DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Examiner acknowledges no foreign priority is claimed.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement(s) (IDS) submitted on 2/21/2023 and 12//4/2024 are in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement(s) is/are being considered if signed and initialed by the Examiner.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 9/17/2025 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Argument: Regarding independent claims 1 and 11, the applicant argues that Lu describes the terminal being provided AGNSS assistance data-specifically, measurement data-to assist with positioning. However, Lu is completely silent as to "the satellite measurement information indicating identifiers and measurements of available satellites."
Response: The examiner disagrees. Claim amendment has changed the scope of invention. Claims 1 and 11 are now rejected with Lu et al. (US 2017/0367064), in view of Edge et al. (US 2019/0268725 A1).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
For applicant’s benefit portions of the cited reference(s) have been cited to aid in the review of the rejection(s). While every attempt has been made to be thorough and consistent within the rejection it is noted that the PRIOR ART MUST BE CONSIDERED IN ITS ENTIRETY, INCLUDING DISCLOSURES THAT TEACH AWAY FROM THE CLAIMS. See MPEP 2141.02 VI.
Claims 1-7, 9-17 and 19-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lu et al. (US 2017/0367064), in view of Edge et al. (US 2019/0268725 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Lu et al. (‘064) discloses “a method implemented in a wireless device, WD (paragraph 2: relates to the field of communications technologies, and specifically relates to a positioning method and a mobile terminal), the method comprising:
sending a request assistance data message comprising at least one neighbor cell identification, ID, to a location management network node (paragraph 5: when a preset condition is satisfied, obtaining, by a mobile terminal, base station information of neighboring cells of a serving cell in which the mobile terminal is currently located, where the preset condition includes a serving cell in which the mobile terminal is located in a preset network standard changes, or receives an assisted global navigation satellite system AGNSS error message; obtaining, by the mobile terminal, AGNSS assistant data according to the base station information of the neighboring cells; and performing, by the mobile terminal, positioning according to the AGNSS assistant data; paragraph 9: the obtaining, by the mobile terminal, AGNSS assistant data according to the base station information of the neighboring cells includes sending, by the mobile terminal, a base station identifier of one of the neighboring cells to the AGNSS server; and receiving, by the mobile terminal, the AGNSS assistant data sent by the AGNSS server; paragraph 64: a base station identifier of a neighboring cell having a highest priority may be sent to the AGNSS server. If the mobile terminal fails to receive AGNSS assistant data, a base station identifier of a neighboring cell whose priority ranks next is sent to the AGNSS server)1, and
receiving a provide assistance data message comprising assistance data, including satellite measurement information for the wireless device (paragraph 5: when a preset condition is satisfied, obtaining, by a mobile terminal, base station information of neighboring cells of a serving cell in which the mobile terminal is currently located, where the preset condition includes a serving cell in which the mobile terminal is located in a preset network standard changes, or receives an assisted global navigation satellite system AGNSS error message; obtaining, by the mobile terminal, AGNSS assistant data according to the base station information of the neighboring cells; and performing, by the mobile terminal, positioning according to the AGNSS assistant data; paragraph 9: the obtaining, by the mobile terminal, AGNSS assistant data according to the base station information of the neighboring cells includes sending, by the mobile terminal, a base station identifier of one of the neighboring cells to the AGNSS server; and receiving, by the mobile terminal, the AGNSS assistant data sent by the AGNSS server; paragraph 64: a base station identifier of a neighboring cell having a highest priority may be sent to the AGNSS server. If the mobile terminal fails to receive AGNSS assistant data, a base station identifier of a neighboring cell whose priority ranks next is sent to the AGNSS server)2 and
the satellite measurement information being based at least in part on the at least one neighbor cell ID (paragraph 5: when a preset condition is satisfied, obtaining, by a mobile terminal, base station information of neighboring cells of a serving cell in which the mobile terminal is currently located, where the preset condition includes a serving cell in which the mobile terminal is located in a preset network standard changes, or receives an assisted global navigation satellite system AGNSS error message; obtaining, by the mobile terminal, AGNSS assistant data according to the base station information of the neighboring cells…performing, by the mobile terminal, positioning according to the AGNSS assistant data; paragraph 9: the obtaining, by the mobile terminal, AGNSS assistant data according to the base station information of the neighboring cells includes sending, by the mobile terminal, a base station identifier of one of the neighboring cells to the AGNSS server; and receiving, by the mobile terminal, the AGNSS assistant data sent by the AGNSS server; paragraph 49: after the mobile terminal fails to perform AGNSS positioning according to base station information of the serving cell in which the mobile terminal is currently located, the mobile terminal obtains the AGNSS assistant data using the base station information of the neighboring cells; paragraph 50: the mobile terminal performs positioning according to the AGNSS assistant data; paragraph 64: a base station identifier of a neighboring cell having a highest priority may be sent to the AGNSS server)3.”
Lu et al. (‘064) does not explicitly disclose “the satellite measurement information indicating identifiers and measurements of available satellites.”
Edge et al. (‘725) relates to estimation of a location of a mobile device and more particularly to broadcast of positioning assistance data to help enable location of a mobile device. Edge et al. (‘725) teaches “the satellite measurement information indicating identifiers and measurements of available satellites (paragraph 76: the UE 102 may identify one or more of: (i) System Information Blocks (SIBs) that can be received by the UE 102 via broadcast, where the SIBs comprise one or more types of location assistance data; (ii) SIBs that can be received by the UE 102 via broadcast, where the SIBs comprise one or more types of location assistance data in ciphered form (e.g. and where the UE 102 has previously received a ciphering key to enable deciphering); (iii) types of location assistance data that can be received by the UE 102 via broadcast; (iv) types of location assistance data that can be received in ciphered form by the UE 102 via broadcast (e.g. and where the UE 102 has previously received a ciphering key to enable deciphering); (v) identifiers for one or more ciphering keys previously received by the UE 102, where the ciphering key(s) enable(s) deciphering by the UE 102 of location assistance data received via broadcast in ciphered form by the UE 102; and/or (vi) an ability by the UE 102 to receive location assistance data in ciphered form via broadcast….the UE 102 may further identify one or more Global Navigation Satellite Systems (GNSSs) for which the UE 102 can receive at least one of the types of location assistance data identified as being supported for items (i), (ii), (iii) or (iv)…the UE 102 may further indicate a RAT or RATs that are currently accessible (or currently available) to UE 102, and in which the SIBs and/or location AD indicated as supported by UE 102 in (i) to (vi) above are broadcast (e.g. by eNBs such as eNB 104 and eNB 106)…these indications may enable E-SMLC 110 to determine which SIBs and/or which types location AD UE 102 can currently receive via broadcast).”
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill-in-the-art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method of Lu et al. (‘064) with the teaching of Edge et al. (‘725) for improving the efficiency of broadcasting location assistance data (Edge et al. (‘725) – paragraph 4). In addition, both of the prior art references, (Lu et al. (‘064) and Edge et al. (‘725)) teach features that are directed to analogous art and they are directed to the same field of endeavor, such as, broadcasting location assistance data in wireless communication.
Regarding claim 2, which is dependent on independent claim 1, Lu et al. (‘064)/Edge et al. (‘725) discloses the method of claim 1. Lu et al. (‘064) further discloses “the satellite measurement information is based at least in part on a neighbor cell location, the neighbor cell location being determined using the at least one neighbor cell ID comprised in the request assistance data message (paragraph 5: when a preset condition is satisfied, obtaining, by a mobile terminal, base station information of neighboring cells of a serving cell in which the mobile terminal is currently located, where the preset condition includes a serving cell in which the mobile terminal is located in a preset network standard changes, or receives an assisted global navigation satellite system AGNSS error message; obtaining, by the mobile terminal, AGNSS assistant data according to the base station information of the neighboring cells; and performing, by the mobile terminal, positioning according to the AGNSS assistant data; paragraph 49: after the mobile terminal fails to perform AGNSS positioning according to base station information of the serving cell in which the mobile terminal is currently located, the mobile terminal obtains the AGNSS assistant data using the base station information of the neighboring cells; paragraph 50: the mobile terminal performs positioning according to the AGNSS assistant data; paragraph 64: a base station identifier of a neighboring cell having a highest priority may be sent to the AGNSS server. If the mobile terminal fails to receive AGNSS assistant data, a base station identifier of a neighboring cell whose priority ranks next is sent to the AGNSS server)4.”
Regarding claim 3, which is dependent on independent claim 1, Lu et al. (‘064)/Edge et al. (‘725) discloses the method of claim 1. Lu et al. (‘064) further discloses “the request assistance data message comprises a list of neighbor cell IDs, and a sequence of the neighbor cell IDs in the list being determined by a signal strength of each neighbor cell indicated by the respective neighbor cell ID (paragraph 8: the obtaining, by a mobile terminal, base station information of neighboring cells of a serving cell in which the mobile terminal is currently located includes obtaining, by the mobile terminal, broadcast information of the neighboring cells and signal strength information of the neighboring cells, where the signal strength information includes either a received signal strength indicator or reference signal received power; and obtaining, by the mobile terminal, the base station information of the neighboring cells according to the broadcast information of the neighboring cells and the signal strength information of the neighboring cells; paragraph 61: the obtaining, by a mobile terminal, base station information of neighboring cells of a serving cell in which the mobile terminal is currently located includes obtaining, by the mobile terminal, broadcast information of the neighboring cells and signal strength information of the neighboring cells, where the signal strength information includes either a received signal strength indicator or reference signal received power; and obtaining, by the mobile terminal, the base station information of the neighboring cells according to the broadcast information of the neighboring cells and the signal strength information of the neighboring cells; paragraphs 94-102: The mobile terminal obtains broadcast information of the neighboring cells and signal strength information of the neighboring cells… he mobile terminal listens to broadcast information of the serving cell in which the mobile terminal is currently located, and extracts frequencies of the neighboring cells from system information blocks (SIB) in the broadcast information. The mobile terminal listens to broadcast information of the neighboring cells at the frequencies of the neighboring cells, and measures signal strength of the neighboring cells, so as to obtain signal strength information of the neighboring cells… the signal strength information includes either a received signal strength indicator or reference signal received power… The mobile terminal obtains the base station information of the neighboring cells according to the broadcast information of the neighboring cells and the signal strength information of the neighboring cells… optionally, the mobile terminal obtains the base station information of the neighboring cells according to the broadcast information of the neighboring cells, which is not specifically limited herein… the mobile terminal obtains AGNSS assistant data according to the base station information of the neighboring cells… Optionally, the obtaining, by the mobile terminal, AGNSS assistant data according to the base station information of the neighboring cells includes sending, by the mobile terminal, a base station identifier of one of the neighboring cells to an AGNSS server; and receiving, by the mobile terminal, the AGNSS assistant data sent by the AGNSS server… the neighboring cells are arranged based on priorities. For example, for the first time, a base station identifier of a neighboring cell having a highest priority may be sent to the AGNSS server…if the mobile terminal fails to receive the AGNSS assistant data, a base station identifier of a neighboring cell whose priority ranks next is sent to the AGNSS server. The process is repeated until the mobile terminal successfully receives the AGNSS assistant data… the neighboring cells may be arranged based on priorities according to a status of a base station database, base station signal strength, and the like, which is not specifically limited)5.”
Regarding claim 4, which is dependent on claim 3, Lu et al. (‘064)/Edge et al. (‘725) discloses the method of claim 3. Lu et al. (‘064) further discloses “the satellite measurement information is based at least in part on a selection of a single neighbor cell ID from the list having a highest signal strength in the list that is also included in a database associated with the location management network node (paragraph 8: the obtaining, by a mobile terminal, base station information of neighboring cells of a serving cell in which the mobile terminal is currently located includes obtaining, by the mobile terminal, broadcast information of the neighboring cells and signal strength information of the neighboring cells, where the signal strength information includes either a received signal strength indicator or reference signal received power; and obtaining, by the mobile terminal, the base station information of the neighboring cells according to the broadcast information of the neighboring cells and the signal strength information of the neighboring cells; paragraph 61: the obtaining, by a mobile terminal, base station information of neighboring cells of a serving cell in which the mobile terminal is currently located includes obtaining, by the mobile terminal, broadcast information of the neighboring cells and signal strength information of the neighboring cells, where the signal strength information includes either a received signal strength indicator or reference signal received power; and obtaining, by the mobile terminal, the base station information of the neighboring cells according to the broadcast information of the neighboring cells and the signal strength information of the neighboring cells; paragraphs 94-102: The mobile terminal obtains broadcast information of the neighboring cells and signal strength information of the neighboring cells…the mobile terminal listens to broadcast information of the serving cell in which the mobile terminal is currently located, and extracts frequencies of the neighboring cells from system information blocks (SIB) in the broadcast information…the mobile terminal listens to broadcast information of the neighboring cells at the frequencies of the neighboring cells, and measures signal strength of the neighboring cells, so as to obtain signal strength information of the neighboring cells… the signal strength information includes either a received signal strength indicator or reference signal received power…the mobile terminal obtains the base station information of the neighboring cells according to the broadcast information of the neighboring cells and the signal strength information of the neighboring cells… optionally, the mobile terminal obtains the base station information of the neighboring cells according to the broadcast information of the neighboring cells, which is not specifically limited herein…the mobile terminal obtains AGNSS assistant data according to the base station information of the neighboring cells…optionally, the obtaining, by the mobile terminal, AGNSS assistant data according to the base station information of the neighboring cells includes sending, by the mobile terminal, a base station identifier of one of the neighboring cells to an AGNSS server; and receiving, by the mobile terminal, the AGNSS assistant data sent by the AGNSS server… the neighboring cells are arranged based on priorities…for example, for the first time, a base station identifier of a neighboring cell having a highest priority may be sent to the AGNSS server. If the mobile terminal fails to receive the AGNSS assistant data, a base station identifier of a neighboring cell whose priority ranks next is sent to the AGNSS server…the process is repeated until the mobile terminal successfully receives the AGNSS assistant data… the neighboring cells may be arranged based on priorities according to a status of a base station database, base station signal strength, and the like, which is not specifically limited herein).”
Regarding claim 5, which is dependent on independent claim 1, Lu et al. (‘064)/Edge et al. (‘725) discloses the method of claim 1. Lu et al. (‘064) further discloses “receiving a second provide assistance data message comprising a second assistance data; and determining that the second assistance data is incorrect; and wherein sending the request assistance data message comprising the at least one neighbor cell ID is a result of the determination that the second assistance data is incorrect (paragraphs 49: after the mobile terminal fails to perform AGNSS positioning according to base station information of the serving cell in which the mobile terminal is currently located, the mobile terminal obtains the AGNSS assistant data using the base station information of the neighboring cells…a success probability of obtaining the AGNSS assistant data can be effectively increased, and AGNSS robustness can also be enhanced; paragraph 50: the mobile terminal performs positioning according to the AGNSS assistant data; paragraph 51: after the mobile terminal receives the AGNSS assistant data provided by an AGNSS server, a GNSS in the mobile terminal performs positioning according to information, such as a Doppler shift or a code delay, in the assistant data; paragraph 52: after a mobile terminal fails to perform AGNSS positioning according to base station information of a serving cell in which the mobile terminal is currently located, the mobile terminal obtains AGNSS assistant data using the base station information of the neighboring cells…an AGNSS positioning success probability can be effectively increased, and AGNSS robustness can also be enhanced; paragraph 54: when a preset condition is satisfied, a mobile terminal obtains base station information of neighboring cells of a serving cell in which the mobile terminal is currently located)6.”
Regarding claim 6, which is dependent on independent claim 1, Lu et al. (‘064)/Edge et al. (‘725) discloses the method of claim 1. Lu et al. (‘064) further discloses “the request assistance data message further comprises a primary cell identification, ID, in addition the at least one neighbor cell ID, the primary cell ID being different from each of the at least one neighbor cell ID (Figure 9: the cells are different to each other).”
Regarding claim 7, which is dependent on independent claim 1, Lu et al. (‘064)/Edge et al. (‘725) discloses the method of claim 1. Lu et al. (‘064) further discloses “each of the request assistance data message and the provide assistance data message is a Third Generation Partnership Project, 3GPP, Long Term Evolution, LTE, positioning protocol, LPP, message (paragraph 39: may be applied to various communications systems, such as: a Global System for Mobile Communications (GSM), a Code Division Multiple Access (CDMA) system, a Wideband Code Division Multiple Access (WCDMA), a general packet radio service (GPRS), and a Long Term Evolution (LTE); paragraph 40: a base station may be a base station (BTS) in the GSM or CDMA, may be a base station (NodeB) in the WCDMA, or may be an evolved NodeB (eNB or e-NodeB) in the LTE, which is not limited in the present disclosure)7.”
Regarding claim 9, which is dependent on independent claim 1, Lu et al. (‘064)/Edge et al. (‘725) discloses the method of claim 1. Lu et al. (‘064) further discloses “the request assistance data message comprising the at least one neighbor cell ID is a request for the location management network node to send periodic assistance data to the wireless device (paragraphs 49: after the mobile terminal fails to perform AGNSS positioning according to base station information of the serving cell in which the mobile terminal is currently located, the mobile terminal obtains the AGNSS assistant data using the base station information of the neighboring cells…therefore, a success probability of obtaining the AGNSS assistant data can be effectively increased, and AGNSS robustness can also be enhanced; paragraph 50: The mobile terminal performs positioning according to the AGNSS assistant data; paragraph 51: after the mobile terminal receives the AGNSS assistant data provided by an AGNSS server, a GNSS in the mobile terminal performs positioning according to information, such as a Doppler shift or a code delay, in the assistant data; paragraph 52: after a mobile terminal fails to perform AGNSS positioning according to base station information of a serving cell in which the mobile terminal is currently located, the mobile terminal obtains AGNSS assistant data using the base station information of the neighboring cells. Therefore, compared with the prior art in which only the base station information of the current serving cell is used, an AGNSS positioning success probability can be effectively increased, and AGNSS robustness can also be enhanced; paragraph 54: when a preset condition is satisfied, a mobile terminal obtains base station information of neighboring cells of a serving cell in which the mobile terminal is currently located)8.”
Regarding claim 10, which is dependent on independent claim 1, Lu et al. (‘064)/Edge et al. (‘725) discloses the method of claim 1. Lu et al. (‘064) further discloses “the location management network node includes a location management function, LMF (paragraph 64: for the first time, a base station identifier of a neighboring cell having a highest priority may be sent to the AGNSS server. If the mobile terminal fails to receive AGNSS assistant data, a base station identifier of a neighboring cell whose priority ranks next is sent to the AGNSS server…the process is repeated until the mobile terminal successfully receives AGNSS assistant data).”
Regarding independent claim 11, which is a corresponding network side claim of UE side independent claim 1, Lu et al. (‘064)/Edge et al. (‘725) substantially discloses all the claimed invention as shown above for claim 1.
Regarding claim 12, which is a corresponding network side claim of UE side claim 2, Lu et al. (‘064)/Edge et al. (‘725) substantially discloses all the claimed invention as shown above for claim 2.
Regarding claim 13, which is a corresponding network side claim of UE side claim 3, Lu et al. (‘064)/Edge et al. (‘725) substantially discloses all the claimed invention as shown above for claim 3.
Regarding claim 14, which is a corresponding network side claim of UE side claim 4, Lu et al. (‘064)/Edge et al. (‘725) substantially discloses all the claimed invention as shown above for claim 4.
Regarding claim 15, which is a corresponding network side claim of UE side claim 5, Lu et al. (‘064)/Edge et al. (‘725) substantially discloses all the claimed invention as shown above for claim 5.
Regarding claim 16, which is a corresponding network side claim of UE side claim 6, Lu et al. (‘064)/Edge et al. (‘725) substantially discloses all the claimed invention as shown above for claim 6.
Regarding claim 17, which is a corresponding network side claim of UE side claim 7, Lu et al. (‘064)/Edge et al. (‘725) substantially discloses all the claimed invention as shown above for claim 7.
Regarding claim 19, which is a corresponding network side claim of UE side claim 9, Lu et al. (‘064)/Edge et al. (‘725) substantially discloses all the claimed invention as shown above for claim 9.
Regarding claim 20, which is a corresponding network side claim of UE side claim 10, Lu et al. (‘064)/Edge et al. (‘725) substantially discloses all the claimed invention as shown above for claim 10.
Claims 8 and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lu et al. (US 2017/0367064)/Edge et al. (US 2019/0268725 A1), in view of Kumar et al. (US 2020/0145977 A1).
Regarding claim 8, which is dependent on independent claim 1, Lu et al. (‘064)/Edge et al. (‘725) discloses the method of claim 1. Lu et al. (‘064)/Edge et al. (‘725) does not explicitly disclose “neighbor cell ID comprise common information element requesting assistance data.”
Kumar et al. (‘977) relates to a method for determining a location of a mobile device. Kumar et al. (‘977) teaches “neighbor cell ID comprise common information element requesting assistance data (paragraph 138: at stage 1204, the method includes transmitting, with the mobile device, the beam identification information to a network node (e.g. a gNB 110 or LMF 152)…the UE 105 is an example means for transmitting the beam identification information…the UE 105 may be in communication with a network node such as the first base station gNB 110-1…the SSB index values determined at stage 1202 may be included in one or more information elements of a provide capabilities message as at stage 2 of FIG. 8 and transmitted to a network node such as the gNB 110-1 or the LMF 152… alternatively, the beam identification information (e.g. SSB index values) may be transmitted to the network node (e.g. LMF 152) in a message requesting assistance data from the network node (e.g. an LPP Request Assistance Data message) or in a message providing location information to the network node (e.g. an LPP Provide Location Information)…the network node may request location information (e.g. comprising beam identification information) from the mobile device (e.g. for ECID) and the mobile device may obtain and return the location information (e.g. the beam identification information) to the network node…the location information (e.g., in the provide capabilities message at stage 2 in FIG. 8 or in an LPP Request Assistance data message or LPP Provide Location Information message) may include a serving cell ID value, a serving SSB ID value, a neighboring Cell ID list, and/or a SSB ID list. Other fields may also be used to identify the beams relevant to the UE 105…the UE 105 may also provide an indication of the maximum number of beams that the UE 105 is capable of receiving per band…an information element may include a band identifier (ID) value and a maximum number of supported beams for that band ID…an information element may also include a band combination identifier and a maximum number of supported beams for that band combination).”
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill-in-the-art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method of Lu et al. (‘064)/Edge et al. (‘725) with the teaching of Kumar et al. (‘977) to modulate the performance characteristic of the cells as per user application requests in each given periodic assistance data window for the relevant wireless devices. Furthermore, a person of ordinary skill in the art would modulate battery optimization in user equipment by forwarding the task to network node. In addition, all of the prior art references, (Lu et al. (‘064), Edge et al. (‘725) and Kumar et al. (‘977)) teach features that are directed to analogous art and they are directed to the same field of endeavor, such as, broadcasting location assistance data in wireless communication.
Regarding claim 18, which is a corresponding network side claim of UE side claim 8, Lu et al. (‘064)/Edge et al. (‘725)/Kumar et al. (‘977) substantially discloses all the claimed invention as shown above for claim 8.
Citation of Pertinent Prior Art
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Edge et al. (US 2021/0051559 A1) describes a first Location Management Component (LMC) in a first New Radio (NR) node B (gNB) in a radio access network (RAN) configured to support a location session for a user equipment (UE), the first LMC includes means for receiving a first positioning message for the UE from a first entity, the first positioning message relayed to the first LMC by a Central Unit (CU) for the first gNB, the first positioning message initiating the location session for the UE in the first LMC, the first positioning message including an identity for a source gNB, the source gNB serving the UE, and an identifier for the location session; means for transmitting at least one positioning message for the UE to a second entity; means for receiving a location session update message, the location session update message indicating a handover of the UE from the source gNB to a target gNB, the location session update message indicating whether or not a second LMC is assigned, the location session update message including an identity of the second LMC when the second LMC is assigned; means for continuing to support the location session using the target gNB when the second LMC is not assigned; and means for sending a location session transfer message to the second LMC when the second LMC is assigned, the location session transfer message including a current status of the location session and the first positioning message (paragraph 17).
Heo et al. (US 2013/0273878 A1) describes provides apparatus and methods for improved User Equipment (UE) mobility in a wireless heterogeneous network, for example an LTE or LTE-A network that includes macro cells and small cells…the UE (e.g., the mobile device) may be configured with location circuitry enabling a determination of motion, for example exiting and entering, with respect to detected and identified cells…the UE may transmit this motion or proximity information to an evolved Node B (eNB) base station, and the information may assist the eNB with the performance of handovers of the UE from one cell to another…the eNB may be configured to maintain a database of neighboring cells and this database may include the "usage type" of each cell, where usage type indicates whether the cell is provided for capacity enhancement or coverage enhancement (paragraph 19); the UE may be configured to perform signal measurements on neighbor cells when the Reference Signal Received Power (RSRP) of the serving cell falls below a threshold and the threshold may be based on the usage type of the neighboring cells…the UE may be further configured to report the signal measurements to the serving cell during a time period that is based on the usage type of the neighboring cells…when multiple small cells transmit a Cell Specific Reference Signal (CRS) using the same Cell ID, the eNB may be configured to identify a subframe of the CRS on which the UE may perform the signal measurement…the above mentioned features may be provided to decrease the amount of time that the UE devotes to measuring signals and reporting the measurements, thus increasing efficiency UE and network efficiency (paragraph 20).
Edge et al. (US 2019/003,7338 A1) describes at first a wireless node for supporting location of a user equipment (UE) is provided…receiving a first request for broadcast of an increased quantity of location-related information, with the broadcast being based on a wireless access type for the first wireless node, and broadcasting the increased quantity of location-related information using the wireless access type and based on the first request (paragraph 3); ystems, devices, methods, media and other implementations for on-demand resource allocation for 4G, 5G, and/or other types of communication technologies…the on-demand resource allocation may permit resources to be allocated only, or mainly, when a UE needs to be located and not at other times when no UE needs to be located…in order to avoid wastage of operator bandwidth when PRS-based location is not needed, and to enable more PRS resources to become available when PRS-based location of a UE is needed, on-demand scheduling of PRS may be supported. With on-demand PRS scheduling, UEs may indicate to a network when PRS is needed for location determination. The network can then increase the resource allocation for PRS transmission by increasing the overall duration during which PRS is transmitted (e.g. increasing the number of subframes in each PRS positioning occasion and/or increasing the frequency of PRS positioning occasions in the case of LTE) and/or by increasing the proportion of overall carrier bandwidth assigned to each PRS transmission…while increasing PRS transmission duration may disturb other traffic in some scenarios (e.g. by interfering with other pre-allocated downlink channels like SIBs), increasing PRS bandwidth may interfere less and may improve both measurement accuracy and acquisition of distant base stations…a network, or certain base stations in a network, may also increase the resource allocation for PRS transmission by temporarily reallocating frequency, normally reserved for uplink transmission from UEs, for downlink transmission of PRS during certain specific periods (e.g. during certain subframes)…this may be possible using a flexible duplexing capability for 5G New Radio (NR)…a similar technique for on-demand scheduling may be applied to resources used for other types of location support such as broadcast of assistance data…in this case, a UE may indicate to a network when broadcast of assistance data needs to be received and, based on the request from a single UE or from many UEs in the same network cell, a base station (BS) may increase the frequency of broadcasting assistance data and/or may increase the transmission power, bandwidth and/or repetition amount for the broadcasting (paragraph 28).
Contact Information
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/NUZHAT PERVIN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3648
1 teach sending data messages from cells to nodes.
2 further teach receiving data messages about the wireless information.
3 teaches the mechanisms regarding relaying information between neighboring cells.
4 teach relaying location information as a result of adjacent cell information.
5 teaching processing signal strength and selection of station with highest signal strength performed at the user equipment.
6 teaching failure of A-GNSS positioning, also see paragraph 3; following said failure to perform A-GNSS based on request and broadcast of serving the data, the method is implemented using A-GNSS data from neighboring system.
7 teaching advanced generation, long term, and protocol message types.
8 teaching neighboring cell relaying assistance data mechanisms to the wireless device.