DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
Acknowledgement is made of Applicant's Information Disclosure Statement (IDS) from PTO-1449. The IDS has been considered.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Prior rejection of Claim 4 under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, is withdrawn in view of applicant’s amendments to claim 4.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-2 and 4 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Schubert et al. (US 2016/0093665 A1, of record), and further in view of Kamiyama et al. (JP 2019012744 A, newly cited, citations from machine translated document, attached along with this office action).
Re Claim 1, Schubert teaches a semiconductor light emitting element comprising:
a growth substrate (5, Fig. 7, para [0084]);
a mask formed (6, Fig. 7, para [0084]) on the growth substrate (5); and
a columnar semiconductor layer (2+3+4, Fig. 7, paras [0084] – [0085]) grown from at least one opening (10, Fig. 7, para [0084]) that is provided in the mask (6),
wherein the columnar semiconductor layer (2+3+4, Fig. 7) includes an n-type nanowire layer formed at a center thereof (2, Fig. 7, para [0084]), an active layer (4, Fig. 7, para [0085]) formed on an outer periphery of the n-type nanowire layer (see Fig. 7), and a p- type semiconductor layer (3, Fig. 7, para [0085]) formed on an outer periphery of the active layer (see Fig. 7),
wherein an opening diameter of the opening is 100 nm or more and 200 nm or less (diameter of apertures 10, can be 50 nm to 200 nm, para [0084]).
Schubert does not explicitly state that an opening ratio of the opening is 0.1% or more and 5.0% or less.
Examiner notes that the opening ratio (%) in the original specification of the applicant is defined as, 2π/√3 * (r/p)2 * 100, para [0046] of the original specification of the present application, where r is the radius of the opening and p is the pitch of the openings/nanocores.
Schubert discloses that the diameter of the openings can be 200 nm (so radius will be 100 nm, para [0084]) and the pitch of the openings can be 1.5 µm (para [0084]), resulting in an opening ratio of 1.6%, within the claimed range.
Regarding the limitation, “an In composition ratio in the active layer is in a range of 0.10 or more and 0.40 or less, and a light emission wavelength is 480 nm or more”, Schubert teaches that Indium concentration can vary from 0 and 1, providing a peak emission wavelength between, 375 and 1100 nm (para [0085]), encompassing the claimed range. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, at the time of invention, to optimize the Indium concentration and the emission wavelength and arrive at the claimed range. With respect to the limitations of the claim, where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation. See In re Aller, 220 F.2d 454, 456, 105 USPQ 233 (CCPA 1955). The optimization of the claimed Indium concentration and the emission wavelength would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art.
Schubert also does not disclose the following:
wherein a tunnel junction layer is formed on an outer periphery of the p-type semiconductor layer, and
wherein the tunnel junction layer has a two-layer structure in which a p+ layer doped with a p-type impurity at a high concentration is formed on an inner side and an n+ layer doped with an n-type impurity at a high concentration is formed on an outer side.
Related art, Kamiyama teaches a LED device (Fig. 2, para [0038]), where the LED comprises of a n-type nanowire (1031, Fig. 2, para [0038]), an active layer (1032, Fig. 2, para [0038]) on the nanowire, a p-type semiconductor layer (1033, Fig. 2, para [0038]) on the active layer, and an additional tunnel junction layer on the p-type semiconductor layer which comprises of an inner p+ layer (1034, Fig. 2, para [0038]) and an outer n+ layer (1035, Fig. 2, para [0038]), similar to the recited claim limitation. Kamiyama discloses that the current injection to the LED via the tunnel current is advantageous because the tunnel junction has a small resistance, thus increasing the current density and improved quantum efficiency (paras [0057] – [0058]).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, absent unexpected results, to form the tunnel junction layer on the p-type semiconductor layer of the nanowire LED of Schubert as disclosed by Kamiyama, because the current injection to the LED via the tunnel current is advantageous as the tunnel junction has a small resistance, thus increasing the current density and improved quantum efficiency (paras [0057] – [0058], Kamiyama).
Re Claim 2, Schubert modified by Kamiyama teaches the semiconductor light emitting element according to claim 1,
wherein the opening ratio is 0.1% or more and 3% or less (opening ratio can be 1.6%, see claim 1 above), and the light emission wavelength is 500 nm or more (emission wavelength between 375 and 1100 nm, see claim 1 above).
Re Claim 4, Schubert modified by Kamiyama teaches the semiconductor light emitting element according to claim 1,
wherein a height of the n-type nanowire layer is 1000 nm or more and 2000 nm or less (height can be between 100 nm and 5000 nm, para [0051], Schubert), and
wherein a pitch is a value of 850 nm or less such that the opening ratio of the opening is 0.1% or more and 5.0% or less (pitch can be 800 nm and radius of aperture can be 50 nm, para [0084], Schubert, resulting in an opening ratio of 1.4%, see claim 1 above on how the opening ratio is calculated).
Claim 5 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Schubert et al. (US 2016/0093665 A1, of record) and Kamiyama et al. (JP 2019012744 A, newly cited) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Lee et al. (US 2015/0194571 A1, hereinafter “Lee’571”, of record).
Re Claim 5, Schubert modified by Kamiyama teaches the semiconductor light emitting element according to claim 1 but does not disclose that the n-type nanowire layer includes a semipolar plane, and the active layer is formed on the semipolar plane.
Examiner notes that Schubert does not explicitly state that the top slanting surfaces of the nanocores (top slanting surfaces of layer 2, Fig. 7) are semipolar plane. However, as evident from Fig. 2 of Lee’571, the top slanting surfaces of the nanocores are r-planes or semipolar planes (para [0066]), and it is well-known in this field of art that these are stable planes advantageous to crystal growth (para [0088]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, at the time of invention, from the teachings of Lee’571, that the slanting surfaces of the n-type nanowire layer (layer 2, Fig. 7) of Schubert are r-planes or semipolar planes (para [0066], Lee’571), and it is well-known in this field of art that these are stable planes advantageous to crystal growth (para [0088], Lee’571). Additionally, as also seen in Fig. 7 of Schubert, the active layer (layer 4, Fig. 7, Schubert) is formed on the semipolar planes.
Claims 6-7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Heo et al. (US 2016/0013362 A1, of record), and further in view of Dupont et al. (US 2019/0165040 A1, of record), Kum et al. (US 2016/0126419 A1, of record) and Kamiyama et al. (JP 2019012744 A, newly cited, citations from machine translated document, attached along with this office action).
Re Claim 6, Heo teaches a semiconductor light emitting element (Fig. 5) comprising:
a growth substrate (21, Fig. 5, para [0103]);
a mask formed (23, Fig. 5, para [0103]) on the growth substrate (21); and
a columnar semiconductor layer (25-1 / 25-2 / 25-3, Fig. 5, para [0103]) grown from each of openings that are provided in the mask (see Fig. 5),
wherein the columnar semiconductor layer includes an n-type nanowire layer formed at a center thereof (25a-1 / 25a-2 / 25a-3, Fig. 5, para [0103], similar to 15a-1, n-type GaN in Fig. 2, para [0060]), an active layer formed on an outer periphery of the n-type nanowire layer (25b-1 / 25b-2 / 25b-3, Fig. 5, para [0105]), and a p- type semiconductor layer formed on an outer periphery of the active layer (25c-1 / 25c-2 / 25c-3, Fig. 5, para [0105], similar to 15c-1, p-type GaN in Fig. 2, para [0062]),
wherein in a first region of the growth substrate (Region-II with nanocores 25-2, Fig. 5, para [0104]), a light emission wavelength is 480 nm or more (emitted wavelength is between 480 nm and 540 nm, para [0110]),
wherein in a second region of the growth substrate (Region-I with nanocores 25-1, Fig. 5, para [0104]), a light emission wavelength is less than 480 nm (emitted wavelength is between 430 nm and 480 nm, para [0110]),
wherein an isolation region is provided between the first region and the second region (there is an isolation region between Region-I and Region-II, see Fig. 6)
Heo does not explicitly state that,
wherein in a first region of the growth substrate, an opening ratio of the opening is 0.10% or more and 5.0% or less, and
wherein in a second region of the growth substrate, an opening ratio of the opening is more than 5.0%.
Examiner notes that the opening ratio (%) in the original specification of the applicant is defined as, 2π/√3 * (r/p)2 * 100, para [0046] of the original specification of the present application, where r is the radius of the opening/nanocores (note that the diameter of openings and nanocores are same, see Fig. 1 of original specification), and p is the pitch of the openings/nanocores.
Heo discloses that the emission wavelength of the different regions can be varied based on the diameter, pitch, height and Indium composition of the nanocore, as given by the formulas in para [0068] and also stated in paras [0111] – [0114]. For example, the first region (Region-II with nanocores 25-2, Fig. 5, para [0104]) can have a core diameter of 300 nm and a pitch of 1500 nm (as disclosed in Table 4), giving an opening ratio of 3.6 % (within the claimed range). This combination uses a Quantum Well (QW) thickness of 2.4 nm (Table 4), which will emit a wavelength of 540 nm at an Indium composition of 32% (see Table 1). The second region (Region-I with nanocores 25-1, Fig. 5, para [0104]) can have a core diameter of 800 nm and a pitch of 1500 nm (as disclosed in Table 4), giving an opening ratio of 6.9 % (within the claimed range). This combination uses a Quantum Well (QW) thickness of 2.2 nm (Table 4), which will emit a wavelength of 430 nm at an Indium composition of 17% (see Table 1). Examiner notes that the diameter, pitch, height and Indium composition of the nanocores, are all result effective variables to emit a certain wavelength. It has been held that discovering an optimum value of a result effective variable involves only routine skill in the art, In re Antonie, 195 USPQ 6 (C.C.P.A. 1977).
Additionally, Heo does not explicitly state that the width of the isolation region is 10 µm or less.
However, related art Dupont teaches an isolation region (18, Figs. 1A-1C, para [108]) between different pixel regions (D, Figs. 1A-1C, para [0081]), where the width of the isolation region can be between 1 µm and 10 µm (para [0108]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, at the time of invention, to use the teachings of Dupont and implement into the device of Heo, such that the width of the isolation region is between 1 µm and 10 µm, within the claimed range.
Heo also does not disclose the following:
wherein a tunnel junction layer is formed on an outer periphery of the p-type semiconductor layer, and
wherein the tunnel junction layer has a two-layer structure in which a p+ layer doped with a p-type impurity at a high concentration is formed on an inner side and an n+ layer doped with an n-type impurity at a high concentration is formed on an outer side.
Related art, Kamiyama teaches a LED device (Fig. 2, para [0038]), where the LED comprises of a n-type nanowire (1031, Fig. 2, para [0038]), an active layer (1032, Fig. 2, para [0038]) on the nanowire, a p-type semiconductor layer (1033, Fig. 2, para [0038]) on the active layer, and an additional tunnel junction layer on the p-type semiconductor layer which comprises of an inner p+ layer (1034, Fig. 2, para [0038]) and an outer n+ layer (1035, Fig. 2, para [0038]), similar to the recited claim limitation. Kamiyama discloses that the current injection to the LED via the tunnel current is advantageous because the tunnel junction has a small resistance, thus increasing the current density and improved quantum efficiency (paras [0057] – [0058]).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, absent unexpected results, to form the tunnel junction layer on the p-type semiconductor layer of the nanowire LED of Heo as disclosed by Kamiyama, because the current injection to the LED via the tunnel current is advantageous as the tunnel junction has a small resistance, thus increasing the current density and improved quantum efficiency (paras [0057] – [0058], Kamiyama).
Furthermore, Heo discloses electrodes (19a/19b) formed on the edges (as shown in Fig. 1), but does not explicitly disclose that a wiring pattern is formed on the mask in the isolation region. However, one of ordinary skill would realize that the outer surface of the nanowire LED has to be connected to an electrode layer to complete the circuit. Heo discloses transparent electrode layer 16 (zoomed portion of Fig. 1, para [0065]) but doesn’t show how it extends throughout the display area.
Related semiconductor art Kum teaches a display area (Fig. 2I), where there is a continuous transparent electrode layer (150, Fig. 2I, para [0052]), connecting all the nanocores (similar to layer 16 of Heo). As shown in Fig. 2I, there are two distinct regions of nanocores with two different pitches (see annotated Fig. 2I below), and there is transparent electrode layer 150 formed on the mask in the isolation region between them as shown in annotated Fig. 2I below.
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, absent unexpected results, to implement the continuous electrode layer (16) of Heo, as shown by Kum (continuous electrode layer 150, Fig. 2I), so that all the nanocores are electrically connected to form a functional display device.
Re Claim 7, Heo teaches a semiconductor light emitting element (Fig. 5) comprising:
a growth substrate (21, Fig. 5, para [0103]);
a mask formed (23, Fig. 5, para [0103]) on the growth substrate (21); and
a columnar semiconductor layer (25-1 / 25-2 / 25-3, Fig. 5, para [0103]) grown from each of openings that are provided in the mask (see Fig. 5),
wherein the columnar semiconductor layer includes an n-type nanowire layer formed at a center thereof (25a-1 / 25a-2 / 25a-3, Fig. 5, para [0103], similar to 15a-1, n-type GaN in Fig. 2, para [0060]), an active layer formed on an outer periphery of the n-type nanowire layer (25b-1 / 25b-2 / 25b-3, Fig. 5, para [0105]), and a p- type semiconductor layer formed on an outer periphery of the active layer (25c-1 / 25c-2 / 25c-3, Fig. 5, para [0105], similar to 15c-1, p-type GaN in Fig. 2, para [0062]),
wherein in a first region of the growth substrate (Region-II with nanocores 25-2, Fig. 5, para [0104]), an opening ratio of the opening is a first opening ratio (Region-II has a 1st opening ratio, see Fig. 5),
wherein in a second region of the growth substrate (Region-I with nanocores 25-1, Fig. 5, para [0104]), an opening ratio of the opening is a second opening ratio (Region-I has a 2nd opening ratio, see Fig. 5),
wherein a light emission wavelength in the first region (Region-II) is longer than that in the second region (Region-I, where an emitted wavelength in Region-II can be 480 nm, greater than an emitted wavelength in Region-I which can be 430 nm, para [0110]),
wherein an isolation region is provided between the first region and the second region (there is an isolation region between Region-I and Region-II, see Fig. 6)
Heo does not explicitly state that,
wherein the first opening ratio is smaller than the second opening ratio
Examiner notes that the opening ratio (%) in the original specification of the applicant is defined as, 2π/√3 * (r/p)2 * 100, para [0046] of the original specification of the present application, where r is the radius of the opening/nanocores (note that the diameter of openings and nanocores are same, see Fig. 1 of original specification), and p is the pitch of the openings/nanocores.
Heo discloses that the emission wavelength of the different regions can be varied based on the diameter, pitch, height and Indium composition of the nanocore, as given by the formulas in para [0068] and also stated in paras [0111] – [0114]. For example, the first region (Region-II with nanocores 25-2, Fig. 5, para [0104]) can have a core diameter of 300 nm and a pitch of 1500 nm (as disclosed in Table 4), giving a 1st opening ratio of 3.6 %. This combination uses a Quantum Well (QW) thickness of 2.4 nm (Table 4), which will emit a wavelength of 540 nm at an Indium composition of 32% (see Table 1). The second region (Region-I with nanocores 25-1, Fig. 5, para [0104]) can have a core diameter of 800 nm and a pitch of 1500 nm (as disclosed in Table 4), giving a 2nd opening ratio of 6.9 %. This combination uses a Quantum Well (QW) thickness of 2.2 nm (Table 4), which will emit a wavelength of 430 nm at an Indium composition of 17% (see Table 1). Thus, the first opening ratio is smaller than the second opening ratio, satisfying the claim limitation. Examiner notes that the diameter, pitch, height and Indium composition of the nanocores, are all result effective variables to emit a certain wavelength. It has been held that discovering an optimum value of a result effective variable involves only routine skill in the art, In re Antonie, 195 USPQ 6 (C.C.P.A. 1977).
Additionally, Heo does not explicitly state that the width of the isolation region is 10 µm or less.
However, related art Dupont teaches an isolation region (18, Figs. 1A-1C, para [108]) between different pixel regions (D, Figs. 1A-1C, para [0081]), where the width of the isolation region can be between 1 µm and 10 µm (para [0108]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, at the time of invention, to use the teachings of Dupont and implement into the device of Heo, such that the width of the isolation region is between 1 µm and 10 µm, within the claimed range.
Heo also does not disclose the following:
wherein a tunnel junction layer is formed on an outer periphery of the p-type semiconductor layer, and
wherein the tunnel junction layer has a two-layer structure in which a p+ layer doped with a p-type impurity at a high concentration is formed on an inner side and an n+ layer doped with an n-type impurity at a high concentration is formed on an outer side.
Related art, Kamiyama teaches a LED device (Fig. 2, para [0038]), where the LED comprises of a n-type nanowire (1031, Fig. 2, para [0038]), an active layer (1032, Fig. 2, para [0038]) on the nanowire, a p-type semiconductor layer (1033, Fig. 2, para [0038]) on the active layer, and an additional tunnel junction layer on the p-type semiconductor layer which comprises of an inner p+ layer (1034, Fig. 2, para [0038]) and an outer n+ layer (1035, Fig. 2, para [0038]), similar to the recited claim limitation. Kamiyama discloses that the current injection to the LED via the tunnel current is advantageous because the tunnel junction has a small resistance, thus increasing the current density and improved quantum efficiency (paras [0057] – [0058]).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, absent unexpected results, to form the tunnel junction layer on the p-type semiconductor layer of the nanowire LED of Heo as disclosed by Kamiyama, because the current injection to the LED via the tunnel current is advantageous as the tunnel junction has a small resistance, thus increasing the current density and improved quantum efficiency (paras [0057] – [0058], Kamiyama).
Furthermore, Heo discloses electrodes (19a/19b) formed on the edges (as shown in Fig. 1), but does not explicitly disclose that a wiring pattern is formed on the mask in the isolation region. However, one of ordinary skill would realize that the outer surface of the nanowire LED has to be connected to an electrode layer to complete the circuit. Heo discloses transparent electrode layer 16 (zoomed portion of Fig. 1, para [0065]) but doesn’t show how it extends throughout the display area.
Related semiconductor art Kum teaches a display area (Fig. 2I), where there is a continuous transparent electrode layer (150, Fig. 2I, para [0052]), connecting all the nanocores (similar to layer 16 of Heo). As shown in Fig. 2I, there are two distinct regions of nanocores with two different pitches (see annotated Fig. 2I below), and there is transparent electrode layer 150 formed on the mask in the isolation region between them as shown in annotated Fig. 2I below.
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, absent unexpected results, to implement the continuous electrode layer (16) of Heo, as shown by Kum (continuous electrode layer 150, Fig. 2I), so that all the nanocores are electrically connected to form a functional display device.
Claim 8 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Heo et al. (US 2016/0013362 A1, of record) and Kamiyama et al. (JP 2019012744 A, newly cited, citations from machine translated document, attached along with this office action).
Re Claim 8, Heo teaches a semiconductor light emitting element (Fig. 2) comprising:
a growth substrate (11, Fig. 2, para [0056]);
a mask (13, Fig. 2, para [0058]) formed on the growth substrate (11); and
a columnar semiconductor layer (15-1, Fig. 2, para [0059]) grown from at least one opening that is provided in the mask (see Fig. 2),
wherein the columnar semiconductor layer (15-1) includes an n-type nanowire layer formed at a center thereof (15a-1, n-type GaN, Fig. 2, para [0060]), an active layer formed on an outer periphery of the n-type nanowire layer (15b-1, active layer, Fig. 2, para [0061]), and a p- type semiconductor layer formed on an outer periphery of the active layer (15c-1, p-type GaN, Fig. 2, para [0062]), and
wherein the openings in a first region (Region-I with nanocores 15-1, Fig. 2, para [0067]) and the openings in a second region of the growth substrate (Region-II with nanocores 15-2, Fig. 2, para [0067])) are the same in height of the n-type nanowire layer (see Fig. 2, where both regions have same height).
Heo does not disclose that the openings in the first region and the openings in a second region of the growth substrate are the same in opening ratio and different in opening diameter and pitch.
Examiner notes that the opening ratio (%) in the original specification of the applicant is defined as, 2π/√3 * (r/p)2 * 100, para [0046] of the original specification of the present application, where r is the radius of the opening/nanocores (note that the diameter of openings and nanocores are same, see Fig. 1 of original specification), and p is the pitch of the openings/nanocores.
Heo discloses that the emission wavelength of the different regions can be varied based on the diameter, pitch, height and Indium composition of the nanocore, as given by the formulas in para [0068]. Moreover, the display region can have multiple regions (more than 3), each providing different wavelengths (para [0069]). Considering the height of the nanocores remain fixed, as taught by Heo (in Fig. 2), one of ordinary skill in the art would realize there are only four possible ways to change the wavelength according to the formula provided by Heo – (i) vary the pitch (p) but keep diameter (d) fixed; (ii) keep the pitch (p) constant but vary the diameter (d); (iii) change both the pitch (p) and the diameter (d) of the nanocores of each regions in such a way that their ratio, p/d, stays constant; and (iv) change both the pitch (p) and the diameter (d), such that the ratio p/d also varies. All the above scenarios will lead to a different quantum well thickness Ti, for each regions, and hence different emitted wavelengths for each regions. Therefore, a person of ordinary skill has good reason to pursue all the known options and reach the claimed limitation with anticipated success, where both the pitch and the diameter of the nanocores are varying but their ratio is kept constant, see KSR, 550 U.S. at 421, 82 USPQ2d at 1397.
Heo also does not disclose the following:
wherein a tunnel junction layer is formed on an outer periphery of the p-type semiconductor layer, and
wherein the tunnel junction layer has a two-layer structure in which a p+ layer doped with a p-type impurity at a high concentration is formed on an inner side and an n+ layer doped with an n-type impurity at a high concentration is formed on an outer side.
Related art, Kamiyama teaches a LED device (Fig. 2, para [0038]), where the LED comprises of a n-type nanowire (1031, Fig. 2, para [0038]), an active layer (1032, Fig. 2, para [0038]) on the nanowire, a p-type semiconductor layer (1033, Fig. 2, para [0038]) on the active layer, and an additional tunnel junction layer on the p-type semiconductor layer which comprises of an inner p+ layer (1034, Fig. 2, para [0038]) and an outer n+ layer (1035, Fig. 2, para [0038]), similar to the recited claim limitation. Kamiyama discloses that the current injection to the LED via the tunnel current is advantageous because the tunnel junction has a small resistance, thus increasing the current density and improved quantum efficiency (paras [0057] – [0058]).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, absent unexpected results, to form the tunnel junction layer on the p-type semiconductor layer of the nanowire LED of Heo as disclosed by Kamiyama, because the current injection to the LED via the tunnel current is advantageous as the tunnel junction has a small resistance, thus increasing the current density and improved quantum efficiency (paras [0057] – [0058], Kamiyama).
Claim 10 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Heo et al. (US 2016/0013362 A1), Dupont et al. (US 2019/0165040 A1, of record), Kum et al. (US 2016/0126419 A1, of record) and Kamiyama et al. (JP 2019012744 A) as applied to claim 6 above, and further in view of Lee et al. (US 2015/0194571 A1, hereinafter “Lee’571”).
Re Claim 10, Heo modified by Dupont, Kim and Kamiyama teaches the semiconductor light emitting element according to claim 6,
wherein in the first region (Region-II, Fig. 5), the second region (Region-I, Fig. 5), or a third region (Region-III, Fig. 5) of the growth substrate, the n-type nanowire layer (25a-1 / 25a-2 / 25a-3) includes a semipolar plane (the top slanted surfaces of 25a-1 / 25a-2 / 25a-3 are the semipolar planes, Fig. 5, also see examiner notes below), and the active layer (25b-1 / 25b-2 / 25b-3) is formed on the semipolar plane.
Examiner notes that Heo does not explicitly state that the top slanting surfaces of the nanocores are semipolar plane. However, Heo does disclose that the nanocores 135a (similar to 15a) has semi-polar planes (Fig. 12F, para [0168]). Furthermore, as evident from Fig. 2 of Lee’571, the top slanting surfaces of the nanocores are r-planes or semipolar planes (para [0066]), and is well-known in this field of art.
Claim 11 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Schubert et al. (US 2016/0093665 A1, of record), and further in view of Kamiyama et al. (JP 2019012744 A, newly cited, citations from machine translated document, attached along with this office action).
Re Claim 11, Schubert teaches a method for manufacturing a semiconductor light emitting element, the method comprising:
a mask step of forming (6, Fig. 7, para [0084], also see para [0066]), on a growth substrate (5, Fig. 7, para [0084]), a mask layer including an opening (10, Fig. 7, para [0084]); and
a growth step of forming a columnar semiconductor layer in the opening (para [0085]) by using selective growth (grown by MOCVD, para [0085]),
wherein the growth step includes a step of forming an n-type nanowire layer (2, Fig. 7, para [0084]), a step of forming an active layer (4, Fig. 7, para [0085]) on an outer side of the n-type nanowire layer (see Fig. 7), and a step of forming a p- type semiconductor layer (3, Fig. 7, para [0085]) on an outer side of the active layer (see Fig. 7), and
wherein in the mask step, an opening diameter of the opening is set in a range of 100 nm or more and 200 nm or less (diameter of apertures 10, can be 50 nm to 200 nm, para [0084])
Schubert does not explicitly state that an opening ratio of the opening is 0.1% or more and 5.0% or less.
Examiner notes that the opening ratio (%) in the original specification of the applicant is defined as, 2π/√3 * (r/p)2 * 100, para [0046] of the original specification of the present application, where r is the radius of the opening and p is the pitch of the openings/nanocores.
Schubert discloses that the diameter of the openings can be 200 nm (so radius will be 100 nm, para [0084]) and the pitch of the openings can be 1.5 µm (para [0084]), resulting in an opening ratio of 1.6%, within the claimed range.
Regarding the limitation, “an In composition ratio in the active layer is in a range of 0.10 or more and 0.40 or less”, Schubert teaches that Indium concentration can vary from 0 and 1, providing a peak emission wavelength between, 375 and 1100 nm (para [0085]), encompassing the claimed range. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, at the time of invention, to optimize the Indium concentration to get the desired wavelength and arrive at the claimed range. With respect to the limitations of the claim, where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation. See In re Aller, 220 F.2d 454, 456, 105 USPQ 233 (CCPA 1955). The optimization of the claimed Indium concentration to get the desired wavelength would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art.
Schubert also does not disclose the following:
wherein a tunnel junction layer is formed on an outer periphery of the p-type semiconductor layer, and
wherein the tunnel junction layer has a two-layer structure in which a p+ layer doped with a p-type impurity at a high concentration is formed on an inner side and an n+ layer doped with an n-type impurity at a high concentration is formed on an outer side.
Related art, Kamiyama teaches a LED device (Fig. 2, para [0038]), where the LED comprises of a n-type nanowire (1031, Fig. 2, para [0038]), an active layer (1032, Fig. 2, para [0038]) on the nanowire, a p-type semiconductor layer (1033, Fig. 2, para [0038]) on the active layer, and an additional tunnel junction layer on the p-type semiconductor layer which comprises of an inner p+ layer (1034, Fig. 2, para [0038]) and an outer n+ layer (1035, Fig. 2, para [0038]), similar to the recited claim limitation. Kamiyama discloses that the current injection to the LED via the tunnel current is advantageous because the tunnel junction has a small resistance, thus increasing the current density and improved quantum efficiency (paras [0057] – [0058]).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, absent unexpected results, to form the tunnel junction layer on the p-type semiconductor layer of the nanowire LED of Schubert as disclosed by Kamiyama, because the current injection to the LED via the tunnel current is advantageous as the tunnel junction has a small resistance, thus increasing the current density and improved quantum efficiency (paras [0057] – [0058], Kamiyama).
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims 1, 6-8, and 11 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/P.D./Examiner, Art Unit 2898 /JULIO J MALDONADO/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2898