DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) was submitted on 10/10/2025. The submission is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Objections
Claim(s) 1, 2, 9, 17, and 25 is/are objected to because of the following informalities:
Regarding claim 2, change “further comprising” in line 1 to “further comprising:”
The acronym RRC in claims 1, 9, 17, and 25 is not defined. The definition of the acronym is required for definiteness of the claim(s).
Regarding claim 1, change “an RRC” in line 8 to “a Radio Resource Control, RRC”.
Regarding claim 9, change “an RRC” in line 3 to “a Radio Resource Control, RRC”.
Regarding claim 17, change “an RRC” in line 8 to “a Radio Resource Control, RRC”.
Regarding claim 25, change “an RRC” in line 4 to “a Radio Resource Control, RRC”.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 9, 25, 27, 29, and 31 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Futaki ( US 2023/0363026 A1), hereinafter referred to as Futaki, in view of Lee et al. ( US 2023/0262540 A1), hereinafter referred to as Lee.
Regarding claim 9, Futaki teaches: A method performed by a wireless device for conditional Primary Secondary Cell Addition, CPA, the method comprising ( see Figure 7, UE; ¶[0078], This embodiment provides a specific example of the conditional PSCell addition (CPA) described in the first embodiment) :
receiving, from a network node operating as a Master Node, MN (see Figure 7, MN), an RRC Reconfiguration message, RRCReconfiguration, in a MN format (see Figure 7, step 703, RRC RECONFIGURATION), wherein the RRCReconfiguration comprises at least one conditional reconfiguration for the CPA ( see Futaki, ¶[0067]Furthermore, the MN 1 sends a request for configuring the SN terminated MCG DRB to the UE 3 via an MN RRC message (e.g., RRC Reconfiguration Messages) together with the CPA execution condition and the CPA configuration; ¶[0071], In Step 303, the MN 1 generates a CPA execution condition (e.g., condExecutionCond) for the CPA configuration received from the SN 2. The MN 1 then transmits an MN RRC Reconfiguration message to the UE 3. The MN RRC Reconfiguration message may be an E-UTRA RRC Connection Reconfiguration message in EN-DC and NGEN-DC, or an NR RRC Reconfiguration message in NE-DC and NR-DC. The MN RRC Reconfiguration message contains the radio bearer configuration of the SN terminated MCG DRB for which PDCP is located in the SN 2, the CPA execution condition, and the CPA configuration (i.e., SCG configuration associated with the SN2). More specifically, the MN RRC Reconfiguration message may include a ConditionalReconfiguration Information Element (IE). The ConditionalReconfiguration IE may contain the CPA execution condition, and in additon contain CPA configuration information (e.g., condRRCReconfig) including as a container (octet string) the CPA configuration received from the SN 2. In response to receiving the MN RRC Reconfiguration message, the UE 3 establishes the SN terminated MCG DRB and starts evaluating the CPA execution condition), the conditional reconfiguration comprising: for the target candidate cell, another RRC Reconfiguration message, RRCReconfiguration*, in MN format and including a Master Cell Group configuration (see ¶[0071], The ConditionalReconfiguration IE may contain the CPA execution condition, and in additon contain CPA configuration information (e.g., condRRCReconfig) including as a container (octet string) the CPA configuration received from the SN 2. ¶[0114], Further, the CPA configuration may include an MCG configuration. Specifically, the MN 1 may include, in the CPA configuration to be sent to the UE 3, a reconfiguration of the MCG configuration to be applied when the CPA execution condition is satisfied. In this case, if the CPA execution condition for the candidate PSCell is satisfied, the UE 3 applies the SCG configuration and performs the CPA while further reconfiguring the corresponding MCG configuration. ¶[0115], the MCG configuration included in the CPA configuration may be a Radio Resource Config Dedicated or an RRC Connection Reconfiguration message. On the other hand, for NR MCG, the MCG configuration included in the CPA configuration may be a Cell Group Config or an RRC Reconfiguration message. ), wherein the RRCReconfiguration* includes another RRC Reconfiguration message, RRCReconfiguration** ( see ¶[0071], The MN RRC Reconfiguration message contains the radio bearer configuration of the SN terminated MCG DRB for which PDCP is located in the SN 2, the CPA execution condition, and the CPA configuration (i.e., SCG configuration associated with the SN2). More specifically, the MN RRC Reconfiguration message may include a ConditionalReconfiguration Information Element (IE). The ConditionalReconfiguration IE may contain the CPA execution condition, and in additon contain CPA configuration information (e.g., condRRCReconfig) including as a container (octet string) the CPA configuration received from the SN 2. ), wherein the RRCReconfiguration** comprising a Secondary Cell Group configuration for the target candidate cell ( see ¶[0071], The MN RRC Reconfiguration message contains the radio bearer configuration of the SN terminated MCG DRB for which PDCP is located in the SN 2, the CPA execution condition, and the CPA configuration (i.e., SCG configuration associated with the SN2); and
at least one execution condition for the CPA ( see ¶[0074], FIG. 6 is a flowchart showing an example of the operation of the UE 3. Step 601 corresponds to Step 303 in FIG. 3. That is, the UE 3 receives an MN RRC Reconfiguration message from the MN 1. The MN RRC Reconfiguration message contains a CPA execution condition and a CPA configuration); and
a conditional reconfiguration identity associated with the CPA for the target candidate cell; and
transmitting, to the network node, a reconfiguration complete message (see FIG.7, step 704, RRC RECONFIGURATION COMPLETE; ¶[0079], In Step 704, in response to receiving the MN RRC Reconfiguration message (Step 703), the UE 3 transmits an MN RRC Reconfiguration Complete message to the MN 1).
Futaki, teaches the substantial features of the claimed invention. Futaki, however, fails to explicitly teach information related to conditional reconfiguration comprising a conditional reconfiguration identity associated with the CPA for the target candidate cell.
However, Lee, in the same or similar field of endeavor teaches: a conditional reconfiguration identity associated with the CPA for the target candidate cell ( see Lee, ¶[0240], The network may configure the UE with conditional reconfiguration (i.e., conditional handover and/or conditional PSCell addition/change) including per candidate target cell an RRCConnectionReconfiguration (i.e., conditional SN mobility command) to only be applied upon the fulfilment of an associated execution condition (i.e., SN mobility condition); see conReconfigurationId disclose in ¶[0246]- ¶[0272]; ¶[0277], In Table 7, CondReconfigurationAddMod may refer to a conditional reconfiguration for a target cell. CondReconfigurationId may refer to an index of the CondReconfigurationAddMod, which may be related to a SN mobility command of the target cell. The triggerCondition may refer to a SN mobility condition for the target cell. The RRCConnectionReconfiguration contained in the condReconfigurationToApply may refer to a SN mobility command of the target cell).
It would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the combination with Lee in order to improve mobility robustness and to reduce signalling overhead.
Regarding claim 25, Futaki teaches: A wireless device for conditional Primary Secondary Cell Addition, CPA ( see Figure 7, UE; ¶[0078], This embodiment provides a specific example of the conditional PSCell addition (CPA) described in the first embodiment), the wireless device comprising: processing circuitry configured to(Figure 23, Baseband Processor 2303):
receive, from a network node operating as a Master Node, MN (see Figure 7, MN), an RRC Reconfiguration message, RRCReconfiguration, in a MN format (see Figure 7, step 703, RRC RECONFIGURATION), wherein the RRCReconfiguration comprises at least one conditional reconfiguration for the CPA ( see Futaki, ¶[0067]Furthermore, the MN 1 sends a request for configuring the SN terminated MCG DRB to the UE 3 via an MN RRC message (e.g., RRC Reconfiguration Messages) together with the CPA execution condition and the CPA configuration; ¶[0071], In Step 303, the MN 1 generates a CPA execution condition (e.g., condExecutionCond) for the CPA configuration received from the SN 2. The MN 1 then transmits an MN RRC Reconfiguration message to the UE 3. The MN RRC Reconfiguration message may be an E-UTRA RRC Connection Reconfiguration message in EN-DC and NGEN-DC, or an NR RRC Reconfiguration message in NE-DC and NR-DC. The MN RRC Reconfiguration message contains the radio bearer configuration of the SN terminated MCG DRB for which PDCP is located in the SN 2, the CPA execution condition, and the CPA configuration (i.e., SCG configuration associated with the SN2). More specifically, the MN RRC Reconfiguration message may include a ConditionalReconfiguration Information Element (IE). The ConditionalReconfiguration IE may contain the CPA execution condition, and in additon contain CPA configuration information (e.g., condRRCReconfig) including as a container (octet string) the CPA configuration received from the SN 2. In response to receiving the MN RRC Reconfiguration message, the UE 3 establishes the SN terminated MCG DRB and starts evaluating the CPA execution condition), the conditional reconfiguration comprising: for the target candidate cell, another RRC Reconfiguration message, RRCReconfiguration*, in MN format and including a Master Cell Group, MCG, configuration (see ¶[0071], The ConditionalReconfiguration IE may contain the CPA execution condition, and in additon contain CPA configuration information (e.g., condRRCReconfig) including as a container (octet string) the CPA configuration received from the SN 2. ¶[0114], Further, the CPA configuration may include an MCG configuration. Specifically, the MN 1 may include, in the CPA configuration to be sent to the UE 3, a reconfiguration of the MCG configuration to be applied when the CPA execution condition is satisfied. In this case, if the CPA execution condition for the candidate PSCell is satisfied, the UE 3 applies the SCG configuration and performs the CPA while further reconfiguring the corresponding MCG configuration. ¶[0115], the MCG configuration included in the CPA configuration may be a Radio Resource Config Dedicated or an RRC Connection Reconfiguration message. On the other hand, for NR MCG, the MCG configuration included in the CPA configuration may be a Cell Group Config or an RRC Reconfiguration message ), wherein the RRCReconfiguration* includes another RRC Reconfiguration message, RRCReconfiguration** ( see ¶[0071], The MN RRC Reconfiguration message contains the radio bearer configuration of the SN terminated MCG DRB for which PDCP is located in the SN 2, the CPA execution condition, and the CPA configuration (i.e., SCG configuration associated with the SN2). More specifically, the MN RRC Reconfiguration message may include a ConditionalReconfiguration Information Element (IE). The ConditionalReconfiguration IE may contain the CPA execution condition, and in additon contain CPA configuration information (e.g., condRRCReconfig) including as a container (octet string) the CPA configuration received from the SN 2. ), wherein the RRCReconfiguration** comprising a Secondary Cell Group, SCG, configuration for a target candidate cell ( see ¶[0071], The MN RRC Reconfiguration message contains the radio bearer configuration of the SN terminated MCG DRB for which PDCP is located in the SN 2, the CPA execution condition, and the CPA configuration (i.e., SCG configuration associated with the SN2); and at least one execution condition for the CPA ( see ¶[0074], FIG. 6 is a flowchart showing an example of the operation of the UE 3. Step 601 corresponds to Step 303 in FIG. 3. That is, the UE 3 receives an MN RRC Reconfiguration message from the MN 1. The MN RRC Reconfiguration message contains a CPA execution condition and a CPA configuration); and a conditional reconfiguration identity associated with the CPA for the target candidate cell; and
transmit, to the network node, a reconfiguration complete message (see FIG.7, step 704, RRC RECONFIGURATION COMPLETE; ¶[0079], In Step 704, in response to receiving the MN RRC Reconfiguration message (Step 703), the UE 3 transmits an MN RRC Reconfiguration Complete message to the MN 1).
Futaki, teaches the substantial features of the claimed invention. Futaki, however, fails to explicitly teach information related to conditional reconfiguration comprising a conditional reconfiguration identity associated with the CPA for the target candidate cell.
However, Lee, in the same or similar field of endeavor teaches: a conditional reconfiguration identity associated with the CPA for the target candidate cell ( see Lee, ¶[0240], The network may configure the UE with conditional reconfiguration (i.e., conditional handover and/or conditional PSCell addition/change) including per candidate target cell an RRCConnectionReconfiguration (i.e., conditional SN mobility command) to only be applied upon the fulfilment of an associated execution condition (i.e., SN mobility condition); see conReconfigurationId disclose in ¶[0246]- ¶[0272]; ¶[0277], In Table 7, CondReconfigurationAddMod may refer to a conditional reconfiguration for a target cell. CondReconfigurationId may refer to an index of the CondReconfigurationAddMod, which may be related to a SN mobility command of the target cell. The triggerCondition may refer to a SN mobility condition for the target cell. The RRCConnectionReconfiguration contained in the condReconfigurationToApply may refer to a SN mobility command of the target cell).
It would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the combination with Lee in order to improve mobility robustness and to reduce signalling overhead.
Regarding claim 27, the combination teaches: The wireless device of claim 25, wherein the processing circuitry is configured to: apply the RRCReconfiguration*, and apply the RRCReconfiguration** for a target candidate SN upon a fulfilment of an execution condition for the target candidate cell (see Futaki, Figure 9, step 908, condition met; ¶[0087], Specifically, in Step 908, the UE 3 determines (or detects) that the CPA execution condition is satisfied. In Step 909, in response to the satisfaction of the CPA execution condition, the UE 3 sends an MN RRC message containing an SN RRC response message to the MN 1. The MN RRC message may be, for example, a UL Information Transfer MRDC message. The SN RRC response message may be, for example, an SN RRC RECONFIGURATION COMPLETE message. In Step 910, the MN 1 forwards the SN RRC response message received from the UE 3 to the SN 2. In Step 911, in response to the satisfaction of the CPA execution condition, the UE 3 starts random access to the candidate PSCell (target PSCell) that is associated with the SN 2 and for which the CPA execution condition has been met ).
Regarding claim 29, the combination teaches: The wireless device of claim 25, wherein the processing circuitry is configured to: perform a random access procedure with the target candidate SN (see Futaki, ¶[0003], If the CPA execution condition is satisfied, the UE initiates synchronization to the candidate PSCell via a random access procedure; ¶[0087], In Step 911, in response to the satisfaction of the CPA execution condition, the UE 3 starts random access to the candidate PSCell (target PSCell) that is associated with the SN 2 and for which the CPA execution condition has been met).
It would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the combination with Futaki's one or more other embodiment’s teachings. The motivation is mitigating a communication continuity problem caused by a CPA failure ( see Futaki, ¶[0022]).
Regarding claim 31, the combination teaches: The wireless device of claim 25, wherein the wireless device is capable of operating in Multi-Radio Dual Connectivity (see Futaki, ¶[0001], The present disclosure relates to a radio communication system, and in particular, to a Secondary Cell Group (SCG) addition in multi-connectivity (e.g., Dual Connectivity); ¶[0054], embodiments may be applied to other radio communication systems that support technologies similar to the multi-connectivity (e.g., Dual Connectivity) of the 3GPP).
Claim(s) 1-3, and 17-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over CATT, “Draft stage-2 CR for Conditional PSCell Addition/Change”, R2-1915985, IDS submitted on 02/02/2023, hereinafter referred to as NPL 1, in view of Futaki, and further in view of Lee.
Regarding claim 1, NPL 1 teaches: A method performed by a network node for conditional Primary Secondary Cell Addition, CPA, the network node operating as a Master Node, MN (see Figure 10.2.1-1, MN), the method comprising:
sending, to a target candidate secondary node, SN, an S-Node Addition Request message, the S-Node Addition Request message indicating that the request is for the CPA (see Figure 10.2.1-1, step 1, SgNB Addition Request; Page 5, In case of CPAC, a CPAC indicator is included in the message. );
receiving, from the target candidate SN, an S-Node Addition Request Acknowledge message comprising an RRC Reconfiguration message, RRCReconfiguration**, for a target candidate cell, the RRCReconfiguration** comprising a Secondary Cell Group, SCG, configuration (see Figure 10.2.1-1, step 2, SgNB Addition Request Acknowledge; Page 5, The SN decides the PSCell and other SCG SCells and provides the new SCG radio resource configuration to the MN in a NR RRC configuration message contained in the SgNB Addition Request Acknowledge message);
sending, to a wireless device, another RRC Reconfiguration message, RRCReconfiguration, in a MN format (see Figure 10.2.1-1, step 3, RRCconnectionReconfiguration),
wherein the RRCReconfiguration comprises at least one conditional reconfiguration for the CPA, the conditional reconfiguration comprising: for the target candidate cell, another RRC Reconfiguration message, RRCReconfiguration*, in MN format and including a Master Cell Group, MCG, configuration, wherein the RRCReconfiguration* includes the RRCReconfiguration**;
and at least one execution condition for the CPA;
and a conditional reconfiguration identity associated with the CPA for the target candidate cell;
and receiving, from the wireless device, a first reconfiguration complete message (see Figure 10.2.1-1, step 4, RRCConnectionReconfigurationComplete).
NPL1, fails to explicitly teach information related to wherein the RRCReconfiguration comprises at least one conditional reconfiguration for the CPA, the conditional reconfiguration comprising: for the target candidate cell, another RRC Reconfiguration message, RRCReconfiguration*, in MN format and including a Master Cell Group, MCG, configuration, wherein the RRCReconfiguration* includes the RRCReconfiguration**; and at least one execution condition for the CPA; and a conditional reconfiguration identity associated with the CPA for the target candidate cell.
However, Futaki, in the same or similar filed of endeavor teaches: wherein the RRCReconfiguration comprises at least one conditional reconfiguration for the CPA ( see Futaki, ¶[0067]Furthermore, the MN 1 sends a request for configuring the SN terminated MCG DRB to the UE 3 via an MN RRC message (e.g., RRC Reconfiguration Messages) together with the CPA execution condition and the CPA configuration; ¶[0071], In Step 303, the MN 1 generates a CPA execution condition (e.g., condExecutionCond) for the CPA configuration received from the SN 2. The MN 1 then transmits an MN RRC Reconfiguration message to the UE 3. The MN RRC Reconfiguration message may be an E-UTRA RRC Connection Reconfiguration message in EN-DC and NGEN-DC, or an NR RRC Reconfiguration message in NE-DC and NR-DC. The MN RRC Reconfiguration message contains the radio bearer configuration of the SN terminated MCG DRB for which PDCP is located in the SN 2, the CPA execution condition, and the CPA configuration (i.e., SCG configuration associated with the SN2). More specifically, the MN RRC Reconfiguration message may include a ConditionalReconfiguration Information Element (IE). The ConditionalReconfiguration IE may contain the CPA execution condition, and in additon contain CPA configuration information (e.g., condRRCReconfig) including as a container (octet string) the CPA configuration received from the SN 2. In response to receiving the MN RRC Reconfiguration message, the UE 3 establishes the SN terminated MCG DRB and starts evaluating the CPA execution condition), the conditional reconfiguration comprising: for the target candidate cell, another RRC Reconfiguration message, RRCReconfiguration*, in MN format and including a Master Cell Group, MCG, configuration (see Futaki, ¶[0071], The ConditionalReconfiguration IE may contain the CPA execution condition, and in additon contain CPA configuration information (e.g., condRRCReconfig) including as a container (octet string) the CPA configuration received from the SN 2. ¶[0114], Further, the CPA configuration may include an MCG configuration. Specifically, the MN 1 may include, in the CPA configuration to be sent to the UE 3, a reconfiguration of the MCG configuration to be applied when the CPA execution condition is satisfied. In this case, if the CPA execution condition for the candidate PSCell is satisfied, the UE 3 applies the SCG configuration and performs the CPA while further reconfiguring the corresponding MCG configuration. ¶[0115], the MCG configuration included in the CPA configuration may be a Radio Resource Config Dedicated or an RRC Connection Reconfiguration message. On the other hand, for NR MCG, the MCG configuration included in the CPA configuration may be a Cell Group Config or an RRC Reconfiguration message. ), wherein the RRCReconfiguration* includes the RRCReconfiguration** ( see ¶[0071], The MN RRC Reconfiguration message contains the radio bearer configuration of the SN terminated MCG DRB for which PDCP is located in the SN 2, the CPA execution condition, and the CPA configuration (i.e., SCG configuration associated with the SN2). More specifically, the MN RRC Reconfiguration message may include a ConditionalReconfiguration Information Element (IE). The ConditionalReconfiguration IE may contain the CPA execution condition, and in additon contain CPA configuration information (e.g., condRRCReconfig) including as a container (octet string) the CPA configuration received from the SN 2. ); and at least one execution condition for the CPA ( see Futaki, ¶[0074], FIG. 6 is a flowchart showing an example of the operation of the UE 3. Step 601 corresponds to Step 303 in FIG. 3. That is, the UE 3 receives an MN RRC Reconfiguration message from the MN 1. The MN RRC Reconfiguration message contains a CPA execution condition and a CPA configuration. ); and a conditional reconfiguration identity associated with the CPA for the target candidate cell.
It would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify NPL1's teachings with Futaki's above teaching, mitigating a communication continuity problem caused by a CPA failure ( see Futaki, ¶[0008] ). Known work in one field of endeavor (Futaki prior art) may prompt variations of it for use in either the same field or different one ( NPL1) based on design incentives ( mitigating a communication continuity problem caused by a CPA failure ) or other market forces if the variations are predictable to one or ordinary skill in the art.
NPL 1 and Futaki combination teaches the substantial features of the claimed invention.
The combination, however, fails to explicitly teach information related to conditional reconfiguration comprising a conditional reconfiguration identity associated with the CPA for the target candidate cell.
However, Lee, in the same or similar field of endeavor teaches: conditional reconfiguration identity associated with the CPA for the target candidate cell ( see Lee, ¶[0240], The network may configure the UE with conditional reconfiguration (i.e., conditional handover and/or conditional PSCell addition/change) including per candidate target cell an RRCConnectionReconfiguration (i.e., conditional SN mobility command) to only be applied upon the fulfilment of an associated execution condition (i.e., SN mobility condition); see conReconfigurationId disclose in ¶[0246]- ¶[0272]; ¶[0277], In Table 7, CondReconfigurationAddMod may refer to a conditional reconfiguration for a target cell. CondReconfigurationId may refer to an index of the CondReconfigurationAddMod, which may be related to a SN mobility command of the target cell. The triggerCondition may refer to a SN mobility condition for the target cell. The RRCConnectionReconfiguration contained in the condReconfigurationToApply may refer to a SN mobility command of the target cell).
It would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the combination with Lee in order to improve mobility robustness and to reduce signalling overhead.
Regarding claim 2, NPL1, Futaki, and Lee combination teaches: The method of claim 1, further comprising receiving, from the wireless device, a second reconfiguration complete message, RRCReconfigurationComplete* (see Futaki, Figure 9, steps 909, RRC Reconfiguration complete for CPA), wherein the RRCReconfigurationComplete* comprises a third reconfiguration complete message, RRCReconfigurationComplete** ( see ¶[0087], Specifically, in Step 908, the UE 3 determines (or detects) that the CPA execution condition is satisfied. In Step 909, in response to the satisfaction of the CPA execution condition, the UE 3 sends an MN RRC message containing an SN RRC response message to the MN 1. The MN RRC message may be, for example, a UL Information Transfer MRDC message. The SN RRC response message may be, for example, an SN RRC RECONFIGURATION COMPLETE message.), and wherein: the RRCReconfigurationComplete* indicates that the wireless device has applied the RRCReconfiguration*; and the RRCReconfigurationComplete** indicates that the wireless device has applied the RRCReconfiguration** ( see ¶[0087], Specifically, in Step 908, the UE 3 determines (or detects) that the CPA execution condition is satisfied. In Step 909, in response to the satisfaction of the CPA execution condition, the UE 3 sends an MN RRC message containing an SN RRC response message to the MN 1. The MN RRC message may be, for example, a UL Information Transfer MRDC message. The SN RRC response message may be, for example, an SN RRC RECONFIGURATION COMPLETE message.).
Regarding claim 3, NPL1, Futaki, and Lee combination teaches: The method of claim 2, wherein: the RRCReconfigurationComplete* is in MN format, and the RRCReconfigurationComplete** in SN format ( see Futaki, ¶[0087], in Step 908, the UE 3 determines (or detects) that the CPA execution condition is satisfied. In Step 909, in response to the satisfaction of the CPA execution condition, the UE 3 sends an MN RRC message containing an SN RRC response message to the MN 1. The MN RRC message may be, for example, a UL Information Transfer MRDC message. The SN RRC response message may be, for example, an SN RRC RECONFIGURATION COMPLETE message).
Regarding claim 17, NPL 1 teaches: A network node for conditional Primary Secondary Cell Addition, CPA, the network node operating as a Master Node, MN (see Figure 10.2.1-1, MN), the network node comprising: processing circuitry configured to:
send, to a target candidate secondary node, SN, an S-Node Addition Request message, the S-Node Addition Request message indicating that the request is for the CPA (see Figure 10.2.1-1, step 1, SgNB Addition Request; Page 5, In case of CPAC, a CPAC indicator is included in the message. );
receive, from the target candidate SN, an S-Node Addition Request Acknowledge message comprising an RRC Reconfiguration message, RRCReconfiguration**, for a target candidate cell, the RRCReconfiguration** comprising a Secondary Cell Group, SCG, configuration (see Figure 10.2.1-1, step 2, SgNB Addition Request Acknowledge; Page 5, The SN decides the PSCell and other SCG SCells and provides the new SCG radio resource configuration to the MN in a NR RRC configuration message contained in the SgNB Addition Request Acknowledge message);
send, to a wireless device, another RRC Reconfiguration message, RRCReconfiguration, in a MN format (see Figure 10.2.1-1, step 3, RRCconnectionReconfiguration),
wherein the RRCReconfiguration comprises at least one conditional reconfiguration for the CPA, the conditional reconfiguration comprising: for the target candidate cell, another RRC Reconfiguration message, RRCReconfiguration*, in MN format and including a Master Cell Group configuration, wherein the RRCReconfiguration* includes the RRCReconfiguration**;
at least one execution condition for the CPA;
and a conditional reconfiguration identity associated with the CPA for the target candidate cell;
and receive, from the wireless device, a first reconfiguration complete message (see Figure 10.2.1-1, step 4, RRCConnectionReconfigurationComplete).
NPL1, fails to explicitly teach information related to the RRCReconfiguration comprises at least one conditional reconfiguration for the CPA, the conditional reconfiguration comprising: for the target candidate cell, another RRC Reconfiguration message, RRCReconfiguration*, in MN format and including a Master Cell Group configuration, wherein the RRCReconfiguration* includes the RRCReconfiguration**; at least one execution condition for the CPA; and a conditional reconfiguration identity associated with the CPA for the target candidate cell.
However, Futaki, in the same or similar filed of endeavor teaches: wherein the RRCReconfiguration comprises at least one conditional reconfiguration for the CPA ( see Futaki, ¶[0067]Furthermore, the MN 1 sends a request for configuring the SN terminated MCG DRB to the UE 3 via an MN RRC message (e.g., RRC Reconfiguration Messages) together with the CPA execution condition and the CPA configuration; ¶[0071], In Step 303, the MN 1 generates a CPA execution condition (e.g., condExecutionCond) for the CPA configuration received from the SN 2. The MN 1 then transmits an MN RRC Reconfiguration message to the UE 3. The MN RRC Reconfiguration message may be an E-UTRA RRC Connection Reconfiguration message in EN-DC and NGEN-DC, or an NR RRC Reconfiguration message in NE-DC and NR-DC. The MN RRC Reconfiguration message contains the radio bearer configuration of the SN terminated MCG DRB for which PDCP is located in the SN 2, the CPA execution condition, and the CPA configuration (i.e., SCG configuration associated with the SN2). More specifically, the MN RRC Reconfiguration message may include a ConditionalReconfiguration Information Element (IE). The ConditionalReconfiguration IE may contain the CPA execution condition, and in additon contain CPA configuration information (e.g., condRRCReconfig) including as a container (octet string) the CPA configuration received from the SN 2. In response to receiving the MN RRC Reconfiguration message, the UE 3 establishes the SN terminated MCG DRB and starts evaluating the CPA execution condition), the conditional reconfiguration comprising: for the target candidate cell, another RRC Reconfiguration message, RRCReconfiguration*, in MN format and including a Master Cell Group configuration (see Futaki, ¶[0071], The ConditionalReconfiguration IE may contain the CPA execution condition, and in additon contain CPA configuration information (e.g., condRRCReconfig) including as a container (octet string) the CPA configuration received from the SN 2. ¶[0114], Further, the CPA configuration may include an MCG configuration. Specifically, the MN 1 may include, in the CPA configuration to be sent to the UE 3, a reconfiguration of the MCG configuration to be applied when the CPA execution condition is satisfied. In this case, if the CPA execution condition for the candidate PSCell is satisfied, the UE 3 applies the SCG configuration and performs the CPA while further reconfiguring the corresponding MCG configuration. ¶[0115], the MCG configuration included in the CPA configuration may be a Radio Resource Config Dedicated or an RRC Connection Reconfiguration message. On the other hand, for NR MCG, the MCG configuration included in the CPA configuration may be a Cell Group Config or an RRC Reconfiguration message. ), wherein the RRCReconfiguration* includes the RRCReconfiguration** ( see ¶[0071], The MN RRC Reconfiguration message contains the radio bearer configuration of the SN terminated MCG DRB for which PDCP is located in the SN 2, the CPA execution condition, and the CPA configuration (i.e., SCG configuration associated with the SN2). More specifically, the MN RRC Reconfiguration message may include a ConditionalReconfiguration Information Element (IE). The ConditionalReconfiguration IE may contain the CPA execution condition, and in additon contain CPA configuration information (e.g., condRRCReconfig) including as a container (octet string) the CPA configuration received from the SN 2. ); at least one execution condition for the CPA ( see Futaki, ¶[0074], FIG. 6 is a flowchart showing an example of the operation of the UE 3. Step 601 corresponds to Step 303 in FIG. 3. That is, the UE 3 receives an MN RRC Reconfiguration message from the MN 1. The MN RRC Reconfiguration message contains a CPA execution condition and a CPA configuration); and a conditional reconfiguration identity associated with the CPA for the target candidate cell.
It would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify NPL1's teachings with Futaki's above teaching, mitigating a communication continuity problem caused by a CPA failure ( see Futaki, ¶[0008] ). Known work in one field of endeavor (Futaki prior art) may prompt variations of it for use in either the same field or different one ( NPL1) based on design incentives ( mitigating a communication continuity problem caused by a CPA failure ) or other market forces if the variations are predictable to one or ordinary skill in the art.
NPL 1 and Futaki combination teaches the substantial features of the claimed invention. The combination, however, fails to explicitly teach information related to conditional reconfiguration comprising a conditional reconfiguration identity associated with the CPA for the target candidate cell.
However, Lee, in the same or similar field of endeavor teaches: a conditional reconfiguration identity associated with the CPA for the target candidate cell ( see Lee, ¶[0240], The network may configure the UE with conditional reconfiguration (i.e., conditional handover and/or conditional PSCell addition/change) including per candidate target cell an RRCConnectionReconfiguration (i.e., conditional SN mobility command) to only be applied upon the fulfilment of an associated execution condition (i.e., SN mobility condition); see condReconfigurationId disclose in ¶[0246]- ¶[0272]; ¶[0277], In Table 7, CondReconfigurationAddMod may refer to a conditional reconfiguration for a target cell. CondReconfigurationId may refer to an index of the CondReconfigurationAddMod, which may be related to a SN mobility command of the target cell. The triggerCondition may refer to a SN mobility condition for the target cell. The RRCConnectionReconfiguration contained in the condReconfigurationToApply may refer to a SN mobility command of the target cell).
It would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the combination with Lee’s above teaching in order to improve mobility robustness and to reduce signalling overhead.
Regarding claim 18, NPL1, Futaki, and Lee combination teaches: The network node of claim 17, wherein the processing circuitry is configured to: receive, from the wireless device, a second reconfiguration complete message, RRCReconfigurationComplete* (see Futaki, Figure 9, steps 909, RRC Reconfiguration complete for CPA), wherein the RRCReconfigurationComplete* comprises a third reconfiguration complete message, RRCReconfigurationComplete** ( see Futaki, ¶[0087], Specifically, in Step 908, the UE 3 determines (or detects) that the CPA execution condition is satisfied. In Step 909, in response to the satisfaction of the CPA execution condition, the UE 3 sends an MN RRC message containing an SN RRC response message to the MN 1. The MN RRC message may be, for example, a UL Information Transfer MRDC message. The SN RRC response message may be, for example, an SN RRC RECONFIGURATION COMPLETE message.), and wherein: the RRCReconfigurationComplete* indicates that the wireless device has applied the RRCReconfiguration*; and the RRCReconfigurationComplete** indicates that the wireless device has applied the RRCReconfiguration** ( see Futaki, ¶[0087], Specifically, in Step 908, the UE 3 determines (or detects) that the CPA execution condition is satisfied. In Step 909, in response to the satisfaction of the CPA execution condition, the UE 3 sends an MN RRC message containing an SN RRC response message to the MN 1. The MN RRC message may be, for example, a UL Information Transfer MRDC message. The SN RRC response message may be, for example, an SN RRC RECONFIGURATION COMPLETE message.).
Regarding claim 19, NPL1, Futaki, and Lee combination teaches combination teaches: The network node of claim 18, wherein:
the RRCReconfigurationComplete* is in MN format, and the RRCReconfigurationComplete** in SN format ( see Futaki, ¶[0087], in Step 908, the UE 3 determines (or detects) that the CPA execution condition is satisfied. In Step 909, in response to the satisfaction of the CPA execution condition, the UE 3 sends an MN RRC message containing an SN RRC response message to the MN 1. The MN RRC message may be, for example, a UL Information Transfer MRDC message. The SN RRC response message may be, for example, an SN RRC RECONFIGURATION COMPLETE message).
Regarding claim 20, NPL1, Futaki, and Lee combination: The network node of claim 19, wherein the processing circuitry is configured to: in response to receiving the RRCReconfigurationComplete* message comprising the RRCReconfigurationComplete** message from the wireless device, send the RRCReconfigurationComplete** message to the target candidate SN (see Futaki, Figure 9, steps 910, RRC transfer; ¶[0087], In Step 910, the MN 1 forwards the SN RRC response message received from the UE 3 to the SN 2).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim(s) 21-24, 26, 28, 30, and 32 is/are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Kim et al. ( US 2024/0056917 A1), Method and apparatus for mobility in dual connectivity in wireless communication system
Hwang et al. ( US 2022/0369172 A1), Method and device for conditionally adding and changing cell
/MANG BOI THAWNG/Examiner, Art Unit 2476
/PHIRIN SAM/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2476