Response to Amendment
Applicant’s amendment filed on 03/17/2026 has been entered. Independent Claims 1, 29, and 31 have been amended. Dependent claims 27, 28, and 29 have been amended, wherein dependent claim 29 has become amended to become an independent claim. No claim have been cancelled. No claims are new. Claims 1-3, 6, 9-10, 13-17, 23-25, 27-29, 31, and 34 are still pending in this application.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments filed on 03/17/2026 on pages 7-8 of applicant’s remark regarding Claim 1 under 35 USC § 103. The applicant argues that Akkarakan does not teach while receiving, prior to the end of the first set of PUSCH transmissions, a second PDCCH with a second DCI with a second CORESET. However, Akkarakan teaches receiving a PUSCH schedule that includes the overlapping symbols for a PUSCH transmission, which the second PUSCH transmission can be a PDCCH within the context of overlapping communications. This is supported by ¶0101 of Akkarakan, where it states “The recent PUCCH or PDCCH resource may be the same for all repeated PUSCH slots, or may update for successive slots if more recent PUCCH or PDCCH resources occur during the slot repetitions” and allows one of ordinary skill in the art of electrical engineering to apply one technique in multiple ways. The additional claim language for “receiving”, under the broadest, reasonable, interpretation is for a set schedule, not for a situation the UE finds itself in. The applicant’s arguments have been fully considered, but are not persuasive.
Applicant’s arguments filed on 03/17/2026 on page 9 of applicant’s remark regarding Claim 1 under 35 USC § 103. The applicant argues that that Akkarakan does not teach the second PUSCH schedule can function as a PDCCH. However, MPEP 2103.I.C. states “Language that suggests or makes a feature or step optional but does not require that feature or step does not limit the scope of a claim under the broadest reasonable claim interpretation.” where the claim language of “a PDCCH that carries a second DCI in a second CORESET” does not have the implied use case of a DCI and CORESET, the claim does not have any of the restricting features associated with this type of transmission in the claims. Thus, the applicant here fails to patentably distinguish the claimed invention of the a second PUSCH schedule can function as a PDCCH from the teachings of Liu in view of Akkarakan, and further in view of Yuan. The applicant’s arguments have been fully considered, but are not persuasive.
Applicant’s arguments on pages 10-11 with respect to claim(s) 1, under 35 USC § 103, are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specified challenged in the argument.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-3, 6, 26, 27, 29, 31, 34 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Liu (Pub. No.: US 20210029678 A1, hereafter “Liu”) in view of Akkarakan (Pub. No.: US 20190230683 A1, hereafter “Akkarakan”), further in view of Gao’232 (Pub. No.: US 20220022232 A1, hereafter “Gao’232”), even further in view of Yuan (Pub. No.: US 20220046672 A1, hereafter “Yuan”).
Regarding Claim 1, Claim 29, and Claim 31
Liu teaches the method and user equipment comprising
A method performed by a user equipment (UE) (Liu Fig. 9: 902), the method comprising: receiving (Liu Fig. 9: 910) a first physical downlink control channel (PDCCH) (Liu ¶0073: PDCCH) that carries a first downlink control information (DCI) (Liu ¶0073: DCI) in a first Control Resource Set (CORESET) (Liu ¶0073: CORESET), wherein the first DCI indicates a first set of parameters (Liu ¶0073: UE may receive a DCI within a PDCCH within a CORESET) for a first set of physical uplink shared channel (PUSCH) transmission occasions (Liu ¶0069: PUSCH may be scheduled within the RC NR DL CORESET; Liu teaches a UE receiving a DCI in a PDCCH in a CORESET, containing a PDI);
transmitting first data (Liu ¶0068: conventional uplink) in the first set of PUSCH transmission occasions (Liu ¶0069: PUSCH) according to the first set of parameters (Liu ¶0069: scheduled with the bandwidth of the RC NR DL CORESET; Liu teaches transmitting data with the given PDCCH with its CORESET in a PUSCH);
Liu does not explicitly teach
receiving, prior to the end of the first set of PUSCH transmission occasions, a second PDCCH that carries a second DCI in a second CORESET, wherein the second DCI indicates a second set of parameters for a second set of PUSCH transmission occasions; transmitting first data in the first set of PUSCH transmission occasions according to the first set of parameters; and transmitting the first data in the second set of PUSCH transmission occasions according to the second set of parameters.
wherein the first set of parameters is associated with a first transmission and reception point (TRP), the second set of parameters is associated with a second TRP, and the first and second TRPs are different.
However, Akkarakan teaches
receiving (Akkarakan ¶0091: received assignments), prior to the end of (Akkarakan ¶0091: partial overlaps) the first set of PUSCH transmission occasions (Akkarakan ¶0092: 1-slot PUSCH), a second PDCCH (Akkarakan ¶0092: N-slot PUCCH, e.g., PDCCH can be used for all repeated PUCCH slots, see ¶0101) that carries a second DCI (Akkarakan ¶0092: overlapping uplink assignments) in a second CORESET (Akkarakan ¶0092: resource assignment), wherein the second DCI indicates a second set of parameters for a second set of PUSCH transmission occasions (Akkarakan ¶0092: overlapping uplink assignments; Akkarakan teaches multiple resource assignments, with overlapping assignments happening);
It would have been obvious for one skilled in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify Liu by way of Akkarakan, to include an element that teaches multiple resource assignments, with overlapping assignments happening, as well as communicating over the second set of PUSCH parameters, as taught by Akkarakan in ¶0045, ¶0091, ¶0092, ¶0098, and ¶0101, to better improve spectral efficiency, lowering costs, improving services, making use of newly available spectrums, and better integrating with other open standards using OFDMA with a cyclic prefix on the UL and UL processes.
Liu in view of Akkarakan does not explicitly teach
transmitting first data in the first set of PUSCH transmission occasions according to the first set of parameters;
and transmitting the first data in the second set of PUSCH transmission occasions according to the second set of parameters;
However, Gao’232 teaches
transmitting a (Gao’232 ¶0056: terminal device may perform transmission of PUSCH) first data (Gao’232 Fig. 5: 510) in the first set of PUSCH transmission occasions (Gao’232 ¶0056: PUSCH) according to the first set of parameters (Gao’232 ¶0056: QCL; Gao’232 teaches a PUSCH transmission with a set of parameters); and transmitting a (Gao’232 ¶0056: transmission) the first data (Gao’232 ¶0056: repeat transmission of PUSCH) in the second set of PUSCH transmission occasions (Gao’232 ¶0056: PUSCH) according to the second set of parameters (Gao’232 ¶0056: different parameters for QCL configured for the repetition; Gao’232 teaches a repetition of the previous PUSCH transmission with different parameters)
It would have been obvious for one skilled in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify Liu in view of Akkarakan by way of Gao’232, to include an element that teaches a PUSCH transmission with a set of parameters and a repetition of the previous PUSCH transmission with different parameters, as taught by Gao’232in ¶0056, to improve communication systems that involve rapidly changing systems by allowing communication in non-backhaul communications such as in 5G communication wherein numerology can require different frequencies being used to reduce switching costs and repeat transmissions.
Liu in view of Akkarakan further in view of Gao’232 does not explicitly teach
wherein the first set of parameters are associated with a first transmission and reception point (TRP), the second set of parameters are associated with a second TRP, and the first and second TRPs are different.
However, Yuan teaches
wherein the first set of parameters (Yuan Fig. 9: 923) are associated with a first transmission and reception point (TRP) (Yuan Fig. 9: 1st TRP), the second set of parameters (Yuan Fig. 9: 903) are associated with a second TRP (Yuan Fig. 9: 2nd TRP), and the first and second TRPs are different (Yuan ¶0116: each CORESET is associated with a different TRP; Yuan teaches two CORESET parameters associated with two different TRPs).
It would have been obvious for one skilled in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify Liu in view of Akkarakan further in view of Gao’232 by way of Yuan, to include an element that teaches two CORESET parameters associated with two different TRPs, as taught by Yuan in Fig. 9 and ¶0116, to improve mobile broadband internet access by improving spectral efficiency, lowering costs, improving services, making use of new spectrum, and better integrating with other open standards using OFDMA with a cyclic prefix on the downlink and on the uplink.
Claim 29 differs by the following limitation, which is also taught by the prior art, Akkarakan teaches
wherein a first CORESET pool index of the first CORESET (Akkarakan ¶0092: 1-slot PUSCH) indicates the first TRP (Akkarakan Fig. 1: 110), and a second CORESET pool index of the second CORESET (Akkarakan ¶0092: N-slot PUCCH, e.g., PDCCH can be used for all repeated PUCCH slots, see ¶0101) indicates the second TRP (Akkarakan ¶0033: includes one or more base stations; Akkarakan teaches the plurality of PUSCH resource assignments can communicate with a plurality of base stations, e.g. TRPs).
Claim 31 differs by the following limitation, which is also taught by the prior art,
Liu teaches
a first set of parameters for N1 physical uplink shared channel (PUSCH) transmission occasions (Liu ¶0069: PUSCH/PUCCH may be scheduled within the bandwidth of the RC NR DL CORESET; Liu teaches setting parameters through a PUSCH communication)
a second set of parameters for N2 PUSCH transmission occasions (Liu ¶0069: PUSCH/PUCCH may be scheduled within the bandwidth of the RC NR DL CORESET; Liu teaches setting parameters through a PUSCH communication)
Regarding Claim 2
Liu in view of Akkarakan further in view of Gao’232, and even further in view of Liu teaches the method and user equipment as explained above in Claim 1. Liu further teaches
wherein the first set (Liu ¶0055: first exemplary configuration) of parameters (Liu ¶0055: CORESET and PDSCH configuration) comprises a first starting slot (Not given patentable weight due to non-selective option in the claim) or sub-slot (Not given patentable weight due to non-selective option in the claim), a first Sounding Resource Indicator (SRI) (Not given patentable weight due to non-selective option in the claim), a first uplink Transmission Control Indicator (TCI) state (Liu ¶0055: TCI), a first Transmit Precoding Matrix Indicator (TPMI) (Not given patentable weight due to non-selective option in the claim), and/or a first number N1 of PUSCH transmission occasions (Not given patentable weight due to non-selective option in the claim; Liu teaches the configuration including a TCI).
Regarding Claim 3
Liu in view of Akkarakan further in view of Gao’232, and even further in view of Liu teaches the method and user equipment as explained above in Claim 2. Liu further teaches
wherein the second set (Liu ¶0058: second exemplary configuration) of parameters (Liu ¶0059: CORESET and PDSCH configuration) comprises a second starting slot (Liu ¶0058: slot location) or sub-slot (Not given patentable weight due to non-selective option in the claim), a second SRI (Not given patentable weight due to non-selective option in the claim), a second uplink TCI state (Not given patentable weight due to non-selective option in the claim), a second TPMI (Not given patentable weight due to non-selective option in the claim), and/or a second number N2 of PUSCH transmission occasions (Not given patentable weight due to non-selective option in the claim; Liu teaches a secondary configuration including a slot location).
Regarding Claim 6
Liu in view of Akkarakan further in view of Gao’232, and even further in view of Liu teaches the method and user equipment as explained above in Claim 1. Liu further teaches
wherein the first (Liu ¶0055: first configuration) CORESET (Liu ¶0055: CORESET and PDSCH configuration) is activated with a first downlink transmission configuration indicator (TCI) state (Liu ¶0055: TCI), and the second (Liu ¶0065: legacy) CORESET (Liu ¶0065: CORESET) is activated with a second downlink TCI state (Liu ¶0065: different; Liu teaches that the legacy CORESET TCI value can be different from another CORESET TCI value if configured independently).
Regarding Claim 27
Liu in view of Akkarakan further in view of Gao’232, and even further in view of Liu teaches the method and user equipment as explained above in Claim 1. Akkarakan teaches
wherein the first data transmitted in the first set of PUSCH transmission occasions (Akkarakan ¶0092: 1-slot PUSCH) is transmitted to the first TRP (Akkarakan ¶0094: gNB), and the first data transmitted in the second set of PUSCH transmission occasions (Akkarakan ¶0092: N-slot PUCCH, e.g., PDCCH can be used for all repeated PUCCH slots, see ¶0101) is transmitted to the second TRP (Akkarakan ¶0045: may include one or more TRP; Akkarakan teaches a plurality of PUSCH transmissions to a plurality of base stations).
It would have been obvious for one skilled in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify Liu by way of Akkarakan further in view of Gao’232, and even further in view of Liu, to include an element that teaches a plurality of PUSCH transmissions to a plurality of base stations, as taught by Akkarakan in ¶0092-¶0101, and ¶0045, to better improve spectral efficiency, lowering costs, improving services, making use of newly available spectrums, and better integrating with other open standards using OFDMA with a cyclic prefix on the UL and UL processes.
Regarding Claim 34
Liu in view of Akkarakan further in view of Gao’232, and even further in view of Liu teaches the method and user equipment as explained above in Claim 31. Liu further teaches
processing circuitry (Liu Fig. 3: 359); and a memory containing instructions executable by said processing circuitry (Liu Fig. 3:360), whereby said UE is operative to perform receiving (Liu Fig. 9: 910) the first PDCH (Liu ¶0073: PDCCH), receiving the second PDCCH (Liu ¶0073: second BWP, e.g. a PDCCH), transmitting the first data in the N1 PUSCH transmission occasions (Liu ¶0069: PUSCH/PUCCH may be scheduled within the bandwidth of the RC NR DL CORESET), and transmitting the first data in the N2 PUSCH transmission occasions (Liu ¶0069: PUSCH/PUCCH may be scheduled within the bandwidth of the RC NR DL CORESET; Liu teaches the UE containing a processor and memory).
Claim(s) 9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Liu (Pub. No.: US 20210029678 A1, hereafter “Liu”) in view of Akkarakan (Pub. No.: US 20190230683 A1, hereafter “Akkarakan”), further in view of Gao’232 (Pub. No.: US 20220022232 A1, hereafter “Gao’232”), even further in view of Yuan (Pub. No.: US 20220046672 A1, hereafter “Yuan”), and even further in view of Khoshnevisan (Pub. No.: US 20230156845 A1, hereafter “Khoshnevisan”).
Regarding Claim 9
Liu in view of Akkarakan further in view of Gao’232, and even further in view of Liu teaches the method and user equipment as explained above in Claim 1. Liu in view of Akkarakan further in view of Gao’232, and even further in view of Liu does not explicitly teach
wherein the first and the second CORESETs are configured with different CORESET pool indices.
However, Khoshnevisan teaches
wherein the first (Khoshnevisan ¶0074: first) and the second (Khoshnevisan ¶0074: second) CORESETs are configured with different (Khoshnevisan ¶0074: different) CORESET pool indices (Khoshnevisan ¶0074: CORESET pool index; Khoshnevisan teaches two different CORESET pool index values).
It would have been obvious for one skilled in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify Liu by way of Akkarakan further in view of Gao’232, and even further in view of Liu, and even further with Khoshnevisan, to include an element that teaches two different CORESET pool index values, as taught by Khoshnevisan in ¶0074, to better enable IP data packet communication for things like voice over IP, multimedia, multicast, and on-demand communication services.
Claim(s) 10, 13-15, 23 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Liu (Pub. No.: US 20210029678 A1, hereafter “Liu”) in view of Akkarakan (Pub. No.: US 20190230683 A1, hereafter “Akkarakan”), further in view of Gao’232 (Pub. No.: US 20220022232 A1, hereafter “Gao’232”), even further in view of Yuan (Pub. No.: US 20220046672 A1, hereafter “Yuan”), and even further in view of Islam (Pub. No.: US 20220159701 A1, hereafter “Islam”).
Regarding Claim 10
Liu in view of Akkarakan, further in view of Gao’232, and even further in view of Liu teaches the method and user equipment as explained above in Claim 1. Liu in view of Akkarakan, further in view of Gao’232, and even further in view of Liu does not explicitly teach
wherein the first set of parameters comprises a first starting slot or sub-slot, the second set of parameters comprises a second starting slot or sub-slot, transmitting the first data in the first set of PUSCH transmission occasions comprises transmitting the first data in N1 consecutive slots or sub-slots starting from the first starting slot or sub-slot, and transmitting the first data in the second set of PUSCH transmission occasions comprises transmitting the first data in N2 consecutive slots or sub-slots starting from the second starting slot or sub-slot.
However, Islam teaches
wherein the first set of parameters (Islam ¶0225: first UL grant) comprises a first starting slot (Islam ¶0225: slots) or sub-slot (Not given patentable weight due to non-selective option in the claim), the second set of parameters (Islam ¶0225: second UL grant) comprises a second starting slot (Islam ¶0225: slots) or sub-slot (Not given patentable weight due to non-selective option in the claim), transmitting the first data in the first set of PUSCH transmission occasions comprises transmitting data in N1 consecutive (Islam Fig. 11: PUSCH offset) slots (Islam ¶0225: slots) or sub-slots (Not given patentable weight due to non-selective option in the claim) starting from the first starting slot (Islam ¶0223: start position) or sub-slot (Not given patentable weight due to non-selective option in the claim), and transmitting the first data in the second set of PUSCH transmission occasions comprises transmitting the first data in N2 consecutive (Islam ¶0225: second UL grant) slots (Islam ¶0225: slots) or sub-slots (Not given patentable weight due to non-selective option in the claim) starting from the second starting slot (Islam ¶0225: slots) or sub-slot (Not given patentable weight due to non-selective option in the claim; Islam teaches a set of parameters, including a starting slot, the time of that slot, and, consecutive transmissions relating to multiple PUSCH transmissions relating to multiple UL grants).
It would have been obvious for one skilled in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify Liu by way of Akkarakan further in view of Gao’232, and even further in view of Liu, and even further in view of Islam, to include an element that teaches two sets of PUSCH transmissions for different UL grants, as taught by Islam in ¶0225, to better improve spectral efficiency, lowering costs, improving services, making use of newly available spectrums, and better integrating with other open standards using OFDMA with a cyclic prefix on the UL and UL processes.
Regarding Claim 13
Liu in view of Akkarakan, further in view of Gao’232, and even further in view of Liu teaches the method and user equipment as explained above in Claim 1. Islam teaches
wherein the first set of PUSCH transmission (Islam ¶0225: first UL grant) occasions comprises a first number N1 of PUSCH transmission occasions (Islam ¶0225: start time of PUSCH time), and the second set of PUSCH transmission (Islam ¶0225: second UL grant) occasions comprises a second number N2 of PUSCH transmission occasions (Islam ¶0225: start time of PUSCH time; Islam teaches two sets of PUSCH transmissions for different UL grants).
It would have been obvious for one skilled in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify Liu by way of Akkarakan, further in view of Gao’232, and even further in view of Liu, and even further in view of Islam, to include an element that teaches two sets of PUSCH transmissions for different UL grants, as taught by Islam in ¶0225, to better improve spectral efficiency, lowering costs, improving services, making use of newly available spectrums, and better integrating with other open standards using OFDMA with a cyclic prefix on the UL and UL processes.
Regarding Claim 14
Liu in view of Akkarakan, further in view of Gao’232, and even further in view of Liu, and even further in view of Islam teaches the method and user equipment as explained above in Claim 13. Islam further teaches
wherein the N1 PUSCH transmission occasions (Islam ¶0225: first UL grant) and the N2 PUSCH transmission occasions (Islam ¶0225: second UL grant) are associated with a same (Islam ¶0225: one of the indicated HARQ process) hybrid automatic repeat request (HARQ) process number (Islam ¶0225: HARQ; Islam teaches two UL grants with a HARQ process).
It would have been obvious for one skilled in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify Liu by way of Akkarakan, further in view of Gao’232, and even further in view of Liu, and even further in view of Islam, to include an element that teaches two UL grants with a HARQ process, as taught by Islam in ¶0225, to better improve spectral efficiency, lowering costs, improving services, making use of newly available spectrums, and better integrating with other open standards using OFDMA with a cyclic prefix on the UL and UL processes.
Regarding Claim 15
Liu in view of Akkarakan, and further in view of Liu, and further in view of Islam teaches the method and user equipment as explained above in Claim 13. Islam further teaches
wherein the N1 PUSCH transmission occasions (Islam ¶0225: first UL grant) and the N2 PUSCH transmission occasions (Islam ¶0225: second UL grant) are associated with a same value of New Data Indicator (NDI) (Islam ¶0225: NDI; Islam teaches two UL grants with respect to an NDI bit value).
It would have been obvious for one skilled in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify Liu by way of Akkarakan, further in view of Gao’232, and even further in view of Liu, and further in view of Islam, to include an element that teaches two UL grants with respect to an NDI bit value, as taught by Islam in ¶0225, to better improve spectral efficiency, lowering costs, improving services, making use of newly available spectrums, and better integrating with other open standards using OFDMA with a cyclic prefix on the UL and UL processes.
Regarding Claim 23
Liu in view of Akkarakan, further in view of Gao’232, and even further in view of Liu, and even further in view of Islam teaches the method and user equipment as explained above in Claim 13. Liu further teaches
wherein the N1 PUSCH transmission occasions (Liu ¶0046: Tx) are transmitted on different Multiple Input Multiple Output (MIMO) layers (Liu ¶0046: MIMO antenna processing) than the N2 PUSCH transmission occasions (Liu ¶0046: each spatial stream may then be provided to a different antenna; Liu teaches MIMO transmissions can be on different antennas).
Regarding Claim 24
Liu in view of Akkarakan, further in view of Gao’232, and even further in view of Liu, and further in view of Islam teaches the method and user equipment as explained above in Claim 13. Akkarakan further teaches
wherein the first number N1 of PUSCH transmission occasions (Akkarakan ¶0092: 1-slot PUSCH) and the second number N2 of PUSCH transmission occasions are positive integers (Akkarakan ¶0092: N-slot PUCCH, e.g., PDCCH can be used for all repeated PUCCH slots, see ¶0101; Akkarakan teaches a positive non-zero number of PUSCH transmissions).
It would have been obvious for one skilled in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify Liu by way of Akkarakan, and further in view of Liu, and further in view of Akkarakan to include an element that teaches a positive non-zero number of PUSCH transmissions, as taught by Akkarakan in ¶0092, to better improve spectral efficiency, lowering costs, improving services, making use of newly available spectrums, and better integrating with other open standards using OFDMA with a cyclic prefix on the UL and UL processes.
Claim(s) 16 and 17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Liu (Pub. No.: US 20210029678 A1, hereafter “Liu”) in view of Akkarakan (Pub. No.: US 20190230683 A1, hereafter “Akkarakan”), further in view of Gao’232 (Pub. No.: US 20220022232 A1, hereafter “Gao’232”), even further in view of Yuan (Pub. No.: US 20220046672 A1, hereafter “Yuan”), even further in view of Islam (Pub. No.: US 20220159701 A1, hereafter “Islam”), and even further in view of Huang (Pub. No.: US 20190320469 A1, hereafter “Huang”).
Regarding Claim 16
Liu in view of Akkarakan, further in view of Gao’232, and even further in view of Liu, further in view of Islam teaches the method and user equipment as explained above in Claim 13. Liu in view of Akkarakan, further in view of Gao’232, and even further in view of Liu, further in view of Islam does not explicitly teach
wherein the N1 PUSCH transmission occasions are associated with a first spatial relation, the N2 PUSCH transmissions are associated with a second spatial relation, and the first and second spatial relations are different.
However, Huang teaches
wherein the N1 PUSCH transmission occasions (Huang Fig. 11: 1110) are associated with a first spatial relation (Huang ¶0353: spatial filter), the N2 PUSCH transmissions (Huang Fig. 11: 1125) are associated with a second spatial relation (Huang ¶0353: spatial filter), and the first and second spatial relations are different (Huang ¶0356: second SRI value; Huang teaches two PUSCH transmissions taking place, associated with spatial filters, and associated with a second SRI value).
It would have been obvious for one skilled in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify Liu by way of Akkarakan, further in view of Gao’232, and even in view of Liu, further in view of Islam, and then even further with Huang, to include an element that teaches two PUSCH transmissions taking place, associated with spatial filters, and associated with a second SRI value, as taught by Huang in Fig. 11 and ¶0353-¶0356 to better enable IP data packet communication for things like voice over IP, multimedia, multicast, and on-demand communication services.
Regarding Claim 17
Liu in view of Akkarakan, further in view of Gao’232, and even further in view of Liu, further in view of Islam, and even further view of Huang, teaches the method and user equipment as explained above in Claim 16. Huang further teaches
wherein a sounding reference signal resource indicator (SRI) field in the first DCI (Huang ¶0367: first DCI) indicates a first SRI (Huang ¶0368: first SRI value) and the first spatial relation (Huang ¶0368: spatial filter), and an SRI field in the second DCI (Huang ¶0367: second DCI) indicates a second SRI (Huang ¶0369: second SRI value) and the second spatial relation (Huang ¶0368: second configuration; Huang teaches a plurality of DCIs associated with a plurality of SRIs with a plurality of spatial filters).
It would have been obvious for one skilled in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify Liu by way of Akkarakan, further in view of Gao’232, and even further in view of Liu, further in view of Islam, and then even further with Huang, to include an element that teaches a plurality of DCIs associated with a plurality of SRIs with a plurality of spatial filters, as taught by Huang ¶0367-¶0369 to better enable IP data packet communication for things like voice over IP, multimedia, multicast, and on-demand communication services.
Claim(s) 25 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Liu (Pub. No.: US 20210029678 A1, hereafter “Liu”) in view of Akkarakan (Pub. No.: US 20190230683 A1, hereafter “Akkarakan”), further in view of Gao’232 (Pub. No.: US 20220022232 A1, hereafter “Gao’232”), even further in view of Yuan (Pub. No.: US 20220046672 A1, hereafter “Yuan”), even further in view of Islam (Pub. No.: US 20220159701 A1, hereafter “Islam”), and even further in view of Panteleev (Pub. No.: US 20190182807 A1, hereafter “Panteleev”).
Regarding Claim 25
Liu in view of Akkarakan, further in view of Gao’232, and even further in view of Liu, and further in view of Islam teaches the method and user equipment as explained above in Claim 13. Liu in view of Akkarakan, further in view of Gao’232, and even further in view of Liu, and further in view of Islam does not explicitly teach
Where in a time-domain resource allocation (TDRA) field of the first DCI indicates the first number NI of PUSCH transmission occasions, and a TDRA field of the second DCI indicates the second number N2 of PUSCH transmission occasions.
However, Panteleev teaches
Where in a time-domain resource allocation (TDRA) field (Panteleev ¶0228: TDRA) of the first DCI (Panteleev ¶0228: first DCI) indicates the first number NI of PUSCH transmission occasions (Panteleev ¶0228: UL grants for PUSCH), and a TDRA field (Panteleev ¶0228: TDRA) of the second DCI (Panteleev ¶0228: second DCI) indicates the second number N2 of PUSCH transmission occasions (Panteleev ¶0228: UL grants for PUSCH; Panteleev teaches a TDRA related to a plurality DCI, for a plurality of UL grants submitted through PUSCH).
It would have been obvious for one skilled in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify Liu by way of Akkarakan, further in view of Liu, further in view of Islam, then to modify with Panteleev to include an element that teaches a TDRA related to a plurality DCI, for a plurality of UL grants submitted through PUSCH, as taught by Panteleev in ¶0228, to better evolve the 3GPP partnership with ubiquitous wireless connections to deliver fast and rich content services.
Claim(s) 28 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Liu (Pub. No.: US 20210029678 A1, hereafter “Liu”) in view of Akkarakan (Pub. No.: US 20190230683 A1, hereafter “Akkarakan”), further in view of Gao’232 (Pub. No.: US 20220022232 A1, hereafter “Gao’232”), even further in view of Yuan (Pub. No.: US 20220046672 A1, hereafter “Yuan”), and further in view of Gao (Pub. No.: US 20210306123 A1, hereafter “Gao”).
Regarding Claim 28
Liu in view of Akkarakan, further in view of Gao’232, and even further in view of Liu teaches the method and user equipment as explained above in Claim 1. Liu in view of Akkarakan, further in view of Gao’232, and even further in view of Liu does not explicitly teach
wherein the first DCI indicates the first TRP by indicating a first sounding reference signal resource indicator (SRI), a first spatial relation, and/or a first uplink transmission configuration indicator (TCI) state, and the second DCI indicates the second TRP by indicating a second SRI, a second spatial relation, and a second uplink TCI state.
However, Gao teaches
wherein the first DCI (Gao ¶0065: DCI) indicates the first TRP (Gao ¶0065: first TRP) by indicating a first sounding reference signal resource indicator (SRI) (Gao ¶0065: SRI), a first spatial relation (Not given patentable weight due to non-selective option in the claim), and/or a first uplink transmission configuration indicator (TCI) state (Not given patentable weight due to non-selective option in the claim), and the second DCI (Gao ¶0065: DCI) indicates the second TRP (Gao ¶0065: second TRP) by indicating a second SRI (Gao ¶0065: SRI), a second spatial relation (Gao ¶0049: spatial parameter), and a second uplink TCI state (Gao ¶0066: uplink grant; Gao teaches a plurality of TRPs, one of which has an SRI, the other of which has an SRI, a spatial parameter, and an associated uplink grant).
It would have been obvious for one skilled in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify Liu by way of Akkarakan, further in view of Liu, and further with Gao to include an element that teaches a plurality of TRPs, one of which has an SRI, the other of which has an SRI, a spatial parameter, and an associated uplink grant, as taught by Gao in ¶0049, ¶0065, ¶0066 to better provide beam communication with the terminal device by enabling beam switching among a plurality of different TRPs.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/JUSTIN MICHAEL WHITAKER/Examiner, Art Unit 2415
/Sudesh M. Patidar/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2415