wherein length of any side of the first regular hexagonal light area is greater than a length of any side of the second regular hexagonal light area”.
Regarding claim 17, the prior art of record, either singularly or in combination, does not disclose or suggest the combination of limitations including “wherein length of any side of the first regular triangular light area is greater than a length of any side of the second regular triangular light area”.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure:
Katsumata et al (US 2022/0357619)
Wang et al (US 2022/0252939)
/RATISHA MEHTA/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2817