DETAILED ACTION
Status of Application
Claims 1, 2, 7, 14, 19, 20, 22, 25 and 32 are pending and presented for examination.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1, 2, 14, 19, 20, 22 and 25 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
1. Claim(s) 1, 2 and 14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by The Bewitching Nook (“Tea Dyed Fabric”).
I. Regarding claims 1 and 2, The Bewitching Nook teaches a coating consisting of Earl Grey tea (page 1 and note that Earl Grey tea includes a polyphenol-containing solution of black tea leaves and bergamot, which is an essential oil) brewed with water (bottom of page 2 and note that this mixture consists of tea, essential oil and water). Further, this coating will inherently be antimicrobial as bergamot has antimicrobial properties. The Bewitching Nook teaches all the limitations of claims 1 and 2; therefore, The Bewitching Nook anticipates the claims.
II. Regarding claim 14, The Bewitching Nook teaches a method comprising: providing bergamot and mixing with water and tea to form a solution (bottom of page 2); placing a substrate in the solution (bottom of page 2); removing the substrate from the solution (page 3); and washing and drying the substrate to provide the substrate with a coating (page 4). The Bewitching Nook teaches all the limitations of claim 14; therefore, The Bewitching Nook anticipates the claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
2. Claim(s) 19, 20, 22 and 25 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over The Bewitching Nook in view Dudnik et al. (U.S. PGPUB No. 2009/0035388).
I. Regarding claims 19, 20, 22 and 25, The Bewitching Nook teaches a coating consisting of an essential oil, tea (a polyphenol containing substance), and water (see above), wherein the coating is an antimicrobial coating (see above). The Bewitching Nook fails to teach the coating including a buffer solution and silver or copper.
However, Dudnik teaches including silver nitrate (0054) with dye (0019) and tris(hydroxymethyl)aminomethane (0024) for protecting the silver (0024) for dying and providing antimicrobial properties to a fabric (see Example 2, 0068-0073). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify The Bewitching Nook’s process by including silver nitrate and tris(hydroxymethyl)aminomethane to the Bewitching Nook’s composition to provide additional antimicrobial properties to the coated article.
Allowable Subject Matter
3. Claims 7 and 32 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: The prior art of record fails to teach or suggest a coating consisting of the elements as claimed including a combination of cinnamaldehyde and polyethyleneimine at a mass ratio of approximately 1:1 or a combination of cinnamaldehyde, tannic acid and a buffer solution comprising tris(hydroxymethyl)aminomethane.
Conclusion
Claims 1, 2, 7, 14, 19, 20, 22, 25 and 32 are pending.
Claims 7 and 32 are objected.
Claims 1, 2, 14, 19, 20, 22 and 25 are rejected.
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/ROBERT S WALTERS JR/
September 22, 2026Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1717