Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Claims 16-30 are pending.
Claims 1-15 are canceled.
Claims 16-30 stand rejected.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 16-30 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Gao et al. (Pub. No.: US 20230156665 A1) in view of Kim et al. (Pub. No.: US 20220217742 A1), hereafter respectively referred to as Gao and Kim.
In regard to Claim 16, Gao teaches An apparatus (terminal device 120, Para. 45, FIGS. 1, 3) comprising at least one processor (processor 1110, Para. 119, FIG. 11); and at least one memory including computer program code (memory 1110 stores at least a part of a program 1130, Para. 118, FIG. 11), the at least one memory and the computer program code configured to, with the at least one processor, cause the apparatus at least to perform: receiving, from a network element, a resource configuration (information related with configuration for the terminal device configured by the second network device may be transmitted from the second network device via the first network device. The information may be transmitted via any of the following: Radio Resource Control (RRC) signaling, Medium Access Control (MAC) control element (CE) or DCI, Para. 32, FIG. 1) for a control channel transmission (The configuration of the CORESET may be configured to the terminal device 120 via higher layer signaling, for example via Radio RRC signaling in the information element (IE) ControlResourceSet, Para. 45, FIGS. 1, 3. The terminal device 120 may determine the resource configuration from higher layer signaling. The terminal device 120 detects 320 the plurality of repetitions of the control information on the PDCCH based on the resource configuration, Para. 58, FIG. 3) carrying control data (The frequency domain resources and time duration (in number of symbols) for PDCCH monitoring are defined as a control resource set (CORESET), Para. 45).
Gao teaches, wherein the resource configuration (information related with configuration for the terminal device configured by the second network device. The information may be transmitted via any of the following: Radio Resource Control (RRC) signaling, Medium Access Control (MAC) control element (CE) or DCI, Para. 32, FIG. 1) comprises information indicating a transmission period (The higher layer parameter monitoringSlotPeriodicityAndOffset in the IE SearchSpace defines slots for PDCCH Monitoring configured as periodicity and offset, Para. 49) for a repeated transmission of said control data (PDCCH may be repeated within the duration of each occasion/period of the search space, Para. 60. If PDCCH repetition (for example, across occasions/periods) is configured, only a subset of values for monitoringSlotPeriodicityAndOffset will be applicable, Para. 77) on said control channel (PDCCH may be repeated within the search space. The N TCI states may be activated for the search space and/or the CORESET associated with the search space, Para. 60, FIGS. 3, 4, 5A).
Gao teaches a transmission configuration (The terminal device 120 may determine the resource configuration from higher layer signaling, Para. 58, FIG. 3) defining a plurality of transmission states for said resource configuration (The resource configuration is associated with a plurality of TCI states (such as 2 TCI states), Para. 57, FIGS. 3, 4).
Gao teaches an indication that repetition of the control channel is in use (The plurality of PDCCH repetitions may be detected based on the resource configuration and a TCI state of the plurality of TCI states may correspond to at least one of the plurality of PDCCH repetitions, Para. 44. The terminal device 120 may determine the resource configuration from higher layer signaling. The terminal device 120 detects 320 the plurality of repetitions of the control information on the PDCCH based on the resource configuration, Para. 58, FIG. 3).
Gao teaches receive, from the network element (information related with configuration for the terminal device configured by the second network device may be transmitted from the second network device via the first network device. The information may be transmitted via any of the following: Radio Resource Control (RRC) signaling, Medium Access Control (MAC) control element (CE) or DCI, Para. 32, FIG. 1), monitoring information indicating a plurality of monitoring occasions (The higher layer parameter monitoringSlotPeriodicityAndOffset in the IE SearchSpace defines slots for PDCCH Monitoring, Para. 49) associated with said resource configuration (The configuration of the search space may be configured to the terminal device 120 via higher layer signaling, for example via RRC signaling in the IE SearchSpace. Each search space is associated with one CORESET, Para. 47, FIGS. 3, 4).
Gao teaches monitoring said control channel (frequency domain resources and time duration (in number of symbols) for PDCCH monitoring are defined as a control resource set (CORESET), Para. 45, FIGS. 4, 5) for control data on said plurality of monitoring occasions (The higher layer parameter monitoringSlotPeriodicityAndOffset in the IE SearchSpace defines slots for PDCCH Monitoring, Para. 49) by using a mapping scheme (The slots and starting symbol within a slot for PDCCH monitoring are defined as a search space, Para. 47. The IE SearchSpace defines the first symbol(s) for PDCCH monitoring in the slots configured for PDCCH monitoring, Para. 50. CCE-to-REG mapping type can only be configured as the interleaved mapping type at least for repetitions within one search space, Para. 54) between at least one of said plurality of transmission states (when CCE-to-REG mapping type is configured as interleaved mapping type, the CCE-to-REG mapping may be interleaved within the REGs or the REG bundles assigned to or associated with one of the N TCI states, Para. 69) and said plurality of monitoring occasions (The higher layer parameter monitoringSlotPeriodicityAndOffset in the IE SearchSpace defines slots for PDCCH Monitoring, Para. 49) within said transmission period (PDCCH may be repeated within the duration of each occasion/period of the search space, Para. 60).
Gao teaches the plurality of monitoring occasions (The higher layer parameter monitoringSlotPeriodicityAndOffset in the IE SearchSpace defines slots for PDCCH Monitoring, Para. 49) within said transmission period (PDCCH may be repeated within the duration of each occasion/period of the search space, Para. 60).
Although Gao teaches the mapping scheme, the plurality of transmission states, and the plurality of monitoring occasions within said transmission period, Gao fails to teach wherein the mapping scheme defines a different transmission state of the plurality of transmission states for each of the plurality of monitoring occasions.
Kim teaches wherein the mapping scheme (a mapping rule between a base station and UE which states how multiple TCI states indicated through the TCI field of a single DCI are mapped to different resources (e.g., layers/frequency resources/time resources, etc.), Para. 215. A TCI mapping rule between TCI states and time resources in a time division multiplexing (TDM) scheme, Para. 224. The UE may sequentially map TCI states {0, 1, 2, 3} indicated by the DCI to each slot, Para. 255, FIG. 10) defines a different transmission state (using different TCI states, Para. 255, FIG. 10) of the plurality of transmission states ((e.g., TCI states {0, 1, 2, 3}), Para. 255, FIG. 10) for each of the plurality of monitoring occasions (in four slots using different TCI states, Para. 255, FIG. 10).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Kim with the teachings of Gao since Kim provides a technique for utilizing mapping rules of different TCI states for each of different slots, which can be introduced into the arrangement of Gao to ensure different TCI states are utilized in different slots for PDCCH monitoring to improve reception of PDCCHs over time.
In regard to Claim 17, Gao teaches wherein one or more of the following: - said resource configuration is or comprises a control resource set, CORESET (The configuration of the CORESET may be configured to the terminal device 120 via higher layer signaling, for example via Radio RRC signaling in the information element (IE) ControlResourceSet, Para. 45, FIGS. 1, 3); - said control channel is or comprises a physical downlink control channel, PDCCH (The terminal device 120 detects 320 the plurality of repetitions of the control information on the PDCCH based on the resource configuration, Para. 58, FIG. 3); - said control channel is or comprises a physical uplink control channel, PUCCH; - said control data is or comprises downlink control information, DCI (the same DCI may be transmitted more than once to the terminal device 120 via the PDCCH repetitions, Para. 57, FIG. 3); - said control data is or comprises uplink control information, UCI; - said control data schedules a transmission of a shared channel; - said information indicating a transmission period is or comprises information on a length or size of said transmission period (The higher layer parameter monitoringSlotPeriodicityAndOffset in the IE SearchSpace defines slots for PDCCH Monitoring configured as periodicity and offset, Para. 49); or - said plurality of transmission states are transmission configuration indicator, TCI, states (The resource configuration is associated with a plurality of TCI states (such as 2 TCI states), Para. 57, FIGS. 3, 4).
In regard to Claim 18, Gao teaches the at least one memory and the computer program code are configured to, with the at least one processor, cause the apparatus at least to perform: receiving, from the network element, information indicating one or more further monitoring occasions by repeating a monitoring occasion defined by the monitoring information (the value of the parameter duration is larger than 1 slot, inter-slot repetition can be applied. The number or the maximum number of PDCCH repetitions may be equal to or no larger than the number of slots of the duration configured in the search space. For example, Nr=Ns or Nr is no larger than Ns, where Ns is the value of the parameter duration in the IE SearchSpace, Para. 72, FIG. 5B); and receiving, from the network element, offset information indicating a time domain offset for respective further monitoring occasions (Since the spacing in time between two repetitions cannot be too long, there may be a constraint on slots for PDCCH monitoring configured as periodicity and offset when PDCCH repetition across occasions/periods is configured. In the case where PDCCH repetition (for example, across occasions/periods) is configured, the network device 110 may configure the parameter monitoringSlotPeriodicityAndOffset based on the subset of values, for example {‘sl1’, ‘sl2’, ‘sl4’, ‘sl5’, ‘sl8’, ‘sl10’, ‘sl16’, ‘sl20’ }, Para. 77).
In regard to Claim 19, Gao teaches said transmission configuration data (The terminal device 120 may determine the resource configuration from higher layer signaling, Para. 58, FIG. 3) defines multiple transmission states for said resource configuration (The resource configuration is associated with a plurality of TCI states (such as 2 TCI states), Para. 57, FIGS. 3, 4).
In regard to Claim 20, Gao teaches said at least one of said plurality of transmission states (The resource configuration is associated with a plurality of TCI states (such as 2 TCI states), Para. 57, FIGS. 3, 4), used for said mapping scheme (The slots and starting symbol within a slot for PDCCH monitoring are defined as a search space, Para. 47. The IE SearchSpace defines the first symbol(s) for PDCCH monitoring in the slots configured for PDCCH monitoring, Para. 50. CCE-to-REG mapping type can only be configured as the interleaved mapping type at least for repetitions within one search space, Para. 54), is an active transmission state (The N TCI states may be activated for the search space and/or the CORESET associated with the search space, Para. 60, FIG. 4).
In regard to Claim 21, Gao teaches the at least one memory and the computer program code are configured to, with the at least one processor, cause the apparatus at least to perform receiving, from the network element, activation information (a UE can be configured with a list of up to M TCI-State configurations within the higher layer parameter PDSCH-Config to decode PDSCH, Para. 39. Which resource configuration(s) is enabled or activated for PDCCH repetitions may be indicated to the terminal device 120 by the network device 110 via RRC signaling or MAC CE, Para. 87, FIGS. 1, 3) indicating one or more active transmission states of said plurality of transmission states (The N TCI states may be activated for the search space and/or the CORESET associated with the search space, Para. 60, FIG. 4).
In regard to Claim 22, Gao teaches said activation information (a UE can be configured with a list of up to M TCI-State configurations within the higher layer parameter PDSCH-Config to decode PDSCH, Para. 39. Which resource configuration(s) is enabled or activated for PDCCH repetitions may be indicated to the terminal device 120 by the network device 110 via RRC signaling or MAC CE, Para. 87, FIGS. 1, 3) indicates multiple active transmission states (The N TCI states may be activated for the search space and/or the CORESET associated with the search space, Para. 60, FIG. 4).
In regard to Claim 23, Gao teaches said mapping scheme (The slots and starting symbol within a slot for PDCCH monitoring are defined as a search space, Para. 47. The IE SearchSpace defines the first symbol(s) for PDCCH monitoring in the slots configured for PDCCH monitoring, Para. 50. CCE-to-REG mapping type can only be configured as the interleaved mapping type at least for repetitions within one search space, Para. 54) comprises one or more of: mapping of said one or more activate transmission states sequentially to the plurality of monitoring occasions; repeating said mapping of said one or more active transmission states sequentially to the plurality of monitoring occasions after all active transmission states having been mapped; - mapping an n-th active transmission state (The N TCI states may be activated for the search space and/or the CORESET associated with the search space, Para. 60, FIGS. 4, 5A) at least to an n-th monitoring occasion (The higher layer parameter monitoringSlotPeriodicityAndOffset in the IE SearchSpace defines slots for PDCCH Monitoring, Para. 49, FIGS. 4, 5A) within said transmission period (The higher layer parameter monitoringSlotPeriodicityAndOffset in the IE SearchSpace defines slots for PDCCH Monitoring configured as periodicity and offset, Para. 49, FIGS. 4, 5A); mapping a first active transmission state (The N TCI states may be activated for the search space and/or the CORESET associated with the search space, Para. 60, FIGS. 4, 5A) at least to a first monitoring occasion (The higher layer parameter monitoringSlotPeriodicityAndOffset in the IE SearchSpace defines slots for PDCCH Monitoring, Para. 49, FIGS. 4, 5A) within said transmission period (The higher layer parameter monitoringSlotPeriodicityAndOffset in the IE SearchSpace defines slots for PDCCH Monitoring configured as periodicity and offset, Para. 49, FIGS. 4, 5A); mapping a second active transmission state at least to a second monitoring occasion within said transmission period; or after all active transmission states having been mapped to a monitoring occasion within said transmission period, again at least mapping the first active transmission state to a next monitoring occasion within said transmission period.
In regard to Claim 24, Gao teaches each transmission of control data (PDCCH may be repeated within the duration of each occasion/period of the search space, Para. 60. If PDCCH repetition (for example, across occasions/periods) is configured, only a subset of values for monitoringSlotPeriodicityAndOffset will be applicable, Para. 77) on said control channel (PDCCH may be repeated within the search space. The N TCI states may be activated for the search space and/or the CORESET associated with the search space, Para. 60, FIGS. 3, 4, 5A) within a respective transmission period (The higher layer parameter monitoringSlotPeriodicityAndOffset in the IE SearchSpace defines slots for PDCCH Monitoring configured as periodicity and offset, Para. 49, FIGS. 3, 4, 5A) comprises the same control data (In the case where PDCCH repetitions is configured or enabled, a PDCCH signal carrying the same DCI can be repeatedly transmitted from the network device 110 to the terminal device 120 more than once, Para. 36, FIGS. 1, 3, 5A).
In regard to Claim 25, Gao teaches said multiple transmission states (The resource configuration is associated with a plurality of TCI states (such as 2 TCI states), Para. 57, FIGS. 3, 4) and/or said multiple active transmission states at least in part define one or more of - different transmission parameters (the REGs with lower frequencies are associated with TCI state 1 and the REGs with higher frequencies are associated with TCI state 2, Para. 66, FIG. 4); - different beam parameters; or - different beams.
In regard to Claim 26, Gao teaches said control data (The configuration of the CORESET may be configured to the terminal device 120 via higher layer signaling, for example via Radio RRC signaling in the information element (IE) ControlResourceSet, Para. 45, FIGS. 1, 3. The terminal device 120 may determine the resource configuration from higher layer signaling. The terminal device 120 detects 320 the plurality of repetitions of the control information on the PDCCH based on the resource configuration, Para. 58, FIG. 3) comprises information indicating a time resource within the transmission period (The higher layer parameter monitoringSlotPeriodicityAndOffset in the IE SearchSpace defines slots for PDCCH Monitoring configured as periodicity and offset, Para. 49, FIG. 5A) used for the original transmission of the control data (PDCCH may be repeated within the duration of each occasion/period of the search space, Para. 60. If PDCCH repetition (for example, across occasions/periods) is configured, only a subset of values for monitoringSlotPeriodicityAndOffset will be applicable, Para. 77), and wherein said information indicating a time resource within the transmission period (The higher layer parameter monitoringSlotPeriodicityAndOffset in the IE SearchSpace defines slots for PDCCH Monitoring configured as periodicity and offset, Para. 49, FIG. 5A) is used for determining a time domain resource (decode PDSCH according to a detected PDCCH with DCI intended for the UE, Para. 39, FIG. 5A) allocated by the control data (according to a detected PDCCH with DCI intended for the UE, Para. 39, FIG. 5A).
In regard to Claim 27, Gao teaches said apparatus is one or more of: - a user equipment; or - a mobile apparatus (a terminal device 120 served by the network device 110, Para. 33, FIG. 1).
In regard to Claim 28, Gao teaches A method, performed by at least one apparatus (terminal device 120, Para. 45, FIGS. 1, 3), the method comprising: receiving, from a network element, a resource configuration (information related with configuration for the terminal device configured by the second network device may be transmitted from the second network device via the first network device. The information may be transmitted via any of the following: Radio Resource Control (RRC) signaling, Medium Access Control (MAC) control element (CE) or DCI, Para. 32, FIG. 1) for a control channel (The configuration of the CORESET may be configured to the terminal device 120 via higher layer signaling, for example via Radio RRC signaling in the information element (IE) ControlResourceSet, Para. 45, FIGS. 1, 3. The terminal device 120 may determine the resource configuration from higher layer signaling. The terminal device 120 detects 320 the plurality of repetitions of the control information on the PDCCH based on the resource configuration, Para. 58, FIG. 3) carrying control data (The frequency domain resources and time duration (in number of symbols) for PDCCH monitoring are defined as a control resource set (CORESET), Para. 45).
Gao teaches, wherein the resource configuration (information related with configuration for the terminal device configured by the second network device. The information may be transmitted via any of the following: Radio Resource Control (RRC) signaling, Medium Access Control (MAC) control element (CE) or DCI, Para. 32, FIG. 1) comprises information indicating a transmission period (The higher layer parameter monitoringSlotPeriodicityAndOffset in the IE SearchSpace defines slots for PDCCH Monitoring configured as periodicity and offset, Para. 49) for a repeated transmission of said control data (PDCCH may be repeated within the duration of each occasion/period of the search space, Para. 60. If PDCCH repetition (for example, across occasions/periods) is configured, only a subset of values for monitoringSlotPeriodicityAndOffset will be applicable, Para. 77) on said control channel (PDCCH may be repeated within the search space. The N TCI states may be activated for the search space and/or the CORESET associated with the search space, Para. 60, FIGS. 3, 4, 5A).
Gao teaches transmission configuration (The terminal device 120 may determine the resource configuration from higher layer signaling, Para. 58, FIG. 3) defining a plurality of transmission states for said resource configuration (The resource configuration is associated with a plurality of TCI states (such as 2 TCI states), Para. 57, FIGS. 3, 4).
Gao teaches an indication that repetition of the control channel is in use (The plurality of PDCCH repetitions may be detected based on the resource configuration and a TCI state of the plurality of TCI states may correspond to at least one of the plurality of PDCCH repetitions, Para. 44. The terminal device 120 may determine the resource configuration from higher layer signaling. The terminal device 120 detects 320 the plurality of repetitions of the control information on the PDCCH based on the resource configuration, Para. 58, FIG. 3).
Gao teaches monitoring information indicating a plurality of monitoring occasions (The higher layer parameter monitoringSlotPeriodicityAndOffset in the IE SearchSpace defines slots for PDCCH Monitoring, Para. 49) associated with said resource configuration (The configuration of the search space may be configured to the terminal device 120 via higher layer signaling, for example via RRC signaling in the IE SearchSpace. Each search space is associated with one CORESET, Para. 47, FIGS. 3, 4).
Gao teaches monitoring said control channel (frequency domain resources and time duration (in number of symbols) for PDCCH monitoring are defined as a control resource set (CORESET), Para. 45, FIGS. 4, 5) for control data on said plurality of monitoring occasions (The higher layer parameter monitoringSlotPeriodicityAndOffset in the IE SearchSpace defines slots for PDCCH Monitoring, Para. 49) by using a mapping scheme (The slots and starting symbol within a slot for PDCCH monitoring are defined as a search space, Para. 47. The IE SearchSpace defines the first symbol(s) for PDCCH monitoring in the slots configured for PDCCH monitoring, Para. 50. CCE-to-REG mapping type can only be configured as the interleaved mapping type at least for repetitions within one search space, Para. 54) between at least one of said plurality of transmission states (when CCE-to-REG mapping type is configured as interleaved mapping type, the CCE-to-REG mapping may be interleaved within the REGs or the REG bundles assigned to or associated with one of the N TCI states, Para. 69) and said plurality of monitoring occasions (The higher layer parameter monitoringSlotPeriodicityAndOffset in the IE SearchSpace defines slots for PDCCH Monitoring, Para. 49) within said transmission period (PDCCH may be repeated within the duration of each occasion/period of the search space, Para. 60).
Gao teaches the plurality of monitoring occasions (The higher layer parameter monitoringSlotPeriodicityAndOffset in the IE SearchSpace defines slots for PDCCH Monitoring, Para. 49) within said transmission period (PDCCH may be repeated within the duration of each occasion/period of the search space, Para. 60).
Although Gao teaches the mapping scheme, the plurality of transmission states, and the plurality of monitoring occasions within said transmission period, Gao fails to teach wherein the mapping scheme defines a different transmission state of the plurality of transmission states for each of the plurality of monitoring occasions.
Kim teaches wherein the mapping scheme (a mapping rule between a base station and UE which states how multiple TCI states indicated through the TCI field of a single DCI are mapped to different resources (e.g., layers/frequency resources/time resources, etc.), Para. 215. A TCI mapping rule between TCI states and time resources in a time division multiplexing (TDM) scheme, Para. 224. The UE may sequentially map TCI states {0, 1, 2, 3} indicated by the DCI to each slot, Para. 255, FIG. 10) defines a different transmission state (using different TCI states, Para. 255, FIG. 10) of the plurality of transmission states ((e.g., TCI states {0, 1, 2, 3}), Para. 255, FIG. 10) for each of the plurality of monitoring occasions (in four slots using different TCI states, Para. 255, FIG. 10).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Kim with the teachings of Gao since Kim provides a technique for utilizing mapping rules of different TCI states for each of different slots, which can be introduced into the arrangement of Gao to ensure different TCI states are utilized in different slots for PDCCH monitoring to improve reception of PDCCHs over time.
In regard to Claim 29, Gao teaches An apparatus (network device 110, Para. 34, FIGS. 1, 3) comprising at least one memory and the computer program code (memory 1110 stores at least a part of a program 1130, Para. 118, FIG. 11) are configured to, with the at least one processor (processor 1110, Para. 119, FIG. 11), cause the apparatus at least to perform: transmitting, to a user equipment (terminal device 120, Para. 45, FIGS. 1, 3), a resource configuration (information related with configuration for the terminal device configured by the second network device may be transmitted from the second network device via the first network device. The information may be transmitted via any of the following: Radio Resource Control (RRC) signaling, Medium Access Control (MAC) control element (CE) or DCI, Para. 32, FIG. 1) for a control channel (The configuration of the CORESET may be configured to the terminal device 120 via higher layer signaling, for example via Radio RRC signaling in the information element (IE) ControlResourceSet, Para. 45, FIGS. 1, 3. The terminal device 120 may determine the resource configuration from higher layer signaling. The terminal device 120 detects 320 the plurality of repetitions of the control information on the PDCCH based on the resource configuration, Para. 58, FIG. 3) carrying control data (The frequency domain resources and time duration (in number of symbols) for PDCCH monitoring are defined as a control resource set (CORESET), Para. 45).
Gao teaches, wherein the resource configuration (information related with configuration for the terminal device configured by the second network device. The information may be transmitted via any of the following: Radio Resource Control (RRC) signaling, Medium Access Control (MAC) control element (CE) or DCI, Para. 32, FIG. 1) comprises information indicating a transmission period (The higher layer parameter monitoringSlotPeriodicityAndOffset in the IE SearchSpace defines slots for PDCCH Monitoring configured as periodicity and offset, Para. 49) for a repeated transmission of said control data (PDCCH may be repeated within the duration of each occasion/period of the search space, Para. 60. If PDCCH repetition (for example, across occasions/periods) is configured, only a subset of values for monitoringSlotPeriodicityAndOffset will be applicable, Para. 77) on said control channel (PDCCH may be repeated within the search space. The N TCI states may be activated for the search space and/or the CORESET associated with the search space, Para. 60, FIGS. 3, 4, 5A).
Gao teaches transmission configuration (The terminal device 120 may determine the resource configuration from higher layer signaling, Para. 58, FIG. 3) defining a plurality of transmission states for said resource configuration (The resource configuration is associated with a plurality of TCI states (such as 2 TCI states), Para. 57, FIGS. 3, 4).
Gao teaches an indication that repetition of the control channel is in use (The plurality of PDCCH repetitions may be detected based on the resource configuration and a TCI state of the plurality of TCI states may correspond to at least one of the plurality of PDCCH repetitions, Para. 44. The terminal device 120 may determine the resource configuration from higher layer signaling. The terminal device 120 detects 320 the plurality of repetitions of the control information on the PDCCH based on the resource configuration, Para. 58, FIG. 3).
Gao teaches transmitting, to the user equipment (terminal device 120, Para. 45, FIGS. 1, 3), monitoring information indicating a plurality of monitoring occasions (The higher layer parameter monitoringSlotPeriodicityAndOffset in the IE SearchSpace defines slots for PDCCH Monitoring, Para. 49) associated with said resource configuration (The configuration of the search space may be configured to the terminal device 120 via higher layer signaling, for example via RRC signaling in the IE SearchSpace. Each search space is associated with one CORESET, Para. 47, FIGS. 3, 4).
Gao teaches transmitting, to the user equipment (terminal device 120, Para. 45, FIGS. 1, 3), control data (The higher layer parameter monitoringSlotPeriodicityAndOffset in the IE SearchSpace defines slots for PDCCH Monitoring, Para. 49) over said control channel (frequency domain resources and time duration (in number of symbols) for PDCCH monitoring are defined as a control resource set (CORESET), Para. 45, FIGS. 4, 5) on said monitoring occasions (slots for PDCCH Monitoring, Para. 49) by using a mapping scheme (The slots and starting symbol within a slot for PDCCH monitoring are defined as a search space, Para. 47. The IE SearchSpace defines the first symbol(s) for PDCCH monitoring in the slots configured for PDCCH monitoring, Para. 50. CCE-to-REG mapping type can only be configured as the interleaved mapping type at least for repetitions within one search space, Para. 54) between at least one of said plurality of transmission states (when CCE-to-REG mapping type is configured as interleaved mapping type, the CCE-to-REG mapping may be interleaved within the REGs or the REG bundles assigned to or associated with one of the N TCI states, Para. 69) and said plurality of monitoring occasions (The higher layer parameter monitoringSlotPeriodicityAndOffset in the IE SearchSpace defines slots for PDCCH Monitoring, Para. 49) within said transmission period (PDCCH may be repeated within the duration of each occasion/period of the search space, Para. 60).
Gao teaches the plurality of monitoring occasions (The higher layer parameter monitoringSlotPeriodicityAndOffset in the IE SearchSpace defines slots for PDCCH Monitoring, Para. 49) within said transmission period (PDCCH may be repeated within the duration of each occasion/period of the search space, Para. 60).
Although Gao teaches the mapping scheme, the plurality of transmission states, and the plurality of monitoring occasions within said transmission period, Gao fails to teach wherein the mapping scheme defines a different transmission state of the plurality of transmission states for each of the plurality of monitoring occasions.
Kim teaches wherein the mapping scheme (a mapping rule between a base station and UE which states how multiple TCI states indicated through the TCI field of a single DCI are mapped to different resources (e.g., layers/frequency resources/time resources, etc.), Para. 215. A TCI mapping rule between TCI states and time resources in a time division multiplexing (TDM) scheme, Para. 224. The UE may sequentially map TCI states {0, 1, 2, 3} indicated by the DCI to each slot, Para. 255, FIG. 10) defines a different transmission state (using different TCI states, Para. 255, FIG. 10) of the plurality of transmission states ((e.g., TCI states {0, 1, 2, 3}), Para. 255, FIG. 10) for each of the plurality of monitoring occasions (in four slots using different TCI states, Para. 255, FIG. 10).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Kim with the teachings of Gao since Kim provides a technique for utilizing mapping rules of different TCI states for each of different slots, which can be introduced into the arrangement of Gao to ensure different TCI states are utilized in different slots for PDCCH monitoring to improve reception of PDCCHs over time.
In regard to Claim 30, Gao teaches A method, performed by at least one apparatus (network device 110, Para. 34, FIGS. 1, 3), the method comprising: transmitting, to a user equipment (terminal device 120, Para. 45, FIGS. 1, 3), a resource configuration (information related with configuration for the terminal device configured by the second network device may be transmitted from the second network device via the first network device. The information may be transmitted via any of the following: Radio Resource Control (RRC) signaling, Medium Access Control (MAC) control element (CE) or DCI, Para. 32, FIG. 1) for a control channel (The configuration of the CORESET may be configured to the terminal device 120 via higher layer signaling, for example via Radio RRC signaling in the information element (IE) ControlResourceSet, Para. 45, FIGS. 1, 3. The terminal device 120 may determine the resource configuration from higher layer signaling. The terminal device 120 detects 320 the plurality of repetitions of the control information on the PDCCH based on the resource configuration, Para. 58, FIG. 3) carrying control data (The frequency domain resources and time duration (in number of symbols) for PDCCH monitoring are defined as a control resource set (CORESET), Para. 45).
Gao teaches, wherein the resource configuration (information related with configuration for the terminal device configured by the second network device. The information may be transmitted via any of the following: Radio Resource Control (RRC) signaling, Medium Access Control (MAC) control element (CE) or DCI, Para. 32, FIG. 1) comprises information indicating a transmission period (The higher layer parameter monitoringSlotPeriodicityAndOffset in the IE SearchSpace defines slots for PDCCH Monitoring configured as periodicity and offset, Para. 49) for a repeated transmission of said control data (PDCCH may be repeated within the duration of each occasion/period of the search space, Para. 60. If PDCCH repetition (for example, across occasions/periods) is configured, only a subset of values for monitoringSlotPeriodicityAndOffset will be applicable, Para. 77) on said control channel (PDCCH may be repeated within the search space. The N TCI states may be activated for the search space and/or the CORESET associated with the search space, Para. 60, FIGS. 3, 4, 5A).
Gao teaches transmission configuration (The terminal device 120 may determine the resource configuration from higher layer signaling, Para. 58, FIG. 3) defining a plurality of transmission states for said resource configuration (The resource configuration is associated with a plurality of TCI states (such as 2 TCI states), Para. 57, FIGS. 3, 4).
Gao teaches an indication that repetition of the control channel is in use (The plurality of PDCCH repetitions may be detected based on the resource configuration and a TCI state of the plurality of TCI states may correspond to at least one of the plurality of PDCCH repetitions, Para. 44. The terminal device 120 may determine the resource configuration from higher layer signaling. The terminal device 120 detects 320 the plurality of repetitions of the control information on the PDCCH based on the resource configuration, Para. 58, FIG. 3).
Gao teaches transmitting, to the user equipment (terminal device 120, Para. 45, FIGS. 1, 3), monitoring information indicating a plurality of monitoring occasions (The higher layer parameter monitoringSlotPeriodicityAndOffset in the IE SearchSpace defines slots for PDCCH Monitoring, Para. 49) associated with said resource configuration (The configuration of the search space may be configured to the terminal device 120 via higher layer signaling, for example via RRC signaling in the IE SearchSpace. Each search space is associated with one CORESET, Para. 47, FIGS. 3, 4).
Gao teaches transmitting, to the user equipment (terminal device 120, Para. 45, FIGS. 1, 3), control data (The higher layer parameter monitoringSlotPeriodicityAndOffset in the IE SearchSpace defines slots for PDCCH Monitoring, Para. 49) over said control channel (frequency domain resources and time duration (in number of symbols) for PDCCH monitoring are defined as a control resource set (CORESET), Para. 45, FIGS. 4, 5) on said monitoring occasions (slots for PDCCH Monitoring, Para. 49) by using a mapping scheme (The slots and starting symbol within a slot for PDCCH monitoring are defined as a search space, Para. 47. The IE SearchSpace defines the first symbol(s) for PDCCH monitoring in the slots configured for PDCCH monitoring, Para. 50. CCE-to-REG mapping type can only be configured as the interleaved mapping type at least for repetitions within one search space, Para. 54) between at least one of said plurality of transmission states (when CCE-to-REG mapping type is configured as interleaved mapping type, the CCE-to-REG mapping may be interleaved within the REGs or the REG bundles assigned to or associated with one of the N TCI states, Para. 69) and said plurality of monitoring occasions (The higher layer parameter monitoringSlotPeriodicityAndOffset in the IE SearchSpace defines slots for PDCCH Monitoring, Para. 49) within said transmission period (PDCCH may be repeated within the duration of each occasion/period of the search space, Para. 60).
Gao teaches the plurality of monitoring occasions (The higher layer parameter monitoringSlotPeriodicityAndOffset in the IE SearchSpace defines slots for PDCCH Monitoring, Para. 49) within said transmission period (PDCCH may be repeated within the duration of each occasion/period of the search space, Para. 60).
Although Gao teaches the mapping scheme, the plurality of transmission states, and the plurality of monitoring occasions within said transmission period, Gao fails to teach the mapping scheme defines a different transmission state of the plurality of transmission states for each of the plurality of monitoring occasions.
Kim teaches the mapping scheme (a mapping rule between a base station and UE which states how multiple TCI states indicated through the TCI field of a single DCI are mapped to different resources (e.g., layers/frequency resources/time resources, etc.), Para. 215. A TCI mapping rule between TCI states and time resources in a time division multiplexing (TDM) scheme, Para. 224. The UE may sequentially map TCI states {0, 1, 2, 3} indicated by the DCI to each slot, Para. 255, FIG. 10) defines a different transmission state (using different TCI states, Para. 255, FIG. 10) of the plurality of transmission states ((e.g., TCI states {0, 1, 2, 3}), Para. 255, FIG. 10) for each of the plurality of monitoring occasions (in four slots using different TCI states, Para. 255, FIG. 10).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Kim with the teachings of Gao since Kim provides a technique for utilizing mapping rules of different TCI states for each of different slots, which can be introduced into the arrangement of Gao to ensure different TCI states are utilized in different slots for PDCCH monitoring to improve reception of PDCCHs over time.
Response to Arguments
I. Arguments for the Claim Rejections under 35 USC § 102
Applicant's arguments filed 2/2/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. Page 17 of the Remarks presents the argument that In other words, Gao discloses that the IE SearchSpace defines how/where to search for PDCCH candidates, but does not disclose or suggest that the IE SearchSpace defines a different transmission state for each of a plurality of monitoring occasions within the transmission period. This argument is not persuasive. The limitations introduced in the amendment of Claims 16 and 28-30, which are not taught by Gao, are taught by Kim et al. (Pub. No.: US 20220217742 A1).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Khoshnevisan et al. (Pub. No.: US 20200267748 A1) teaches wherein the mapping scheme defines a different transmission state of the plurality of transmission states for each of the plurality of monitoring occasions (the TDM scheme may also include a slot aggregation procedure, in which case a transmission may be TDMed across slots such that there may be different TCI states in different slots, Para. 130. The set of bits (e.g., the RV field) may further indicate RVs for different slots and/or different TCI states, Para. 186, FIG. 5).
KHOSHNEVISAN et al. (Pub. No.: US 20200153543 A1) teaches wherein the mapping scheme defines a different transmission state of the plurality of transmission states for each of the plurality of monitoring occasions (different sets of symbols/slots (e.g., for a time-division multiplexing (TDM) scheme where different sets of symbols/slots correspond to different TCI states), Para. 69).
SU et al. (Pub. No.: US 20220200758 A1) teaches wherein the mapping scheme defines a different transmission state of the plurality of transmission states for each of the plurality of monitoring occasions (different TCI states are used for mini slots or slots with different types of serial numbers, Para. 23).
Joshua Smith
/J.S./
3-3-2026
/CHIRAG G SHAH/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2477