DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Group I in the reply filed on 1/20/2026 is acknowledged.
Double Patenting
Claims 1-8 provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 19-26 of copending Application No. 18/021,225 (reference application). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other for the following reasons
Regarding claim 1, claim 19 of the copending application teaches a material for a positive electrode of a battery, comprising a ternary material and a phase-transition material, wherein the phase-transition material undergoes phase transition in a charge/discharge voltage window of the ternary material; the ternary material has a single crystal structure, the phase-transition material has a single crystal structure or a poly-crystalline structure, and the phase-transition material is coated on a surface of the ternary material; a weight ratio of the ternary material to the phase-transition material is 80:20-99.8:0.2; the ternary material has a nanohardness of 0.001-5 GPa, and the phase-transition material has a nanohardness of 0.01-10 GPa; and the ternary material has a D50 of 3.0-6.0 pm, and primary particles in the phase-transition material have a D50 of 10-50 nm, which correspond to the limitations of claim 1.
Regarding claim 2, claim 20 of the copending application teaches the nanohardness of the ternary material is 0.2-1.4 GPa, and the nanohardness of the phase-transition material is 1.5-3.5 GPa., which correspond to the limitations of claim 2.
Regarding claim 3, claim 21 of the copending application teaches wherein the ternary material has a tap density of 2.0-2.8 g/cm3 and the phase-transition material has a tap density of 0.8-1.5 g/cm3., which correspond to the limitations of claim 3.
Regarding claim 4, claim 22 of the copending application teaches wherein the D50 of the ternary material is 3.5- 5.0 µm, and the D50 of the primary particles in the phase-transition material is 20-40 nm., which correspond to the limitations of claim 4.
Regarding claim 5, claim 23 of the copending application teaches wherein the ternary material has a chemical formula of LiNixCoyMzO2, wherein x+y+z=1, and M comprises Mn, Al, Zr, Ti, Y, Sr, or W., which correspond to the limitations of claim 5.
Regarding claim 6, claim 24 of the copending application teaches wherein the ternary material comprises a nickel- cobalt-manganese ternary material or a nickel-cobalt-aluminum ternary material, which correspond to the limitations of claim 6.
Regarding claim 7, claim 25 of the copending application teaches wherein the phase-transition material has an olivine structure, and the phase-transition material has a chemical formula of LiABwPO4, wherein v+w=1, A comprises Fe, Co, Mn, Ni, Cr or V, and B comprises Fe, Co, Mn, Ni, Cr or V, which correspond to the limitations of claim 7.
Regarding claim 8, claim 26 of the copending application teaches wherein the phase-transition material comprises lithium manganese iron phosphate, lithium manganese vanadium phosphate, or lithium chromium iron phosphate, which correspond to the limitations of claim 8.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-2, 4-8 and 15-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kawamura (JP 2020053390A as cited in IDS dated 9/3/2024, reference made to English translation).
Regarding claims 1, 2, 4-8 and 14-18 Kawamura discloses a ternary material ( LiNix Coy Mnz O2 where x + y + z = 1, 0≦x, y, z ≦ 1) with a layered crystal structure (¶[0014]) and a particle size of 1-30 µm (¶[0015]) which one of ordinary skill in the art would recognize this particle size range would overlap with a median particle size D50 of 3-6 µm. The ternary material is mixed with a phase change material (as identified in the instant specification, ¶[0077]) lithium manganese iron phosphate with an olivine crystal structure(¶[0055]) which may be 30-100 nm (¶[0020]) which one of ordinary skill in the art would recognize this particle size range would overlap with a median particle size D50 of 10-50 µm, where the mass fraction of the lithium iron phosphate is 30% (example 1) or 25% example 3 (¶[0057]). Inherently, the ternary material has a nanohardness of 0.001 Gpa-5 Gpa, and the phase change material has a nanohardness of 0.01 GPa-10 GPa since the materials are the same as those specified in the instant specification (see olivine lithium manganese iron phosphate ¶[0060], and lithium nickel cobalt manganese oxide ¶[0013]-[0014]).
Regarding product and apparatus claims, when the structure recited in the reference is substantially identical to that of the claims, claimed properties or functions are presumed to be inherent. The Courts have held that it is well settled that where there is a reason to believe that a functional characteristic would be inherent in the prior art, the burden of proof then shifts to the applicant to provide objective evidence to the contrary. See In re Schreiber, 128 F.3d at 1478, 44 USPQ2d at 1478, 44 USPQ2d at 1432 (Fed. Cir. 1997) (see MPEP § 2112.01, I.).
In the case where the claimed ranges “overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art” a prima facie case of obviousness exists. In re Wertheim, 541 F.2d 257, 191 USPQ 90 (CCPA 1976); In re Woodruff, 919 F.2d 1575, 16 USPQ2d 1934 (Fed. Cir. 1990). MPEP §2144.05.
Claim 3 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kawamura (JP 2020053390A as cited in IDS dated 9/3/2024, reference made to English translation) as applied to claim 1 above, in view of Tokuda (US20120244425A1).
Regarding claim 3, Kawamura discloses the mixed positive electrode material according to claim 1, but does not explicitly disclose wherein the ternary material has a tap density of 2.0 g/cm3-2.8 g/cm3, and the phase change material has a tap density of 0.8 g/cm3-1.5 g/cm3.
Tokuda, related to positive electrode active materials, teaches a positive electrode active materials containing lithium iron phosphate(¶[0248]) and lithium nickel cobalt manganese active materials (¶[0250]) should have an overall tap density of 0.1 g/cm3 to preferably less than 2.0 g/cm3 to optimize battery capacity and lithium ion diffusion(¶[0260]).
One of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized setting the overall tap density of the mixed positive electrode material of Kawamura to the parameters of Tokuda would lead to overlapping ranges of the ternary material tap density of 2.0 g/cm3-2.8 g/cm3, and the phase change material tap density of 0.8 g/cm3-1.5 g/cm3 given the mass fraction ratios of claim 1 and this would optimize battery capacity and lithium ion diffusion.
Therefore it would have been obvious to have set the tap density of the mixed positive electrode active material to those taught by Tokuda in order to optimize battery capacity and lithium ion diffusion.
Conclusion
/RYAN S CANNON/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1726
/K.J.A./Examiner, Art Unit 1726