DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Claims 12-15, 18, 20-34 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected inventions, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 1/2/2026.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-11, 16, 19, 35-36 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by US 2020/0176468 A1 (Herner).
Re claims 1 and 35, Herner teaches a NOR-type memory device (memory structure 10), comprising:
a plurality of device layers (active layer 310) disposed on a substrate, wherein each of the plurality of device layers comprises a stack of a first source/drain layer (source or drain layer 70), a first channel layer (semiconductor layers 120), and a second source/drain layer (source or drain layer 60); and
a gate stack (gate stack including layers 200/210/220/240) that extends vertically with respect to the substrate to pass through the stack in the each of the plurality of device layers,
wherein the gate stack comprises a gate conductor layer (gate layer 240) and a memory functional layer (charge storage layer 210) disposed between the gate conductor layer and the stack, and a memory cell is defined at an intersection of the gate stack and the stack (Figs. 1-24);
an electronic apparatus comprising the NOR-type memory device according to claim 1 (claim 35);
wherein the electronic apparatus comprises a smart phone, a computer, a tablet, an artificial intelligence device, a wearable device, or a mobile power supply (claim 36 Flash memory is used in computers).
Re claim 2, Herner teaches wherein the stack of at least one of the plurality of device layers further comprises a second channel layer and a third source/drain layer and two memory cells stacked with each other are defined at the intersection of the gate stack and the stack (the device layer stack making up 310 which are vertically stacked on device layer stack 320).
Re claim 3, Herner teaches wherein the memory functional layer comprises at least one of a charge trapping material or a ferroelectric material (charge storage layer 210 [0033]).
Re claim 4, Herner teaches wherein the stack comprises a single crystal semiconductor material ([0020] while Herner does not explicitly state that the semiconductor layers are single crystal Examiner takes Official Notice that single crystal semiconductor is used for deposited active layers in stacked 3D memory due to the reduced thickness of these layers, the deposition types listed).
Re claim 5, Herner teaches wherein an isolation layer is disposed between at least one pair of adjacent device layers among the plurality of device layers (hard mask layer 30 [0020]).
Re claim 6, Herner teaches wherein a bit line (bit lines are connected at the top of each of conductive material 400 Fig. 24) that is electrically connected to a source/drain layer adjacent to the isolation layer in a device layer above the isolation layer is different from a bit line that is electrically connected to a source/drain layer adjacent to the isolation layer in a device layer below the isolation layer.
Re claim 7, Herner teaches wherein the memory functional layer is formed on a bottom surface of the gate conductor layer and a sidewall of the gate conductor layer (charge storage layer 210 is formed conformally in the trenches thus meeting this relative requirement Fig. 18).
Re claim 8, Herner teaches wherein the NOR-type memory device comprises a plurality of gate stacks disposed in an array (Figs. 1-24).
Re claim 9, Herner teaches wherein the first source/drain layer, the first channel layer, the second source/drain layer, the second channel layer, and the third source/drain layer comprise the same semiconductor material, wherein a doping concentration interface is provided between adjacent layers (Examiner takes official notice that enhancement mode field effect transistors of Herner are formed of NPN or PNP structures).
Re claim 10, Herner teaches further comprising:
a first bit line and a second bit line (separate bit lines are connected to the transistors in each vertical line of stacked memory FETs) that is different from the first bit line;
a source line;
a first contact portion to the first source/drain layer (vertical conductive portion 400);
a second contact portion to the second source/drain layer (vertical conductive portion 400); and
a third contact portion to the third source/drain layer (vertical conductive portion 400), wherein the first contact portion and the third contact portion are electrically connected to the first bit line and the second bit line respectively, and
the second contact portion is electrically connected to the source line (NOR circuitry requires two transistors in each cell which share connection to the same bit line and the common source line and each string is connected to a different bit line to form the array [0037] Fig. 24).
Re claim 11, Herner teaches further comprising: a fourth contact portion (portion of channel layers 120 in contact with layer 60. The claim language merely requires a portion of something in contact with the channel layers.) to the first channel layer; and a fifth contact portion to the second channel layer.
Re claim 16, Herner teaches wherein the substrate comprises a device region and a contact region adjacent to the device region, the memory cell is formed on the device region, and the contact portions are formed on the contact region (Fig. 24).
Re claim 19, Herner teaches further comprising: a word line; and a sixth contact portion to the gate conductor layer, wherein the sixth contact portion is electrically connected to the word line (word lines 230 Fig. 18).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 17 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Herner does not teach a conductive structure in the staircase contact region which individually contacts the first and second channel layers directly. The first and second channels are controlled by the gate stacks which are connected to the word lines 230 underneath the memory stack.
Conclusion
BRIGITTE A. PATERSON
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 2896
/BRIGITTE A PATERSON/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2896