DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Response to Amendment
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipate by Chaji et al. (“Chaji”), US 2018/0151804.
Regarding Claim 1, Chaji discloses a method (Fig. 7; ¶ 0056) to transfer microdevices (314, 316; Fig. 6A; ¶ 0107) to a system backplane (1590; Fig. 15B; ¶ 0069, 0128), the method comprising:
embedding microdevices (314, 316; Fig. 6A; ¶ 0107) in a buffer layer (375; Fig. 6F; ¶ 0107 “374 is used in between and around the micro devices” and “374 may be etched to form…375” noting that in Fig. 6F the element number 375 is separated above and to the left of its respective element number pointer) in a housing structure (598-2; Fig. 6F; ¶ 0107 “Another layer may be deposited over the base 375, and used to make anchors 598-2” noting that in Fig. 6F the element number pointer for element 598-2 points to the end surface (not a side surface) of housing structure 598-2);
bonding the housing structure to a temporary substrate (376; Fig. 6D; ¶ 0107) with a bonding layer (378; Fig. 6D; ¶ 0107);
having a release layer (332; Fig. 6E; ¶ 0107) between the housing structure and the temporary substrate;
singulating the housing structure around a set of microdevices forming blocks of microdevices (1580, 1582; Figs. 15A-15B; ¶ 0068-0069, 0128 in this instance singulating each housing structure around each of the microdevices of a set of microdevices); and
using the blocks of microdevices to form a transfer template (“donor substrate”; Fig. 15A; ¶ 0068) for transferring the microdevices into the system backplane.
Regarding Claim 2, Chaji discloses the microdevices in a block are characterized for at least one parameter (902-2; Fig. 9 ¶ 0115, 0133, 0169, 0174, 0177).
Regarding Claim 3, Chaji discloses the characterization is done through a visual inspection, photo luminance, or electrical measurements (¶ 0081 “conductive layer may be used to bias the devices on the substrate 376 for identifying defects”, ¶ 0095).
Regarding Claim 4, Chaji discloses an extracted parameter is either an electrical, an optical or a physical type (¶ 0095 “In the case in which the devices are emissive types, a camera (or sensor) may be used to extract the defects and device performance. In the case in which the devices are sensors, a stimulus may be applied to the devices to extract defects and performance. In another embodiment, the top electrode 332 may be patterned to group for testing before being patterned to individual devices. In another example, a temporary common electrode between more than one devices is deposited or coupled to the devices to extract the device performance and/or extract the defects.”, ¶ 0117).
Regarding Claim 5, Chaji discloses the blocks of microdevices are mapped based on the extracted parameter (¶ 0124-0129, 0133).
Regarding Claim 6, Chaji discloses a set of blocks of microdevices is selected and transferred to the transfer template wherein the selection is based on a performance or defects in the blocks of microdevices (¶ 0124-0129, 0133).
Regarding Claim 7, Chaji discloses the sets of blocks of microdevices are chosen if defected microdevices in the block is smaller than a set threshold or the performance of the microdevices in that block is within the set threshold (¶ 0124, 0125 “adjacent blocks are flipped so that the devices with similar performance are adjacent one another”, 0127 “performance of micro devices at the edges of the blocks is matched for adjacent transferred block (array)”, 0128 “output power sides B and C from blocks 1580 and 1582, respectively, may be positioned adjacent each other”, 0129 “different blocks 1680, 1682 and 1684 to eliminate the non-uniformity found in any one block”, 0164, 0169, 0174).
Regarding Claim 8, Chaji discloses a performance difference between the blocks of microdevices is within threshold values (¶ 0124, 0125 “adjacent blocks are flipped so that the devices with similar performance are adjacent one another”, 0127 “performance of micro devices at the edges of the blocks is matched for adjacent transferred block (array)”, 0128 “output power sides B and C from blocks 1580 and 1582, respectively, may be positioned adjacent each other”, 0129 “different blocks 1680, 1682 and 1684 to eliminate the non-uniformity found in any one block”, 0164, 0169, 0174).
Regarding Claim 9, Chaji discloses transfer of the blocks of microdevices to the transfer template is done by a pick and place process (¶ 0117 “by means of pick-and-place process”), a laser ablation, or an offset printing.
Regarding Claim 10, Chaji discloses during the pick and place process the release layer is activated for the block of microdevices to be separated from the temporary substrate (Fig. 3E ¶ 0117 “the devices are prepared to be separated”, 0081 the release layer 332 is activated by temperatures above its melting point, 0083).
Regarding Claim 11, Chaji discloses the block is moved to the transfer template and placed on the transfer template (“donor substrate”; Fig. 15A; ¶ 0068).
Regarding Claim 12, Chaji discloses placement on the block process includes bonding which is adhesive (¶ 0081 process of placement of the microdevices on the block “may comprise one or more of: electrostatic, electromagnetic, adhesive, or Van-Der-Waals force, or thermal bonding”).
Regarding Claim 13, Chaji discloses the transferred set of blocks of microdevices to the transfer template are secured in place by a process of securing (¶ 0131 “a frame or substrate may hold the assembled cartridges 1790”, ¶ 0132 ”cartridge 1790 may have independent control for applying pressure and temperature”).
Regarding Claim 14, Chaji discloses the process of securing includes curing (¶ 0132 ”cartridge 1790 may have independent control for applying pressure and temperature”), planarization, filler or covering (¶ 0131 “a frame…may hold the assembled cartridges 1790”) with different layers.
Regarding Claim 15, Chaji discloses the bonding layer is the same as the release layer (¶ 0081 “bonding layer 378 may be conductive”, 0080 release layer 332 “may be gold and nickel”, in this instance the bonding layer is the same as the release layer because both are conductive).
Regarding Claim 16, Chaji discloses there are additional layers on the microdevices such as bonding layers, pads, and anchors (¶ 0107 “mesa structure can include other layers 372”).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 17-19 and 44 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chaji et al. (“Chaji”), US 2018/0151804 in view of Hu et al. (“Hu”), US 2013/0130440.
Regarding Claim 17, Chaji does not disclose the microdevices are directly transferred from the transfer template into the system backplane where the transfer template gets aligned with a part of the system backplane and a selected set of blocks of microdevices in the transfer template are placed on the system backplane by a placement process.
Hu discloses the microdevices (150; Fig. 14; ¶ 0124) are directly transferred ( ¶ 0015 “micro LED structure which has been picked up with the transfer head is then placed onto a receiving substrate”) from the transfer template (300; Fig. 14; ¶ 0123, 0127) into the system backplane (400; Fig. 15; ¶ 0128) where the transfer template gets aligned with a part of the system backplane (¶ 0055, 0067) and a selected set of blocks of microdevices (¶ 0123 “a transfer head 300 picking up a single micro LED structure, transfer head 300 or a plurality of transfer heads 300 may pick up a group of micro LED structures”) in the transfer template are placed on the system backplane (Fig. 15; ¶ 0128) by a placement process (¶ 0128 “have been placed”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention for Chaji to have the microdevices are directly transferred from the transfer template into the system backplane where the transfer template gets aligned with a part of the system backplane and a selected set of blocks of microdevices in the transfer template are placed on the system backplane by a placement process, as taught by Hu, in order to achieve a “mass transfer of an array of pre-fabricated micro devices with an array of transfer heads” onto a receiving substrate for manufacturing efficiency (Hu ¶ 0140) to reduce manufacturing costs.
Regarding Claim 18, Chaji does not disclose the placement process is either by a bonding, or a laser separation.
Hu discloses the placement process is either by a bonding (¶ 0016 “micro device and the portion of the intermediate electrically conductive bonding layer are then placed onto an electrically conductive receiving bonding layer on a receiving substrate”), or a laser separation (¶ 0185).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention for Chaji to have the placement process is either by a bonding, or a laser separation, as taught by Hu, in order to achieve a “mass transfer of an array of pre-fabricated micro devices with an array of transfer heads” onto a receiving substrate for manufacturing efficiency (Hu ¶ 0140) to reduce manufacturing costs.
Regarding Claim 19, Chaji does not disclose the microdevices are picked from the transfer template and then transferred in the system backplane.
Hu discloses the microdevices are picked from the transfer template and then transferred in the system backplane (Figs. 17-18; ¶ 0127 “pick up and placement operations”, 0133, ¶ 0139 transfer of a single device or an array of devices).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention for Chaji to have the microdevices are picked from the transfer template and then transferred in the system backplane, as taught by Hu, in order to achieve a “mass transfer of an array of pre-fabricated micro devices with an array of transfer heads” onto a receiving substrate for manufacturing efficiency (Hu ¶ 0140) to reduce manufacturing costs.
Regarding Claim 44, Chaji does not disclose in case of the laser ablation, there is a layer under each microdevice block that expands under an emission of a certain laser and pushing the microdevice block into the template.
Hu discloses in case of the laser ablation (¶ 0185), there is a layer (bonding layer 210, 211, 215, 220; ¶ 0082, 0104, 0157, 0171) under each microdevice block (Fig. 17) that expands under an emission of a certain laser (¶ 0099 “a laser lift-off technique is used” so that “the system is subjected to heat and mechanical shock waves” that “result in delamination of layers”, 0107 removed by “laser-based lift-off” with ultraviolet laser, Nd-YAG laser or KrF excimer laser “resulting in decomposition”) and pushing the microdevice block into the template (Figs. 27-28; ¶ 0169 “device 100 selectively released onto the receiving substrate 400 over a driver contact 410” and “more than one micro LED device 100 is released, or the entire array of micro LED devices 100 are released”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention for Chaji to have in case of the laser ablation, there is a layer under each microdevice block that expands under an emission of a certain laser and pushing the microdevice block into the template, as taught by Hu, in order to achieve a “mass transfer of an array of pre-fabricated micro devices with an array of transfer heads” onto a receiving substrate for manufacturing efficiency (Hu ¶ 0140) to reduce manufacturing costs.
Response to Arguments
In the response dated January 28, 2026 the Applicant states (page 6) that “amended claim 1 is patentable over Chaji.” The amendments to Claim 1 has necessitated an updated rejection of Claim 1, as explained supra. As can be seen in the rejection, a different interpretation of the prior art as related to the buffer layer and housing layer is made in order to read on the amended claim language.
Independent Claim 1 is rejected for at least the reasons stated supra. Dependent Claims 2-19 and 44 are rejected for at least the reasons stated supra.
Conclusion
/R.K./Examiner, Art Unit 2818