DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Status of Claims
Claims 1-22 have been examined in this Non-Final Office Action and are pending.
Claims 1, 11, 13, and 15 have been amended.
Priority
Application 18/040,790 filed 02/06/2023 claims priority to provisional application 63/069,940 filed 08/25/2020 and application PCT/US2021/047418 filed 08/24/2021
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 0 was filed after the mailing date. The submissions are in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statements are being considered by the examiner.
Claim Objections
Claim(s) 15 is objected to because of the following informalities:
A misspelling of “tje”, should be fixed to “the”.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claims 1-22 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to judicial exception (i.e., a law of nature, a natural phenomenon, or an abstract idea) without significantly more. Claims 1-22 are directed to a system, method, or product which are/is one of the statutory categories of invention. (Step 1: YES).
Claims 1, 11, and 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to an abstract idea without significantly more. The claim recites a method and computing device for tracking the delivery chain of manufactured or agricultural objects. For Claims 1, 11 and 15 the limitations of (Claim 1 being representative):
[…]
receive, […], a request from an entity to add, subtract, or alter information of the an object story […] that includes:
a chain of claim elements with a first claim element having: a first statement about a product a link to a second claim element of the chain of claim elements, […] one or more previous claim elements in the chain of claim elements, and a link to a first evidence element that supports the first statement with a first level of evidence;
a chain of evidence elements with the first evidence element and a second evidence element, wherein the first evidence element has a link to the second evidence element and […]one or more previous evidence elements in the chain of evidence elements;
add, subtract, or alter information of the object story […] based on the request, wherein the information is an element of the chain of claim elements or the chain of evidence elements;
wherein each of the chain of claim elements and the chain of evidence elements are stored […];
add, to the object story […], a third claim element to the chain of claim elements with an indication of the addition, subtraction, or alteration of the information of the object story […] based on the request; and
add, to the object story […], a third evidence element to the chain of evidence elements to support the indication with a second level of evidence.
The above limitations are reciting a process of creating or maintaining a registry of information for source and production of manufactured or agricultural objects of the lifecycle of products throughout a supply chain. This includes providing information of different stages of the supply chain. This is a commercial practice/interaction that is the concept of tracking a product, so that an end user of a product can view the history/lifecycle of the product. This is considered to be a commercial practice that is tracking a product from the origin, to custody, to consumption, and to conversion. Product tracking and supply chain management is an integral part of every business that sells or manufactures products. This represents a certain method of organizing human activities. The specification discloses that claims can be made manually. This is an admission that adding information with supported factual information is something known to be done by people manually, and is an admission that tracking a lifecycle of a product is something capable of being performed by people, and that defines a human activity. A person can receive a request to add information to a document with previous information that includes support to back up the information added. Nothing that is claimed as far as the elements that make up the abstract idea cannot be performed by a person. The claimed elements that define the abstract idea collectively define a certain method of organizing human activities abstract idea. Accordingly, Claims 1, 11 and 15 recite an abstract idea. (Step 2A- Prong 1: YES. The claims recite an abstract idea).
This judicial exception is not integrated into a practical application. Claims 1, 11, and 15 recites the additional elements of a memory (Claims 1), data structure (Claims 1, 11, and 15), a network interface (Claims 1), a distributed ledger or blockchain (Claims 1, 11, and 15), cryptographic hash (Claims 1, 11, and 15), remote devices (Claims 1), communication network (Claim 1), processing circuitry (Claim 1), a device (Claim 11), a non-transitory computer-readable storage medium (Claim 11) that implements the identified abstract idea. These additional elements are not described by the applicant and are recited at a high-level of generality (i.e., one or more generic computers performing a generic computer functions) such that it amounts no more than mere instructions to apply the exception using a generic computer components. Alternatively or in addition, the implantation of cryptographic hash, distributed ledger, and blockchain merely confines the use of the abstract idea to a particular technological environment or filed of use. MPEP 2106.04(d)(I) and MPEP 2106.05(A) indicate that merely “generally linking” the abstract idea to a particular technological environment or field of use cannot provide a practical application. Accordingly, even in combination these additional elements do not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application because it does not impose any meaningful limits on practicing the abstract idea. Claims 1, 11, and 15 are directed to an abstract idea. (Step 2A-Prong 2: NO: the additional claimed elements are not integrated into a practical application).
The claims do not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception. As discussed above with respect to integration of the abstract idea into a practical application, the additional elements of a memory (Claims 1), data structure (Claims 1, 11, and 15), a network interface (Claims 1), a distributed ledger or blockchain (Claims 1, 11, and 15), cryptographic hash (Claims 1, 11, and 15), remote devices (Claims 1), communication network (Claim 1), processing circuitry (Claim 1), a device (Claim 11), a non-transitory computer-readable storage medium (Claim 11), to perform the noted steps amounts to no more than mere instructions to apply the exception using a generic computer component. Mere instructions to apply an exception using a generic computer component cannot provide an inventive concept (“significantly more”). Alternatively or in addition, the implantation of cryptography, distributed ledger or blockchain merely confines the use of the abstract idea to a particular technological environment or field of use. MPEP 2106.04(d)(I) and MPEP 2106.05(A) indicate that merely “generally linking” the abstract idea to a particular technological environment or field of use cannot provide an inventive concept (“significantly more”). Further, giving the broadest reasonable interpretation of applicants “data structures” in light of the specification, the claimed element(s) is merely used to store, share and/or update data (based on user requests). (“Object story: information about lifecycle aspects a product”; “Object story data structure: a data structure that includes or incorporates elemental aspects of an object story, the data structure or elemental aspects may be distributed across set of networked, distributed nodes”; “The object story represents the information about a product at each of the steps along the growing or manufacturing process and thereafter. This information constituting an object story is embodied in an object story data structure that may be stored in one or more of a set of networked, distributed computing nodes and data structures. The object story data structure may be constructed in a distributed fashion and may be sharable between the different actors based on their authorized role in the process…. This information may be made available to the end consumer via their computing device in a way that can be tailored to the needs and interests of that consumer”; “The device 3800 may include processors 3803, memory/storage circuitry 3802, a user interface 3803, a network interface 3804, and sensors 3805. The components of the device 3800 may be implemented as integrated circuits (ICs), portions thereof, discrete electronic devices, or other modules, logic, hardware, software, firmware, or a combination thereof”). Hence, the data structure component is merely used in a manner that is well-understood, routine and conventional (storing, updating, managing data) in the field and recited at a high level of generality. The additional elements amount to no more than applying the judicial exception using generic computing components, and linking the use of the judicial exception to a computing environment. Accordingly, even in combination, these additional elements do not provide significantly more. As such claims 1, 11, and 15 are not patent eligible. (Step 2B: NO. The claims do not provide significantly more).
Dependent Claims 2-10, 12-14 and 16-22 are similarly rejected because they either further define/narrow the abstract idea of independent claims 1, 11 and 15 as discussed above. Claim(s) 2 and 16 merely describe(s) wherein the request is to alter the first claim element by supplementing, amending, or appending information within the claim element. Claim(s) 3 and 17 merely describe(s) the first claim element. Claim(s) 4 and 18 merely describe(s) the indication. Claim(s) 5 and 19 merely describe(s) determining permissions associated with the entity and adding, subtracting, or altering information of the object story data structure based on the permissions. Claim(s) 6 merely describes the request being a request to add a component object story data structure that includes a claim element with a statement about a component of the product and a product element to support the stamen abou7t the component with a third level of evidence. Claim(s) 7 and 20 merely describes the request being a request to add a fourth evidence element to the chain of evidence elements, the fourth evidence element to support the first statement with a third level of evidence. Claim(s) 8 and 21 merely describe(s) the request being a request to add information about an actor that performs an operation with respect to the product during a lifecycle of the product. Claim(s) 9 and 22 merely describe(s) the operation. Claim(s) 13 merely describe(s) the level of evidence being an assertion, a self-certification, basic audit, third-party certification or third-party certification with audit.
Claims 3-6, 14, and 17-18 include the additional element of a data structure. The data structure is analyzed in the same manner as the data structure in the independent claim and does not provide a practical application or significantly more for the same reasons above. Therefore, dependent claims 2-10, 12-14 and 16-22 are considered patent ineligible for the reasons given above.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-22 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Choi (US 20170206532 A1), in view of Wentz (US 20200162268 A1).
Regarding Claim 1,
Choi discloses, (Currently amended) A system comprising: memory to store an object story data structure that includes a claim element with an assertion about a product and an evidence element to support veracity of the assertion; (Choi, Abstract, Fig 1).
a network interface to communicate with remote devices over a communication network; and "The end-user account 921 enables the product end-user to manage UID/product 930 themselves over at least one communication network, implemented as an Internet website with a graphical user interface (such as cloud computing). The end-user can control UID/product 940 by using some command 941 and/or setting 942 some function; they can monitor UID/product 960, such as tracking 961 product from transportation and/or verifying 962 product for the product transfer; and also can create some UID/product application 950, such as use UID as an index to retrieve multimedia 951 or content from the predetermined location, and/or provide service 952 or selling product; therefore can even use UID as an IP address for many different application, and connect each product (object), or product to product (machine to machine) to exchange data with each other, such as Internet of Things application" (Choi Par. 0128).
processing circuitry, coupled with the memory and the network interface, the processing circuitry to: "The CPU 16a operates in accordance with program instructions stored in the memory of Flash ROM 18a, and has access to, and is capable of utilizing, the data SRAM 18b. The CPU 16a then retrieves the UID from OTP ROM 14a, and processes the UID as data, thereafter sending it to the LCD Driver 20a to output to the product display and to thus display the UID for verification or for other purpose" (Choi Par. 0088).
receive, via the network interface, "Figure 3, "The system and method of the present invention address and resolve all of the disadvantages of the previously known relevant solutions by advantageously providing integrated or embedded components, for electronic (or other) products, each operable to securely store and selectively provide access to, a unique identification code (“UID”) previously assigned to its corresponding specific product, where the UID of each product is registered with one or more particular UID registration centers over at least one communication network (such as cloud computing), and associated with one or more data records stored in a corresponding database file at the particular UID registration center, the data records being inclusive of information related to the product, the product purchase history, current ownership, etc." (Choi Par. 0047).
a request from an entity to add, subtract, or alter information of the an object story data structure "Further comprises least one registration center operable to store and enable conditional access to, at least one information record linked to each product through its UID, such that the at least one information record may be advantageously accessed and/or managed by at least one authorized inquirer through use of the UID" (Choi Par. 0049).
add, subtract, or alter information of the object story data structure based on the request, "Further comprises least one registration center operable to store and enable conditional access to, at least one information record linked to each product through its UID, such that the at least one information record may be advantageously accessed and/or managed by at least one authorized inquirer through use of the UID" (Choi Par. 0049). "It would furthermore be additionally be desirable to enable a consumer (or another end-user party), a distributor, a store, an after-market seller, or another party having an account at the UID registration center, to add/update/edit certain product information to a particular registered product's UID registration center database file, including, but not limited to, at least one of the following: name/contact information of owner, name/contact information of store, purchase date, return date, service/warranty claims, status (lost, stolen, returned to store or manufacturer, reconditioned, etc.), with each information item being optionally time-stamped" (Choi Par. 0028).
add, to the object story data structure, "Further comprises least one registration center operable to store and enable conditional access to, at least one information record linked to each product through its UID, such that the at least one information record may be advantageously accessed and/or managed by at least one authorized inquirer through use of the UID" (Choi Par. 0049). "It would furthermore be additionally be desirable to enable a consumer (or another end-user party), a distributor, a store, an after-market seller, or another party having an account at the UID registration center, to add/update/edit certain product information to a particular registered product's UID registration center database file, including, but not limited to, at least one of the following: name/contact information of owner, name/contact information of store, purchase date, return date, service/warranty claims, status (lost, stolen, returned to store or manufacturer, reconditioned, etc.), with each information item being optionally time-stamped" (Choi Par. 0028).
with an indication of the addition, subtraction, or alteration of the information of the object story data structure based on the request; and "UID (unique identification code) is associated with a product, to enable over at least one communication network (such as cloud computing), to access, verify, edit, transfer, transmit, and/or otherwise manage at least one information item, including ownership right related to the product transfer between each party, etc." (Choi Abstract, Par. 0047 & 0056).
add, to the object story data structure, "Further comprises least one registration center operable to store and enable conditional access to, at least one information record linked to each product through its UID, such that the at least one information record may be advantageously accessed and/or managed by at least one authorized inquirer through use of the UID" (Choi Par. 0049). "It would furthermore be additionally be desirable to enable a consumer (or another end-user party), a distributor, a store, an after-market seller, or another party having an account at the UID registration center, to add/update/edit certain product information to a particular registered product's UID registration center database file, including, but not limited to, at least one of the following: name/contact information of owner, name/contact information of store, purchase date, return date, service/warranty claims, status (lost, stolen, returned to store or manufacturer, reconditioned, etc.), with each information item being optionally time-stamped" (Choi Par. 0028).
Choi discloses all of the above limitations, Choi does not distinctly disclose the following limitations, but Wentz however as shown discloses,
wherein each of the chain of claim elements and the chain of evidence elements are stored in a distributed ledger or blockchain; "In an embodiment, collection of textual data states that the owner of a certain transferable item represented in the at least a digitally signed assertion …. at least a digitally signed assertion 200 may describe a transfer of virtual currency, such as crypto currency as described below. The virtual currency may be a digital currency. Item of value may be a transfer of trust, for instance represented by a statement vouching for the identity or trustworthiness of the first entity. (Wentz Par. 0061). "In some embodiments, ledger is cryptographically secured; in one embodiment, a ledger is cryptographically secured where each link in the chain contains encrypted or hashed information that makes it practically infeasible to alter the ledger without betraying that alteration has taken place, for instance by requiring that an administrator or other party sign new additions to the chain with a digital signature" (Wentz Par. 0064). "second digitally signed assertion 200 may be entered in the first temporally sequential listing 204. Alternatively or additionally, second digitally signed assertion 200 may be entered in a second temporally sequential listing 204, such as another block chain or immutable ledger; reference to such an entry may be performed using a side chain, hash tree, or the like. Where evaluating device 104 produces a first secure proof as described in further detail below, dataset may include a reference to a second secure proof…. References may also enable additional parties, such as one or more additional cryptographic evaluators, to evaluate a confidence level in evaluating device 104 and/or first digitally signed assertion 200 by reference to additional data; for instance, second secure proof may be signed by a evaluating device 104 associated with a high degree of confidence, as a voucher for the authenticity of the data contained therein, or may include a secure timestamp, element of attested memory, or output an/or state of an attested computation" (Wentz Par. 0088). "A sequence of digitally signed assertions 200 may be created and entered using any processes, modules, and/or components as described herein; digitally signed assertions 200 in the sequence may refer to previously entered digitally signed assertions 200" (Wentz Par. 0099).
a chain of claim elements with a first claim element having: a first statement about a product; a link to a second claim element of the chain of claim elements, and "In one embodiment, at least a digitally signed assertion 200 is a collection of textual data signed a secure proof … Collection of textual data may contain any textual data, including without limitation American Standard Code for Information Interchange (ASCII), Unicode, or similar computer-encoded textual data, any alphanumeric data, punctuation, diacritical mark, or any character or other marking used in any writing system to convey information, in any form, … a digitally signed assertion 200 may describe a transfer of virtual currency, such as crypto currency as described below. The virtual currency may be a digital currency. Item of value may be a transfer of trust, for instance represented by a statement vouching for the identity or trustworthiness of the first entity. Item of value may be an interest in a fungible negotiable financial instrument representing ownership in a public or private corporation, a creditor relationship with a governmental body or a corporation, rights to ownership represented by an option, derivative financial instrument, commodity, debt-backed security such as a bond or debenture or other security as described in further detail below. At least a digitally signed assertion 200 may describe the transfer of a physical good; for instance, at least a digitally signed assertion 200 may describe the sale of a product" (Wentz Par. 0061). "an address may include a textual datum identifying the recipient of virtual currency or another item of value in at least a digitally signed assertion 200" (Wentz Par. 0062).
a cryptographic hash of one or more previous claim elements in the chain of claim elements, and Fig 2, “In some embodiments, ledger is cryptographically secured; in one embodiment, a ledger is cryptographically secured where each link in the chain contains encrypted or hashed information that makes it practically infeasible to alter the ledger without betraying that alteration has taken place, for instance by requiring that an administrator or other party sign new additions to the chain with a digital signature. Temporally sequential listing 204 may be incorporated in, stored in, or incorporate, any suitable data structure, including without limitation any database, datastore, file structure, distributed hash table, or the like. In some embodiments, the timestamp of an entry is cryptographically secured and validated via trusted time, either directly on the chain or indirectly by utilizing a separate chain’, 965" (Wentz Par. 0064). “Each new sub-listing 208 may be required to contain a cryptographic hash describing the previous sub-listing 208" (Wentz Par. 0065).
a link to a first evidence element that supports the first statement with a first level of evidence; and "In one embodiment, at least a digitally signed assertion 200 is a collection of textual data signed a secure proof as described in further detail below; secure proof may include, without limitation, a digital signature as described above. … at least a digitally signed assertion 200 may describe a transfer of virtual currency, such as crypto currency as described below. The virtual currency may be a digital currency. Item of value may be a transfer of trust, for instance represented by a statement vouching for the identity or trustworthiness of the first entity. Item of value may be an interest in a fungible negotiable financial instrument representing ownership in a public or private corporation, a creditor relationship with a governmental body or a corporation, rights to ownership represented by an option, derivative financial instrument, commodity, debt-backed security such as a bond or debenture or other security as described in further detail below. At least a digitally signed assertion 200 may describe the transfer of a physical good; for instance, at least a digitally signed assertion 200 may describe the sale of a product" (Wentz Par. 0061). "In some embodiments, ledger is cryptographically secured; in one embodiment, a ledger is cryptographically secured where each link in the chain contains encrypted or hashed information that makes it practically infeasible to alter the ledger without betraying that alteration has taken place, for instance by requiring that an administrator or other party sign new additions to the chain with a digital signature" (Wentz Par. 0064). "First digitally signed assertion may include an attestation conferring proof of endorsement by a third party conferring a confidence level, level of access, authorization token, which may be any authorization token" (Wentz Par. 0106).
a chain of evidence elements with the first evidence element and a second evidence element, wherein, the first evidence element has a link to the second evidence element, and a cryptographic hash of one or more previous evidence elements in the chain of evidence elements; "In one embodiment, at least a digitally signed assertion 200 is a collection of textual data signed a secure proof as described in further detail below; secure proof may include, without limitation, a digital signature as described above. … at least a digitally signed assertion 200 may describe a transfer of virtual currency, such as crypto currency as described below. The virtual currency may be a digital currency. Item of value may be a transfer of trust, for instance represented by a statement vouching for the identity or trustworthiness of the first entity. Item of value may be an interest in a fungible negotiable financial instrument representing ownership in a public or private corporation, a creditor relationship with a governmental body or a corporation, rights to ownership represented by an option, derivative financial instrument, commodity, debt-backed security such as a bond or debenture or other security as described in further detail below. At least a digitally signed assertion 200 may describe the transfer of a physical good; for instance, at least a digitally signed assertion 200 may describe the sale of a product" (Wentz Par. 0061). "In some embodiments, ledger is cryptographically secured; in one embodiment, a ledger is cryptographically secured where each link in the chain contains encrypted or hashed information that makes it practically infeasible to alter the ledger without betraying that alteration has taken place, for instance by requiring that an administrator or other party sign new additions to the chain with a digital signature" (Wentz Par. 0064). "second digitally signed assertion 200 may be entered in the first temporally sequential listing 204. Alternatively or additionally, second digitally signed assertion 200 may be entered in a second temporally sequential listing 204, such as another block chain or immutable ledger; reference to such an entry may be performed using a side chain, hash tree, or the like. Where evaluating device 104 produces a first secure proof as described in further detail below, dataset may include a reference to a second secure proof. Similarly, receiving first dataset may include receiving a reference to a second dataset. Such references to second digitally signed assertion 200, second secure proof, and/or second dataset may perform various functions, including linking first digitally signed assertion 200 to one or more past digitally signed assertions 200, so as to permit evolution of terms in a smart contract, exchanges of crypto-currency, or the like. References may also enable additional parties, such as one or more additional cryptographic evaluators, to evaluate a confidence level in evaluating device 104 and/or first digitally signed assertion 200 by reference to additional data" (Wentz Par. 0088). "First digitally signed assertion may include an attestation conferring proof of endorsement by a third party conferring a confidence level, level of access, authorization token, which may be any authorization token" (Wentz Par. 0106).
wherein the information is an element of the chain of claim elements or the chain of evidence elements; and ""In one embodiment, at least a digitally signed assertion 200 is a collection of textual data signed a secure proof as described in further detail below; secure proof may include, without limitation, a digital signature as described above. … at least a digitally signed assertion 200 may describe a transfer of virtual currency, such as crypto currency as described below. The virtual currency may be a digital currency. Item of value may be a transfer of trust, for instance represented by a statement vouching for the identity or trustworthiness of the first entity. Item of value may be an interest in a fungible negotiable financial instrument representing ownership in a public or private corporation, a creditor relationship with a governmental body or a corporation, rights to ownership represented by an option, derivative financial instrument, commodity, debt-backed security such as a bond or debenture or other security as described in further detail below. At least a digitally signed assertion 200 may describe the transfer of a physical good; for instance, at least a digitally signed assertion 200 may describe the sale of a product" (Wentz Par. 0061). "In some embodiments, ledger is cryptographically secured; in one embodiment, a ledger is cryptographically secured where each link in the chain contains encrypted or hashed information that makes it practically infeasible to alter the ledger without betraying that alteration has taken place, for instance by requiring that an administrator or other party sign new additions to the chain with a digital signature" (Wentz Par. 0064). "second digitally signed assertion 200 may be entered in the first temporally sequential listing 204. Alternatively or additionally, second digitally signed assertion 200 may be entered in a second temporally sequential listing 204, such as another block chain or immutable ledger; reference to such an entry may be performed using a side chain, hash tree, or the like. Where evaluating device 104 produces a first secure proof as described in further detail below, dataset may include a reference to a second secure proof. Similarly, receiving first dataset may include receiving a reference to a second dataset. Such references to second digitally signed assertion 200, second secure proof, and/or second dataset may perform various functions, including linking first digitally signed assertion 200 to one or more past digitally signed assertions 200, so as to permit evolution of terms in a smart contract, exchanges of crypto-currency, or the like. References may also enable additional parties, such as one or more additional cryptographic evaluators, to evaluate a confidence level in evaluating device 104 and/or first digitally signed assertion 200 by reference to additional data" (Wentz Par. 0088). "First digitally signed assertion may include an attestation conferring proof of endorsement by a third party conferring a confidence level, level of access, authorization token, which may be any authorization token" (Wentz Par. 0106).
a third claim element to the chain of claim elements "Authorization token may be implemented as and/or include a security assertion markup language (SAML) token. Authorization token may be stored as and/or include information stored as and/or according to an attribute-based credential (ABC) and/or a plurality thereof, including without limitation privacy-preserving ABC. Tokens, digitally signed assertions, chains of attestation, and/or any other authentication and/or authorization decisions and/or other data and/or data structures evaluated and/or created" (Wentz Par. 0127).
a third evidence element to the chain of evidence elements to support the indication with a second level of evidence. "FIG. 3, evaluating device 104 and/or remote device may identify a currently active sub-listing 208 of the first temporally sequential listing 204" (Wentz Par. 0098). "For instance, and without limitation, a sequence of digitally signed assertions 200 may be created and entered using any processes, modules, and/or components as described herein; digitally signed assertions 200 in the sequence may refer to previously entered digitally signed assertions 200 as disclosed above" (Wentz Par. 0099).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the claimed invention to have combined the method of registering, and tracking products of Choi with a distributed ledger or blockchain, a chain of claim elements with a first claim element having: a first statement about a product a link to a second claim element of the chain of claim elements, a cryptographic hash of one or more previous claim elements in the chain of claim elements, a chain of evidence elements with a first evidence element to support the first statement about the product with a first level of evidence, the first evidence element having a link to a second evidence element of the chain of evidence elements, and a cryptographic hash of one or more previous evidence elements in the chain of evidence elements, wherein the information is an element of the chain of claim elements or the chain of evidence elements, a third claim element to the chain of claim elements, and a third evidence element to the chain of evidence elements to support the indication with a second level of evidence of Wentz to perform authentication by including identifying evaluators so that authentication may occur more rapidly, as well as identifying evaluators that may be trusted according to one or more protocols for determining levels of trust (Wentz).
Regarding Claim 11,
Choi discloses, (Currently amended) One or more non-transitory, computer-readable media having instructions that, when executed, cause a device to: "The CPU 16a operates in accordance with program instructions stored in the memory of Flash ROM 18a, and has access to, and is capable of utilizing, the data SRAM 18b" (Choi Par. 0088).
receive a selection corresponding to a product; "Selectively utilized to automatically transmit and enter, at least one product information item associated with each particular product's UID" (Choi Par. 0063).
identify a story manager that manages an object story data structure “Store and enable conditional access to, at least one information record linked (data structure) to each product through its UID, such that the at least one information record may be advantageously accessed and/or managed by at least one authorized inquirer through use of the UID" (Choi Par. 0049). “UID comprises at least one of: …. digital signature, digital identity, …. identifier, redirection identifier, owner ID, user ID" (Choi Claim 8).
transmit, based on the selection, "Selectively utilized to automatically transmit and enter, at least one product information item associated with each particular product's UID" (Choi Par. 0063).
Choi discloses all of the above limitations, Choi does not distinctly disclose the following limitations, but Wentz however as shown discloses,
a chain of claim elements with a first claim element having: a first statement about a product; a link to a second claim element of the chain of claim elements, and "In one embodiment, at least a digitally signed assertion 200 is a collection of textual data signed a secure proof … Collection of textual data may contain any textual data, including without limitation American Standard Code for Information Interchange (ASCII), Unicode, or similar computer-encoded textual data, any alphanumeric data, punctuation, diacritical mark, or any character or other marking used in any writing system to convey information, in any form, … a digitally signed assertion 200 may describe a transfer of virtual currency, such as crypto currency as described below. The virtual currency may be a digital currency. Item of value may be a transfer of trust, for instance represented by a statement vouching for the identity or trustworthiness of the first entity. Item of value may be an interest in a fungible negotiable financial instrument representing ownership in a public or private corporation, a creditor relationship with a governmental body or a corporation, rights to ownership represented by an option, derivative financial instrument, commodity, debt-backed security such as a bond or debenture or other security as described in further detail below. At least a digitally signed assertion 200 may describe the transfer of a physical good; for instance, at least a digitally signed assertion 200 may describe the sale of a product" (Wentz Par. 0061). "an address may include a textual datum identifying the recipient of virtual currency or another item of value in at least a digitally signed assertion 200" (Wentz Par. 0062).
a cryptographic hash of one or more previous claim elements in the chain of claim elements; and Fig 2, “In some embodiments, ledger is cryptographically secured; in one embodiment, a ledger is cryptographically secured where each link in the chain contains encrypted or hashed information that makes it practically infeasible to alter the ledger without betraying that alteration has taken place, for instance by requiring that an administrator or other party sign new additions to the chain with a digital signature. Temporally sequential listing 204 may be incorporated in, stored in, or incorporate, any suitable data structure, including without limitation any database, datastore, file structure, distributed hash table, or the like. In some embodiments, the timestamp of an entry is cryptographically secured and validated via trusted time, either directly on the chain or indirectly by utilizing a separate chain’, 965" (Wentz Par. 0064). “Each new sub-listing 208 may be required to contain a cryptographic hash describing the previous sub-listing 208" (Wentz Par. 0065).
a link to a first evidence element that supports the first statement with a first level of evidence; and "In one embodiment, at least a digitally signed assertion 200 is a collection of textual data signed a secure proof as described in further detail below; secure proof may include, without limitation, a digital signature as described above. … at least a digitally signed assertion 200 may describe a transfer of virtual currency, such as crypto currency as described below. The virtual currency may be a digital currency. Item of value may be a transfer of trust, for instance represented by a statement vouching for the identity or trustworthiness of the first entity. Item of value may be an interest in a fungible negotiable financial instrument representing ownership in a public or private corporation, a creditor relationship with a governmental body or a corporation, rights to ownership represented by an option, derivative financial instrument, commodity, debt-backed security such as a bond or debenture or other security as described in further detail below. At least a digitally signed assertion 200 may describe the transfer of a physical good; for instance, at least a digitally signed assertion 200 may describe the sale of a product" (Wentz Par. 0061). "In some embodiments, ledger is cryptographically secured; in one embodiment, a ledger is cryptographically secured where each link in the chain contains encrypted or hashed information that makes it practically infeasible to alter the ledger without betraying that alteration has taken place, for instance by requiring that an administrator or other party sign new additions to the chain with a digital signature" (Wentz Par. 0064). "First digitally signed assertion may include an attestation conferring proof of endorsement by a third party conferring a confidence level, level of access, authorization token, which may be any authorization token" (Wentz Par. 0106).
a chain of evidence elements with the first evidence element and a second element, wherein, the first evidence element has a link to the second evidence element, and a cryptographic hash of one or more previous evidence elements in the chain of evidence elements; and "In one embodiment, at least a digitally signed assertion 200 is a collection of textual data signed a secure proof as described in further detail below; secure proof may include, without limitation, a digital signature as described above. … at least a digitally signed assertion 200 may describe a transfer of virtual currency, such as crypto currency as described below. The virtual currency may be a digital currency. Item of value may be a transfer of trust, for instance represented by a statement vouching for the identity or trustworthiness of the first entity. Item of value may be an interest in a fungible negotiable financial instrument representing ownership in a public or private corporation, a creditor relationship with a governmental body or a corporation, rights to ownership represented by an option, derivative financial instrument, commodity, debt-backed security such as a bond or debenture or other security as described in further detail below. At least a digitally signed assertion 200 may describe the transfer of a physical good; for instance, at least a digitally signed assertion 200 may describe the sale of a product" (Wentz Par. 0061). "In some embodiments, ledger is cryptographically secured; in one embodiment, a ledger is cryptographically secured where each link in the chain contains encrypted or hashed information that makes it practically infeasible to alter the ledger without betraying that alteration has taken place, for instance by requiring that an administrator or other party sign new additions to the chain with a digital signature" (Wentz Par. 0064). "second digitally signed assertion 200 may be entered in the first temporally sequential listing 204. Alternatively or additionally, second digitally signed assertion 200 may be entered in a second temporally sequential listing 204, such as another block chain or immutable ledger; reference to such an entry may be performed using a side chain, hash tree, or the like. Where evaluating device 104 produces a first secure proof as described in further detail below, dataset may include a reference to a second secure proof. Similarly, receiving first dataset may include receiving a reference to a second dataset. Such references to second digitally signed assertion 200, second secure proof, and/or second dataset may perform various functions, including linking first digitally signed assertion 200 to one or more past digitally signed assertions 200, so as to permit evolution of terms in a smart contract, exchanges of crypto-currency, or the like. References may also enable additional parties, such as one or more additional cryptographic evaluators, to evaluate a confidence level in evaluating device 104 and/or first digitally signed assertion 200 by reference to additional data" (Wentz Par. 0088). "First digitally signed assertion may include an attestation conferring proof of endorsement by a third party conferring a confidence level, level of access, authorization token, which may be any authorization token" (Wentz Par. 0106).
wherein each of the chain of claim elements and the chain of evidence elements are stored in a distributed ledger or blockchain; (Fig 1, Fig 2, "In an embodiment, collection of textual data states that the owner of a certain transferable item represented in the at least a digitally signed assertion …. at least a digitally signed assertion 200 may describe a transfer of virtual currency, such as crypto currency as described below. The virtual currency may be a digital currency. Item of value may be a transfer of trust, for instance represented by a statement vouching for the identity or trustworthiness of the first entity. (Wentz Par. 0061). "In some embodiments, ledger is cryptographically secured; in one embodiment, a ledger is cryptographically secured where each link in the chain contains encrypted or hashed information that makes it practically infeasible to alter the ledger without betraying that alteration has taken place, for instance by requiring that an administrator or other party sign new additions to the chain with a digital signature" (Wentz Par. 0064). "second digitally signed assertion 200 may be entered in the first temporally sequential listing 204. Alternatively or additionally, second digitally signed assertion 200 may be entered in a second temporally sequential listing 204, such as another block chain or immutable ledger; reference to such an entry may be performed using a side chain, hash tree, or the like. Where evaluating device 104 produces a first secure proof as described in further detail below, dataset may include a reference to a second secure proof…. References may also enable additional parties, such as one or more additional cryptographic evaluators, to evaluate a confidence level in evaluating device 104 and/or first digitally signed assertion 200 by reference to additional data; for instance, second secure proof may be signed by a evaluating device 104 associated with a high degree of confidence, as a voucher for the authenticity of the data contained therein, or may include a secure timestamp, element of attested memory, or output an/or state of an attested computation" (Wentz Par. 0088). "A sequence of digitally signed assertions 200 may be created and entered using any processes, modules, and/or components as described herein; digitally signed assertions 200 in the sequence may refer to previously entered digitally signed assertions 200" (Wentz Par. 0099).
a request to the story manager related to adding, subtracting, or altering information of the object story data structure a third evidence element to the chain of evidence elements, wherein the third evidence element is to support the first statement about the product with a third level of evidence. "FIG. 3, evaluating device 104 and/or remote device may identify a currently active sub-listing 208 of the first temporally sequential listing 204" (Wentz Par. 0098). "For instance, and without limitation, a sequence of digitally signed assertions 200 may be created and entered using any processes, modules, and/or components as described herein; digitally signed assertions 200 in the sequence may refer to previously entered digitally signed assertions 200 as disclosed above" (Wentz Par. 0099).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the claimed invention to have combined the method of registering, and tracking products of Choi with a distributed ledger or blockchain, a chain of claim elements with a first claim element having: a first statement about a product a link to a second claim element of the chain of claim elements, a cryptographic hash of one or more previous claim elements in the chain of claim elements, a chain of evidence elements with a first evidence element to support the first statement about the product with a first level of evidence, the first evidence element having a link to a second evidence element of the chain of evidence elements, and a cryptographic hash of one or more previous evidence elements in the chain of evidence elements, wherein the information is an element of the chain of claim elements or the chain of evidence elements, a third claim element to the chain of claim elements, and a third evidence element to the chain of evidence elements to support the indication with a second level of evidence of Wentz to perform authentication by including identifying evaluators so that authentication may occur more rapidly, as well as identifying evaluators that may be trusted according to one or more protocols for determining levels of trust (Wentz).
Regarding Claim 15,
Choi discloses, (Currently amended) A method comprising: an object story data structure that includes: "To store and enable conditional access to, at least one information record linked to each product through its UID, such that the at least one information record may be advantageously accessed and/or managed by at least one authorized inquirer through use of the UID" (Choi Par. 0049).
receiving a request from an entity to add, subtract, or alter information of the object story data structure; "To store and enable conditional access to, at least one information record linked to each product through its UID, such that the at least one information record may be advantageously accessed and/or managed by at least one authorized inquirer through use of the UID" (Choi Par. 0049).
adding, subtracting, or altering information of the object story data structure based on the request, "Each account comprises at least one product data file with UID, in which UID is associated with a product, to enable over at least one communication network (such as cloud computing), to access, verify, edit, transfer, transmit, and/or otherwise manage at least one information item" (Abstract). "Store and enable conditional access to, at least one information record linked (data structure) to each product through its UID, such that the at least one information record may be advantageously accessed and/or managed by at least one authorized inquirer through use of the UID" (Choi Par. 0049).
adding, to the object story data structure, an indication of the addition, subtraction, or alteration of the information of the object story data structure based on the request; and "Further comprises least one registration center operable to store and enable conditional access to, at least one information record linked to each product through its UID, such that the at least one information record may be advantageously accessed and/or managed by at least one authorized inquirer through use of the UID" (Choi Par. 0049). "It would furthermore be additionally be desirable to enable a consumer (or another end-user party), a distributor, a store, an after-market seller, or another party having an account at the UID registration center, to add/update/edit certain product information to a particular registered product's UID registration center database file, including, but not limited to, at least one of the following: name/contact information of owner, name/contact information of store, purchase date, return date, service/warranty claims, status (lost, stolen, returned to store or manufacturer, reconditioned, etc.), with each information item being optionally time-stamped" (Choi Par. 0028).
adding, to the object story data structure, "Further comprises least one registration center operable to store and enable conditional access to, at least one information record linked to each product through its UID, such that the at least one information record may be advantageously accessed and/or managed by at least one authorized inquirer through use of the UID" (Choi Par. 0049). "It would furthermore be additionally be desirable to enable a consumer (or another end-user party), a distributor, a store, an after-market seller, or another party having an account at the UID registration center, to add/update/edit certain product information to a particular registered product's UID registration center database file, including, but not limited to, at least one of the following: name/contact information of owner, name/contact information of store, purchase date, return date, service/warranty claims, status (lost, stolen, returned to store or manufacturer, reconditioned, etc.), with each information item being optionally time-stamped" (Choi Par. 0028).
Choi discloses all of the above limitations, Choi does not distinctly disclose the following limitations, but Wentz however as shown discloses,
a chain of claim elements with a first claim element having: a first statement about a product; a link to a second claim element of the chain of claim elements, and "In one embodiment, at least a digitally signed assertion 200 is a collection of textual data signed a secure proof … Collection of textual data may contain any textual data, including without limitation American Standard Code for Information Interchange (ASCII), Unicode, or similar computer-encoded textual data, any alphanumeric data, punctuation, diacritical mark, or any character or other marking used in any writing system to convey information, in any form, … a digitally signed assertion 200 may describe a transfer of virtual currency, such as crypto currency as described below. The virtual currency may be a digital currency. Item of value may be a transfer of trust, for instance represented by a statement vouching for the identity or trustworthiness of the first entity. Item of value may be an interest in a fungible negotiable financial instrument representing ownership in a public or private corporation, a creditor relationship with a governmental body or a corporation, rights to ownership represented by an option, derivative financial instrument, commodity, debt-backed security such as a bond or debenture or other security as described in further detail below. At least a digitally signed assertion 200 may describe the transfer of a physical good; for instance, at least a digitally signed assertion 200 may describe the sale of a product" (Wentz Par. 0061). "an address may include a textual datum identifying the recipient of virtual currency or another item of value in at least a digitally signed assertion 200" (Wentz Par. 0062).
a cryptographic hash of one or more previous claim elements in the chain of claim elements; and Fig 2, “In some embodiments, ledger is cryptographically secured; in one embodiment, a ledger is cryptographically secured where each link in the chain contains encrypted or hashed information that makes it practically infeasible to alter the ledger without betraying that alteration has taken place, for instance by requiring that an administrator or other party sign new additions to the chain with a digital signature. Temporally sequential listing 204 may be incorporated in, stored in, or incorporate, any suitable data structure, including without limitation any database, datastore, file structure, distributed hash table, or the like. In some embodiments, the timestamp of an entry is cryptographically secured and validated via trusted time, either directly on the chain or indirectly by utilizing a separate chain’, 965" (Wentz Par. 0064). “Each new sub-listing 208 may be required to contain a cryptographic hash describing the previous sub-listing 208" (Wentz Par. 0065).
a link to a first evidence element that supports the first statement with a first level of evidence; and "In one embodiment, at least a digitally signed assertion 200 is a collection of textual data signed a secure proof as described in further detail below; secure proof may include, without limitation, a digital signature as described above. … at least a digitally signed assertion 200 may describe a transfer of virtual currency, such as crypto currency as described below. The virtual currency may be a digital currency. Item of value may be a transfer of trust, for instance represented by a statement vouching for the identity or trustworthiness of the first entity. Item of value may be an interest in a fungible negotiable financial instrument representing ownership in a public or private corporation, a creditor relationship with a governmental body or a corporation, rights to ownership represented by an option, derivative financial instrument, commodity, debt-backed security such as a bond or debenture or other security as described in further detail below. At least a digitally signed assertion 200 may describe the transfer of a physical good; for instance, at least a digitally signed assertion 200 may describe the sale of a product" (Wentz Par. 0061). "In some embodiments, ledger is cryptographically secured; in one embodiment, a ledger is cryptographically secured where each link in the chain contains encrypted or hashed information that makes it practically infeasible to alter the ledger without betraying that alteration has taken place, for instance by requiring that an administrator or other party sign new additions to the chain with a digital signature" (Wentz Par. 0064). "First digitally signed assertion may include an attestation conferring proof of endorsement by a third party conferring a confidence level, level of access, authorization token, which may be any authorization token" (Wentz Par. 0106).
a chain of evidence elements with the first evidence element and a second evidence element, wherein, the first evidence element has a link to the second evidence element, and a cryptographic hash of one or more previous evidence elements in the chain of evidence elements "In one embodiment, at least a digitally signed assertion 200 is a collection of textual data signed a secure proof as described in further detail below; secure proof may include, without limitation, a digital signature as described above. … at least a digitally signed assertion 200 may describe a transfer of virtual currency, such as crypto currency as described below. The virtual currency may be a digital currency. Item of value may be a transfer of trust, for instance represented by a statement vouching for the identity or trustworthiness of the first entity. Item of value may be an interest in a fungible negotiable financial instrument representing ownership in a public or private corporation, a creditor relationship with a governmental body or a corporation, rights to ownership represented by an option, derivative financial instrument, commodity, debt-backed security such as a bond or debenture or other security as described in further detail below. At least a digitally signed assertion 200 may describe the transfer of a physical good; for instance, at least a digitally signed assertion 200 may describe the sale of a product" (Wentz Par. 0061). "In some embodiments, ledger is cryptographically secured; in one embodiment, a ledger is cryptographically secured where each link in the chain contains encrypted or hashed information that makes it practically infeasible to alter the ledger without betraying that alteration has taken place, for instance by requiring that an administrator or other party sign new additions to the chain with a digital signature" (Wentz Par. 0064). "second digitally signed assertion 200 may be entered in the first temporally sequential listing 204. Alternatively or additionally, second digitally signed assertion 200 may be entered in a second temporally sequential listing 204, such as another block chain or immutable ledger; reference to such an entry may be performed using a side chain, hash tree, or the like. Where evaluating device 104 produces a first secure proof as described in further detail below, dataset may include a reference to a second secure proof. Similarly, receiving first dataset may include receiving a reference to a second dataset. Such references to second digitally signed assertion 200, second secure proof, and/or second dataset may perform various functions, including linking first digitally signed assertion 200 to one or more past digitally signed assertions 200, so as to permit evolution of terms in a smart contract, exchanges of crypto-currency, or the like. References may also enable additional parties, such as one or more additional cryptographic evaluators, to evaluate a confidence level in evaluating device 104 and/or first digitally signed assertion 200 by reference to additional data" (Wentz Par. 0088). "First digitally signed assertion may include an attestation conferring proof of endorsement by a third party conferring a confidence level, level of access, authorization token, which may be any authorization token" (Wentz Par. 0106).
wherein each of the chain of claim elements and the chain of evidence elements are stored in a distributed ledger or blockchain; "In an embodiment, collection of textual data states that the owner of a certain transferable item represented in the at least a digitally signed assertion …. at least a digitally signed assertion 200 may describe a transfer of virtual currency, such as crypto currency as described below. The virtual currency may be a digital currency. Item of value may be a transfer of trust, for instance represented by a statement vouching for the identity or trustworthiness of the first entity. (Wentz Par. 0061). "In some embodiments, ledger is cryptographically secured; in one embodiment, a ledger is cryptographically secured where each link in the chain contains encrypted or hashed information that makes it practically infeasible to alter the ledger without betraying that alteration has taken place, for instance by requiring that an administrator or other party sign new additions to the chain with a digital signature" (Wentz Par. 0064). "second digitally signed assertion 200 may be entered in the first temporally sequential listing 204. Alternatively or additionally, second digitally signed assertion 200 may be entered in a second temporally sequential listing 204, such as another block chain or immutable ledger; reference to such an entry may be performed using a side chain, hash tree, or the like. Where evaluating device 104 produces a first secure proof as described in further detail below, dataset may include a reference to a second secure proof…. References may also enable additional parties, such as one or more additional cryptographic evaluators, to evaluate a confidence level in evaluating device 104 and/or first digitally signed assertion 200 by reference to additional data; for instance, second secure proof may be signed by a evaluating device 104 associated with a high degree of confidence, as a voucher for the authenticity of the data contained therein, or may include a secure timestamp, element of attested memory, or output an/or state of an attested computation" (Wentz Par. 0088). "A sequence of digitally signed assertions 200 may be created and entered using any processes, modules, and/or components as described herein; digitally signed assertions 200 in the sequence may refer to previously entered digitally signed assertions 200" (Wentz Par. 0099).
wherein the information is an element of the chain of claim elements or the chain of evidence elements; and "In one embodiment, at least a digitally signed assertion 200 is a collection of textual data signed a secure proof as described in further detail below; secure proof may include, without limitation, a digital signature as described above. … at least a digitally signed assertion 200 may describe a transfer of virtual currency, such as crypto currency as described below. The virtual currency may be a digital currency. Item of value may be a transfer of trust, for instance represented by a statement vouching for the identity or trustworthiness of the first entity. Item of value may be an interest in a fungible negotiable financial instrument representing ownership in a public or private corporation, a creditor relationship with a governmental body or a corporation, rights to ownership represented by an option, derivative financial instrument, commodity, debt-backed security such as a bond or debenture or other security as described in further detail below. At least a digitally signed assertion 200 may describe the transfer of a physical good; for instance, at least a digitally signed assertion 200 may describe the sale of a product" (Wentz Par. 0061). "In some embodiments, ledger is cryptographically secured; in one embodiment, a ledger is cryptographically secured where each link in the chain contains encrypted or hashed information that makes it practically infeasible to alter the ledger without betraying that alteration has taken place, for instance by requiring that an administrator or other party sign new additions to the chain with a digital signature" (Wentz Par. 0064). "second digitally signed assertion 200 may be entered in the first temporally sequential listing 204. Alternatively or additionally, second digitally signed assertion 200 may be entered in a second temporally sequential listing 204, such as another block chain or immutable ledger; reference to such an entry may be performed using a side chain, hash tree, or the like. Where evaluating device 104 produces a first secure proof as described in further detail below, dataset may include a reference to a second secure proof. Similarly, receiving first dataset may include receiving a reference to a second dataset. Such references to second digitally signed assertion 200, second secure proof, and/or second dataset may perform various functions, including linking first digitally signed assertion 200 to one or more past digitally signed assertions 200, so as to permit evolution of terms in a smart contract, exchanges of crypto-currency, or the like. References may also enable additional parties, such as one or more additional cryptographic evaluators, to evaluate a confidence level in evaluating device 104 and/or first digitally signed assertion 200 by reference to additional data" (Wentz Par. 0088). "First digitally signed assertion may include an attestation conferring proof of endorsement by a third party conferring a confidence level, level of access, authorization token, which may be any authorization token" (Wentz Par. 0106).
a third claim element to the chain of claim elements "Authorization token may be implemented as and/or include a security assertion markup language (SAML) token. Authorization token may be stored as and/or include information stored as and/or according to an attribute-based credential (ABC) and/or a plurality thereof, including without limitation privacy-preserving ABC. Tokens, digitally signed assertions, chains of attestation, and/or any other authentication and/or authorization decisions and/or other data and/or data structures evaluated and/or created" (Wentz Par. 0127).
a third evidence element to the chain of evidence elements to support the indication with a second level of evidence. "FIG. 3, evaluating device 104 and/or remote device may identify a currently active sub-listing 208 of the first temporally sequential listing 204" (Wentz Par. 0098). "For instance, and without limitation, a sequence of digitally signed assertions 200 may be created and entered using any processes, modules, and/or components as described herein; digitally signed assertions 200 in the sequence may refer to previously entered digitally signed assertions 200 as disclosed above" (Wentz Par. 0099).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the claimed invention to have combined the method of registering, and tracking products of Choi with a distributed ledger or blockchain, a chain of claim elements with a first claim element having: a first statement about a product a link to a second claim element of the chain of claim elements, a cryptographic hash of one or more previous claim elements in the chain of claim elements, a chain of evidence elements with a first evidence element to support the first statement about the product with a first level of evidence, the first evidence element having a link to a second evidence element of the chain of evidence elements, and a cryptographic hash of one or more previous evidence elements in the chain of evidence elements, wherein the information is an element of the chain of claim elements or the chain of evidence elements, a third claim element to the chain of claim elements, and a third evidence element to the chain of evidence elements to support the indication with a second level of evidence of Wentz to perform authentication by including identifying evaluators so that authentication may occur more rapidly, as well as identifying evaluators that may be trusted according to one or more protocols for determining levels of trust (Wentz).
Regarding Claim 2, and Claim 16,
The combination of Choi and Wentz discloses the system of claim 1, as shown above. Choi further discloses, wherein the request is to alter the first claim element by supplementing, amending, or appending information within the first claim element. "Further comprises least one registration center operable to store and enable conditional access to, at least one information record linked to each product through its UID, such that the at least one information record may be advantageously accessed and/or managed by at least one authorized inquirer through use of the UID" (Choi Par. 0049). "Wherein one or more authorized parties may subsequently advantageously utilize at least one UID (and optionally a verifier) to access, verify, edit, transfer, transmit, and/or otherwise manage at least one information item related to the one or more corresponding registered products in their UID" (Choi Par. 0047). “Alternately, the entire component containing the UID may be changed only by a party having authorized access to special equipment/tools/information available only to the product's manufacturer” (Choi Par. 0085).
Regarding Claim 3, and Claim 17,
The combination of Choi and Wentz discloses the system of claim 2, as shown above. Choi further discloses, the first claim element is a consumption element that includes an assertion about a consumer interaction with the product; a conversion element that includes an assertion about an end-of-life disposal of the product; a custody element that includes an assertion about a chain of custody of the product as it was manufactured or distributed; an origin element that includes an assertion about a part, subassembly, or ingredient of the product; or an entity element that includes an assertion about a manufacture of the product or an owner of the object story data structure. “UID/unique identification code is associated with a product (Abstract) "Information record linked to each product through its UID, such that the at least one information record may be advantageously accessed and/or managed by at least one authorized inquirer through use of the UID (Choi Par. 0020). " to store and enable conditional access to, at least one information record linked to each product through its UID, such that the at least one information record may be advantageously accessed and/or managed by at least one authorized inquirer through use of the UID" (Choi Par. 0049). "A unique identification code (“UID”) previously assigned to its corresponding specific product, where the UID of each product is registered with one or more particular UID registration centers over at least one communication network (such as cloud computing), and associated with one or more data records stored in a corresponding database file at the particular UID registration center, the data records being inclusive of information related to the product, the product purchase history, current ownership, etc." (Choi Par. 0047). "UID further comprises use for at least one of: product registration, product tracking, product traceability, product verification, product identification, product warranty, product lost and found, product anti-counterfeit, product reordering, service providing, virtual product management, product ownership rights certification" (Choi Claim 10).
Regarding Claim 4, and Claim 18,
The combination of Choi and Wentz discloses the system of claim 1, as shown above. Choi further discloses, wherein the indication includes an identity of the entity as a source of the request to add, subtract, or alter information of the object story data structure. "UID/unique identification code is associated with a product” (Choi Abstract). "Information record linked to each product through its UID, such that the at least one information record may be advantageously accessed and/or managed by at least one authorized inquirer through use of the UID (Choi Par. 0020). "Store and enable conditional access to, at least one information record linked (data structure) to each product through its UID, such that the at least one information record may be advantageously accessed and/or managed by at least one authorized inquirer through use of the UID" (Choi Par. 0049). "UID comprises at least one of: …. digital signature, digital identity, …. identifier, redirection identifier, owner ID, user ID" (Choi Claim 8).
Regarding Claim 5, and Claim 19,
The combination of Choi and Wentz discloses the system of claim 1, as shown above. Choi further discloses, wherein the processing circuitry is further to: "The CPU 16a operates in accordance with program instructions stored in the memory of Flash ROM 18a, and has access to, and is capable of utilizing, the data SRAM 18b" (Choi Par. 0088).
determine permissions associated with the entity; and “registration center database file, such that at least one authorized inquirer is able to utilize a particular UID (preferably in conjunction with provision of a verifier to verify authorization) to access, verify, edit, transfer, transmit, and otherwise manage at least one information item related to each registered product in its corresponding UID registration center database file” (Choi Par. 0022). "Registration center operable to store and enable conditional access to, at least one information record linked to each product through its UID, such that the at least one information record may be advantageously accessed and/or managed by at least one authorized inquirer through use of the UID" (Choi Par. 0049).
add, subtract, or alter information of the object story data structure based on the permissions. "(1) selective activation in response to one or more predetermined criteria (e.g., an authorized inquirer request, etc.)" (Choi Par. 0021). "Registration center operable to store and enable conditional access to, at least one information record linked to each product through its UID, such that the at least one information record may be advantageously accessed and/or managed by at least one authorized inquirer through use of the UID" (Choi Par. 0049).
Regarding Claim 6,
The combination of Choi and Wentz discloses the system of claim 1, as shown above. Choi further discloses, wherein the request is a request to add a component object story data structure that includes a component claim element with an assertion a statement about a component of the product and an " at least one UID (and optionally a verifier) to access, verify, edit, transfer, transmit, and/or otherwise manage at least one information item" (Par. 0047). "UID/unique identification code is associated with a product (Abstract) "Information record linked to each product through its UID, such that the at least one information record may be advantageously accessed and/or managed by at least one authorized inquirer through use of the UID (Par. 0020). "Store and enable conditional access to, at least one information record linked (data structure) to each product through its UID, such that the at least one information record may be advantageously accessed and/or managed by at least one authorized inquirer through use of the UID" (Par. 0049).
a component evidence element to support veracity of the assertion the statement about the component with a third level of evidence. "UID further comprises use for at least one of: … product verification, … proof-of-work" (Claim 10).
Regarding Claim 7, and Claim 20,
The combination of Choi and Wentz discloses the system of claim 1, as shown above. Choi further discloses, wherein the request is a request to a fourth evidence element to the chain of evidence elements, the fourth evidence element to support the first statement with a third level of evidence. "At least one UID (and optionally a verifier) to access, verify, edit, transfer, transmit, and/or otherwise manage at least one information item" (Choi Par. 0047). "UID/unique identification code is associated with a product” (Choi Abstract). "Information record linked to each product through its UID, such that the at least one information record may be advantageously accessed and/or managed by at least one authorized inquirer through use of the UID" (Choi Par. 0020). "Wherein said at least one data comprises at least one of: … geographical location, GPS address" (Choi Claim 9).
Examiner Note: The geographical location/GPS address is information about a facility, and an additional (fourth evidence) about claim
Regarding Claim 8, and Claim 21,
The combination of Choi and Wentz discloses the system of claim 1, as shown above. Choi further discloses, wherein the request is a request to add information about an actor that performs an operation with respect to the product during a lifecycle of the product. "UID/unique identification code is associated with a product” (Choi Abstract). "Information record linked to each product through its UID, such that the at least one information record may be advantageously accessed and/or managed by at least one authorized inquirer through use of the UID" (Choi Par. 0020). "UID comprises at least one of… owner ID, user ID" (Choi Claim 8). "Said user account, and/or said UID further comprises use for at least one of: product registration, product tracking, product traceability, product verification, product identification… product ownership rights …blockchain, distributed database, distributed computing, distributed ledger, distributed system, …product remote monitor" (Choi Claim 10).
Regarding Claim 9, and Claim 22,
The combination of Choi and Wentz discloses the system of claim 1, as shown above. Choi further discloses, wherein the operation is in an origin phase of the lifecycle, "UID/unique identification code is associated with a product” (Choi Abstract). "Information record linked to each product through its UID, such that the at least one information record may be advantageously accessed and/or managed by at least one authorized inquirer through use of the UID" (Choi Par. 0020). "Said user account, and/or said UID further comprises use for at least one of: product registration, product tracking, product traceability, product verification, product identification… product ownership rights …blockchain, distributed database, distributed computing, distributed ledger, distributed system, … product remote monitor" (Choi Claim 10).
Regarding Claim 10,
The combination of Choi and Wentz discloses the system of claim 1, as shown above. Choi further discloses, wherein the request is to add information corresponding to ownership of the product, maintenance records for the product, user reviews for the product, disposal of the product, or recycling of the product. "UID/unique identification code is associated with a product” (Choi Abstract). "Information record linked to each product through its UID, such that the at least one information record may be advantageously accessed and/or managed by at least one authorized inquirer through use of the UID" (Choi Par. 0020). "Said user account, and/or said UID further comprises use for at least one of: product registration, product tracking, product traceability, product verification, product identification… product ownership rights …blockchain, distributed database, distributed computing, distributed ledger, distributed system, …product remote monitor" (Choi Claim 10).
Regarding Clam 12,
The combination of Choi and Wentz discloses the system of claim 11, as shown above. Choi further discloses, wherein the selection is input from a scan of the product or a label, an image, a radio-frequency identifier chip, an electronic ink display, or a quick response (QR) code associated with the product. "The inquirer can just access the UID registration center 120a at step 810 and read or scan the UID from the product at step 811" (Choi Par. 0127). "The physical product comprises at least one of: tag, smart tag, label, … electronic product, …, UID processing, …, scanner, RFID, NFC, barcode, QR code" (Choi Claim 15).
Regarding Claim 13,
The combination of Choi and Wentz discloses the system of claim 11, as shown above. Wentz further discloses, wherein third level of evidence is higher than the first level of evidence; the first level of evidence is a first one of an assertion, a self-certification, a basic audit, a third-party certification, or a third-party certification with audit; and the third level of evidence is a second one of an assertion, a self- certification, a basic audit, a third-party certification, or a third-party certification with audit. “ In some embodiments, a third party such as a certificate authority (CA) is available to verify that the possessor of the private key is a particular entity; thus, if the certificate authority may be trusted, and the private key has not been stolen, the ability of an entity to produce a digital signature confirms the identity of the entity and links the file to the entity in a verifiable way” (Wentz Par. 0030). “In one embodiment, at least a digitally signed assertion 200 is a collection of textual data signed a secure proof as described in further detail below; secure proof may include, without limitation, a digital signature as described above. Collection of textual data may contain any textual data, including without limitation American Standard Code for Information Interchange (ASCII), Unicode, or similar computer-encoded textual data, any alphanumeric data, punctuation, diacritical mark, or any character or other marking used in any writing system to convey information, in any form, including any plaintext or cyphertext data; in an embodiment, collection of textual data may be encrypted” (Wentz Par. 0061).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the claimed invention to have combined the system of tracking and verifying a products lifecycle of Choi with a third level of evidence being higher than the first level of evidence where the first level of evidence is a first one of an assertion, a self-certification, a basic audit, a third-party certification, or a third-party certification with audit and the third level of evidence is a second one of an assertion, a self- certification, a basic audit, a third-party certification, or a third-party certification with audit of Wentz to create, maintain, and/or authenticate a digitally signed assertion and secure proof through digital signatures (Wentz Par. 0061).
Regarding Claim 14,
The combination of Choi and Wentz discloses the system of claim 11, as shown above. Choi further discloses, wherein the request is a request to: receive records of adding, subtracting, or altering information of the object story data structure. "Each account comprises at least one product data file with UID, in which UID is associated with a product, to enable over at least one communication network (such as cloud computing), to access, verify, edit, transfer, transmit, and/or otherwise manage at least one information item" (Choi Abstract). "Further comprises least one registration center operable to store and enable conditional access to, at least one information record linked to each product through its UID, such that the at least one information record may be advantageously accessed and/or managed by at least one authorized inquirer through use of the UID" (Choi Par. 0049). "Store and enable conditional access to, at least one information record linked (data structure) to each product through its UID, such that the at least one information record may be advantageously accessed and/or managed by at least one authorized inquirer through use of the UID" (Choi Par. 0049).
Response to Arguments
Applicant's declaration traversing the 35 U.S.C. § 101 Rejections filed 02/17/2026, have been fully considered by are not persuasive. Additionally, the Examiner has considered the Affidavit- traversing rejections or objections rule 132 file 02/17/2026..
The declaration under 37 CFR 1.132 filed 02/17/2026 is insufficient to overcome the rejection of claims 1-22 as being directed to an abstract idea without significantly more under 35 U.S.C. § 101, and as being unpatentable over Choi (U.S. Publication No. 2017/0206532), in view of Wentz (U.S. Publication No. 2020/0162268) as applied under 35 U.S.C. § 103 set forth in the last office action because: It includes statements which amount to an affirmation that the clamed subject matter functions as it was intended to function. This is not relevant to the issue of nonobviousness of the claimed subject matter and provides no objective evidence thereof. Examiner established a prima facie case of obviousness, supported by evidence, showing why the claims at issue would have been obvious in light of the prior art references (noted above) before the effective filing date of the claimed invention; and further evaluated the claims based upon Mayo/Alice analysis under 35 U.S.C. § 101 two-step framework and provided the results of the analysis in the Final Action dated 10/10/2025. Applicant’s declaration fails to provide rebuttal evidence since it refers only to the system described in the above referenced application and not to the individual claims of the application. As such the declaration does not show that the objective evidence of nonobviousness is commensurate in scope with the claims. Applicant’s conclusory statements have been considered but are not of substantial evidentiary value when considered in light of all the evidence of record in the application. In re Brandstadter, 484 F. 2d 1395, 179 USPQ 286 (CCPA 1973).
In view of the foregoing, when all of the evidence is considered, the totality of rebuttal evidence of nonobviousness fails to outweigh the evidence of obviousness.
With respect to 35 U.S.C. § 101 rejection applicant argues, “the embodiments of the invention…represent an improvement to existing technologies…these improvements stem from the ability to separately manage distinct, but linked, chains of claim elements and evidence elements”, and that “the orthogonal chain structure… will reduce ‘both the storage and processing resources required to store, access, and modify the OSDS’”. Applicant then states the claims recite additional elements that reflect an improvement in the functioning of the computer, or an improvement to other technology or field and are directed to patentable subject matter. Applicants arguments have been reconsidered, but are not persuasive.
In response to applicant’s argument that the references fail to show certain features of the invention, it is noted that the features upon which applicant relies (i.e., “orthogonal chain structure”) are not recited in the rejected claim(s). Although the claims are interpreted in light of the specification, limitations from the specification, limitations from the specification are not read into the claims. See In re Van Geuns, 988 F.2d 1181, 26 USPQ2d 1057 (Fed. Cir. 1993). As noted in the declaration (page 2) submitted 02/17/2026, it discusses that the invention is directed to "updating information of an object story data structure (OSDS)”. It also discusses that, “the processing circuitry is to ‘add, subtract, or alter information of the object story data structure based on the request’, and add third claim/evidence elements based on the addition, subtraction, or alteration”. In addition, applicant’s disclosure also emphasizes methods/systems for maintaining information about the source and production of a manufactured or agricultural object whereby information is created, provided, and claimed. Claims are accompanied by evidence information that proves the validity of the claim, which are aggregated and stored during the lifetime of the product, and the object story represents the information about a product at each of the steps along the growing or manufacturing process and thereafter embodied in an object story data structure stored in one or more of a set of networked, distributed computing nodes and data structures. The specification further describes operations of an electronic contract between a manufacturer and a component supplier which specifies conditions the electronic contract takes if conditions are/are not met. Examiner contends that the invention is directed toward the abstract idea for receiving a request to alter information of an object story wherein the object story includes a chain of claim elements and a chain of evidence elements, adding/subtracting/altering information of the object story based on the request wherein the information is an element of the chain of claim elements or the chain of evidence elements, adding to the object story a third claim element with an indication of additional/subtraction alteration of the information of the object story based on the request, and adding to the object story a third evidence element to the chain of evidence elements to support the indication with a second level of evidence. Hence, pertains to (i) commercial or legal interactions (including agreements in the form of contracts; legal obligations; advertising, marketing or sales activities or behaviors; business relations) and (ii) managing personal behavior or relationships or interactions between people (including social activities, teaching, and following rules or instructions) and directed to certain methods of organizing human activity groupings of abstract ideas.
Applicant’s computing components (“memory”, “data structure”, “a network interface”, “a distributed ledger”, “blockchain”, “cryptographic hash”, “remote devices”, “communication network”, “processing circuitry”, “a device”, a non-transitory computer-readable storage medium”) for receiving, altering, and adding data, are well-known, performing routine and conventionally activity, and generically used as a tool (see at least Page 6, 8, and 40 of applicant’s disclosure) for data gathering, and processing based on rules logic to further process received information and to implement the abstract idea. Moreover, giving the broadest reasonable interpretation of applicant’s object story data and component story data structure in light of the specification, the claimed elements are merely used to receive, and update data based on user requests (See “Object story data structure: a data structure that includes or incorporates elemental aspects of an object story, the data structure or elemental aspects may be distributed across set of networked, distributed nodes” (Page 6); “The object story represents the information about a product at each of the steps along the growing or manufacturing process and thereafter. This information constituting an object story is embodied in an object story data structure that may be stored in one or more of a set of networked, distributed computing nodes and data structures…. The object story may represent elemental aspects over the development and functional lifetime of the product” (Page 6); “The computing information system 260 implement, in software and hardware, the roles of the various actors in Figure 1, accessing (for example, reading or writing) the object story or elements thereof as necessary” (Page 8); “processors 3801 may access object story code 3807 stored in the memory/storage 3802. Upon executing the object story code 3807 the device 3800 may manage (including generating, accessing, storing, etc.) object story data structures 3808 as described herein” (Page 40). Hence, the object data structure and component data structure merely maintain information in the lifecycle process of a product in a customized manner utilizing generic computing components in a manner that is well-understood, routine and conventional (processing, updating, managing data) in the field and are recited at a high level of generality. Examiner again reiterates that there is no improvement to the computer functionality itself, nor is there evidence in the disclosure to suggest achieving an actual improvement in blockchain technology.
In addition, Applicant’s disclosure only generically teaches using distributed ledgers/blockchains to incorporate claims and evidence elements in a manner that is also well-understood, routine and conventional activities (a (secured) shared distributed database) to perform the abstract idea. Collecting and organizing data is mere automation of mere automation of a manual process that was performed before computers and thus is not an improvement to a computer or any specific computer technology-see MPEP 2106.05. Similarly, “claiming the improved speed or efficiency inherent with applying the abstract idea on a computer” does not integrate a judicial exception into a practical application or provide an inventive concept. Intellectual Ventures I LLC v. Capital One Bank (USA), 792 F.3d 1363, 1367, 115 USPQ22d 1636, 1639 (Fed. Cir. 2015).
Considering applicant’s claim(s) both individually and as an ordered combination they fail to add subject matter beyond the judicial exception that is not well-understood, routine, and conventional in the field. Therefore, applicant has not shown an improvement in the computer functionality itself, or any specific computer technology (distributed ledger or blockchain); nor do the claim limitations integrate the abstract idea into any practical application under the guidance of MPEP section 2106.04(d) or 2106.05(a). In view of the above, Examiner maintains that the claimed invention is directed to an abstract idea.
Applicant's arguments filed 02/17/2026 with respect to 35 U.S.C. § 103, have been fully considered, but they are not persuasive. Applicant argues that that Choi fails to provide any teaching with respect to details of the data record that suggests a request based adding, subtracting, or altering information of a data structure that has two chains of elements. The Examiner respectfully disagrees. Choi teaches an inquirer managing an information record linked to each product (Par. 0049), and further teaches a user to add/update/edit product information (Par. 0028, 0049), therefore, this argument is not persuasive. Applicant further argues that Choi fails to teach or suggest adding a third claim element to chain of claim elements with “an indication of the addition, subtraction, or alteration of the information of the object story data structure” or to add a “third evidence element to the chain of evidence elements to support the indication with a second level of evidence”. The Examiner respectfully disagrees. Choi teaches adding, subtracting, or altering data to the data structure as shown above. The combination of Choi and Wentz teach storing authorization tokens which include digitally signed assertions, chain of attestation and/or data structures (Par. 0127), further teaching storing a sequence of digitally signed assertions (Par. 0099). An assertion, is a type of evidence while a sequence is an ordered collection of objects that can be infinite. Therefore, this argument is not persuasive and the 103 Rejection is maintained.
Conclusion
/E.M.K./Examiner, Art Unit 3626
/JESSICA LEMIEUX/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3626