DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
The Amendment filed December 9, 2025 has been entered. Claims 1 – 15 are pending in the application with claims 14 and 15 being newly added.
Claim Objections
Claims 14 and 15 are objected to because of the following informalities:
Claim 14, line 2: "a head cover which includes the partition wall" should either be DELETED or should read --the casing which includes the partition wall--. [¶26 of pg. pub of the instant application states "a head cover is provided as the casing 18 which includes the partition wall 18a forming the discharge space Sv" and claim 12, upon which claim 14 depends, already recites "a casing including a partition wall forming the discharge space" in line 4].
Claim 15, line 2: "a head cover which includes the partition wall" should either be DELETED or should read --the casing which includes the partition wall--. [¶26 of pg. pub of the instant application states "a head cover is provided as the casing 18 which includes the partition wall 18a forming the discharge space Sv" and claim 1, upon which claim 15 depends, already recites "a casing including a partition wall forming the discharge space" in line 4].
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 5, 6, 8 and 9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Sato et al. (US 2011/0203304 – herein after Sato; cited by applicant on IDS dated 04/11/2023).
In reference to claim 1, Sato discloses a compressor, comprising (see fig. 9; as per ¶126: “FIG. 9 illustrates an elevation plan of a cylinder top assembly 100 of the reciprocating compressor to be integrated in the refrigeration unit of the present invention. The reciprocating compressor of the present embodiment comprises a pair of cylinders”):
a discharge valve (118; see ¶130);
a discharge space (116; see ¶132) formed downstream of the discharge valve;
a casing (121) including a partition wall (wall with hole 121a) forming the discharge space;
a liquid injection hole (121a,123a or 121b,123b) for injecting a refrigerant liquid into the discharge space (see ¶134: “both of the head cover 121 and the cylinder exterior body 103 have through-bores 121a and 121b respectively which are connected to the branching pipe paths 122a and 122b respectively which correspond to the branching pipe path 9 of FIG. 1. The through-bore 121a opens to the inner wall of the head cover and the through-bore 121b opens to the passageway 107. And the injection nozzles 123a and 123b are installed in the openings of the through-bores 121a and 121b respectively. By this, the condensed refrigerant liquid from the liquid receiver not shown in the drawing is sprayed to the discharge chamber 116 and the passageway 107 via the branching pipe paths 122a and 122b”); and
a heat medium flow path (124a) located opposite to the discharge space across the partition wall (wall with hole 121a in 121) forming the discharge space (116) [heat medium flow path = path for a heat medium] and being configured such that a heat medium for heating the casing flows through the heat medium flow path, and a temperature of the heat medium decreases when passing through the heat medium flow path [in view of disclosure in ¶135: the asserted flow path is capable of carrying “heat medium”; naturally, when heat medium flows through this path its temperature would decrease in view of heat exchange with the low temperature (relative to the heat medium) partition wall. Further, Applicant has not provided any structure for the “heat flow path” that would distinguish it from the flow path disclosed by Sato. The nature of the medium (heating or cooling medium) flowing through the flow path will depend on the intended use and will not necessitate a different design of the flow based on whether a heating or cooling medium is flowing through it].
In reference to claim 5, Sato discloses the compressor, comprising:
a compressor casing (103, see fig. 9 or ¶127);
a cylinder (101, see fig. 9 or ¶127) disposed in the compressor casing;
a piston (102, see fig. 9 or ¶127) for reciprocating inside the cylinder; and
a valve plate (111, see fig. 9 or ¶127) disposed at one end (top end) of the cylinder and configured to support the discharge valve (118), wherein the casing (121) is a head cover.
In reference to claim 6, Sato discloses the compressor, comprising: a jacket cover (124, see fig. 9) disposed on an outer surface (top surface, in view of fig. 9) of the head cover (121) and internally having a heat medium introduction space (125), wherein the heat medium introduction space (125) forms the heat medium flow path (124a+125).
In reference to claim 8, Sato discloses the compressor, wherein (see fig. 9 or fig. A below) an outer peripheral edge portion (labelled “p.e.v.p.” in fig. A below) of the valve plate (111) is interposed between the compressor casing (103) and an outer peripheral edge portion (labelled “p.e.h.c.” in fig. A below) of the head cover (121).
Fig. A: Edited fig. 9 of Sato to show claim interpretation.
In reference to claim 9, Sato discloses a compressor system (1), comprising (see fig. 4): a low-stage compression part (3a); and a high-stage compression part (3b), wherein at least the low-stage compression part is constituted by the compressor according to claim 5 [as per ¶95: “a second embodiment of the present invention (the reciprocating compressors 3a, 3b are combined two stage compressor or individual two stage compressors without an intercooler in the refrigerant path 2a between a liquid receiver 6 and an expander 7 in the two-stage compression and the single-stage expansion) is explained in reference to FIG. 4…The configuration of the cylinder top assembly of the lower and upper stage compressors 3a and 3b are the same as that of the compressor of the first embodiment shown in FIG. 2 and FIG. 3”, however as per ¶126: “FIG. 9 illustrates an elevation plan of a cylinder top assembly 100 of the reciprocating compressor to be integrated in the refrigeration unit of the present invention. The reciprocating compressor of the present embodiment comprises a pair of cylinders”; thus, in view of figs. 4 and 9, it is implied that low stage compression part 3a is constituted by a reciprocating compressor according to claim 5 (i.e. reciprocating compressor with cylinder top assembly in fig. 9)].
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 2, 3, 10, 12 and 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sato in view of Tokyo Shibura Denki Kabushuki Kaisa (JPS 5026405 – herein after Tokyo; cited by applicant on IDS dated 02/13/2023) and evidenced by Hitachi, Ltd. (JPS 5455503U – herein after Hitachi; cited by applicant on IDS dated 02/13/2023).
Regarding claim 2 and 3,
Sato does not teach the compressor with claimed features of “a lubrication oil flow path” and “the arrangement of the heat medium flow path in relation to the lubricant flow path”.
However, Tokyo teaches a compressor (see ¶1 of translation: “electric compressor”), comprising (see page 2 of translation, line 50 onwards along with disclosed figure): a lubricant oil flow path (26) through which a lubricant oil (24), supplied (via element 27) to a part (crankshaft receiving portion of the auxiliary bearing 20) to be lubricated of the compressor, flows, wherein the heat medium flow path (path in communication with chamber 18 – herein after referred as 18) is disposed in series or parallel with the lubricant oil flow path (26) [this path in communication with 18 is considered to be disposed in series with path 26], as in claim 2; and wherein the heat medium flow path (18) is arranged in series with the lubricant oil flow path (26) such that a circulation path (path 27) for the lubricant oil including the part to be lubricated, the lubricant oil flow path (26), and the heat medium flow path (18) is formed, and wherein the compressor comprises an oil pump (23; see page 2 of translation, line 53) for circulating the lubricant oil in the circulation path (circulation being present since the oil is returned back to the reservoir), as in claim 3.
Tokyo’s lubricating oil circulating through the compressor inevitably picks up heat from various components, such as “oil pump itself” (moving parts within the oil pump generate friction that translates into heat) or “casing portion 21” (operation of the compressor as a whole result in this casing portion 21 to get heated to some extent via conduction in view of heat generated by drive source of the compressor), before being introduced into the asserted heat medium flow path. Thus, it would have been obvious to the person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify Sato’s compressor for adding the features related to the lubricant oil flow path as taught by Tokyo for lubricating desired components such as bearings and crankshaft that are present in the compressor. Also, such an arrangement of the lubrication circuit in the compressor system improves thermal management of the discharge gas in the compressor system, as evidenced by Tokyo (see ¶2 of translation, lines 1-2).
Furthermore, the use of a fluid-filled jacket to control the temperature of a component (in this case, casing) is a well-known technique in the art. Sato’s jacket (124) is capable of being used for both heating and cooling the casing. The choice of heat medium would depend on the desired temperature control effect for the casing. The combination of Sato and Tokyo provides the necessary structure and fluid arrangement, while Hitachi provides the functional evidence to solve frosting issues through casing heating.
Regarding claim 10,
Sato, as modified above in claim 1, does not teach the compressor, “wherein the heat medium flow path is configured such that a lubricant oil, having lubricated a part to be lubricated of the compressor, flows through the heat medium flow path as the heat medium”.
However, Tokyo teaches the compressor, wherein the heat medium flow path (path in communication with chamber 18 – herein after referred as 18) is configured such that a lubricant oil (24), having lubricated a part (for instance, crankshaft receiving portion of the auxiliary bearing 20) to be lubricated of the compressor (returned to oil sump after lubricating the part), flows through the heat medium flow path as the heat medium [lubricating oil from the oil sump circulating through the compressor inevitably picks up heat from various components, such as “oil pump itself” (moving parts within the oil pump generate friction that translates into heat) or “casing portion 21” (operation of the compressor as a whole result in this casing portion 21 to get heated to some extent via conduction in view of heat generated by drive source of the compressor), before being introduced into the asserted heat medium flow path 18].
Tokyo’s lubricating oil circulating through the compressor inevitably picks up heat from various components, such as “oil pump itself” (moving parts within the oil pump generate friction that translates into heat) or “casing portion 21” (operation of the compressor as a whole result in this casing portion 21 to get heated to some extent via conduction in view of heat generated by drive source of the compressor), before being introduced into the asserted heat medium flow path. Thus, it would have been obvious to the person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify Sato’s compressor for adding the features related to the lubricant oil flow path as taught by Tokyo for lubricating desired components such as bearings and crankshaft that are present in the compressor. Also, such an arrangement of the lubrication circuit in the compressor system improves thermal management of the discharge gas in the compressor system, as evidenced by Tokyo (see ¶2 of translation, lines 1-2).
Furthermore, the use of a fluid-filled jacket to control the temperature of a component (in this case, casing) is a well-known technique in the art. Sato’s jacket (124) is capable of being used for both heating and cooling the casing. The choice of heat medium would depend on the desired temperature control effect for the casing. The combination of Sato and Tokyo provides the necessary structure and fluid arrangement, while Hitachi provides the functional evidence to solve frosting issues through casing heating.
Regarding claim 12,
See rejection of claims 1 – 3 above. With respect to the further present limitation “wherein the heat medium flow path being configured to heat the casing using a retained heat of the lubricant oil flowing through the heat medium flow path”, it is to be noted that the “medium/fluid” flowing in this “medium flow path” is considered “heated” medium if it transfers heat to the casing and is considered “cooling” medium if it extracts heat from the casing.
Regarding claim 15,
Sato teaches the compressor, further comprising:
the casing (121; of Sato) which includes the partition wall (wall with hole 121a); and
a jacket cover (124, see Sato’s fig. 9) disposed on an outer surface (top surface, in view of fig. 9) of the head cover (121) and internally having a heat medium introduction space (125), wherein the heat medium introduction space forms the heat medium flow path; wherein the heat medium introduction space including an inlet hole (hole 124a).
Sato remains silent on the compressor: wherein the heat medium introduction space including an outlet hole; an oil pump; and a lubricant oil flow path forming a circulation path which includes the oil pump and the heat medium flow path, wherein the lubricant oil flow path connects the oil pump to the inlet hole.
However, Tokyo teaches a compressor (see ¶1 of translation: “electric compressor”), comprising (see page 2 of translation, line 1 onwards along with disclosed figure):
a heat medium introduction space (18) including an inlet hole (hole that communicates with 26a) and an outlet hole (hole that communicates with 28),
wherein the heat medium introduction space forms the heat medium flow path [path formed of 26a+18+28; heat medium flow path = path in which a heat medium (oil in this case) flows; lubricating oil circulating through the compressor inevitably picks up heat from various components, such as “oil pump itself” (moving parts within the oil pump generate friction that translates into heat) or “casing portion 21” (operation of the compressor as a whole result in this casing portion 21 to get heated to some extent via conduction in view of heat generated by drive source of the compressor), before being introduced into the asserted heat medium flow path 26a+18+28],
an oil pump (23; see page 2 of translation, line 53); and
a lubricant oil flow path (path shown by dotted arrows in fig. B below) formulating a circulation path which includes the oil pump and the heat medium flow path, wherein the lubricant oil flow path connects the oil pump to the inlet hole.
Fig. B: Edited fig. of Tokyo to show claim interpretation.
Sato’s “medium flow path” has water that cools the casing. Tokyo’s “medium flow path” has oil that cools the casing in addition to utilization of the oil to lubricate desired components such as crankshaft and/or bearings. Tokyo’s lubricating oil circulating through the compressor inevitably picks up heat from various components, such as “oil pump itself” (moving parts within the oil pump generate friction that translates into heat) or “casing portion 21” (operation of the compressor as a whole result in this casing portion 21 to get heated to some extent via conduction in view of heat generated by drive source of the compressor), before being introduced into the asserted heat medium flow path. Thus, it would have been obvious to the person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify Sato’s compressor for adding the features related to the lubricant oil flow path and heat medium flow path as taught by Tokyo for the purpose of providing an oil circuit that lubricates desired components such as bearings and crankshaft that are present in the compressor as well as eliminate the problems associated with water jacket structures, as recognized by Tokyo (see page 3 of translation, line 139 onwards).
Furthermore, the use of a fluid-filled jacket to control the temperature of a component (in this case, casing) is a well-known technique in the art. Sato’s jacket (124) is capable of being used for both heating and cooling the casing. The choice of heat medium would depend on the desired temperature control effect for the casing. The combination of Sato and Tokyo provides the necessary structure and fluid arrangement, while Hitachi provides the functional evidence to solve frosting issues through casing heating.
Claim 14 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sato in view of Tokyo and further in view of Mehring et al. (US 2012/0067306 – herein after Mehring).
Sato, as modified, teaches the compressor, comprising: the casing (121; of Sato) which includes the partition wall (wall with hole 121a); and a jacket cover (124, see Sato’s fig. 9) disposed on an outer surface (top surface, in view of fig. 9) of the head cover (121) and internally having a heat medium introduction space (125), wherein the heat medium introduction space forms the heat medium flow path; wherein the heat medium introduction space including an inlet hole (hole through which oil enters space 125 in the modified compressor) and an outlet hole (hole through which oil exits from space 125 in the modified compressor), wherein the lubricant oil flow path (see fig. B above) connects the oil pump (26; of Tokyo) to the inlet hole.
Sato, as modified, remains silent on the compressor, wherein the lubricant oil flow path connects the outlet hole to the part to be lubricated.
However, Mehring teaches a lubricant flow path (see fig. 1) in an engine such that this flow path is from oil sump (48) to pump (50) to cylinder head (12) to component to be lubricated (crankshaft bearing 46) and back to the oil sump. As implied by Mehring (see ¶48), friction in crankshaft bearings is affected by the provided oil’s temperature.
Depending on requirements, lubricant/oil’s temperature is critical to the bearings and its function. Thus, it would have been obvious to the person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the lubricant flow path in the modified compressor of Sato using the teaching of Mehring such that this lubricant flow path is from oil sump > pump > cylinder head (having heat medium flow path > component to be lubricated (such as crankshaft bearing) > oil sump for the purpose of having the desired reduced friction in the crankshaft bearing, as recognized by Mehring (see ¶48).
Claims 4 and 11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sato in view of Chung, Kuo Cheng (US 2007/0113583 – herein after Chung).
Regarding claim 4,
In Sato, some driving source to operate the compressor is inherently present.
Sato remains silent on the driving source being a compressor driving motor, and further does not teach the compressor, comprising a coolant flow path for cooling the compressor driving motor, wherein the coolant flow path communicates with the heat medium flow path.
However, Chung teaches a compressor, comprising (see ¶29 and fig. 1): a compressor driving motor (12); and a coolant flow path (path constituted by cooling channel 32) for cooling the compressor driving motor, wherein the coolant flow path communicates with the heat medium flow path (path constituted by cooling channel 31 and downstream of first outer section 33a).
It would have been obvious to the person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to substitute the generic driving means in Sato for “a compressor driving motor that is cooled by a coolant” as taught by Chung in the compressor of Sato in order to obtain the predictable result of providing power to the compressor in order to compress a gas/fluid. KSR Int’l v. Teleflex Inc., 127 S. Ct. 1727, 1740-41, 82 USPQ2d 1385, 1396 (2007). Furthermore, providing motor that is cooled by coolant improves the compressor efficiency by absorbing both the mechanical as well as electrical heat generated in the compressor, as recognized by Chung (see ¶27, ¶28).
Furthermore, it would have been obvious to the person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to utilize this coolant flow path in the modified compressor of Sato such that it communicates with Sato’s heat medium flow path for the purpose of having the desired temperature control effect for the casing by eliminating a need for separate and distinct “heat medium or fluid source” for casing’s temperature control.
Regarding claim 11,
Sato, as modified above in claim 1, does not teach the compressor, “wherein the heat medium flow path is configured such that a coolant, having cooled a motor for driving the compressor, flows through the heat medium flow path as the heat medium”.
However, Chung teaches a compressor, comprising (see ¶29 and fig. 1): a compressor driving motor (12); and a coolant flow path (path constituted by cooling channel 32) for cooling the compressor driving motor, wherein the heat medium flow path (path constituted by cooling channel 31 and downstream of first outer section 33a) is configured such that a coolant, having cooled a motor for driving the compressor (path constituted by cooling channel 32 that cools the motor), flows through the heat medium flow path as the heat medium (see ¶29: “The aforementioned working fluid passes the first cooling channel 31 first and then the second cooling channel 32; however it can flow in opposite direction, which depends on the actual necessity of the compressor as well”).
In Sato, some driving source to operate the compressor is inherently present. It would have been obvious to the person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to substitute the generic driving means in Sato for “a compressor driving motor that is cooled by a coolant” as taught by Chung in the compressor of Sato in order to obtain the predictable result of providing power to the compressor in order to compress a gas/fluid. KSR Int’l v. Teleflex Inc., 127 S. Ct. 1727, 1740-41, 82 USPQ2d 1385, 1396 (2007). Furthermore, providing motor that is cooled by coolant improves the compressor efficiency by absorbing both the mechanical as well as electrical heat generated in the compressor, as recognized by Chung (see ¶27, ¶28).
Furthermore, it would have been obvious to the person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to utilize this coolant flow path in the modified compressor of Sato such that it communicates with Sato’s heat medium flow path for the purpose of having the desired temperature control effect for the casing by eliminating a need for separate and distinct “heat medium or fluid source” for casing’s temperature control.
Claim 12 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sato et al. (US 2011/0203304 – herein after Sato; cited by applicant on IDS dated 04/11/2023) in view of Tokyo Shibura Denki Kabushuki Kaisa (JPS 5026405 – herein after Tokyo; cited by applicant on IDS dated 02/13/2023) and evidenced by Subramanya et al. (US 10,808,646 – herein after Subramanya).
In reference to claim 12, Sato teaches a compressor, comprising (see fig. 9; as per ¶126: “FIG. 9 illustrates an elevation plan of a cylinder top assembly 100 of the reciprocating compressor to be integrated in the refrigeration unit of the present invention. The reciprocating compressor of the present embodiment comprises a pair of cylinders”):
a discharge valve (118; see ¶130);
a discharge space (116; see ¶132) formed downstream of the discharge valve;
a casing (121) including a partition wall (wall with hole 121a) forming the discharge space;
a liquid injection hole (121a,123a or 121b,123b) for injecting a refrigerant liquid into the discharge space (see ¶134: “both of the head cover 121 and the cylinder exterior body 103 have through-bores 121a and 121b respectively which are connected to the branching pipe paths 122a and 122b respectively which correspond to the branching pipe path 9 of FIG. 1. The through-bore 121a opens to the inner wall of the head cover and the through-bore 121b opens to the passageway 107. And the injection nozzles 123a and 123b are installed in the openings of the through-bores 121a and 121b respectively. By this, the condensed refrigerant liquid from the liquid receiver not shown in the drawing is sprayed to the discharge chamber 116 and the passageway 107 via the branching pipe paths 122a and 122b”); and
a heat medium flow path (124a) located opposite to the discharge space across a partition wall (wall with hole 121a in 121) forming the discharge space (116) ) [heat medium flow path = path for a heat medium; in view of disclosure in ¶135: the asserted flow path is capable of carrying “heat medium”; naturally, when heat medium flows through this path its temperature would decrease in view of heat exchange with the low temperature (relative to the heat medium) partition wall].
Sato does not teach the compressor further comprising: “a part to be lubricated which includes at least one of a crank shaft or a bearing; a lubricant oil flow path through which a lubricant oil flows to the part to be lubricated; an oil pump for supplying the lubricant oil to the part to be lubricated through the lubricant oil flow path; and a heat medium flow path disposed in series with the lubricant oil flow path and located opposite to the discharge space across the partition wall forming the discharge space, the heat medium flow path being configured to heat the casing using a retained heat of the lubricant oil flowing through the heat medium flow path”.
However, Tokyo teaches a compressor (see ¶1 of translation: “electric compressor”), comprising (see page 2 of translation, line 1 onwards along with disclosed figure):
a part to be lubricated which includes at least one of a crank shaft or a bearing (crankshaft receiving portion of the auxiliary bearing 20);
a lubricant oil flow path (path shown by dotted arrows in fig. B above) through a lubricant oil (24) flows to the part to be lubricated (crankshaft receiving portion of the auxiliary bearing 20);
an oil pump (23; see page 2 of translation, line 53) for supplying (via element 27) the lubricant oil to the part to be lubricated through the lubricant oil flow path; and
a heat medium flow path [path formed of 26a+18+28; heat medium flow path = path in which a heat medium (oil in this case) flows; lubricating oil circulating through the compressor inevitably picks up heat from various components, such as “oil pump itself” (moving parts within the oil pump generate friction that translates into heat) or “casing portion 21” (operation of the compressor as a whole result in this casing portion 21 to get heated to some extent via conduction in view of heat generated by drive source of the compressor), before being introduced into the asserted heat medium flow path 26a+18+28] disposed in series (as evident from fig. B above) with the lubricant oil flow path and located opposite to the discharge space across the partition wall (see fig. B above) forming the discharge space (17).
Sato’s “medium flow path” has water that cools the casing. Tokyo’s “medium flow path” has oil that cools the casing in addition to utilization of the oil to lubricate desired components such as crankshaft and/or bearings. Thus, it would have been obvious to the person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify Sato’s compressor for adding the features related to the lubricant oil flow path and heat medium flow path as taught by Tokyo for the purpose of providing an oil circuit that lubricates desired components such as bearings and crankshaft that are present in the compressor as well as eliminate the problems associated with water jacket structures, as recognized by Tokyo (see page 3 of translation, line 139 onwards).
With respect to the limitations “a heat medium flow path, wherein the heat medium flow path being configured to heat the casing using a retained heat of the lubricant oil flowing through the heat medium flow path”, it is to be noted that the “medium/fluid” flowing in this “medium flow path” is considered “heated” medium if it transfers heat to the casing and is considered “cooling” medium if it extracts heat from the casing. As evidenced by Subramanya (see col. 1, lines 29-42), casing’s temperature is dependent on gas temperature which is variable during compression or expansion process. This claimed “medium flow path” in the modified compressor of Sato and Tokyo is considered to be “heat medium flow path” because it carries lubricating oil that picks up heat from various components, such as “oil pump itself” (moving parts within the oil pump generate friction that translates into heat) or “casing portion 21” (operation of the compressor as a whole result in this casing portion 21 to get heated to some extent via conduction in view of heat generated by drive source of the compressor), before being introduced into the asserted heat medium flow path 26a+18+28; and thus, this heat medium flow path (through which lubricant oil flows) is capable of heating the casing using a retained heat of the lubricant oil flowing through the heat medium flow path in an event gas’s or casing’s temperature is lower than lubricant oil’s temperature which is present in the heat medium flow path. It is also to be noted that in this modified compressor, injection of refrigerant liquid via Sato’s injection nozzle 121a into Sato’s discharge space 116 controls the temperature of the discharge gas and thus, in turn, temperature of the casing itself. If the casing is cooler than the lubricating oil, then the heat medium flow path “heats” the casing in view of heat energy conducted from the oil to the casing.
Claims 13 and 14 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sato in view of Tokyo and Subramanya (evidentiary reference) further in view of Mehring et al. (US 2012/0067306 – herein after Mehring).
Regarding claim 13,
Sato, as modified, remains silent on the compressor, comprising: wherein the heat medium flow path is disposed between the oil pump and the part to be lubricated such that the lubricant oil cooled by the casing in the heat medium flow path is supplied to the part to be lubricated.
However, Mehring teaches a lubricant flow path (see fig. 1) in an engine such that this flow path is from oil sump (48) to pump (50) to cylinder head (12) to component to be lubricated (crankshaft bearing 46) and back to the oil sump. As implied by Mehring (see ¶48), friction in crankshaft bearings is affected by the provided oil’s temperature.
Depending on requirements, lubricant/oil’s temperature is critical to the bearings and its function. Thus, it would have been obvious to the person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the lubricant flow path in the modified compressor of Sato using the teaching of Mehring such that this lubricant flow path is from oil sump > pump > cylinder head (having heat medium flow path > component to be lubricated (such as crankshaft bearing) > oil sump for the purpose of having the desired reduced friction in the crankshaft bearing, as recognized by Mehring (see ¶48).
Thus, Sato, as modified, teaches the compressor, wherein the heat medium flow path is disposed between the oil pump and the part to be lubricated such that the lubricant oil cooled by the casing in the heat medium flow path is supplied to the part to be lubricated.
Regarding claim 14,
Sato, as modified, teaches the compressor, comprising: the casing (121; of Sato) which includes the partition wall (wall with hole 121a); and a jacket cover (124, see Sato’s fig. 9) disposed on an outer surface (top surface, in view of fig. 9) of the head cover (121) and internally having a heat medium introduction space (125), wherein the heat medium introduction space forms the heat medium flow path; wherein the heat medium introduction space including an inlet hole (hole through which oil enters space 125 in the modified compressor) and an outlet hole (hole through which oil exits from space 125 in the modified compressor).
Sato, as modified, remains silent on the compressor, wherein the lubricant oil flow path connects the oil pump to the inlet hole and connects the outlet hole to the part to be lubricated.
However, Mehring teaches a lubricant flow path (see fig. 1) in an engine such that this flow path is from oil sump (48) to pump (50) to cylinder head (12) to component to be lubricated (crankshaft bearing 46) and back to the oil sump. As implied by Mehring (see ¶48), friction in crankshaft bearings is affected by the provided oil’s temperature.
Depending on requirements, lubricant/oil’s temperature is critical to the bearings and its function. Thus, it would have been obvious to the person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the lubricant flow path in the modified compressor of Sato using the teaching of Mehring such that this lubricant flow path is from oil sump > pump > cylinder head (having heat medium flow path > component to be lubricated (such as crankshaft bearing) > oil sump for the purpose of having the desired reduced friction in the crankshaft bearing, as recognized by Mehring (see ¶48).
Claims 1, 5 and 7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Alsenz, Richard H (US 5,694,780 – herein after Alsenz) in view of Hitachi, Ltd. (JPS 5455503U – herein after Hitachi; cited by applicant on IDS dated 02/13/2023).
In reference to claim 1, Alsenz teaches a compressor (14, see fig. 5), comprising (see fig. 1):
a discharge valve (73);
a discharge space (see fig. C below) formed downstream of the discharge valve;
a casing (71) including a partition wall (see fig. C below) forming the discharge space;
a liquid injection hole (12) for injecting a refrigerant liquid into the discharge space (see col. 2, lines 55-67 and col. 3, lines 1-20).
Fig. C: Edited fig. 1 of Alsenz to show claim interpretation.
Alsenz does not teach a compressor comprising “a heat medium flow path” located opposite to the discharge space across a partition wall forming the discharge space and the heat medium flow “being configured such that a heat medium for heating the casing flows through the heat medium flow path, and a temperature of the heat medium decreases when passing through the heat medium flow path”.
However, Hitachi teaches a compression system provided with a heat medium flow path for preventing the casing from freezing (see disclosure in ¶2 of translation), wherein “the heat medium flow path (8+5) is across a partition wall (labelled “W” in fig. D below) and is configured such that a heat medium for heating the casing (1) flows through the heat medium flow path, and a temperature of the heat medium decreases (as the heat medium heats up the casing for preventing it from freezing) when passing through the heat medium flow path”.
Fig. D: Edited fig. of Hitachi to show claim interpretation.
It would have been obvious to the person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify Alsenz’s compressor for providing a heat medium flow path across the discharge chamber as taught by Hitachi for the purpose of preventing the casing from freezing, as recognized by Hitachi above.
In reference to claim 5, Alsenz teaches the compressor, comprising:
a compressor casing (79);
a cylinder (76) disposed in the compressor casing;
a piston (75) for reciprocating inside the cylinder; and
a valve plate (see fig. C above; the asserted wall is regarded to be the valve plate since it supports or forms a seat for the exhaust valve 73) disposed at one end (top end) of the cylinder and configured to support the discharge valve (73), wherein the casing (71) is a head cover.
In reference to claim 7, Alsenz teaches the compressor, wherein the liquid injection hole (12) includes:
a through hole (labelled “h1” in fig. C above) formed in the valve plate; and
a communication hole (labelled “h2” in fig. C above) disposed in a wall portion (labelled “wp” in fig. C above) of the compressor casing (79) and communicating with the through hole to cause the through hole to communicate with an external space (external space either constituted by reservoir 44 or pump 100 or both).
Response to Arguments
A second non-final action is hereby issued in view of rejection of claim 1 under 35 USC 102 instead of 35 USC 103 (see interview summary dated 11/13/2025 for details).
Applicant's arguments filed 12/09/2025 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
The Applicant contends that "configured to" should be given patentable weight as a functional limitation, requiring the structure to be specifically designed for the recited purpose, rather than merely being "capable of" it. The Applicant cites Ex parte Matsumura to support a narrower interpretation of functional language.
In the context of an apparatus claim, the Broadest Reasonable Interpretation (BRI) focuses on whether the prior art contains a structural equivalent. While Matsumura involved a complex software/hardware integration for 3D imaging, the structure in the present case is a physical flow path or jacket. Sato’s water jacket (124) and Tokyo’s cooling chamber (18) are structural conduits. A physical conduit designed to carry fluid for cooling is structurally indistinguishable from one designed to carry fluid for heating. Because these prior art structures are inherently positioned to transfer heat with the casing, they meet the structural requirement of the claim regardless of the intended temperature of the medium.
The Applicant argues that Sato’s purpose is to decrease the temperature of discharge gas. Modifying this system to heat the casing using Hitachi’s teaching would counteract Sato’s cooling goal and thus change the reference’s principle of operation.
The principle of operation for a reciprocating compressor is the compression cycle itself. Casing temperature management is an auxiliary maintenance function. Sato already employs a dual-cooling strategy using both liquid refrigerant injection and a water jacket. Heating the external casing to prevent frost (as taught by Hitachi) does not prevent the internal cooling of the discharge gas via liquid injection. A person having ordinary skill in the art (PHOSITA) would recognize that managing external frosting is a separate engineering requirement that does not "deteriorate" the internal efficiency goals of Sato. Further, Applicant has not provided any structure of the “heat flow path” that is different from the “flow path” disclosed by Sato. The nature of the medium (cooling or heating medium) flowing through the flow path will depend on the intend use and will not necessitate a different design of the flow path based on whether heating or cooling medium is flowing through it.
The Applicant asserts there is no motivation to modify Sato with Hitachi because Sato does not disclose that its casing would freeze or require heating.
This argument is moot in view of new grounds of rejection in this office action. However, it is to be noted that obviousness does not require the primary reference to explicitly state the problem solved by the modification if the problem is a known consequence of the reference’s operation. The Applicant’s own specification admits that aggressive cooling of discharge gas leads to the specific secondary problem of "a large amount of frost" on the surface of the compressor. PHOSITA, implementing the intensive cooling taught by Sato, would predictably encounter this frosting issue. Hitachi provides the evidence that heating the shell is a well-known solution for this exact drawback in the compressor art.
The Applicant argues the Examiner must explain how the prior art inherently possesses the functional limitations, rather than merely having the capacity to perform them.
A flow path is inherently a "heat medium flow path" because it facilitates heat transfer between a fluid and a partition wall by its very geometry and location. Sato’s jacket (124) is a physical cavity across a partition wall from the discharge space. Since the physical structure exists and is positioned to exchange heat, it inherently possesses the functionally defined limitations of the claimed apparatus when used with any fluid of a different temperature than the wall.
The Applicant argues that Alsenz and Hitachi teach "completely opposite" solutions for "completely opposite" problems. Specifically, Alsenz is designed to prevent high temperatures that cause failure, while Hitachi provides an antifreeze device for cryogenic compressors. The Applicant contends that adding a heating path to Alsenz would counteract its primary purpose of cooling the discharge gas, thereby changing its principle of operation. The Applicant asserts there is no motivation to combine the references because there is no indication Alsenz’s casing would freeze without the modification.
Obviousness does not require the prior art to address the identical problem as the claimed invention, but rather that the modifications result in the claimed invention. The Applicant’s own specification admits that a known drawback of cooling discharge gas (as taught by Alsenz) is that a "large amount of frost may occur on a surface of the compressor". Hitachi explicitly teaches that managing casing temperature using a high-temperature flow path is a well-known solution to prevent casing freezing or frosting in compressor systems. PHOSITA, observing the frosting caused by Alsenz’s primary cooling strategy, would look to the established casing management teachings of Hitachi to solve this predictable secondary issue. The "principle of operation" for Alsenz is the compression cycle utilizing liquid injection to manage internal gas temperature. Heating the external casing to prevent surface frost (as taught by Hitachi) is an auxiliary maintenance function that does not interfere with the internal cooling of the discharge gas. Because the heat medium flow path is located across a partition wall from the discharge space, these two thermal processes are spatially distinct and do not "deteriorate" the fundamental operation of the Alsenz compressor.
A motivation to modify prior art can be found in the need to remedy an inherent drawback of the prior art system. As previously noted, the Applicant’s disclosure confirms that frosting is a direct consequence of the intensive cooling used in such compressors. Hitachi provides evidence that PHOSITAs were well aware of the need for "antifreeze" devices in compressors to avoid time loss during inspections or operation. Implementing Hitachi’s heating strategy in Alsenz is a predictable use of known elements for their established functions.
The Applicant submits that Claims 12–15 are patentable for the same reasons as Claim 1. However, as discussed in the formulated rejection of Claim 2, the combination of Sato and Tokyo explicitly addresses the series/parallel arrangement of lubricant oil, which provides a further basis for rejection regardless of the heating/cooling function of the medium
Conclusion
/CHIRAG JARIWALA/Examiner, Art Unit 3746
/ESSAMA OMGBA/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3746