DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Response to Amendment
The amendment filed 02/25/2026 has been entered. Claims 1-6, 8-9, 12-13, and 15-17 remain pending in the application.
Claim Objections
Claim 16 is objected to because of the following informalities:
Regarding claim 16, “and removing the cooked egg product” should read “.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-4, 6, 12-13, and 16-17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hairsine (US 20050136172 A1) in view of Fauconnet (FR 2968182 A1), Coban (WO 2017176223 A1), Peers (US 20150327709 A1), and Dzieduszycki (US 20150024107 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Hairsine teaches (Paragraph 0008-0009, 0015-0016) methods for mass producing cooked eggs, wherein mold depressions (pockets) are arranged side to side in a pan and the contents of an egg shell are allowed to fall into each mold at an egg breaking location (liquid egg station) followed by conveyance of the molds into a heating area (cooking station) where the egg contents in each mold are cooked. Additionally, Hairsine teaches (Paragraph 0042, 0044) the egg product can be cooked to a minimum temperature of 170 degrees Fahrenheit, which fully cooks the egg. Hairsine further teaches (Paragraph 0042) the egg product deposited into the molds of the pan are in liquid form. Also, Hairsine teaches (Paragraph 0008) removing the cooked egg products from the molds after cooking and cooling the cooked egg products. Furthermore, Hairsine teaches (Paragraph 0045; Fig. 7# 204, 206, 208, 210, 212, 214, 216, 218) molds 204, and 206, and 206 (pockets) include a first downwardly extending or sloped region 210 (perimeter side wall) followed by a first planar horizontal region 212 (bottom wall), which is followed by a second downwardly sloped or extending region 214 followed in turn by a bottom region (depressed portion) which is a cupped or rounded region 216 for molds 204 and 206 or flat region 218 for mold 208.
Hairsine is silent on the perimeter side wall extending inwardly. Additionally, Hairsine is silent on the percentage of an area of the bottom wall that comprises the depressed portion being in the range of approximately 30 percent to approximately 70 percent of the area of the bottom wall. Hairsine is further silent on cooking the egg product with moisture at the cooking station. Also, Hairsine is silent on providing a moving belt onto which each cooked egg product will fall for conveyance to a cooling area.
Fauconnet teaches (Page 1, lines 14-15, 28-29) an improvement for a kitchen utensil for cooking food such as a frying pan, sauté pan or wok wherein at least the upper part of the peripheral wall is curved towards the inside of the enclosure.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify method of Hairsine to provide a pan with pockets including a side wall that extends inwardly in view of Fauconnet since both are directed to methods of cooking food in pans including perimeter side walls, where Hairsine discloses a pan with multiple pockets, since providing a cooking pan with an inwardly extending perimeter side wall is known in the art as shown by Fauconnet, since an inwardly extending side wall would help retain the egg reducing the potential for spills, since an inwardly extending side wall would partially cover the mold/pocket interior and reduce the amount of moisture or particulate matter that would spatter outside of the mold/pocket during cooking, thus lowering the need for cleaning and retaining desired moisture, since an inwardly extending side wall would reduce the exposed area of the food, preventing contamination and reducing the likelihood of human contact that could otherwise cause burns, and since configuring the walls in sections, either curved or rectilinear to be oriented inwards, and following one another in different orders, results in a succession of several sections with different profiles, prevents food from sticking to the walls, and, therefore, breaks the suction effect (Fauconnet, Page 3, lines 120-123; Page 4, lines 128-129).
Additionally, the claimed bottom wall with a depressed portion approximately 30 percent to approximately 70 percent of the area of the bottom wall would have been used during the course of normal experimentation and optimization procedures in the method of Hairsine, based upon factors such as the desired size and shape of the cooked eggs, the amount of eggs added to the pan (where a larger depressed portion could hold a greater amount of liquid egg), the intended thickness of the cooked egg (where a larger depressed portion will result in a thicker cooked egg), the available cooking and cooling time (where increasing the area of the depressed portion will increase the volume of the pan and the liquid egg, increasing the time to cook through and cool through completely), etc. Furthermore, the Applicant does not appear to have identified any unique or unexpected benefit, nor demonstrated criticality, from the claimed depressed portion comprising approximately 30 percent to approximately 70 percent of the area of the bottom wall that would render it non-obvious.
Further, since Hairsine is silent with regards to the percentage of an area of the bottom wall that comprises the depressed portion being in the range of approximately 30 percent to approximately 70 percent of the area of the bottom wall, one of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to look to the art for suitable percentage areas for the depressed portion.
Coban teaches (Page 1, lines 34-37; Page 2, lines 1-2, 26-27) a method of preparing a chocolate egg in a die (pocket) with a main cavity and an auxiliary cavity (depressed portion) with an area which is 5-50% of the surface area of the main cavity, which overlaps with the claimed range.
Selection of a known configuration (percentage area of the depressed portion) based on its suitability for its intended use (holding and shaping a food item) supports a prima facie obviousness determination (See MPEP 2144.07).
Peers teaches (Paragraph 0006, 0065-0066, 0103; Fig. 5 #3, 4, 41) a device and method for preparing a food product, e.g. a cooked egg product, wherein a plurality of holders 4 for holding the food product are moved by a conveyor 41 through a treatment zone 3 (cooking station) where heating may be arranged for heating the food product by means including water vapor and steam (moisture).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify Hairsine to cook the egg with a combination of heat and moisture as taught by Peers since both are directed to methods of preparing egg food products by conveying the eggs in holders through cooking stations, since cooking an egg with a combination of heat and moisture is known in the art as shown by Peers, since moisture can prevent the egg from drying out and adhering to the pan and/or burning, since cooking with steam or water vapor can ensure that the entirety of the food is heated rather than just the egg surface in contact with the pan, and since steam/moisture can cook the food without adding ingredients that may undesirably affect the nutritional value of the egg like fat or oil.
Dzieduszycki teaches (Paragraph 0003, 0013) a method of preparing waffles, wherein the output of a waffle oven, full waffles, travel on a conveyor belt or other mechanical system to a cooling area where the waffles are sliced and then packaged, wherein, at the end of the waffle oven, waffle irons are separated and the waffle formed therebetween is dropped onto a conveyor belt by which the waffle is carried for cooling.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify Hairsine to provide a moving belt onto which each cooked egg product will fall for conveyance to a cooling area in view of Dzieduszycki since both are directed to methods of cooking food products in molding containers followed by removal and cooling, since Hairsine teaches removing cooked eggs from molds and subsequently cooling the eggs, since dropping a cooked food product onto a conveyor for conveyance to a cooling area is known in the art as shown by Dzieduszycki, since dropping the food product onto a conveyor belt will remove the need for manual transfer to the cooling area, lowering labor costs and preventing contamination, and since providing a moving belt onto which each cooked egg product will fall for conveyance to a cooling area allows for continuous production, allowing for production of a large number of egg products.
Regarding claim 2, Hairsine discloses (Paragraph 0038, 0051-0052; Fig. 3, 10-12 #250, 254) embodiments of the egg product produced using the mold, wherein cooked egg products 250 and 254 may be seen to have four raised regions, one in each quadrant, the result of being cooked in the secondary depressions of the molds of FIGS. 8 and 9. As shown in the Figures, the eggs are relatively flat and have an outwardly facing surface and are resting on top of another opposite surface, where one of the surfaces is produced by contact with bottom wall of the pocket as described above.
Hairsine does not explicitly disclose which surface is the top surface and which surface is the bottom surface, but the selection of a top or bottom surface (i.e. the orientation of the cooked egg) would have been obvious to try since producing a cooked egg product with opposite facing surfaces is known in the art as shown by Hairsine, since the selection of the top and bottom surface has a finite number of identified, predictable potential solutions (the surface in contact with the bottom of the mold is bottom surface and the opposite surface is the top surface or vice versa), and since one of ordinary skill in the art could have pursued these known potential solutions with a reasonable expectation of success (See MPEP 2143 E).
Regarding claim 3, Hairsine discloses (Paragraph 0038, 0051-0052; Fig. 3, 10-12 #250, 254) embodiments of the egg product produced using the mold, wherein cooked egg products 250 and 254 may be seen to have an irregular height surface including four raised regions, one in each quadrant, the result of being cooked in the secondary depressions of the molds of FIGS. 8 and 9. As shown in the Figures, the eggs are relatively flat and have an outwardly facing surface and are resting on top of another opposite surface, where one of the surfaces is produced by contact with bottom wall of the pocket as described above.
Hairsine does not explicitly disclose which surface is the top surface and which surface is the bottom surface, but the selection of the irregular heigh surface as the top surface (i.e. the orientation of the cooked egg) would have been obvious to try since producing a cooked egg product with opposite facing surfaces is known in the art as shown by Hairsine, since the selection of the top surface has a finite number of identified, predictable potential solutions (the surface in contact with the bottom of the mold is bottom surface and the opposite surface is the top surface or vice versa), and since one of ordinary skill in the art could have pursued these known potential solutions with a reasonable expectation of success (See MPEP 2143 E).
Regarding claim 4, Hairsine discloses (Paragraph 0038, 0051-0052; Fig. 3, 10-12 #250, 254) embodiments of the egg product produced using the mold, wherein cooked egg products 250 and 254 may be seen to have an irregular height surface including four raised regions, one in each quadrant, the result of being cooked in the secondary depressions of the molds of FIGS. 8 and 9. As shown in the Figures, the eggs are relatively flat and have an outwardly facing surface and are resting on top of another opposite surface, where one of the surfaces is produced by contact with bottom wall of the pocket as described above.
Hairsine does not explicitly disclose which surface is the top surface and which surface is the bottom surface, but the selection of the irregular heigh surface as the top surface (i.e. the orientation of the cooked egg) would have been obvious to try since producing a cooked egg product with opposite facing surfaces is known in the art as shown by Hairsine, since the selection of the top surface has a finite number of identified, predictable potential solutions (the surface in contact with the bottom of the mold is bottom surface and the opposite surface is the top surface or vice versa), and since one of ordinary skill in the art could have pursued these known potential solutions with a reasonable expectation of success (See MPEP 2143 E).
Also, while Hairsine alone does not describe the use of moisture in the cooking, and such a feature is obvious in view of Peers, as shown above, one of ordinary skill in the art would recognize that the surface of the egg would still be irregular when moisture is used in cooking, since the irregular surface is a result of the molding, as shown above, and there is no obvious effect from the addition of moisture that would prevent the surface from being irregular.
Regarding claim 6, Hairsine teaches (Paragraph 0016) the molds (pockets) used and the resulting cooked eggs can have irregular outlines (perimeters) as shown in Figures 4-6.
Regarding claim 12, Hairsine is silent on the side wall of each of the pockets comprising at least a portion that is curved.
Regarding claim 13, Hairsine is silent on the side wall of each of the pockets comprises at least a portion that is straight.
Fauconnet teaches (Page 1, lines 14-15, Page 3, lines 94-96; Fig. 1 #10; Fig. 3A #S1, S2) an improvement for a kitchen utensil for cooking food such as a frying pan, sauté pan or wok wherein a peripheral side wall has a first section (S1) having a curved profile open towards the inside of the enclosure (10) and a second consecutive and adjacent section (S2) having a rectilinear (straight) profile whose upper part is oriented towards the inside of the enclosure.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify Hairsine to provide a side wall with at least a portion that is curved and at least a portion that is straight as taught by Fauconnet since both are directed to methods of cooking food in pans including perimeter side walls, since providing a cooking pan with a side wall comprising at least a portion that is curved and at least a portion that is straight is known in the art as shown by Fauconnet, since the curved portion of the side wall would prevent food/egg from getting stuck between the side wall and the bottom wall, since making at least a portion of the side wall straight would simplify construction, since a curved portion will simplify cleaning of the pan by removing the need to clean a crevice between the side and bottom walls, since a straight portion will allow the egg/food to be more easily removed when the pan is inverted by allowing the egg slide down the straight edge instead of being stuck in a curve, and since the succession of several sections with different profiles prevents food from sticking to the walls and therefore breaks the suction effect (Fauconnet, Page 4, lines 128-129).
Regarding claim 16, Hairsine teaches (Paragraph 0008-0009, 0015-0016) methods for mass producing cooked eggs, wherein mold depressions (pockets) are arranged side to side in a pan and the contents of an egg shell are allowed to fall into each mold at an egg breaking location (liquid egg station) followed by conveyance of the molds into a heating area (cooking station) where the egg contents in each mold are cooked. Additionally, Hairsine teaches (Paragraph 0042, 0044) the egg product can be cooked to a minimum temperature of 170 degrees Fahrenheit, which fully cooks the egg. Hairsine further teaches (Paragraph 0042) the egg product deposited into the molds of the pan are in liquid form. Also, Hairsine teaches (Paragraph 0008) removing the cooked egg products from the molds after cooking and cooling the cooked egg products. Furthermore, Hairsine teaches (Paragraph 0045; Fig. 7# 204, 210, 212, 214, 216) mold 204 (pocket) includes a first downwardly extending or sloped region 210 (side wall) followed by a first planar horizontal region 212 (bottom wall), which is followed by a second downwardly sloped or extending region 214 followed in turn by a bottom cupped or rounded region 216 (depressed portion). Furthermore, Hairsine teaches (Paragraph 0045; Fig. 7# 204, 206, 208, 210, 212, 214, 216, 218) molds 204, and 206, and 206 (pockets) include a first downwardly extending or sloped region 210 (side wall) followed by a first planar horizontal region 212 (bottom wall), which is followed by a second downwardly sloped or extending region 214 followed in turn by a bottom region (depressed portion) which is a cupped or rounded region 216 for molds 204 and 206 or flat region 218 for mold 208. As shown in Figures 4-7, the molds (pockets) include top openings with outer perimeter shapes, with the side wall extending between the top opening and the bottom wall.
Hairsine is silent on the percentage of an area of the bottom wall that comprises the depressed portion being in the range of approximately 30 percent to approximately 70 percent of the area of the bottom wall. Additionally, Hairsine is silent on the side wall being contoured along its height to provide at least one area with a perimeter that is larger than the outer perimeter shape of the top opening. Hairsine is further silent on cooking the egg product with moisture at the cooking station. Also, Hairsine is silent on providing a moving belt onto which each cooked egg product will fall for conveyance to a cooling area.
Additionally, the claimed bottom wall with a depressed portion approximately 30 percent to approximately 70 percent of the area of the bottom wall would have been used during the course of normal experimentation and optimization procedures in the method of Hairsine, based upon factors such as the desired size and shape of the cooked eggs, the amount of eggs added to the pan (where a larger depressed portion could hold a greater amount of liquid egg), the intended thickness of the cooked egg (where a larger depressed portion will result in a thicker cooked egg), the available cooking and cooling time (where increasing the area of the depressed portion will increase the volume of the pan and the liquid egg, increasing the time to cook through and cool through completely), etc. Furthermore, the Applicant does not appear to have identified any unique or unexpected benefit, nor demonstrated criticality, from the claimed depressed portion comprising approximately 30 percent to approximately 70 percent of the area of the bottom wall that would render it non-obvious.
Further, since Hairsine is silent with regards to the percentage of an area of the bottom wall that comprises the depressed portion being in the range of approximately 30 percent to approximately 70 percent of the area of the bottom wall, one of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to look to the art for suitable percentage areas for the depressed portion.
Coban teaches (Page 1, lines 34-37; Page 2, lines 1-2, 26-27) a method of preparing a chocolate egg in a die (pocket) with a main cavity and an auxiliary cavity (depressed portion) with an area which is 5-50% of the surface area of the main cavity, which overlaps with the claimed range.
Selection of a known configuration (percentage area of the depressed portion) based on its suitability for its intended use (holding and shaping a food item) supports a prima facie obviousness determination (See MPEP 2144.07).
Fauconnet teaches (Page 1, lines 14-15, 28-29) an improvement for a kitchen utensil for cooking food such as a frying pan, sauté pan or wok wherein at least the upper part of the peripheral wall is curved towards the inside of the enclosure. As shown in Figures 1 and 2, this curvature results in the side wall being contoured along its height to provide at least one area with a perimeter that is larger than the outer perimeter shape of the top opening.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify method of Hairsine to provide a pan with pockets including a side wall being contoured along its height to provide at least one area with a perimeter that is larger than the outer perimeter shape of the top opening in view of Fauconnet since both are directed to methods of cooking food in pans including perimeter side walls, where Hairsine discloses a pan with multiple pockets, since providing a cooking pan with the side wall being contoured along its height to provide at least one area with a perimeter that is larger than the outer perimeter shape of the top opening is known in the art as shown by Fauconnet, since the side wall being contoured along its height to provide at least one area with a perimeter that is larger than the outer perimeter shape of the top opening would help retain the egg reducing the potential for spills, since a side wall contoured along its height to provide at least one area with a perimeter that is larger than the outer perimeter shape of the top opening would partially cover the mold/pocket interior and reduce the amount of moisture or particulate matter that would spatter outside of the mold/pocket during cooking, thus lowering the need for cleaning and retaining desired moisture, since the side wall being contoured along its height to provide at least one area with a perimeter that is larger than the outer perimeter shape of the top opening would reduce the exposed area of the food, preventing contamination and reducing the likelihood of human contact that could otherwise cause burns, and since configuring the walls in sections, either curved or rectilinear to be oriented inwards, and following one another in different orders, results in a succession of several sections with different profiles, prevents food from sticking to the walls, and, therefore, breaks the suction effect (Fauconnet, Page 3, lines 120-123; Page 4, lines 128-129).
Peers teaches (Paragraph 0006, 0065-0066, 0103; Fig. 5 #3, 4, 41) a device and method for preparing a food product, e.g. a cooked egg product, wherein a plurality of holders 4 for holding the food product are moved by a conveyor 41 through a treatment zone 3 (cooking station) where heating may be arranged for heating the food product by means including water vapor and steam (moisture).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify Hairsine to cook the egg with a combination of heat and moisture as taught by Peers since both are directed to methods of preparing egg food products by conveying the eggs in holders through cooking stations, since cooking an egg with a combination of heat and moisture is known in the art as shown by Peers, since moisture can prevent the egg from drying out and adhering to the pan and/or burning, since cooking with steam or water vapor can ensure that the entirety of the food is heated rather than just the egg surface in contact with the pan, and since steam/moisture can cook the food without adding ingredients that may undesirably affect the nutritional value of the egg like fat or oil.
Dzieduszycki teaches (Paragraph 0003, 0013) a method of preparing waffles, wherein the output of a waffle oven, full waffles, travel on a conveyor belt or other mechanical system to a cooling area where the waffles are sliced and then packaged, wherein, at the end of the waffle oven, waffle irons are separated and the waffle formed therebetween is dropped onto a conveyor belt by which the waffle is carried for cooling.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify Hairsine to provide a moving belt onto which each cooked egg product will fall for conveyance to a cooling area in view of Dzieduszycki since both are directed to methods of cooking food products in molding containers followed by removing and cooling, since Hairsine teaches removing cooked eggs from molds and subsequently cooling the eggs, since dropping a cooked food product onto a conveyor for conveyance to a cooling area is known in the art as shown by Dzieduszycki, since dropping the food product onto a conveyor belt will remove the need for manual transfer to the cooling area, lowering labor costs and preventing contamination, and since providing a moving belt onto which each cooked egg product will fall for conveyance to a cooling area allows for continuous production, allowing for production of a large number of egg products.
Regarding claim 17, Hairsine is silent on the side wall of at least one of the pockets comprising a convex portion (which is understood to be a portion that “extends or "bulges" outwardly as compared to a wall that would be perpendicular to the bottom wall of the respective pocket” as described in Paragraph 0036 of the Applicant’s Specification).
Fauconnet teaches (Page 1, lines 14-15, Page 3, lines 88-90; Fig. 1 #10; Fig. 3 #S1, S2) an improvement for a kitchen utensil for cooking food such as a frying pan, sauté pan or wok wherein the peripheral side wall (3) has a succession of several sections (S1-S2), (S1-S2-S3-S4), (S1-S2-S3), (S1-S2-S3-S4-S5), successive with different profiles as shown in Figures 2 and 3a-3h. As shown by section S1 of Figure 2a, section S2 of Figure 3g, section S1 of Figure 3h, etc., several embodiments of Fauconnet have a convex portion.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify Hairsine to provide a side wall with a convex portion as taught by Fauconnet since both are directed to methods of cooking food in pans including perimeter side walls, since providing a cooking pan with a side wall comprising a convex portion is known in the art as shown by Fauconnet, since the convex portion of the side wall would prevent food/egg from getting stuck between the side wall and the bottom wall, since a convex portion will simplify cleaning of the pan by removing the need to clean a crevice between the side and bottom walls, since a convex portion can partially enclose the food and prevent accidental spilling, trap in heat and moisture, and prevent accidental contamination or contact of the food, and since the succession of several sections with different profiles prevents food from sticking to the walls and therefore breaks the suction effect (Fauconnet, Page 4, lines 128-129).
Claim(s) 5 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hairsine (US 20050136172 A1) in view of Fauconnet (FR 2968182 A1), Coban (WO 2017176223 A1), Peers (US 20150327709 A1), and Dzieduszycki (US 20150024107 A1, and further in view of Future Neighbor (How to: Korean Steamed Eggs!).
Regarding claim 5, Hairsine, as modified above, is silent on the step of cooking the egg product at the cooking station further comprising providing sufficient relative humidity to cause the egg product to shrink inwardly from the perimeter side wall.
Future Neighbor teaches (1:12, 1:50, 1:55, 2:44) a method of preparing Korean steamed eggs comprising filling a pot with ¾ cups of water, mixing in egg, and heating to completion, where, as shown in Figures 4 and 5, the egg is initially in contact with the sides of the pot, but has shrunken inwardly from the side wall by the completion of cooking.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify Hairsine providing sufficient relative humidity to cause the egg product to shrink inwardly from the perimeter side wall in view of Future Neighbor since both are directed to methods of preparing cooked eggs, since cooking eggs with moisture/humidity is known in the art from Peers and Future Neighbor, since cooking an egg in a container with heat and moisture such that the egg shrinks inwardly from the side wall is known in the art as shown by Future Neighbor, since cooking the egg such that it shrinks from the side wall will allow the egg to be more easily removed and prevent it from getting stuck in the container, since cooking the egg such that it shrinks from the side wall will allow the egg to be removed as a whole piece rather than having to be broken down to remove from the container, and since some consumers will prefer cooked eggs with a small or more condensed size or area.
Claim(s) 8 and 9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hairsine (US 20050136172 A1) in view of Fauconnet (FR 2968182 A1), Coban (WO 2017176223 A1), Peers (US 20150327709 A1), and Dzieduszycki (US 20150024107 A1, and further in view of Lee (US 20150030734 A1).
Regarding claim 8, Hairsine, as modified above, is silent on a step of preheating the pan prior to depositing the liquid egg product into at least one of the pockets.
Lee teaches (Paragraph 0002, 0090) a method of providing homestyle egg product portions, wherein a plurality of moving heated pockets are provided and egg product portions are placed into each heated pocket. Lee further teaches (Paragraph 0052) the heated pockets can consist of pan-shaped containers supported on top of a belt.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify Hairsine to preheat the pan prior to depositing the egg product as taught by Lee since both are directed to methods of cooking egg products in pans, since preheating pans prior to depositing the eggs in the pans is known in the art as shown by Lee, since preheating the pan can reduce the overall cooking time for the process, raising the production rate of cooked eggs, and since preheating the pans can help destroy bacteria or other harmful substances that may reside on the pan surface.
Regarding claim 9, Hairsine, as modified above, is silent on a step of pre-treating the at least one pocket with a non-stick material prior to the step of depositing the liquid egg product into at least one of the pockets.
Lee teaches (Paragraph 0002, 0090, 0092) a method of providing homestyle egg product portions, wherein a plurality of moving heated pockets are provided and egg product portions are placed into each heated pocket, wherein a release agent (non-stick material) can be added to the heated pockets prior to placing the eggs to aid in the removal of the egg product portion from the heated pocket.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify Hairsine to pre-treat the at least one pocket with a non-stick material prior to the step of depositing the liquid egg product into at least one of the pockets as taught by Lee since both are directed to methods of cooking egg products in pans, since pre-treating the at least one pocket with a non-stick material prior to the step of depositing the liquid egg product into at least one of the pockets is known in the art as shown by Lee, since the non-stick material can keep the eggs form getting stuck to the pan, so that the eggs are removed when desired, and since the non-stick material can prevent the loss of egg material stuck to pan when the eggs are removed.
Claim(s) 15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hairsine (US 20050136172 A1) in view of Fauconnet (FR 2968182 A1), Coban (WO 2017176223 A1), Peers (US 20150327709 A1), and Dzieduszycki (US 20150024107 A1, and further in view of Dunckel (US 5281431 A).
Regarding claim 15, Hairsine, as modified above, is silent on the cooking station comprising an enclosure to which heat and moisture are provided to surround at least a portion of the pan containing the egg product.
Dunckel teaches (Col. 1, lines 37-38, 59-65; Col. 3, lines 24-37) an automated mass production process and apparatus for cooking and packaging eggs, wherein eggs are dispensed into a plurality of large cooking pans, and the filled pans are conveyed through a long multiple temperature zone steam cooking tunnel (enclosure) which carefully cooks the eggs with gradually increasing temperatures using dry culinary steam, wherein dry culinary steam has some but not all moisture removed and keeps eggs from being too dry compared to conventional convective heating (i.e. moisture is provided).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify Hairsine, as modified above, to provide a cooking station comprising an enclosure to which heat and moisture are provided to surround at least a portion of the pan containing the egg product in view of Dunckel, since both are directed to methods of heating eggs in pans, since providing heat and moisture to an egg in a pan inside an enclosure is known in the art as shown by Dunckel, since the moisture can prevent the egg from becoming too dry, since the enclosure can trap the heat and moisture to prevent heat and moisture losses that would make operation costly, since an enclosure can keep the eggs from being affected by outside contaminants, and since providing heat and moisture in an enclosure can protect human operators from a potentially dangerous heat source.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 02/25/2026, regarding the 35 USC 103 rejections of claims 1 and 16, have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Regarding the Applicant's argument that the Office Action does not provide an articulated rationale grounded in evidence for why a person of ordinary skill would have optimized the claimed depressed-portion area parameter (approximately 30% to approximately 70%) in the context of the cited egg-cooking pocket configuration and the claimed sidewall features, the Examiner maintains that the demonstration of overlapping ranges for depressed portions from the prior art along with the explanation of factors upon which such routine experimentation would be based (the desired size and shape of the cooked eggs, the amount of eggs added to the pan (where a larger depressed portion could hold more egg), the intended thickness of the cooked egg (where a larger depressed portion will result in a thicker cooked egg)) the available cooking and cooling time (where increasing the area of the depressed portion will increase the volume of the pan and the liquid egg, increasing the time to cook through and cool through completely), and the lack of a unique or unexpected benefit or demonstration of criticality from the claimed depressed portion comprising approximately 30 percent to approximately 70 percent of the area of the bottom wall, constitutes an articulated rationale.
In response to the Applicant's argument that Coban does not describe any experimentation that coordinates selection of the auxiliary-cavity size with selection of a particular sidewall profile to achieve the Applicant-described irregular top-surface formation mechanism, nor do the applied egg-cooking references supply that coordination, and, therefore, the Office Action does not explain why routine experimentation would modify both the sidewall geometry relied upon from Fauconnet and the depressed-portion relative area relied upon from Coban to arrive at Applicant's claimed pocket configuration, the Examiner maintains that an articulated rationale is provided for arriving at the Applicant's claimed depressed-portion area parameter via routine experimentation as explained above. The citation of an overlapping range in Coban serves to further demonstrate that the general conditions of the claim are disclosed in the prior art, and it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation. If the Applicant is suggesting that the combined prior art is incompatible or teach away from each other, particularly Fauconnet and Coban, the Examiner notes that these are both secondary references, wherein Fauconnet teaches a kitchen utensil for cooking food with curved peripheral walls and Coban teaches a die for preparing a chocolate egg. Both are directed to containers for holding food products during preparation, and the Examiner maintains that the combination of prior art would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art. Additionally, it is unclear how the area of the depressed portion would affect the side wall profile or vice versa. In the Applicant's Drawings, Figure 4a, for example, depressed portion 120 does not contact the side wall.
Regarding the Applicant's argument that the as-filed specification expressly identifies a technical benefit tied to the depressed portion in the claimed context, wherein the depressed portion is part of the mechanism that produces the irregular top surface and corresponding "natural" appearance/texture, the Examiner notes that the cited sections of the Applicant's Specification do not appear to address the percentage of an area of the bottom wall that comprises the depressed portion being in the range of approximately 30 percent to approximately 70 percent of the area of the bottom wall nor is any indication made that the alleged benefits of the depressed portion result from the claimed pocket configuration. The Examiner also notes that the Applicant's Specification states (Paragraph 0032) that "it is contemplated that the depressed area is less than 30 percent or greater than 70 percent of the area of the bottom wall" indicating that successful results can be obtained outside of the claimed range. Additionally, the primary reference, Hairsine already discloses a bottom wall comprising a planar portion from which a depressed portion downwardly extends. Furthermore, the secondary reference, Coban, teaches (Page 2, lines 2-4, 15-16) a figurative element of the egg engages that auxiliary cavity (depressed portion), and a shape coupling is formed between the figurative element and the auxiliary cavity (i.e., the egg product is shaped in the cavity via the depression). The fact that the inventor has recognized another advantage which would flow naturally from following the suggestion of the prior art cannot be the basis for patentability when the differences would otherwise be obvious. See Ex parte Obiaya, 227 USPQ 58, 60 (Bd. Pat. App. & Inter. 1985). Furthermore, the Examiner notes that the irregular top surface is not mentioned in independent claims 1 or 16. Claims 3 and 4 indicated that the top surface is irregular, but as a result of cooking, heat, and moisture rather than the configuration of the depressed portion.
Therefore, for the reasons stated above, claims 1, 16, and all dependent claims remain rejected under 35 USC 103.
Conclusion
/AUSTIN PARKER TAYLOR/Examiner, Art Unit 1792
/VIREN A THAKUR/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1792