This DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statements (IDSs) submitted are in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Objections
Claims 32-33, 36-37, and 44-47 are objected to because of the following informalities:
In claim 32, “a size of a buffer” should be “the size of a buffer”.
In claim 33, “within a time period” should be “within the time period”.
Claim 36 is dependent on a cancelled claim 16.
Claim 37 should be dependent of claim 33 not claim 26.
Claims 44-47 should be dependent of claim 39 not claim 38.
Appropriate correction is required.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 33 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim, any intervening claims, and overcome claim objections.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 14, 26-32, 34, and 39-43 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Huang (US20230120407).
Regarding claim 1, the cited reference Huang discloses a method performed by a wireless device, the method being for handling uplink communication to a network node, the wireless device and the network node operating in a wireless communications network (Fig. 1 discloses the communication between a UE and gNB (network node)), the method comprising: obtaining a configuration from a first network node, the configuration configuring the wireless device with a set of uplink time-frequency resources to perform random access for data transmission in inactive mode (¶0131 discloses that the RACH resource for inactive data transmission can be configured to UE with system information and/or dedicated signaling), wherein a size of a buffer for the data transmission of the wireless device is smaller than a threshold (¶0103 discloses that once the buffer on UE side is less (less or equal) than the threshold, the UE is allowed to initiate the “Data transmission in RRC_INACTIVE,”), wherein the set of uplink time-frequency resources are allocated in at least one second bandwidth part, BWP, the at least one second BWP being different from a first BWP already allocated to the wireless device (¶0131 discloses that resources can be configured for inactive data transmission such as BWP configuration for inactive data transmission (e.g. the BWP used for inactive data transmission can be other than initial BWP).
Regarding claim 14, the claim is drawn to a method performed by a first network node performing substantially the same features of the method of claim 1. Therefore, the claim is subject to the same rejection as claim 1.
Regarding claim 26, the claim is drawn to a wireless device performing substantially the same features of the method of claim 1. Therefore, the claim is subject to the same rejection as claim 1.
Regarding claim 27, the cited reference Huang discloses all limitations of claim 26. Huang further discloses wherein the obtaining is configured to be while the wireless device is in connected mode (¶0132 discloses that the resource configuration with dedicated signaling, the configuration can be provided in RRC reconfiguration message or RRC release message, before … the UE entering inactive state).
Regarding claim 28, the cited reference Huang discloses all limitations of claim 27. Huang further discloses wherein the wireless device is configured to, with the proviso that after the obtaining, the wireless device is moved to inactive mode, save the configuration in a UE context of the wireless device (¶0101 discloses that the CG resource configured and/or stored is allowed to be used for inactive transmission where ¶0132 discloses that the resource configuration with dedicated signaling, the configuration can be provided in RRC reconfiguration message or RRC release message, before … the UE entering inactive state where ¶0134 discloses that CG resource configured in connected state).
Regarding claim 29, the cited reference Huang discloses all limitations of claim 26. Huang further discloses wherein the obtaining is configured to be in one of dedicated Radio Resource Control, RRC, signalling, and system information signalling (¶0131 discloses that the RACH resource for inactive data transmission can be configured to UE with system information and/or dedicated signaling).
Regarding claim 30, the cited reference Huang discloses all limitations of claim 29. Huang further discloses wherein the obtaining is in system information, and wherein the configuration is configured to comprise an identifier of the configuration (¶0096 discloses that The resource and/or configuration can be provided by either system information or dedicated RRC message and ¶142 discloses that the common CG configuration broadcasted in system information can coexistent with the dedicated CG configuration configured in dedicated signaling. In case dedicated CG configuration is provided, the UE should use the dedicated CG configuration).
Regarding claim 31, the cited reference Huang discloses all limitations of claim 26. Huang further discloses wherein the obtaining is in a first cell, and wherein the wireless device is configured to, with the proviso that the wireless device enters a second cell : determine whether or not the configuration applies in the second cell (¶0026 discloses that in case both MCG and SCG can be configured to UE, and the inactive data transmission is applicable to MCG (master cell group) and/or SCG (secondary cell group) based on the configuration from network side).
Regarding claim 32, the cited reference Huang discloses all limitations of claim 31. Huang further discloses wherein at least one of:
the wireless device is further configured to, with the proviso the wireless device determines that the configuration is not to be applied in the second cell: refrain from using the configuration in the second cell,
(¶0131 discloses that in case the UE re-select to a cell, which is different from the cell where the inactive data transmission specific resource is configured, the inactive data transmission specific resource configured by dedicated signaling … can be removed).
Regarding claim 34, the cited reference Huang discloses all limitations of claim 31. Huang further discloses the wireless device being further configured to: obtain one or more indications from at least one of the first network node and a second network node configured to serve the second cell (¶0088 discloses that the UE can determine whether the INACTIVE data transmission is allowed in the cell by either indication from system information
or dedicated signaling (i.e. sent by the network node)).
Regarding claim 39, the claim is drawn to a first network node performing substantially the same features of the method of claim 1. Therefore, the claim is subject to the same rejection as claim 1.
Regarding claim 40, the claim is drawn to a first network node performing substantially the same features of the method of claim 27. Therefore, the claim is subject to the same rejection as claim 28.
Regarding claim 41, the claim is drawn to a first network node performing substantially the same features of the method of claim 28. Therefore, the claim is subject to the same rejection as claim 28.
Regarding claim 42, the claim is drawn to a first network node performing substantially the same features of the method of claim 29. Therefore, the claim is subject to the same rejection as claim 29.
Regarding claim 43, the claim is drawn to a first network node performing substantially the same features of the method of claim 30. Therefore, the claim is subject to the same rejection as claim 30.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 35 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Huang (US20230120407), in view of Fang et al (US20230171835).
Regarding claim 35, the cited reference Huang discloses all limitations of claim 34. However, Huang does not explicitly teach wherein the configuration is configured to be a second configuration, wherein the determining is configured to be based on at least a first indication, of the one or more indications, configured to be obtained from the second network nod In an analogous art Fang teaches wherein the configuration is configured to be a second configuration, wherein the determining is configured to be based on at least a first indication, of the one or more indications, configured to be obtained from the second network node, the first indication being configured to set one or more conditions to use the second configuration (¶0084 discloses that the NW 204 may send to the UE 202 with updated configuration according to the received INACTIVE data transmission failure information. The updated configuration may include e.g. the threshold for buffered data size (the INACTIVE data transmission is allowed when the buffered data size is < or <=the threshold)).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to incorporate the method of Fang to provide greater throughput and higher quality of service.
Claims 36, 46, and 48 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Huang (US20230120407), in view of Wang et al (US20230319890) OR Quan et al (US20160150564).
Regarding claim 36, the cited reference Huang does not explicitly teach wherein the wireless device is further configured to: update the set of uplink time-frequency resources to
perform random access for data transmission in inactive mode based on at least one of:
a second indication configured to be received from the first network node, and
ii. one or more rules.
In an analogous arts:
A- Wang teaches wherein the wireless device is further configured to: update the set of uplink time-frequency resources to perform random access for data transmission in inactive mode based on at least one of:
a second indication configured to be received from the first network node, and
ii. one or more rules.
(¶0073 discloses that if the first random access resource is configured, at block 420, the terminal device 120 may determine whether a dedicated resource (also referred to as a first dedicated resource herein) in the first random access resource is configured for the transmission of the uplink data in the inactive state (i.e., SDT)… the terminal device 120 may determine whether the first dedicated resource has a size corresponding to a packet size for SDT, and if determining that the first dedicated resource has the size corresponding to the packet size, the terminal device 120 may determine the first dedicated resource is configured. It should be noted that this is merely an example, any other suitable ways for determining whether the first dedicated resource is configured are also feasible where, ¶0051 discloses that random access procedure can be made based on a random access resource configuration).
B- Quan teaches wherein the wireless device is further configured to: update the set of uplink time-frequency resources to perform random access for data transmission in inactive mode based
on at least one of:
a second indication configured to be received from the first network node, and
ii. one or more rules.
(¶0113 discloses a method for random access in an idle… the eNB allocates an uplink resource to the UE according to the BSR; and the UE receives second uplink grant information sent by the eNB, and sends the to-be-sent data to the eNB according to the second uplink grant information, where the second uplink grant information is used to indicate the uplink resource allocated to the UE by the eNB.
Because UE in an idle state reports a volume of to-be-sent data to an eNB by using a BSR in a random access process, the eNB can accurately allocate an uplink resource to the UE, so that accuracy of uplink resource allocation is improved during random access of the UE in the idle state.).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to incorporate the method of either Wang or Quan to improve accuracy of uplink resource where UE is in the idle state.
Regarding claim 46, the claim is drawn to a first network node performing substantially the same features of the method of claim 36. Therefore, the claim is subject to the same rejection as claim 36.
Regarding claim 48, Quan further discloses wherein a third indication of the one or more indications is configured to indicate the set of uplink time-frequency resources configured to be updated (¶0113 discloses a method for random access in an idle… the eNB allocates an uplink resource to the UE according to the BSR; and the UE receives second uplink grant information sent by the eNB, and sends the to-be-sent data to the eNB according to the second uplink grant information, where the second uplink grant information is used to indicate the uplink resource allocated to the UE by the eNB).
Claims 37 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Huang (US20230120407), in view of Belleschi et al (US20180049193).
Regarding claim 37, the cited reference Huang discloses all limitations of claim 26.
However, Huang does not explicitly teach wherein the configuration is configured to be a second configuration, wherein the second configuration is configured to have a different periodicity than the first configuration and comprise an offset with respect to a periodicity of the first configuration. In an analogous art Belleschi teaches wherein the configuration is configured to be a second configuration, wherein the second configuration is configured to have a different periodicity than the first configuration and comprise an offset with respect to a periodicity of the first configuration (¶0058-¶0059 discloses that the wireless device 211 select one of multiple activated semi-persistent configurations 233, 243 assigned to the wireless device 211…The multiple configurations 233, 243 may have different periodicities…the first configuration 233 has a periodicity 235 that is greater than a periodicity 245 of the second configuration 243. In this case periodicity 235 (i.e. T1) > periodicity 255 (i.e. T2), T1>T2 which means T1=T2+µ [emphasis added]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to incorporate the method of Belleschi to provide greater throughput and higher quality of service using different data sizes.
Claims 38, 44-45, 47, and 49 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Huang (US20230120407), in view of Ang et al (US20210314946).
Regarding claim 38, the cited reference Huang discloses all limitations of claim 26. However, Huang does not explicitly teach wherein the at least one second BWP is configured to comprise a plurality of second BWPs, wherein the set of uplink time-frequency resources is configured to comprise different sub-sets of uplink time-frequency resources, and wherein each of the sub-sets of uplink time-frequency resources is configured to be allocated in a respective second BWP of the plurality of second BWPs.
In an analogous art Ang teaches wherein the at least one second BWP is configured to comprise a plurality of second BWPs, wherein the set of uplink time-frequency resources is configured to comprise different sub-sets of uplink time-frequency resources, and wherein each of the sub-sets of uplink time-frequency resources is configured to be allocated in a respective second BWP of the plurality of second BWPs (¶0074 discloses that full duplex frequency-based BWP configurations can provide one or more active BWPs… for full duplex frequency-based BWP configurations that include a plurality BWPs, comprising a subset of bandwidth of a corresponding defined BWP, that are usable for full duplex operation).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to incorporate the method of Ang where BWPs can be used to enable flexibility in how resources are assigned in wireless communication system.
Regarding claim 44, Huang further discloses wherein the providing is configured to be in a first cell configured to be served by the first network node (¶0131 discloses that the configuration for inactive data transmission can be provided for MCG (mast cell group) and/or SCG (secondary cell group) where ¶0198 discloses that the base station may implement functionalities of a scheduling cell or a candidate cell).
Regarding claim 45, Huang further discloses wherein the first network node is further configured to: determine the configuration (¶0131 discloses that the RACH resource for inactive data transmission can be configured to UE with system information and/or dedicated signaling).
Regarding claim 47, Huang further discloses the first network node being further configured to: provide one or more indications to the wireless device (¶0088 discloses that the UE can determine whether the INACTIVE data transmission is allowed (and/or which type of inactive data transmission is allowed) in the cell by either indication from system information or dedicated signaling).
Regarding claim 49, the claim is drawn to a first network node performing substantially the same features of the method of claim 38. Therefore, the claim is subject to the same rejection as claim 38.
Conclusion
If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, Yemane Mesfin can be reached on (571)272-3927. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300. Information regarding the status of an application may be obtained from the Patent Application Information Retrieval (PAIR) system. Status information for published applications may be obtained from either Private PAIR or Public PAIR. Status information for unpublished applications is availablethrough Private PAIR only. For more information about the PAIR system, see http://pair-direct.uspto.gov. Should you have questions on access to the Private PAIR system, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative or access to the automated information system, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000.
Respectfully submitted,
/ABDELILLAH ELMEJJARMI/
Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2462