DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of invention I and species I in the reply filed on 11/3/25 is acknowledged.
Claims 11 and 14-19 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected invention or species, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 2/6/23
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier.
Such claim limitation(s) is/are:
“a placement unit for the process-target object” in claim 1, which is understood from the specification to indicate a stage.
“a slit unit arranged between the process-target object and the electron-beam irradiator unit, wherein the process-target object includes a high portion and a low portion lower than the high portion, the slit unit includes a plurality of openings and is arranged to be upper than the high portion of the process-target object, and an opening rate in a second region of the slit unit corresponding to the high portion is smaller than an opening rate in a first region of the slit unit corresponding to the low portion” in claim 1, which is understood from the specification to correspond to a metal member having slits therein.
“delivery unit configured to deliver the process-target object while rotating” in claim 6, which is understood from the disclosure to refer to a conveyor or rollers.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1, 4, 6-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 1 recites “the slit unit includes a plurality of openings and is arranged to be upper than the high portion of the process-target object.” The limitation “arranged to be upper than” appears to be a literal translation and exhibits both idiomatic and grammatical errors. As such, the claim is indefinite.
Claim 4 recites, “a plurality of linear openings.” It is unclear whether openings are “linear” because they are arranged in a line, or because they are shaped as polygons, or something else entirely. As such, the claim is indefinite.
Claims 9 and 10 use the term “eatable.” It is unclear what is meant by this limitation in the claims, since the word “eatable” is usually used to describe the subjective quality of a food,
The above indefinite claims will be examined as best understood in light of the specification.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 4, 6-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 2019/0200579 A1 [Meissner] in view of US 2003/0218414 A1 [Avnery].
Regarding Claim 1:
Meissner teaches a sterilizing device configured to sterilize a process-target object by irradiating the process-target object with electron beam (abstract), comprising:
an electron-beam irradiator unit configured to irradiate the process-target object with the electron beam (Fig. 1 (2));
a placement unit for the process-target object (this is interpreted under 35 USC 112(f) to correspond to a be a stage. A stage is shown in Fig. 1 (5)); and
a metallic electron baffle arranged between the process-target object and the electron-beam irradiator unit (Fig. 1 (4), para 84), wherein the process-target object includes a high portion and a low portion lower than the high portion (see eggs in Fig. 1).
However, Meissner fails to teach a slit unit arranged between the process-target object and the electron-beam irradiator unit wherein the slit unit includes a plurality of openings and is arranged to be above the high portion of the process-target object, and an opening rate in a second region of the slit unit corresponding to the high portion is smaller than an opening rate in a first region of the slit unit corresponding to the low portion.
Avnery teaches an electron source (Fig. 3 (44)) having housing (42) comprising a series of openings (Fig. 6 (52)), wherein the slots are arranged to be above a target (see e.g. Fig. 7a), and an opening rate in a middle region of the slit unit, which would correspond to a high portion, is smaller than an opening rate in an outer region, which would correspond to a low portion (Fig. 6, para 43). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective time of filing to use Avnery’s housing structure (42) with its hole arrangement (See Fig. 6) as the electron baffle of Meissner. One would have been motivated to do so since this would allow one to provide a desired electron irradiation intensity profile, as is explained in Avnery para 43.
Regarding Claim 4:
The modified invention of claim 1 teaches the sterilizing device according to claim 1, teach that the slit unit includes a plurality of openings, and a width of the opening of the slit unit on the high portion is smaller than a width of the opening of the slit unit on the low portion. See Avnery Fig. 6. However, the prior art of record fails to teach that the openings are linear. Nevertheless, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective time of filing to change the shape of the openings (52) from circular to a linear shape, such as squares. This is because a change in shape of an aperture is an obvious engineering choice with predictable results. In re Dailey, 357 F.2d 669, 149 USPQ 47 (CCPA 1966) (The court held that the configuration of the claimed disposable plastic nursing container was a matter of choice which a person of ordinary skill in the art would have found obvious absent persuasive evidence that the particular configuration of the claimed container was significant.).
Regarding Claim 6:
The modified invention of claim 1 teaches the sterilizing device according to claim 1, wherein the placement unit is a delivery unit configured to deliver the process-target object while rotating it so that the process-target object passes in a region irradiated with the electron beam from the electron-beam irradiator unit. Meissner Fig. 11 (47), para 128.
Regarding Claim 7:
The modified invention of claim 6 teaches the sterilizing device according to claim 6, wherein the delivery unit includes a plurality of rollers supported about an axis (Meissner Fig. 11 (47), para 128, claims 9-10), and the process-target object is delivered while rotating in an opposite direction to a rotation direction of the roller. Meissner Figs. 12-13.
Regarding Claim 8:
The modified invention of claim 1 teaches the sterilizing device according to claim 1, but fails to specify that a surface dose on the process-target object is equal to or higher than 0.1 kGy and equal to or lower than 10 kGy. That said, this limitation is to an object treated by the apparatus of claim 1, not to the apparatus itself. As such, it has no patentable weight. In re Otto, 312 F.2d 937, 136 USPQ 458, 459 (CCPA 1963); see also In re Young, 75 F.2d 996, 25 USPQ 69 (CCPA 1935). To the extent that this limitations speaks to the claimed apparatus at all, it is only in that the sterilizing device must be able to provide a surface dose. As is evident from Meissner Fig. 8 and para 122, it has such an ability. Furthermore, it is noted that the base unit of a Gray is m2/s2. This demonstrates that dose is dependent upon the time of exposure. Thus, Meissner’s demonstration of doses higher than those claimed demonstrates that the claimed doses can be achieved by simply reducing the time of exposure, i.e. with no change in the device.
Regarding Claim 9:
The modified invention of claim 1 teaches the sterilizing device according to claim 1, but fails to specify an X-ray dose on an eatable part inside of the process-target object is equal to or lower than 0.1 Gy.
Again, this limitation describes an object treated by the apparatus of claim 1, not the apparatus itself. As such, it has no patentable weight. In re Otto. To the extent that this limitations speaks to the claimed apparatus at all, it is only in that the sterilizing device must be able to provide a surface dose. As is evident from Meissner Fig. 8 and para 122, it has such an ability. Furthermore, it is noted that the base unit of a Gray is m2/s2. This demonstrates that dose is dependent upon the time of exposure. Thus, Meissner’s demonstration of doses higher than those claimed demonstrates that the claimed doses can be achieved by simply reducing the time of exposure, i.e. with no change in the apparatus.
Regarding Claim 10:
The modified invention of claim 1 teaches the sterilizing device according to claim 1, wherein the process-target object is a food having an eatable part and a surface part covering the eatable part. This limitation describes an object treated by the apparatus of claim 1, not the apparatus itself. As such, it has no patentable weight. In re Otto. Regardless, Meissner teaches irradiating eggs, which would meet the above limitations.
Conclusion
WYATT STOFFA
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 2881
/WYATT A STOFFA/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2881