Response to Amendment
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-2, 4-8, and 12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Henrici et al. USPG Pub. No.: US 2015/0132621 in view of Barnett US Patent No.: US 2004/0159161.
Regarding Claim 1, Henrici teaches an electrochemical cell in the form of a bag constituting an electric battery (see figures 1A and 4A as well as [0007] and [0050] which discloses a pouch cell), comprising:
a sensor fixed to the outside surface of the bag comprising a sensing element (see figure 4A, 430 and [0007], [0050] which teaches a force sensor on the outside of the pouch. [0007] clarifies that this force sensor may be a temperature, mechanical, or pressure sensor, for example), and at least one conducting element (see [0020] which discusses an electrically conductive galvanic element),
wherein
the sensing element, the conducting element are respectively obtained by separately depositing portions of material of sensing element, of conducting element directly on the outside surface of the bag (see [0010], which states, “measurement of mechanical tensions, pressures, or forces, the pH value, a half-cell voltage, and/or temperature influences in or on pouch cells is enabled by functionalizing already existing layers, introducing additional functionalized films, or printing the inner or outer encasing of the pouch cell”. Thus, deposited layers are created to obtain the claimed elements; see [0007]-[0008], which sufficiently teaches depositing the sensor on the outer side of the pouch and even motivates such a design choice in disclosing that the sensor will not be exposed to the electrolyte; also see Barnett below which shows the sensor deposited on the outside of the apparatus).
Henrici is silent in teaching a sensor (2) comprising a deformation sensing element (2.1.1) and a temperature sensing element (2.1.2) of the same material. However, Barnett teaches an analogous sensor, comprising a deformation sensing element (see Barnett [0048] and figure 6, bridge comprising SGa-SGb, which are strain gauges, i.e. deformation sensors that are a part of the larger dual Wheatstone bridge circuit) and a temperature sensing element (see Barnett [0048] and figure 6, bridge comprising TGa-TGd, which are temperature gauges that are a part of the larger dual Wheatstone bridge circuit) of the same material (see Barnett [0022], [0026], and [0051] which teaches, under the broadest reasonable interpretation of “the same material”, that the strain gauge and the temperature gauge are both, at least partially, of the same material, platinum). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to have modified the sensor of Henrici, such that it comprises both a temperature sensor and a deformation sensor, as in Barnett, because such a design advantageously “track(s) temperature changes in the strain gauge with little or no time lag” (as discussed in Barnett [0008]).
Regarding Claim 2, Henrici and Barnett teach the cell, according to Claim 1, wherein the deformation and temperature sensing element is constituted by piezoresistive and/or thermoresistive material deposited on the outside surface of the bag (see Henrici [0012], [0007], [0051], and [0052]).
Regarding Claim 4, Henrici and Barnett teach the cell, according to Claim 1, wherein the temperature sensing element is arranged in the center of the bag (see Henrici figure 4A).
Regarding Claim 5, Henrici and Barnett teach the cell, according to claim 4, wherein the temperature sensing element is square in shape (see Henrici 430 of figure 6).
Regarding Claim 6, Henrici and Barnett teach the cell, according to Claim 1, further comprising at least one resistor element, wherein the conducting element connects the sensing elements and the resistor element together, and wherein the deformation sensing element and the resistor element are connected to form a Wheatstone bridge (see Barnett figure 6, in which resistors Rcomp connect the two sensors via conductive elements to form a greater Wheatstone Bridge).
Regarding Claim 7, Henrici and Barnett teach the cell, according to Claim 1 wherein the deposition of the material of the sensing (2.1.1, 2.1.2), resistor or conducting elements is made by sputtering or printing (see Henrici [0051] which discusses the printed nature of the elements; Also, note that this is a product-by-process limitation and, although the structure implied by the process is being considered, the process itself holds no patentable weight; see MPEP 2113).
Regarding Claim 8, Henrici and Barnett teach the cell, according to Claim 1 wherein the sensing element, resistor element and/or conducting elements are arranged forming different respective layers on the outside surface of the bag (see Henrici figure 7 in which the conductors are printed on the sensor).
Regarding Claim 12, Henrici and Barnett teach a battery with detection of SOH and SOC comprising at least one cell (see Henrici [0007] and fig. 4A) according to claim 1 (refer to the rejection of Claim 1 above under 35 USC 102(a)(1)).
Claim(s) 9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Henrici et al. USPG Pub. No.: US 2015/0132621 in view of Barnett US Patent No.: US 2004/0159161 in view of Laletin et al. USPG Pub No.: US 2004/0128088.
Regarding Claim 9, Henrici and Barnett teach the cell, according to Claim 1 but is silent in explicitly teaching wherein the sensor comprises a passivating layer applied on the sensing element, the resistor element and the conducting element. However, Laletin teaches applying such a passivating layer to electrical components (see Laletin [0114], which teaches applying a passivating layer to avoid reactions with the circuit to improve shelf life), such as those already taught in Henrici. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to modify the sensor circuit of Henrici such that a passivating layer is applied in order to improve component shelf life (as discussed in Laletin [0114]).
Claim(s) 10-11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Henrici et al. USPG Pub. No.: US 2015/0132621 in view of Barnett US Patent No.: US 2004/0159161 in view of Dao et al. USPG Pub. No.: 2015/0191162.
Regarding Claim 10, Henrici and Barnett teach teaches the cell, according to Claim 1 but is silent in explicitly teaching wherein it has an anode constituted by lithium metal. However, Dao teaches wherein it has an anode constituted by lithium metal (see Dao [0022]). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to modify the cell of Henrici with the anode of Dao in order to increase battery life (as discussed in Dao [0022]).
Regarding Claim 11, Henrici and Barnett teach the cell, according to Claim 1, but is silent in explicitly teaching wherein it is selected from a lithium sulfur, lithium air, solid state lithium ion or lithium-NMC cell. However, Dao teaches wherein it is selected from a lithium sulfur, lithium air, solid state lithium ion or lithium-NMC cell (see Dao [0022]). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to modify the teachings of Henrici with those of Dao in order to increase battery life (as discussed in Dao [0022]).
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 04/23/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant argues (Remarks, p.4-5): “This arrangement - whereby each of the sensing and conducting elements - are directly deposited to the surface of the bag, are taught as a specific and advantageous object of the invention in the specification as filed. See paragraphs [0014]-[0016] and Figure 2 of the US publication. This "direct depositing" of the sensor and conductive elements, and their advantages, are specifically explained in paragraph [0015]: “As the different elements of the sensor are deposited directly on the outside surface of the cell bag is possible to avoid the presence of different intermediate elements, such as adhesives, substrates, etc. that can interfere with the measurement of the deformation of the bag surface, and therefore interfere with the estimation of SoC and SoH of the battery.” Accordingly, in light of this passage and the claim language, Applicant submits that the "broadest reasonable interpretation" of amended claim 1 is that each of the deformation sensing element (2.1.1), the temperature sensing element (2.1.2) and the conducting element (3) are deposited directly on the surface of the pouch cell, without the presence of intermediate elements (such as adhesives, substrates, etc.) that can interfere with the measurement of the deformation of the pouch surface. Put differently, Applicant submits that it would be unreasonable to consider that a sensor arrangement whereby one or more of the deformation sensing element (2.1.1), the temperature sensing element (2.1.2) or the conducting element (3) are deposited on top of another element would still fall within the scope of amended claim 1, because amended claim 1 should be construed in a manner that such stacked arrangements are now clearly outside the scope of claim 1 as it has been amended.”
Contrary to Applicant’s arguments, the specification is not explicit enough in directly defining a deposition process such that the term “depositing” in claim 1 is necessarily limited to process in which the sensing element and conducting element are made integral with the outer surface of the cell bag, with no intermediate elements, such as adhesive, in-between the aforementioned elements and the cell bag. Examiner maintains that, under the broadest reasonable interpretation of “direct depositing”, the teachings of Henrici still sufficiently qualify as sensor material being directly deposited onto the outer surface of a cell bag as discussed in [0007]-[0008].
Conclusion
/MICHAEL A HARRISON/Examiner, Art Unit 2852