DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-5, 7-8, 10, 12-14, and 16-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Dubbe et al (US 2010/0167231).
Regarding claim 1, Dubbe discloses:
A syringe (Fig. 1) comprising: a syringe body (20) for receiving a product for injection, the syringe body (20) comprising a stopper (1; Fig. 2), the stopper having an inner wall (wall surrounding cavity 13) and delimiting a cavity (13), the inner wall being elastically deformable (¶0064); a piston (40; Fig. 5) mounted so as to be able to slide inside the syringe body (Fig. 5) in an injection direction of the product and in an other direction opposite to the injection direction of the product (¶0058), the piston (40) comprising a rod having a first end and a second end opposite the first end (¶0068); a pusher (100; Fig. 8) at the first end of the rod (40); and a snap-fastening head (41) at the second end of the rod (40) and snap-fastened inside the cavity of the stopper (1), the snap-fastening head (41) having a planar bearing surface (cylindrical surface of head 41) bearing against the inner wall of the stopper (1) when the piston (40) slides in the other direction that is opposite to the injection direction of the product (¶0068); wherein the snap-fastening head (41) comprises at least one protruding element (42) that protrudes from the planar bearing surface and that is arranged so as to penetrate the inner wall of the stopper (1) when the piston (40) slides in the other direction that is opposite to the injection direction of the product (¶0068).
Regarding claim 2, Dubbe discloses:
The syringe of claim 1, wherein the at least one protruding element comprises two planar surfaces (see Image 1 below) forming an acute dihedral angle (Image 1).
Image 1. Annotated portion of Fig. 5
Regarding claim 3, Dubbe discloses:
The syringe of claim 2, wherein the two planar surfaces of the at least one protruding element (42) are joined together so as to form an edge (Image 1).
Regarding claim 4, Dubbe discloses:
The syringe of claim 1, wherein the at least one protruding element (42) comprises a conical or frustoconical surface (see Fig. 5) exhibiting an acute cone angle.
Regarding claim 5, Dubbe discloses:
The syringe of claim 1, wherein the at least one protruding element (42) forms a tooth exhibiting an acute tip angle (Image 1 - edge).
Regarding claim 7, Dubbe discloses:
The syringe of claim 1, wherein the at least one protruding element (42) comprises a set of the protruding elements (42) that protrude from the planar bearing surface and that are arranged so as to penetrate the inner wall of the stopper (1) when the piston (40) slides in the other direction that is opposite to the injection direction of the product (¶0068).
Regarding claim 8, Dubbe discloses:
The syringe of claim 7, wherein the protruding elements (42) of the set form patterns that are spaced apart periodically on the planar bearing surface (Fig. 5).
Regarding claim 10, Dubbe discloses:
The syringe of claim 7, wherein the snap-fastening head (41) extends along a longitudinal axis, and the protruding elements (42) of the set exhibit axial symmetry with respect to the longitudinal axis (Fig. 5).
Regarding claim 12, Dubbe discloses:
The syringe of claim 1, wherein the at least one protruding element (42) and the snap-fastening head (41) are in one piece (¶0068).
Regarding claim 13, Dubbe discloses:
The syringe of claim 1, wherein the snap-fastening head (41) and the at least one protruding element (42) comprise a plastics material (¶0068).
Regarding claim 14, Dubbe discloses:
The syringe of claim 1, wherein the stopper (1) comprises an elastomeric material (¶0064).
Regarding claim 16, Dubbe discloses:
The syringe of claim 1, wherein the at least one protruding element (42): comprises two planar surfaces (Image 1) forming an acute dihedral angle of between 10° and 80° (Image 1), comprises a conical or frustoconical surface exhibiting an acute cone angle of between 10° and 80°, or forms a tooth (barb) exhibiting an acute tip angle of between 10° and 80° (Fig. 5).
Regarding claim 17, Dubbe discloses:
The syringe of claim 1, wherein the at least one protruding element (42): comprises two planar surfaces (Image 1) forming an acute dihedral angle of between 30° and 60° (Image 1), comprises a conical or frustoconical surface exhibiting an acute cone angle of between 30° and 60°, or forms a tooth (barb) exhibiting an acute tip angle of between 30° and 60° (Fig. 5).
Regarding claim 18, Dubbe discloses:
The syringe of claim 1, wherein the at least one protruding element (42): comprises two planar surfaces (Image 1) forming an acute dihedral angle of between 40° and 50° (Image 1), comprises a conical or frustoconical surface exhibiting an acute cone angle of between 40° and 50°, or forms a tooth (barb) exhibiting an acute tip angle of between 40° and 50° (Fig. 5).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 6 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Dubbe.
Regarding claim 6, Dubbe discloses the syringe of claim 1 but is silent regarding “wherein the planar bearing surface is situated at a distance from the second end of the rod, and the at least one protruding element has a height (H) along the normal to the planar bearing surface, such that: 0.05 D ≤ H ≤ 0.2 D.” However, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device of Dubbe to have a protruding element with a height H of 0.05 D ≤ H ≤ 0.2 D since it has been held that “where the only difference between the prior art and the claims was a recitation of relative dimensions of the claimed device and a device having the claimed relative dimensions would not perform differently than the prior art device, the claimed device was not patentably distinct from the prior art device” Gardner v. TEC Syst., Inc., 725 F.2d 1338, 220 USPQ 777 (Fed. Cir. 1984), cert. denied, 469 U.S. 830, 225 SPQ 232 (1984). In the instant case, the device of Dubbe would not operate differently with the claimed height since the second end of the rod is intended to not separate from the stopper during backward movement of the rod and having a height of 0.05 D ≤ H ≤ 0.2 D would allow the device to function appropriately with the claimed height.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 9, 11, 15, and 19-20 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
/TASNIM MEHJABIN AHMED/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3783