DETAILED ACTION
A response, presenting arguments but not amendments, was entered on 6/3/26.
Response to Arguments
Applicant argues that an essential element of Yang is that the particles must extend beyond the resin and that the current invention is distinct in that it does not include such a feature. This is not persuasive. Nothing in the current claim language precludes the particles from extending beyond the resin layer. If such a feature is an essential aspect of applicant’s invention, the Office suggests including a limitation which captures this concept (e.g., that the nanoparticle monolayer is fully embedded within a resin matrix).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 17 and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yang et al. (US 2006/0074172) in light of David et al. (US 2016/0370506).
Claim 17: Yang teaches an antireflective hardcoat for a display (Abst.; ¶ 0014) comprising: a glass substrate (¶ 0061) coated with a layer of cured resin which has silica nanoparticles concentrated at an upper surface of the resin (¶¶ 0028-0029; Figs. 1, 5). Yang further teaches that the silica nanoparticles form a continuous self-assembled monolayer (Fig. 1; ¶¶ 0044-0045).
Yang, however, fails to teach that the nanoparticles are one of the claimed materials. David, like Yang, teaches an antireflective hardcoat comprising oxide nanoparticles (Abst.; ¶ 0012) and explains that zirconia can be selected as the nanoparticle in place of silica (¶ 0045). The simple substitution of one known element for another to obtain predictable results is prima facie obvious. MPEP § 2143. Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill at the time of filing to have selected zirconia in place of silica in Yang with the predictable expectation of success.
Claim 18: Yang teaches the same materials (i.e. (meth)acrylate resin and silica nanoparticles (¶¶ 0028-0029, 0041) in the same configuration as those which applicant claims to possess the claimed delta haze properties. Therefore, this property is considered inherent in the hardcoat of Yang.
Alternatively, Yang teaches that the haze of the coating can be adjusted by adjusting the recipe and process conditions (¶0067). Where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation. MPEP § 2144.05(II)(A). Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill at the time of filing to have selected a delta haze of less than 5 with the predictable expectation of success.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/ROBERT A VETERE/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1712