DETAILED ACTION
Claims 1-14 and 16-21 are pending. Claim 15 has been canceled. Note that, Applicant’s response filed October 22, 2025, has been entered.
Applicant’s election without traverse of Group I, claims 1-11 and 16-21, in the reply filed on October 22, 2025, is acknowledged.
Claims 12-14 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected invention, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on October 22, 2025.
Claim Objections
Claims 1-11 and 16-21 are objected to because of the following informalities:
With respect to instant claims 1, 9, and 10, it is suggested that Applicant insert “the group consisting of” after “selected from” to present these claims in proper format. Note that, claims 2-8, 11, and 16-21 have also been objected to due to their dependency on claim 1.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-11 and 16-21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
With respect to instant claims 1 and 18-21, these claims are vague and indefinite in that it is unclear what is meant by “ratio”. For instance, is the “ratio” by weight, volume, molar, etc.? Clarification is required. Note that, for purposes of examination, the Examiner has interpreted the recited ratio(s) to be by weight, which is consistent with Examples 1-3 of the instant specification. Note that, instant claims 2-11, 16, and 17 have also been rejected due to their dependency on claim 1.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-11, 16, and 18-21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over WO2019//219531.
With respect to independent, instant claim 1, ‘531 teaches a fluid cleaning composition comprising: a) from 5 to 70 wt.% of a surfactant system comprising: i) at least one anionic and/or nonionic surfactant; and ii) a rhamnolipid biosurfactant which is present at a level in the range of from 1 to 95 wt.%, preferably from 1 to 50 wt.%, more preferably from 2.5 to 50 wt.%, most preferably from 5 to 25 wt.% of the total surfactant in said surfactant system; and iii) from 0.5 to 10 wt.% of a zwitterionic surfactant; and b) water; and c) from 0.1 to 15 wt.%, preferably from 0.1 to 10 wt.% of a polymer selected from the group consisting of: an alkoxylated polyamine, a polyester soil release polymer and mixtures thereof: wherein the composition has a pH of from 3 to 6. See page 2, lines 10-25. More preferred anionic surfactants are selected from alkyl sulphates, etc. Preferably the alkyl sulphates is a linear or branched sodium C12 to C18 alkyl sulphates. Sodium dodecyl sulphate is particularly preferred, (SDS, also known as primary alkyl sulphate). See pages 5 and 6. The zwitterionic surfactant is preferably a betaine surfactant. A preferred betaine surfactant is cocoamidopropyl betaine, which is the same surfactant as recited by instant claim 9. Suitable rhamnolipids are mono- and di- rhamnolipids, wherein suitable di-rhamnolipids have the formula Rha2C8-12C8-12, wherein the preferred alkyl chain length is from C8 to C12, and the alkyl chain may be saturated or unsaturated. See pages 3 and 4.
Fluid cleaning compositions may, depending on their end use further comprise any of the following as a single ingredient, or a mixture thereof: polymers, sequestrants, hydrotropes (such as glycerol or monoproylene glycol), opacifiers, preservatives, colorants (e.g. dyes and pigments), enzymes (for example proteases, alpha-amylases, cellulases, lipases, further surfactants, etc. See page 10.
‘531 does not teach, with sufficient specificity, a composition containing a primary alkyl sulfate surfactant, an amphoteric surfactant such as a betaine, a rhamnolipid biosurfactant, and the other requisite components of the composition as recited by independent, instant claim 1 and the respective dependent claims.
Nonetheless it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to formulate a composition containing a primary alkyl sulfate surfactant, an amphoteric surfactant such as a betaine, a rhamnolipid biosurfactant, and the other requisite components of the composition as recited by independent, instant claim 1 and the respective dependent claims, with a reasonable expectation of success and similar results with respect to other disclosed components, because the broad teachings of ‘531 suggest a composition containing a primary alkyl sulfate surfactant, an amphoteric surfactant such as a betaine, a rhamnolipid biosurfactant, and the other requisite components of the composition as recited by independent, instant claim 1 and the respective dependent claims.
Claim 17 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over WO2019//219531 as applied to claims 1-11, 16, and 18-21 above, and further in view of Lawshe et al (US2007/0049511).
‘531 is relied upon as set forth above. However, ‘531 does not teach the use of lauryl hydroxy sultaine in addition to the other requisite components of the composition as recited by the instant claims.
Lawshe et al teach a liquid detergent a non-ionic surfactant from about 1% to about 10% by weight of the composition, an an-ionic surfactant from about 1% to about 15% by weight of the composition, a metallic salt comprising zinc ricinoleate from about 0.01% to about 3% by weight of the composition, and the composition having a pH level from about 6.5 to about 9. See Abstract. Optionally, the detergent composition of the present invention may additionally comprise amphoteric surfactants. Amphoteric surfactants may be present in an amount of from about 0.5% to about 5% by weight of the composition. Examples of suitable betaines and sulfobetaines are the following compounds named according to INCI: Cocamidopropyl Betaine, Lauryl Hydroxysultaine, etc. See para. 38.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to use lauryl hydroxy sultaine in the composition taught by ‘531, with a reasonable expectation of success, because Lawshe et al teach the equivalence of cocoamidopropyl betaine to lauryl hydroxysultaine as amphoteric surfactants (i.e., zwitterionic surfactants) in a similar composition and further, ‘531 teaches the use of cocoamidopropyl betaine and amphoteric surfactants (i.e., zwitterionic surfactants) in general.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Remaining references cited but not relied upon are considered to be cumulative to or less pertinent than those relied upon or discussed above.
Applicant is reminded that any evidence to be presented in accordance with 37 CFR 1.131 or 1.132 should be submitted before final rejection in order to be considered timely.
/GREGORY R DELCOTTO/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1761
/G.R.D/November 24, 2025